Sign in

A to Z Automotive

Sharing is caring! Have something to share about A to Z Automotive? Use RevDex to write a review
Reviews A to Z Automotive

A to Z Automotive Reviews (3)

Customer came in 4 or 5 days after job was completed and paid for to tell us that he could not afford the repairs on his car. "He could not afford to invest over a thousand dollars into his car," after it was agreed upon the work to be performed, the work completed and paid for, four to five days...

ago by the customer. Customer demanded that his old parts be reinstalled and refund all his money. He was informed that we can not reinstall his bad parts that had already been disposed of.

Review: My 1992 Toyota pickup was damaged in an accident on 2/25/15 and was eventually "totaled" by my insurance company. Damage was cosmetic only so to retain ownership, I was required to obtain smog, brake, and lamp inspections and certificates. A to Z was recommended to me by CA DMV in South Lake Tahoe. The first inspections were 4/21/15 and the truck failed all three. The mechanic never tried or offered to effect any repairs. I tried to fix everything on the list and returned for re-inspection on 5/26/15. The smog passed but the brakes and lamps failed again. Brakes, due to tires that were a different size than recommended by Toyota ( a mechanic's judgment call, not law); lights, due to a loose taillight lens, and front turn signal lenses that were on the wrong side. (This was not mentioned in the first inspection). Again, this inspection AND repair facility did not make any effort or offer to make repairs. I contacted the Bureau of Automotive Repair and asked for help. [redacted] spoke to the shop and later called me and informed me that the shop agreed to pass the brake test with the larger summer tires and to charge a nominal fee instead of the full $178 for another re-inspection.I completed the turn signal and brake light lens' repairs and on 7/2 or 7/3/2015, I made a third appointment for 7/10/2015 at 10:00 AM. I arrived at 9:45 AM. I entered the shop and was shortly told that there was no record of an appointment for me and I absolutely could not be accommodated that day. There was no apology. I feel my appointment was lost in retaliation for my complaint.I have paid A to Z Automotive $414.75 for two inspections. I have lost two days of pay from work for the first two visits. I have traveled 250 miles for the three round trips between South Lake Tahoe and Pollock Pines.After all of this, I have nothing! Not even the smog certificate that I supposedly passed.Why was repair at the time of inspection not offered? I fully expected to pay them to make everything right.Desired Settlement: I would like to see a partial refund of the monies they have received from me. I will have to pay another shop for the inspections I require. I will not return for a fourth try to a shop that has treated me so poorly.

Business

Response:

AS A RESPONSE TO THE CUSTOMER COMPLAINT WE HAVE RESEARCHED ALL OF OUR RECORDS AND FOUND THAT THE CUSTOMER IS BEING VERY DIS HONEST IN THE COMPLAINT THE CUSTOMER HAS FILED AND WE FEEL THAT THE OTHER OFFER THAT WE HAVE ALREADY OFFERED TO THE CUSTOMER IS MORE THAT GENEROUS DUE TO THE FACTS.ON 4/21/15 THE CUSTOMER CAME INTO THE SHOP FOR A SCHEDULED SMOG, BRAKE AND LAMP INSPECTION, WE PERFORMED THE SERVICES FINDING THAT THE VEHICLE FAILED SMOG DUE TO THE TIMING OUT OF SPECIFICATION, THE BRAKE INSPECTION FAILED FOR THE REAR BREAKE DRUMS WERE WORN OVER THE MAXIMUM ALLOWABLE WEAR LIMIT AND THE TIRES WERE THE INCORRECT TIRE SIZE OK), THE LAMP INSPECTION FAILED DUE TO LICENSE PLATE LAMPS NOT OPERATING, THE RIGHT AND LEFT FRONT SIDE MARKER LENSES ARE LOOSE AND NOT SECURED PROPERLY TO THE VEHICLE, THE RIGHT FRONT SIDE MARKER LENS IS CRACKED AND LEFT THE REAR TAIL LAMP LENS IS ALSO NOT SECURED TO THE VEHICLE. ALL OF THE LISTED FAILURES ON 4/21/2015 WERE LEGITTE FAILURES EXCEPT FOR THE TIRE SIZE FAILURE.ON THE DATE OF 4/21/2015 OUR APPOINTMENT SCHEDULE WAS BOOKED FULL WITH JOBS BACK TO BACK SO WE COULD NOT ACCOMODATE REPAIRS FOR THE CUSTOMER AT THAT TIME, WHO WAS FROM OUT OF TOWN.THE CUSTOMER SECOND APPOINTMENT FOR A BRAKE RE TEST AND A LAMP RE TEST (NO SMOG INSPECTION RE TEST) ON 5/26/2015, WE WERE ASKED TO AND APPROVED TO PERFORM A BRAKE INSPECTION RE TEST AND LAMP INSPECTION RE TEST. AFTER PERFORMING THE WORK THE BRAKE INSPECTION FAILED DUE TO THE VEHICLE PULLING TO THE LEFT WHILE BRAKING AND THE TIRES WERE STILL THE INCORRECT SIZE (AT A LATER DATE WE FOUND THAT THE TIRE SIZE CAN BE A DIFFERENT SIZE AS LONG AS THE VEHICLE DOES NOT HAVE ABS). THE LAMP INSPECTION FAILED DUE TO THE LEFT REAR TAIL LAMP LENS MISSING ONE SCREW CAUSING THE LENS TO BE LOOSE AND NOT SEALED, THE RIGHT AND LEFT FRONT TURN SIGNAL LENSES ARE MARKED FOR RIGHT AND LEFT AND THE LENSES HAD BEEN SWAPPED SO THE RIGHT SIDE TURN SIGNAL WAS MARKED LEFT AND THE LEFT SIDE TURN SIGNAL WAS MARKED RIGHT. AGAIN ALL OF THE FAILURES ARE LEGETE FAILURES EXCEPT FOR THE TIRE SIZE. AT THAT TIME OUR SCHEDULE WAS BOOKED FULL SO WE COULD NOT ACCOMODATE REPAIRS ON THAT DAY.IT WAS SOME TIME IN JUNE THAT THE BUREAU OF AUTOMOTIVE REPAIR CONTACTED US TO INFORM US THAT VEHICLES WITH OUT ABS ARE ALLOWED TO HAVE THE INCORRECT TIRE SIZE ON THEM AS LONG AS THE VEHICLE STILL STOPS WITHIN THE ALLOTTED DISTANCE FROM 25 MILES PER HOUR AND IN A STRAIGHT LINE. WE INFORMED THE BUREAU THAT WE WOULD HELP AS MUCH AS POSSIBLE BY INSPECTION AT A DISCOUNT OF 75% EVEN THOUGH EACH TIME THE VEHICLE WAS INSPECTED THE VEHICLE HAD A FAILURE OTHER THAN THE TIRES.THE CUSTOMER THEN MADE AN APPOINTMENT FOR 7/10/2015 AND THE CUSTOMER NEVER SHOWED UP FOR THE APPOINTMENT. NO CALL AND NO SHOW. SO OUT OF THE CUSTOMERS THREE APPOINTMENTS THE CUSTOMER SHOWED FOR TWO OF THEM AND EACH TIME THE VEHICLE FAILED FOR SOMETHING OTHER THAN TIRES.AS A SMOG INSPECTION, BRAKE INSPECTION AND LAMP INSPECTION STATION OUR JOB IS TO INSURE THAT THE VEHICLES THAT ARE NOT ON THE ROAD ARE SAFE AND LEGAL TO DRIVE, THE LAWS ARE SET BY THE DOT AND EPA SO WE FOLLOW THE GUIDELINES AS CLOSE AS WE POSSIBLY CAN TO ENSURE THAT THE VEHICLES ON THE ROAD ARE SAFE.WE FEEL THAT WE HAVE DONE OUR JOB PROPERLY (OTHER THAN THE TIRE SIZE ISSUE) AND HAVE NOT INTENTIONALLY DONE THE CUSTOMER ANY WRONG DOING. TO RECTIFY THE MISTAKE OF THE INCORRECT TIRE SIZE WE HAVE OFFERED TO PERFORM THE BRAKE RE TEST FOR FREE AND PERFORM THE LAMP RE TEST AT 75% OFF AND THIS OFFER IS STILL ON THE COUNTER FOR THE CUSTOMER.WE HAVE DOCUMENTATION OF ESTIMATES, INVOICES AND SCHEDUALS THAT SHOW THE CUSTOMER IS BEING DIS HONEST IN HIS COMPLAINT.SINCERELY[redacted]/MANAGER

