Sign in

A-1 Appliance and Electronics

Sharing is caring! Have something to share about A-1 Appliance and Electronics? Use RevDex to write a review
Reviews A-1 Appliance and Electronics

A-1 Appliance and Electronics Reviews (20)

• Oct 31, 2019

As to the complaint, at this time the washer has been repaired and as we have not heard from the customer the washer as we know it is working properly The factory has oked the swap out of the dryerThe dryer swap out ticket was made on january 13,We are in the process of making arrangments with the customer to swap out the dryer

Revdex.com:
I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 11753448, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 
Regards,
[redacted]

When the customer spoke to Mr. [redacted] they both agreed to 1/2 of the repair less the tax on the dishwasher as a store credit and at no point did Ms. [redacted] never mention to Mr. [redacted] that she had also had a microwave repaired as well. Just that she had written a check for $338.59 on 2/11 for repairs. This check was to cover repairs on the dishwasher and microwave. The microwave was repaired and working properly and the cost of repair was $208.66. The parts installed on the dishwasher were required and at that point the dishwasher was working. Customer then called back on 2/17 stating that the dishwasher was still not working properly, on 2/22 the service manager then went to look at unit. At this point it was determined that an additional part a pump was now required and at this point the customer choose not to continue with repairs. We feel that the offer to the customer still stands. At no point did Mr. [redacted] agree to ½ back on both repairs of which she believes she is due.

I have discussed this issue with our sales manager and we agreed that we will get the square handles for the customer at no charge.

The customer called in on Dec 7rth. The service call was set up on Dec 11th. Technician went out and found that the wash arms to the dishwasher were clogged. The Technician then ordered the wash arms to the dishwasher. The wash arms were ordered on Dec 12th. We received the parts and went out on Dec...

24th to install the wash arms. At that time the tech found that the water sensor was bed. The customer approved the additional part. The sensor was ordered and on Fed 12th the optical sensor was installed. The customer called back in on Feb 17th and said that the unit was still not cleaning. On Feb 22sd we went back out to the customer’s house and found that the pump assembly was bad. At that time the customer said she did not want any more repairs on the unit. Customer then spoke to the owner Garey [redacted] and offered the customer ½ of the repair less the tax as a store credited for a replacement unit. The total amount that the customer paid for the dishwasher repair was $267.27. The customer was informed that the credit would be $101.94. The customer also had a repair done to her microwave oven at a cost of $208.66. The customer was informed that she would only get a credit of the half off of the cost of the dishwasher repair. When the customer went to the store to purchase the dishwasher she told the sales person that she wanted half off of both repairs for the dishwasher and the microwave oven.  At that time the store called the service dept and the customer was informed that she was only initialed to half off the repair to the dishwasher only that she had agreed to when speaking to Mr. [redacted]. At that time the customer left the store and stated she would buy elsewhere.

Our Service Manager, Pat, defrosted the water line of the refrigerator on Friday April 7th and the ice maker is working fine. [redacted]

We love our customers! We are very sorry our customer is unhappy with this product. We are in touch with Frigidaire and are asking them to replace this appliance. The warranty is with Frigidaire. A-1 can't replace the refrigerator without their consent. We will let our customer know...

as soon as we get an answer form the Factory.[redacted]Owner A-1 Appliance and Bedding

Revdex.com:
I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 10780548, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me once the...

refund is made.  As of this date 8/29;however, we have not received a refund.  We went to the Veterans Store on 8/29 to inquire about the refund and was told they would discuss the matter with the Controller and contact me.  I received a follow-up call after leaving the store indicating they will issue a credit on Monday 8/31; and it will take 72 hours to process it.   
Regards,
[redacted]

As to the complaint, at this time the washer has been repaired and as we have not heard from the customer the washer as we know it is working properly.  The factory has oked the swap out of the dryer. The dryer swap out ticket was made on january 13,2015. We are in the process of making...

arrangments with the customer to swap out the dryer.

