Sign in

Astride A Starship

Sharing is caring! Have something to share about Astride A Starship? Use RevDex to write a review
Reviews Astride A Starship

Astride A Starship Reviews (15)

The owner of this property is very condescending, rude and unprofessional Her manner in speaking is very disrespectiful and careless In my years of working in the business community I've incountered few individuals with such complete disregard for another persons feelings Along with sharing this review with your organization I intend to continue informing others of my experience with regard to the pompous and unfair treatment I received from the owner of the Barker House

• Dec 20, 2019

Complaint: [redacted] I am rejecting this response because: Most all she stated is inaccurate or outright false The lease she has, is not even legal in the state of Colorado law Colorado law stands higher in small claims court than a homemade lease She doesn't even have the correct dates I lived there I was in the hospital The fact that they tossed my property, vsstoring it, while I was in the hospital is totally wrong to me I had new glasses too! They say they had no way to contact me....what about the references or emergency contacts on the aptapplication?! I was in no shape to make calls I went straight from the hospital to an assisted living I lived in that awful studio for a very short time....less than a month I believe it is wrong to handle things this way, and not show any goodwill towards my medical situation....not to mention all the things that went wrong in the time I was there I not only reject this, but intend to go to small claims if they do not offer some form of restitution I have the help of a social worker and case manager here and legal aid too At the very least I will accept my deposit back and take the loss of all my property...much of which was new and expensive...given to me by my elderly mother Regards, [redacted] ***

• Dec 03, 2019

Complaint: [redacted] I am rejecting this response because: everything in the business owners response was lies, rent always was paid on time, or early, I followed the rules, we followed the rules, there was one note posted on my door, whish was lies, the woman upstairs, put the complaint in, [redacted] , she is the eyes and ears person, but she is distorting the truth, I asked the neighbor next door, [redacted] if she could cut down o the chemicals, using to clean, the subject was dropped, she apologized a week later for using them, I never yelled, or cussed any tenant, which was put into the letter, I confronted [redacted] in front of donna h [redacted] the manager why did you lie, she never said a word back, donna heard the whole thing, when we first moved in [redacted] was sweet as pie, offered to take me to post office, and food bank, this went on for a couple of weeks, then all of a sudden she treated me like I was a disease, then months later she was all nice again, after slamming the door in my face, I met the owner months after we moved in , all nicey nicey, then recently [redacted] took me and ***, the lady in cottage to food bank, and post office, all fine, then a week later I asked [redacted] if she could take me to post office, she said no, and shut door in my face, during all this [redacted] went behind my back, and looked up my ancestry, using several programs, that look up social security numbers, family ancestry, family present, all information, she did not ask my permission, and I had no knowledge of it, she also has a stack of other peoples records, she also has other copies of mine, that she is keeping, my stove went out, two weeks ago, the maintence men, said we cannot guarantee a new stove, they brought over a small one, which is fine, the place also had mice, which we had to go out and buy traps, also the outdoor signs, say clearly no guest parking, other tenants block spaces, nothing is done, several people on several occasions, has stayed nights in a upstairs tenants apt, again against the rules, I also helped [redacted] several times yard work, she piles dry branches and leaves, along the side of parking, which is a fire hazard, the driveway parking is in very bad shape, yet all the time we have lived there, I never complained, when the owner came in august she was talking down to me and trying to get me to admit to something I dint not do, I pick up my dos mess, as for other dogs mess, people was parking the the lot above, and letting their dogs mess, why should I pick it up, which I had in past and got tired of it, this was told to donna, maintence men, [redacted] and owner, the owner just gave me a weird look, like well do it, pick of other dogs mess, not fair, we are quiet, and don't cause trouble, people in the summer, in parking lot had loud music and was yelling, yet I obliviously got blamed, the people in ***, often argued or talked loud, [redacted] obliviously assumed it was me, I had mentioned to donna h***, when we moved in , if a bigger apt comes available, please let us know, she did not, I had asked about because the girl told me she was moving, and she can tell you, I was a good tenant, [redacted] ***, also the people in [redacted] knew I never caused trouble, everyone treats me good except [redacted] in [redacted] and [redacted] in the cottage, its hi and nothing not nice, I think [redacted] and [redacted] have some sort of grievance and they are twisting the owners mind, see the owner takes [redacted] to lunch when she is down from fort Collins, I mind my business, I don't argue with the tenants, so for the owner to say I am not suited for a renewal of lease, is wrong, Regards, [redacted]

