Sign in

Athenix Body Sculpting Institute

Sharing is caring! Have something to share about Athenix Body Sculpting Institute? Use RevDex to write a review
Reviews Skin Care, Plastic Surgery, Hormone Replacement Therapy Athenix Body Sculpting Institute

Athenix Body Sculpting Institute Reviews (8)

• Jan 13, 2021

Nightmare experience
I scheduled my Dec 2020 surgery in Dec 2019 after being pressured that the price would go up if I didn't schedule. I gave a large, fully refundable deposit of half the surgery amount (required to hold a surgery date).

My concerns started when I set an appointment to meet the surgeon who would be operating on me and he was on lunch during my appointment time. The entire appointment was to meet him and talk through my expectations. The staff had to go find him and after some time he came in and clearly had no idea I was there to meet with him that day. The appointment felt rushed and he contradicted everything that the saleswoman had said to me in my first consultation. It seemed the saleswoman had just lied to get the sale, but I was open to adjusting my expectations and the doctor did seem warm and competent.

I gave a cash deposit with the promise of an email receipt. Athenix didn't send the email. It took multiple calls and emails over a week just to get a receipt for the deposit.

Because I had scheduled so far in advance, I made another consultation appointment a month before the surgery date to confirm what results would be on my current body and if I wanted to proceed with the surgery. I had been told in the beginning I could have as many appointments as I needed to feel comfortable. I arrived to this appointment and they tried to give me new client paperwork, they had no idea who I was or why I was there. I became very concerned when I found out that everyone I had interacted with, from the desk staff, to the saleswoman to the manager no longer worked there.

While the first couple of appointments had been on time, this one ran over 30 minutes late, parking in the building is by the hour and very expensive, they don't validate. When I went to check if they had forgotten me in this little room, they sent in the regional manager and I laid out my concerns. She was very reassuring and didn't hide the fact of the staff turnover and explained away the administrative issues I'd had as new staff being trained. I was told that the front desk staff was "not up to par" but the surgery staff had all been there for awhile so I shouldn't worry. I wish I had canceled the surgery at this time.

I had been told the doctor was on vacation so I needed to wait to get the instructions for my lab work, but was assured I would have it well in advance. When I had some unexpected time off, I called to see if I could move the surgery date sooner. I was told that morning the scheduler would call me back, they didn't. I called back the following day and not only could they not move the date, they didn't realize they had never sent me the information for the lab work and were now requesting additional medical clearance from my doctor a week before my pre-op appointment. I was told I should have been sent a few emails when I booked the surgery, which was a year ago at this point, that I had never been sent.

Over the next couple of days I received a 20 page document to sign, including an arbitration agreement that I wasn't expecting. I explained over email that I wasn't sure if I was comfortable signing something that said I couldn't sue if I'd been hurt or disfigured by the surgery, especially after I'd gotten very vague answers about how Athenix addresses cases where the client isn't happy with the results. Within minutes I received a phone call saying that I didn't have to sign the arbitration agreement that day, but would be required to sign before my surgery or there would be no surgery. I felt blindsided, this was 3 weeks out from a surgery I had planned a year out, had saved for, had arranged time off and care for. I won't lie, I absolutely lost my temper. I spoke to the manager who said she would check with corporate if I was required to sign the agreement, I still don't understand how no customer had asked about this in the past that they didn't know their policy.

A week later, after begging my doctor's office for an appointment for medical clearance last minute and spending hundreds on bloodwork, I received a call saying that while corporate did not require me to sign the arbitration agreement the surgeon would not do the surgery. I explained that having now had a week to research and get legal advice from friends, it seemed the arbitration agreements are somewhat standard in sue-happy Los Angeles and I had reconsidered. I was then told that Athenix only wanted "happy patients" and that because I had to follow up on literally every interaction with the staff because they didn't do what they said they would I was simply too much drama. My surgery was canceled 2 weeks before the scheduled date, but that's not all!

I'm now trying to recover the $10,000 deposit I gave Athenix over a year ago. After canceling my surgery, the manager stopped taking my calls or responding to my emails. I was sent an email with no body and an attachment for refund of deposit that said Athenix would deduct $500 for cancelation. I called and explained that I was told I would receive the full deposit, they said that was just on the form and didn't apply to me, when I said I wasn't comfortable signing a form that said they could keep $500 they got frustrated, said that I was "unnecessarily complicating things" and that they would simply use the email I had written to confirm the conversation I'd had with the manager regarding my refund. I have in writing from Athenix that my refund would be processed in 30 days, it wasn't.

Revdex.com:I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ***, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to meSincerely, *** ***

Thank you for the inquiry; we are happy to respond to the patient’s question.
The patient cancelled her procedure on October 10, 2016.  The policy for processing a refund request for a cancelled procedure requires 30 – 60 days processing time.  This processing time is required to 1)...

ensure payments clear the bank and that 2) sufficient funds are available as refunds are unusual and unexpected large dollar amounts such as this are not budgeted. 
The refund policy is detailed in the procedure quote which is attached.  The document and terms were agreed upon and signed by the patient.
The refund request was made to [redacted] and a credit to the patient’s account is expected this week.  The total elapsed refund time is approximately 35 days which is at the early stage of the agreed upon range of 30-60 day processing time.
In summary, the patient will receive a full refund of the amount paid within the standard processing time.

