Sign in

A+ Contracting

Sharing is caring! Have something to share about A+ Contracting? Use RevDex to write a review
Reviews A+ Contracting

A+ Contracting Reviews (12)

Review: I contracted with A Plus Rated Contracting to redo my bathroom. Robert Decker stated that the bathroom would be started in 7 to 10 days, which it was not. I had to keep calling. Most of the time he did not return my call. They finally started. He sent two guys that they just hired and did not know what their work was like. The project manager ** stated he would be back to check on them. He did not come for two weeks even when I complained that the work was not up to par. Robert Decker also stated that the project would be completed in 3 to 5 business days. It took 14. We had to be here every minute because their work was so bad. After it was completed they had to come back to fix the toliet because it was leaking downstairs. He sent one of his sons and he stated that the seal was not sealed and wasn't even over the hole. The bathtub seal came apart so I called and asked him to fix it along with cleaning up the grout that is all over the tiles. That was on Thursday October 11, 2012. He stated he would call me Monday, October 15th. To date there has been no call back and he won't answer his phone. He sold me on this work by stating all work has a lifetime warantee on it. On his phone it also states to leave a message and you would get a call back same day same service. I have other problems since they completed the work. In our bedroom closet which in back of the bathroom part of the sheet rock had split from all the banging to get the old tub out. He also stated that the floor tiles would be completed under the vanity but wasn't done even when I brought it up to the workers.Desired Settlement: I would like him to hold up his end of the deal and fix everything or refund part of my money.

Review: I Contracted Mr Robert Decker of A+Rated Contracting last year to replace my roof, and he told me I need a metal roof. We sat in my kitchen and he was writing up a contract and telling my husband and myself what he was going to do, and how much it was going to cost. We signed the contract and proceeded to give him a $10,000.00 deposit, which I thought was high, but he told be it was to order the special order materials. He tried to cash the check that day, but my bank would not cash it due to the fact that I don't write checks that big. I thought about what he tried to due and contacted his office within the cancellation period, and was told by a former employee that she would send me back my deposit no questions asked. I then received a phone call from Mr Decker that my materials had been ordered and I could not cancel. I waited for about two weeks and finally the subcontractors showed up and started the job, it took quite a while, Mr Decker had shorted the contratctors materials for the job, and they would have to leave to get materials needed. The job was done, and I had problems soon after. I contacted the subcontractor, who could only come to my house when he would be in the area, which was about 1 month later, he somewhat fixed the problems. I kept trying to reach Mr Decker and finally contacted the Attorney Generals Office and filed a complaint with the them, they finally closed the case do to the fact that Mr. Decker could not be reached and that there was nothing they could do for me. I finally got a hold of Mr Decker because I could his former partner, who gave me his address, phone number and cell phone number. I left numerous messages on his phone numbers and finally after telling him I was going to contact the news, he called me back. He came out to my house about 2 months ago, to see what my issues were, and told me he would be back to address them, but he needed to finish up another job, I have not heard back from him since. I have contacted [redacted] News out of Albany, but no help.Desired Settlement: I would like my issues resolved before winter, as I was told by another roofer that my roof may not hold a snow load, due to the way it was replaced, and I don't have another $13,000.00 to do my roof again. I do have the contact and revised contract, plus a letter from a former employee along with other people that have had dealings with this Mr. Decker that were also unsatisfied. I would like the work done, I would like my money back so I can hired someone else to do the job correctly.

Business

Response:

Revdex.com spoke with Bob at business and the following response was relayed:

As far as the snowload is concerned, the house was pre-existing and unchanged. We simply removed the old metal and put on new metal. This is not an issue of workmanship, it is an issue of discoverability afterwards as the roof is sweating. The roof is not leaking. I am planning on going back to fix at the end of October at no charge which will consist of taking up the metal and placing plastic with decking underneath to prevent the sweating.

Consumer

Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted], and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. Mr Decker was supposed to be here late July Early Aug, he made no attempt to call me or respond to my calls to him. He told you he would be here at the end of October, the weather up here in the mountains is very tricky at that time of the year, and besides he is not talking about all the issues I have with my roof and porch roof.

