Sign in

Blackstone Career Institute

Sharing is caring! Have something to share about Blackstone Career Institute? Use RevDex to write a review
Reviews Blackstone Career Institute

Blackstone Career Institute Reviews (18)

Dear Revdex.comAs a school licensed by the Pennsylvania Department of Education, Division of Higher and Career Education, nationally accredited by the Accrediting Commission of the Distance Education and Training Council, Washington, D.C., and regionally accredited by the Middle States Commission on Secondary Schools, Philadelphia, PA , I am hard pressed to accept any statement that describes our Lesson Legal Assistant/Paralegal Program as "completely out of date" and "subpar" Furthermore, the course is licensed as a clock-hour program which enables our graduates to sit for the CLA exam that requires at least clock-hours of paralegal education On a yearly basis we graduate hundreds of students who are able to find employment in the paralegal field and we receive countless testimonials indicating high student satisfaction with the school and paralegal program [redacted] completed his online enrollment into the paralegal program on February 07, with the receipt of his payment and e-signed Enrollment Agreement He was a full-pay enrollment and his online enrollment was processed during our following business day's activity; Monday, Physical textbooks were mailed and online access was grantedIn an email dated 02.12.14, [redacted] expressed some difficulty in gaining access to our online student center One of our staff was able to help resolve his lissue by resending his enrollment documents Please refer to Document A to view his Enrollment Agreement From that initial enrollment date, [redacted] was contacted several times; BCI emailed a Welcome Letter with student ID, a member of staff emailed a non-start letter on 03.21.14, and a system motivation letter was mailed on At that point in time, [redacted] is what we would refer to as a non-start student However, on 04.02.14, [redacted] attempted his first exam in Volume I; Exam0101A - Introduction To Law He failed this first attempt scoring a 65% As is our policy, [redacted] was allowed to retake the exam and while passing the exam on the second try, he was given a maximum score of 70% as is our retesting policy Please see Document B At no time until the receipt of his Revdex.com complaint were we ever requested to cancel his program Had he requested to cancel, we would have processed his cancellation according to the terms of his agreement and issued his refund All of this is clearly stated on his copy of the Enrollment Agreement and within our website.Blackstone Career Institute received an email dated which clearly attempts to influence Blackstone into a $settlement payment or risk being taken to small claims court See document C Upon receipt of [redacted] s latest email we triggerred the cancellation of his account Even now Blackstone does not have any correspondence indicating a request to cancel Once we were made aware that his intention to cancel, the request was implemented according to the terms of the agreement Attached please find document D which fully explains the amount of refund [redacted] is entitled to and how the cancellation was calculated The Blackstone Student Protection Policy on the back of [redacted] s Enrollment Agreement fully explains how an account would be cancelled The agreement also provides the timing on making such refund payments.Obviously [redacted] choose to ignore this direction We will process his cancellation and refund all appropriate monies.See attachments[redacted] General ManagerLet me know if the attachments did not come through correctly

+1

From: [redacted] < [redacted] >Date: Thu, Dec 11, at 10:AMSubject: PLEASE WITHDRAW COMPLAINT - ID [redacted] .To: "[email protected]" I just heard from the company and they have made it rightThe posting was an error – it was a credit and not a debit [redacted] *

Revdex.com: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted] , and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me Regards, [redacted] **

October 1, 2014Dear [redacted] ***;We are in receipt of the Revdex.com complaint filed on Friday, September 26, by [redacted] ***After completing an analysis of her account and the available documents, we are fairly certain that Blackstone Career Institute did not assign her student account to an agency; causing the credit issue Sandra has claimedIt is also our belief that Sandra may not know or is confused as to who is responsible for the credit dingerWhile Sandra has had no contact with our institution since her graduation on July 11, 2006, we will do what we can do to help her resolve this issueIncluded with this reply is a copy of the email that was sent out earlier today to Sandra as a follfrom a call I made to her yesterday, We will pursue any additional leads once the requested information has been received from Sandra.Regards,Paul G

