Sign in

A-Better Tree Service

Sharing is caring! Have something to share about A-Better Tree Service? Use RevDex to write a review
Reviews A-Better Tree Service

A-Better Tree Service Reviews (3)

I can't believe Google gave me them as a first listing. I called and Jeff the owner was at my house in 15 minutes no joke. Not only did he take care of my needs, but gave me great recommendations for venders to help with getting me back on track. A+

Review: Refusal to provide follow-up service after identifying multi-year process was needed and subsequent service would be charged at a reduced rate.

On February 13, 2012, I contracted [redacted] at A Better Tree Service for tree/plant service. Contracted service was performed on February 16, 2012, and included the following:

1. Structure correction and crown reduction, cleaning, and shaping of 2 ornamental plum trees

2. Structure correction and thinning of an Asian pear (apple) tree

3. Crown reduction and thinning of 4 camellias and 1 gardenia

4. Crown cleaning and shaping of a crepe myrtle tree.

At the time of contract, [redacted] identified that service needed to be completed over a multi-year period (for the health of the trees/plants) in order to achieve my desired results. He said that subsequent service would be at approximately half the initial charge. (Subsequent service fees were not put in writing.)

Upon completion of the job, I paid $435 expecting to continue service with [redacted] the following year. On June 21, 2013, I called A Better Tree Service to schedule the exact service as the previous year. I was given an appointment for June 27 and told the specific time and charges would be confirmed. Later that night, I received a phone message identifying that A Better Tree Service would not be able to service me. No explanation was given.

I can think if 2 reasons for refusing service: 1. I required [redacted] to come a 2nd time to even out the shaping of the plum trees (making me a difficult customer?) and 2. They did not want to honor subsequent service at a lower price. Most likely, both.Desired Settlement: I simply wanted follow-up service at a reduced rate. However, who would want an unwilling business to service them? Now, I want to warn others of this practice by registering a complaint.

Business

Response:

Business' Initial Response

Addressing the issue at hand begins February 13, 2012 when I first met with Mrs. [redacted]. I arrived in a timely fashion to provide a free estimate on a small and basic pruning job. Mrs. [redacted] had many questions regarding her landscape and I spent approximately 45 minutes explaining basic pruning techniques, plant physiology, proper composting and watering. After the free consultation, I spent 20 minutes writing a detailed proposal, pricing each individual item as she had requested. Mrs. [redacted] selected the items she wanted trimmed and we scheduled the work for February 16, 2012.

On February 16th we arrived within the scheduled time frame and completed the job that afternoon. Our agreement was payment upon completion. She was to leave a check with her son. I reviewed the work and walked the job with her son and he stated things looked great, but was unsure as to his mother's approval. He also indicated that his mother had not left him a check and I would need to contact her regarding payment.

I phoned Mrs. [redacted] at the end of the day and left a message as I reached her voicemail. Roughly a week later Mrs. [redacted] returned my call expressing great dissatisfaction with the work provided. I met with her a few days later to review the job. I listened to her concerns and addressed each item clarifying our long term pruning goal. Mrs. [redacted] remained unsatisfied and insisted I prune more out of her plum trees. I explained we removed the maximum amount of branching and foliage and to continue we would be pruning beyond the ISA standards and our contract. Mrs. [redacted] asked that if I pruned to her standards would I guarantee her trees good health. I replied, No. I, then, made detailed notes as to specific twigs and small branching that concerned her. Service was scheduled for the following week.

The follow up service was provided by me and a small crew. We paid great attention to Mrs. [redacted]'s specifications. Upon completion I phoned Mrs. [redacted] and left a message stating the job was complete and I would like to schedule another walk through to review the work and collect payment. Mrs. [redacted] did not return the call. After two weeks, my wife, [redacted] phoned her once again and left a message requesting payment. This call was not returned.

We received payment on 04/02/1012 with a note from Mrs. [redacted], again, expressing he overall displeasure with the service provided.

Mrs. [redacted] stated the subsequent service would be at approximately half the initial charge. I, in fact explained to her that the most costly portion of this process would be the initial trim as there were many corrections and cuts to be made. When she inquired about future costs I told her they would be approximately half the price as half the work would be needed.

Mrs. [redacted]'s accusations of A Better Tree Service not honoring subsequent service has no validity as a subsequent service agreement was never stated or written.

Consumer's Final Response

(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)

My complaint of A Better Tree Service being unwilling to provide subsequent service at a reduced rate is completely valid as evidenced by Mr. [redacted]'s own statements: "I ... addressed each item clarifying our long term pruning goal." "... future costs ... would be approximately half the price..." Obviously, subsequent service ("long term goal," "future") and and pricing ("approximately half the price") were both discussed and became a factor in my decision to contract with A Better Tree Service.