Regards [redacted]

The consumer contacted Revdex.com by email with this additional statement:The snow load that I was referring to has not to do with the porch roof, it is about the main roof which was a shingled roof not metal , and he was suppose to be here in July, Aug of 2102 to fix my porch roof where he was going to take up the metal roof up and put down OSB board ice and water shield and fix other issues that we discussed when he stopped by in June, and spoke again in late June early July. That is when he told me he would be here in two weeks, and I never heard from him since, and he has made no attempt to contact me to see when we would be home so he could come do the corrections to my home. It should be up to him to contact us, I have tried to reach him at his business numerous times and I get not call backs. I don’t believe that he will be here in at the end of Oct. and now the fall is here, Oct. can be a tricky month as far as weather is concerned.

Review: summary of complaint

On August 24th, 2012 we signed a contract with A+ Rated Contracting to renovate a covered porch a-joining the kitchen (space approx 10x12 foot) and to build a new sunroom in the front of the house (a new 12x16 space) , which also would become the new entrance to the house. Additional agreed work included installing a new roof (including fixing part of the fascia facing the road (East side of house and resetting, straightening crooked offset in previous roof extension) , and installing new skirting around the base of the house, which is a manufactured home. We also agreed that some patching work would occur to address leaking issues in the garage.

Work was to start no later than September 28th, and by that time all necessary paperwork / permits would be filed, as well as an architectural drawing of the proposed addition, for review and sign-off. Work was to be completed within 30 days of start, bearing difficult weather conditions or uncontrollable issues getting materials. We paid a deposit of $9,000 on the estimate of $27,000 for the total project.

Contractor represented himself as a family business, and claimed work will be done by his family. In addition, contractor showed us some pictures of work he claimed was his, but at a later point we discovered online belonging to a different contractor.

We have a detailed contract of above, which is the official document of the work. The above represents a summary.

Second week of September, contractor brought 2 subcontractors to the home and reviewed work to renovate back porch. Subcontractors demolished roofing and framing of porch and partly completed a reframing of said porch. At the end of the week contractor asked us to pay subcontractors $1860 to cover work completed. We wrote a check to the subcontractor.

Since that week the only additional work done on the house has been a small amount of work on the house skirting (workers stay for about 30 minutes). We've called the contractor several times to get his thoughts on the project. Contractor canceled a meeting between us to review status and has not returned phone calls or spoken with us since Sept 23rd.

Damages claimed

- We have to date paid $10,680 for the project, nearly 40% of the total estimated cost of the project, yet the only completed work is some minor demolition of a covered porch and reframing of said porch (space is about 10 foot by 12 foot)

- Removal of structural suport from roof has caused sagging in localized area.

- Removal of roof sections has allowed water damage to enter the roof and a-joining room.

- Demolition and construction debris has been left onsiteDesired Settlement: I would consider the matter closed if contractor returned the original $9000 deposit and either fixed the roof sagging issue or paid to have it repaied.

Review: On August 24th, 2012 we signed a contract with A+ Rated Contracting to renovate a covered porch and to build a new sunroom in the front of the house. Additional agreed work included installing a new roof, and installing new skirting around the base of the house, which is a manufactured home. We also paid him a deposit of $9000 (1/3 of the total amount) that day.

Contractor [redacted] represented himself as a family business, and claimed work will be done by his family team. On Sept. 9th, [redacted] came with two men (Subcontractor) to go over the project and told us they will start on Sept 10. They did work from 10th to 14th (we paid an additional of $1860 to these two men as [redacted] wouldn't pay them and they refuse to come back unless they get paid). In the following week, they only worked again for about 4-5 hours on 19th due to the delay of ordering material which shouldn't be an issue as [redacted] had more than 3 weeks to order them. Since Sept 15th, we have tried to contact [redacted] to get them to start work again. Every time he told us the material would be here on "Monday" or "tomorrow", everything is on schedule and they would be here "tomorrow". We waited and waited, no materials ever arrived nor anybody came to work again except a small amount of work on the house skirting (workers stay for about 30 minutes). [redacted] canceled a meeting between us to review status (on 23rd) and has not returned phone calls or spoken with us since Sept 25th. We have also found out that the materials were arrived in store a few weeks ago, but nobody went to pick up and paid for them. We have to date paid $10,680 for the project, nearly 40% of the total estimated cost of the project, yet the only completed work is some minor demolition of a covered porch and reframing of said porch.

