Sign in

B & M Auto Mechanics

Sharing is caring! Have something to share about B & M Auto Mechanics? Use RevDex to write a review
Reviews B & M Auto Mechanics

B & M Auto Mechanics Reviews (12)

• Dec 30, 2019

06/27/2015On 05/08/ [redacted] came to our shop telling us that he was recommended by [redacted] and at the time he had a problem with his vehicle which was over heatingI ask several questions which I always askWhich are: A) How long has the car been overheating? B) How long have the vehicle been driven with the problem? I explained when a vehicle is driven with over heating problems it can cause major problems [redacted] indicated that additional to the over heating problem it was making a bad noiseWe told [redacted] that first he will have to leave the vehicle and we will have to check it to see if no major damages were involed since vehicle was driven with the over heating problem [redacted] left the vechicle we checked it and determined that it needed a water pump since it was broken, and it got replaced but the vehicle kept overheating which made us decide to move on and we decided then to replace the thermostat that is the next step that is always takenAfter this we called [redacted] and he picked up his vehicleWe did everything in our hands to commodate our customer needs with his vehicleWe are not perfect but we are one of the best out there on what we doAs per [redacted] stated "that when he brought his vehicle into our shop a cousin of his had worked on it and had messed up" reason why he had decided to take it some where elseI told him I did not have a problem looking at it and repairing it, but to please keep in mind that someone already worked on it, and it becomes very difficult to fix someones else messThe vehicle got done and we called [redacted] He picked up his vehicleOnce he left our shop he called us back and claimed that his vehicle started over heating again and he needed to be picked up, I told him at that particular time the towing truck was not availbie, but I really don't know why [redacted] kept driving his vehicle the way he didCommon sense "NO ONE" drives a vehicle when it over heatsMajor consecuences happen, for example it could kill the Engine, and major damages can occurThis vehichle has a high mileage 164,We went and pick up the vehicle brought it to the shopNow the vehicle has been in our shop for the second time, and we did not charge him for the towingWe replaced the Radiator and did not charge for labor since [redacted] just kept arguing, and we did not want to argue backWe finish the vehicle once again called him to let him know that it was ready for pick upNow at this point no warranty was given since he drove the vehicle over heating and he did not wait for the towing truckA brief explanation on what we did not charge [redacted] .A) Replaced Radiator/ no charge for labor B) Picked Vehicle / no charge for towing C) TESTS/ no charge D) LABOR FEE / did not pay second time vehicle came in.In addition to the above mentioned we want to inform that warranty was given on the parts, but since he did not wait for us to pick up the vehicle and was driven knowing that it was over heating we decided not to give it at that pointMajor damages could had occuredAs a part advisor " I know, and Do Not Recommend" that a vehicle that is over heating should not be driven we are not responsible for any major damages that occur once vehicle is out of our shopKeeping in mind that this vehicle first was worked on by someone else, and driven numureous times by ownerAttached we mailed Invoices that were given to [redacted] I do not see that all are added in the total that he requested a Refund forAs a result you can notice that he put his vehicle on high risk on major damagesMy intentions are to resolve this matter the right way without going to any legal processMy bussiness has been known as a "QUALITY SERVICE "Mechanic ShopThat is the reason why we are highly recommended to everyoneIf any questions or concerns please feel free to contact at the above mentioned Address and TelephoneThank You.Respectfully,Benjamin S