Business

Response:

AS A RESPONSE TO THE CUSTOMER COMPLAINT WE HAVE RESEARCHED ALL OF OUR RECORDS AND FOUND THAT THE CUSTOMER IS BEING VERY DIS HONEST IN THE COMPLAINT THE CUSTOMER HAS FILED AND WE FEEL THAT THE OTHER OFFER THAT WE HAVE ALREADY OFFERED TO THE CUSTOMER IS MORE THAT GENEROUS DUE TO THE FACTS.ON 4/21/15 THE CUSTOMER CAME INTO THE SHOP FOR A SCHEDULED SMOG, BRAKE AND LAMP INSPECTION, WE PERFORMED THE SERVICES FINDING THAT THE VEHICLE FAILED SMOG DUE TO THE TIMING OUT OF SPECIFICATION, THE BRAKE INSPECTION FAILED FOR THE REAR BREAKE DRUMS WERE WORN OVER THE MAXIMUM ALLOWABLE WEAR LIMIT AND THE TIRES WERE THE INCORRECT TIRE SIZE OK), THE LAMP INSPECTION FAILED DUE TO LICENSE PLATE LAMPS NOT OPERATING, THE RIGHT AND LEFT FRONT SIDE MARKER LENSES ARE LOOSE AND NOT SECURED PROPERLY TO THE VEHICLE, THE RIGHT FRONT SIDE MARKER LENS IS CRACKED AND LEFT THE REAR TAIL LAMP LENS IS ALSO NOT SECURED TO THE VEHICLE. ALL OF THE LISTED FAILURES ON 4/21/2015 WERE LEGITTE FAILURES EXCEPT FOR THE TIRE SIZE FAILURE.ON THE DATE OF 4/21/2015 OUR APPOINTMENT SCHEDULE WAS BOOKED FULL WITH JOBS BACK TO BACK SO WE COULD NOT ACCOMODATE REPAIRS FOR THE CUSTOMER AT THAT TIME, WHO WAS FROM OUT OF TOWN.THE CUSTOMER SECOND APPOINTMENT FOR A BRAKE RE TEST AND A LAMP RE TEST (NO SMOG INSPECTION RE TEST) ON 5/26/2015, WE WERE ASKED TO AND APPROVED TO PERFORM A BRAKE INSPECTION RE TEST AND LAMP INSPECTION RE TEST. AFTER PERFORMING THE WORK THE BRAKE INSPECTION FAILED DUE TO THE VEHICLE PULLING TO THE LEFT WHILE BRAKING AND THE TIRES WERE STILL THE INCORRECT SIZE (AT A LATER DATE WE FOUND THAT THE TIRE SIZE CAN BE A DIFFERENT SIZE AS LONG AS THE VEHICLE DOES NOT HAVE ABS). THE LAMP INSPECTION FAILED DUE TO THE LEFT REAR TAIL LAMP LENS MISSING ONE SCREW CAUSING THE LENS TO BE LOOSE AND NOT SEALED, THE RIGHT AND LEFT FRONT TURN SIGNAL LENSES