The following damges also occurred:

-Removal of structural suport from roof has caused sagging.

-Removal of roof section has allowed water getting into the house and cause water damage to the floor and the door.

Before I signed the contract with them, I did search on them and found all positive reviews for this contractor on networx, so I trusted [redacted]. After what happened, I tried to submit an review on that site, but it wouldn't submit my review. It seems like "networx" help this bad contractor to steal money from people.Desired Settlement: We would like a full refund

Review: This is regarding the business at contracting (located in Fonda, NY)

Owner & Salesman are father & son - I wrote Mr. [redacted] Sr. a check for $500.00 - once he cashed the check (7-5-12), he never came to do the work or return the money!

I did sign a paper - but I can't find it. I know I have it and will send it ASAP.

Nothing was specified on it, only that I was giving him $500.00 for a deposit. He gave me a total work estimate at $2,900.00!! Only listing jobs to be done.

I am 70 years senior on soc.security - have no money in the bank! My electric service is set to be shut off and I couldn't pay my fire insurance. Also - my car payment of $173.00 is 1 month overdue!

I know I was foolish and gullible, but people like this must be stopped.

You can see on the ad the promises they claim - None of which they honor!

I can see that they do not have the LOGO Revdex.com on this ad - however, I'm pretty sure it was in the literature he gave me. When I find it, I'll send it along - o.k.?

I did contact a newspaper in Albany ([redacted]) and the [redacted] in Amsterdam. ([redacted] ###-###-####) - I will keep working on this - but I am slow! Ond thing though - notice the logo on the ad "National consumer Protection Bureau"!!Desired Settlement: Refund

Review: Windows and siding were to be purchased and installed on the sun porch, kitchen peaks of house and overhang. Old windows were torn out of sun porch. Electrical wires and porch were exposed to the elements all winter causing hardship for the homeowner. Company does not return phone calls or return money. Work related debris was not hauled away.

Desired Settlement: $6,025.00 – No work was done, no windows and siding were purchased. Debris was not hauled away. Electrical wires are exposed to elements.

Review: Contract for roofing was signed on 6/28/12. Check was given to sales rep (Robert Decker Sr.) for $1500.00. Additional contract for porch addition was signed on 7/31/12. Check was given to sales rep (Robert Decker Sr.) for additional $1567.00. At time of signing second contract, sales rep stated job would be completed within 2 weeks. Extensive number of calls were placed to sales rep with voicemails left that were not returned. Five visits to company (home where company vehicles were kept)were paid, messages left on vehicles for calls were left and few responses were returned. Few calls that were returned consistently gave excuses (e.g., waiting for materials, injured crew, other business outside of area, etc.). Upon further investigation into company, found that advertising given to this consumer was misleading (e.g., let insurance lapse, not a member of Revdex.com, not a member of NCPB). Since August, 2012, porch roof and steps were demolished, front cement slab was 1/2 demolished ~ currently cannot exit the home from the front of the house. Last communication (September 30,2012), insisted that sales rep refund all monies immediately. We have not heard anything from company to date. I contacted a lawyer, who stated that sales rep had past experience of fraud and was jailed accordingly. Was advised: (1) go to small claims court for refund or, (2) go to Police for arrest of stealing. On 11/17/12, went to [redacted] Police, made a criminal complaint, but was advised that no further action could be taken at this time. Today, [redacted] police contacted me to inform me that currently there are approximately four other complaints for same company.Desired Settlement: Want full refund in amount of $3067.00.

