Sign in

BJC Healthcare

510 S Kingshighway Blvd, Saint Louis, Missouri, United States, 63110-1016

Sharing is caring! Have something to share about BJC Healthcare? Use RevDex to write a review
Reviews Hospital BJC Healthcare

BJC Healthcare Reviews (%countItem)

• Oct 12, 2021

Problems with billing department
I have Medicare and Transamerica as secondary yet this year I continuously get sent bills my secondary will pay if submitted correctly. Two previous years I had no problems but this year has been a nightmare trying to get them to get right paper sent to my secondary. I refuse to pay the bills till both insurances deny which they have never done after deductibles are paid. One accounting person told me I needed to find the fax number for my secondary insurance as she was doing it as a "favor" for me! Like is this not her job?

A collector called me today the number showed up as spam risk and she asked me for my DOB on an out ound call. You called me and I do not know who you are so not giving that out. Agent screamed at me and HU. All she had to do was say NP here is our return number as for me Maria and I would have done that. Still waiting on a manager to call me back. I have been in upper collections management for 22 years. Very unacceptable agents like Maria give collections a bad name.

I have been trying to resolve these errors on my credit report for over 120 days now. I have disputed these errors with each of you directly to only have the accounts verified without any real investigation. As I stated in my previous 4 letters how WAS my account verified? You’ve all insisted that the accounts were indeed verified with their client S E Emergency Phys Memphis. I have contacted S E Emergency Phys Memphis about these so called debts at both listed locations with certified delivery in which I have provided copies. They have not responded to any of my letters it has been over 2 months. So how can they ignore me for 2 months yet verify with all you guys in less than 3 weeks? I believe that you are just taking the word of a A.R.S than rather to Really looking into the situation properly. I have also enclosed a detailed report of copies of all communications trying to fix these errors. These accounts cannot be validated or verified from the so called source they need to be removed immediately from my credit report.

BJC Healthcare Response • Aug 19, 2020

I reviewed the patients hospital account and it was approved for financial assistance. The bill the patient is referring to is the Emergency Room physician bill. I reached out to my contact at Emergency Room Physicians and they will adjust their bill and remove from collection.

Thank you

Customer Response • Aug 21, 2020

Revdex.com:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely

I was a patient at the Barnes Jewish Rehab hospital in St. Peters four months ago and I was to get a wheelchair. I was measured for the wheelchair, but sent home with a loaner. They told me that the doctor filled the paperwork out incorrectly. I have called the case manager, ***, several times. She has given me different stories, that she would handle it or that she would make a call. Nothing has changed. It is authorized by Medicare and I haven't heard a word from them either.

Customer Response • Jul 22, 2020

Revdex.com:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely

BJC Healthcare Response • Jul 22, 2020

from *** is going to reach out to assist. These services are not billed by BJC Healthcare Hospital billing so accounts and details are not available. Contact info for *** is below.

***

***

Phone:

I was supposed to have surgery tomorrow on my prostate. On Friday I found out it was cancelled. I have been trying to contact the doctor to talk about this, the secretary is so rude. I just want them to contact me to give me an idea of what is going on.

8/13/61 is my date of birth.

BJC Healthcare Response • Jun 22, 2020

Good afternoon, ***.

I am sorry for any inconvenience. By copy of this message, I am passing your request to the clinic manager for response. I believe this will help get your request to *** and ***.

Thank you.

In October, 2019, I made an appointment with an ear doctor. While I was on the phone with them, I had informed them that I COULD NOT pay any out-of-pocket expenses other than the office co-pay. The receptionist assured me that she would verify that whatever the doctor would do WOULD be covered by the insurance company (***). On October 18th, I went to the doctor’s office, the doctor cleaned some wax out of my ear and that was that.

Then I started getting a bill from BJC for $141.00 for "ear wax removal" and, when I told them that I had been told that would be covered, they said that the insurance company considered it a "surgical procedure!" Even the doctor doesn't agree that it was, in any way, a "surgical procedure."

So, I called the insurance company, ***, and they said that was the way the doctor's office had billed it. They also told me that the doctor’s office couldn’t re-bill because the code they used is the only one they could use for that type of service.

I had explained to them that I told the receptionist that I did not want anything done that wasn’t covered, they checked their phone logs, and there had NOT been any calls from the doctor's office prior to, or after, the day of my visit to verify whether the procedure would be covered or not.

