Sign in

A Few Good Men Moving and Storage

Sharing is caring! Have something to share about A Few Good Men Moving and Storage? Use RevDex to write a review
Reviews A Few Good Men Moving and Storage

A Few Good Men Moving and Storage Reviews (15)

• Nov 16, 2019

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the responseIf no reason is received your complaint will be closed as Answered] Complaint: [redacted] I am rejecting this response because: [redacted] 's account of the events are factually inaccurate at best.: My response cannot be declared inaccurate when you were not there to see what happenedI have TWO people that were there all day with me who can attest to what happened [redacted] asked for an estimate of a 2BR Apt When the crew arrived, it was a level Townhouse We do not take inventories over the phone (it would take all day just to speak to 2-customers) It is a blind estimate based on the information customer provides The men had a 26ft truck (largest) packed from bottom to top, front to back...and there were still items remaining; in essence she was moving the entire level TH, NOT a 2BR apt We move entire 3BR Single Family homes with the 26ft truck, and she had more belongings than that For industry comparisons, a 2BR apt typically needs no more than a small ft truck (26ft trucks are wider and taller ceilings as well).Just because I lived in a story townhouse does not mean I had stories of furnitureI lived with someone else who already moved outThe entire top floor was empty and they never went thereNext floor down has two bedrooms and bathroom so thats all you tookNext floor down has living room dining room and kitchen and half of the stuff there was already taken by other personAlso all bedrooms have a living room, dining room and a kitchenthe next floor had only a tv room sofa and a box and the patio table and chairsThe basement had boxesALL of which I described in DETAIL item by item to your lady on the phone several timesShe insisted that was a bedroom and a bedroom should take no more than hrs and menI also showed your men everything when they arrived, at no time did they say this isn't going to fit in the truck because its too much and we need more menThat should have been their assessment when they arrived and not at the end of the day when it was taking them too long and when they had already run up my bill to ver $2000!Logistics (such as levels of the TH) can impact the time it takes to move things They never had to deal with all levels!We were also never made aware of the destination logistics (we presume the customer didn't know as well)...that not only was the elevator small, it was also 100+ yards from the loading dock...creating a very long carry just to reach a very small elevator allowing only small loads to be taken each ride She also needed us to deliver the items to different locations in the building (other storage units on different floors and parts of the building) Each trip to the locations also resulted in long waits for the elevator to return as they were not dedicated and reserved for her sole use The elevators WERE dedicated for our sole use and you can verify that with the building ManagementI pay $to have the elevator blocked off and it wasThis is easily verifiableThe building supervisors also informed our crew that they would not be allowed to conduct moving activities after 6:00pm...a fact the customer did not know and refuted; we are not in the habit of violating building rules at customer request, yet we remained, but the elevator accesses to and from the different locations became more of an issue after hours.I WAS the one who informed your crew they had to finish by pm as they unblock the elevator NOT the building managementI also called BuildinG management to ask them if we could go longer as your men were taking VERY long to get things doneThe management said yes The customer was emailed simple disclosures of her fee structure far in advance of her booking Alas, she was NOT charged a single penny of the credit card processing fee Thanks you for this at the very least!From the get go, the customer and her companions continually interrupted the crew's activities and force them to do things "their" way rather than allowing a very experienced crew to do what they do best...we are happy to accommodate, but that type of micro-management can negatively affect productivityYOUR crew of went everywhere togetherWhen one should have stayed at the truck unloading while the other two delivered, three delivered and one stood doing nothing once his stuff was delivered all three then went back to the truck and no one was continually emptying the truck! This took a lot more time than was necessary and we were trying to get them to work more efficiently, but it seems you train them to waste time! Still, given the logistical and actual scope considerations, the crew performed above our expectations based on our years of experience and having performed thousands and thousands of movesI notice you do not mention the fact that they arrived without tools to undo the furniture and had to borrow mine, that they took an hour to try to get my sofa into the elevator ( at $165) and then left it at the elevator blocking it, and a crew the next day got it into my apt in 5min!! Is this your above expectations crew!When I itemize all the items room by room several times to your agent and she insists that its a bedroom and men should take 6hrs then when I say maybe we should get men she says no can do it and they show up and take from 8am -after 9pm and still haven't put furniture back together more gotten all my stuff and left the sofa by the loading dock elevator...this is unacceptable! Regards, [redacted]

• Nov 10, 2019

Per your instructions the matter dealing with complaint [redacted] has been settledPlease note that on the file for completion.Thank You [redacted]

