Sign in

A-1 Self Storage

Sharing is caring! Have something to share about A-1 Self Storage? Use RevDex to write a review
Reviews A-1 Self Storage

A-1 Self Storage Reviews (15)

• Nov 20, 2019

Revdex.com: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted] , and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below On 1/2/2009, I signed a rental agreement with A-Self Storage for a 10xstorage unit listing my my address as [redacted] ***This the address they sent the notices toI didn't receive any notificationOn 1/28/2010, I signed another authorization for a smaller unit to charge my credit cardMy address at the time was [redacted] ***If I had been notified at that address, I would have corrected the non-payment problem Regards, *** [redacted]

AStorage has not fulfilled a legitimate insurance claim we filed after approximately $of our personal goods were stolen while we rented large units from them for years while we were overseas We rented large units at the Hotel Circle S location in San Diego from April to July We paid approximately a total of $20,in fees, in addition to monthly insurance ($240) for years for the units The theft the claim for insurance is based on occurred within the one unit on the 3rd floor Most of our belongings that were stolen were the lighter items such as my clothing that I packed and stored just before we left to go to Europe, floor cleaning devices, my PC, other hardware, and office items along with Kitchen items that were put in last among other items were stolen Everything that was taken was at the front of the unit and was lighter to carry than the furniture directly behind it which tells me the person wanted to do this quickly and was alone We were only given two barrel keys by AStorage - we bought them directly from them, both of which we took with us overseas as we had no-one here we knew locally that we would leave the keys with We can back exhausted after having immigrated from Africa to Europe and back, and not only had the unexpected death of my husbands father to contend within that year but trying to resettle along with the theft of very personal items which we realized soon after we started moving items from the storage into the moving trucks that many things seemed to be missing from the front of the one unit on the third floorYet the locks appeared completely intact This alone is extremely concerning, as to how the barrel locks have remained in tact, and yet so much (approx$5000) of our belongings have gone missing We filed a police report as they stated we need to to proceed with the claim We selected AStorage based on their positioning themselves to having alarmed units and cameras on the floors and at entrances, however it turns out the camera's don't film down the corridors, they also don't keep or archive old footage, and the units are NOT individually monitored when opened That was a shocking revelation and not what I thought I was signing up forOnly the main front entrance is tracked/ truly monitored AStorage appears to be offering insurance that they don't intend to fulfill, when a theft or damage occur to your property? We are honest, hard working people, and I am heartbroken at getting back at having lost my personal keyboard and PC with tons of personal information on it, along with my personal grooming items, and my clothing I was looking forward to using as I reenter the workplace I am still sitting without an answering machine in our home, no mops, or floor cleaners, and many kitchen items such as the automatic tin opener I relied on due to arthritic wrists and fingers making it difficult to open cans This theft has really upset and disappointed us on the third floor in a supposedly secure storage, and worse that this company, AStorage management is now unwilling to fulfill the insurance obligation Instead of dedicating myself to finding work, I have wasted so much time driving south to file police reports, researching the replacement value of the many items we lost and they haven't even had the decency to apologize and do the right thing to repaying us for our losses We paid them $- paying our dues including insurance every month for months and this is how they treat their customers I want others who go away or overseas for a long period of time to be aware of the possibility of this happening to you and of the apathetic and unethical conduct of AStorage whom I thought was an upstanding company It is appalling, unethical and cruel

• Oct 29, 2019

In response to the complaint from the clientOur technician has been back out to location to evaluate the complaint Upon arrival our tech realized that the home owner had installed additional weather stripping to the door which was causing it to not close properly We have readjusted the strike plate on the door to insure that it does secure properly We cannot control what has been done to the door after we leave We have corrected the problem at no charge even though we felt it was nothing that we did to caused this issue.So we feel that we have taken care of the problem and closed the issue.SincerelyCarl Zipf Lock Shop Inc

The company stated that the matter was resolvedThe work was completed on Sunday

Revdex.com:
I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ***, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint. For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below
I downsized the unit that I originally rented during the four years at least twice and each time I filled out new form with my address (*** *** Drive in ** ***) and was told that this updated the residence informationThe house is now owned by my ex-wife but I was the co-owner at the time in questionI was never notified at the *** addressPlease see attacted file
Regards,
*** ***

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted], and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 
Regards,
[redacted]

In response to the complaint from the clientOur technician has been back out to location to evaluate the complaint.   Upon arrival our tech realized that the home owner had installed additional weather stripping to the door which was causing it to not close properly.   We have readjusted...

the strike plate on the door to insure that it does secure properly.   We cannot control what has been done to the door after we leave.  We have corrected the problem at no charge even though we felt it was nothing that we did to  caused this issue.So we feel that we have taken care of the problem and closed the issue.SincerelyCarl Zipf Lock Shop Inc.

