Sign in

American Diamond Exchange, Inc.

Sharing is caring! Have something to share about American Diamond Exchange, Inc.? Use RevDex to write a review
Reviews American Diamond Exchange, Inc.

American Diamond Exchange, Inc. Reviews (5)

Revdex.com, Inc.
 
Complaint-case ID #[redacted]
 
0px; font-family: Helvetica;">Response from American Diamond Exchange, Inc.:
 
The following response has been prepared from factual information evidenced in the business
documents and notes that have been compiled pertaining to this matter. There are two
employees of American Diamond Exchange ([redacted]) that have had the most direct interaction
and communications with both Mr. [redacted] and his wife [redacted]; their names are [redacted]
and [redacted].
During the week prior to this past Christmas 2014, both [redacted] and [redacted] came into [redacted]
seeking to discuss designing a ring; [redacted] had two different large diamonds and several rings
with additional smaller diamonds that she considered including. [redacted] personally spoke to both
of them. Custom jewelry design has been an in-house specialty service offered by [redacted] for
more than 36 years, so after listening to their ideas and requests, [redacted] suggested that they
return after Christmas so they could meet with [redacted], a [redacted] and a custom design expert. It
was explained to them that [redacted] had several more custom jobs that had to be finished before
Christmas and it would benefit them to return after the holidays so [redacted] could spend what ever
time was needed to discuss a new design for them. [redacted] and [redacted] were shown many
finished jewelry pieces in the showcases that [redacted] had designed and hand made. They agreed
with enthusiasm to return after the holidays and left excited after the initial meeting.
 
On Saturday 4/11/15, both [redacted] and [redacted] returned with their items to meet with [redacted]
met with them both first and then briefed [redacted] on their requests and introduced them both to [redacted]
in our [redacted] Shop. After speaking with [redacted] and [redacted] in the shop, [redacted] took them both
out to the showroom to view some different semi-mount options. After getting an idea of
[redacted]'s personal taste, they returned to the shop and started a multi-hour design session.
[redacted] had a few different ideas, and eventually focused on having [redacted] redesign a wedding
band insert to include additional segments, and build one of her larger diamonds into the center.
The entire design was sketched out, all of the elements were decided upon and then priced out.
[redacted] asked many questions to make sure she fully understood what the final design would
look like. After spending considerable time on this design, she inquired about perhaps making a
simpler, spiral-type bypass ring. [redacted] sketched this design out as well, and it was mutually
agreed by [redacted], and [redacted] that this second design was not as nice as the first design
and would not provide the desired effect. [redacted] really liked the first design, and said he didn't feel
[redacted] would be happy with the second design; given his personal experience with custom
design and providing custom woodwork for people, she accepted his opinion.
 
At NO point during the design consultation did [redacted] say that she didn't like the design. At NO
point did [redacted] say she felt pressured into the decision. She did ask if she was taking too
much time to decide, and [redacted] assured her we would take all the time she needed. [redacted]
made her own decision, which was clearly evidenced by her multiple offerings of thanks to [redacted]
for taking so much time with them. [redacted] specifically said that, though she sometimes had
trouble trusting people, after having seen [redacted]'s work and dealing with her for two hours in the
design process, she trusted [redacted] in the fullest, and was confident in her abilities.
 
[redacted] states that her card was charged for the deposit, but it was in fact her husband's credit
card. This means, for [redacted]'s complaint to be true, [redacted] would have had to coerce both
[redacted] and [redacted]. This is patently untrue, as [redacted] repeatedly stated he liked the first design,
and freely offered to pay the deposit with his credit card.
 
