Write a review Sign In

Blue Apron, Inc.

FOOD - SALES & DELIVERY, DELIVERY SERVICE, MEAL PREPARATION SERVICE

If you had an experience with this company please share with it by adding a review
Start page > FOOD - SALES & DELIVERY, DELIVERY SERVICE, MEAL PREPARATION SERVICE > Blue Apron, Inc.
Add Review

Blue Apron, Inc. Reviews (27)

Satisfaction rating: 
User nala2662 time 05.04.2017

Ordered free one-week trial on 03/18/2017, first delivery was received on 03/26/2017, cancelled on 03/26/2017, but credit card was already charged on 03/21/2017 - even before we received the initial order. Very, very disappointing. A refund of the $29.94 is expected immediately. Otherwise we will let our credit card company deal with them.


Mark as useful (0 votes)
Reply
Satisfaction rating: 
User Beshou time 10.01.2017

I suspended my account and have seen been charged twice for meals i haven't received. and now being charged again. i have tried contacting their non-existent costumer but they are of no help. this is frustrating as i keep having to call my bank and cancel the charges. i will never use blue apron again!!!!!!! because of this, i'm alerting my bank tht all charges from blue apron on cc as fraudulent.


Mark as useful (0 votes)
Reply
Satisfaction rating: 
User Reviewer1439803 time 27.05.2016

Review: I have paid for three weeks worth the food and only received one week. I have emailed the business and did not receive a response, called and was unable to get a hold of anyone (left message) and would like to be certain my account is closed and that I obtain a refund for food not received.Desired Settlement: 69.72 x 2 for two weeks worth of food not received. I would not have cancelled service if someone would've contacted me or responded to email or voice mail message

Business
Response:
The customer emailed us and left us a voicemail. We responded via phone, the account is cancelled and the 2 erroneous charges were refunded.******** ******** ********** ******* *******


Mark as useful (0 votes)
Reply
Satisfaction rating: 
User Reviewer1439829 time 27.05.2016

Review: The company has failed to respond to 5 separate emails that I have sent over the last 5 days. I told them that I no longer desire to have my card charged for their sub-par services, and they continue to bill me. Their customer service is non-existent. They wait until someone files a complaint on dispute before they feel the need to respond, which is what the other complaints with the Revdex.com experienced. I notified them on Friday after receiving my first order that I was not satisfied with the order. The amount of food you get for $60 is atrocious. I told them that I wanted my account canceled, I wanted no further orders, and I do not want my card charged for future orders. On the following Monday I saw a pending transaction from their company. They continue to bill me for services that I canceled. There is absolutely no one available to speak with from the company either. They use deceptive and abusive customer service tactics to keep customers, and that is despicable.Desired Settlement: I want immediate confirmation from the company that my card will be refunded, I will receive no further services, and that my account is canceled.

Business
Response:
Our customer service team responded to *****'s requests to cancel his account with instructions on how to cancel his account per our instructions. He successfully cancelled the account on March ***, 2015. He had one additional delivery scheduled to arrive post canceling his account, which is why he saw an additional charge. We require notice 6 days notice to cancel a delivery, per our terms of service. We also responded to an additional email regarding this charge which was promptly refunded to his card. *****'s first order was free, the second charge was refunded. ***** ha sustained no further charges, and his account is cancelled.



Consumer
Response:


I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

***** ******



 


Mark as useful (0 votes)
Reply
Satisfaction rating: 
User Reviewer1439809 time 26.05.2016

Review: To Whom It May Concern,

The termination of services for this business is deceitfully long and arduous. You are only able to cancel their service during set, very small windows of time, despite the fact that your items have not been shipped. They do not give you an option to cancel your subscription on their website, you are required to email them and I quote "********* ******* ************", making it very frustrating for the user of the products. Since they make the termination of their services such a hassle, users may instead log in every week and cancel individually. But if you do not cancel within 1 week PRIOR to even receiving your items, you cannot cancel them and are immediately charged. They do not send you an email notifying you that you need to cancel. They make it very easy to charge your credit card, and very challenging to end the use of their product.