So, I called BJC back and spoke to a representative who agreed that I shouldn’t be held responsible for the bill and she was going to send it to someone to review for resolution. She told me that I would be contacted in a few weeks.

THEN, on 4/17, I got a letter from a collection agency saying they placed the account on collection! So, I called BJC back and spoke with another rep and she was going to call the collection agency and tell them to put the account on a 30-day hold so she could do some more investigating. She also sent me an application for financial assistance, which I filled out and sent back on 4/22/2020 which I haven’t heard the status of yet.

On April 20th, I reached out to my company’s Health Advocate for the *** and got them involved with this whole thing. On June 8th, I got a message from them telling me that the charges of $141 weren't covered because it was a plan exclusion.

BJC Healthcare Response • Jun 10, 2020

Thank you for submitting your concern regarding a $141.00 charge. Your issue has been forwarded to our Patient Accounting team for resolution and follow-up.

Best regards.

Customer Response • Jun 10, 2020

Complaint: ***

I am rejecting this response because:

I have been told this so many times since March but the account was still sent to collections. This HAS been forwarded to the appropriate people and I have never heard back. I have already spoken to:

*** on 3/18

*** (twice) 3/18 and 4/17

*** - I didn't put the date but I think it was the day after I spoke with *** the 2nd time. She was the one who said she was going to forward the charges to the

Account Resolution Dept. and call the collection agency to put the account on hold for 30 days.

How many times will they have to "forward" this issue before it gets resolved?? I want this resolved now.

Sincerely

BJC Healthcare Response • Jun 10, 2020

Hello *** --

I am sorry that you have been having this difficulty. I forwarded your concern to department leadership. I am merely the receiver of these matters from the Revdex.com and do not work in the department. The 2 individuals you named are not the leaders I have included.

Please understand, we want nothing more than to resolve your issue ASAP. While I understand why you have rejected my response, the only way I can get you assistance is to involve the department leadership.

Best regards.

Customer Response • Jun 12, 2020

Complaint: ***

I am rejecting this response because:

As I had stated in my previous rejection, I have already been told, many times, that the billing would be forwarded to the resolution team. This "merry-go-round has got to stop. Since I'm really not sure of the procedure for accepting and rejecting responses, I don't want to take the chance of "accepting" a response and the Revdex.com thinking I am okay with this now. So, I will only "accept" a response after I have been contacted, by phone, of the resolution of this by a member of your billing resolution department.

Sincerely

I had an operative procedure medical and cosmetic on September 19, 2019 at Barnes Jewish West County. I was told at the time of my procedure my total out of pocket responsibility for the services supplied by the facility and anesthesiologists was $3,335.00. I gave them my credit card and was billed on my October statement the full amount. I have my statement for proof of payment.
In March 2020 I received a call stating I owed $2,848 because they erroneously refunded me that amount I paid in September. The problem is I never received any refund and asked for proof of the refund. The representative told me it was credited back to my card. I asked for proof of refund and she stated their records just showed a refund but did not have proof.
I stated I was not sending the more money until I had proof. Today, I have received bills from the hospital for more than $35,000 for services that were paid in full on the day of service in agreement for procedures performed.
I can not get this situation corrected since I received first bill two months ago for anesthesia and now a huge hospital bill I do not owe. I have tried through patient billing and they referred me today to a number that has been changed recently which I could not talk to somebody.

BJC Healthcare Response • Jun 18, 2020

Good morning. I am sorry to hear of your billing issue, but appreciate your bringing your concern forward. With this response, I am forwarding your complaint to our Revenue Cycle team for review and handling. I assure you we will make every effort to resolve this matter in a timely fashion.

Best regards.

BJC Healthcare Response • Jun 25, 2020

Dear ***

I apologize for the inconvenience and that you have not been able to get resolution regarding your concern. The refund occurred because your medical insurance through Blue Cross Blue Shield billed and paid in error. When they paid BJC refunded a portion of your payment back to the credit card on file. The receipt is attached. Blue Cross ended up requesting their payment back and denied the claim. We are billing you the originally package service amount minus the $486.41 which is still posted to your account. Once you pay the balance of $2,848.59 we will pay the anesthesiologist directly. I am sorry for any inconvenience this has caused. Please feel free to reach out to me directly with any additional concerns. My email is *** and my direct line is ***.