Revdex.com:
I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 11154812, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear I will not deal with a dishonest store.  The lack of honesty is evident in the mention of taxes which were never even discussed in my conversation.  Clearly A1 does not wish to make this right! I have dealt with my problem by purchasing else where!  I suggest that A-1 deal with their service and honesty issues.  I will do by best to see that no one else does business with A-1so that you won't have to deal with complaints which they are clear unwilling to resolve.  I would also advise my friends and all that will listened that having aRevdex.com sticker in a window does not help in resolving issues with dishonest dealers
Regards,
[redacted]

Review: In February 2013, I purchased a refrig, range and dishwasher from A-1. I was told that their installer would deliver and install the the dishwasher, the same day, but would charge me separately as there could be additional parts, lines, etc. needed that could not be determined until the install. The person installing the dishwasher verbally told me the cost, which I paid by check. This past October (2014) the high pressure hot water fitting under the dishwasher burst while we were away, sending a torrent of steaming hot water that ruined the wood floors, baseboards, sheetrock, etc. on one entire side of the house. I called A-1 and they said they couldn't send someone out until later in the week and we were on our own and to call our own plumber, etc. They refused to give me the name of the installer, their insurance company, etc. We called a plumber who looked at the dishwasher and stated the fitting and line used for the hot water intake was totally inappropriate for dishwasher use and was a low pressure, cold water toilet braided line and plastic valve! He also noted the line had been jammed between the dishwasher and concrete subfloor, kinking it. I called A-1 back to give them a chance to view the damage, line, valve, dishwasher, etc. but they declined. Because the appliances were under extended warranty, I called their service desk (after getting the number from the store) who finally sent a service tech 4 days later. He said because it was an install problem and not a dishwasher warranty issue, he couldn't touch. But---what he did do was look at the line and said "I've never seen that used in a dishwasher before; that looks like a toilet line". I sent demand letter to A-1 who notified their insurer. The insurer denied the claim when, to avoid the policy hit, A-1 misrepresented that I chose my own installer to pick up and install the dishwasher. I since learned the installer was an exclusive contractor to A-1. A-1 intentionally lied about that to prevent my recovery against their policy.Desired Settlement: A-1 needs to pay the claim and damages resulting therefrom, as well as advise their insurer of what appears to be insurance fraud on their part. Legal action will taken if not immediately remedied. A-1 is in violation of the consumer protection laws of the sate of Louisiana in their post-loss actions, as well as for all damages resulting from the loss. (There are more details which could not be entered above due to character limitations.

Review: We purchased a Fisher PayKel Washer from A-1 Appliance in 2012. Since we had never owned this brand of machine, we also decided to purchase the extended warranty. Because we were happy with the performance of the Fisher Paykel washer, we also purchased a new Fisher PayKel dryer from A-1 when our dryer broke in June / July of 2014.Almost immediately, the dryer began making very loud noises. The dryer would work but was extremely loud and could even be heard outside the house when it was running. We placed a call to A-1 for them to do a service call. The technician came out in a timely fashion and changed a few parts on the dryer. The dryer ran for maybe a week quietly and then began making the same noise again.We called A-1 for service in October 2014. At that time, our washing machine had also started making noises during the spin cycle. We asked them to check both machines. The technician came out to service the machines on October 28th, 2014 and stated he needed to order parts. During the week of November 3rd, our washing machine went out completely and I had to resort to going to the laundry mat. After calling A-1 several times over the course of three weeks for status on our washer and dryer parts, they could never tell us when to expect the repairs. We finally moved the washer out to the garage and purchased a new washer from Sears.The technician returned the week of December 8th with the parts for the washing machine. Unfortunately, he had to do the repair in our garage and, while we believe it is repaired, were unable to run a complete cycle. At that time, we still did not have an update on our dryer parts. We visited the A-1 store, spoke to several managers and even the owner asking for a dryer replacement since it seemed like the dryer would never get fixed. Each time, the employee (even the owner) gave us a statement saying "they could not authorize" a replacement.On January 5th, the technician finally came out to repair our dryer. After completing the repair, the dryer is still making the same noise! Two + months later, I have a possibly repaired washer sitting in my garage and a dryer that is still broke and no answers or offers for compensation from A-1.Desired Settlement: I am overly disappointed with the customer service that we have recieved from A-1. Our dryer has never worked properly since it was purchased 6+ months ago and A-1 has no answers and will not replace the machine. In addition, I paid for an extended warranty on a washing machine that took so long to repair, I had to get another washer or spend same amount of money in the laundromat.I would like a brand new dryer replacement from A-1 and a credit back for the ext warranty on the washer.

