Write a review Sign In

Portland Community College

Schools - Academic - Colleges & Universities

If you had an experience with this company please share with it by adding a review
Start page > Schools - Academic - Colleges & Universities > Portland Community College
Add Review

Portland Community College Reviews (5)

Satisfaction rating: 
User Joe Student time 18.06.2017

The PCC Paralegal Department is a joke! Horrible! If you are considering getting your Paralegal degree, I strongly suggest going elsewhere. Disorganized, very few daytime classes offered. In fact, Fall term there will be 2 day classes, the rest are at night. During most folk's family time. Do they care? Heck no! In fact, complain and be prepared to be a target for whatever they can throw at you. I had to learn that the hard way. I wish I could finish my degree somewhere else. Unsupportive department head to boot! Like I said, go somewhere else if possible. I wish I could.


Mark as useful (0 votes)
Reply
Satisfaction rating: 
User Reviewer391006 time 23.06.2015

Review: I registered for RE 252 2014 Fall Term when I returned to complete the Incomplete for RE 252 2014 Summer Term and was charged the tuition.I was told by * ****** "to contact registration to see if you needed to register or not since you got in incomplete for it last term." Being a new student, I did what I thought was right and contacted the student help desk (who provides service support primarily for PCC online students). Today, I was denied the tuition waiver because the PCC Registrar stated I did not have the proper documentation. This is decision was solely made because I cannot recollect the name of the male, in student services; I spoke to more than 5 months ago.The RE252 2014 Fall Instructor, ***** ************ wrote me earlier in the week stating I'll send an email response recommending the tuition charge be withdrawn, since you were completing an Incomplete and mistakenly registered for the class, once again.The PCC Registrar said At this point, the best option would be to pursue a tuition reimbursement for the course you received the "I" grade. In order to qualify for the tuition appeal, the appeal must be made within 90-days from the terms end.I tried to pursue a tuition reimbursement this morning but it states that because I have a financial hold on your account (the amount Im trying to clear) it must be cleared with the Student Accounts Office before you can appeal your tuition.Desired Settlement: Tuition charge and late fees associated with the charge be withdrawn ($822.64).

Business
Response:
The college is looking into the matter and will have a response by March 30.  *** ****** 



Consumer
Response:
 
Review: ********

I am rejecting this response because: On March 10, 2015, I submitted the complaint. The business had 10-14 days to respond and today is the 23rd day and there still has not been a response filed with the Revdex.com. I am asking the Revdex.com to please submit a second request to them ASAP. I was looking to close this compliant within 30 business days (before it tarnishes my credit).
Sincerely,




Consumer
Response:
 
Review: ********

I am rejecting this response because: Ms. ****** has yet to acknowledge the college made no mistakes. I do not accept that I have to pay for the charge that I am contesting. I do not accept to have my appeal be reviewed by the same institution that does not recognise any fault in this matter, to then receive partial credit. I forfeit any opportunity to appeal through PCC.Sincerely,




Business
Response:
The dispute has been investigated and no college error was found. There is a formal complaint and appeal process that Mr. ***** will need to follow in order to receive consideration of his request for removal of charges from his account. This information has already been provided. Had he taken the necessary steps, this matter would have been resolved already and would likely have a favorable outcome.  


Mark as useful (0 votes)
Reply
Satisfaction rating: 
User Reviewer391012 time 20.06.2015

Review: I had my bank account debited twice for a book purchased once. First debit was for the price of a new book at the initial order ($228.95 inc. delivery), the second charge on my account was at dispatch (a second hand book $173.95 inc. delivery).
My issue is that the refund for the initial debit was not secured before the second debit was made.

I feel it is fraudulent to double charge for a single event/product.Desired Settlement: I wish PCC to improve it's business practice. That is, I would like to see PCC Bookshops refund the difference in book pricing rather than double debiting the purchaser's bank account before hoping that the initial refund finds its way back to the original account.

Perhaps PCC Bookshops should only make a charge on an account when the final price is known and ready for dispatch?

Business
Response:
Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/26) */
The consumer placed an order on our website for a new textbook, our order #XXXXXX. The amount of the order, if filled as new, would be $228.95 which includes delivery. As a result, his debit card was encumbered for $228.95 with his bank. This order was placed on 9/11/13 at 5:08PM.
The order was pulled and packed by the bookstore with a used textbook on 9/12/13 at 11:42AM. The amount of the order was $173.95 since the book was used. This amount was debited from the consumer's account on 9/13/13 when the bookstore's VISA batch was sent.
To summarize, when the customer placed the order on the web, his account was encumbered for the full amount of $228.95. His account was NOT charged. His account WAS debited on 9/13/13 for $173.95 when the order was pulled and processed for shipping. The customer has confirmed receiving his order.
Different banks have different timeframes for processing e-commerce orders. All of this is out of the hands of the merchant. The consumer should discuss this with his bank for further clarification. We explained this to the customer when he called. He said he understood, but still felt we should have more control over the process. Unfortunately, we do not.


Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/09/27) */
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The encumbering of a debit charge on an account limits the available balance to the holder of the account. Encumbering an account is a "promise to pay". In this case PCC Sylvania bookstore has essentially placed a hold on my account for the price of a new book and then charged for a second hand book upon dispatch. I know of no other bookseller which does this. Every book I have purchased has been charged, once, at the time of dispatch.