They are very pushy and rude! I need help finding another agency

This is the second Revdex.com complaint I had to file against Barnes Jewish in order to get business taken care of. Due the constant harassment and negligence of the Barnes Jewish staff, a total of four Federal Trade Commission complaints and now two Revdex.com Complaints.
I have also been in contact with the Compliance Manager for the collection’s company Barnes Jewish uses; whom is tired of answering the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau because of Barnes Jewish’s staff. I have requested MULTIPLE times for ALL outstanding bills to be consolidated into one account with a final bill given to me; this is what I thought the current bill that I am in possession of was. Apparently not, as I have received two collections notices for a bill I have never seen, and another for a bill that my insurance company has reprocessed (which took almost a year for them to do).
I have also requested on MULTIPLE occasions the billing details, based on THE DATE OF SERVICE. The last request was on September 19, 2019 in which the associate that I spoke with did not even understand the request. In fact, I had to give her an example scenario to get her to understand it. The only thing I have ever received was an invoice showing when the insurance processed the claim, which was irrelevant to what I had requested.
I have also sent in updated information FOUR MONTHS AGO to update my financial aid information; which was the basis of the previous Revdex.com complaint in March 2019. I provide check stub information to show that my income dropped over $1600 a month. I was told that it “has been received, but not reviewed” during my phone conversation on September 19th. So why has my financial aid information not been updated in four months? This was even discussed with the representative that Barnes Jewish assigned to me as part of the resolution from the Revdex.com complaint.

BJC Healthcare Response • Nov 04, 2019

We are sorry for your ongoing issue and wish to resolve this matter as soon as possible. With this email, I am alerting leadership in our Revenue Cycle department.

Thank you.

Customer Response • Feb 18, 2020

No one has gotten back from me. Is anyone going to get me the information I have been asking for since November?

BJC Healthcare Response • Feb 19, 2020

Thank you for reaching out and advising us of this issue. I have supplied this information to the department for response. We regret that this matter is still outstanding.

Customer Response • Feb 21, 2020

Complaint: ***

I am rejecting this response because:
It's been over 90 days, the issue should still not be outstanding

Sincerely

BJC Healthcare Response • Feb 21, 2020

WE are trying to help. Given that this is still outstanding we will still engage with the department to resolve.

So they sent me two statements and sent my bill to collections without sending me a notice. I called they couldn’t give me any info on when they sent out information. The lady I spoke with also stated I should have gotten a letter but they never sent me one. I asked her for dates she couldn’t provide them.

BJC Healthcare Response • Oct 30, 2019

Good morning --

Thank you for notifying us of this issue. I have forwarded the matter to our Revenue Cycle Management team for review and response.

BJC Healthcare Response • Oct 30, 2019

An investigation was launched and it was determined that mailing address was updated from 1136 Ash Street Apt B Conway AR to 1919 Clifton Street Conway AR on 7/19/2019. At this time the statement series should have been restarted but was not. This caused the account to move to collection after only two statements. The account has been removed from collection and was not reported to the credit bureau. The patient will begin receiving monthly statements again.

Thank you

I went in for an appointment with my doctor on 5/22/2019. The office visit was $192 and I need the code on it for what they charged for. I need a copy of the regular bill, a copy of the payments from Medicaid, my insurance and from me and a copy showing a $0 balance. I have been requesting this bill since 7/20/19. I have made five requests and they still haven't sent anything. Every time I speak to them and they tell me I will receive. I don't know how much clearer I can be with my request. They sent one receipt with my total payments. I can't use it because it doesn't show what it was paid for. I am trying to get reimbursed. The first check went through on 6/25 and the second check on 8/2.

BJC Healthcare Response • Aug 28, 2019

Good morning. Thank you for alerting us of your concern and your need for documentation related to your visit with your physician on 5/22/2019. Via copy of this email I have forwarded this matter to our Revenue Cycle team who will be able to research this matter for resolution.

Best regards.

I'm writing this to you with hopes that you can help me from the continued harassment about a bill BJC HealthCare, St. Louis, MO keeps sending me about a charge stemming back from January 10, 2018 that I do not owe.