Ms. [redacted],
 
I am...

responding to the complaint referenced above. 
 
The customer rented a storage unit with us and ultimately that unit was sold at public auction for non-payment of rent.   We do everything we can to avoid having to sell a customer’s belongings.  Prior to selling the unit we attempted to contact the customer by phone, by email, by regular mail and by certified mail.  Unfortunately we were not able to contact him by any of those means.  We followed the steps prescribed by law and ultimately, after advertising the sale in the newspaper, we sold the unit at public auction.   We were never notified by the customer that his address, phone number or email had changed.  Unfortunately when we don’t get payment and cannot contact the customer by any of the 3 methods they have provided us, we have no choice but to sell the unit. 
 
Prior to his complaint to the Revdex.com we had spoken to the customer but we were unable to come to any resolution regarding his claims. 
 
Sincerely,
 
[redacted]
A-1 Self Storage
 
 
[redacted] I [redacted] Properties, Inc. –
Regional Manager

I am writing in response to the claim referenced above submitted by Mr. [redacted] regarding A-1 Self Storage.  This is my response to Mr. [redacted]’s rebuttal to my original response. 
 
Mr. [redacted] rented a storage unit at A-1 Self Storage.  His unit was set up to be automatically paid for by a credit card he had on file with us.  At various points during his tenancy he had updated his credit card information as required.  At some point his credit card expired which resulted in his rent becoming delinquent and ultimately resulted in us selling the contents of his unit at a public auction.  Prior to selling the unit we attempted to contact Mr. [redacted] by every method he gave us on the rental agreement – mail (both regular and certified), email and telephone.  We made multiple attempts to contact him without success.  Apparently Mr. [redacted] had moved and failed to update us with his new information.  In his rebuttal he states that had we notified him he would have paid for the unit. Obviously that would have been the ideal outcome for all of us.  However, as I mentioned above we tried repeatedly to notify him and were unable to because he did not fulfill his obligations under the terms of the rental agreement to update his information.  We just flat out couldn’t get in touch with him.
 
Finally, in his rebuttal he references the fact that he had entered a different address on one or more of his credit card, auto charge update forms.  However, when he did that he did not direct us to change the address on file and mail any subsequent notices to that other address.  Nor did he ever tell us that his phone number or email address had changed.  Further, as we discovered after the fact, the “new” address he is referencing  was not even his address but rather the address of, I believe, his ex-wife.  That is precisely why we ask very specifically that customers notify us of the address to which they would like notices sent.  In summary, on the rental agreement he gave us 3 ways to contact him – phone, mail and email.  He acknowledged in writing that if that information changed he needed to let us know.  He also acknowledged on his credit card authorization that he would update us if his card information changed.  At the time of the delinquency none of those 3 “addresses” were accurate and we were unable to reach him.  We did everything we were required to do by law and by contract, plus more.  He did not do even the minimum he was required to do and that is ultimately why his belongings were sold.  As a result we do not think his request for $9,283 in reimbursement is reasonable and we will not be granting that request. 
 
Please let me know if you have any questions or need anything further.  Given that we have had some communication glitches in the past it would be greatly appreciated if you would simply “reply” to this email letting me know you received it.
 