• Dec 07, 2019

06/27/2015On 05/08/ [redacted] came to our shop telling us that he was recommended by [redacted] and at the time he had a problem with his vehicle which was over heatingI ask several questions which I always askWhich are: A) How long has the car been overheating? B) How long have the vehicle been driven with the problem? I explained when a vehicle is driven with over heating problems it can cause major problems [redacted] indicated that additional to the over heating problem it was making a bad noiseWe told [redacted] that first he will have to leave the vehicle and we will have to check it to see if no major damages were involed since vehicle was driven with the over heating problem [redacted] left the vechicle we checked it and determined that it needed a water pump since it was broken, and it got replaced but the vehicle kept overheating which made us decide to move on and we decided then to replace the thermostat that is the next step that is always takenAfter this we called [redacted] and he picked up his vehicleWe did everything in our hands to commodate our customer needs with his vehicleWe are not perfect but we are one of the best out there on what we doAs per [redacted] stated "that when he brought his vehicle into our shop a cousin of his had worked on it and had messed up" reason why he had decided to take it some where elseI told him I did not have a problem looking at it and repairing it, but to please keep in mind that someone already worked on it, and it becomes very difficult to fix someones else messThe vehicle got done and we called [redacted] He picked up his vehicleOnce he left our shop he called us back and claimed that his vehicle started over heating again and he needed to be picked up, I told him at that particular time the towing truck was not availbie, but I really don't know why [redacted] kept driving his vehicle the way he didCommon sense "NO ONE" drives a vehicle when it over heatsMajor consecuences happen, for example it could kill the Engine, and major damages can occurThis vehichle has a high mileage 164,We went and pick up the vehicle brought it to the shopNow the vehicle has been in our shop for the second time, and we did not charge him for the towingWe replaced the Radiator and did not charge for labor since [redacted] just kept arguing, and we did not want to argue backWe finish the vehicle once again called him to let him know that it was ready for pick upNow at this point no warranty was given since he drove the vehicle over heating and he did not wait for the towing truckA brief explanation on what we did not charge [redacted] .A) Replaced Radiator/ no charge for labor B) Picked Vehicle / no charge for towing C) TESTS/ no charge D) LABOR FEE / did not pay second time vehicle came inIn addition to the above mentioned we want to inform that warranty was given on the parts, but since he did not wait for us to pick up the vehicle and was driven knowing that it was over heating we decided not to give it at that pointMajor damages could had occuredAs a part advisor " I know, and Do Not Recommend" that a vehicle that is over heating should not be driven we are not responsible for any major damages that occur once vehicle is out of our shopKeeping in mind that this vehicle first was worked on by someone else, and driven numureous times by ownerAttached we mailed Invoices that were given to [redacted] I do not see that all are added in the total that he requested a Refund forAs a result you can notice that he put his vehicle on high risk on major damagesMy intentions are to resolve this matter the right way without going to any legal processMy bussiness has been known as a "QUALITY SERVICE "Mechanic ShopThat is the reason why we are highly recommended to everyoneIf any questions or concerns please feel free to contact at the above mentioned Address and TelephoneThank YouRespectfully,Benjamin S

• Nov 10, 2019

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response If you wish, you may update it before sending it.] Revdex.com: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted] , and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me Regards, [redacted]

• Oct 28, 2019

March 04, 2016In the complaint letter that we received with the number [redacted] [redacted] call us for towing services for a vehicle [redacted] that we pick up on his office Thursday evening after we give service to another customer and problem with the tow truckWe only have one tow truck and have to be ready to provide a good serviceIt takes time to get a good diagnosis and we have another customers waiting firstWe work Friday, Saturday half day and close on SundaysAfter we check the vehicle for diagnosis we called [redacted] to tell him what the problem with his vehicle wasThe diagnosis came out at the moment with bad ceils in battery [redacted] approved the job thru the phone and he even paid with a credit card by phone toWe took it in good faith widow knowing this gentlemanAt B & M Auto we check all fluids in any vehicle and add it at owner cost without informing you first(Just imaging if we didn’t check his fluid and his engine start knocking who did you think is going to blame?) It's our company policy to not let any vehicle leave here without fluids at the proper levelsWe told him that we close at 5:00pm if he can’t be here at that time we can leave the door open with keys under the mat and he approved itWhy he didn't call us and let us know what is the problem with the vehicle? We were been more than happy to accommodate him in anything and we give a service with out meet and know him personalWe are here to serve him or any ones that needs car runs good(Copy of receipt and signs included)Thanks

On Friday February 26th I contacted B&M inquiring about servicesMy car had broke down at my office Thursday eveningThe person on the phone said they did indeed tow and would pick my car up that morningI explained that the car seemed to not have any powerI asked that they pick it up, go over it and call me prior to making any repairsAt 130pm my car still had not been towedI called the shop and the person said he was on his wayI at that time
I waited until 1130am on Monday February 29th to check in on the status of my carThe person on the phone said that the battery was deadHe was running diagnostics to see if there were any other issuesI asked what the cost was and he said "not sure yet, still looking at itwe'll have it done in an hour." I was completely flabbergasted that they had made repairs and hadn't called
He called me at approx 230pm and stated the car was doneHe said they replaced the batter and "topped off the oil"I asked what my total was