I received a bill from BJC HealthCare *** in May 2019 for an office visit to *** for $186.00 dated January 10, 2018. On May 30, 2019, I called the BJC HealthCare Customer Service and talked with ***. She told me the bill had been submitted to *** first and then to Medicare second. *** is my secondary insurance, so of course they wouldn't pay if Medicare had not paid. *** said to just disregard the bill. BJC was to resubmit the January 10, 2018 bill to Medicare, but since it was so old, she said that Medicare would probably not pay it and I wouldn't be responsible for paying $186.00. Months later, I received notification from Medicare Part B that they would not pay claim *** as the time limit for filing the claim had expired, therefore appeal rights were not applicable for this claim and I would not be charged.

BJC Healthcare Response • Aug 05, 2019

Thank you for advising us of your concern. By copy of this communication, I am alerting our Revenue Cycle team of the issue. Their representatives will be able to research and address the matter.

Barnes Jewish has previously sent me to collections regarding a separate bill that they egregiously mishandled last year. Which I submitted to the Revdex.com for resolution. This is another case of Barnes Jewish not having adequate control of their systems or customer service capabilities to provide a service. Both instances revolved around their online bill pay service which they fail to monitor and control. My family has experienced a number of instances where Barnes is seemingly making money disappear and then claiming that I failed to pay regardless of physical records from my bank existing where Barnes accepted the money from my account.

4/1/19: Paid balance stated on bill for acct, $110

4/3: $110 was removed from checking account

4/19: Received a bill for acct for $110. Called regarding this bill, was given (incorrect) email address to forward our confirmation email. I was told I would receive communication from supervisor, no communication ever came.

5/2: Called to check on progress as I had received no communication on the matter. I spoke to *** and was given a correct email address. Forwarded confirmation email. I was told I would receive communication from supervisor, no communication ever came.

5/3: Called to check on progress, spoke with unknown rep and was told the account balance was $25. I was transferred to ***. I asked if a Revdex.com report was necessary, was assured it was not and she would get rid of the $25 balance and my account would be closed.

5/11: Received a bill for acct for $110

5/13: Spoke to *** who transferred me to supervisor, ***. *** again assured that a Revdex.com report was not necessary and he was closing the account then. I was assured that the account would be closed.

5/14: Called to check progress, spoke to *** who told me the account closure was processing and would be officially closed by end of day 5/15.

6/16: Called to check progress, spoke to ***. *** was unable to locate the account and told me he would call me back in 24 hours. No one ever called.

6/21: I received a bill from *** for a debt of $110. Called Barnes and spoke to supervisor, ***. *** showed a balance of $25 owed, claiming that when I had originally been billed $110 my actual balance was $135. I conceded to pay $25 to close the account and be rid of this frustration. *** assured me that he would cancel the *** account.

6/22: I mailed a debt validity dispute to *** in an effort to cover all bases and ensure my credit will not be damaged by further failures on Barnes Billing Department’s ability to do as promised.

6/24: I rcvd a call from Barnes "business office" claiming that no payment has been made to account #2 for June. Payment was made on 5/31 to Barnes online electronic bill pay for 120.86 and funds removed from my account on 6/3.

BJC Healthcare Response • Jul 15, 2019

By copy of this email I am forwarding this matter to our Revenue Cycle team for review and handling.

***

Director, HR

Customer Response • Jul 16, 2019

Complaint: ***

I am rejecting this response because: I have been told many times that the account is "in review" and it has yet to be dealt with in a satisfactory manner which is what resulted in the Revdex.com complaint in the first place. I will not be satisfied until the account is closed, the account is no longer in collections and I owe no money on this account.

Sincerely

BJC Healthcare Response • Aug 06, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to speak with me on July 26, 2019 regarding your concern. Per our conversation I was able to locate your payment in the amount of $110.00. The payment had not been applied to your account. The current balance on the account is $25.00. I adjusted the $25.00 balance and per our conveisation had your payment of $110.00 posted to another date of service (itemized bill attached). I apologize for the trouble and inconvenience this has caused and will use this as a learning opportunity. Thank you for choosing BJC Healthcare for your hospital needs. Please feel free to reach out to me directly with any additional concerns.

First I do want to say the staff was friendly during my visit and that is appreciated. My issue is I received a bill today from my initial visit on 05/15/2019, and my echocardiogram from 05/17/2019. I must say I was surprised being charged 344.00 to meet with a doctor for 15 minutes. Unfortunately, I make to much to get assistance but am poor enough to live paycheck to paycheck. Next, my echocardiogram was 183.00, which I feel was a fair price even though it only took 10-20 minutes. My issue with this is no one ever called to give me my results. I assumed it was okay due to the lack of a call. Yet I am sure everyone would agree that no matter what area of service provided, it is not okay to charge for a service and not follow through. I do not feel a bill that I will have to make monthly payments on is appropriate when the service that put me in this debt was never complete.

