Sign in

A Woman's Touch Moving Inc.

Sharing is caring! Have something to share about A Woman's Touch Moving Inc.? Use RevDex to write a review
Reviews A Woman's Touch Moving Inc.

A Woman's Touch Moving Inc. Reviews (21)

A Woman's Touch. She's a must to avoid. Two days before my mother's move, A Woman's Touch called and confirmed the date and time, 8:00 am, July 8. It was also confirmed that theu would send packers. Friday morning came, no one showed. After a reasonable wait, I called A Woman's Touch, and the woman who answered the phone said that it was a "misunderstanding", and that no packers were available. At about 10:00 a.m. , a mover from A Woman's Touch, showed up with a pink slip of paper in his hand, apparently from AWoman's Touch, directing him to not only move me but to pack what was left to be packed. He informed me-very rudely- that he was a mover not a packer" and that he would do no packing. I told him I would sue. He said he did not like to be threatened (I was not meaning that I would sue him personally) and he walked out. Nothing got moved that day. Had there been tenants due to move in the next day, I would have had to foot the bill to put their goods in storage and put them up in a hotel- a huge expense because of a "misunderstanding" and the arrogance of a mover who thought he was too good to pack boxes. This company needs to be sent packing !

Revdex.com:
I have reviewed the offer and/or response made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted], and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.
The business made no offer to resolve my complaint.  Contrary to their statements in their response, I gave a detailed and complete description of all of the furniture and boxes that would need to be moved.  Everything was "revealed" to person who received the information, and she simply gave an inaccurate quote.  This attempt to pass blame for their own error is disappointing, but consistent with the poor customer service we received when we contacted the business directly.  
Further, the fact that the movers worked hard and were rewarded with a tip is a non sequitur.  They worked with us - by agreeing to move only the larger furniture items as quickly as possible - to try to reduce the financial impact of their boss's mistake, and were rewarded for doing so.  This does not change the fact that I provided all the information necessary to provide an accurate quote, was provided with a grossly underestimated quote, and had to pay nearly twice what I budgeted for this move.  
Finally, with respect to the contract that the business referenced in their response, we were required to sign it before the movers would perform any work and because our lease was ending, we had no option but to sign and go forward with the higher price of the move.  Moreover, regardless of what their contract (which is not provided to customers until the day of the move) says, the fact remains that it is a bad business practice to provide customers with a quote and then expect them to pay two to three times what they were quoted.  
I am incredibly disappointed with this business and will discourage others from using their services.
Regards,
[redacted]

Attached is the written estimate and contract from A Woman’s Touch Moving company that was signed and returned.  Please note the parts that are highlighted which clearly state that the price was binding and would not change.  To further respond to their claim, I want to clarify several facts that they stated incorrectly.  First, nowhere in our contract nor in any type of correspondence (phone, email, etc.) did they tell us to reach out to them a week prior to have them “re-access” our items/packing.  In fact, we did not even know that this was a standard practice by the company until the actual moving day when Lisa told us that they normally send someone out the week before to access the situation but she had been on vacation and for whatever reason this failed to happen.  We had almost considered going with another company anyways beforehand when we tried on multiple attempts to contact the company a couple of weeks out to verify that they were still moving us since we had heard nothing and we could not get a response.  It took three attempts of reaching out from my husband to actually get a response from the company.We also would not have disputed an extra charge for a larger truck if in fact all of our things would not fit on the day of.  Our largest dispute/frustration was that they were also trying to tack on an extra $800 fee on the day of moving because they could not get their truck up our driveway.  They had already come to our house to evaluate the location and our things and provided us with a contract saying that the price would not change.  We were upset when they were changing the price on us (against the contract) in the 11th hour when we had no other options and had to move that day.  We told them we were unhappy but made no threatening or aggressive remarks other than the fact that we would pay because we had no other options but we intended to file a complaint.  They took this in turn and left us high and dry on a Sunday, the day we had to move out.  To make the situation worse we had no other options, we have a toddler, and I am pregnant.  Upon gathering their things and leaving, the actual representatives from the moving company that were there that day apologized to us profusely telling us that Lisa and their office had really dropped the ball.  If all of this is irrelevant, then the contract stating that the price would not change along with them completely leaving us high and dry on the day of the move should suffice to make the complaint stick.  I have NEVER had any encounter such as this with a professional service business where they not only refused to do the right thing, then in turn refused to take ownership of their mistakes.  It is completely unprofessional and unacceptable and future customers in Richmond have the right to know what they are potentially getting into by selecting them as their moving company.