Business

Response:

As to the complaint, at this time the washer has been repaired and as we have not heard from the customer the washer as we know it is working properly. The factory has oked the swap out of the dryer. The dryer swap out ticket was made on january 13,2015. We are in the process of making arrangments with the customer to swap out the dryer.

Review: I purchased a Jenn Air dishwasher on 6/17/13 which offered a $150 installation rebate when purchased through A-1 Appliance. This rebate influenced our decision to purchase that particular model. The required paperwork was submitted, but I was denied the rebate by Jenn Air. This was first reported to [redacted] (Manager) on July 24 when the notice was received. He advised me that he would investigate and get back with me. He said "I'll take care of this. You should receive this rebate." Over 7 calls were made to [redacted] since that time, but there has still been no resolution to my request. The issue remains unresolved.Desired Settlement: This rebate should be honored by A-1 since they promoted the product along with the rebate and it defninitely influenced my decision to make this purchase at that business.Thank you.

Business

Response:

Dear Mr [redacted]

In looking at the paper work that you sent to Jenn Air There is no invoice for any installation charges billed to you. Seeing no charges for installing your new dishwasher I can understand why Jenn Air did not send you a refund. If I am wrong and you do have an invoice for the install please get me a copy of the invoice ASAP and I will make sure you receive your check.

I thank you very much for purchasing your new Jenn Air Dishwasher from A-1. If you have any questions please feel free to call me. My direct line is ###-###-#### ex 329.

President

A-1 Appliance, Electronics and Bedding

Review: I have done business with A-1Appliance for almost 30 years both to purchase appliances and to repair appliances. I have never had a problem with them before so was shocked at the way I was treated starting in November of 2015 when I requested a service call for my KItchenaid dish washer. Delays in getting a service person, Wrong parts, Service did not fix problem. Three months with out a dish washer. No apologies from the service department for either the length of time to, wrong parts, or failure to fix problem. Am also upset that instead of an apology the problem was blamed on my choice of dishwashing detergent although it was a national brand. When I finallly called to complain and spoke to some one outside of the service department. I did receive an apology and was asked what it would take to make it right? My reply was "half of my service costs to be applied toward a new machine". According to Gary that was more than reasonable. I drove out to the store to select a new machine. Attempted to redeem the promise only to find that according to their couculations I was only entitled to about 100.00. Which was less than 1/3 of my out of pocket cost. They only wanted to consider the service call costs,not the part costs which did not fix the dishwasher. Needless to say they did not consider the fact that I had been without a dishwasher for almost 3 months trying to deal with them..

I am unable to consider any resolution that means doing business with this company again. They have demonstrated a total lack of respect for my business and my time.Desired Settlement: I want all of my money back for the parts replaced on the dish washer and the labor cost to fix the dishwasher since neither fixed the problem in addition to the service call fee for the dishwasher. In exchange A-1 can have the dishwasher as I have bought another one from hopefully a more reputable dealer.

Business

Response:

The customer called in on Dec 7rth. The service call was set up on Dec 11th. Technician went out and found that the wash arms to the dishwasher were clogged. The Technician then ordered the wash arms to the dishwasher. The wash arms were ordered on Dec 12th. We received the parts and went out on Dec 24th to install the wash arms. At that time the tech found that the water sensor was bed. The customer approved the additional part. The sensor was ordered and on Fed 12th the optical sensor was installed. The customer called back in on Feb 17th and said that the unit was still not cleaning. On Feb 22sd we went back out to the customer’s house and found that the pump assembly was bad. At that time the customer said she did not want any more repairs on the unit. Customer then spoke to the owner Garey [redacted] and offered the customer ½ of the repair less the tax as a store credited for a replacement unit. The total amount that the customer paid for the dishwasher repair was $267.27. The customer was informed that the credit would be $101.94. The customer also had a repair done to her microwave oven at a cost of $208.66. The customer was informed that she would only get a credit of the half off of the cost of the dishwasher repair. When the customer went to the store to purchase the dishwasher she told the sales person that she wanted half off of both repairs for the dishwasher and the microwave oven. At that time the store called the service dept and the customer was informed that she was only initialed to half off the repair to the dishwasher only that she had agreed to when speaking to Mr. [redacted]. At that time the customer left the store and stated she would buy elsewhere.

