Sign in

A+ Family Dentistry

Sharing is caring! Have something to share about A+ Family Dentistry? Use RevDex to write a review
Reviews A+ Family Dentistry

A+ Family Dentistry Reviews (10)

• Dec 24, 2019

Hello, By responding to this complaint, we are neither confirming nor denying that this patient is a patient of record in our practice However, if she would like to discuss her concerns, please call our officeThank you A Plus Family Dentistry [redacted]

I would like an opportunity to respond to Mr. ***'s complaint of our office.Mr*** presented to my office on 8/6/for his regular follow up cleaning and check upAt that visit, he had a tooth that was bothering himAt the exam, the doctor noted that he had a large cavity and he was
recommended a crownThe costs and the different payment options were explained to Mr*** very thoroughly and in detailsHe was given an opportunity to ask all of his questions and all the questions were answered to his satisfaction. Mr*** agreed with the treatment presented to him. He wanted to pay for his treatment using his Care Credit account so that he can get a 12-months interest free promotion, allowing him more time to pay off the treatment costHe signed all the papers and scheduled an appointment to return back to our office to start his treatment. On the day of his appointment, Mr*** didn't show up without any notice and we didn't hear back from him after many multiple attempts to reach and reschedule his appointment.On 9/6/2015, Mr*** called and had told our receptionist that he is not interested to come back to our office any longerAfter that, my office manager and myself left him multiple messages to come in for the refund he requested and we never heard back from him.Enclosed please find all the signed paperwork and Mr***'s agreement to the chargesHe was not pressured and he was not forced into any agreements but his own will after reviewing x-rays and pictures on the needed treatment. Enclosed is also a refund was given back to Mr***Our office had attempted many times to contact Mr*** to resolve his concerns and request for the refundWe were gladly given him back his refund, but unfortunately, he did not want to talk to our office when we called him. We wish him the best of luck with his dental care

Hello, By responding to this complaint, we are neither confirming nor denying that this patient is a patient of record in our practice However, if she would like to discuss her concerns, please call our officeThank you. A Plus Family Dentistry ***

I would like an opportunity to respond to Mr. ***'s complaint of our office.Mr*** presented to my office on 8/6/for his regular follow up cleaning and check upAt that visit, he had a tooth that was bothering himAt the exam, the doctor noted that he had a large cavity and he was
recommended a crownThe costs and the different payment options were explained to Mr*** very thoroughly and in detailsHe was given an opportunity to ask all of his questions and all the questions were answered to his satisfaction. Mr*** agreed with the treatment presented to him. He wanted to pay for his treatment using his Care Credit account so that he can get a 12-months interest free promotion, allowing him more time to pay off the treatment costHe signed all the papers and scheduled an appointment to return back to our office to start his treatment. On the day of his appointment, Mr*** didn't show up without any notice and we didn't hear back from him after many multiple attempts to reach and reschedule his appointment.On 9/6/2015, Mr*** called and had told our receptionist that he is not interested to come back to our office any longerAfter that, my office manager and myself left him multiple messages to come in for the refund he requested and we never heard back from him.Enclosed please find all the signed paperwork and Mr***'s agreement to the chargesHe was not pressured and he was not forced into any agreements but his own will after reviewing x-rays and pictures on the needed treatment. Enclosed is also a refund was given back to Mr***Our office had attempted many times to contact Mr*** to resolve his concerns and request for the refundWe were gladly given him back his refund, but unfortunately, he did not want to talk to our office when we called him. We wish him the best of luck with his dental care

Hello, By responding to this complaint, we are neither confirming nor denying that this patient is a patient of record in our practice.  However, if she would like to discuss her concerns, please call our office. Thank you.  A Plus Family Dentistry [redacted]

Review: I visited A+ Dentistry in November 2012 for a regular visit. When there, they told me my teeth were very dirty and that I needed an expensive laser cleaning. I took their word for it and applied for CareCredit to pay the $3716 charge. When I went back for a check-up, they told me my teeth needed another laser treatment because the first one did not help. When I was in, they were scaring me by saying my teeth were very bad and I could lose my teeth if I did not get the cleaning. I've always taken care of my teeth but I felt intimidated because they are professionals and should know better than I. But when I went back and they said I needed it again, I felt like they were taking advantage of me and trying to get more money for unnecessary treatments. Either that or they did a bad job the first time and should not have tried to get me to pay again. I declined the second treatment and left feeling that I was taken advantage of. I was going to forget but they kept calling me trying to scare me into coming back. I decided to research the business and saw a lot of other complaints on Yelp from people saying the same thing happened to them. I then decided to write them a letter asking for the remaining amount of the CareCredit bill to be refunded so I would not have to pay it. I did not ask for the amount I had already paid. The owner called me into her office to talk and they tried to tell me I still had a problem and needed a different treatment.Desired Settlement: I would like the remaining amount on my CareCredit account to be refunded by the business due to them scaring me into an unnecessary treatment and then harassing me and continuing to try to scare me into multiple treatments. I do not need any money from them. I just want the remainder of my bill paid so I do not have to pay anything else.