Revdex.com:
I have reviewed the offer and/or response made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted], and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.
[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]
Regards,
[redacted]
There was a small scratch on the bottom half of the china press on the top, but this was a deep long groove which occurred when the two pieces were trying to be separated by the small mover and one tall mover. The top of the press is very heavy and misleading when trying to pick it up. When the small guy 5' 3" tried to lift that end, it was too heavy for him and it was dropped back down on the top. The bottom corners, of the top piece have sharp edges and that is where the damage occured  I am not saying that he did it on purpose, but it happened anyway, and it was the company's responsibility to take care of the damages. The ( so called supervisor had her back to them when it happened , so she did not see anything. She was facing me  and talking on the phone.) Another mover who was not in the room had to come in and finally lift the piece off the top with the other tall guy. Wrapping the furniture after the fact had nothing to do with it. I went through the house and showed them any new furniture with nothing on it and the one scratch on the china press.  Previous scratch came from sliding and new one was incurred by them. There was other small damage done. to other pieces and she saw this when she came out, and admitted it, but this was major enough to notice.  They just do not want to admit guilt and are trying to  kick it back on us. They just need to admit their fault and take care of this. I would not recommend them to anybody.  They should be thankful that I found somebody to repair it, that could.

Revdex.com:
I have reviewed the offer and/or response made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted], and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.
The business made no offer to resolve my complaint.  Contrary to their statements in their response, I gave a detailed and complete description of all of the furniture and boxes that would need to be moved.  Everything was "revealed" to person who received the information, and she simply gave an inaccurate quote.  This attempt to pass blame for their own error is disappointing, but consistent with the poor customer service we received when we contacted the business directly.  Further, the fact that the movers worked hard and were rewarded with a tip is a non sequitur.  They worked with us - by agreeing to move only the larger furniture items as quickly as possible - to try to reduce the financial impact of their boss's mistake, and were rewarded for doing so.  This does not change the fact that I provided all the information necessary to provide an accurate quote, was provided with a grossly underestimated quote, and had to pay nearly twice what I budgeted for this move.  Finally, with respect to the contract that the business referenced in their response, we were required to sign it before the movers would perform any work and because our lease was ending, we had no option but to sign and go forward with the higher price of the move.  Moreover, regardless of what their contract (which is not provided to customers until the day of the move) says, the fact remains that it is a bad business practice to provide customers with a quote and then expect them to pay two to three times what they were quoted.  I am incredibly disappointed with this business and will discourage others from using their services.
Regards,
[redacted]

Revdex.com spoke with [redacted] from the business. She stated at the time of the move to storage not everything would fit in the storage unit. The business brought the remaining items back to Richmond. At that time A photo was taken of the items; the saw was not in that photo and was not removed from the...

storage unit by the business. The customer's took parts off of the grill at the time of the move, the movers did not need to remove any part to move it successfully. the business can provide the picture taken of the left over items if the customer would like another copy.

This is the second time using this company. They are very professional, caring, and reliable. Prompt, courteous service. I would definitely use A Woman's Touch Moving again.

We were contracted to perform the moving service for the [redacted].  On the day of the move, we in fact did send a supervisor.  The supervisor made sure every piece of furniture was wrapped so as to not cause any damage. The piece in question (a large buffet/server) was already damaged prior...

to us moving it.  Before the movers touched the piece, they called Mr. [redacted] over and showed him the damage.  He proceeded to explain that it happened while they were trying to move the piece in and the neighbors were trying to help and caused the damage.  At some point, the wife came in and she was showed the damage and her response was the same as the husband's.  But low and behold, a several days later, they called the office to try to get repairs to the damaged piece.  As far as the movers that were there, they were all qualified movers and they bragged on them all throughout the move about how good they were and how hard they worked.  We did not damage the piece, they want us to pay for something they damaged.