• Nov 04, 2019

To Whom It May Concern, While we pride ourselves on providing the best possible experience for every customer, we realize that is not always possible As a company with documented complaint rate of less than 1% of our services, we are proud of our service, and do our best to resolve issues raised by customers whenever possible As it relates to Ms [redacted] 's complaint, our findings do not reflect her opinions and assertions We will try our best to summarize our responses to address her points...as not to ignore any Our operations sent a men crew consistent w/ Ms [redacted] 's reservation Due to lack of notation the original location was on a military base, only men were allowed on base to load her rental truckOur crews do not always carry government id's on job as loss is a high risk Regardless of the communication fault, the circumstances was not intentional Since we were loading her truck, the crew traveled to her in a personal vehicle which was not allowed on base As such, the car was parked off-base, and the 3rd man waited there until he could rejoin the crew for the rest of the job Once her truck was loaded, the men could have walked off-base to rejoin the 3rd man, but the customer was nice enough to drop-them off since they were leaving the base as well For this truck loading duration (hr), Ms [redacted] was only charge a 2-men rate, NOT 3-men rate as she states in her complaint She had received a steep discount for the 3-men rate, and was simply not happy with the differential credit against the 2-men rate Our collection staff does not have the authority to negotiate or modify rates during collection, but told her that he would have management reach out to her next day (Sat) or Monday Ms [redacted] proceeded to scream and curse at the staff asserting it was a lie to have management call her to resolve her desire for a deep discount on the 2-men rate proportionate to her 3-men discount According to the crew, they arrived at the 2nd pickup location (near final destination) but was informed by the customer they had decided not to load up the storage unit At which time the crew proceeded to the final destination for the off-load As our procedure is to collect before the off-load, an estimated finish time was determined relative to how long it takes to load up the truck At the actual finish, if sooner than the estimate, then the customer is refunded the excess; the customer is always only charged for the services rendered Next day (Sat 02/28) the general manager indeed gave Ms [redacted] a call According to his notes, she was not reachable, so he left her a message to call him at her convenience Early the following week, Ms [redacted] called and spoke with the GM He went over the details of the charges with her, and heard her recollection of the events The conversation was cordial, unlike the one with the collection staff the night of the job While the crew disputed that they finished working hour prior to the estimated finish, he told her he would be willing to accept her word on that fact He told her he would give consideration on the discount she sought for the 2-men rate, and would evaluate information from all before making a determination The next day the collection staff called Ms [redacted] to extend the offer from the general manager; he approved a $per hour discount off the 2-men rate (same discount she received off the 3-men rate when she booked the job) that would be applied to the hr duration when only men could be on base to load her truck He also extended the hour early finish credit even though the crew disputes that fact This amounted to $($x hr + hr x $155) This was unsatisfactory to Ms [redacted] , and she, again, began yelling and cursing at the staff telling him what he could do with that offer (we interpreted that as a rejection of the offer) Since then we have not had any interactions with Ms [redacted] As with all remote services, we can not always arrive on-time, as the crews often have multiple customers in a day We understand that can create some inconveniences, but we do not extend discounts no more than physicians running late on appointments, or utility/verizon/comcast/road-side towing companies provide concessions due to arrival time Customers are only charged for the services provided, and no more In addition, we are not responsible for her additional storage, which she decided not to have the crew move for her; even if we chose not to perform the service of moving her storage unit, we would be no more legally responsible for her storage expense than an airline would be responsible for someone’s vacation cost should a flight be cancelled or delayed From the date of the service, she has not filed a claim with us for alleged damages; if there are damages, the claims process, as is with all other commerce, is not intermixed with the cost of labor services provided We are in full compliance with all federal regulations, and would be very happy to process her claim according to legal requirements It is inconceivable, however, to accept her contention that her belongings were ALL damaged, and yet in her filed complaint here, only seek $restitution As it was previously rejected, we are happy to re-extend our offer of $discount/adjustment provided she agrees to remove her various postings in public forums Ms [redacted] is also welcome to call the general manager directly to discuss additional concessions he is willing to consider, if any

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the responseIf no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]
Complaint: ***
I am rejecting this response because:
From: *** ***Date: Wed, May 27, at 12:PMSubject: RE: Complaint #***.To: *** ***
Brenda, Please see my rebuttal below. As stated in both my original complaint, and also by the company, I was due a refund of $290. This refund was due to being overcharged for three men for hours when only two men were working. Additionally, it included being overcharged an hour when the crew not at my residence working, as they had already finished and left. This company already stated that they agreed to this refund, however, to date, it still has not been received. They are not withholding based on posts I made on public forums about the rest of the service, not the refund amount they already owe me. My posts on public forums had nothing to due with the refund amount, as that was already owed to me, and they had already stated they would refund me it, my posts had to do with the rest of my complaint I made to the Revdex.com. Any court in land would agree that I am due the refund of $290, being that I was overcharged for services I did not receive, but also, and more importantly, because the company has already agreed, and stated that they agreed, to refund me that amount. In addition to the refund amount, my original complaint was regarding the poor service I received and the fact, that because of this poor service, I suffered financial losses. The company stated in their response that the men went to my storage unit after loading my residence, but I told them to leave. That is a down right lie, being that it would be impossible to load my storage unit with the truck already full from my house being loaded in it. Instead, as I stated, they met at my new residence to unload the truck, but because they were so late to load my truck in the morning, and took two hours to arrive to my new residence, and also because one of their men was not working most of the time he was on site, my storage unit could not be loaded, as they closed at 8, and the men hadn't finished unloading my truck from my initial residence yet. So unlike an airline company that has to cancel a flight due to reasons beyond their control, my storage unit was not loaded due to reason of the company's control, reasons that were the company's fault. Had they not been late to both locations, there would have been ample time to load my storage unit prior to its closing. Therefore, why I asked for the month's rental amount for my storage unit of $plus the $for the third man not working at the unload site. Finally, the company never informed me how to file a claim for damages and still has not. As I stated, all of my furniture has some type of damage, however, I cannot charge for the scratches, knicks, and gouges on my furniture. It would be unreasonable to ask for all new furniture based on that. Instead, I asked for $to cover the broken stand up mirror and to buy wood furniture repair to try to mask the damaged furniture. When the company reimburses me for the additional amounts incurred due to their negligence, I will gladly remove posts made on public forums, but I will not remove those posts any sooner. Additionally, if they do not refund me the $immediately, I will seek legal action, as they have already stated they owe me this money and the courts will see this. Thank you for your time! *** ***