March 04, 2016In the complaint letter that we received with the number [redacted]. [redacted] call us for towing services for a vehicle 03 [redacted] that we pick up on his office Thursday evening after we give service to another customer and problem with the tow truck. We only have one...

tow truck and have to be ready to provide a good service. It takes time to get a good diagnosis and we have another customers waiting first. We work Friday, Saturday half day and close on Sundays. After we check the vehicle for diagnosis we called [redacted] to tell him what the problem with his vehicle was. The diagnosis came out at the moment with bad ceils in battery. [redacted] approved the job thru the phone and he even paid with a credit card by phone to. We took it in good faith widow knowing this gentleman. At B & M Auto we check all fluids in any vehicle and add it at owner cost without informing you first. (Just imaging if we didn’t check his fluid and his engine start knocking who did you think is going to blame?) It's our company policy to not let any vehicle leave here without fluids at the proper levels. We told him that we close at 5:00pm if he can’t be here at that time we can leave the door open with keys under the mat and he approved it. Why he didn't call us and let us know what is the problem with the vehicle? We were been more than happy to accommodate him in anything and we give a service with out meet and know him personal. We are here to serve him or any ones that needs car runs good. (Copy of receipt and signs included)Thanks

06/27/2015On 05/08/2015 [redacted] came to our shop telling us that he was recommended by [redacted] and at the time he had a problem with his vehicle which was over heating. I ask several questions which I always ask. Which are: A) How long has the car been overheating? B) How long have the vehicle...

been driven with the problem? I explained when a vehicle is driven with over heating problems it can cause major problems. [redacted] indicated that additional to the over heating problem it was making a bad noise. We told [redacted] that first he will have to leave the vehicle and we will have to check it to see if no major damages were involed since vehicle was driven with the over heating problem. [redacted] left the vechicle we checked it and determined that it needed a water pump since it was broken, and it got replaced but the vehicle kept overheating which made us decide to move on and we decided then to replace the thermostat that is the next step that is always taken. After this we called [redacted] and he picked up his vehicle. We did everything in our hands to commodate our customer needs with his vehicle. We are not perfect but we are one of the best out there on what we do. As per [redacted] stated "that when he brought his vehicle into our shop a cousin of his had worked on it and had messed up" reason why he had decided to take it some where else. I told him I did not have a problem looking at it and repairing it, but to please keep in mind that someone already worked on it, and it becomes very difficult to fix someones else mess. . The vehicle got done and we called [redacted]. He picked up his vehicle. Once he left our shop he called us back and claimed that his vehicle started over heating again and he needed to be picked up, I told him at that particular time the towing truck was not availbie, but I really don't know why [redacted] kept driving his vehicle the way he did. Common sense "NO ONE" drives a vehicle when it over heats. Major consecuences happen, for example it could kill the Engine, and major damages can occur. This vehichle has a high mileage 164,875. We went and pick up the vehicle brought it to the shop. Now the vehicle has been in our shop for the second time, and we did not charge him for the towing. We replaced the Radiator and did not charge for labor since [redacted] just kept arguing, and we did not want to argue back. We finish the vehicle once again called him to let him know that it was ready for pick up. Now at this point no warranty was given since he drove the vehicle over heating and he did not wait for the towing truck. A brief explanation on what we did not charge [redacted].A) Replaced Radiator/ no charge for labor B) Picked Vehicle / no charge for towing C) TESTS/ no charge D) LABOR FEE / did not pay second time vehicle came in.In addition to the above mentioned we want to inform that warranty was given on the parts, but since he did not wait for us to pick up the vehicle and was driven knowing that it was over heating we decided not to give it at that point. Major damages could had occured. As a part advisor " I know, and Do Not Recommend" that a vehicle that is over heating should not be driven we are not responsible for any major damages that occur once vehicle is out of our shop. Keeping in mind that this vehicle first was worked on by someone else, and driven numureous times by owner. Attached we mailed Invoices that were given to [redacted]. I do not see that all are added in the total that he requested a Refund for. As a result you can notice that he put his vehicle on high risk on major damages. My intentions are to resolve this matter the right way without going to any legal process. My bussiness has been known as a "QUALITY SERVICE "Mechanic Shop. That is the reason why we are highly recommended to everyone. If any questions or concerns please feel free to contact at the above mentioned Address and Telephone. Thank You.Respectfully,Benjamin S.