Consumer

Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 11154812, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint. For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear belowFirst of all after reading A-1's response I see no offer to settle this matter. Secondly I find the explanation of my conversation with Mr [redacted] to be in accurate in that the word "repair" was never used. I requested half of all "service fees" and it was my understanding was that Mr. [redacted] thought that was"more than fair". The word repair was not used because despite all the wor and parts placed on my dishwasher the machine did not work. So I would never use the word repaired. The other issue is the amount of time it took for A-1 to attempt o service my dishwasher. This mess started December 11, 2015 and did not end til February 24' 2016. I would also remind everyone that The first thing that Mr. [redacted] told me was that there were other repair services and I need not call A-1 until they got their repair department up and running again. Where was that information the first time I call requesting service? I am still requesting half of all service fees returned to me. I believe that is fair considering that the dish washer was never fixed!!! I wrote A-1 checks totaling 475.93. Half of that amount is 237.46. That leaves A-1 with an amount greater that the charges for replacing the door handle on my microwave. I still believe that is fair considering the length of time it took A-1 to admit that they had failed to properly service my dishwasher. I would also add that I drove nearly 20 miles to their store in good faith that Mr. [redacted] and I had come to and understanding only to be told by a lady that my understanding was incorrect and the amount that Mr. [redacted] consider in play was108.00 which was less tha the cost of the first service call to diagnose the problem. When I disagreed and asked to speak to Mr. [redacted] I was told he was unavailable. It was at that point that I decided that I could no longer do business with A-1. By the way I purchased the dishwasher from a competitor for 100.00 less than the asking price at A-1. This leads me to believe that Mr. [redacted] offer was merely a case of bait and switch.

Regards,

Review: When purchasing a new maytag washer and dryer from this establishment, I was told that buying an extended warranty was a waste of money that maytag products are built to last and would last up to 10yrs. I purchased this product 2 1/2 yrs ago and when washing clothing it sounds like a jet about to take off, numerous complaints and videos on Internet regarding this type of washer and defected bearings, spoke to maytag but they take no blame for faulty products. Both maytag and A1 appliances need to stop advertising that their product is built to last if it goes out with in 2 1/2 yrs of purchase.Desired Settlement: I feel that maytag or a1 should be responsible for selling faulty products. They want to charge me over $1500.00 to fix, that's more than the entire washer machine cost. It should be their responsibility to replace parts and labor. Look on Internet about the complaints they have regarding maytag 4000 series model # mhwe450ww01 some customers having trouble just after 6 months of purchase.

Business

Response:

[redacted]

Thank you for being an A-1 customer.

I am very sorry that the purchase you made at one of my stores has given you a service problem. My service manager Mr. [redacted] called and you said some other service company went to your home and they gave you a price of $1,500.00 to repair your Maytag washer. Mr. [redacted] said we could and would repair your washer for less than $200.00. Mr [redacted] that will save you over $1,300.00. But your wife said she was going to buy a new washer from some other company. I know the washer is almost three years old and yes a Maytag should last a lot longer than three years. No one can tell how long a product will last or how long before it may need repairs. But should you discard a washer that is only three years old? It needs less than $200.00 in repairs.

Mr [redacted] I would like every customer to be satisfied with products from my company. So I would like to make you this special offer! If you should change your mind about having your Maytag washer repaired please give me or Mr [redacted] a call. On the other hand if you want to purchase a new washer from A-1, I will make sure that you get the very best price on any washer you choose.