Dear Sir/Madam,
We are responding to your email inquiry regarding the refund request of Ms. [redacted].
Ms. [redacted] had a liposuction procedure performed by Dr. [redacted] on May 29, 2013 at the outpatient surgery center of Athenix Body Sculpting Institute.  Prior to her...

procedure, Ms. [redacted] completed our informed consent process and signed that she acknowledges the risks associated with any surgical procedure.  Those documents are attached.  Unfortunately, there are no guarantees in surgery, not by us, nor any doctor.  However, we do our very best to deliver outstanding results to our patients and go to extensive lengths to make them happy.  This includes performing a touch-up or revision procedure for them at no charge.  As a good business practice, we have extended this offer to Ms. [redacted] in an effort to make her happy.
To qualify for a touch-up or revision procedure patients much weigh at the least the same or less than they did prior to their original surgery.  Ms. [redacted] had gained weight at her last visit which may be impacting her results.  We requested that Ms. [redacted] drop her weight below her pre-surgery level prior to her next appointment on September 14, 2014.  Unfortunately, Ms. [redacted] did not show up or call to cancel this appointment.  We have not heard from her since.
Again, patient satisfaction is paramount to us and we go to extensive lengths to achieve this for our patients.  However, it requires cooperation on behalf of the patient to achieve the best results.
Please contact [redacted] directly at [redacted]@athenixbody.com with any further questions.
Kind regards,
 
[redacted]
Athenix Body Sculpting Institute

Revdex.com:
I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted], and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.
I have not received any refund  
Regards,
[redacted]

The full refund was confirmed by accounting as processed and mailed.  The check was sent to the patient as a return of payment in full.  The long holiday weekend may have caused a delay in receiving the check via regular USPS.  If the check is not received by Friday, 12.2.16, please contact us directly at [email protected] and we will stop payment on the current check and reissue a new check.  We apologize for any delay as there is no question as to validity of the refund.  The patient will receive their refund in full.

Review: I had liposuction of thigh and knees done a month ago.The results are not at all visible, intact i'm having lumps in treated area .Before the surgery ,their customer service was prompt & polite . Now after surgery and paying money in full - Nobbody bothers to even return your call after multiple requests.They keep on transferring desks and keep you on infinite hold ,with a promise to ''look into the matter'' and never get back .So thats why even after a mnth - I STILL DID NOT GET A FOLLOWUP WITH THE TREATING SURGEON .I'm very very disappointed, and feel my almost 6k is wasted .I'm strongly discouraging my family & friends to go to Athenix now .Desired Settlement: I would at least like the Dr to see me and refund some amt or give some supplemental treatments to correct the lumpiness .

Review: A received a botched liposuction. Im disfigured and lumpy. Scars are not hidden. Athenix keeps giving me the run aroundDesired Settlement: I would like a refund so that I can have corrective surgery.

Business

Response:

Dear Sir/Madam,

We are responding to your email inquiry regarding the refund request of Ms. [redacted].

Ms. [redacted] had a liposuction procedure performed by Dr. [redacted] on May 29, 2013 at the outpatient surgery center of Athenix Body Sculpting Institute. Prior to her procedure, Ms. [redacted] completed our informed consent process and signed that she acknowledges the risks associated with any surgical procedure. Those documents are attached. Unfortunately, there are no guarantees in surgery, not by us, nor any doctor. However, we do our very best to deliver outstanding results to our patients and go to extensive lengths to make them happy. This includes performing a touch-up or revision procedure for them at no charge. As a good business practice, we have extended this offer to Ms. [redacted] in an effort to make her happy.

To qualify for a touch-up or revision procedure patients much weigh at the least the same or less than they did prior to their original surgery. Ms. [redacted] had gained weight at her last visit which may be impacting her results. We requested that Ms. [redacted] drop her weight below her pre-surgery level prior to her next appointment on September 14, 2014. Unfortunately, Ms. [redacted] did not show up or call to cancel this appointment. We have not heard from her since.

Again, patient satisfaction is paramount to us and we go to extensive lengths to achieve this for our patients. However, it requires cooperation on behalf of the patient to achieve the best results.

Please contact [redacted] directly at [redacted]@athenixbody.com with any further questions.

Kind regards,

[redacted]

Athenix Body Sculpting Institute

Check fields!

Write a review of Athenix Body Sculpting Institute

Satisfaction rating
 
 
 
 
 
Upload here Increase visibility and credibility of your review by adding a photo

Athenix Body Sculpting Institute Rating

Overall satisfaction rating

Description: Physicians & Surgeons - Cosmetic, Plastic & Reconstructive Surgery

Address: 7015 N Maple Ave Ste 102, Fresno, California, United States, 93720-8010

Phone:

Show more...

Web:

This website was reported to be associated with Athenix Body Sculpting Institute.



Add contact information for Athenix Body Sculpting Institute

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | New | Updated