Customer called on 01/12/to discuss issue with Thomas who has been interacting with the customer since the damage was reported back in December Thomas was out of the office on 1/and contacted the customer on 1/ Resolution discussion is continuing to find a mutually
agreeable settlement In the beginning of the process, the customer was informed of the standard valuation coverage mandated by the federal government He was also informed of his option to purchase 3rd party coverage; he chose not to do so The company has extended an offer 10x the contractually obligated amountCustomer has, so far, rejected that offer

Per your instructions  the matter dealing with complaint [redacted] has been settled. Please note that on the file for completion.Thank You [redacted]

To Whom It May Concern,
 
While we pride ourselves on providing the best possible experience for every customer, we realize that...

is not always possible.  As a company with documented complaint rate of less than 1% of our services, we are proud of our service, and do our best to resolve issues raised by customers whenever possible.  As it relates to Ms. [redacted]'s complaint, our findings do not reflect her opinions and assertions.  We will try our best to summarize our responses to address her points...as not to ignore any.
Our operations sent a 3 men crew consistent w/ Ms. [redacted]'s reservation.  Due to lack of notation the original location was on a military base, only 2 men were allowed on base to load her rental truck. Our crews do not always carry government id's on job as loss is a high risk.  Regardless of the communication fault, the circumstances was not intentional.  Since we were loading her truck, the crew traveled to her in a personal vehicle which was not allowed on base.  As such, the car was parked off-base, and the 3rd man waited there until he could rejoin the crew for the rest of the job.  Once her truck was loaded, the 2 men could have walked off-base to rejoin the 3rd man, but the customer was nice enough to drop-them off since they were leaving the base as well.  For this truck loading duration (4.5 hr), Ms. [redacted] was only charge a 2-men rate, NOT 3-men rate as she states in her complaint.  She had received a steep discount for the 3-men rate, and was simply not happy with the differential credit against the normal 2-men rate.  Our collection staff does not have the authority to negotiate or modify rates during collection, but told her that he would have management reach out to her next day (Sat) or Monday.  Ms [redacted] proceeded to scream and curse at the staff asserting it was a lie to have management call her to resolve her desire for a deep discount on the 2-men rate proportionate to her 3-men discount.  
According to the crew, they arrived at the 2nd pickup location (near final destination) but was informed by the customer they had decided not to load up the storage unit.  At which time the crew proceeded to the final destination for the off-load.  As our normal procedure is to collect before the off-load, an estimated finish time was determined relative to how long it takes to load up the truck.  At the actual finish, if sooner than the estimate, then the customer is refunded the excess; the customer is always only charged for the services rendered.
Next day (Sat 02/28) the general manager indeed gave Ms [redacted] a call.  According to his notes, she was not reachable, so he left her a message to call him at her convenience.
Early the following week, Ms. [redacted] called and spoke with the GM.  He went over the details of the charges with her, and heard her recollection of the events.  The conversation was cordial, unlike the one with the collection staff the night of the job.  While the crew disputed that they finished working 1 hour prior to the estimated finish, he told her he would be willing to accept her word on that fact.  He told her he would give consideration on the discount she sought for the 2-men rate, and would evaluate information from all before making a determination.
The next day the collection staff called Ms. [redacted] to extend the offer from the general manager;  he approved a $30 per hour discount off the 2-men rate (same discount she received off the 3-men rate when she booked the job)…that would be applied to the 4.5 hr duration when only 2 men could be on base to load her truck.  He also extended the 1 hour early finish credit even though the crew disputes that fact.  This amounted to $290 ($30 x 4.5 hr + 1 hr x $155).  This was unsatisfactory to Ms. [redacted], and she, again, began yelling and cursing at the staff…telling him what he could do with that offer (we interpreted that as a rejection of the offer).  Since then we have not had any interactions with Ms. [redacted].
As with all remote services, we can not always arrive on-time, as the crews often have multiple customers in a day.  We understand that can create some inconveniences, but we do not extend discounts no more than physicians running late on appointments, or utility/verizon/comcast/road-side towing companies provide concessions due to arrival time.  Customers are only charged for the services provided, and no more.  In addition, we are not responsible for her additional storage, which she decided not to have the crew move for her; even if we chose not to perform the service of moving her storage unit, we would be no more legally responsible for her storage expense than an airline would be responsible for someone’s vacation cost should a flight be cancelled or delayed.
From the date of the service, she has not filed a claim with us for alleged damages; if there are damages, the claims process, as is normal with all other commerce,  is not intermixed with the cost of labor services provided.  We are in full compliance with all federal regulations, and would be very happy to process her claim according to legal requirements.  It is inconceivable, however, to accept her contention that her belongings were ALL damaged, and yet in her filed complaint here, only seek $150 restitution.