To whom it may concern,
Astride A Starship LLC proudly provides units of well governed low income all inclusive housing in El Paso County (including all utilities, WIFI, DirecTV) and onsite management for $ per month in Ms ***’s apartment in the historic *** House,
downtown Manitou Springs.
We will be investigating the “Ms***’s” allegations which appear specious, as she defaulted on multiple lease provisions, including nonpayment of rent, before abandoning the property without noticeWe will detail a written response by April 10, 2014.
Thank you for your service to the community,
Donna Howard
Office manager
“every soul an equal soul”
Astride A Starship LLC

Complaint: ***
I am rejecting this response because:
I will wait to see what they have to say in April. But they defaulted on their part of the lease....before I took any actions. My actions accomplished nothing, so I was forced to leave for my own safety and sanity
Regards,
*** ***

Complaint: [redacted]
I am rejecting this response because:
Regards,
[redacted] this is untrue, I have only put in one co,mplaint to Revdex.com,  I AM NOT HARASSING ANYONE, THE OWNER ASTRIDE STARSHIP,CAN KEEP OUR DEPOSITOF $650.00 AND pET DEPOSIT,FOR DECMEBERS RENTI HAVE NOT COMPLAINED OR HARASSED ANYONE, OTHER THEN PU IN ONE COMPLAINT AND THAT IS ALL,

Complaint: [redacted]
I am rejecting this response because: everything in the business owners response was lies, rent always was paid on time, or early, I followed the rules, we followed the rules, there was one note posted on my door, whish was lies, the woman upstairs, put the complaint in, [redacted]...

[redacted], she is the eyes and ears person, but she is distorting the truth, I asked the neighbor next door, [redacted] if she could cut down o the chemicals, using to clean, the subject was dropped, she apologized a week later for using them, I never yelled, or cussed any tenant, which was put into the letter, I confronted [redacted] in front of donna h[redacted] the manager why did you lie, she never said a word back, donna heard the whole thing, when we first moved in [redacted] was sweet as pie, offered to take me to post office, and food bank, this went on for a couple of weeks, then all of a sudden she treated me like I was a disease, then 3 months later she was all nice again, after slamming the door in my face, I met the owner 2 months after we moved in , all nicey nicey, then recently [redacted] took me and [redacted], the lady in cottage to food bank, and post office, . all fine, then a week later I asked [redacted] if she could take me to post office, she said no, and shut door in my face, during all this [redacted] went behind my back, and looked up my ancestry, using several programs, that look up social security numbers, family ancestry, family present, all information, she did not ask my permission, and I had no knowledge of it, she also has a stack of other peoples records, she also has other copies of mine, that she is keeping, my stove went out, two weeks ago, the maintence men, said we cannot guarantee a new stove, they brought over a small one, which is fine, the place also had mice, which we had to go out and buy traps, also the outdoor signs, say clearly no guest parking, other tenants block spaces, nothing is done, several people on several occasions, has stayed 3 nights in a upstairs tenants apt, again against the rules, . I also helped [redacted] several times yard work, she piles dry branches and leaves, along the side of parking, which is a fire hazard, the driveway parking is in very bad shape, yet all the time we have lived there, I never complained, when the owner came in august she was talking down to me and trying to get me to admit to something I dint not do, I pick up my dos mess, as for other dogs mess, people was parking the the lot above, and letting their dogs mess, why should I pick it up, which I had in past and got tired of it, this was told to donna, maintence men, [redacted] and owner, the owner just gave me a weird look, like well do it, pick of other dogs mess, not fair,we are quiet, and don't cause trouble, people in the summer, in parking lot had loud music and was yelling, yet I obliviously got blamed, the people in [redacted], often argued or talked loud, [redacted] obliviously assumed it was me, I had mentioned to donna h[redacted], when we moved in , if a bigger apt comes available, please let us know, she did not, I had asked about 102 because the girl told me she was moving, and she can tell you, I was a good tenant, [redacted], also the people in [redacted] knew I never caused trouble, everyone treats me good except [redacted] in [redacted] and [redacted] in the cottage, its hi and nothing not nice, I think [redacted] and [redacted] have some sort of grievance and they are twisting the owners mind, see the owner takes [redacted] to lunch when she is down from fort Collins, .I mind my business, I don't argue with the tenants, so for the owner to say I am not suited for a renewal of lease, is wrong,
Regards,
[redacted]