BJC Healthcare Response • Jul 12, 2019

Dear Dispute Resolution Department,

This email is in response to the complaint filed by *** on June 24, 2019 with the Revdex.com off Eastern Missouri and Southern Illinois, complaint ID. We received the customer’s statement, claiming a failure of service because the physician office did not follow through on test results.

Upon investigation of this matter, it was determined that the patient did receive the test results and communicated with the BJC Medical Group provider’s office on multiple occasions. The customer’s procedure was on May 17, 2019. *** sent a message via the secure MyChart Patient Portal on May 21 inquiring about his results to the BJC Medical Group physician’s office. The BJC Medical Group office employee responded on same day, stating that the physician is out of office and that the message will be relayed, and tests results read upon the physician’s return. The BJC Medical Group Office employee replied on May 29 with test results. *** received an email notification on May 29 that a message has been sent to him via the My Chart Patient Portal. *** logged onto portal and viewed the results on June 19, 2019.

This compliant was submitted on June 24, 2019 regarding lack of communication of medical records. But, *** did communicate via the MyChart Patient portal and viewed his results 4 days before this complaint was submitted.

Please confirm receipt of this note and let me know if I can provide anything else to you all.

Sincerely,

--

***

Marketing & Communication Manager

Customer Response • Jul 15, 2019

Complaint: ***

I am rejecting this response because:
The statement that I have been on the site is correct. I have clicked on all the links but do not know what most of them are. If I stumbled apone the results it was on accident and I was not aware of it. I was informed the doctor would get back to me when they were back. I expect a call to go over the results. I want my access deleted as well. I do not want to receive important things over a website.

Sincerely

BJC Healthcare Response • Jul 17, 2019

Would it be possible to find out from the customer the office/physician from whom he/she received the service? Without that it may take some time to identify where to direct this inquiry.

I have also sent this to our Revenue Cycle and Medical Group teams so they might be able to check their records to trace back the appropriate office/physician.

Thank you!

Customer Response • Jul 18, 2019

Complaint: ***

I am rejecting this response because:

This was sent last month and it looks like a back track from the last message from the hospital. I am not going to entertain the idea of providing information to the company who provided the services and bill. This should be in hand before responding.

Sincerely

BJC Healthcare Response • Jul 23, 2019

I can assure that this is not a "backtrack" … I am trying to assist.

*** and RCM are copied here. This customer has not received results from an Echocardiogram conducted 5/17. I know only that this was done at ***. He is requesting a discount for the service (for not having received results) as well as the results report itself.

Please direct this to the appropriate resource for review and handling.

Customer Response • Jul 26, 2019

Complaint: ***

I am rejecting this response because:

My visit was 5/15/2019, almost 3 months later I still can not get a call with my results. Why am I begging for the hospital to give me results? How hard is it to pick up a phone and call me? I received another bill which I am responsible for almost 2,000.00 from a 15 minute echocardiogram. I reached out again via email about this on the website. As you can guess, no response. I think I need to escalate this to the *** or the Joint Commission and hope for a resolution. Looking at the Patients Rights section, it is sad to say many have been broken by this whole thing.

Sincerely

BJC Healthcare Response • Jul 29, 2019

--

This complaint from *** is based on his not receiving the results from his echocardiogram and requesting both the results and adjustment of his bill. I have asked for where he obtained the service. I don't know if it was at a hospital or at a physician's office. He does not wish to share that information. I'd like to be able to get him a response ASAP as this has been going on for a bit.

Is there any way to track this down in Epic to get the right practice/physician's office/hospital to address why he might not have received results OR if results were provided, how was this done? That would then inform the bill handling.

I'm sorry I'm not more help. Not having access to patient information, I am not able to track this down.

Customer Response • Aug 02, 2019

Complaint: ***

I am rejecting this response because:

Updated message on 08/02 from complaint filed on 06/24. Today I recieved a call from a lady from the hospital wanting to collect a debt. I told her I will not discuss the matter. The first message on this complaint was answered by ***. She was able to pull up my account. I still have not recieved a call with my results and would like to take a higher approach to my complaint. I would like to know the appropriate channel to do so. At this point I shouldn't owe anything for this unacceptable service. You did not do anything for me. I might have to reach out for legal advice.