Consumer
Response:


I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

******* ********




 


Mark as useful (0 votes)
Reply
Satisfaction rating: 
User Matthew M. time 26.05.2016

SUMMARY: Blue Apron appears to have misled customers about late deliveries. See below.
We signed up with Blue Apron for Wednesday deliveries.
Wednesday 11/**/15: On Wednesday 11/** received an email that Blue Apron “just received notice” that our delivery would be delayed. The email stated that a brand new box was packed that day and sent out to arrive
Thursday 11/**. That same day, I emailed to ask how it was possible to pack a box the same day for delivery the next day when deliveries typically are in transit for two to three days.
Also on 11/**, Rachael C. responded that she had checked herself and ensured that Blue Apron packed a fresh box to be delivered to you on Thursday, 11/**. She stated “Rest assured that it was a brand new box we packed for you and coordinated with our shipping carrier, to ensure that all of your ingredients will arrive fresh and with the proper insulation and ice.”
Thursday, 11/**/15: On 11/**, I emailed to explain that we received the box but that it was dated Monday, 11/**, which meant that Rachael appeared to be lying or didn’t know what she was talking about. We threw the food out and I asked to get an update as to what actually happened.
Friday, 11/**/15: Having received no response, I emailed again asking for one.
Saturday, 11/**/15: Having still received no response, I emailed again asking for one.
Sunday, 11/**/15: I emailed a fourth time asking for a response.
Monday, 11/**/15: Amanda H. emailed stating that “the labels were already printed but the order hadn't been packed yet. So, we were able to pack the boxes fresh to send out the next day.” She then included a series of links to past orders which didn’t seem to confirm anything other than the fact that we’d received the original box instead of something fresh packed the day before.
That same day, I responded that what Amanda H. wrote was incorrect and pointing out that the box and label, of which I have photos, did not state overnight delivery from Texas. I asked again for an explanation.
Tuesday 11/**/15: Amanda H. wrote back to say she’d shared my email with the team and asking what the condition of the ingredients was. I responded that I didn’t believe Blue Apron’s explanation and wanted to speak with a manager.
Saturday, 11/**/15: Having received no response, I emailed again.
Monday, 11/**/15: Still no response, so I emailed again. That same day, Becca Nordeen responded stating that I’d received “conflicting and confusing information.” She went on to state that the message sent by the shipping team wasn’t clear, but that she couldn’t share “every detail” of Blue Apron’s relationship with it’s shipping carriers. She then gave a different explanation of what had actually happened.
Problematically, she apologized that the new explanation wasn’t communicated to me clearly. Indeed, that version hadn’t been communicated to me at all, rather, a different and objectively incorrect account had been communicated to me. I responded that it was my impression that Blue Apron had been caught in a bit of a lie and were trying to cover their tracks as best they could.
The problem is not that information wasn’t communicated clearly, it’s that it appears to have been untrue. This is food I and my family and others and their families eat. This is not acceptable.


Mark as useful (0 votes)
Reply
Satisfaction rating: 
User Reviewer1439801 time 25.05.2016

Review: I tried a free trial of Blue Apron in which the whole time they promised you can cancel at anytime (further reading you had to give them 6-7 days tp cancel or postpone) . I ordered my free trial to be delivered on Wednesday, June **, 2015. I received the product on Wednesday and on that same day wrote an e-mail(which I have) to the company direct AND then googled how to cancel from blue apron and sent another e-mail to the "cancellation site." To my horror I received an e-mail on Friday saying I would be receiving another $70 order on Wednesday and if I NOW choose to cancel then please do so!! I had already cancelled in the time allotted and should NOT be charged OR receive any further product!Desired Settlement: I do not want any more product AND at the same time not be billed!