Thank you,
 
[redacted]
 
[redacted] I [redacted] Properties, Inc. –
Regional Manager
Phone: 619-287-8873 x [redacted] Cell 619-[redacted] I Fax: 619-287-2493 I 4607 Mission Gorge Place I San Diego, Ca 92120
[redacted]@a1storage.com
Need Storage? Visit us at www.a1storage.com
Need Car Storage? Visit us at www.a1carstorage.com

Revdex.com:
I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted], and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.
On 1/2/2009, I signed a rental agreement with A-1 Self Storage for a 10x15 storage unit listing my my address as [redacted]. This the address they sent the notices to. I didn't receive any notification. On 1/28/2010, I signed another authorization for a smaller unit to charge my credit card. My address at the time was [redacted]. If I had been notified at that address, I would have corrected the non-payment problem.
Regards,
[redacted]

A1 Storage has not fulfilled a legitimate insurance claim we filed after approximately $5000 of our personal goods were stolen while we rented 2 large units from them for 3 years while we were overseas. We rented 2 large units at the Hotel Circle S location in San Diego from April 2012 to July 2016.
We paid approximately a total of $20,000 in fees, in addition to monthly insurance ($240) for 3 years for the units. The theft the claim for insurance is based on occurred within the one unit on the 3rd floor. Most of our belongings that were stolen were the lighter items such as my clothing that I packed and stored just before we left to go to Europe, floor cleaning devices, my PC, other hardware, and office items along with Kitchen items that were put in last among other items were stolen.
Everything that was taken was at the front of the unit and was lighter to carry than the furniture directly behind it which tells me the person wanted to do this quickly and was alone.
We were only given two barrel keys by A1 Storage - we bought them directly from them, both of which we took with us overseas as we had no-one here we knew locally that we would leave the keys with. We can back exhausted after having immigrated from Africa to Europe and back, and not only had the unexpected death of my husbands father to contend within that year but trying to resettle along with the theft of very personal items which we realized soon after we started moving items from the storage into the moving trucks that many things seemed to be missing from the front of the one unit on the third floor. Yet the locks appeared completely intact.
This alone is extremely concerning, as to how the barrel locks have remained in tact, and yet so much (approx. $5000) of our belongings have gone missing.
We filed a police report as they stated we need to to proceed with the claim.
We selected A1 Storage based on their positioning themselves to having alarmed units and cameras on the floors and at entrances, however it turns out the camera's don't film down the corridors, they also don't keep or archive old footage, and the units are NOT individually monitored when opened.
That was a shocking revelation and not what I thought I was signing up for. Only the main front entrance is tracked/ truly monitored.
A1 Storage appears to be offering insurance that they don't intend to fulfill, when a theft or damage occur to your property?
We are honest, hard working people, and I am heartbroken at getting back at having lost my personal keyboard and PC with tons of personal information on it, along with my personal grooming items, and my clothing I was looking forward to using as I reenter the workplace.
I am still sitting without an answering machine in our home, no mops, or floor cleaners, and many kitchen items such as the automatic tin opener I relied on due to arthritic wrists and fingers making it difficult to open cans.
This theft has really upset and disappointed us on the third floor in a supposedly secure storage, and worse that this company, A1 Storage management is now unwilling to fulfill the insurance obligation.
Instead of dedicating myself to finding work, I have wasted so much time driving south to file police reports, researching the replacement value of the many items we lost and they haven't even had the decency to apologize and do the right thing to repaying us for our losses.
We paid them $20000 - paying our dues including insurance every month for 36 months and this is how they treat their customers.
I want others who go away or overseas for a long period of time to be aware of the possibility of this happening to you and of the apathetic and unethical conduct of A1 Storage whom I thought was an upstanding company.
It is appalling, unethical and cruel.

[redacted]October 24, 2013On October 17 2013 I recently visited the facility with the intention of paying our monthly bill of our unit located: @ 8462 Garfield ave in Bell Gardens Ca, 90201. I was informed that a payment was already in process due to direct payments; to our surprise the employer signed us up for these services without our consent. We were very disappointed of not having a choice over services that we never signed up for, especially when we had other commitments set up for that account . The next day we received a letter coming from your facility stating that our payment did not go through. This became a very confusing situation due to the payment already in process thought direct payments. We decided to visit the store to find out our account activity, again very disappointed with the staff they were very sarcastic and unprofessional the made me feel very uncountable on top of that they openly admitted to have made the changes (again made me feel like I had no choice). The receptionist stated that a refund was going to be issue back to my account to cover the late fees of my account, the refund was never made nor a letter explaining our account mistakes made by them. To resolve this issue please feel free to contact me at my cell phone [redacted] or [redacted]. Sincerely [redacted]

Product_Or_Service: rent a unit at there storage facility

Account_Number: [redacted]

A1 Self Storage obligate customers to a Protection Plan.There is no law that is mandatory to have renters insurance or to protect your personal property.A1 Self Storage does no give you option to decline there Protection Plan.

