Sign in

B F Fields Moving & Storage

Sharing is caring! Have something to share about B F Fields Moving & Storage? Use RevDex to write a review
Reviews B F Fields Moving & Storage

B F Fields Moving & Storage Reviews (11)

• Nov 18, 2019

in response to the customer's rejection as I had previously stated there was no individual living at this during the first quarter of this year which is when we set up for a repair man to look the itemsWe will forward a check in the amount of $for the following items:armoire $70.00dining table leg $200.00tv stand $60.00As for the washing machine my report indicated the side panel had a dent which is repairable and therefore complete replacement is not justified

• Nov 03, 2019

It was explained to the shipper that in order to access her home a straight truck was needed load her itemsThe shipper needed a load date of 10/28/we explained to her that we can load on 10/28/with a window of delivery of 11/1-11/As explained to shipper upon her phone call inquiry my straight truck that performed the shuttle set off the load onto our warehouse floorIt turned out that the same straight truck-crew ended up reloading it onto the same truck and transporting it to destination and made delivery on 11/4/It was not left on the truck as the truck was needed to handle other local moves at the beginning of the week of 10/31/Originally it was intended to be reloaded onto a tractor-trailer to transport but we had a mechanical issue and we needed to transport it with the straight truckRegardless the service of a shuttle was still required and performed in order to access her development, and transferring the shipment (double handling) a 2nd timeAs for the weight of the shipment the customer was provided a guaranteed price at the locked in weight of 7500lbs and therefore the shipment was not weighed as the contract agreement is guaranteed at that price a weight.Attached is the estimate/order for service signed by the shipper as well as the b/l

I had spoken to Mr***These items apparently his daughters itemsMr *** lives in *** I tried to make arrangements to have repair man go on a Saturday that he was to be in town to make repairs to armoire, dining table leg, and the tv standI reached out for him on the
Thursday and Friday prior to the Saturday date, left a message to confirm and got no call back from him.Since that time he has had the items moved from *** to another townAt this point I would be glad to speak with him but I am not sure how to proceed since the items have been handled by another company and are no longer here in ***.The date was for 3/18/16. I have attached my email correspondence with the repair firm.Mike

Revdex.com:
I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ***, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below
The items belong to both me and my daughter and the move contract was ONLY in my name. With that being said, he did not call me and they did not respond to my countless efforts to get the damages repaired or compensated for. The claim was filed in July 2015; they did not come to see the damaged items until six months after. After seeing the items and taking pictures they did not get back to me until March 2016. They never had any intention of fixing the items or settling the claim. The armoire is completely broken and beyond repair. I want the full replacement value ($70) because it was dropped on the road. There is a deep scratch on the dining table and the repair cost is $200. This estimate was obtained on the phone; a written estimate will cost an additional $if they come to my residence to view the damage in person. The TV stand repair cost is $and the clothes washing machine's damage is $700.I want all of these claims settled with the cash value claimed
Regards,
*** ***

Revdex.com:
I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted], and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 
Regards,
[redacted]

in response to the customer's rejection as I had previously stated there was no individual living at this during the first quarter of this year which is when we set up for a repair man to look the items. We will forward a check in the amount of $330.00 for the following items:armoire $70.00dining table leg $200.00tv stand $60.00As for the washing machine my report indicated the side panel had a dent which is repairable and therefore complete replacement is not justified.

It was explained  to the shipper that in order to access her home a straight truck was needed load her items. The shipper needed a load date of 10/28/16. we explained to her that we can load on 10/28/16 with a window of delivery of 11/1-11/8. As explained to shipper upon her phone call inquiry...

 my straight truck that performed the shuttle set off the load onto our warehouse floor. It turned out that the same straight truck-crew ended up reloading it onto the same truck and transporting it to destination and made delivery on 11/4/16 . It was not left on the truck as the truck was needed to handle other local moves at the beginning of the week of 10/31/16. Originally it was intended to be reloaded onto a tractor-trailer to transport but we had a mechanical issue and we needed to transport it with the straight truck. Regardless the service of a shuttle was still required and performed in order to access her development, and transferring the shipment (double handling) a 2nd time. As for the weight of the shipment the customer was provided a guaranteed price at the locked in weight of 7500lbs and therefore the shipment was not weighed as the contract agreement is guaranteed at that price a weight.Attached is the estimate/order for service signed by the shipper as well as the b/l