The response from PCC Sylvania Bookstore also fails to show a correct or complete financial history. The full charge was pulled from my account and re-applied (along with a purchase from PCC Rock Creek Bookstore),there was also a random credit of about $30 bounced in and out. I am attempting to retrieve a full transcript of financial events from ***** ***** and VISA.
Yours, ******


Mark as useful (0 votes)
Reply
Satisfaction rating: 
User Reviewer474231 time 17.06.2015

Review: When browsing for community ed art classes, I unknowlingly enrolled for two classes at Portland Community College. This happened on February 2nd. On April 30th, PCC mailed me a balance of $190.40. They requested that I pay for the classes. I refuse to pay $190. I was never notified that I had enrolled in classes. I never received mail or email alerting me to my enrollment at PCC. I didn't even know I was enrolled. Portland Community College says that their policy states that you have 90 days to drop classes. They won't allow me to drop these classes because I enrolled on February 2nd. This is unethical-- considering I never received any notification of my enrollment and I didn't intend to enroll.Desired Settlement: I request that PCC erase my outstanding balance.

Business
Response:
I am sorry that Mr. ******* finds himself in this situation.  In his email, he admits to signing up for a course in error.  The college would have sent a bill via **** to the address on file within a few days of registering.  If a bill is not paid, the college sends three additional notices providing information about how to resolve discrepancies.  One of the options is to file a tuition appeal.  This does require that the account be in good standing so Mr. ******* would need to pay his balance before the appeal would be considered. As long as Mr. ******* hasn't filed an appeal in the past and he responds in a timely manner, there is a high likelihood that an appeal would be approved. 


Mark as useful (0 votes)
Reply
Satisfaction rating: 
User Reviewer391010 time 11.06.2015

Review: Basically, from January to February of 2014, I had been ill. I had signed up for classes; but, due to a life threatening illness, I was not able to attend let alone cancel my classes. I realize the school has their policies, but I figure that documentation to include a signed letter from my Veterans Affairs Primary Care Physician should have been more than adequate to obfuscate fraudulent charges brought on by a zealous employee. It is bad enough, not to mention downright criminal that a professor would dare keep a person on the rolls in order to either gain monetary access or even fraudulently inflate their attendance rolls. Even though a date of approximately 22 June 2014 was given, my retinal detachment surgery was on 2 June 2014, of which time I was beginning to barely see images let alone have the acuity of being able to read for which I am still struggling with. By the way, on 28 July 2014, I will be undergoing another surgery...with the prognosis being bleak with th possibility of me losing my eye. Granted, I received a letter with a "proposed payment arrangement." At this point in time with more serious health issues and with the status as a disabled Veteran, I should not have to pay for someone else's dishonesty not to mention fraudulence despite PCC's policy. during the Fall Quarter of 2013, it was during a class project whereby ************** along with others witnessed a video as well as me announcing to the class that I wam a disabled Veteran.
Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund
Personally, I would rather go through arbitration with PCC's lawyers on this matter. In the meantime, before my upcoming surgery, I will weigh my options. I demand financial compensation simply for the aggravation and heartache what this school's faculty members put me through.

Business
Response:
Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/04) */
We are sorry that *** ******** suffered a hardship. PCC always tries to respond sensitively to the hardships of its students and has developed a responsive appeal process students can access through their personal online account​.

As mentioned in his complaint, *** ******** contacted the office about his situation. When students contacts us, they are provided guidance and information about how to submit an appeal and are directed to the college's website, which outlines the appeal requirements (see pcc.edu/tuition-appeal). The appeal policy allows for outcomes that include credit vouchers for tuition already paid, but generally do not include removal of fees or tuition charges except in cases of college error.

The college also has clear registration policies and requires students to drop their classes according to published deadlines. Documentation supporting a tuition appeal would need to show evidence that the student was unable to meet the published drop deadline due to the hardship.

Due to federal confidentiality laws, we cannot provide specifics related to any student record at PCC. However, if *** ******** attempted to appeal and it was neither accepted nor approved, it would be for one or more of the following reasons:

- The documentation may be missing or may not have supported the student's inability to drop the course before the deadline
- The hardship may not have occurred during the term in question
- The deadline requirement may not have been met
- The payment requirement may not have been met (see PCC's payment requirements at pcc.edu/pay)

For the period referenced in *** *******;s complaint, the drop deadline was January 11, 2014, the term ended March 23 and the last day to submit an appeal was June 23.

The assertion that "a professor would dare keep a person on the rolls in order to either gain monetary access or even fraudulently inflate their attendance roles" is unfounded. A course may be canceled if there are not enough students enrolled, but instructors are not compensated on a per-student basis. In addition, students are in complete control of their registration. If they are unable to attend a course, they can drop prior to the deadline or they have the option withdraw. A student can drop or withdraw online, by phone or in-person.


Mark as useful (0 votes)
Reply
Check fields!

Submit Review

Satisfaction rating:

Portland Community College rating

Overal satisfaction rating

Category: Schools - Academic - Colleges & Universities

Address: 12000 SW 49th Ave, Portland, OR, 97219

Website: http://www.pcc.edu

8 people are currently seeking Portland Community College contact information. If you have any available please add it here.