Sign in

B-Tan

Sharing is caring! Have something to share about B-Tan? Use RevDex to write a review
Reviews B-Tan

B-Tan Reviews (9)

• Nov 21, 2019

Revdex.com: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted] , and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me

• Oct 26, 2019

Our Membership Policy states that a membership is a minimum of three month commitment after that it is ongoing until cancelled in personWe receive a signed consent from all who join, which states all rules of the membership and unless client comes into the salon and signs a cancellation form, membership will remain activeWe can not accept cancellations over the phone, fax or emailAll cancellations must be done in store in personIn this situation we have however performed a courtesy cancellation for [redacted] Sent on: 5/20/9:46:AM

Revdex.com:
I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted], and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]
Revdex.com:
I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted], and find that...

this resolution is satisfactory to me. 
Regards,
[redacted]

Our Membership Policy states that a membership is a minimum of three month commitment after that it is ongoing until cancelled in person. We receive a signed consent from all who join, which states all rules of the...

membership and unless client comes into the salon and signs a cancellation form, membership will remain active. We can not accept cancellations over the phone, fax or email. All cancellations must be done in store in person. In this situation we have however performed a courtesy cancellation for [redacted].
Sent on: 5/20/2014 9:46:16 AM

Review: Below is my final letter to the company asking for a refund for the promise amount of $115.50

Hello,

I am contacting you in regards to a refund that I was told was to be mailed to me over a month ago.With that being said please read on to see why I have requested a refund.

I went into your salon on 4/19 to sign up for 10 tans. I must tell you that my experience from start to finish was horrible. I walked in and the salon was dirty. The prices were extremely high compared to what I have spent in the past at salons that are of much better quality. For example I was tanning at Eclipse Tan in Newark paying half the price for better beds and friendly service. The only reason I stoped was because of their location. Even though the prices were high I gave it a shot. I got into bed 17 (I maybe wrong) it was a lay down bed to the left of the front desk. When I walked into the room it was beyond dirty. There was a layer of dust on the bed and it cob webs in the corner. I honestly should not even have gotten in the bed. But I did. I got in the bed and it was horrible. The face tanner did not turn on and the top felt like it was going to fall on you at anytime. About a minute or so into the tanning session the face tanner kicked on and sounded like the bed was going to explode. It was so loud that I actually jumped up and hurt myself. At that point I got out of the bed and went to the front desk. I told the young women working there (who was the only one in that day and there was no manager) that I would like my money back for the ten tans that I had purchased. I said I was willing to be pay for the 2 minutes or so that I was in the bed but was not willing to EVER go back in one of your beds. She stated she was unable to give me a refund and that she would have the manager [redacted] call me back that evening around 6PM. This was a Saturday. I never heard from the manager and had to call back on the following Tuesday. I spoke to [redacted] and she told me she was unable to issue me a refund that she would have to call the owner. She stated she will call me back by 3PM. At 5:30PM I had to call her back. She did a very lousy job at apologizing for my troubles and did ask to retain my business. I told [redacted] that I appreciated the offer but at this time I would really just like to have my money back. She assured me that my check would be mailed and I would not have to come back into the salon. I trusted her. That was my mistake. After 10 business days of waiting I called the salon back to inform them I had not yet received my check. [redacted] was not in the office and I was told she was the only manager. I asked to be contacted by the owner and [redacted] and was assured someone would call me back. A few more days went by and I still had not heard from anyone. I called back a few more times and spoke to Francesca (who is the only person that I spoke to that was nice and seemed to be willing to help) Francesca left several messages for [redacted] to call me but She did not. Saturday May 10th I called and [redacted] was in the salon. When I asked for her I was put on hold for several minutes. Now mind you this was during my sons first birthday party that I called because I was told [redacted] would be in the office during that time and I wasn't depending on her calling me back. After [redacted] finally picked up the phone I was then told she would have to call me back. I proceeded to tell her that I would not hang up because she never calls me back and I would like to know where my money was. She refused to answer me and then disconnected the call. I called the salon right back and no one answered the phone. About 3 hours later [redacted] did return my call but since I was hosting a party I was unable to take the call. After returning her call several more times the following week and being told she was not in the office I am now contacting the Revdex.com. I have tried to be nice in regards to this situation and only asked for a refund. I will also be contacting my credit card company to dispute the charges on my credit card. I will post this same message on FB and anywhere else that I can in hopes to prevent this from happening to anyone else that might have the mistake of walking into your place of business. I am beyond disgusted with the service and business practice of your company and will continue to make sure it is known to all that will listen. With that being said you can still issue me my refund I can be contacted at [redacted] Thank you for your time. [redacted]Desired Settlement: I would like the company to issue me a refund of the $115.50 that I spent at their store on 4/19. I was told a check will be mailed to me. I would prefer to walk into the store and pick it up. Please notify me when the business has responded.