06/27/2015On 05/08/2015 [redacted] came to our shop telling us that he was recommended by [redacted] and at the time he had a problem with his vehicle which was over heating. I ask several questions which I always ask. Which are: A) How long has the car been overheating? B) How long have the...

vehicle been driven with the problem? I explained when a vehicle is driven with over heating problems it can cause major problems. [redacted] indicated that additional to the over heating problem it was making a bad noise. We told [redacted] that first he will have to leave the vehicle and we will have to check it to see if no major damages were involed since vehicle was driven with the over heating problem. [redacted] left the vechicle we checked it and determined that it needed a water pump since it was broken, and it got replaced but the vehicle kept overheating which made us decide to move on and we decided then to replace the thermostat that is the next step that is always taken. After this we called [redacted] and he picked up his vehicle. We did everything in our hands to commodate our customer needs with his vehicle. We are not perfect but we are one of the best out there on what we do. As per [redacted] stated "that when he brought his vehicle into our shop a cousin of his had worked on it and had messed up" reason why he had decided to take it some where else. I told him I did not have a problem looking at it and repairing it, but to please keep in mind that someone already worked on it, and it becomes very difficult to fix someones else mess. . The vehicle got done and we called [redacted]. He picked up his vehicle. Once he left our shop he called us back and claimed that his vehicle started over heating again and he needed to be picked up, I told him at that particular time the towing truck was not availbie, but I really don't know why [redacted] kept driving his vehicle the way he did. Common sense "NO ONE" drives a vehicle when it over heats. Major consecuences happen, for example it could kill the Engine, and major damages can occur. This vehichle has a high mileage 164,875. We went and pick up the vehicle brought it to the shop. Now the vehicle has been in our shop for the second time, and we did not charge him for the towing. We replaced the Radiator and did not charge for labor since [redacted] just kept arguing, and we did not want to argue back. We finish the vehicle once again called him to let him know that it was ready for pick up. Now at this point no warranty was given since he drove the vehicle over heating and he did not wait for the towing truck. A brief explanation on what we did not charge [redacted].A) Replaced Radiator/ no charge for labor B) Picked Vehicle / no charge for towing
C) TESTS/ no charge
D) LABOR FEE / did not pay second time vehicle came in.
In addition to the above mentioned we want to inform that warranty was given on the parts, but since he did not wait for us to pick up the vehicle and was driven knowing that it was over heating we decided not to give it at that point. Major damages could had occured. As a part advisor " I know, and Do Not Recommend" that a vehicle that is over heating should not be driven we are not responsible for any major damages that occur once vehicle is out of our shop. Keeping in mind that this vehicle first was worked on by someone else, and driven numureous times by owner. Attached we mailed Invoices that were given to [redacted]. I do not see that all are added in the total that he requested a Refund for. As a result you can notice that he put his vehicle on high risk on major damages. My intentions are to resolve this matter the right way without going to any legal process. My bussiness has been known as a "QUALITY SERVICE "Mechanic Shop. That is the reason why we are highly recommended to everyone. If any questions or concerns please feel free to contact at the above mentioned Address and Telephone. Thank You.
Respectfully,Benjamin S.

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]
Revdex.com:
I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted], and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 
Regards,
[redacted]

March 04, 2016In the complaint letter that we received with the number [redacted]. [redacted] call us for towing services for a vehicle 03 [redacted] that we pick up on his office Thursday evening after we give service to another customer and problem with the tow truck. We only...

have one tow truck and have to be ready to provide a good service. It takes time to get a good diagnosis and we have another customers waiting first. We work Friday, Saturday half day and close on Sundays. After we check the vehicle for diagnosis we called [redacted] to tell him what the problem with his vehicle was. The diagnosis came out at the moment with bad ceils in battery. [redacted] approved the job thru the phone and he even paid with a credit card by phone to. We took it in good faith widow knowing this gentleman. At B & M Auto we check all fluids in any vehicle and add it at owner cost without informing you first. (Just imaging if we didn’t check his fluid and his engine start knocking who did you think is going to blame?) It's our company policy to not let any vehicle leave here without fluids at the proper levels. We told him that we close at 5:00pm if he can’t be here at that time we can leave the door open with keys under the mat and he approved it. Why he didn't call us and let us know what is the problem with the vehicle? We were been more than happy to accommodate him in anything and we give a service with out meet and know him personal. We are here to serve him or any ones that needs car runs good. (Copy of receipt and signs included)Thanks

