Sign in

American Water Resources

Sharing is caring! Have something to share about American Water Resources? Use RevDex to write a review

American Water Resources Reviews (11)

Feb 13, 2020

I had this plan for several years and finally discovered that they were about as close a scam as there was even though they were affiliated with my water company Pennsylvania American Water. I decided to cancel my plan and received a cancellation notice effective 12/17/2019. However, on my next water bill for services from 12/10/2019 to 1/8/2020, I was billed for the entire month. I contacted AWR after being on hold for almost 1/2 hour and explained that they over billed me and I would only pay for the 7 days prior to cancellation which I did. I was told they would get back to me about this, but never did.
I just received my next water bill and it showed a $13.99 past due payment with a threat they would disconnect my water service (which isn't legal under PA PUC regulations for non payment of protection program charges). After contacting the water company and going up the chain I was told they could do nothing about this and would need to contact AWR.
I contacted AWR and requested an escalation of my complaint which was answered by a Keith. After a go-around with him explaining my situation and that I was very irate, he reviewed my account and stated I should have received a refund which I never received (as well as no response from my previous month's call) such that I paid for 7 days causing the past due. Keith apologized for the billing error and said that he would have the $13.99 removed from my account. I will not include that in my water payment and see what happens next month. Unless he didn't do what he said he would I'm not dissatisfied with Keith, but am very dissatisfied with AWR and would not recommend this service to others, especially the elderly who might wish to have protection but don't know how to deal with an unscrupulous company like AWR with sells based on fear.
I will put aside the $20/month and call a reputable plumber instead of paying this outfit. I will also contact the BBB since AWR is not regulated by the PA Insurance Department even though they say they are selling protection (like insurance) to get around regulation which they really should have. This really seems like a scam to me.

Review: The evening of February 27th I was paying bills, and paid my PA America Water Bill. I owed $35.34 but mistakenly paid them $3587.00. I made the payment as an electronic payment through my checking account. I immediately called my bank, [redacted] at 9:00 the morning of 2/28/14 and was told that they could not do anything, but to call PA America Water and request that they reverse the payment.I called PA America Water at 9:15 on the morning of 2/28. The contact number I have is there customer service which is ###-###-####. I explained to them what had happened and they agreed that they would reverse the payment which takes about 48 hours. And to my understanding that reversing the payment meant that they would essential reject the payment and send it back to my bank. On March 3rd I noticed that the payment was processed and posted to my account so I called PA America again. They noted that they made an error and did not reverse the payment, but once it was posted Id be issued a check for the balance and it would take about 1 week.I called again on March 19th asking about the check. They told me 1 more week.I called again around March 27th and was told again 1 more week.I called again around April 3rd and was told that a check request and approval was never made to the collections department at PA America Water so no check has been issued and that they would make the request and that they did see in my account notes that it was supposed to be reversed and wasnt. It would be one more week.I called again on April 15th. The person I spoke with said that the last note in my account does not make any sense to her and she does not know what is going on, but it looked like a check was sent to me on March 31st. I noted that I have not received any form of payment and my statement shows a credit of $3,496.83. She then noted that she would email the collection department who was handling my account and that they would call me by the end of the day on April 15th, as they were not presently answering their phone. I did not receive any call.Im at a loss now on what to do. I cannot get past the general customer service number and talk to anyone else at the company to escalate it. I have a very large balance/credit that would take me 9 years to use and is ridiculous. I am also about to go out on maternity leave and without being refunded my balance/credit of $3,496.83 Im concerned that I will now have financial strain. I just want PA America Water to mail me a check in the amount of my credit; $3,496.83Desired Settlement: I would like to be sent a check for the balance/credit on my account which at this time is $3,496.83

Business

Response:

Review: 1. This company will not changed the name on my households account. When they bought out the last company they used old information and registered my wife's maiden name to the account. After changing it, they still bill to [redacted]. 2. The billing date keeps changing and getting closer to the first of the month. I called to change billing date because the bank and post office delays many bills from getting to the receivers within a week - even though I pay them on the 1st or 2nd. I am stuck with this monopoly for my water service and they are trying to capitalize on late payments. This due date jumping practice is illegal and immoral. I am going to stop paying them if they don't change my billing date to the 15th and keep it the same. In any other circumstance I would just leave the company; they have a trapped population of customers and are using illegal business practices to profiteer.Desired Settlement: Change the name on account to [redacted].Change bill due date to the 15th.