President

A-1 Appliance, Electronics and Bedding

###-###-#### ex[redacted]

Review: I purchased a GE Double Oven on 6/27/2015. The oven was delivered and installed by A-1's recommended installer. The total cost of the oven was $1,899.99 I have not been able to use the oven because there is an excessive amount of heat blowing from the bottom of the oven where the fan is located. I previously had a GE oven and did not experience this type of heat emission from the fan. I contacted Joseph W[redacted], the sales person, about my complaint. I scheduled an appointment with the service department. Two repair persons came out and I explained the situation to them. They called GE and described my complaint while at my house. They acknowledged an excessive amount of air was blowing from the fan but did not stay long enough for the oven to heat up. One of the repairmen said "They don't make ovens the way they used to" and said I don't see anything I can repair. I then called Joseph W[redacted] back several times. He said he would contact GE and call me back. After not hearing from Joseph W[redacted] or GE, my husband [redacted] called the store manager Brent. He promised to get it resolved and there still was no resolution. I have contacted my credit card company and filed a dispute. My husband called the store manager again and asked him to make arrangements to remove the oven since the issue has not been resolved. So far, no one has contacted either of us to make arrangements to remove the oven.Desired Settlement: We would like to have the oven removed immediately and refund of $1,899.99 so we can replace the oven. We are not interested in a store credit due to the unacceptable manner in which this situation has been handled. We have provided sufficient time for this issue to be handled by A-1 Appliances; however, it has not and we are still inconvenienced without an oven. Although we had never made a purchase at A-1 before, we thought we would try them to support a locally owned business. Never again!

Business

Response:

Per the customers request the unit has been taken back and the customer has been given a refund.

Consumer

Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 10780548, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me once the refund is made. As of this date 8/29;however, we have not received a refund. We went to the Veterans Store on 8/29 to inquire about the refund and was told they would discuss the matter with the Controller and contact me. I received a follow-up call after leaving the store indicating they will issue a credit on Monday 8/31; and it will take 72 hours to process it.

Review: I purchased a Maytag Washer and Dryer on 01/03/16 delivered on 01/04/16 both have been giving us problems since we purchased. We contacted A1 01/20/16 to complain about the units and they said they have a 14 day return policy which we where 2 days over. They said they had to send a repair man which they did. He came out and said both units they have been having problems with. He said on the washer he had to order a new pump and on the dryer he said the hose in the back was to long. We'll the washer when you put clothes in it the water does not cover the clothes so the clothes are not getting clean. The dryer we have to dry each batch of clothes aleast 2 hours to get them dry. These units where purchased new I don't feel that we have to have them start changing parts on a new unit. The sales person at A1 said that 3 serivce calls has to be made before they can take them back. I am very upset with both units. I purchased these items for my sister inlaw that is single and couldn't afford to buy new ones so I purchased them for her she would have been better keeping her old units. I am not aksing for a refund I just want new units other than the Magtag units that we purchased. I have been speaking to Billy at A1 in Harvey. ThanksDesired Settlement: Replace with new units

Business

Response:

The customer purchased the washer and found that the unit was not working properly. Tech went out and found that the unit was not rinsing properly. Tech found that the unit was not working properly because the customer duct taped the drain line shut and also that the customer was using too much soap in the washer. Advised the customer that the unit was working properly and the only thing needed to be done to the machine to correct the cleaning problem was to un tape the drain line and use the correct amount of soap. The customer was infonned that after she corrected the install problem and started using the correct amount of soap if she still had problems to call us back. As of this time the customer has not called back to tell us the unit is not working properly.