Business

Response:

Dear Revdex.com,

Review: Dear Sirs,I am contacting your office to file a formal complaint against A-Plus Family Dentistry located at [redacted]. The office number is [redacted]. I am 80 years of age and do not use the internet, thus I am unable to use the Online Complaint System.On August 06, 2015 I went to A-Plus Family Dentistry for my scheduled dental cleaning. At that time they wanted me to sign up for gum maintenance which would require a loan amount of $1,000.00. Although I told the dental staff that I did not to take out the loan, I was pressured into doing so. When I tried to pay for my dental cleaning bill, I was told it would be added to the loan.When I returned home, and had more time to think about the loan, I again decided that I was not interested in the gum maintenance program or the loan. I advised the dental office of this decision. I mailed my check number [redacted] for $95.00 to the office which cleared my account on August 21, 2015.However, instead of the dental office canceling the loan, I received loan statements from [redacted] for the loan of $1000.00 plus interest. This occurred although I never had any procedures for the gum maintenance performed. I called the office several times and I even went to the office to once again explain I did not want the loan and did not get any procedures done.Eventually the loan was sent to a collection agency which resulted in harassing phone calls and bills with late fees and interest. On December 14 I finally hired an attorney to act on by behalf which resulted in a $150.00 attorney fee. On December 21, 2015 after consultation with me and a review of the billing statements and checking account statement, my attorney contacted the dentist’s office where she was told that the loan, fees and interest would be cancelled. Later that week I did receive a bill that verified that the loan had been cancelled with a statement date of December 18, 2015.My main concern is that I want the dental office investigated to make sure this is not a habit and custom as there may be other victims out there who may have been pressured into taking out unnecessary loans and who may have been charged for services not rendered. I also believe I should be reimbursed for the $150.00 fee I had to pay for an attorney to represent my interest. Last, but not least, I would be assured that there has not been any negative information reported to any credit reporting agencies.

Business

Response:

I would like an opportunity to respond to Mr. [redacted]'s complaint of our office.

Review: I went to the business as a new customer. I had full coverage insurance. They told me I was going to need extra work that my insurance didn't cover. I told them I couldn't afford it. They told me they could set me up with a payment plan. I assumed it was through their office. I gave them my information. I went home to think about it. I called them an hour later to tell them I would not be using there services. I never returned. I received a bill in the mail today from Citi Health Card for $675 for services received at A+ Family Dentistry. That was the same price difference between the services they wanted to perform and what they said my insurance would cover.Desired Settlement: I would like them to clear up any billing they have charged me for services I did not receive. With my insurance company AND Citi Health Card.

Business

Response:

To Whom It May Concern,

Review: I went to Dr. [redacted] office to receive a dental checkup and from the moment that I sat down in the chair, they were creating a lot of services that I “needed” to do and asking me to sign a lot of papers for payment. I went in for a routine checkup and was told that I needed to see a “specialist” because I had periodontal gum disease and if I did not do something “fast”, I could potentially die. This scared me to death, so I left their office and cried for over an hour in the parking lot. With the title of “Dr.” there comes a level of responsibility that patients trust what is said regarding medical advice. I went to another dentist for a second opinion and they said that I did not have periodontal gum disease and that I was definitely not going to die. I also had another dentist look over the payment requested and plan of service and things did not match up. Dr. [redacted] office called me several times a day, asking me to come back, and putting a lot of pressure on me, assuring me that if I came in the office that they would take care of the billing and answer all of my questions. I returned to Dr. [redacted] office to get my questions answered and was once again pressured to pay without any of my questions being answered. I received fillings from them and while I was in the dental chair with my mouth numb and out of sorts because of the news of potential death they kept telling me about, they had me sign papers, and Dr. [redacted] did an unnecessary root canal when he said he would not do one; he also poked the needle in too far and it numbed my eye for hours.