Sincerely

Device check was supposed to be done at Cardiology offices at no charge to me by device maker ***. When I arrived, *** was not there, and device was checked by in-house personnel for which I received a bill for 193.78. This is a classic bait and switch.

BJC Healthcare Response • Jul 15, 2019

This matter has been submitted to our Revenue Cycle team for review and handling.

***

HR Director

In December 2018, I attended to the BJC HealthCare emergency in Saint Peters. I was billed for the service dated 01.24.2019 in the amount of $110.80 and paid on 02.05.2019. Today, April 2, 2019 I was surprised to receive a notice from *** collecting $115.80 for services that I never received a bill for nor was I contacted about being billed twice for attending to the BJC emergency room. I am requesting an explanation for being billed twice and why no one from the billing department following up with me on this error.

BJC Healthcare Response • Apr 23, 2019

GOOD AFTERNOON. I LEFT A MESSAGE FOR THE PATIENT - PATIENT'S CONCERN IS WITH OUR PHYSICIAN'S BILLING DEPARTMENT. SHE CAN CALL THEM AT ***.

Customer Response • Apr 25, 2019

Complaint: ***

I am rejecting this response because: it does not resolve the issue. I paid the bill for emergency services [of which I was placed in the hallway and seen by a nurse, not a doctor] and dismayed as to why I am being threatened by them in reporting me to collections.

Sincerely

BJC Healthcare accepted partial payment of my bill, then mailed notices to an address I do not live at. On Sept 4, 2017 I received a surgery at Barnes Hospital in St. Louis, MO. I established a payment program of $25.00 per month. After several payments I was rendered homeless and called to change my contact information. I also advised that I could not pay the $25.00 per month anymore and a representative advised me to send what I could. We agreed that I would send $5.00 per month. I sent a check and it was cashed. I am now being told to send $25.00 a month again and that being homeless is unacceptable for a home location by Hugh at a company that now identifies itself as Medical Data Systems located at 1374 S. Babcock St., Melborne, FL 32901. Leighkin from the same company advised me that MDS is in fact an extension of BJC's business office on 4-1-2019 at 1138 hours.

BJC Healthcare Response • May 08, 2019

I was made aware of this complaint today. I am submitting this complaint to BJC HealthCare's Revenue Cycle Management department for review and resolution.

***

Director, Human Resources

BJC Healthcare Response • May 29, 2019

I have submitted this complaint to our revenue cycle management team for review and resolution.

***

Director, Human Resources

BJC HealthCare

BJC Healthcare Response • Jun 03, 2019

Please see response letter mailed to Mr. 4/19/2019.