Review: On Friday October 4, 2013 I dropped my vehicle off at B & M Auto Mechanics to have my car inspected as well as looked at to see what was causing my car to shake when driving. No one called me all day Friday, so I decided to call them at 2pm. I spoke with [redacted] the owner’s son, and he stated that my car did not pass safety, emissions; I needed a new right tire, new windshield wipers and spark plugs. He advised me my total would be $500. He asked if he had the ok to go ahead and fix the vehicle I said yes, go ahead. He said it should be ready tomorrow (Saturday).

Saturday I again, never received a call so I decided to call them around 11. They stated that they had to order parts for my car and that it would not be ready until Monday because they are closed on Sunday’s. I said that was fine and continued with my weekend. Monday I called them around 10am to see when my car would be ready. I spoke with [redacted] again who informed me that after “opening” my car up, he realized that I no longer needed spark plugs, I instead needed a new timing belt because mine had snapped. Now I’m not a mechanic but I do know that if my timing belt “snapped” I wouldn’t have been able to drive my vehicle to the shop. I asked him why he did not see this from the first assessment. He had no answer. I asked him what was the damage (how much will it cost me)? He said $810. I advised him that I did not want to pay that much and also that I just could not afford it. He repeatedly said I need to get the belt fixed in order for my car to work. I told him I would most likely get it fixed then since I don’t have a choice but I needed to discuss it with my fiancé first.

I called my fiancé and advised him of what they told me. He said not to get it fixed because it was suspicious that he originally told me something as minor as spark plugs and now my I need a brand new timing belt. I agreed. I called back to speak with [redacted] to inform him that I did not want the work done with my vehicle and that I wanted to come pick it up. When I called the shop I spoke with [redacted]’s father (the owner), he said that his son had left for the day for a doctor’s appointment and that he would return tomorrow. He said that he was not working on the Saturn that is his son’s car so I would have to speak to him. I said that was fine I would call [redacted] on Tuesday but I informed the father that I would be stopping by because I needed two jackets from out of my trunk. That evening around 4pm I stopped by the shop and the father led me into the garage where I saw my car with the hood open and parts all over. I grabbed my jackets and left.

Tuesday I call the shop and again I speak with [redacted]s father, he said that his son did not show up for work and he is not sure what is going on with the Saturn. I said to the father well I just want to come pick it up. The father then snapped at me and said: “well then why are you asking me what’s going on with the Saturn?” I said because all I want to do is pick it up, and you all keep giving me the run around just to pick my vehicle up. He said well your Saturn is completely taken apart and we have to put it together in order for you to come get it. I said that is why I keep calling every day to advise your son to put my car back together so that I can come pick it up. He said well, you will have to speak to my son when he comes in Wednesday.

Wednesday morning I receive a voicemail from [redacted] at 8 am stating that I could come get the car however, I would be paying for labor, parts and a fee for them to put my car back together because I gave them the go to fix my car. He also stated that my car is not drivable so I would need to find a way to get it towed. I was livid. I called my fiancé and told him what [redacted] told me and he went directly to the shop. He asked them why I would be paying all these fees and why is the car not able to be driven. [redacted] advised my fiancé that the belt was snapped and the car cannot drive without that. My fiancé said the belt was not snapped when we brought it here, so you must of broke the belt while taking the car apart and now you want to charge her for it. The father said that they ordered parts in advance to have my car fixed and now I’m not getting it fixed so I have to pay for those parts. My fiancé said: no, she agreed to have new spark plugs, a tire and windshield wipers. She never agreed to fix the belt because that was never in the original assessment or estimate. The father agreed and said he would only charge us $50 or $60 for assessing the vehicle and the labor. He told us it would take a day to get the car back together.