Complaint: [redacted]
I am rejecting this response because: everything in the business owners response was lies, rent always was paid on time, or early, I followed the rules, we followed the rules, there was one note posted on my door, whish was lies, the woman upstairs, put the...

complaint in, [redacted], she is the eyes and ears person, but she is distorting the truth, I asked the neighbor next door, [redacted] if she could cut down o the chemicals, using to clean, the subject was dropped, she apologized a week later for using them, I never yelled, or cussed any tenant, which was put into the letter, I confronted [redacted] in front of donna h[redacted] the manager why did you lie, she never said a word back, donna heard the whole thing, when we first moved in [redacted] was sweet as pie, offered to take me to post office, and food bank, this went on for a couple of weeks, then all of a sudden she treated me like I was a disease, then 3 months later she was all nice again, after slamming the door in my face, I met the owner 2 months after we moved in , all nicey nicey, then recently [redacted] took me and [redacted], the lady in cottage to food bank, and post office, . all fine, then a week later I asked [redacted] if she could take me to post office, she said no, and shut door in my face, during all this [redacted] went behind my back, and looked up my ancestry, using several programs, that look up social security numbers, family ancestry, family present, all information, she did not ask my permission, and I had no knowledge of it, she also has a stack of other peoples records, she also has other copies of mine, that she is keeping, my stove went out, two weeks ago, the maintence men, said we cannot guarantee a new stove, they brought over a small one, which is fine, the place also had mice, which we had to go out and buy traps, also the outdoor signs, say clearly no guest parking, other tenants block spaces, nothing is done, several people on several occasions, has stayed 3 nights in a upstairs tenants apt, again against the rules, . I also helped [redacted] several times yard work, she piles dry branches and leaves, along the side of parking, which is a fire hazard, the driveway parking is in very bad shape, yet all the time we have lived there, I never complained, when the owner came in august she was talking down to me and trying to get me to admit to something I dint not do, I pick up my dos mess, as for other dogs mess, people was parking the the lot above, and letting their dogs mess, why should I pick it up, which I had in past and got tired of it, this was told to donna, maintence men, [redacted] and owner, the owner just gave me a weird look, like well do it, pick of other dogs mess, not fair,
we are quiet, and don't cause trouble, people in the summer, in parking lot had loud music and was yelling, yet I obliviously got blamed, the people in [redacted], often argued or talked loud, [redacted] obliviously assumed it was me, I had mentioned to donna h[redacted], when we moved in , if a bigger apt comes available, please let us know, she did not, I had asked about 102 because the girl told me she was moving, and she can tell you, I was a good tenant, [redacted], also the people in [redacted] knew I never caused trouble, everyone treats me good except [redacted] in [redacted] and [redacted] in the cottage, its hi and nothing not nice, I think [redacted] and [redacted] have some sort of grievance and they are twisting the owners mind, see the owner takes [redacted] to lunch when she is down from fort Collins, .
I mind my business, I don't argue with the tenants, so for the owner to say I am not suited for a renewal of lease, is wrong,
Regards,
[redacted]

The owner of this property is very condescending, rude and unprofessional. Her manner in speaking is very disrespectiful and careless.

In my 30 years of working in the business community I've incountered few individuals with such complete disregard for another persons feelings.

Along with sharing this review with your organization I intend to continue informing others of my experience with regard to the pompous and unfair treatment I received from the owner of the Barker House.

12/8/15Good Morning [redacted],Please red flag this complainant, **, whose file has been
sent to our Attorney [redacted], Colorado Springs, for slander and harassment: Thank you for taking me call 12/3/15.  This complainant
"**” has used 4-5 names in three volleys of emails after she was informed
of her non-renewal. Her lease ends 1/31/16. She, a current resident in bad
standing, of [redacted], Manitou Springs, CO perused us to move to the
unit next door, then when denied, has to date initiated three (criminal)
volleys of e-mails: using 4 to 5 fictitious names:           
A.  4 emails from the same round  about 11/24/15 to the Revdex.com from the
same originating email address [redacted],  Here ** includes/uses 4 current and former
residents of our apartment complex without their knowledge or permission. (Including
[redacted] and [redacted] as complainants who she vehemently complains about…)           
B. 5 to the Manitou Springs Chamber of commerce using 4 current and former
residents and of our apartment complex without their knowledge or permission.
** has now created false emails      from these residents
(including [redacted] and [redacted] as complainants who she complains about…)           
C.  Multiple crude postings to the internet. AstridOwner Astride A Starship LLC[redacted]