On Monday 4/13/15, [redacted] called the shop to say that [redacted] was having second thoughts and
may want to use her diamond in one of our pre-made semi-mounts instead of the custom ring
that had been designed. The store policy is clearly written on the shop slip that [redacted] signed,
stating exactly "No refunds on custom orders or deposits." The policy is also clearly stated on
the bottom of the credit slip [redacted] signed, stating exactly "NO RETURN, CANCELLATION OR
EXCHANGE ON ALTERED OR CUSTOM ORDERED MERCHANDISE". [redacted] was told that
since we no not offer refunds, his full deposit would be rolled over to a store credit to be used
toward any goods or services offered by American Diamond Exchange. He accepted that and
said that since he was away on business, they would probably return to the store "next
Saturday". Later that same Monday, [redacted] came in alone to pick up the wedding band insert
she had left to be redesigned. She asked [redacted] about the deposit, at which point it was reiterated
that it would be rolled into a store credit. She thanked [redacted] for being so sweet and
understanding about [redacted] changing her mind, accepted the answer about the deposit, signed
the new store credit slip which again stated "NO REFUND", and went out into the showroom to
shop for a semi-mount. [redacted] passed through the showroom, [redacted] again asked her about the
deposit, and was again told that there are no refunds on custom orders OR deposits, and since
this was both a custom order AND a deposit, she would have to accept a store credit. After only
a few more minutes, [redacted] returned to the shop and, despite having had the store credit
explained to both her husband and her, multiple times, she again asked about the deposit.
[redacted] did offer to pay $100 to cover the hours spent on the consultation, but [redacted] explained
the store policy once more, stressing that because of [redacted]'s decision [redacted] had now lost two
hours by working with [redacted] and had been delayed on other custom jobs, and that her offer of
payment did not change the store policy of no refunds. At this point, [redacted] offered the excuse
that she had been overwhelmed on Saturday and was, in her own words, "spaced out" during
the design process. At NO point on Saturday did she state she was feeling overwhelmed or
spaced out. Had [redacted] or [redacted] felt that [redacted]'s decision making abilities were compromised,
they would not have spent the time with her that they did, and would have instead suggested
she return when she was better able to focus.
 
[redacted] and [redacted] were nothing but accommodating and helpful to [redacted] and her husband [redacted],
spending a tremendous amount of time and effort to ensure they were both happy with the final
design. In addition, [redacted]'s claim that she couldn't find anything on which to use their store
credit is absurd, considering [redacted] can custom make anything [redacted] would like. Her original
complaint states that no products or services had been received, which fails to take into
consideration the original consultation in December, or the two-hour design consultation in April.
It also ignores the 30 minutes spent with her that Monday afternoon, and the considerable time
that has been spent addressing her Revdex.com complaint.
 
[redacted] had left two other items for repair, one of which had already been completed. She opted
to pick up the completed item and the untouched item, and her store credit was updated to
reflect that the completed item was paid for out of the store credit.
 
The American Diamond Exchange is proud to have thousands of happy, satisfied customers
who, more often than not, refer their friends and relatives to us due to our superb service, the
quality of our product and our dedication to excellence.
 
Sincerely,
 
[redacted]
American Diamond Exchange, Inc.

5/18/15
Revdex.com, Inc.
 
Complaint-case ID #[redacted]
 
Response from American Diamond Exchange. Inc.
 
As previously stated in our first response on April 13, 2015, this
matter was mutually resolved when we issued a store credit to be used for goods
or services at American Diamond Exchange, Inc. Attached, once again, is a copy
of the store credit document that, after our refund policy was thoroughly
re-explained multiple times, was accepted, signed, and received by [redacted]
[redacted]. We have responded with accurate details to the complaint filed with
the Revdex.com on April 20, 2015.
 
Sincerely,
[redacted]
American Diamond Exchange, Inc.

Complaint: [redacted]
I am rejecting this response because:In response to Mr. [redacted]'s letter. When my wife, [redacted], originally spoke with Mr. [redacted] she offered to pay $200 for the goldsmith's 1.5 hours of consultation time with us. My wife and I are willing to pay $300 (which is $200 per hour) for her time. We feel this is more then fair. As for the $900 Mr. [redacted] is claiming to have incurred in expenses. I ask what is this for? It can't be for the time we spent with a sales clerk because that time is not chargeable, otherwise, I would be getting bills from every car and furniture salesmen in the tri-state area. As for the time before Christmas Mr. [redacted] referred to, we spent 10 minutes with him and none with the goldsmith. Therefore, unless Mr. [redacted] feels I have him on retainer as a lawyer the only time he can charge for is the [redacted] (which is questionable in itself) which we are willing to pay $300 for. Again we feel this offer is more then fair. If Mr. [redacted] wishes to give us an ultimatum with his current offer expiring on June 10, 2015 wherein lawyers will become involved. I say that is his prerogative and we will see him in court. However, I feel that our current is more then fair since no work was performed or any material purchased. I hope we can resolve this matter amicably.
Sincerely,
[redacted] And [redacted]

Revdex.com, Inc.
Complaint-case ID #[redacted] 
Response from American Diamond Exchange. Inc.
 
As of 6/3/15, our cumulative fees associated with this matter total
$900.00.  In an effort to resolve
this matter immediately without referring to attorneys, we are willing to issue
a partial refund in the amount of $673.41 and their existing store credit would
become void.  The total remaining
store credit issued on slip #78100 dated and signed on 4/13/15 is for $1,573.41.  We must also receive a release from the
[redacted]’s stating that this matter has been resolved.  If the above offer is not accepted, the [redacted]’s still have
the option to use the full amount of the store credit issued to them towards goods
or services at American Diamond Exchange, Inc.  The above offer for a refund in the amount of $673.41 will
expire on 6/10/15, or if any further time on our part is focused on this
matter.
Sincerely,
[redacted]
American Diamond Exchange, Inc.