ARE MARKED FOR RIGHT AND LEFT AND THE LENSES HAD BEEN SWAPPED SO THE RIGHT SIDE TURN SIGNAL WAS MARKED LEFT AND THE LEFT SIDE TURN SIGNAL WAS MARKED RIGHT. AGAIN ALL OF THE FAILURES ARE LEGETE FAILURES EXCEPT FOR THE TIRE SIZE. AT THAT TIME OUR SCHEDULE WAS BOOKED FULL SO WE COULD NOT ACCOMODATE REPAIRS ON THAT DAY.IT WAS SOME TIME IN JUNE THAT THE BUREAU OF AUTOMOTIVE REPAIR CONTACTED US TO INFORM US THAT VEHICLES WITH OUT ABS ARE ALLOWED TO HAVE THE INCORRECT TIRE SIZE ON THEM AS LONG AS THE VEHICLE STILL STOPS WITHIN THE ALLOTTED DISTANCE FROM 25 MILES PER HOUR AND IN A STRAIGHT LINE. WE INFORMED THE BUREAU THAT WE WOULD HELP AS MUCH AS POSSIBLE BY INSPECTION AT A DISCOUNT OF 75% EVEN THOUGH EACH TIME THE VEHICLE WAS INSPECTED THE VEHICLE HAD A FAILURE OTHER THAN THE TIRES.THE CUSTOMER THEN MADE AN APPOINTMENT FOR 7/10/2015 AND THE CUSTOMER NEVER SHOWED UP FOR THE APPOINTMENT. NO CALL AND NO SHOW. SO OUT OF THE CUSTOMERS THREE APPOINTMENTS THE CUSTOMER SHOWED FOR TWO OF THEM AND EACH TIME THE VEHICLE FAILED FOR SOMETHING OTHER THAN TIRES.AS A SMOG INSPECTION, BRAKE INSPECTION AND LAMP INSPECTION STATION OUR JOB IS TO INSURE THAT THE VEHICLES THAT ARE NOT ON THE ROAD ARE SAFE AND LEGAL TO DRIVE, THE LAWS ARE SET BY THE DOT AND EPA SO WE FOLLOW THE GUIDELINES AS CLOSE AS WE POSSIBLY CAN TO ENSURE THAT THE VEHICLES ON THE ROAD ARE SAFE.WE FEEL THAT WE HAVE DONE OUR JOB PROPERLY (OTHER THAN THE TIRE SIZE ISSUE) AND HAVE NOT INTENTIONALLY DONE THE CUSTOMER ANY WRONG DOING. TO RECTIFY THE MISTAKE OF THE INCORRECT TIRE SIZE WE HAVE OFFERED TO PERFORM THE BRAKE RE TEST FOR FREE AND PERFORM THE LAMP RE TEST AT 75% OFF AND THIS OFFER IS STILL ON THE COUNTER FOR THE CUSTOMER.WE HAVE DOCUMENTATION OF ESTIMATES, INVOICES AND SCHEDUALS THAT SHOW THE CUSTOMER IS BEING DIS HONEST IN HIS COMPLAINT.SINCERELY[redacted]/MANAGER