Business

Response:

Review: On or about Feb. 18, 2014 American Water was replacing water lines on my street. They dug a deep hole in my parking area and after finishing they filled the hole in with dirt. This dirt subsided close to a foot and a water access line was protruding 6-10 inches out of the ground. I was told they would return to fix my parking area along with the rest of the street. After over a month passed I noticed American Water was working at an intersection near my home and spoke with them. I was told they had a list of addresses that they were to come back to and not to worry. A few weeks passed so I called their 1-800 number and explained my situation and was informed no work order was placed and they would do it then. Again American Water was working in the area and responded within a few hours to the work order. They filled the hole with gravel and told me that it will subside and not to park on it. They also pushed the exposed water line down to ground level. I was told they would return in a few weeks after the gravel settled and add more gravel. It did subside 5-8 in. That was in early April. I have made 4 more calls to American Water since then which they have a record of. The first I was told a work order would be put in so I assumed it would be done quickly as the first time. The third call I was told an e-mail was sent to the New castle branch and another work order submitted and It will be taken care of or I will receive a courtesy call in 24 to 72 hours. Never received a call and repair still incomplete. Now my neighbor's parking spot has been repaired along with the rest of my street so I called a forth time. Was told that another e-mail was sent and a it will be taken care of or a call again. No repair or call. My final call was on Friday May 30th and I was told that another e-mail was sent to a supervisor marked URGENT and hopefully I should hear something that day. I did not hear back. I don't like filing complaints with the Revdex.com but it seems they reply to them. Thank YouDesired Settlement: All I want is for my parking spot to be able to be used. American Water needs to bring a load of gravel and finish what they began. If they just dump it on my parking area I will spread it! Their customer service employees were always concerned and tried to help explaining it should be finished and that they contract out these type of jobs. I understand this but it is still their responsibility. I have documented everything from the start with photographs if needed by the Revdex.com or American Water.

Business

Response:

Review: On 7/5/13 I paid my bill over the phone using my checking account number, which was repeated to me the numbers needed to withdraw from my checking. I received a confirmation of the amount of my water bill plus the charge of $1.80 for processing. Approx a week later I received a bill from Pennsylvania American Water of a bill stating I did not pay my bill and that their was an additional charges of $5.50 for a prior balance and a return check charge of $20.00 dollars. When I contacted PAW about the bill I received, because of the bill not being processed and the additional charges, I was told I did not put the numbers in right or the bank did not accept them. I told the person at PAW that the numbers were repeated back to me and they were the right numbers. When I told them I got a confirmation number I was told that they erase the information and could not access the conversation to check to see if I did it right. I refuse to pay the additional charges and will no longer use my checking or credit card number and will send money orders from now on. I am not paying the additional charges, I do not know where the prior balance came from for this charge was not on my previous bill. I do not think the company should erase the information for the reason above.Thank you for your prompt attention to this matter.[redacted]Desired Settlement: I do not want to pay the additional charges for I had paid the bill and do not feel I should have to pay because of their error in their system.

Business

Response:

July 31, 2013

Ref: Revdex.com #[redacted]

Dear Ms. [redacted],

I would like to thank you for your recent letter regarding a complaint you received from [redacted]. The company has investigated this complaint and found the following:

Company records indicate on 7/8/13 the company received a credit card payment of $42.46 that was paid via the company’s online payment website at water.paymybill.com. The company has no record of the customer discussing or verifying this payment with a Customer Service Representative. The payment was returned to the company on 7/11/13 due to "No account/Unable to locate account" and on 7/15/13 a returned payment charge of $20.00 was placed on the customer’s account.

The company notes the Public Utility Commission (PUC) approved company tariff rule 10.5 establishes the company’s right to charge the customer a returned check charge, and page 12C of the company’s tariff establishes that fee shall be $20.00.

Regarding other fees noted on the customer’s complaint to the Revdex.com, the customer was charged $1.80 by the company’s third party vendor who processes online payments, and that fee is not payable to the company nor can the company refund that fee. Regarding the $5.50 balance for Other charges, that is the returned portion of the payment that was applied toward the customer’s Water Line Protection Plan; a voluntary program that the customer has enrolled in which is administered through [redacted], Inc. and not Pennsylvania American Water; therefore, the customer should contact [redacted], Inc. at ###-###-####, option 2, to discuss those charges.