Bottom line, as described in my original complaint A Womans Touch owes me compensation for replacement of my badly damaged grill and the compound miter saw that was never delivered.  Pics of my grill were sent to AWT in August.

Revdex.com:
I have reviewed the offer and/or response made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted], and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.
[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]
Regards,
[redacted]

We were contracted to perform the moving service for the [redacted].  On the day of the move, we in fact did send a supervisor.  The supervisor made sure every piece of furniture was wrapped so as to not cause any damage. The piece in question (a large buffet/server) was already damaged prior...

to us moving it.  Before the movers touched the piece, they called Mr. Scott over and showed him the damage.  He proceeded to explain that it happened while they were trying to move the piece in and the neighbors were trying to help and caused the damage.  At some point, the wife came in and she was showed the damage and her response was the same as the husband's.  But low and behold, a several days later, they called the office to try to get repairs to the damaged piece.  As far as the movers that were there, they were all qualified movers and they bragged on them all throughout the move about how good they were and how hard they worked.  We did not damage the piece, they want us to pay for something they damaged.

Review: I schedule the move of my for May 29, 2016 with A Woman's Touch MOving Company. I spoke with Lisa, the office manager twice a bout my move as I was concerned it was over the Memorial Day Holiday. She assured me twice that this would not be a problem and that they moved people on Sundays and holidays. Two days prior to the move we spoke again and I was told everything was confirmed for 4 movers to be at my home at 0800. At 0830 on the morning of my move, one of the movers called to say they needed to reschedule my move because two of the movers "called out sick". I asked if the remaining movers could come as I was set to close on my home and needed to be out by May 30th. I was told no. I was also told to call the office and reschedule the move for the next day but the office was closed. The individual on the phone would not commit to actually moving me the next day. He was rude and yelled at me for being upset. He told me it was not his fault and he was just calling to notify me of the cancellation. On May 31 2016 I called the moving company about 20 times and left messages which were never returned. I finally was able to speak with the office manager on 06/01/2016 and she was less than apologetic about the cancellation. She actually told me that these things happen all the time! I asked if her supervisor or owner of the store could call me to discuss this terrible situation and she said yes. To date, I have not received any phone calls or letters from the moving company.Desired Settlement: I would like $500.00 ( $125/hr) to put towards the move that I had to do with my husband and myself . I was in jeopardy of not being able to close on my home as outlined in my contract due to A Woman's Touch Moving Company . I missed an entire day of work due to their incompetence as well.

Business

Response:

We did have her scheduled to move on May 29 and we had two employees to call in sick the morning of the move. The movers calling out sick had nothing to do with the holiday or the weekend. Our movers work seven days a week. The fact that it was the holiday may have contributed to the reason we were not able to find replacement movers for that day. The supervisor did offer to reschedule her for the following day and she said that would not work for her. When I finally spoke to Mrs. [redacted], I was very apologetic. I apologized many times, but she was not trying to hear it. As far as the refund that she is asking for, we did not have a signed contract to perform work, so there was no obligation on the company's behalf and so we are not responsible for reimbursement.

A Woman's Touch. She's a must to avoid. Two days before my mother's move, A Woman's Touch called and confirmed the date and time, 8:00 am, July 8. It was also confirmed that theu would send packers. Friday morning came, no one showed. After a reasonable wait, I called A Woman's Touch, and the woman who answered the phone said that it was a "misunderstanding", and that no packers were available. At about 10:00 a.m. , a mover from A Woman's Touch, showed up with a pink slip of paper in his hand, apparently from AWoman's Touch, directing him to not only move me but to pack what was left to be packed. He informed me-very rudely- that he was a mover not a packer" and that he would do no packing. I told him I would sue. He said he did not like to be threatened (I was not meaning that I would sue him personally) and he walked out. Nothing got moved that day. Had there been tenants due to move in the next day, I would have had to foot the bill to put their goods in storage and put them up in a hotel- a huge expense because of a "misunderstanding" and the arrogance of a mover who thought he was too good to pack boxes. This company needs to be sent packing !