Business
Response:
****** started a free trial with Blue Apron on 6/*, her first delivery with us was 6/**. In signing up all members must accept our terms of service, which includes a cancellation policy outlining that cancellations need to be made 5-7 days prior to next order. ****** emailed us twice on 6/** and was provided instructions on how to cancel her account twice (both on 6/** to a spouse who emailed, and on 6/** to her directly) ****** cancelled her account on 6/**. Unfortunately that was past the deadline to cancel the next week's order. We have, however, reached out to ****** in apology and offered to refund the second charge. ****** has disputed the charge on her account, and we let the dispute go through. Effective the bank will refund the funds to her account. Her account has been cancelled, there will be no more charges and no more deliveries sent.


Mark as useful (0 votes)
Reply
Satisfaction rating: 
User Lareina time 18.12.2016

You guys did the same thing to me I'm disputing charges come Monday


Mark as useful (0 votes)
Reply
Satisfaction rating: 
User Reviewer1439811 time 25.05.2016

Review: I IMMEDIATELY REALIZED UPON BECOMING A MEMBER THAT THEY DO NOT PROVIDE GLUTEN FREE FOOD SO I CANCELLED AND HAVE GOTTEN NO RESPONSE - I CANCELLED AND WROTE THEM 6 TIMES AND THEY STILL ARE TRYING TO SEND ME FOOD. THESE PEOPLE ARE SCAMMING. I CANNOT WITHDRAW MY CREDIT CARD FROM MY ONLINE ACCOUNT WITH THEM. DO NOT SIGN UP WITH THESE CROOKS!!Desired Settlement: CANCEL MY ACCOUNT AND DELETE MY CREDIT CARD FROM THIS ACCOUNT.

Consumer
Response:


I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

**** ******




 


Mark as useful (0 votes)
Reply
Satisfaction rating: 
User Reviewer1439807 time 24.05.2016

Review: We received a Christmas Groupon gift of 2 boxes that were prepaid by my Niece. When we called to arrange delivery, we were told that we needed to give a credit card to accept the delivery. We received the 2 boxes in January. This week our credit card was charged for an additional 2 boxes ($59 per) that we did not order. The company has not returned our phone call or email complaint.Desired Settlement: We want to cancel all associations with this company. This experience has left us with a feeling this company cannot be trusted.

Business
Response:
Dear *******,

This is *****from Blue Apron, responding to your complaint through the New York Revdex.com. First and foremost, I would like to apologize for any confusion or inconvenience this has caused. I also want you to be aware that ***** ***** emailed us regarding this issue on Thursday 1/**/2014, and we responded to her email on Friday 1/**/2014, to explain the confusion and resolve the issue.


***** received a gift subscription for our service from a customer of ours. With our gift subscriptions, the recipient needs to create an account with us to schedule their gift order(s), but no credit card information is required for the account. On the payment section of the sign-up process on our website, gift recipients have access to a "skip" button that allows them to skip over this page and create the account with no credit card information. If a gift recipient skips this step and doesn't enter any credit card information, the account will shut down once the gift has been fully redeemed. Gift recipients do have the option to enter credit card information if they want to continue using our service after the duration of the gift subscription. If credit card information is entered, then the account would stay active with further orders, like a normal, non-gift account.

During the sign-up process for this account, ***** entered card information, which meant that orders were scheduled beyond the duration of her gift. She wrote in to us and alerted us to the charges, and we refunded her and cancelled her account so that no further orders would be scheduled. She responded to this email, and we sent her some further information about the processing of refunds.

Once again, I'd like to apologize personally, and want to reiterate that the unwanted charges have been refunded, and that Susan's account is no longer active. We'd be happy to discuss this directly if you or ***** want any further information.

Best,

******************


Mark as useful (0 votes)
Reply
Satisfaction rating: 
User Reviewer1439797 time 22.05.2016

Review: I have tried cancelling our service with Blue Apron as we were not satisfied with their service/food. On the site it says to submit a email to cancel your order, which I did on 2/*. However, I just got a charge to my credit card today (almost a month later). The way they make this cancellation almost impossible should not be tolerated.Desired Settlement: I want a refund of this current charge, and I want them to CANCEL my subscription FOREVER!