Finally, in the spirit of public relations, the company has credited the $20.00 returned payment charge from the customer’s account.

Please let me know if I can be of any additional assistance in this matter.

Sincerely,

American Water

Collection & Compliance Representative

Review: I received a letter in early October stating my water meter hasn't been working since August. I promptly called to have a technician come to my home and resolve the issue. The old meter broke through no fault of myself or my family. I received a bill every month since the meter was stopped being read and promptly paid. I received a bill in the mail today, 12/11/14, stating that I owed them $124.01 from service from 8/7 to 12/4. I get charged monthly, that is the water companies responsibility to read my meter monthly and inform me if they need to change faulty equipment. I'm not the one who decided not to check the meter for 4 or 5 months, or if the meter was being checked I certainly was not informed of the faulty equipment in a timely manner.Desired Settlement: I do not want to charged a calculation of services for that time period. That is the water companies responsibility to ensure their equipment is functional or that they or checking usage on a monthly basis, not my responsibility.

Business

Response:

Ref. Revdex.com #[redacted]Dear Ms. Edwards-Palmer,Thank you for your recent notice regarding a complaint filed by [redacted].Pennsylvania American Water has reviewed company records. Companyrecords indicate this customer’s water meter stopped working at sometime between 6/10/14 and 7/7/14. The bill issued on 7/8/14 was for 900gallons of usage (well below the average usage for this customer).Subsequent bills issued on 8/8/14, 9/9/14, 10/8/14, and 11/7/14 wereissued for zero usage and in the amount of $28.00 each ($15.00 for usualmonthly water service charges plus $13.00 for the Water and SewerProtection Plan administered by American Water Resources Inc.). Waterused by the customer during this time was not being billed.The company notes that investigations into zero usage begin after a thirdzero usage meter reading is obtained.On 10/8/14 and on 11/6/14 the company mailed the customer lettersrequesting access to the meter in order to inspect and change the meterdue to zero usage. The customer contacted the company on 11/11/14and scheduled a service order to change the meter. The meter waschanged on 11/12/14 and the customer was mailed a letter on 12/8/14 toadvise that they will be billed for the unused water based on one fullmonth of usage on the old meter plus one full month of usage on the newmeter, divided by the number of days, then the daily usage was multipliedby the number of days the old meter was stopped.The customer received a bill on 12/6/14 indicating the August throughOctober bills of $28.00 each had been canceled, and the Novemberbilling of $44.34 had also been canceled. Those amounts were re-billed at$39.51, $40.54, $39.51, and $36.45 respectively. The Water LineProtection Plan was also re-billed for $52.00; however, the 7/8/14 bill for900 gallons was not re-billedOn 12/11/14 the customer contacted the company and the billing wasreviewed with the customer. The customer stated he was refusing to paythe make-up charges as the company took too long to discover thestopped meter.In the spirit of public relations and in an attempt to resolve this dispute, Iattempted to contact the customer at ###-###-#### on 12/16/14 todiscuss a possible credit adjustment to the account. I left a voice mailmessage with my direct phone number. As of the close of business on12/19/14 I received no response from the customer.Pennsylvania American Water concludes the company feels stronglyPUC utility regulations Chapter 56.14 and Chapter 65.9 establish thecompany’s right to issue the make-up bill charges, and the currentoutstanding balance on the customer’s account in the amount of $124.01is correct as rendered. If the customer requires payment arrangements ontheir outstanding water charges the company recommends the customercontact the company to request a payment arrangement.Copies of the utility regulations, letters mailed to the customer, and theaffected bills are included with this report.Please let me know if I can be of any additional assistance in this mailer.Sincerely,American Water[redacted]T: ###-###-####F: ###-###-####F [redacted]

Consumer

Response:

Review: I OWN A RENTAL PROPERTY IN MT [redacted] BOROUGH, PITTSBURGH, PA. IN 2008 A TENANT, [redacted], MOVED IN AND PUT THE WATER AND SEWAGE IN HIS NAME. AT THAT TIME PAWC WAS UNDER CONTRACT WITH MT. [redacted] BOROUGH TO COLLECT THEIR SEWAGE. FROM 2008-2011 PAWC ALLOWED MY TENANT TO RUN UP THE SEWAGE BILL TO $4200.00. THEY TOLD HIM THAT HE ONLY HAD TO PAY THE WATER PORTION OF THE BILL EACH MONTH. THEY EVEN ADMITTED TO ME THAT THEY DO THIS. THEY TOLD ME THAT WHEN THEY GET A PAYMENT THEY TAKE THEIR PORTION FIRST AND IF THERE IS ANYTHING LEFT OVER THEY WILL APPLY IT TO THE SEWAGE BILL. IT IS ALSO EVIDENT THAT THEY TOLD HIM HE COULD DO THIS BECAUSE OVER THOSE 3 YEARS ONLY THE WATER PORTION WAS PAID AND NOT ONE PENNY TOWARD SEWAGE. IN 2011 PAWC FINALLY TURNED THE SEWAGE OVER FOR COLLECTION AND I WAS FINALLY NOTIFIED OF THE PROBLEM BECAUSE THE SEWAGE IS LIENABLE AND AS PROPERTY OWNER IT WAS NOW MY PROBLEM. IN THOSE 3 YEARS I WAS NEVER NOTIFIED THAT THERE WAS ANY DELINQUENT SEWAGE AND NEITHER WAS THE BOROUGH. WE SUBSEQUENTLY ENTERED INTO 2 DIFFERENT PAYMENT AGREEMENTS WITH THE COLLECTION COMPANY, [redacted] TAX SERVICE. BACK IN JUNE I FOUND OUT THAT THE $4200.00 IN SEWAGE HAD ACCUMULATED APPROXIMATELY $2500.00 IN ADDITIONAL CHARGES SUCH AS INTEREST, PENALTIES AND A SERVICING FEE FOR [redacted] TAX SERVICE. THAT MEANS IT WILL COST ME 7000.00 OR MORE BY THE TIME THIS IS PAID. I HAVE BEEN FIGHTING THE BOROUGH AND [redacted] TAX SINCE JUNE.A LIEN HAS BEEN PUT ON MY PROPERTY. I MET WITH THEM YESTERDAY AND ALSO FOUND OUT THAT PAWC ADDED INTEREST CHARGES TO THE PAST DUE OVER THOSE 3 YEARS. THAT MEANS THEY CHARGED ME INTEREST WITHOUT EVER NOTIFYING ME OF THE PROBLEM. THE ACCOUNT # IS 443317, THE TENANTS NAME IS [redacted] AND THE ADDRESS IS [redacted], PITTSBURGH, PA [redacted]. THEY NEVER SHUT THE WATER OFF THEY JUST LET HIM RUN UP A BILL TO $4200.00 THAT WOULD EVENTUALLY BECOME MY DEBT.THIS SITUATION IS VERY COMPLICATED BUT I HAVE DOCUMENTATION ON EVERYTHING AND IF SOMEONE CONTACTS ME I CAN EXPLAIN IN GREATER DETAIL.Desired Settlement: I WANT ALL INTEREST THAT WAS CHARGED THOSE 3 YEARS SENT TO [redacted] TAX TO BE APPLIED TO THE BILL. I WANT PAWC TO PAY THE INTEREST AND FEES CHARGED. THEY WERE BEING PAID BY MT. [redacted] BOROUGH TO COLLECT THEIR SEWAGE CHARGES AND THEY DID NOT SO THEY ALSO TOOK MONEY FROM THE BOROUGH FRAUDULENTLY. THE EXACT SAME THING HAPPENED ON ANOTHER PROPERTY THAT I OWN [redacted], PITTSBURGH, PA [redacted]. THAT HAS BEEN PAID IN FULL BUT I WANT THE FEES, INTEREST, ETC ON THAT REFUNDED TOO.

Business

Response:

Ref: Revdex.com #9740571?????Dear Ms. [redacted],?