Review: Hired the company in June . We gave the company $3000.00 on June 23rd for the blue prints for 2 additions, siding on the house and the garage, and a tin roof on the house. July 23rd, gave them $13,412.00 dollars for materials. We were then told to take the siding off the house and the front deck off the house, since our neighbor wanted the siding and then they could start. They never showed up until Aug. 29th, due to us constantly calling them. When they showed up they dug 6 holes, that were not even right. They never showed back up until Oct. tore the porch off, then started framing one side of the porch, left and did not come back. A few days later the codes enforcer showed up because the contractor never got a building permit. We had been going back and forth over the building permit, and the codes enforcer has had a hard time with the contractor. We kept calling him and asking him when he was going to get this done, the weather is getting cold, we have no insulation or siding on the house and we need this done. When he would not return our calls, I met with my lawyer and had to hire a new contractor. My lawyer has called him and left 3 messages, and he will not return his calls. I do know that there is a complaint filed with the Attorney's Generals Office on this company, and that they were in troulbe previously for the same thing. I also have filed a complaint with the Attorney General's Office. I think we have been more than fair and patient, is the excuse we kept getting, when we could get a hold of Bob Decker. When they cashed the checks they went to my bank and 2 out of 3 of the checks were signed Robert Decker Jr. and one was signed Robert Decker.Desired Settlement: Would like my money back, minus the time for holes being done, even though they were wrong, and for the 42 pieces of 2 by 4's. They have a total of 8 hrs. on the job.

Review: We had a stain on our master bathroom ceiling after Hurricane Irene, which indicated a roof leak. We found several highly recommended roofing contractors on a website called Service Magic and set up appointments in order to assess the damage and obtain price quotes. [redacted] from A+Rated Contracting came out and told us we had some wind-damaged shingles, placed a tarp on our roof and gave us a quote for repairs. Our insurance adjuster met with Mr. [redacted] and agreed that our roof should be replaced. After we received the insurance payment, I signed a contract created and also signed by [redacted] for the amount of $7500 dated 12/1/11. I paid $3750 via check #340 dated 12/2/11 to Installation Manager [redacted] so that materials for the job could be purchased. The materials arrived on 12/7/11 and the job was completed by 12/14/11. This is was also when we issued the final payment of $3750 via check #342. Both payments are noted on the signed contract.

We have had a several issues since hiring this company, some small, some very large and none rectified to date.

1. Per the contract - #5 says specifically that heavy 30 lb felt would be installed. My wife took pictures of the materials that were delivered. We have a photo of the RF707 felt they supplied which we discovered is a light 15 lb felt.

2. Per the contract - #8 says to give us an attic access in the upstairs hall and then to paint that ceiling and the ceiling in the master bath white. The contractor painted over the stain in the bathroom and a little further, but not the entire bathroom ceiling. We have a photo of the partial paint job. They also just put up some molding to frame out the scuttle hole but it was not attached to anything and started to fall away from the ceiling the first day. The paint job here was also patchwork and we have photos of it as well.

3. On April 20, 2012 we had a bad storm with horizontal rain. Rainwater dripped from the ceiling onto our carpet at the landing at the top of the stairs. There was also a large stain on the ceiling next to the hall light, a small stain next to my son's ceiling fan and a stain on the kid’s bathroom ceiling. We have photos documenting all.

4. Several calls were placed regarding this leak and several days later, project foreman [redacted] came out to take a look at it. He said apparently the vents were not properly installed. He placed some silicone sealant around the vents and asked us to keep an eye for anymore leaks. We have not to date but question how long his method of fixing the problem will last. We have photos of the vents.

5. Several calls have also been placed to fix the interior damage to our home. We were told a crew would be back to tape and sand and prime and paint the damaged ceilings. No one has been here to fix anything or to even schedule a date for repair. No one returned any phone calls. We have several photos of the damage.

6. We have had several more rainstorms since April 20th. On August 20, 2012 we noticed a new stain on the ceiling in the downstairs foyer. Then on September 18, 2012 we had another storm and I heard dripping downstairs. Water was leaking from our living room ceiling onto our furniture. Today I noticed a new stain on our dining room ceiling. We have photos of this damage.

All the damage in our home has been caused by rain. Winter is fast approaching and we need resolution before snow arrives and causes even more harm.Desired Settlement: At first we just wanted to enforce the warranty and have everything fixed. But we started out with one leak, had the roof replaced by this company and now have leaks and interior damage in 6 different rooms in our house. We would like our money back in order to hire a competent company to come in and fix whatever issues there still are with the roof and to repair the interior damage of our home.