Business
Response:
Hello, ****** reached out to Blue Apron via email on February *, 2016 to cancel her account. We replied to her email with instructions on how to cancel, but the account was not cancelled. ****** was charged for a delivery that arrived on March *, 2016. When she called to let us know that she did not want this order and would rather her account be cancelled, we refunded her in full for the charge she incurred and also cancelled her account as requested. Please let me know if I can assist further,


Mark as useful (0 votes)
Reply
Satisfaction rating: 
User Reviewer1439813 time 19.05.2016

Review: I subscribed to their service. I contacted their cancellation department via email per their website in September. Nobody cancelled my subscription. They continued to bill my credit card. I kept putting their deliveries on hold because that could be done through their website. A few weeks ago, I updated the hold to the middle of February which was as far out as I could go and tried to contact cancellations again. Yesterday, I came home to a delivery and yes, they did charge my credit card for an order I specifically requested them to not send. Today, I sent another cancellation notice, this time demanding that my subscription be cancelled. I also had to discontinue and order a new credit card so that they could no longer charge my account. There is no good or easy way to cancel your subscription to this service. I have received three total deliveries, amounting to 180 dollars that I did not want and explicitly asked them not to send. I have solved the problem on my end. They no longer have information to use to charge me any further, however, a business should not allowed to operate in this fashion.Desired Settlement: I would like my money back for deliveries, which I believe total 3 or 4 since I first asked them to cancel my subscription on 9/**/15. I explained that I was traveling and that I could not make use of this food. Which I cannot. I have never heard back from their company.

Consumer
Response:


I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.
They have canceled the subscription and sent email confirmation of which I attached a screen shot. While this does not make up for charging me for the deliveries I expressly asked them not to deliver, I am satisfied with knowing I will no longer be charged for food I do not want. I do not wish to pursue any further action on my account, however, I believe their business is designed to rope people into their subscription forever until someone goes to these lengths to cut ties with the company.  I can attest to the fact that their multi-step process to cancel the subscription that ultimately ends in following a link to cancel, did no such thing. It wasn't until I contacted you, sent increasingly hateful emails, and canceled the credit card I used to open the account that I actually received confirmation from the company that my subscription was canceled. I am sure it is technically legal, but it is wildly unethical.
Sincerely,

******** *****



 


Mark as useful (0 votes)
Reply
Satisfaction rating: 
User Reviewer1439815 time 19.05.2016

Review: In October 2015 I subscribed to Blue Apron but did not sign up for meals until the end of November. I received my first two meals on December ****. After receiving the meals I decided that it wasn't for me and I went on their website to see how to unsubscribe. I could not remove my credit card from my account and I searched their website and could not find anything about cancelling a membership. A customer service phone # or email were not readily found in their FAQ, so having spent a lot of time on their website, I decided to go onto the calendar and deselect the rest of the dates in December so that I would not be billed and receive more meals. Unfortunately the calendar did not extend into the new year so I was not able to deselect any dates past December ****. Assuming that I would get a reminder to my email that I needed to pick my meals, I did not check back until I realized that I had a charge pending for $69.92 on January **, 2016 for a meals to be delivered on January ****. I immediately went back on their website and searched until I finally found a blurb about contacting customer service for account issues. and emailed them through their website on that same da. I stated that I did not authorize or pick any meals and wanted to cancel my account. I also stated that I wanted to cancel the delivery. I immediately received an auto generated email with seven links to choose from. I chose the link to cancel my account, and again immediately received an email stating my account had been closed but that I would still receive the delivery on January **** with of course a link to restart my deliveries if I wanted. My request to cancel the delivery which I did not authorize and receive a credit were not addressed whatsoever. That was it, no response about cancelling the meals or crediting my account. I chose another link from the first email sent to me (*********************) and sent another email again asking them to cancel the delivery and refund my money. I have not heard back from them.
My major complaint is that their calendar for ordering is already populated to send deliveries and unless you constantly go into their app and "unclick" each date, you will be billed. The calendar only goes so far into the future so you are forced to constantly visit their website. There are no reminder emails sent about upcoming deliveries. I now have food that I was charged for, did not order, and will not be here to accept. My second complaint is that their customer service is very lacking and I feel like I am being ignored about the delivery cancellation and refund.Desired Settlement: I would like the delivery of food to be suspended for Thursday, January **** and I would like a refund for $62.92 back to my credit card.