11/30/15            Astrid A Starship denies any wrongdoing regarding the 6+ complaints made by Mrs. [redacted] starting about 11/24/15.  We believe that her complaints are without merit.  Thank you for allowing us to rebut her complaints.  Mrs. [redacted] is a current (apparently disgruntled) tenant of ours in Manitou Springs on a residential lease.  We note that several of her recent complaints have been filed under different names—but using the same email address.  We do not know how many unfounded complaints she has also made via “anonymous” web sites, but the similarity in wording is beyond coincidental.  Clearly her intention is to harass our company and staff in an effort to prosecute her complaints outside of the arrangements available in her lease and through Colorado Tenant/Landlord law.  We have referred this matter to our Company attorneys who will be in touch with Mrs. [redacted] soon.In addition to her complaints, our Office Manager has received several phone calls (starting on 11/13/15 and running at least through 11/24/15) from Mrs. [redacted] demanding that she and her husband be allowed to transfer to a different apartment in the same building.  Even though we told her that the transfer (to the apartment next door to her current apartment) is not approved, she persists in demanding it.  Additionally, she has asked our Office manager several times for details about other tenants moving in and out of our other apartments, information we do not share with our residents.  But still, Mrs. [redacted] continues to harass other Company personnel and residents about the occupancy status of apartments.The relationship between the Company and each of our residents, including Mrs. [redacted], is completely governed by a written lease.  Our lease form has been used for many years and has been reviewed and approved by attorneys for both the Company and various other tenants.  The lease provides fair and exact terms regarding residency, renewal, payment of rent, return of security departments, etc.  It also provides means of making required lease notices.  To date, Mrs. [redacted] has not followed the lease notice requirements at all.The barrage of harassments and complaints that have emanated from Mrs. [redacted] to company staff and residents immediately followed us leasing nearby apartments that she wanted to other parties.  In answer to Mrs. [redacted]’s “settlement demand,” there is no Colorado statue that states a landlord must provide a reason for non-renewal of a lease at expiration.  Equally, the resident would not have to give the Landlord a reason for not renewing her lease.  As for the security deposit that she has demanded be returned immediately, this will be handled as regular business according to the lease.  The lease requires us to return the applicable portion of a resident’s security deposit within 60 days of vacancy with the unit properly cleaned.We cannot provide details of Mrs. [redacted]’s tenancy records.  However, we can summarize that she was far from an ideal resident for us or her neighbors.  She was given formal sanctions (under the lease) for several behavioral issues during her stay with us.Astride A Starship takes pride in attending to the welfare of our residents.  We provide safe, sound, and quiet housing for 56 rental units in Manitou Springs, and many more throughout the state.  We treat our residents fairly.If I can provide any further documentation regarding this tenant's behaviors, please let me know.Best Regards,AstridOwnerAstride A Starship, LLC

Complaint: [redacted]
I am rejecting this response because:
Most all she stated is inaccurate or outright false.
The lease she has, is not even legal in the state of Colorado law.  Colorado law stands higher in small claims court than a homemade lease.
She doesn't even have the correct dates I lived there.  I was in the hospital.  The fact that they tossed my property, vs. storing it, while I was in the hospital is totally wrong to me.  I had new glasses too!
They say they had no way to contact me....what about the references or emergency contacts on the apt. application?!  I was in no shape to make calls.
I went straight from the hospital to an assisted living.  I lived in that awful studio for a very short time....less than a month.  I believe it is wrong to handle things this way, and not show any goodwill towards my medical situation....not to mention all the things that went wrong in the time I was there.
I not only reject this, but intend to go to small claims if they do not offer some form of restitution.  I have the help of a social worker and case manager here and legal aid too.  At the very least I will accept my deposit back and take the loss of all my property...much of which was new and expensive...given to me by my elderly mother. 
Regards,
[redacted]