Review: The job was not completed - Mr. Decker wanted additional money - said the job was more work that was originally contracted ($1,000) - $650 more was paid (cash) paid - to finish the back side of house roof - but they left without finishing this job - took the $650 - and promised to return the next day (September) still waiting. Through October phoned many times - always some excuse (10/18/12) Same excuse I have a copy of contract and contracting bill was paid in cash.Desired Settlement: finish job! Or some reimbursement of additional money ($650) paid for work not done!

Review: On May 31, 2012 I met with [redacted] Sr at my residence regarding replacing the flat portion of the roof on my house. Mr [redacted] climbed up on the roof with me, inspected the roof and gave me an estimate of $1000 for the repairs. The price seemed fair to me and I agreed to give Mr [redacted] a deposit in the sum of $500 with the balance payable upon completion of the repairs. Mr [redacted] also requested an additional $80 for NYS taxes which I included in the deposit for a total of $580.Over the course of the next three months the only contact I had with Mr [redacted] was through periodic voice mails on our phones. Over this period Mr [redacted] stated on 4 or 5 separate occasions that his people would be out to do the roof work either the next day or later in the week, but nobody ever showed up and I never received messages as to why. After a few of these broken promises I was getting a bad feeling about the whole thing but gave Mr [redacted] the benefit of the doubt as summer is always a busy season for roofing contractors. I have been more than patient with Mr [redacted] throughout this ordeal. Needless to say the work was never done over the summer.After Labor Day it was becoming increasingly clear to me that Mr [redacted] was never going to honor his commitments and I left him numerous voice mails requesting my deposit back. At this point Mr [redacted] began changing his tune about the work and started making excuses about how the job was going to be more difficult than originally stated and that he wanted to simply put a couple coatings of some material on the roof instead of replacing the roof like I had hired him to do. I turned down this service as it wasn't what I wanted and again requested my deposit back. That was last Thursday (9/20/12) and later that evening Mr [redacted] called and stated that his crew would be out Friday 9/21 to install the new roof. His crew never showed up.At this point I have no reason to believe Mr [redacted] will ever do the work and have absolutely no trust in him or his company.Desired Settlement: Even at this point I simply want my $580 deposit back but if I spend considerable time fighting for my money OI will request some remuneration from Mr [redacted] for my efforts, efforts which I need to expend through no fault of my own.

This is regarding the business at contracting (located in Fonda, NY)

Owner & Salesman are father & son - I wrote Mr. [redacted] Sr. a check for $500.00 - once he cashed the check (7-5-12), he never came to do the work or return the money!

I did sign a paper - but I can't find it. I know I have it and will send it ASAP.

Nothing was specified on it, only that I was giving him $500.00 for a deposit. He gave me a total work estimate at $2,900.00!! Only listing jobs to be done.

I am 70 years senior on soc.security - have no money in the bank! My electric service is set to be shut off and I couldn't pay my fire insurance. Also - my car payment of $173.00 is 1 month overdue!

I know I was foolish and gullible, but people like this must be stopped.

You can see on the ad the promises they claim - None of which they honor!

I can see that they do not have the LOGO Revdex.com on this ad - however, I'm pretty sure it was in the literature he gave me. When I find it, I'll send it along - o.k.?

I did contact a newspaper in Albany ([redacted]) and the [redacted] in Amsterdam. ([redacted] ###-###-####) - I will keep working on this - but I am slow! Ond thing though - notice the logo on the ad "National consumer Protection Bureau"!!

Check fields!

Write a review of A+ Contracting

Satisfaction rating
 
 
 
 
 
Upload here Increase visibility and credibility of your review by adding a photo

A+ Contracting Rating

Overall satisfaction rating

Description: CONTRACTORS - GENERAL

Address: 6600 S Maple Meadows Dr, Columbia, Missouri, United States, 65203

Phone:

Show more...

Add contact information for A+ Contracting

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | New | Updated