As it was previously rejected, we are happy to re-extend our offer of $290 discount/adjustment provided she agrees to remove her various postings in public forums.  Ms. [redacted] is also welcome to call the general manager directly to discuss additional concessions he is willing to consider, if any.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed as Answered]
 Complaint: [redacted]
I am rejecting this response because:[redacted]'s account of the events are factually inaccurate at best.: My response cannot be declared inaccurate when you were not there to see what happened. I have TWO people that were there all day with me who can attest to what happened.  [redacted] asked for an estimate of a 2BR Apt.  When the crew arrived, it was a 5 level Townhouse.  We do not take inventories over the phone (it would take all day just to speak to 2-3 customers).  It is a blind estimate based on the information customer provides.  The men had a 26ft truck (largest) packed from bottom to top, front to back...and there were still items remaining; in essence she was moving the entire 5 level TH, NOT a 2BR apt.  We move entire 3BR Single Family homes with the 26ft truck, and she had more belongings than that.  For industry comparisons, a 2BR apt typically needs no more than a small 16 ft truck (26ft trucks are wider and taller ceilings as well).Just because I lived in a 5 story townhouse does not mean I had 5 stories of furniture. I lived with someone else who already moved out. The entire top floor was empty and they never went there. Next floor down has two bedrooms and bathroom so thats all you took. Next floor down has  living room dining room and kitchen and half of the stuff there was already taken by other person. Also all 2 bedrooms have a living room, dining room and a kitchen. the next floor had only a tv room sofa and a box and the patio table and chairs. The basement had 20 boxes. ALL of which I described in DETAIL item by item to your lady on the phone several times. She insisted that was a 2 bedroom and a 2 bedroom should take no more than 6 hrs and 3 men. I also showed your men everything when they arrived, at no time did they say this isn't going to fit in the truck because its too much and we need more men. That should have been their assessment when they arrived  and not at the end of the day when it was taking them too long and when they had already run up my bill to ver $2000!Logistics (such as 5 levels of the TH) can impact the time it takes to move things.  They never had to deal with all 5 levels!We were also never made aware of the destination logistics (we presume the customer didn't know as well)...that not only was the elevator small, it was also 100+ yards from the loading dock...creating a very long carry just to reach a very small elevator allowing only small loads to be taken each ride.  She also needed us to deliver the items to 3 different locations in the building (2 other storage units on different floors and parts of the building).  Each trip to the locations also resulted in long waits for the elevator to return as they were not dedicated and reserved for her sole use.  The elevators WERE dedicated for our sole use and you can verify that with the building Management. I pay $200 to have the elevator blocked off and it was. This is easily verifiable. The building supervisors also informed our crew that they would not be allowed to conduct moving activities after 6:00pm...a fact the customer did not know and refuted; we are not in the habit of violating building rules at customer request, yet we remained, but the elevator accesses to and from the 3 different locations became more of an issue after hours.I WAS the one who informed your crew they had to finish by 6 pm as they unblock the elevator.  NOT the building management. I also called BuildinG management to ask them if we could go longer as your men were taking VERY long to get things done. The management said yes.  The customer was emailed simple disclosures of her fee structure far in advance of her booking.  Alas, she was NOT charged a single penny of the credit card processing fee.  Thanks you for this at the very least!From the get go, the customer and her companions continually interrupted the crew's activities and force them to do things "their" way rather than allowing a very experienced crew to do what they do best...we are happy to accommodate, but that type of micro-management can negatively affect productivity. YOUR crew of 3 went everywhere together. When one should have stayed at the truck unloading while the other two delivered, three delivered and one stood doing nothing once his stuff was delivered all three then went back to the truck and no one was continually emptying the truck!  This took a lot more time than was necessary and we were trying to get them to work more efficiently, but it seems you train them to waste time! Still, given the logistical and actual scope considerations, the crew performed above our expectations based on our years of experience and having performed thousands and thousands of moves. I notice you do not mention the fact that they arrived without tools to undo the furniture and had to borrow mine, that they took an hour to try to get my sofa into the elevator ( at $165) and then left it at the elevator blocking it, and a crew the next day got it into my apt in 5min!!  Is this your above expectations crew!When I itemize all the items room by room several times to your agent and she insists that its a 2 bedroom and 3 men should take 6hrs then when I say maybe we should get 4 men she says no 3 can do it and they show up and take from 8am -after 9pm and still haven't put furniture back together more gotten all my stuff and left the sofa by the loading dock elevator...this is unacceptable!
Regards,
[redacted]

[redacted]'s account of the events are factually inaccurate at best.  [redacted] asked for an estimate of a 2BR Apt.  When the crew arrived, it was a 5 level Townhouse.  We do not take inventories over the phone (it would take all day just to speak to 2-3 customers).  It...