Review: Prior to our recent move, I contacted A Woman's Touch Moving and spoke with someone who was later identified by the movers as the "boss". I described to her in detail the size of my apartment and all of the furniture and boxes we would need moved. She told me the move would take 3-4 hours and would cost $500-$600, assuming that we would move some of the boxes ourselves. On the day of the move, the movers showed up and took a look around the apartment and immediately told us that they would need to bring in an extra man and it would take approximately 9 hours to move only the furniture (no boxes at all) - for a cost nearly three times what we were quoted. When we pointed out the discrepancy with the quote we received, they simply said the "boss" was wrong and they couldn't help us. Because our lease was ending and we had no other options, we went forward with the move and ultimately paid much more than we were quoted (plus, we had to enlist the help of friends to move all of our boxes). We contacted the "boss" on Monday and she was unapologetic and would not offer any solution. Her excuse was that she only gave us a quote, and the price was not guaranteed. However, when you receive a quote - especially where you've provided detailed information about the services you're requesting - you don't expect the actual price to be double or triple the amount you were quoted. I feel that we were mislead about the price of the services, and then taken advantage of when we had no alternative options. Moreover, I'm incredibly disappointed with the customer service we received when we took this issue up with the management.Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of the amount we paid over the quoted price.

Business

Response:

We gave you an over the phone estimate based on the items you told us you had. When the movers arrived, there was substantially more furnishings than were revealed to us. The movers let you know at that time the actual amount of time that it would take. After the move, you told to the office that the movers did a great job. They worked hard and non stop and were rewarded with a tip. So that goes to show that you actually had more items than was revealed to us if it actually took them that amount of time . The signed contract actually states verbatim "A Woman's Touch Moving does not guarantee that actual charges will not exceed the estimated charges. Actual charges for packing, loading, transporting, and unloading are based upon time required to perform these services." I think with any mover you would have contracted, you would have acquired the same amount of hours or more. At no point did we try to "get" over or "misquote" you.

Consumer

Response:

I have reviewed the offer and/or response made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted], and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint. For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The business made no offer to resolve my complaint. Contrary to their statements in their response, I gave a detailed and complete description of all of the furniture and boxes that would need to be moved. Everything was "revealed" to person who received the information, and she simply gave an inaccurate quote. This attempt to pass blame for their own error is disappointing, but consistent with the poor customer service we received when we contacted the business directly. Further, the fact that the movers worked hard and were rewarded with a tip is a non sequitur. They worked with us - by agreeing to move only the larger furniture items as quickly as possible - to try to reduce the financial impact of their boss's mistake, and were rewarded for doing so. This does not change the fact that I provided all the information necessary to provide an accurate quote, was provided with a grossly underestimated quote, and had to pay nearly twice what I budgeted for this move. Finally, with respect to the contract that the business referenced in their response, we were required to sign it before the movers would perform any work and because our lease was ending, we had no option but to sign and go forward with the higher price of the move. Moreover, regardless of what their contract (which is not provided to customers until the day of the move) says, the fact remains that it is a bad business practice to provide customers with a quote and then expect them to pay two to three times what they were quoted. I am incredibly disappointed with this business and will discourage others from using their services.

Regards,

This is the second time using this company. They are very professional, caring, and reliable. Prompt, courteous service. I would definitely use A Woman's Touch Moving again.

Review: A Woman's Touch Moving stored items for me. I was to have the items paid for by January 31, 2013. My finances did not allow me to meet that time frame. I was in contact with compan by phone or e-mail. While I was beyond the agreed time to submit final payment, my items were auctioned the week of May 3, 2013 and I was notified of the auction on May 9, 2013. No mention of auctioning items in contract and no signed contract with company. There was never any mention of auctioning items without prior notice.Desired Settlement: Some information regarding person that purchased the items. My daughter had personal items in the storage unit that I do not want in the hands of strangers.

Business

Response:

[redacted]:

We were contracted to move Ms. [redacted]’s daughter’s storage unit on or about December 9, 2012. A

Woman’s Touch Moving dispatched an estimator to the storage facility in Hampton where Ms. [redacted]

had sent us the key in which we could access the storage facility. Before removing any items, we not

only got approval from Ms. [redacted] but from the storage facility managers who had spoken with Ms.