Customer Response • Jun 03, 2019

Revdex.com:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely

I would like to start off by stating that I have had multiple issues with this organization in the last two years. It has gotten to the point to where my insurance company has gotten involved and investigated claims, the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, and the Federal Trade Commission have become involved in investigating this organization as well.
Late June 2018 I received a bill for services in April 2018. I am not contesting that portion. I did however receive a bill for services in July 2017 (nearly a full year later) that were covered 100% under my insurance policy, and were billed to me in error. I wrote three letters (one of them certified) to the address provided on the billing statement; requesting financial assistance for the April 2018 billing portion, and requesting reprocessing for the July 2017 billing error.
In the letters I also included my mailing address, phone number, and email address for correspondence. Since I have NEVER received a response through any of those means, it is currently a refusal of service. At the base of the matter; some employee is responsible for retrieving the mail from the mail box or drawer, some employee is responsible for OPENING the letters to process the contents, therefor some employee should have notified the appropriate personnel as to the requests. As I stated, this is refusal of service, due to negligence of YOUR employees.
In the meantime, I had been contacted by my case manager with my insurance company mid-September 2018 (four months after first contact from your organization). She was the one who researched the billing error to let me know the claim was covered in full through my policy from July 2017, and stated I needed to reach out to your organization to notify YOU of YOUR error. At the end of the conversation, since I had not received any correspondence in regards to any of the inquiries; she reached out to your billing department to correct the issue.
We also have further problems with the services provide in July 2017. These were for lab services with your transplant program, which were 100% covered by my insurance policy. September 2017 I receive a call from my case manager with my insurance company, stating that I was soon to be ejected from YOUR program due to “noncompliance” and that I needed to follow up with her contact in YOUR office to correct the error. Following up with a phone call to your representative, she made slanderous statements about me (to me), refused to explain statements she had made when questioned, and went as far as to say “I’m not going to answer that” when asked specific questions about my case. She was excessively rude and disrespectful to me on the phone, to the point where I had to end the conversation.
The point comes down to; according to YOUR representative I never performed the labs, so why would I be billed for them? Did you file a fraudulent insurance claim for services never performed? The facts actually point to your representative telling me information about me that was false (slander), but providing a liable statement to my insurance company which endangered me from losing my coverage for these services in the future. It was also such a gross error, that it took ALMOST A YEAR to find out that your organization billed it in error.
At this point it is October 2018 and we have corrected the billing error from July 2017, but I still have not received any correspondence about the bill from April 2018. I had an outpatient surgery late October 2018, which I received a bill for during the holidays in December 2018. The bill included the April 2018 statement as well, the July 2017 statement had been removed. I again sent a written correspondence requesting financial assistance. I received a phone call from a male representative, just to inform me that I had a billing statement sent to me. I spoke with him about the situation, and let him know that I have yet to receive the financial assistance information. He was very understanding, and gave me a local number to speak with someone about not getting the information I requested.
On December 26, 2018 I spoke with a representative named ***. She was very argumentative and disrespectful on the phone (which is a trend with your organization), but I requested the forms for financial assistance as well as a UB04 form for my outpatient surgery. I had never received either document. I called again at the end of January, and spoke with a very helpful representative. I let her know I did not receive the financial assistance forms, she noted that they had been sent, but she would send them again. Those forms were received late evening February 8, 2019. I again asked about the UB04 form for my outpatient surgery, she informed me that the form could not be released, and could not give me a reason why.
I received a call on February 11, 2019 from an arrogant representative named Tia. I informed her that I had asked for financial assistance TWICE verbally (not counting the four times in writing), just received the forms a few days prior and need time to fill them out plus get the information requested in the form (tax information, pay stubs, etc). She informed me that she was not going to hold the account; even though I had requested financial assistance SIX WEEKS prior to the phone call with her, the statement in the forms that I had to return them WITHIN thirty days, and that it could take up to thirty days to process. As of the time of this complaint, I have not received any other information (besides a bill with no reflection of assistance). The forms were mailed on February 14, 2019 certified and trackable.
I do want to make a side note as to why all the requests I have made were in writing. It goes back to verbal harassment from a doctor in May 2017 that was escalated to *** Claims and Fraud department after it was “investigated” by your organization. Your agents in the billing and claims department we SO RUDE and uncooperative to my case worker with ***, that he could no longer speak with your representatives. He stated he would send all other information by letter, recommended that any further communications I had be in writing so I had a paper trail, and that I could CC my insurance company in. Seeing how my insurance company is the primary payer on my account (paying upwards of 80%), why are your representatives being so uncooperative? Due to the actions of your representatives, that account has a complaint registered with the Federal Trade Commission.

BJC Healthcare Response • Apr 30, 2019

Tell u
I have spoken with the Revdex.com representative and as of today, I am forwarding this matter to BJC HealthCare's Revenue Cycle department for review and resolution. I will request expedited handling of this matter.

Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention.

***

Director, Human Resources

BJC HealthCare

BJC Healthcare Response • May 01, 2019

We are submitting response letter, copy of insurance explanation of benefits and zero balance billing statements as response to this Revdex.com complaint.
May 1, 2019

***
***
***

Regarding Revdex.com Complaint # ***

Dear ***,

This letter serves as a response to your Revdex.com complaint in regards to billing issues pertaining to dates of service April 22, 2018 and July 31, 2017. Let me begin by offering my most sincere apologies for having not met your expectations of service. We strive to deliver the kind of care and service that exceeds the expectations of our patients and want to know any instances where we may fall short of those standards.

I could not locate any written correspondence from you in our files as reference in your letter to the Revdex.com. Your accounts for April 22, 2018 and July 31, 2017 were billed to your insurance company in accordance to the BJC Healthcare billing guidelines. The balances for April 22, 2018 ($1089.00) and July 31, 2017 ($197.28) on both of your accounts were regarded as patient responsibility per your insurance company. I have enclosed a copy of the Insurance Remittance/Explanation of Benefits for your records. I adjusted both accounts combined total amount of $2,177.28 and enclosed a copy of the billing statements for your records.