January 23, 2017Revdex.com serving Metro Washington DC and Eastern Pennsylvania West North Street Bethlehem, PA 18018-Dear *** ***: *** ***’s complaint states in his opening paragraph that he “briefly enrolled at Blackstone Career Institute until I was “denied services”. It is true
is that *** *** was briefly enrolled in our program. However, it is incorrect when he states we “denied services”. Blackstone Career Institute does not have the authority to approve or deny services under Chapter 35. That determination falls to the Department of Veterans Affairs and it is their classification of our school and programs that dictated *** *** could not use Chapter funds for our program. Please refer to Exhibit A where you will see that Blackstone Career Institute is classified, under the Department of Veterans Affairs, as a Correspondence type program. Additionally, *** *** is further confused when he makes the statement: “I did not enroll in the correspondence course at BCI. My intent was to enroll in the Online Paralegal Assistance program 900+ clock hours” Here *** *** is confusing our designated program type assigned to our institution with a method in which course content is delivered. Our courses are offered online but our institution is classified as a “correspondence” program in the eyes of the Department of Veterans Affairs. *** *** does not meet the requirements under the provision he sought. He is neither a spouse nor a surviving spouse of the veteran whose benefits he is attempting to use. *** *** is the son of the veteran and by rule he does not qualify to use Chapter funds for any of our programs. Please refer to Exhibit B, VA Form 22-5490, Part III. Correspondence Course (DEA children not eligible) *** *** states in his complaint that “I am currently withdrawn from this school because I’m not the veteran’s spouse”. True. He is not a spouse or a surviving spouse and therefore does not qualify for funding. However, the fact is that when *** *** was informed that he did not qualify for VA benefits under Chapter and that he would need to pay the tuition himself, he asked to cancel in an email dated December 23, 2016. *** *** also indicated he could not afford to pay for the tuition on his own. Had he been able to pay the tuition himself, he would have been able to stay on as a BCI paralegal student. Please refer to Exhibit CPer the complaint submitted, *** *** claims there is a $Disputed AmountI do not know how that is possible since we processed a complete refund of his $down payment to his credit card. This refund credit was processed on our first day back from our holiday break, which was December 27, 2016. Please refer to Exhibit DBCI is proactive in providing essential information on the use and qualifications of funding. Please refer to Exhibit E, which is part of our Benefits and Eligibility page on our website, and clearly states spouses onlyI suggest *** *** contact any school, college or university not classified as Correspondence in order to use the benefits he is entitled to under the Department of Veterans AffairsAnd as mentioned above, if he has the ability to pay for the program on his own, he could certainly do soSincerely, Paul G*** General Manager Blackstone Career Institute

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]
 Complaint: [redacted]
I am rejecting this response because: Refunds need to be issued to [redacted] used to pay for the transaction.
Regards,
[redacted]

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]
Revdex.com:
I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted], and find that...

this resolution is satisfactory to me.Complaint has been resolved.
Regards,
[redacted]

From: [redacted] <[redacted]>Date: Thu, Dec 11, 2014 at 10:33 AMSubject: PLEASE WITHDRAW COMPLAINT - ID [redacted].To: "[email protected]" <[email protected]> I just heard from the company and they have made it right. The posting was an error – it was a...

credit and not a debit. [redacted] [redacted] ** ** ** ** ** *

[redacted],Director [redacted] has agree to [redacted]'s request that the refund of $900.00 be credited directly back to the credit card used during his initial enrollment.  This is the card ending in [redacted] with an expiration date of 10/2015.  (BCI) will process his refund provided [redacted] agrees that the payment will serve as full and complete satisfaction to the letter of demand originally submitted on Monday 05.12.14 and that by depositing and/or use of these funds it will constitute agreement to his full satisfaction and release of (BCI) from any further obligation or responsibility.Upon receipt of agreement and acceptance through the Revdex.com, we will immediately transact the refund.  If the acceptance is received during the weekend, we will transact the refund during our next business day's activity.Thank you for your assistance in this matter,[redacted]General ManagerBlackstone Career Institute

Dear Revdex.comAs a school licensed by the Pennsylvania Department of Education, Division of Higher and Career Education, nationally accredited by the Accrediting Commission of the Distance Education and Training Council, Washington, D.C., and regionally accredited by the Middle States Commission...