The other dentist I went to for the second opinion said I did not need a root canal on any tooth and that a filling would suffice. I relayed this information to Dr. [redacted] and he promised me that he would do a filling and not a root canal, but when I was in the chair numbed up, he did a root canal. I asked for copies of everything so I could document it. None of it matched up, it still does not. I asked for an explanation of services rendered and an itemized breakdown and they gave me a statement of a total amount due. Since I received services from Dr. [redacted]’s office, his bookkeeper [redacted] calls me daily. She has bullied me by pressuring me and speaking unprofessionally to me, to the tune that I will no longer step foot in that office and will no longer answer their phone calls, but deal with them through the mail and email. They are ruthless, sneaky, and unprofessional. There have been complaint after complaint regarding their business practices posted online and at the Revdex.com. They have recently sent me a “threat” letter to “pay or else”. Their business practices need to be investigated and their billing system needs to have an official inquiry into it. I refuse to pay them until they can give me a proper, truthful, and accurate account of what I owe them regarding the services rendered. I have all of my paperwork and the billing is all different with a variety of amounts that don’t match up, they can’t answer my questions, and they use bullying and threats to try to get their patients too scared to do anything but cave into the pressure of the services that they want to perform unnecessarily and to receive bogus payments for made up problems. I am a law abiding citizen and pay my bills, but I refuse to be bullied or pressured or scared into doing something that is not right.Desired Settlement: To obtain a billing statement that has a detailed explanation of charges that match up and add up to a total amount. For the business to stop harassing me, bullying me, and threatening me.

Business

Response:

Dear Revdex.com,

The patient consented to treatment. The treatment was done. The patient has a balance on her account which is owed. I have the treatment plan signed and all records if needed but I cannot give due to privacy. If the patient somehow signs a waiver for this, I can fax that over no problem. I have indisputable evidence that this will hold in court. If you have any further questions, please give me a call [redacted]. Dr. [redacted]

I went to Dr. [redacted] office to receive a dental checkup and from the moment that I sat down in the chair, they were creating a lot of services that I “needed” to do and asking me to sign a lot of papers for payment. I went in for a routine checkup and was told that I needed to see a “specialist” because I had periodontal gum disease and if I did not do something “fast”, I could potentially die. This scared me to death, so I left their office and cried for over an hour in the parking lot. With the title of “Dr.” there comes a level of responsibility that patients trust what is said regarding medical advice. I went to another dentist for a second opinion and they said that I did not have periodontal gum disease and that I was definitely not going to die. I also had another dentist look over the payment requested and plan of service and things did not match up. Dr. [redacted] office called me several times a day, asking me to come back, and putting a lot of pressure on me, assuring me that if I came in the office that they would take care of the billing and answer all of my questions. I returned to Dr. [redacted] office to get my questions answered and was once again pressured to pay without any of my questions being answered. I received fillings from them and while I was in the dental chair with my mouth numb and out of sorts because of the news of potential death they kept telling me about, they had me sign papers, and Dr. [redacted] did an unnecessary root canal when he said he would not do one; he also poked the needle in too far and it numbed my eye for hours.

The other dentist I went to for the second opinion said I did not need a root canal on any tooth and that a filling would suffice. I relayed this information to Dr. [redacted] and he promised me that he would do a filling and not a root canal, but when I was in the chair numbed up, he did a root canal. I asked for copies of everything so I could document it. None of it matched up, it still does not. I asked for an explanation of services rendered and an itemized breakdown and they gave me a statement of a total amount due. Since I received services from Dr. [redacted]’s office, his bookkeeper [redacted] calls me daily. She has bullied me by pressuring me and speaking unprofessionally to me, to the tune that I will no longer step foot in that office and will no longer answer their phone calls, but deal with them through the mail and email. They are ruthless, sneaky, and unprofessional. There have been complaint after complaint regarding their business practices posted online and at the Revdex.com. They have recently sent me a “threat” letter to “pay or else”. Their business practices need to be investigated and their billing system needs to have an official inquiry into it. I refuse to pay them until they can give me a proper, truthful, and accurate account of what I owe them regarding the services rendered. I have all of my paperwork and the billing is all different with a variety of amounts that don’t match up, they can’t answer my questions, and they use bullying and threats to try to get their patients too scared to do anything but cave into the pressure of the services that they want to perform unnecessarily and to receive bogus payments for made up problems. I am a law abiding citizen and pay my bills, but I refuse to be bullied or pressured or scared into doing something that is not right.

Check fields!

Write a review of A+ Family Dentistry

Satisfaction rating
 
 
 
 
 
Upload here Increase visibility and credibility of your review by adding a photo

A+ Family Dentistry Rating

Overall satisfaction rating

Description: Dentists

Address: 3780 El Cajon Blvd #1, San Diego, California, United States, 92105

Phone:

Show more...

Web:

www.aplusfamilydentistry.com


Add contact information for A+ Family Dentistry

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | New | Updated