is a blind estimate based on the information customer provides.  The men had a 26ft truck (largest) packed from bottom to top, front to back...and there were still items remaining; in essence she was moving the entire 5 level TH, NOT a 2BR apt.  We move entire 3BR Single Family homes with the 26ft truck, and she had more belongings than that.  For industry comparisons, a 2BR apt typically needs no more than a small 16 ft truck (26ft trucks are wider and taller ceilings as well).  Logistics (such as 5 levels of the TH) can impact the time it takes to move things.  We were also never made aware of the destination logistics (we presume the customer didn't know as well)...that not only was the elevator small, it was also 100+ yards from the loading dock...creating a very long carry just to reach a very small elevator allowing only small loads to be taken each ride.  She also needed us to deliver the items to 3 different locations in the building (2 other storage units on different floors and parts of the building).  Each trip to the locations also resulted in long waits for the elevator to return as they were not dedicated and reserved for her sole use.   The building supervisors also informed our crew that they would not be allowed to conduct moving activities after 6:00pm...a fact the customer did not know and refuted; we are not in the habit of violating building rules at customer request, yet we remained, but the elevator accesses to and from the 3 different locations became more of an issue after hours.  The customer was emailed simple disclosures of her fee structure far in advance of her booking.  Alas, she was NOT charged a single penny of the credit card processing fee.   From the get go, the customer and her companions continually interrupted the crew's activities and force them to do things "their" way rather than allowing a very experienced crew to do what they do best...we are happy to accommodate, but that type of micro-management can negatively affect productivity.  Still, given the logistical and actual scope considerations, the crew performed above our expectations based on our years of experience and having performed thousands and thousands of moves.

Review: On 16 May 2013, I contacted A Few Good Men Moving and Storage by phone for a moving quote. I spoke to [redacted] Pisano. I explained that I was moving on Friday 24 May 2013 and needed someone to come to my home for a quote. He said that the best he could do was to give me a quote over the phone because they were swamped. I told him that I was moving large furniture from a 4 bedroom SFH in [redacted], VA to another SFH in [redacted], VA. At first he told me that the date was unavailable. So, I expressed my disappointment and was about to end the call, when he said, "**. [redacted], you are in luck! The woman who was scheduled to move on the 24th just informed us that her closing had been pushed back, so we CAN move you after all!" I was thankful because my mother and I had been unsuccessful trying to get our move scheduled for that holiday weekend. I went into detail about what would be moved as, we had already moved all of the small items ourselves. I told him we just needed large furniture items moved, 4 bedrooms, Living room & dining room. He assured me that all items ~ mattresses, couches, tables, mirrors, etc. would be wrapped & protected. Further, he said that they had a special that weekend ~ FREE wrapping materials. He gave me a quote of $140/hr, 4 men & 7 hours to move. It sounded good, so I signed & gave a $100 security deposit, which would come off the total. The day of the move, the movers were late, then informed me that I had to pay $500 flat fee for boxes. I explained that [redacted] said it would be FREE & asked to speak with him. They told me he could not speak, he "lost his voice." So I spoke to [redacted], who assured me it would be resolved. The movers took what should have been a 5 hour move and stretched it to over 10 hrs, taking frequent cell phone calls, texting, standing around and demanding a tip or they would break up our furniture. My son's bed was broken, SS fridge broken & kitchen table were damaged. I called the next day to report, a rep came out but refused to resolve.Desired Settlement: The move was PURPOSEFULLY stretched out & I want to be refunded the overtime. I was threatened & intimidated by the movers~they made good on their threat to break up my furniture as my son's bed was destroyed beyond repair, they broke my SS Fridge doors & damaged my kitchen table! The company refused to return my calls & attempts to resolve this amicably. What should have cost $1132, cost us $2588. I want my fridge doors repaired/replaced, my table fixed and the cost to replace the bed.

Business

Response:

Check Message tab or see attached.

Consumer

Response:

Check Message tab or see attached.