on Secondary Schools, Philadelphia, PA , I am hard pressed to accept any statement that describes our 31 Lesson Legal Assistant/Paralegal Program as "completely out of date" and "subpar".  Furthermore, the course is licensed as a 915 clock-hour program which enables our graduates to sit for the CLA exam that requires at least 900 clock-hours of paralegal education.  On a yearly basis we graduate hundreds of students who are able to find employment in the paralegal field and we receive countless testimonials indicating high student satisfaction with the school and paralegal program.   [redacted] completed his online enrollment into the paralegal program on February 07, 2014 with the receipt of his payment and e-signed Enrollment Agreement.  He was a full-pay enrollment and his online enrollment was processed during our following business day's activity; Monday, 02.10.14. Physical textbooks were mailed and online access was granted. In an email dated 02.12.14, [redacted] expressed some difficulty in gaining access to our online student center.  One of our staff was able to help resolve his log-on issue by resending his enrollment documents.  Please refer to Document A to view his Enrollment Agreement.  From that initial enrollment date, [redacted] was contacted several times; BCI emailed a Welcome Letter with student ID, a member of staff emailed a non-start letter on 03.21.14, and a system motivation letter was mailed on 03.26.14.  At that point in time, [redacted] is what we would refer to as a non-start student.  However, on 04.02.14, [redacted] attempted his first exam in Volume I; Exam0101A - Introduction To Law.  He failed this first attempt scoring a 65%.  As is our policy, [redacted] was allowed to retake the exam and while passing the exam on the second try, he was given a maximum score of 70% as is our retesting policy.  Please see Document B.   At no time until the receipt of his Revdex.com complaint were we ever requested to cancel his program.  Had he requested to cancel, we would have processed his cancellation according to the terms of his agreement and issued his refund.  All of this is clearly stated on his copy of the Enrollment Agreement and within our website.Blackstone Career Institute received an email dated 05.12.14 which clearly attempts to influence Blackstone into a $900.00 settlement payment or risk being taken to small claims court.  See document C.  Upon receipt of [redacted]s latest email we triggerred the cancellation of his account.  Even now Blackstone does not have any correspondence indicating a request to cancel.  Once we were made aware that his intention to cancel, the request was implemented according to the terms of the agreement .  Attached please find document D which fully explains the amount of refund [redacted] is entitled to and how the cancellation was calculated.  The Blackstone Student Protection Policy on the back of [redacted]s Enrollment Agreement fully explains how an account would be cancelled.  The agreement also provides the timing on making such refund payments.Obviously [redacted] choose to ignore this direction.  We will process his cancellation and refund all appropriate monies.See attachments.[redacted]General ManagerLet me know if the attachments did not come through correctly.

+1

Revdex.com:
I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted], and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 
Regards,
[redacted]

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]
Revdex.com:
I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted], and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 
Regards,
[redacted]

October 1, 2014Dear [redacted];We are in receipt of the Revdex.com complaint filed on Friday, September 26, 2014 by [redacted]. After completing an analysis of her account and the available documents, we are fairly certain that Blackstone Career Institute did not assign her student...

account to an agency; causing the credit issue Sandra has claimed. It is also our belief that Sandra may not know or is confused as to who is responsible for the credit dinger. While Sandra has had no contact with our institution since her graduation on July 11, 2006, we will do what we can do to help her resolve this issue. Included with this reply is a copy of the email that was sent out earlier today to Sandra as a follow-up from a call I made to her yesterday, We will pursue any additional leads once the requested information has been received from Sandra.Regards,Paul G

Review: I was told if I paid off my tuition early, I would receive a discount. I paid it off six (6) months early and instead of a discount, received an ADDITIONAL $34.00 fee tacked on to the payment. The company called it a "handling fee." This "handling fee" was never disclosed to me prior to making the payment.Desired Settlement: I want my $34.00 credited back to my account.

Consumer

Response:

From: [redacted] <[redacted]>Date: Thu, Dec 11, 2014 at 10:33 AMSubject: PLEASE WITHDRAW COMPLAINT - ID [redacted].To: "[email protected]" <[email protected]> I just heard from the company and they have made it right. The posting was an error – it was a credit and not a debit. [redacted]

Review: December 2, 2013

RE: 3-Month Delayed Refund

Dear Sir or Madam:

Please accept this letter as a formal complaint. I would like to make a complaint at this time with this agency against Blackstone Career Institute., which is located In Allentown, PA.

On or about 8-3-2013 I sent a check in the amount of $99-00 to B.C.I. towards a tuition payment for a paralegal course- Ten days later I received a letter from the student services advisor, [redacted], and a tuition agreement form, **. [redacted] explained in her letter that I must pay an additional $61.00 balance payment. Five days after I received the letter from **, [redacted], I contacted my mother [redacted], who lives in Steelton, PA and had her send B.C.I. the balance payment.

Consequently, I never received any other correspondence or a refund. I wrote several letters within the last two months and my mother has called also, but nothing has happened. My mother is upset and I am as well because it doesn't make any sense. I'm not sure what the problem is, but I would like to receive a full refund of $160.00 without any further delay.