Consumer
Response:


I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.Blue Apron Customer Service contacted me today via email and informed me that they would be giving me a full refund. 

Sincerely,

******* ******



 


Mark as useful (0 votes)
Reply
Satisfaction rating: 
User A. M. time 19.05.2016

These jerks are thieves and con-artists. They will not allow people to cancel completely. I went through all the cancellation instructions right after a delivery, because I preferred Hello Fresh, which was more affordable and grouped appropriately, but they still went ahead and delivered food at a time when I was unaware and prepared to be out of my apartment. God only knows how long it sat there when it was discovered. I hadn't even finished the first delivery, and it's probably going to go bad now because I wasn't able to get back to my apartment during the blizzard, and I don't expect to be in my apartment for another four days. Not only that, but I am attempting to pay off my credit card, but guess what? They continued to charge money without authorization. Good luck trying to cancel because they do not have a call center, and there are no humans to talk to. If you send them a message through their website they just send you an automated reply with instructions for how to look things up in FAQs. If someone could find something in an FAQ they wouldn't need to send a message to customer service. Duh!


Mark as useful (0 votes)
Reply
Satisfaction rating: 
User S. R. time 19.05.2016

I have been using blue apron for quite a while now and enjoy it. The food is fresh and the recipes are interesting. They provide free meals that I can send to friends and family - which I have done and several have also signed up. I have had very few issues - maybe a missing ingredient and they have responded quickly. Most of the complaints seem to be from people who are not familiar with subscription services. My only issue with blue apron is the recipes always take me much longer to make then their time estimates - I may not be a proficient chef but I'm no novice either! I like to say 'i may not always use 17 bowls and take 2 hours to make dinner but when I do it's always blue apron!' LOL. Overall I am very happy with the service and especially appreciate that I am trying new ingredients easily! Dinner is more interesting with blue apron! I recommend them highly!!


Mark as useful (0 votes)
Reply
Satisfaction rating: 
User Reviewer1439825 time 17.05.2016

Review: Blue Apron has not delivered services I ordered. They charged my credit card on 08/**/2015 in the amount of $69.92, on 08/**/2015 in the amount of 69.92, and again on 08/**/2015 for $69.92. The order on 08***/2015 arrived three days late and I have yet to receive the other orders. I have contacted them twice via email, and twice via telephone message regarding the charges and non-delivery of my subscription of my order.Desired Settlement: I want a a refund for the charges on 08/**/2015 of 69.92 and the charges on 08/**/2015 in the amount of $69.92 for a total refund of $139.84, and would like to cancel my subscription.

Consumer
Response:
At this time, my complaint, ID ******** regarding Blue Apron has been resolved.  They refunded the amount requested and canceled the service per my request. 
(By clicking "OK", your complaint will be closed as Resolved.)
Sincerely,******* ******


Mark as useful (0 votes)
Reply
Satisfaction rating: 
User Reviewer1439827 time 16.05.2016

Review: 8/** delivery not received. Email contact not returned. I then closed my account and was charged again today.Desired Settlement: I want a refund for the shipment that was never received...$59. I also want a refund for the payment taken out of my account after I cancelled my membership, $59. Total refund of $118

Consumer
Response:
At this time, my complaint, ID ******** regarding Blue Apron has been resolved.
(By clicking "OK", your complaint will be closed as Resolved.)
Sincerely,**** ********


Mark as useful (0 votes)
Reply
Satisfaction rating: 
User M. M. time 13.05.2016

Blue Apron's product is fine. Overpriced, but perhaps a decent option for people without much time to shop.