Review: On July 16, 2015 my household things was moved locally within [redacted] PA . during moving few items were damaged. I notified B.F.Field of Damages next day on July 17,2015. they sent me form to filled out and filed the loss and damage claim of Household Goods on July 22, 2015. The were Scratch on Dinning Table , White Armore/ cabinet , TV stand and washer was dented in the front. I sent at least 10 emails and called them and several time to fix these items . I December of 2015 they sent three person to take pictures. and they did . After that again I called many time and called, and spoke to Manager Named Mike to fix items or settle this claim. Again like always there was no define response about what they will do, always answer was I will get back to you. I was in [redacted] until May of @016, they did not fix or pay for the damages. Now it is more the a month . I just called them talk to mike and several times left messages nothing has been done. Total claim was in the amount of $1030.00Desired Settlement: A honest settlement for the claim, which is over a year old now.

Business

Response:

I had spoken to Mr. [redacted]. These items apparently his daughters items. Mr [redacted] lives in [redacted] I tried to make arrangements to have repair man go on a Saturday that he was to be in town to make repairs to armoire, dining table leg, and the tv stand. I reached out for him on the Thursday and Friday prior to the Saturday date, left a message to confirm and got no call back from him.Since that time he has had the items moved from [redacted] to another town. At this point I would be glad to speak with him but I am not sure how to proceed since the items have been handled by another company and are no longer here in [redacted].The date was for 3/18/16. I have attached my email correspondence with the repair firm.Mike

Consumer

Response:

Review: My husband and I contacted BF Fields for a move from Erie, PA to Chicago, IL. We chose BF Fields because they were more cost effective than other companies. Two days prior to the move we received a call from the President of the company that the form they sent us for a credit card payment had a section crossed out. BF Fields crossed the section out when sending it to us and we had to scramble while packing to fix a clerical error caused by BF Fields. The move out was in rainy weather and expensive items (washer and dryer) were left in the rain for extended periods of time (15-20 minutes). We had two drop off points, one at a storage unit and one at our apartment. When the movers came to our apartment they didn't protect the hardwood floor as agreed upon in the contact. At approximately 2:00 we received a phone call from the President stating that since the movers couldn't park close to the building (something uncontrollable in a large city) and they had to carry items up 3 flights of stairs (something that was told to the contracting agent) we had to pay an additional $250 excess charge. The final documents on the date of delivery that we have as a carbon copy do not include this $250 charge but my credit card was charged a seperate time for the charge without authorization.Desired Settlement: A refund of the $250 excess delivery fee

Business

Response:

The following are the responses to the points made to the filed complaint from Ms. [redacted] ([redacted])

1. The relocation estimate appoitment was made with Mr. [redacted]. The estimate attached was addressed and emailed to Mr. [redacted]. The order for service and attached bill of lading were made and headed as the relocation for Mr. [redacted].

When the move was scheduled with Mr, [redacted] the order for service and credit card release form were sent to Mr. [redacted] with procedures to complete per instrucions and return to our office. My sales coordinator at the time, [redacted] emialed these forms to Mr. [redacted] and in doing so drew lines through an area on the credit card release form that she assumed did not need to be completed. This section instructs the following "if the cardholder authorizing payment and the customer relocating are not the same then that person is authorizing northamerican Van Lines to charge the card for the amount indicated for the transaction of the above shipper".

These documents were emailed to [redacted] who printed them and placed them in the "move file". Apparently she did not review these documents. When operations opened the file for final preperation of paperwork which was 2 days prior to the load date they drew to my attention that the release form was not filled out properly since a Ms. [redacted] had filled out the form and signed it. I contacted Mr. [redacted] and was told that she was his fiancee. I expalined that a section of the form needed to be completed because of the above explanation. I then emailed him the form for the correction to be made and he returned it to my office.

2. Regaridng the washer and dryer being left in the rain. If there are any damages due from the overall relocation of items, handling by the driver/crew to any items that have been shipped and/or property (issue with hardwood floors) northAmerican will forward to the shipper upon request a claim form with instructions for filing.

3. During delivery the driver contacted our office and notified operations the conditions which was an extensive distance and 3 flights of stairs to the apartment. He explained that he was going to need to stay an additonal day on the road since this shipment would take much longer to unlaod. Upon learning this I contacted Mr. [redacted] and explained to him that these conditions entailed a much longer time to make the delivery for the driver and his helper and asked that we be compensated an "extra Labor" charge for the drivers time and labor cost of $250.00. He agreed to this. I explained that the credit card which had an authorization to charge up to $3556.05 had been processed already for $3177.03 which was based on the actual weight and services provided up to that point of delivery and that we still had authorization to charge up to an additional $379.02. He was given the option to pay the $250.00 with cash or apply it to the credit card and he chose to have it apply to the card. Thus the 2nd processing of the card in the amount of $250.00 exists. Please note that delivery had already begun and at no time did the driver refuse to unload until this payment was made. In fact my driver was unaware that this fee was even requested and received from Mr. [redacted] until the delivery was completed.