I would like to thank you for your recent letter regarding a complaint you received from [redacted]. The company has investigated this complaint and found the following:

Company records indicate service at [redacted] Pittsburgh, PA was in the name of [redacted] from 11/14/08 to 8/23/12. During that time, Pennsylvania American Water billed customers in this customer’s service territory for water charges and for sewer charges on behalf of and per contractual agreement with Mt. [redacted] Sewer Authority. Public Utility Commission (PUC) regulations and the company’s contractual agreement with the Mt. [redacted] Sewer Authority establishes that payments received without written instructions which are insufficient to pay the balance due in full shall first be applied to the residential utility service. Pennsylvania American Water company records indicate that this customer has had a past due balance owed to the company for residential water utility service for the life of the account and that none of the customer’s payments were sufficient to pay the balance in full. The company also has no record of receiving written instructions from the customer to apply their payments in another manner. Therefore the payments, with the exception of two, were applied in full to the outstanding residential water utility service in accordance with PUC regulations and the company’s contractual agreement with the Mt. [redacted] Sewer Authority. It should be noted that the Commission is fully aware of the company’s payment matrix and the Commission approved the payment matrix on 11/7/07. A copy of the Secretary’s letter approving the payment matrix has been included with this letter. The company also notes that the only service provided on behalf of Mt. [redacted] Sewer Authority was for billing and not collections.

The outstanding balance of all charges billed on behalf of the Mt. [redacted] Sewer Authority were returned to the Authority upon the closing of this account. Pennsylvania American Water is unaware of the total balance owed to Mt. [redacted] Sewer Authority by Mr. [redacted], nor is it aware of any penalties assessed by the Authority. Throughout the life of the account, however, the company has assessed late payment charges regarding the water balance and the sewer balance. The company is also unaware of the Authority’s policies regarding delinquent accounts, such as if lien notices were sent or to whom the notice would be sent - the tenant at the property or the owner of the property.

In addition, as the account was in the name of [redacted], the company had no obligation to inform any third party not listed on the account of the status of the account. Mr. [redacted]’s account was subject to termination for non payment of water charges on several occasions, but payments sufficient to stop the termination were received or the customer blocked access to the shutoff valve with a vehicle and the service remained on.

The account at [redacted] St. as referenced in the complaint to the Revdex.com also falls under the same scenario described above regarding the billing for sewer charges on behalf of and per contractual agreement with the Mt. [redacted] Sewer Authority, and the application of payments toward the water charges before being applied toward the sewer Authority charges.

The company regrets it is unable to assist Ms. [redacted] in this matter.

Please let me know if I can be of any additional assistance in this matter.

Consumer

Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted], and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

10/3/13

RE: Complaint ID [redacted] concerning [redacted]. against PA American Water Company

Dear Ms. [redacted];

I have a few questions/comments concerning the response to my complaint from [redacted]:

Did PAWC's contract with Mt. [redacted] Borough include notifying the borough of accounts that were accumulating delinquent sewage charges? If so, what was the time period given for notification? Example-were they supposed to notify the borough within 30 days, 90 days, etc.

When, exactly, was the borough notified that this account was delinquent? The letter states that it was at the time of the closing of the account. I would like a date and proof that the borough was notified. I would also like the same for my property at [redacted] St.

I was told on 7/1/13 by a PAWC customer service representative that they tell customers to only pay the water portion of their bill and that will keep their water on. Please justify this.

The letter dated November 7, 2007 states that payments will be applied to water balance and then wastewater. It does not mention late fees and interest. In what sequence were these to be paid? Additionally, were late fees, interest, etc. charged on water only or water and sewage? I would like to see proof of whatever answer they come up with.

Mr. [redacted] states that Mr. [redacted]'s account was subject to termination but that Mr. [redacted] blocked access with a vehicle. The way this property is set up, it would be impossible to do so. I would like to know the dates that this supposedly happened.

Mr. [redacted] states that it was not their responsibility to notify a third party not listed on the account of the account status. I never asked or expected them to notify me only to do their job and notify the borough.

Mr. [redacted] states that PAWC is unaware of the total balance owed by Mr. [redacted]. How is this possible if PAWC was doing the billing? I would like the total of past due amounts owed by Mr. [redacted] that PAWC eventually turned over to Mt. [redacted] Borough including a breakdown of what the amounts were for. I would like the same for [redacted] St. Example-$4000 sewage, $500 late fees, etc.

In the order dated October 12, 2001 page 2 it states that water and wastewater will be billed on one billing statement but that the amounts for each will be separated. Was the past due sewage amount shown on Mr. [redacted]'s statement every month? Or when he did not pay it did it just disappear from the bill?