Review: In January of 2011, myself and a friend went to Hollywood Tans (now called B-Tan) and signed up for a membership. We were told that we had to uphold the contract for at least three months but it could be cancelled after the three months were over. In March 2011, we had gone in to tan and I was told that my account had a charge on it as the system had failed to take it from my bank account. Since the monthly charge is an automatic debit, I had thought the charge had already been taken from my account and did not have the money to pay the charge at the time I went in. I explained to the two girls there, one of which was a manager, that I wasn't able to pay the charge at that time and was told that I would not be able to tan again until that charge was paid.

A couple of months later, it became clear that I was not going to be able to continue my membership as I was not receiving services despite them taking money from my account every month and it just wasn't in my budget. So I went in and talked to the girl working there, who was a manager, and she told me since I hadn't been there that she should be able to work something out to take care of the charge as I had been charged for a few months already without receiving service. I never heard from her again.

In July 2013 I had gone back in to find out what I could do to get rid of the charges and my membership again as I found out I was still being charged. The girl working the counter told me she wasn't authorized to do anything with my account as she wasn't a manager. She took my phone number and told me that her manager, [redacted] would give me a call. I ended up calling them as [redacted] never called me. When I talked to [redacted] she looked at my account and said she should be able to work something out she just needed to talk to the owner and that she'd call me back within a few days. I never heard from her again. The following month I hadn't noticed a charge from them on my account so I figured it was taken care of.

But then in March of 2014, I noticed that I had a charge from them on 3/21/2014. All other previous charges from them have always been made on the third of the month. So I went back through my bank statement and noticed that I was charged twice for 43.99 (the normal amount of my membership) on 3/3/2014 and for 48.99 on 3/21/2014. I was charged again on 4/3/2014 for 43.99. So I called them again as I was unable to physically go to them as I have a infant and babysit another infant as well. On 4/3/2014, I spoke with [redacted] and she took a look at my account as I explained all of this to her as well. She told me that I never should have been told I couldn't come back because I would have been able to the following month with the new monthly charge. She also told me that I had to speak to her manager who wouldn't be there until Saturday 4/5/2014. I explained to her that I no longer lived in the area and would not be able to come to speak with the manager. [redacted] took down my number, told me she'd call her manager to find out what they could do and she would call me right back immediately. I have not heard back from her either nor have I received a call from her manager.

Also, I wanted to note that the friend that went with me did not have to call or go in all when her account was cancelled. When she stopped going in they stopped charging her. The last time I have been there and used their service was 2/2012. I have been charged 43.99 every single month since 1/2012 aside from what I described above. I also wanted to note that when I made a membership with them I was not married yet so their system would have my last name as [redacted].Desired Settlement: It is suspicious to me that I'm having such a hard time getting this issue handled especially because I've talked to numerous people who have all told me they'd take care of my account and yet no one has done so. It is also suspicious to me that my friend signed her contract the same exact day as me yet her contract was automatically terminated when mine was not. Since I have not received any service or product from them since 2/2012 and have been trying to cancel my membership since 2012 I should be refunded the money they have charged me outside of what has been outlined in my contract.

Business

Response:

Our Membership Policy states that a membership is a minimum of three month commitment after that it is ongoing until cancelled in person. We receive a signed consent from all who join, which states all rules of the membership and unless client comes into the salon and signs a cancellation form, membership will remain active. We can not accept cancellations over the phone, fax or email. All cancellations must be done in store in person. In this situation we have however performed a courtesy cancellation for [redacted].