Consumer

Response:

I am rejecting this response because:Mr. [redacted]s has left out a few details. On 4/21, after being told of the issues causing the inspection failures, I asked specifically if the brake drums were available. He stated he might be able to get them late in the morning or possibly not until the late afternoon. I was not informed that there was no time for any repairs to be performed. This is when I began to believe that A to Z was an inspection-only facility. During the next 4 weeks I purchased and installed, or paid to have installed, left and right marker lights, front grille, to facilitate the proper attachment of the marker lights. Had new brake drums installed in the rear. I de-tuned the engine, rding the timing and resetting the idle to specs. The engine is tuned for the 6,300 foot altitude where I live. The resetting for the inspection has reduced my gas mileage a bit and decreased everyday performance. License plate lamps were replaced. I had ordered a new left taillight assembly but it had not yet arrived. 5/26: I put my winter tires on the vehicle to try and satisfy Mr. [redacted]s' requirement for the recommended tire size. I explained that the front tires were to be replaced but not until the fall. I understand the failure due to the tires' condition. This would not have been an issue if not for the incorrect requirement of manufacturer's tire size. No, this model year does not have ABS.Why was the incorrect turn signal lens issue not found first time? That would have been fixed. ( I replaced both lens assemblies instead of just switching them.) Again there was no mention of making an appointment for repair or of not having time to do so.And, since I seemingly passed the smog inspection, why was I not issued that certificate?I contacted the CA B.A.R. because I was frustrated with the lack of communication and "why was I not informed that this facility did not do repair".[redacted]s of the B.A.R. contacted me several times and eventually passed along Mr. [redacted]s' offer of a re-inspection, allowing the larger tires. I called the shop on 6/29 and made an appointment for 7/3 at 10:00 AM. When I arrived at 9:50 AM, I was told there was no appointment and I could not possibly be accommodated. There was no hint of an apology. I made an appointment for 7/10 and then decided I was not going to pay them any more money. I did forget to cancel the appointment. My fault. I felt on the first visit that I was not a welcome customer. Mr. [redacted]s was brusque. When told of the tire size issue, I commented that the wider tires should provide improved braking action over the standard size. He dryly replied, "I can give you the BAR website and you can look up the rules". (Quoted as close as possible) The feeling was not of me seeking help from a professional but me just being a bother.I had my smog inspection here in Tahoe and it passed without any issues in 35 minutes. I had to go to Tahoe City for brake and lamp. They replaced one headlight due to a new crack and it passed after an hour. $260.00 total.I believe my complaint is "legit".[redacted]

Business

Response:

In Mr. [redacted] newest reply that we have received, his first complaint is that on 4/21/15 we implied that we were a inspect only facility. we do not go over all of the inspection until the full inspection is completed. At the time of completion of the inspection the customer can then request to give an estimate for repairs and schedule for those repairs. The day we inspected the vehicle we were booked full for the day so we could not provide repairs at that time.The customer complaint regarding the 5/26/15 inspecting alludes to failing due to tire size only but the failure was also due to pulling to the left while braking. The customer comments about the turn signal lenses being swapped should have been found on the first inspection performed on 4/21/15 but at that time the lenses were installed correctly, the customer also stated that after leaving the first appointment on 4/21/15 he had repairs performed on the lamps so we must suspect that was the time the lenses were swapped (we do not know what had happened between the first and second inspections but the lenses were swapped). the customer also has a complaint on 5/26/15 of passing a smog inspection and not receiving a certificate for the passed smog. We did not perform a smog on the second appointment on 5/26/15 so there was no request of a smog, no approval for a smog, no passed smog and no smog certificate.The customer states that we do not perform repairs. we do perform repairs and we never told the customer that we do not perform repairs. I do not know where these strange comments are coming from.The customer states a log of making appointments which is false. the customer did not have an appointment for 7/3/15 and also did not have an appointment for 7/110/15. we have gone through all of our appointment logs and verified this information, however the customer did have an appointment for 7/17/15 at 9:00am to perform a brake and lamp inspection as well as a smog re test which the customer did not cancel or show up for this appointment.The customer goes on to state that made him feel as if he was not a welcome customer which if we made him feel that way we do deeply apologize and it was not out intentions to make him feel that way. Our customers keep us with very full schedules and we are dedicated to performing the most thorough inspections and repairs we can provide so we stay very focused on the jobs we are working on so at the time of an inspection or repair with waiting customers and the next appointment coming in just after that job it can be difficult to stand around communicating in stead of focusing on the job at hand.As far as the comment regarding giving the BAR web site I actually offered the DOT and/or the BAR web site because I feel that the customer should be aware of all of the regulations the vehicles must meet so they can be educated on the laws and regulations that I must inspect for on the vehicle. also that the customer can learn why a vehicle calls for a specific tire size for that vehicle.The final comment the customer made is that he had his smog inspection performed near his home and it passed. earlier in his letter he stated that he had made repairs and adjustments regarding the smog failure so we would expect that the vehicle could now pass. He also stated that he took the vehicle elsewhere for the brake and lamp inspection and after repairs it passed. the customer stated again earlier that after the second brake and lamp failure that he had made further repairs and the shop made more repairs.To further more elaborate on repairs needed for the vehicle the left rear of the vehicle had body damage making it necessary to perform some type of body repairs to properly mount the left rear tail lamp lens, we do not perform any kind of body repairs at this shop and that was explained to the customer after the inspection.We are happy that the customer has finished his goal of passing a brake inspection, lamp inspection and smog inspection.