Review: To The Revdex.com,I could not find this company when I inputted the fields on your site; but they advertise that they are endorsed by you on their web-site.In June 2013, my orders were bumped up a month, and my wife and I had to find movers for a Personally Procured Move (DTY). After calling around, I was able to find movers who said they could do the move on short notice at a reasonable price; this was not the case.I am writing to voice my serious concerns about the service, detailed below, provided by A Few Good Men Moving and Storage located in [redacted], NC a[redacted], ###-###-####.** May, I called an spoke to [redacted] who after hearing that we had a home approximately 2000 square feet, and had three bed-rooms, a living room, dining room, kitchen, two and a half-bathrooms and a garage, quoted me $4700 for the whole move and stated that they would pack us on the 3rd and move us on the 4th, which worked well with our timeline. I briefly spoke to [redacted]. [redacted] in person in the TMO office who said that sounded about right for a Major moving from [redacted] to the [redacted], NC area.On the 3rd of June the crew showed up to move us at about 1100 (two hours late) in a much shorter truck than we were anticipating, but the crew leader assured me that he would make everything fit. The crew leader shortly thereafter told me that the packing materials would not be the $1000 quoted by [redacted], but $3000 for a flat-rate for everything and assured me that this would save him time in counting the materials used. I called [redacted] and asked why there was suddenly $2000 extra in packing materials, to which he replied that he had been just estimating and really couldnt tell without doing a walk-through, which at no point did he try and schedule or recommend.My wife and I had purchased $300 worth of plastic bins and had packaged much of the smaller items up into sixteen bins and another ten plastic crates prior to the movers arrival. I spent the day filling over a dozen boxes to include all the closets and clothes. My wife came home from work and packed the entire kitchen. By 10 p.m., they were still not done packing. The bill for the first day came to $5288 and that was before the move to [redacted] or the off-loading and with our pre-packing and combined help. The crew leader then estimated that the final bill would be over ten thousand dollars.Because they brought such a short truck, I had to rent an additional truck to move all the things they could not fit; this cost us over $700. We were lucky to get the truck at all on no advanced notice, and could not find a car trailer anywhere in the area. We had planned to rent one truck for what they could not take; not two. The additional truck had 4320 pounds of what they could not fit in the short truck after assuring us that they would make it fit. Additionally, I had to rent a car to drive back to [redacted] to get the vehicle I had to leave behind because I was driving a truck, and pay the one-way fee and gas, to say nothing of driving over five hours each way.I spoke to [redacted] the day after the pack-out (4 June) and expressed my concerns that the move quoted at $4700 was now looking like closer to well over double that. He called the owner and called me back. He repeatedly emphasized that he was doing us a favor, and said he got the transportation and off-load capped at an additional $3300. So at this point the $4700 quote was now up to $8688. [redacted] added that because he had done this, he wanted me to write a hearty recommendation in exchange; a recommendation of their services.I had to remain in [redacted] to conduct the final home inspection with the housing office and my wife went ahead to our new home and supervised the off-load. The movers arrived late again, three hours this time, due to the truck being overweight and being stopped at a transportation scale. The same crew leader immediately went to my wife for the final payment; before anything was unloaded or unpacked. He then immDesired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund

Ideally, they would refund the amount over their quote for the move; or at least reimburse us for the cost of the rental truck we had to rent because they brought too small a truck.

Business

Response:

Date: August 5, 2013

Revdex.com

1411 K St. NW, 10* Floor Washington, DC 20005-3404 ###-###-####

RE: Complaint ID: [redacted]

To Whom It May Concern:

Thank you for notifying us of the complaint and allowing us the opportunity to respond and rebut her account of the events. Our summary rebutal to the complaintant’s account of the event are:

1. Due to the customer’s urgency and short time-line, no “Quote” was given. A best estimate was provided over the phone based on the customer’s description of the scope, since there wasn’t sufficient time to send out an on-site estimator. On moving day, the crew found the scope of the move to be 200-300% of what was described over the phone.

2. A 35 ft box truck was sent for the job; it is probably the only box truck of that size in this whole tri-state region; 26 ft is typically the largest moving truck used by movers. The next vehicle size used would be a tractor trailor, of which, the cost of transport would skyrocket. We have used this 35 ft box truck to move single-family mansions of 5000-7500 sq ft without space or weight problems. There is no reason for it not to be able to accommodate a typical 2000 sq ft home.... as the customer described of his home.

3. The customer also requested “Full Packing Service” at the last minute, in addition to the transport services; packing service is time intensive compared to loading and transport.

4. As the customer indicated, every other mover turned them down for such a last minute request. We decided to provide the service to **. [redacted], for the sole reason that this company was formed in honor of family members who served in the military, and it was an opportunity to go out of the way to serve **. [redacted] since every other company would not take his move. Summer is the busiest season for moving companies, and there is no incentive for a local company to allow a truck and crew to go on an out of state move and be unavailable to perform many local jobs - it was an opportunity cost that the management accepted so a service man (**. [redacted]) wasn’t left to fend for himself.

5. Even with such a large truck, the company was able to provide evidence to [redacted] that the load transported was grossly overweight; again, something that has never occurred of this vehicle even when moving houses 2-3 times **. [redacted]’. The company sustained major transportation fines and did not pass them onto the customer though the terms and conditions allowed for such fees to be paid by the customer.

6. The cost structure was clearly explained to the customer; it is based on times and materials. All charges were clearly disclosed to the customer. The customer reviewed all terms and conditions and the cost structure online and accepted the rates and terms. (See provided document).

We have gone beyond the call of duty to provide moving services to a military serviceman in need. The company did not gouge him on rates as others may have given the desperate circumstances [redacted] found himself in; $125/hour for a 3 men crew IS the company’s standard rate. The customer was hilly aware of the cost structure as well as the applicability of the ballpark estimate without an on-site estimate.

Finally, we made every attempt to work with the customer to resolve issues, even in the face of incorrect assumptions and unreasonable expectations. Based on the actual scope of the properties to be moved, we firmly believe we performed a service at a cost that would have otherwise cost **. [redacted] significantly more. As such, we do not believe any refund is warranted.