In the order dated October 12, 2001 page 6 it states that PAWC contends that by collaborating with municipalities on billing and collection that the municipality would avoid duplicate effort and extra expense. How is this true if PAWC billed for the sewage on behalf of the borough but did not make ANY attempt to see that sewage charges were paid? Doesn't this cause duplicate effort

and extra expense to the borough since now they have to hire someone else to collect their delinquent sewage?

In the order dated October 12, 2001 it states that customers of both PAWC and the municipalities will benefit from the convenience and cost savings of billing water and wastewater on one bill. How? How is one bill convenient if PAWC does not care if it gets paid? How is it saving anybody money if they just keep letting it add up and by the time the borough is notified interest and penalties are added on? If a respectable company had taken on this job I will bet that I would have found out that the sewage was past due a lot sooner than the three years it took PAWC to notify anyone. This debacle is costing me and other property owners thousands of dollars.

From Mr. [redacted]'s letter am I to believe that Mt. [redacted] borough contacted PAWC and knowingly entered into a contract that requests PAWC bill for sewage on their behalf but then don't bother to see that it gets paid? Don't bother to notify anyone that it is not being paid. Don't make any attempt to terminate the service because after all, PAWC is getting their share so who cares about the borough. And then Mt. [redacted] paid them for this service??

I have been informed by the borough that the same thing happened to many other property owners in the borough amounting to over $200,000.00 in un-collected delinquent sewage. It seems to me that this will likely cause "duplicate effort and expense". It also seems to be something that the PUC should be notified about.

I would like answers to all of these questions. I have enclosed a notarized statement from [redacted] giving me permission to discuss his account. Additionally he can be reached by phone at ###-###-####. If anything is needed from Mt. [redacted] Borough the president of borough council, Ms.[redacted], can be reached at ###-###-####.

Thank you for your help and I look forward to your response.

Sincerely,

[redacted]

Review: Missed payment of 87.03 in July. Due on 11Th. Not even given a 30 day grace period. Water was shut off without warning on August 5 Th. They claimed a letter was sent, but we never received. They have our correct email, but did not use. No where on the bill or web site does it state that you will lose service if you miss one payment. In fact there are no disclaimers about late payment with the exception of 1.5% penalty on unpaid portions of bill. Thankfully there are no children, elderly or sick people in the home!Desired Settlement: Better disclosure of the terms of payment. Company should be required to notify by phone and email to increase probability of customer receiving notification of plans to terminate a necessity such as running water.

Business

Response:

Review: I am writting you on behalf of my 84 year old, widowed fahter who lives alone, I pay all of his bills and maintain his home for him. In March of this year his monthly usage jumped from 550 gallons a month to 7100 galons a month. I called severaltimes on his behalf and spoke to [redacted] and [redacted] @ ###-###-####. They sent a person out to look at the meter who reported that there was nothing wrong with his meter and that he probably had a toilet running. I replyed that the two toilets in the home were replace by us personally at least 6 months ago. Basically they told us there was nothing they could do and they were going to shut off his water in 10 days and send him to collections.I paid his bill in full today and feel like we had no other recorse except to file a complaint with you.Desired Settlement: $147.00 and to make sure my Fathers credit report is not tarnished.He is retired and counts on evey penny he gets.

Business

Response:

Review: My wife and I have been without water in our home since Friday 1/31/14. We can called the water company a total of 9 times and there is still no resolve. After calling on the 31st, it wasn't until Monday 2/3 at 10:30 pm that a technician came to our home. After being there for 10 minutes he deduced the issue as being a frozen mainline between the house and the curb. He then said he would put in a call to have a truck come out to thaw the line. After hearing nothing for a day, I called back on 2/4 to find out that the technician never actually put the call through (at least to the call center work's records) and she had to put in the service call. Again, after hearing nothing I called again on 2/6 on was told that we were scheduled to have it fixed on 2/5 and nothing actually happened. I was then told a local supervisor was contacted and that I would be contacted immediately. I got this same answer (2) more times that day with no phone call from anyone. I got the same response when I called again this morning (2/7) and so far no response. They have constantly told me they are back logged and short staffed but at some point in a weeks period one would think they could get someone to our home. A local supervisor also told one of the call center workers that "there was a customer without water for 15 days who they just reached". There is clearly something wrong here. My wife and I have been living in a hotel the last three nights and don't have the ability to do so any longer.Desired Settlement: This just needs to be fixed. I understand that this has been a tough winter but leaving someone without water for a week, even TWO, is just completely unacceptable. Be them short staffed or back logged, there's some serious negligence happening with repair work at this company.