Attached are Letter of default,SDR letter sent to [redacted] & tenant ledger regarding complaint #[redacted]
Donna Howard
Office Manager
Astride A Starship LLC
"Every Soul an Equal Soul"
714 Remington St #11
Ft Collins, Co 80524
###-###-####
April 10, 2014
Dear Revdex.com:
The complainant, [redacted], defaulted on the terms of her lease dated Nov 6th
details:
• Ms. [redacted] moved in on 11/2/13 and moved out 12/4/13. 
• Astride A Starship LLC sent her Security Deposit Letter on Dec 20th 2013 to her last known 
address of 819 Manitou Ave #409. 
• Ms. [redacted] did not put in a Tenant Vacate Notice & gave no forwarding address. 
• Ms [redacted] left without notice or paying rent for Dec 2013. 
• AAS applied her Deposit of $575.00 to the balance of Dec’s rent & late fees {see attached letter} 
and per paragraphs, (C) a second month’s rent was due for defaulting and (D) security deposit is 
forfeited. 
• Because Ms. [redacted] did not provide a forwarding address, AAS felt we would never receive the 
money owed to us. Ms. [redacted]’s account was therefore zeroed out {even though she owes us 
$102.00 plus one months’ rent} without prejudice. This $102 plus one month’s rent is clearly 
not a debt worth chasing.
 
In Ms [redacted]’s complaint she stated three concerns. AAS staff has looked through Ms. [redacted]’s 
residential file and no written notices were on file. 
1. Ms. [redacted]’s belongings: When it was discovered that Ms [redacted] had abandoned the premises, 
we followed the para 39 of our lease with Ms. [redacted], which states “Resident authorizes 
Landlord to dispose of abandoned property at Resident’s risk and expense. We disposed of the 
items in the month of Jan 2014.
2. No heat issue: AAS posted a 24hr notice to enter Ms. [redacted]’s apartment on 11/12/13 regarding 
her heat complaint. This complaint was not in writing (per lease all communications should be 
in writing to protect both the resident and the company). On 11/13/13 our maintenance staff 
attended to her request and by placing a permanent heater between the windows. Both the 
current resident and former resident prior to Ms. [redacted] have had no concerns either verbal or 
in writing regarding the heat in the unit. 
3. Odors of smoke & exhaust from the restaurant located on the NE side of the building & 
the cigarette smoke in the building: AAS address’s all complaints and gives a demand for 
compliance to any resident not following the house rules. The apartment #[redacted] which Ms. 
[redacted] occupied for the month of Nov 2013 is located on the opposite SW side of the building 
from PJs Restaurant which is on the NE side of the building. We have several residents whose 
apartments are located directly above the restaurant and we have received no complaints 
regarding the exhaust.
Astride A Starship prides itself in assisting over 125 Colorado residents with incomes of under $1000 
per month to find safe, sound and secure housing. We appreciate that valuable service the Revdex.com 
provides both for the community as well as for our businesses. Thank you for your assistance in 
clearing this matter. Please do not hesitate to contact me if you are in need of any further assistance or 
documentation regarding [redacted]’s default. 
Sincerely,
Donna Howard
Office Manager 
“Every soul an equal soul”
Astride A Starship LLC

Complaint: [redacted]
I am rejecting this response because:
Regards,
[redacted]
this is untrue, I have only put in one co,mplaint to Revdex.com, 
I AM NOT HARASSING ANYONE,
THE OWNER ASTRIDE STARSHIP,
CAN KEEP OUR DEPOSIT
OF $650.00 AND pET DEPOSIT,
FOR DECMEBERS RENT
I HAVE NOT COMPLAINED OR HARASSED ANYONE, OTHER THEN PU IN ONE COMPLAINT AND THAT IS ALL,

I moved into a property rental and was misled. It had no heat in CO of all places. The space heater they attached to the wall heated the wall so hot I could cook on it. They also did not inforce the non-smoking policy nor the noise policy. The attached restaurant stunk up my room too when cleaning it's grill at night.I found the place unacceptable and unsafe to live in. As it turned out a hospitalization happened the same day. Partially due to the upset and the smoke fumes. I am now in assisted living.I was told my deposit would be refunded within 30 days. It was not.

Check fields!

Write a review of Astride A Starship LLC

Satisfaction rating
 
 
 
 
 
Upload here Increase visibility and credibility of your review by adding a photo

Astride A Starship LLC Rating

Overall satisfaction rating

Description: Property Management Companies

Address: 714 Remington St # 11, Fort Collins, Colorado, United States, 80524-3333

Phone:

Show more...

Web:

www.astrideastarship.com


Add contact information for Astride A Starship

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | New | Updated