Sent on: 5/20/2014 9:46:16 AM

Consumer

Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted], and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Review: I purchased a 3-month tanning package in May 2013 and was satisfied until I was continually charged every month after for several months. I attempted to cancel the recurring debits this business was taking from my account and was told I could not cancel and even though they were continuing to charge me every month I could not use the tanning packages I was being charged for. The business still continued to charge my account for 2 more months and then twice the next month for a larger amount they were charging me the previous months. When confronting the staff again about this matter I was met with a rude attitude, being told the owner is never around and that was who I needed to speak with, and again they did not know when or how I could cancel and keep this from continuing. My name and number was taken for a second time and the owner was supposed to contact me, which never happened. I work hard for my living and cannot afford to pay for a tanning package I cannot even use. The advertising for this business is misleading and some of the employees are not very friendly. Desired Settlement: I am already working with my bank to resolve the continual charging of my account. I would like to be completely done with this business. I do not want to be charged anymore, I want to know that my name and information is deleted and totally cancelled from their computers and records, etc. I do not want to be involved with the ridiculous way they conduct their business.

In January of 2011, myself and a friend went to Hollywood Tans (now called B-Tan) and signed up for a membership. We were told that we had to uphold the contract for at least three months but it could be cancelled after the three months were over. In March 2011, we had gone in to tan and I was told that my account had a charge on it as the system had failed to take it from my bank account. Since the monthly charge is an automatic debit, I had thought the charge had already been taken from my account and did not have the money to pay the charge at the time I went in. I explained to the two girls there, one of which was a manager, that I wasn't able to pay the charge at that time and was told that I would not be able to tan again until that charge was paid.

A couple of months later, it became clear that I was not going to be able to continue my membership as I was not receiving services despite them taking money from my account every month and it just wasn't in my budget. So I went in and talked to the girl working there, who was a manager, and she told me since I hadn't been there that she should be able to work something out to take care of the charge as I had been charged for a few months already without receiving service. I never heard from her again.

In July 2013 I had gone back in to find out what I could do to get rid of the charges and my membership again as I found out I was still being charged. The girl working the counter told me she wasn't authorized to do anything with my account as she wasn't a manager. She took my phone number and told me that her manager, [redacted] would give me a call. I ended up calling them as [redacted] never called me. When I talked to [redacted] she looked at my account and said she should be able to work something out she just needed to talk to the owner and that she'd call me back within a few days. I never heard from her again. The following month I hadn't noticed a charge from them on my account so I figured it was taken care of.

But then in March of 2014, I noticed that I had a charge from them on 3/21/2014. All other previous charges from them have always been made on the third of the month. So I went back through my bank statement and noticed that I was charged twice for 43.99 (the normal amount of my membership) on 3/3/2014 and for 48.99 on 3/21/2014. I was charged again on 4/3/2014 for 43.99. So I called them again as I was unable to physically go to them as I have a infant and babysit another infant as well. On 4/3/2014, I spoke with [redacted] and she took a look at my account as I explained all of this to her as well. She told me that I never should have been told I couldn't come back because I would have been able to the following month with the new monthly charge. She also told me that I had to speak to her manager who wouldn't be there until Saturday 4/5/2014. I explained to her that I no longer lived in the area and would not be able to come to speak with the manager. [redacted] took down my number, told me she'd call her manager to find out what they could do and she would call me right back immediately. I have not heard back from her either nor have I received a call from her manager.

Also, I wanted to note that the friend that went with me did not have to call or go in all when her account was cancelled. When she stopped going in they stopped charging her. The last time I have been there and used their service was 2/2012. I have been charged 43.99 every single month since 1/2012 aside from what I described above. I also wanted to note that when I made a membership with them I was not married yet so their system would have my last name as [redacted].

Check fields!

Write a review of B-Tan

Satisfaction rating
 
 
 
 
 
Upload here Increase visibility and credibility of your review by adding a photo

B-Tan Rating

Overall satisfaction rating

Description: Tanning Salons

Address: 599 State Road 73, West Berlin, New Jersey, United States, 08091

Phone:

Show more...

Web:

www.btantanningsalons.com


Add contact information for B-Tan

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | New | Updated