Although Mr. [redacted] never identifies in his response exactly why I have been refused service (after being given a scheduled appointment/date for service), he infers that I was a problematic customer by being too time consuming, by being difficult to please, and by delaying payment. Once again, Mr. [redacted] confirms my initial complaint: My business is not worth his time.

First of all, in regards to Mr. [redacted]'s time, providing a free estimate and explaining the process was entirely his choice and part of attracting my business. It is a normal business practice. However, Mr. [redacted] neglects to identify that our subsequent meeting (a few days after the initial work) was actually scheduled to reshape the plums trees not just "to review the job." In fact, I took the morning off work in order to be home during the process to ensure satisfaction. Although I did not include this detail in my original complaint, I was completely dismayed when the work was not completed at that time. (My daily rate of pay is approximately $423.) Again, Mr. [redacted] chose to return at a later time.

Secondly, regarding (as Mr. [redacted] states) my "great dissatisfaction" and "overall displeasure" (again, not my words), and as evidenced in my note to Mr. [redacted], my remaining dissatisfaction concerned only 1 plum tree (out of 9 trees/plants) and my taking time off work when the work was not completed. In fact, I let him know in my note that accompanied my payment that "I absolutely love the clean out that you did on the gardenias and camellias... Now, I am also quite happy with the Asian pear/apple tree and the plum at the sidewalk." Obviously, despite my dissatisfaction with 1 out of 9 trees/plants, I still decided to schedule subsequent service in hopes of continuing with Mr. [redacted]'s long term goals and with the enticement of future costs being about half the price.

Thirdly, it is quite customary to pay for service after completion and satisfaction of the work. Admittedly, I did not leave a check with my son; however, I fully intended to pay Mr. [redacted] upon his completion of reshaping the plum trees. Since he did not perform the job when I was at home as we had scheduled, I did not pay him at that time. (My check to A Better Tree Service is dated 20 Feb 2012.) Subsequently, we played "phone tag" regarding a walk through until I decided to send him a note expressing my concerns along with my payment. He did not respond to my concerns.

In closing, my initial complaint remains. I simply wanted A Better Tree Service to provide subsequent service at a reduced rate as was originally discussed with Mr. [redacted]. Unfortunately, A Better Tree Service refused to service me.

Business' Final Response

As a credentialed and certified expert in the field of arboriculture my passion is to teach and serve. I personally served Mrs. [redacted] beyond the terms of our contract to ensure customer satisfaction. At this time I reserve the right to refuse service.

Respectfully,

[redacted] D [redacted]

ISA Certified Arborist WE-9721A

Refusal to provide follow-up service after identifying multi-year process was needed and subsequent service would be charged at a reduced rate.

On February 13, 2012, I contracted [redacted] at A Better Tree Service for tree/plant service. Contracted service was performed on February 16, 2012, and included the following:

1. Structure correction and crown reduction, cleaning, and shaping of 2 ornamental plum trees

2. Structure correction and thinning of an Asian pear (apple) tree

3. Crown reduction and thinning of 4 camellias and 1 gardenia

4. Crown cleaning and shaping of a crepe myrtle tree.

At the time of contract, [redacted] identified that service needed to be completed over a multi-year period (for the health of the trees/plants) in order to achieve my desired results. He said that subsequent service would be at approximately half the initial charge. (Subsequent service fees were not put in writing.)

Upon completion of the job, I paid $435 expecting to continue service with [redacted] the following year. On June 21, 2013, I called A Better Tree Service to schedule the exact service as the previous year. I was given an appointment for June 27 and told the specific time and charges would be confirmed. Later that night, I received a phone message identifying that A Better Tree Service would not be able to service me. No explanation was given.

I can think if 2 reasons for refusing service: 1. I required [redacted] to come a 2nd time to even out the shaping of the plum trees (making me a difficult customer?) and 2. They did not want to honor subsequent service at a lower price. Most likely, both.

Check fields!

Write a review of A-Better Tree Service

Satisfaction rating
 
 
 
 
 
Upload here Increase visibility and credibility of your review by adding a photo

A-Better Tree Service Rating

Overall satisfaction rating

Description: Tree Service, Landscape Contractors

Address: 3117 El Camino Ave, Sacramento, CA, 95821

Phone:

Show more...

Web:

www.abettertreeservice.net


Add contact information for A-Better Tree Service

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | New | Updated