Review: My wife and I purchased a Whirlpool Cabrio Washer and Dryer from Mr Al [redacted] at the A-1 Appliance store on January 1, 2014. We paid with a check #6184 in the amount of $2018.29.The washer and dryer was delivered to [redacted] on 1/2/14.The delivery drivers connected both units up and my wife began to use the washing machine.The machine started to make a "Squeaky Whirly bird" noise and as the spinning increased the noise got worse and the unit was shifting from side to side. The noise level was so great that you could not hear the TV. My wife called [redacted] at the store and let him hear the noise through the phone. Mr [redacted] stated that the machine should not being doing this and that he would send a service technician out to check on the problem. The service technician (who admitted that he was not really familiar with these new machines) heard the noise but called whirlpool and let them hear the noise through the phone. The person stated that the machine is noisy but should not be making a squeaky noise. Mr [redacted] was contacted and he arranged for delivery of a new machine. The "new machine" was actually a floor model that was sent out to run a test. When we called Mr [redacted] and objected to the floor model he stated that he was sending this out as a test and if this unit did not make the same noise he would send out a new machine on Monday. He admitted that he forgot to tell us this on the phone. After a long unpleasant discussion with Mr [redacted] I asked hime to remove both machines and asked for a refund. Mr [redacted] stated that he would. I also asked for his supervisors name which he told me was [redacted] and could be reached at ###-###-####.I have called "[redacted]" every day since last Saturday and there have been no answers. I also called the refund line to see when to expect my refund and have yet to get an answer.I am hoping that your intervention can help resolve my problems and speed up my refund so I can purchase another set of machines from anywhere.Desired Settlement: I would like a refund in the amount of $2018.29 immediately so that I can purchase another washer and dryer from anywhere but A-1. I have been without this convenience since 1/1/14, almost three weeks. I would also like an explanation from someone at A-1 corporate office why "[redacted]" will not call me back and why no one in the Refund department will call me back. I have left messages with personel at the corporate office and also left voice messages daily and have yet to have a call back.

Business

Response:

Mr [redacted]

I am sorry we at A-1 could not satisfied your appliance needs!

Your check is in the mail as of today.

[redacted] the tech that went to your home has worked at A-1 for many years. He is one of the best in the New Orleans area. Every tech that works on Whirlpool appliances must call the tech line if they want to get paid for that service call. But calling the tech line does not indicate my tech is not knowledgeable. [redacted] knows how to repair Cabrio appliance very well.

Sir my name is [redacted] One phone call to any of my stores and they will give you my name and phone number. I answer every phone call and I return every phone call asap.

Again I am sorry you had a bad experience with my company! We must try and do better!

President and Owner

###-###-#### ex [redacted]

Consumer

Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9879240, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Review: bought a refrigerator oct 15 2015 from a-1 appliance from the beginning I bought this I have had so many issues my freezer would not freezer properly they sent out tech to change a board in the fridge because the temperature was not correct in the fridge nor freezer they came out more than three times and replaced the same thing and none of my issue have been fixed so they told me to call the frigidaire company because there was no more they could do its still under first year warranty so I call frigidaire they lady I spoke to told me wow they have been out there alot I said sure have and im having the same issue so they sent out there tec support and now im told that its my fault because I have to much in my freezer but the other man told me from a-1 that I had good air flow so in=ts not because I have to much items that also would not make my fridge part not to cool correctly I have to keep the temperature on hi for it to keep cool by law I was told more than 3 times of coming out they are supposed to give me a new fridge so what im asking is to have my refrigerator replaced since they cant seem to fix itDesired Settlement: all im asking is to have my refrigerator replaced with a new one since they have came out so many times to replace parts that seem to not work

Business

Response:

We love our customers! We are very sorry our customer is unhappy with this product. We are in touch with Frigidaire and are asking them to replace this appliance. The warranty is with Frigidaire. A-1 can't replace the refrigerator without their consent. We will let our customer know as soon as we get an answer form the Factory.[redacted]Owner A-1 Appliance and Bedding

When purchasing a new maytag washer and dryer from this establishment, I was told that buying an extended warranty was a waste of money that maytag products are built to last and would last up to 10yrs. I purchased this product 2 1/2 yrs ago and when washing clothing it sounds like a jet about to take off, numerous complaints and videos on Internet regarding this type of washer and defected bearings, spoke to maytag but they take no blame for faulty products. Both maytag and A1 appliances need to stop advertising that their product is built to last if it goes out with in 2 1/2 yrs of purchase.

Check fields!

Write a review of A-1 Appliance and Electronics

Satisfaction rating
 
 
 
 
 
Upload here Increase visibility and credibility of your review by adding a photo

A-1 Appliance and Electronics Rating

Overall satisfaction rating

Description: Appliances - Major - Dealers, Appliances - Major - Parts & Supplies, Electronic Equipment & Supplies - Dealers, General Merchandise - Retail

Address: 1925 Industrial Blvd, Harvey, LA, 70058

Phone:

Show more...

Web:

www.a1ontheweb.com


Add contact information for A-1 Appliance and Electronics

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | New | Updated