Review: I went to have my diamond ring redesigned, was pushed into something I didn't like. I had given a substantial deposit. The [redacted] charged my card and never explained the no refund policy, prior to the charge. I did receive a store credit and tried very hard to find something to my liking and was unsuccessful. Spoke with the owner, offered to pay 150 for the goldsmith's time. He yelled he could not put a price on it and said there are no refunds.Desired Settlement: Refund to my Credit card

Business

Response:

Revdex.com, Inc.

Complaint-case ID #[redacted]

Response from American Diamond Exchange, Inc.:

The following response has been prepared from factual information evidenced in the business

documents and notes that have been compiled pertaining to this matter. There are two

employees of American Diamond Exchange ([redacted]) that have had the most direct interaction

and communications with both Mr. [redacted] and his wife [redacted]; their names are [redacted]

and [redacted].

During the week prior to this past Christmas 2014, both [redacted] and [redacted] came into [redacted]

seeking to discuss designing a ring; [redacted] had two different large diamonds and several rings

with additional smaller diamonds that she considered including. [redacted] personally spoke to both

of them. Custom jewelry design has been an in-house specialty service offered by [redacted] for

more than 36 years, so after listening to their ideas and requests, [redacted] suggested that they

return after Christmas so they could meet with [redacted], a [redacted] and a custom design expert. It

was explained to them that [redacted] had several more custom jobs that had to be finished before

Christmas and it would benefit them to return after the holidays so [redacted] could spend what ever

time was needed to discuss a new design for them. [redacted] and [redacted] were shown many

finished jewelry pieces in the showcases that [redacted] had designed and hand made. They agreed

with enthusiasm to return after the holidays and left excited after the initial meeting.

On Saturday 4/11/15, both [redacted] and [redacted] returned with their items to meet with [redacted]

met with them both first and then briefed [redacted] on their requests and introduced them both to [redacted]

in our [redacted] Shop. After speaking with [redacted] and [redacted] in the shop, [redacted] took them both

out to the showroom to view some different semi-mount options. After getting an idea of

[redacted]'s personal taste, they returned to the shop and started a multi-hour design session.

[redacted] had a few different ideas, and eventually focused on having [redacted] redesign a wedding

band insert to include additional segments, and build one of her larger diamonds into the center.

The entire design was sketched out, all of the elements were decided upon and then priced out.

[redacted] asked many questions to make sure she fully understood what the final design would

look like. After spending considerable time on this design, she inquired about perhaps making a

simpler, spiral-type bypass ring. [redacted] sketched this design out as well, and it was mutually

agreed by [redacted], and [redacted] that this second design was not as nice as the first design

and would not provide the desired effect. [redacted] really liked the first design, and said he didn't feel

[redacted] would be happy with the second design; given his personal experience with custom

design and providing custom woodwork for people, she accepted his opinion.

At NO point during the design consultation did [redacted] say that she didn't like the design. At NO

point did [redacted] say she felt pressured into the decision. She did ask if she was taking too

much time to decide, and [redacted] assured her we would take all the time she needed. [redacted]

made her own decision, which was clearly evidenced by her multiple offerings of thanks to [redacted]

for taking so much time with them. [redacted] specifically said that, though she sometimes had

trouble trusting people, after having seen [redacted]'s work and dealing with her for two hours in the

design process, she trusted [redacted] in the fullest, and was confident in her abilities.

[redacted] states that her card was charged for the deposit, but it was in fact her husband's credit

card. This means, for [redacted]'s complaint to be true, [redacted] would have had to coerce both

[redacted] and [redacted]. This is patently untrue, as [redacted] repeatedly stated he liked the first design,

and freely offered to pay the deposit with his credit card.