[redacted] earlier in the day.

Once we acquired the belongings, we told Ms. [redacted] that we would hold the items for her and she

would pay prior to January 31, 2013. We emailed Ms. [redacted] (see attached email of our

correspondence) on February 2, 2013 to remind her that we had not received payment and that she

would have to pay for the storage fee ($150/month) and if payment was not made within 30 days, the

items would go to auction. She did send a payment of $500, but had a total amount due (at that time) of

$1,250 in March. She responded to the email on April 7 and said she was having financial difficulties

and assured us we would receive payment by April 19th. We did not receive a payment nor did we

receive a phone call. So our only alternative was to auction because she was well past the time allotted.

The items were auctioned on May 7th.

Ms. [redacted] wants us to provide information on the person or persons who purchased her belongings

but we don’t keep records because it is a cash only auction and parties are not required to give personal

information.

Please see the attached email correspondence which verifies that Ms. [redacted] indeed gave us permission

to pick up the belongings from the storage and that she was informed of the 30 day policy before

auction.

Sincerely,

Consumer

Response:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted], and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint. For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

Horrible experience - movers showed up 3 hours late and one of the two movers had a nasty attitude like it was my fault they got behind on previous move - poor scheduling. Only worked 1 hour but still charged 2 hour rate. Called office 4 days this week to follow up and only get answer machine. Guess what- yet to get a call back.

Review: I contacted this moving company over a month prior to the physical move date. I sent the moving company a FULL inventory of all the items that they would be moving a full month prior to the move date. I communicated with the owner of the company about all the details of the move to make sure they are fully aware of all that needs to happen. The owner of the company explained that it will be NO Problem and that all of the movers they employ are PROFESSIONAL movers with MANY YEARS of experience, so they know how to take apart, reassemble, move large items etc.... The crew that was sent to perform my move were NOT PROFESSIONAL movers. One of the three was on his second of the job with the company with NO prior moving experience. This is an hourly service, so when you have new people that don't really know what they are doing it ends up costing the customer much more vs. using movers that actually know what they are doing requiring less time to move each item. I want to say that 2 of the 3 guys worked very hard to try to make the right things happen and they were put in a tough situation. at the end of the whole move there remains a lot of furniture at the old location that the movers simply just did not move (and did not even tell me that they decided for no good reason to leave the various items), could not move etc.... I still now have to go find and pay for other movers to come and take care of the remaining items. they did not hook up the refrigerator letting it fully defrost and creating a flood in the house etc... this was a very bad experience and I hope that this company is going to work to rectify this to be something appropriate and fair. Moving is a big stressful process all by itself. add in movers that cost a pretty penny, do not get the job anywhere close to being done. damage your furniture that you take your time to pick out good quality spend the extra money and they damage it on top of creating a bigger mess and expense. it is not right. this does not come close to explain the full list of problems, frustrations and issues with this moving service. I am very dissatisfied with the service received. if they work to resolve these issues I will happily write an update to this.Desired Settlement: I am moving from one house to another house. All I want is that everything in my original house be moved to the new house without damaging, breaking etc.... that is why I called the moving company to begin with. Anything that was damaged in the move and was caused by the movers I want to see the company step up and make things right. if you cannot finish the job and resolve all the necessary issues. I want to see a refund of some FAIR amount.

Business

Response:

The customer did in fact call us to provide moving service, which we did. He provided us with a list of items that needed to be moved (which I have attached). At no point in time did [redacted] say that he had exercise machine(s) that needed to be broken down. On the list, he states that he has the bed that needs to be broken down, but nothing else. The day prior to his move, he called the office and asked would the movers take apart the bed and reassemble and I told him yes they would. Still no mention of an exercise machine that needed to be broken down. Had he told us that in the beginning, we would have told him that he would be responsible for breaking it down or getting someone else to do it. Upon speaking with his wife after the move, she did mention that they had called other moving companies prior to booking with us and had inquired about the exercise machine and was told that the other movers would not do it or it would be extra if they did break it down.