I rented a storage unit from A1 Self Storage. I went to retrieve some items out my unit on August 31st at 4:00pm to find a new lock on my unit. I went to the front office to find out why my lock had been changed and the employee at the front desk nonchalantly stated Oh yeah I have been meaning to call you, your unit did not have a lock on it and we put our company lock on it. Apparently the district manager had done her walk through that morning to find my lock missing at 10:30 am. The front desk clerk proceeded to escort me to my unit and unlock it for me. When it was opened it was clearly vandalized with several valuable items missing. Upon further investigation to my door opening and closing monitor they found that on August 28th at 7:30pm my unit was broken into setting off an alarm. (In their rental contract they state the police MIGHT be notified if an alarm is set off) I was never notified that my unit had been broken in to. After a week of turning in my report the district manager sent me an e-mail asking me to send her the receipts and pictures of them items that were taken from me so that they could reimburse me because I had chosen to use their Customer Protection Plan. I paid an extra $10 every month and I signed an agreement for this plan. Nowhere on the agreement or the Customer Protection Plan portion of their website does it say that you need to have proof of ownership (such as receipts or pictures like they were asking for). As I did not keep receipts for everything that I had bought or was given as a gift, as no one does. Had I known that I would have needed to provide proof of ownership I would have taken more caution when placing my things in their facility. They originally offered me $1000 for my items. I asked for an itemized list of how they came up with that number, they were unable to provide that as they had blindly come up with that amount. After declining the $100 offer I was asked to figure out the value of my items myself and send it to them. I added up the total value and it amounted to $2190 (not including my jewelry and money that was taken along with my sons piggy bank as those items were not covered.) After sending them that amount they gave me a counter offer of $1700, saying it was a firm offer made by the CEO to intimidate me. I told them that I would then be perusing legal action against their company. At that point they finally agreed to pay me the full $2100 that I was entitled to through their Customer Protection Plan. I believe that people who are not as insistent as me are been blindly given a number of reimbursement by A1. They are not being up front with there policy information when customers sign up and pay for their Customer Protection Plan. They also negligent about how their company handles issues such as this by not immediately notifying the customer.

This company advertised false services to the customer and failed to discuss the ability to terminate for any non-verified and circumstantial reason. The company terminated the contract agreement due to a 4-day late rental payment, bodily odors that were supposedly wafting from my storage, few items being stored, and for staying in the units too long. The termination occurred after they opened my storage unit, while I was absent, and deemed there were too few and too flat items within my storage. They continued to give excuses without proof, verification, and documentation. I did not violate the contract terms and conditions, nor was I late on rent payments until today.There is a 10-day grace period to provide rent and additional costs, but the consumer is not given the opportunity to pay the rent within that time period. They did not allow the time estimated within the contract to pay rent. They opened my unit, (which, understandably, they have the right to do so), and went through my belongings while I was unaware and terminanted me. Documentation, services, and contract agreement are false because they do not allow you that grace period.If I had been aware that body smells were plausible grounds for termination, I would have diligently sprayed the entire storage unit and adjoining hallways. Documentation, services, and contract agreement are false because they do not state nor discuss these reasons for possible termination. Once management, specifically [redacted], went through my belongings, she deemed the items within the unit too flat. Management also stated there were too few items within my very small 4x5 unit. Documentation, services, and contract agreement are false because they do not state these reasons for possible termination. Staying in units for too long was also another cause for my recent termination. What is too long? I am displeased with the level of service and the false information and documentation they presented me with while I was signing up as a tenant.

Check fields!

Write a review of A-1 Self Storage

Satisfaction rating
 
 
 
 
 
Upload here Increase visibility and credibility of your review by adding a photo

A-1 Self Storage Rating

Overall satisfaction rating

Description: Storage Units

Address: 21 E Lemans Dr, Depew, New York, United States, 14043

Phone:

Show more...

Web:

www.itzybitzyboutique.com


Add contact information for A-1 Self Storage

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | New | Updated