Sincerely,

Review: I reached out to A Few Good Men Moving and Storage regarding a move. After requesting a quote via their website and following up via email, I approved an estimate. When it cam e time to pay on the day of my move, the company alleged I approved a "Trip Charge" per the estimate. However, the estimate listed no such fee. I approved 5 hours of service at $110 per hour plus a fuel surcharge and submitted a $100 deposit. On the receipt I received, the company listed 5.5 hours of "Job Hours" and 1 hour of "Trip Charge." It was explained to me that the "Trip Charge" is a standard fee charged to all customers for the one hour round-trip travel time to and from their office. This fee was never mentioned and was not listed on the estimate I approved. I spoke with manager [redacted] on the day on my move (Friday, May 16th, 2014) and was told that the salesman [redacted] who I worked with was out of the office at a meeting but I could call back later to discuss the fee and not to worry--if I wasn't supposed to be charged the fee, they would refund it. However, when I called later that afternoon and spoke with [redacted], he claimed I did approve the fee and it is listed on the estimate as "Travel Time." He also told me that I probably spoke to so many different movers that I got confused because he told me about this fee on the phone. I disagreed and there is no where in writing explaining either "Travel Time" or a "Trip Charge." I called again Monday, May 19th at approx. 1:10pm and asked to speak with a manager and was given to [redacted]. After discussing the issue with him for 15 minutes on the phone, he said there was nothing he could do, but he'd have someone call me as everyone was in a meeting. I did not receive a call, so I called them shortly after 4pm that day and was told by [redacted] that he talked to the back office and because I approved the estimate, they would not do anything about the fee and the only person who could reverse it, is the owner who apparently never shows up to the office.Desired Settlement: A full refund of the disputed "Trip Charge" totaling $110.

Review: On Thursday, January 30, 2014 a Few Good Men Moving and storage moved my apartment goods. I hired A Few Good Men Moving to assist in my move. I had multiple issues from a bad quote to hidden fees.

The biggest problem however was during the move, we (my coworker and the movers) were using GPS to get to the new house and it took us on a narrow road, The driver missed 2 signs that said 12’ and under. The truck could not fit under the bridge we came to. The truck had to stop due to being too large. The park rangers called it in as a traffic issue and the police were called. The driver was wanted on a warrant in [redacted] County and had suspended license. He was arrested in front of me and my coworker. The other mover was also had a suspended license but was not arrested. He had no food or water and required a ride to the store in my coworker’s personal vehicle, which was packed and could not fit 3 people at the time. My coworker had to stay with the truck in 20 degree weather while we took the employee to get some food and water. We had to wait almost 3 hours for a new driver.

The realizations set in that the company had a criminal in my house, moving my personal belongings to my new address out in a rural area, being a single woman that is an extremely uncomfortable feeling.

Instead of the company trying to make things right and put an effort to compensate me for the extra time they had taken and stress they have put me through they went ahead and said I owed them 2.5 hours over the original labor cost quote. I had to argue with a man, [redacted], to get a 10% discount because their company had no problem with the delay or the fact that I had to watch a man go to jail who had handled all my personal belongings. I told him I was not comfortable with the amount they placed on the discomfort and inconvenience and he told me I was lucky to be getting that. It took the men 3 hours to pack it and 1.5 hours to unload it. “Because now they were on the clock.”

I missed a college class that was at 5pm, the movers started at 930am and they were still not out of my house at 6pm. It then gets more uncomfortable. The arrested man, who went by [redacted], called my personal cell phone to apologize at 605pm. This was fine, still uncomfortable. He then called again approximately 10 minutes later and asked to talk to the driver, [redacted]’s replacement, [redacted]…Who then said he would go pick up [redacted] from [redacted] County Jail. They are having this conversation on my personal cell phone. This was after I had spent 30+ minutes arguing with the sales manager, who would not put me through to the owner, about having a criminal in my house.

So now I’m thinking, the driver is [redacted]’s friend or acquaintance, the two were very familiar on the phone as my coworker can attest to all of this. I now have 1 criminal, his friend and a man with a suspended license all knowing where I live and what is in my house.

I barely slept that night I was so tired and stressed and nervous. “What if I had offended [redacted]’s friend, [redacted], and they blamed me and my coworker for getting them stopped by the police.”

The whole ordeal was awful, to include never being able to talk to an actual manager or owner. The sales manager, [redacted], said he didn’t want to lose his job because of something this small. His exact word “small.”Desired Settlement: I would like to be appropriately compensated for my time and stress, and I would like reassurance that the company is screening their employees for these types of discrepancies. No one should have to feel threatened, harassed and uncomfortable by the men moving their personal belongings.

I would also like management made aware. I am a paying for a service. I should be able to talk to whoever is in charge in order to feel like the service is worthwhile.

I should feel safe, I don’t.

Review: Per my conversation with [redacted] I am advising you of costly damages we have suffered as the result of your movers' negligence. The following is a list of damaged goods (we have photographed and recorded each item):

1. An Antique Wood Cherry Table -- 30" round -- broken center leg by [redacted] (mover) during move.

2. Hole in Sheet-rock wall -- at entrance -- caused by [redacted] (Foreman) during move.

3. Bronze statue of horse broken during move.

4. Antique China Plate -- part of a discontinued set -- broken during move.

5. One of a pair of Jade/Onyx Book Ends broken during move.

6. Antique Perfume Bottle shattered during move.

7. large antique (irreplaceable) Turtle Sculpture -- Broken during move.