On Monday 4/13/15, [redacted] called the shop to say that [redacted] was having second thoughts and

may want to use her diamond in one of our pre-made semi-mounts instead of the custom ring

that had been designed. The store policy is clearly written on the shop slip that [redacted] signed,

stating exactly "No refunds on custom orders or deposits." The policy is also clearly stated on

the bottom of the credit slip [redacted] signed, stating exactly "NO RETURN, CANCELLATION OR

EXCHANGE ON ALTERED OR CUSTOM ORDERED MERCHANDISE". [redacted] was told that

since we no not offer refunds, his full deposit would be rolled over to a store credit to be used

toward any goods or services offered by American Diamond Exchange. He accepted that and

said that since he was away on business, they would probably return to the store "next

Saturday". Later that same Monday, [redacted] came in alone to pick up the wedding band insert

she had left to be redesigned. She asked [redacted] about the deposit, at which point it was reiterated

that it would be rolled into a store credit. She thanked [redacted] for being so sweet and

understanding about [redacted] changing her mind, accepted the answer about the deposit, signed

the new store credit slip which again stated "NO REFUND", and went out into the showroom to

shop for a semi-mount. [redacted] passed through the showroom, [redacted] again asked her about the

deposit, and was again told that there are no refunds on custom orders OR deposits, and since

this was both a custom order AND a deposit, she would have to accept a store credit. After only

a few more minutes, [redacted] returned to the shop and, despite having had the store credit

explained to both her husband and her, multiple times, she again asked about the deposit.

[redacted] did offer to pay $100 to cover the hours spent on the consultation, but [redacted] explained

the store policy once more, stressing that because of [redacted]'s decision [redacted] had now lost two

hours by working with [redacted] and had been delayed on other custom jobs, and that her offer of

payment did not change the store policy of no refunds. At this point, [redacted] offered the excuse

that she had been overwhelmed on Saturday and was, in her own words, "spaced out" during

the design process. At NO point on Saturday did she state she was feeling overwhelmed or

spaced out. Had [redacted] or [redacted] felt that [redacted]'s decision making abilities were compromised,

they would not have spent the time with her that they did, and would have instead suggested

she return when she was better able to focus.

[redacted] and [redacted] were nothing but accommodating and helpful to [redacted] and her husband [redacted],

spending a tremendous amount of time and effort to ensure they were both happy with the final

design. In addition, [redacted]'s claim that she couldn't find anything on which to use their store

credit is absurd, considering [redacted] can custom make anything [redacted] would like. Her original

complaint states that no products or services had been received, which fails to take into

consideration the original consultation in December, or the two-hour design consultation in April.

It also ignores the 30 minutes spent with her that Monday afternoon, and the considerable time

that has been spent addressing her Revdex.com complaint.

[redacted] had left two other items for repair, one of which had already been completed. She opted

to pick up the completed item and the untouched item, and her store credit was updated to

reflect that the completed item was paid for out of the store credit.

The American Diamond Exchange is proud to have thousands of happy, satisfied customers

who, more often than not, refer their friends and relatives to us due to our superb service, the

quality of our product and our dedication to excellence.

Sincerely,

[redacted]American Diamond Exchange, Inc.

Consumer

Response:

Unfortunately, I did not receive the email. And, while Mr. [redacted] response is lengthy and quite detailed. It is not exactly accurate. 1. My husband and myself were in the store before Christmas. I would not say it was a consultation, we were there for 15 minutes max, we were told to return after Christmas. 2. At the [redacted] we looked at some settings and were ushered into see the [redacted]. We did spend quite some time with her. She sketched a rough draft on a desk blotter. At the end of the consultation, I said, “I really wanted something spiral.” [redacted] then proceeded to insist her design was better and this is what was best. My husband thought so too, but I was unsure. As Mr. [redacted] stated, “I was spaced out and having a trying day.” 3. I did offer to pay for [redacted]’s time, when I suggest the sum of $100, he said, “her time was invaluable.” I then offered to pay up to $200 to compensate the Mr. [redacted]. 4. At no time was informed prior to payment that my deposit was non-refundable. It was on the receipt, which I received after the deposit was given. 5. My husband wants me to be happy and what is the point of buying someone else a ring, if they hate it. I do not consider the situation resolved! Please CC all correspondence to my work e-mail address. I will be logging a compliant with the Department of Consumer Protection, if I do not receive a refund. I am still willing to pay for the goldsmith’s time, in the amount of $200. Sincerely, [redacted]

Business

Response:

5/18/15

Check fields!

Write a review of American Diamond Exchange, Inc.

Satisfaction rating
 
 
 
 
 
Upload here Increase visibility and credibility of your review by adding a photo

American Diamond Exchange, Inc. Rating

Overall satisfaction rating

Description: Jewelers - Retail, Jewelry Stores (NAICS: 448310)

Address: 1280 Whalley Ave, New Haven, Connecticut, United States, 06515

Phone:

Show more...

Web:

This website was reported to be associated with American Diamond Exchange, Inc..



Add contact information for American Diamond Exchange, Inc.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | New | Updated