Thursday (October 10, 2013) I call the shop and advised them that I will be there to pick the car up at 4pm. [redacted] advises me that it will cost me $105 for the diagnostics, labor and inspection. I paid the amount given because I am over this ordeal. I feel as though I should not have to pay for anything. They ruined my car and charged me for it. I drove my car to the shop, just to tow it back home. I also had to come out of my pocket for the tow truck. It’s ridiculous. They are swindling people out of their money. I want justice for myself as well as for any future customers they may have as well.Desired Settlement: I would like to get the $105.99 back that I paid them in order for them to release my car back to me, as well as the Kelly Blue Book value of my car becasue they ruined it and compensation for the stress that this caused. I am a single mother of two children, I work a 9-5, I am a law abiding citizen who was swindled and mistreated by a company who thought they could take advantage of me for my lacking of car knowledge.

Consumer

Response:

---------- Forwarded message ----------

From: [redacted], [redacted] <[redacted].[redacted]>

Date: Fri, Oct 11, 2013 at 11:57 AM

Subject: ID # [redacted] ([redacted], [redacted])

To: "[email protected]" <[email protected]>

Cc: "[redacted]" <[redacted]>

Attached is the appropriate documentation requested. Four documents in all. Thank You! [redacted] Lead Clai** Processor Back End CPA ###-###-####

Business

Response:

To Whom it May Concern:

**, [redacted] drop here car off for PA State Inspection which cost $52.99 with tax..it includes Safety and Emission testing. [redacted] also ask us to check her car because it was driving with a misfire and had a check engine light was on. The computer showed codes stating that she had a misfire in cylinder #4 stating it need a Fuei Injector. We also checked the spark plugs and they showed alot of extra wear from the fuel injector proble**. I told **. [redacted] that she need an fuel injector and recommend she changed the spark plugs so her car would proform better. I aiso told her that we did the State Inspection and that she needed Rear Brake Pads, Wipers and 1 Tire for Inspection, The price for all of this at that time was $547.89 which she agreed to.

Then she came in on Saturday with her cousin which is one of our long time clients and asked if I could give her a break on the cost. Which I agreed to and charged her $500 Dollars. I stated that I need to wait for the Fuel Injector and that we would start the car on Monday. When we started to check the car on Monday my mechanic notice the car was driving worst then when it came in...he checked and found that the **. [redacted] car had a bad timing chain (not belt)..I called and let her know that she needed the timing chain compenont set for her car and told her I would work with her on the cost and it was $810. She agreed to pay that and told me she would be in to give me a deposit of $500 and needed to get something out of the car. ..10 mins later her boyfriend called asking what was wrong with her car and I told him. He said that he need to talk to her before we do anything...I told him that she give us authroize to start the work and that I ordered the parts already. He called back to the shop later that day talked to [redacted] and ask us not to do the work. The next day I called her and left her a message informing her that her car needed to be put back together and that she would have to pay for the labor up to this point. Later that day her Boyfriend came in and talk to us. He told me that she never authorize us to do the work after she did and that why should she pay for the labor if we didn't finish the work. [redacted] trying be me not and help the client out told him. That he would just have to pay for the 1 hour of labor ($65) plus the Inspection ($49.99). We informed her when she came to pick up the car that she had 30 day to retest for her Inspection at no extra cost. Inspection Cost is Pass or Fail which she failed. If you have any other question please feel free to contact us at ###-###-####.

Sincerely

Consumer

Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Review: [redacted]

I am rejecting this response because:

B & M Auto is known for ripping WOMEN off. Their tone immediately changed once they spoke to my boyfriend and realized that I was not alone. They told me one thing was wrong with my vehicle and then once I agreed the attempted to see how much more money they could get out of me. They changed my quite and my repairs and then when I told them I didn't want the 2nd quite of work done, now my vehicle no longer runs! I am livid! I had to purchase a brand new car. I had a mechanic inspect my car and he advised me that my Saturn needed a new motor. I absolutely cannot afford that. I want justice for this company scheming on me. I 100% disagree with their response, I deserve my money back, the towing fee & honestly, the Kelly blue book value of my vehicle.

Regards,

On Friday October 4, 2013 I dropped my vehicle off at B & M Auto Mechanics to have my car inspected as well as looked at to see what was causing my car to shake when driving. No one called me all day Friday, so I decided to call them at 2pm. I spoke with [redacted] the owner’s son, and he stated that my car did not pass safety, emissions; I needed a new right tire, new windshield wipers and spark plugs. He advised me my total would be $500. He asked if he had the ok to go ahead and fix the vehicle I said yes, go ahead. He said it should be ready tomorrow (Saturday).