On the day of the move which was a Saturday, we sent 3 movers (the one in question did have moving experience) to the job. Once they found out about the exercise machines, the lead mover did in fact call the office and explain that the customer had an exercise machine that needed to be disassembled prior to being moved and also a refrigerator that needed to be taken apart in order to get it out the door. The workers expressed the fact that they were not comfortable with moving the refrigerator out without the doors being removed for fear of damaging either the refrigerator or the walls. They expressed that [redacted] was not willing to have them take off the door. I called [redacted] and we discussed the situation and came up with what I thought was a resolution at that time. I told [redacted] that we had movers that were on their way from Maryland that would stop by and try to move the refrigerator and exercise machine. I explained that they were coming right by his residence and would do it at no extra cost to him. That was the resolution. After about an hour, the lead mover called me and told me that [redacted] had gotten some people he knew to move the refrigerator after we had discussed what we would do to resolve the issue. So the movers moved everything else and [redacted] mentioned nothing else about the exercise machines. When the movers were finished and were doing the bill, they were instructed to take $[redacted] off the bill.

At no point in time during or after the move were there discussions about damage to any furniture. I have talked to the husband and wife since then and this complaint was the first time there was mention of damage. I think A Woman's Touch Moving did nothing negligent in the move that we performed. We feel $[redacted] compensation is over and beyond what we should give the customer.

Review: We contacted a Woman's Touch Moving along with several other moving companies to get a quote to move us from our home in VA to our new home in NC. [redacted] Martin with a Woman's Touch Moving came to our home in VA and surveyed our property and things and then sent us a quote which would become a binding contract if we accepted and signed it. We signed the contract and chose their company. On the day of our move (Sunday, August 30th) the movers arrived at our home and could not get their truck up our driveway. They were also overwhelmed by the amount of things we had to move. [redacted] then called us on the phone and told us that our price (which plainly states that it would not go up in our contract) was going to go up a minimum of $800 due to the inconvenience and a potential additional $1500 if they needed another truck. She also let us know that they normally visit the home they are servicing the week before to evaluate the boxes and situation but they did not have time/manpower to do so for us. We were unhappy with this breach of contract and last minute change. We told her that we would pay because it was a Sunday and we had to move (there were no other options) but that we were going to file a complaint on them for changing the price in our contract. She then called us back to tell us that they were not going to move us at all since we threatened to file a complaint. I told her that I was pregnant and we had to move and had zero other options and they did not care. We then had to rent a UHAUL and move ourselves with the help of a few friends, family members, and strangers. We missed our walk through inspection on our home because of this unexpected work and have been sick and sore since. The fact that they raised the price against a binding contract at the last minute would have been reason enough to file a complaint but then leaving us completely stranded with zero effort at a resolution is unacceptable.Desired Settlement: To be honest I am not sure that they can resolve this situation. We can't place a value on what it did to us physically and emotionally. The owner of the company needs to be aware of what happened (if they aren't already) and how we were treated poorly and how they breached their contract. We had a choice in companies and we chose A Woman's Touch and they completely left us a high and dry to zero fault of our own.

Business

Response:

The business spoke with Revdex.com about this complaint. At the time of the estimate the job had not been fully packed and the business gave the estimate for the size of their packed items but told them to call them back once they finished packing to make sure it would fit in the truck estimated for the price of the job. No call was made at that time, and when the business got to the job they let the customer know that it could be more depending on the amount of items left. The customer became upset at that and after the exchanges were made the business decided to refuse the job and no money was taken from the customer.

Consumer

Response:

Attached is the written estimate and contract from A Woman’s Touch Moving company that was signed and returned. Please note the parts that are highlighted which clearly state that the price was binding and would not change. To further respond to their claim, I want to clarify several facts that they stated incorrectly. First, nowhere in our contract nor in any type of correspondence (phone, email, etc.) did they tell us to reach out to them a week prior to have them “re-access” our items/packing. In fact, we did not even know that this was a standard practice by the company until the actual moving day when Lisa told us that they normally send someone out the week before to access the situation but she had been on vacation and for whatever reason this failed to happen. We had almost considered going with another company anyways beforehand when we tried on multiple attempts to contact the company a couple of weeks out to verify that they were still moving us since we had heard nothing and we could not get a response. It took three attempts of reaching out from my husband to actually get a response from the company.We also would not have disputed an extra charge for a larger truck if in fact all of our things would not fit on the day of. Our largest dispute/frustration was that they were also trying to tack on an extra $800 fee on the day of moving because they could not get their truck up our driveway. They had already come to our house to evaluate the location and our things and provided us with a contract saying that the price would not change. We were upset when they were changing the price on us (against the contract) in the 11th hour when we had no other options and had to move that day. We told them we were unhappy but made no threatening or aggressive remarks other than the fact that we would pay because we had no other options but we intended to file a complaint. They took this in turn and left us high and dry on a Sunday, the day we had to move out. To make the situation worse we had no other options, we have a toddler, and I am pregnant. Upon gathering their things and leaving, the actual representatives from the moving company that were there that day apologized to us profusely telling us that Lisa and their office had really dropped the ball. If all of this is irrelevant, then the contract stating that the price would not change along with them completely leaving us high and dry on the day of the move should suffice to make the complaint stick. I have NEVER had any encounter such as this with a professional service business where they not only refused to do the right thing, then in turn refused to take ownership of their mistakes. It is completely unprofessional and unacceptable and future customers in Richmond have the right to know what they are potentially getting into by selecting them as their moving company.

Review: I hired A Woman's Touch Moving to move me from [redacted] to my current address (noted).

Summary of complaint: A Woman's Touch Moving, Inc. owes me for the cost of replacing my damaged grill, and replacement of my compound miter saw that was never delivered.

After several issues with the delivery of goods, the last items were unloaded at 11 P.M. on 8/19/15.

I brought the badly damaged grill to the lead person's attention, and he told me I would need to discuss that with "[redacted]". She is apparently the Manager and/or Owner.

I sent [redacted] an Email citing the extent of damage, along with pictures of the damage. She said she would reimburse if I let her know the cost of repair. I explained the grill is beyond repair. The grill was purchased in 2014, and was like new condition before the move. It's all stainless steel, and there were several creases and bends. The grill top will not close .

Three days after goods delivery, I was unable to locate my 12" compound miter saw. This was discovered when I was preparing to build a fence. I added this issue to the Email sent to [redacted], at A Woman's Touch.

I have not received any further acknowledgement from the Company regarding the grill and miter saw. I requested (almost daily) some type of answer on when I would receive reimbursement, if there were any forms I need to fill out, etc., Still no response. My last try was via Email on 8/31. I told her I would have to take next steps by close of business 9/1, if no response by then.

There are other issues with the move that could have contributed to the missing saw. If needed, I can elaborate on that part of it.Desired Settlement: The grill was bought new for $500 in 2014.

The miter saw was bought new for $379 in 2005 (minimally used).

I am asking for $750 reimbursement. This is what it would cost me to replace both items, now that grills are being placed on sale at retailers and the saw can be purchased for approximately $50 less than original cost.

Business

Response:

Revdex.com spoke with [redacted] from the business. She stated at the time of the move to storage not everything would fit in the storage unit. The business brought the remaining items back to Richmond. At that time A photo was taken of the items; the saw was not in that photo and was not removed from the storage unit by the business. The customer's took parts off of the grill at the time of the move, the movers did not need to remove any part to move it successfully. the business can provide the picture taken of the left over items if the customer would like another copy.

Consumer

Response:

I have reviewed the offer and/or response made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted], and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint. For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

Consumer

Response:

Bottom line, as described in my original complaint A Womans Touch owes me compensation for replacement of my badly damaged grill and the compound miter saw that was never delivered. Pics of my grill were sent to AWT in August.

Check fields!

Write a review of A Woman's Touch Moving Inc.

Satisfaction rating
 
 
 
 
 
Upload here Increase visibility and credibility of your review by adding a photo

A Woman's Touch Moving Inc. Rating

Overall satisfaction rating

Description: Movers

Address: PO Box 3235, Glen Allen, Virginia, United States, 23058

Phone:

Show more...

Add contact information for A Woman's Touch Moving Inc.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | New | Updated