8. Back-wall Mirror in China Cabinet -- Not delivered.

9. Scratched and marred furniture and appliances: refrigerator, office desk, bedroom set.

Also, I have contacted the District Attorney's office and Revdex.com regarding your estimating practices and was advised that they are deceitful, and potentially fraudulent. Prior to our move I spoke to [redacted] (Sales) who quoted an estimate for our move as 5 hour at $145 per hour plus an additional hour for travel time, a total of $870 for the total move. He had confirmed this estimate in two separate e-mails. Upon completion of the move, the movers billed us $1,470.72 in addition to the deposit of $145 (a total of 1,615.72), which included a 10% fuel charge and 5.5% credit card fee, or a total of 15.5% of the total bill total bill. These are invented charges, which were neither disclosed prior to move, nor have anything to do with the move. They are flagrant and fraudulent.

I want you to reimburse us for the damaged and broken items listed above and for the difference between your estimated cost of the move ($870) and the actual cost ($1,615.72)charged.

Please let me know your intentions. I'll expect your response within 10 business days.

Sincerely,

[redacted], Ph.D.Desired Settlement: I want you to be reimbursed for the damaged and broken items listed above and for the difference between the agreed upon estimate cost of the move ($870) and the final billed charges of ($1,615.72).

To The Revdex.com,I could not find this company when I inputted the fields on your site; but they advertise that they are endorsed by you on their web-site.In June 2013, my orders were bumped up a month, and my wife and I had to find movers for a Personally Procured Move (DTY). After calling around, I was able to find movers who said they could do the move on short notice at a reasonable price; this was not the case.I am writing to voice my serious concerns about the service, detailed below, provided by A Few Good Men Moving and Storage located in [redacted], NC a[redacted], ###-###-####.** May, I called an spoke to [redacted] who after hearing that we had a home approximately 2000 square feet, and had three bed-rooms, a living room, dining room, kitchen, two and a half-bathrooms and a garage, quoted me $4700 for the whole move and stated that they would pack us on the 3rd and move us on the 4th, which worked well with our timeline. I briefly spoke to [redacted] in person in the TMO office who said that sounded about right for a Major moving from [redacted] to the [redacted], NC area.On the 3rd of June the crew showed up to move us at about 1100 (two hours late) in a much shorter truck than we were anticipating, but the crew leader assured me that he would make everything fit. The crew leader shortly thereafter told me that the packing materials would not be the $1000 quoted by [redacted], but $3000 for a flat-rate for everything and assured me that this would save him time in counting the materials used. I called [redacted] and asked why there was suddenly $2000 extra in packing materials, to which he replied that he had been just estimating and really couldnt tell without doing a walk-through, which at no point did he try and schedule or recommend.My wife and I had purchased $300 worth of plastic bins and had packaged much of the smaller items up into sixteen bins and another ten plastic crates prior to the movers arrival. I spent the day filling over a dozen boxes to include all the closets and clothes. My wife came home from work and packed the entire kitchen. By 10 p.m., they were still not done packing. The bill for the first day came to $5288 and that was before the move to [redacted] or the off-loading and with our pre-packing and combined help. The crew leader then estimated that the final bill would be over ten thousand dollars.Because they brought such a short truck, I had to rent an additional truck to move all the things they could not fit; this cost us over $700. We were lucky to get the truck at all on no advanced notice, and could not find a car trailer anywhere in the area. We had planned to rent one truck for what they could not take; not two. The additional truck had 4320 pounds of what they could not fit in the short truck after assuring us that they would make it fit. Additionally, I had to rent a car to drive back to [redacted] to get the vehicle I had to leave behind because I was driving a truck, and pay the one-way fee and gas, to say nothing of driving over five hours each way.I spoke to [redacted] the day after the pack-out (4 June) and expressed my concerns that the move quoted at $4700 was now looking like closer to well over double that. He called the owner and called me back. He repeatedly emphasized that he was doing us a favor, and said he got the transportation and off-load capped at an additional $3300. So at this point the $4700 quote was now up to $8688. [redacted] added that because he had done this, he wanted me to write a hearty recommendation in exchange; a recommendation of their services.I had to remain in [redacted] to conduct the final home inspection with the housing office and my wife went ahead to our new home and supervised the off-load. The movers arrived late again, three hours this time, due to the truck being overweight and being stopped at a transportation scale. The same crew leader immediately went to my wife for the final payment; before anything was unloaded or unpacked. He then imm

Check fields!

Write a review of A Few Good Men Moving and Storage

Satisfaction rating
 
 
 
 
 
Upload here Increase visibility and credibility of your review by adding a photo

A Few Good Men Moving and Storage Rating

Overall satisfaction rating

Description: Movers

Address: 11611 Nebel St, Rockville, Maryland, United States, 20852-2555

Phone:

Show more...

Add contact information for A Few Good Men Moving and Storage

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | New | Updated