Saturday I again, never received a call so I decided to call them around 11. They stated that they had to order parts for my car and that it would not be ready until Monday because they are closed on Sunday’s. I said that was fine and continued with my weekend. Monday I called them around 10am to see when my car would be ready. I spoke with [redacted] again who informed me that after “opening” my car up, he realized that I no longer needed spark plugs, I instead needed a new timing belt because mine had snapped. Now I’m not a mechanic but I do know that if my timing belt “snapped” I wouldn’t have been able to drive my vehicle to the shop. I asked him why he did not see this from the first assessment. He had no answer. I asked him what was the damage (how much will it cost me)? He said $810. I advised him that I did not want to pay that much and also that I just could not afford it. He repeatedly said I need to get the belt fixed in order for my car to work. I told him I would most likely get it fixed then since I don’t have a choice but I needed to discuss it with my fiancé first.

I called my fiancé and advised him of what they told me. He said not to get it fixed because it was suspicious that he originally told me something as minor as spark plugs and now my I need a brand new timing belt. I agreed. I called back to speak with [redacted] to inform him that I did not want the work done with my vehicle and that I wanted to come pick it up. When I called the shop I spoke with [redacted]’s father (the owner), he said that his son had left for the day for a doctor’s appointment and that he would return tomorrow. He said that he was not working on the Saturn that is his son’s car so I would have to speak to him. I said that was fine I would call [redacted] on Tuesday but I informed the father that I would be stopping by because I needed two jackets from out of my trunk. That evening around 4pm I stopped by the shop and the father led me into the garage where I saw my car with the hood open and parts all over. I grabbed my jackets and left.

Tuesday I call the shop and again I speak with [redacted]s father, he said that his son did not show up for work and he is not sure what is going on with the Saturn. I said to the father well I just want to come pick it up. The father then snapped at me and said: “well then why are you asking me what’s going on with the Saturn?” I said because all I want to do is pick it up, and you all keep giving me the run around just to pick my vehicle up. He said well your Saturn is completely taken apart and we have to put it together in order for you to come get it. I said that is why I keep calling every day to advise your son to put my car back together so that I can come pick it up. He said well, you will have to speak to my son when he comes in Wednesday.

Wednesday morning I receive a voicemail from [redacted] at 8 am stating that I could come get the car however, I would be paying for labor, parts and a fee for them to put my car back together because I gave them the go to fix my car. He also stated that my car is not drivable so I would need to find a way to get it towed. I was livid. I called my fiancé and told him what [redacted] told me and he went directly to the shop. He asked them why I would be paying all these fees and why is the car not able to be driven. [redacted] advised my fiancé that the belt was snapped and the car cannot drive without that. My fiancé said the belt was not snapped when we brought it here, so you must of broke the belt while taking the car apart and now you want to charge her for it. The father said that they ordered parts in advance to have my car fixed and now I’m not getting it fixed so I have to pay for those parts. My fiancé said: no, she agreed to have new spark plugs, a tire and windshield wipers. She never agreed to fix the belt because that was never in the original assessment or estimate. The father agreed and said he would only charge us $50 or $60 for assessing the vehicle and the labor. He told us it would take a day to get the car back together.

Thursday (October 10, 2013) I call the shop and advised them that I will be there to pick the car up at 4pm. [redacted] advises me that it will cost me $105 for the diagnostics, labor and inspection. I paid the amount given because I am over this ordeal. I feel as though I should not have to pay for anything. They ruined my car and charged me for it. I drove my car to the shop, just to tow it back home. I also had to come out of my pocket for the tow truck. It’s ridiculous. They are swindling people out of their money. I want justice for myself as well as for any future customers they may have as well.

Check fields!

Write a review of B & M Auto Mechanics

Satisfaction rating
 
 
 
 
 
Upload here Increase visibility and credibility of your review by adding a photo

B & M Auto Mechanics Rating

Overall satisfaction rating

Description: Auto Body Repair & Painting

Address: 217 Evergreen St, Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, United States, 17104-3317

Phone:

Show more...

Add contact information for B & M Auto Mechanics

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | New | Updated