As far as the information of the 3rd floor stair carry and long distance to deliver at destinaion it is true that every effort is made to find out about these conditions at the time shipments are set up but not every detail can be determined. If this information was given to the coordiantor ahead of time the estimate would have been revised to include the amount of the $250.00. Please note that on page 2 of the attached estimate it indicates that all charges may not be determined prior to services being completed and that those services required to complete the move will be added at the time of delivery.

Again I would like to emphasize that the charge for the extra labor was requested from Mr. [redacted] and not demanded and the the unlaoding process had already begun.

B. F. Fields/northAmerican Van Lines

Review: A contract was entered into to have some of my late mother's possessions delivered to our home in Arizona. My father paid the fee upfront on 3 Aug. 2013 and the items were picked up on 7 Aug. The contract stated that the delivery date would be between Sept. 9 and 19. We heard nothing further. We called on 19 Sept. to check the status and found that our items were still sitting in Erie. We were given the date of 3 Oct. as a new delivery date. Again we heard nothing and called on 3 Oct. and found that the items were still sitting in Erie.Now they tell us that it should be picked up on 11 Oct. and they will give us another delivery date then. It is very frustrating that they have our money and our items and we are at their mercy. They seem to just pull dates out of a hat and do not honor their commitments. They took nearly $2,000.00 of our money and priceless heirlooms in good faith and have delivered nothing since the 7th of August. They now are saying that it is difficult to make the delivery to a relatively remote area in Arizona, however when they took my father's money they assured him it would be no problem.Desired Settlement: We would like an honest and sure date of delivery and feel like we would deserve at least a partial refund due to the long wait and inconvenience caused.

Business

Response:

This is an interstate shipment where we operate under the authority of northAmerican van lines.

This shipment has since delivered to the customer based on the date of this complaint. The shipment was delivered out beyond the dates of service however there is not a legal recourse to refund any monies if the shipment is delivered beyond the contract dates. I have spoken to my offices in Ft. Wayne and attached is the "on time pledge" from our tariff and the email that I receivd. This refers the shipper to our website which can also answer his concern and question.

Please let me know if further information or explanation is required to adequately respond to this complaint.

Thnaks[redacted]

Consumer

Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted], and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

We received the shipment on 12 Oct. after being given the date of 19 Sept., and then 3 Oct. 2013. The tracking service on the North American Van lines web site never did show our shipment or where it was. The "On time promise" is so full of loopholes that it is worthless. I would never do business with this company again. When we tried to contact them on the phone we got lost in a maze of automated choices all of which ended with no one is available. I don't know how they stay in business.

Regards,

A contract was entered into to have some of my late mother's possessions delivered to our home in Arizona. My father paid the fee upfront on 3 Aug. 2013 and the items were picked up on 7 Aug. The contract stated that the delivery date would be between Sept. 9 and 19. We heard nothing further. We called on 19 Sept. to check the status and found that our items were still sitting in Erie. We were given the date of 3 Oct. as a new delivery date. Again we heard nothing and called on 3 Oct. and found that the items were still sitting in Erie.Now they tell us that it should be picked up on 11 Oct. and they will give us another delivery date then. It is very frustrating that they have our money and our items and we are at their mercy. They seem to just pull dates out of a hat and do not honor their commitments. They took nearly $2,000.00 of our money and priceless heirlooms in good faith and have delivered nothing since the 7th of August. They now are saying that it is difficult to make the delivery to a relatively remote area in Arizona, however when they took my father's money they assured him it would be no problem.

Check fields!

Write a review of B F Fields Moving & Storage

Satisfaction rating
 
 
 
 
 
Upload here Increase visibility and credibility of your review by adding a photo

B F Fields Moving & Storage Rating

Overall satisfaction rating

Description: MOVERS

Address: 945 Downing Ave, Erie, Pennsylvania, United States, 16511-1751

Phone:

Show more...

Web:

www.bffields.com


Add contact information for B F Fields Moving & Storage

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | New | Updated