Unfortunately they don't offer gluten free options and I decided to cancel after my free trial. At this point Blue Apron quite deliberately and overtly forces the customer to pay for an additional week, despite claims during the free trial that you will be allowed to cancel.

Here's how they prevent you from cancelling: First - there is no cancellation option on your account online. Instead you have to search for an email address and send a cancellation request to the company. Second - using the email address given on the website generates an auto response email telling you to use a different email address! The entire email is deliberately confusing. Third - after sending the cancellation request a second time, to their second email address, within their deliberately tight window for cancellation, I thought I was done with them. However they instead wait to reply to my email until the next day at 12:13pm - approximately 13 minutes after the deadline to cancel, and tell me that I have one more meal coming.

Now, clearly the company received my email the night before and had all morning to process the cancellation. They quite clearly chose to wait until after their own deadline to process a manual request (when they surely could have done this instantly online instead), and then act as though I somehow did not cancel within their window.

This strikes me as a blatant scam and an illegal breach of their own commitment to a risk free cancellation trial, as is promised on sign up.


Mark as useful (0 votes)
Reply
Satisfaction rating: 
User R. S. time 10.05.2016

Blue Apron claims you can cancel your subscription at any time, but makes it nearly impossible to do do. I have scoured every aspect of my account, history and payment on their website, but cannot find where to cancel it.


Mark as useful (0 votes)
Reply
Satisfaction rating: 
User Reviewer1439821 time 09.05.2016

Review: Signed up for account. Ordered food. Supposed to be delivered this last Saturday. Still has not been delivered. May come later this week, who knows? Will be spoiled by the time it arrives. Emailed the business twice and they never responded. Have cancelled my account. I have paid for food that I have never received.Desired Settlement: Refund

Consumer
Response:
At this time, my complaint, ID ******** regarding Blue Apron has been resolved.
(By clicking "OK", your complaint will be closed as Resolved.)
Sincerely,****** ******


Mark as useful (0 votes)
Reply
Satisfaction rating: 
User Reviewer1439823 time 09.05.2016

Review: On September **, 2015, I was scheduled to receive a first delivery from Blue Apron. The delivery never came. Disappointed with the service I sent two emails on 9/**/15 to both ********************* and *************************** asking to be refunded for the delivery I did not receive and to cancel my account. Blue Apron's policy is that all accounts must be cancelled 6 days prior to the next shipment, scheduled for 9/**/15. As I sent this email on 9/** I satisfied the requirement. On 9/**/15 I attempted to contact the company by phone and left a message relaying the same info and got no call back. On 9/** I sent a follow up email again reiterating that I wanted my account canceled and I wanted a refund on the missed delivery and got no response. On 9/*** Blue Apron, without my consent and in direct contravention of my numerous instructions to cancel my account, has charged my credit card in the amount of $69.00. I have notified my credit card company that this charge is fraudulent and without my consent and will dispute the charge. On 9/** I again emailed Blue Apron instructing them to cease and desist any further attempts to charge my credit card for a service I have never received and do not want. I have repeatedly asked Blue Apron to acknowledge and confirm that my account has been cancelled and have yet to receive a reply. The complany's failure to acknowledge cancellation attempts does not negate them.Desired Settlement: I want Blue Apron to refund the value of the delivery that was never received and to cease and desist all further attempts to charge my credit card. I want a cancellation of my account effective 9/**/15, the same day I first contacted Blue Apron to cancel. I want confirmation of both the cancellation and their agreement to cease and desist further attempts to charge my credit card.

Consumer
Response:


I received a response from the company in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

******** *****



 


Mark as useful (0 votes)
Reply
Check fields!

Submit Review

Satisfaction rating:

Blue Apron, Inc. rating

Overal satisfaction rating

Category: FOOD - SALES & DELIVERY, DELIVERY SERVICE, MEAL PREPARATION SERVICE

Address: 5 Crosby St Fl 3, New York, NY, 10013

Website: http://www.blueapron.com/

199 people are currently seeking Blue Apron, Inc. contact information. If you have any available please add it here.