I am forwarding a copy of Revdex.com complaint to the Barnes-Jewish Hospital Office of Patient Affairs to follow up with you to address your concerns as described in your DESIRED SETTLEMENT section of your letter to the Revdex.com.

Thank You for raising your concerns. I apologize if I was not able to resolve all of your concerns.

Sincerely,

***
Supervisor, RCM Customer Service

Customer Response • May 02, 2019

Complaint: ***

I am rejecting this response because:

BJC representative has failed to acknowledge the root cause of the complaint. BJC representative only spoke of what the insurance paid and "patient responsibility". Keep in mind HALF the charges are still being investigated by my insurance provider (as they have had verbal deposition since June 2017, and written deposition March 2018). BJC representative failed to acknowledge misconduct from BJC agents and representatives that I have documented proof of. BJC representative failed to acknowledge that I am entitled to compensation for TWO YEARS worth of having to argue with BJC agents, filing complaints with multiple organizations (my insurance company, ***), and cost of postage (so I have poof of delivery and proof that my correspondence have been ignored).
I will work with the agent who spoke with me, and claimed to open multiple investigations internally. This is the last change for BJC to come up with a compromise with ALL open issues and make reparations before I have to take legal action.
Sincerely

I received the enclosed bill on Friday, February 22, 2019 stating I owe $194.00. I called the Rehabilitation Institute of St. Louis and told them I paid what I owed in 2016. They told me that was incorrect. Before I took the treatment, they said I was covered.

BJC Healthcare Response • Mar 12, 2019

Thank you for forwarding. I am forwarding this matter to our Revenue Cycle department, which handles our billing, for research and resolution.

***

Director, Human Resources

BJC Healthcare Response • Apr 30, 2019

I have spoken with the Revdex.com representative and as of today, I am forwarding this matter to BJC HealthCare's Revenue Cycle department for review and resolution. I will request expedited handling of this matter.

Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention.

***

Director, Human Resources

BJC HealthCare

BJC Healthcare Response • May 01, 2019

I am responding on behalf of BJC Healthcare. We do not bill for services at Rehabilitation Institute of St. Louis. The facility responsible for the attached bill is ***. I left a voice message for Director ***. Please contact them to resolve this Revdex.com issue. Thank You.

I had my left knee replaced at *** which is part of the BJC Healthcare network on June 28th 2018. I have been making $25.00 payments every month since receiving my first billing statement. I requested financial assistance and had not received a bill since applying. I received from BJC Healthcare on 1/22/2019 stating that I had been approved for financial assistance that reduced my bill to $663.10, but had not ever received another billing statement. Then today I received a Collection notice from *** phone ***. BJC Healthcare did not even contact me to let me know that there was a problem with my payment arrangements. They just turned me over to a collection agency without sending me a billing statement. The Account#*** from *** date of service was 6/28/2018 balance due is $663.10. As you know this is not my first complaint against BJC Billing. I am so tired of BJC billing giving me such treatment. I have always paid my bills on time when they do send me monthly statements, but they did not bother to send me a statement after I was approved for financial assistance. But instead sent me straight to COLLECTIONS!!! That is not the way to treat Customers at all.

BJC Healthcare Response • Feb 10, 2019

Good afternoon. I have forwarded this to my manager for review as requested.

Check fields!

Write a review of BJC Healthcare

Satisfaction rating
 
 
 
 
 
Upload here Increase visibility and credibility of your review by adding a photo

BJC Healthcare Rating

Overall satisfaction rating

Address: 510 S Kingshighway Blvd, Saint Louis, Missouri, United States, 63110-1016

Phone:

Show more...

Fax:

+1 (314) 996-3610
+1 (636) 916-9414
+1 (573) 860-2696
+1 (314) 454-2101
+1 (618) 463-7850
+1 (618) 257-6946
+1 (636) 344-1124

Web:

This website was reported to be associated with BJC Healthcare.


This website was reported to be associated with BJC Healthcare.


This website was reported to be associated with BJC Healthcare.


This website was reported to be associated with BJC Healthcare.


This website was reported to be associated with BJC Healthcare.


This website was reported to be associated with BJC Healthcare.


This website was reported to be associated with BJC Healthcare.


This website was reported to be associated with BJC Healthcare.


This website was reported to be associated with BJC Healthcare.


This website was reported to be associated with BJC Healthcare.




Add contact information for BJC Healthcare

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | New | Updated