Consumer

Response:

I am rejecting this response because:One item at a time: I made the assumption that A to Z Automotive was an inspection-only facility due to the lack of any offer or effort to let me know there was not any time for repairs to be performed nor was an effort made by Mr. [redacted]s to ask if I wished to schedule an appointment for the needed repairs. Mr. [redacted]s states he never said they do not perform repairs. Again, Mr. [redacted]s NEVER stated they DO perform repairs. I asked specifically if the needed brake drums could be acquired. He stated 'Maybe later in the morning, maybe not until late afternoon'. That is the closest he ever came to hinting that repairs might be able to be arranged. Again, he did not ask if I wished to schedule repairs.The turn signal lenses were never swapped. When the vehicle arrived at his shop, the turn signal lenses were as they were when I bought the vehicle in 2003. They were NOT swapped at any time after or before either appt. with A to Z because there was no reason to swap them. They were not failed! I replaced both turn signal assemblies because I could not find just the lenses. When the old parts were removed, the lenses were both stuck to the rubber gaskets because they had been there for at least 12 years! I had never had to replace a bulb in either side.My initial appointment was for smog, brake, and lamp inspections. I clearly stated the reason for these inspections as my having been in an accident, insurance company totaling the vehicle, and the DMV requirements in order to obtain a salvage title. My second appointment was for a re-inspection for the needed THREE certificates.Mr. [redacted]s says I am being dishonest. Check your response dated 8/19/2015. You wrote, "THE CUSTOMER THEN MADE AN APPOINTMENT FOR 7/10/2015 AND THE CUSTOMER NEVER SHOWED UP FOR THE APPOINTMENT." I DID make an appointment for 7/3/2015 that was then "lost". The gentleman at the counter then offered an appointment the following week, 7/10/2015, that I accepted. 7/17/2015 was NEVER an issue because I had already decided that you were not taking another cent of my money. I did acknowledge the no show for the July 10 appointment. You can and did manipulate your records and you are inept at deception.You're a lousy liar!The most amazing statement Mr. [redacted]s made in this response is, "Our customers keep us with very full schedules and we are dedicated to performing the most thorough inspections and repairs we can provide so we stay very focused on the jobs we are working on so at the time of an inspection or repair with waiting customers and the next appointment coming in just after that job it can be difficult to stand around communicating in stead of focusing on the job at hand.Part of the job, maybe the MOST IMPORTANT PART!!!, is communicating to the customer! How else does the customer know what work needs to be done, what the customer needs to do to prevent further issues, how the customer can resolve a failure of an inspection??!!! Part of the jobs I paid you for was to tell me you can or cannot help me pass the inspections, that you can or cannot schedule time to perform repairs. After each of my appointments you pounded the crap out of your keyboard typing up my inspection failures. That is part of my perception that I was not an important customer, just someone taking up your time. You had no problem taking my money.As for you being happy that I have resolved my title issues with the DMV. Be serious! You could not care less.

This is THE PLACE to go for auto repair needs. They do way more but I just have a truck and a car so that is the extent of my experience. I have gone to them from the minor to the major issues and each time they get me up and running. The very best thing I can say about them and can't say for many other places is they are both fair and honest. Easy to find one or the other but they got it all.

Check fields!

Write a review of A to Z Automotive

Satisfaction rating
 
 
 
 
 
Upload here Increase visibility and credibility of your review by adding a photo

A to Z Automotive Rating

Overall satisfaction rating

Description: Auto Repair & Service

Address: 7690 Highway 47, Union, Missouri, United States, 63084-4207

Phone:

+1 (732) 967-0220
+1 (918) 865-6577
+1 (561) 222-4457
+1 (636) 583-4445
Show more...

Website:

www.autoshoprepairs.com


Add contact information for A to Z Automotive

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | New | Updated