Business

Response:

Dear Ms. [redacted],

Thank you for your recent notice regarding a complaint filed by [redacted]. Pennsylvania American Water has reviewed company records. Company records indicate the customer has contacted the company several times, beginning 1/31/14, to state that they had no water and that their neighbors had water. The customer was informed of the likelihood of a frozen meter or frozen service line, and a total of 3 service orders were issued to investigate.

On 2/3/14 a company Field Service Representative visited the premise, verified that there was no water service to the premise and forwarded the order to the company’s local Distribution crew. The customer was advised the line from the water main to the customer-owned line was frozen. On 2/5/14, a service order was issued but a company representative was unable to work the order. On 2/7/14, a service order was issued but a company representative was unable to work the order.

Pennsylvania American Water has experienced several frozen water lines during the recent extremely cold weather. According to company records, the company side of the service line at the customer’s premise was frozen. The company thawed the line and restored the customer’s service on 2/7/14. The company apologizes for the inconvenience to the customer.

Sincerely,

Collections and Compliance Representative

Consumer

Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted], and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Review: In August 2014 I notified American Water that My wife and I would be moving to Georgia at the end of August. At the time I gave them an address of [redacted]. Unfortunately we were unable to get this unit and moved into [redacted]. Upon arriving in Georgia we forgot to call American Water and notify them of our new address but did call them at the first of October 2014. I called them to update them with our new address ([redacted]) and they informed me that the refund that was due us had not been mailed. They also informed me at the refund would have to be approved by 4 different departments and that this process would take up to 2 weeks. After the two weeks and upon approval the check would be mailed to us. At the end of October I called them again and they informed me that the check had been mailed. Unknown to me they mailed the check to [redacted], the incorrect address. I didn't questions where they mailed the check to because they had the correct address ([redacted]). In November I called them each week to find out the status and the second week I called they told me that the check had been returned. That's when I found out they mailed it to the incorrect address. Since then I have continued to call once a week and was told that it was in the process of being approve. In the last week of November, I called them to speak with a supervisor and was told that she would call me back. I have never heard back from them nor have I received my refund from them in the amount of $380.75. Last week I called them, December 4th, and they informed me that the check was mailed on November 14th and that I should receive it within 14 days. Which mean we should of already had the check and we didn't. Today, December 10, my daughter called and they informed her that the check had been generated today and had to go to another department for approval. I feel that I have been lied and want this matter resolved.Desired Settlement: I just want what is owed to me for having my service disconnected. Total amount due is $380.75.

Business

Response:

Ref: Revdex.com #[redacted]Dear Ms. [redacted],Thank you for your recent notice regarding a complaint filed by [redacted].American Water has reviewed company records and found that therefund check in the amount of $380.75 was mailed twice to the customer,but was never received by the customer and never cashed. As I receivedthis complaint on 12/22/14, I contacted the customer to verify they stillhad not received the check. The customer indicated they had notreceived the check. I have contacted the company’s Shared ServicesCenter regarding verifying the customer’s new address and to inquireabout a new check being re-issued to the customer.On 12/23/14 I was advised that another check would be issued andmailed via Certified Mail to the customer. I contacted the customer toinform them that they will receive the check via Certified Mail and upontheir signing for the leitter, they will also be informing the company of itsreceipt. The customer was satisfied with this resolution.Finally, the company notes this customer’s current address is [redacted] and not Pittsburgh, PA.Please let me know if I can be of any additional assistance in this mailer.

Check fields!

Write a review of American Water Resources

Satisfaction rating
 
 
 
 
 
Upload here Increase visibility and credibility of your review by adding a photo

American Water Resources Rating

Overall satisfaction rating

Description: WATER COMPANIES-UTILITY, PIPE LINE COMPANIES

Address: Private, Sacramento, California, United States, 95814

Phone:

+1 (866) 430-0819
+1 (866) 430-0819
+1 (618) 433-4614
+1 (856) 346-8200
+1 (866) 273-4080
Show more...

Website:

www.amwaterresources.com


Add contact information for American Water Resources

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | New | Updated