Please assist me in this matter.

Thank you for your time and consideration.Desired Settlement: {Please see attachment.}

Business

Response:

December 19, 2013

Dear [redacted]:

I have reviewed the complaint dated October 10, 2013 and our response is as follows:

We do not know why **. [redacted]’s letter indicates a 3-month delayed refund. **. [redacted]s was not even enrolled in our school until October 7, 2013 and the delay was due to **. [redacted]s not having submitted the required down payment. His request to cancel letter was dated October 3, 2013 and received after that date. As is our policy, we began the cancellation process and determined that he would be due a refund of $160.00 based upon the amount paid to date on his account and Blackstone Career Institutes cancellation policy. The refund request was submitted to our accounts payable department and a refund check (#[redacted]) was processed on October 16, 2013. The refund check was mailed to [redacted]s, [redacted] on that same date. The check was issued to [redacted]s because she was listed on the student’s account as his sponsor. In researching the status of the refund check, our bank provided a transaction image copy of the check indicating that it had indeed been cashed. The check was signed by [redacted]s. Enclosed please find copies of **. [redacted]’s enrollment welcome letter, his Enrollment Agreement, his letter requesting to cancel, BCI’s cancellation processing letter and a copy of the cancelled check.

Upon review please let me know it this complaint has been satisfied with the information provided.

Sincerely,

Review: This is what happened on this situation...I sent a payment for $25.00 to the wrong state, but correct city and zip code. I owe Black stone Career institute $555.00 on books that were sent to me and only received one statement from them. I am trying to make a difference on my credit report by paying this bill. I have not heard by mail, email or phone call on the payment that I have made.Desired Settlement: I would like a phone call, or email by Blackstone Career Institute.

Business

Response:

October 1, 2014Dear [redacted];We are in receipt of the Revdex.com complaint filed on Friday, September 26, 2014 by [redacted]. After completing an analysis of her account and the available documents, we are fairly certain that Blackstone Career Institute did not assign her student account to an agency; causing the credit issue Sandra has claimed. It is also our belief that Sandra may not know or is confused as to who is responsible for the credit dinger. While Sandra has had no contact with our institution since her graduation on July 11, 2006, we will do what we can do to help her resolve this issue. Included with this reply is a copy of the email that was sent out earlier today to Sandra as a follow-up from a call I made to her yesterday, We will pursue any additional leads once the requested information has been received from Sandra.Regards,Paul G

Consumer

Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response. If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted], and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

Review: Paid $1,009.00 in Tuition for the Paralegal Certificate Program. When the materials arrived they were completely out of date and subpar. It isn't a 920 hour program like they advertise it is an 80 hour program and test answers can be found online. If people use this program to become paralegals then it is no wonder why the legal profession is completely corrupt.Desired Settlement: Refund of my full tuition immediately $1,009.00

Business

Response:

Dear Revdex.comAs a school licensed by the Pennsylvania Department of Education, Division of Higher and Career Education, nationally accredited by the Accrediting Commission of the Distance Education and Training Council, Washington, D.C., and regionally accredited by the Middle States Commission on Secondary Schools, Philadelphia, PA , I am hard pressed to accept any statement that describes our 31 Lesson Legal Assistant/Paralegal Program as "completely out of date" and "subpar". Furthermore, the course is licensed as a 915 clock-hour program which enables our graduates to sit for the CLA exam that requires at least 900 clock-hours of paralegal education. On a yearly basis we graduate hundreds of students who are able to find employment in the paralegal field and we receive countless testimonials indicating high student satisfaction with the school and paralegal program. [redacted] completed his online enrollment into the paralegal program on February 07, 2014 with the receipt of his payment and e-signed Enrollment Agreement. He was a full-pay enrollment and his online enrollment was processed during our following business day's activity; Monday, 02.10.14. Physical textbooks were mailed and online access was granted. In an email dated 02.12.14, [redacted] expressed some difficulty in gaining access to our online student center. One of our staff was able to help resolve his log-on issue by resending his enrollment documents. Please refer to Document A to view his Enrollment Agreement. From that initial enrollment date, [redacted] was contacted several times; BCI emailed a Welcome Letter with student ID, a member of staff emailed a non-start letter on 03.21.14, and a system motivation letter was mailed on 03.26.14. At that point in time, [redacted] is what we would refer to as a non-start student. However, on 04.02.14, [redacted] attempted his first exam in Volume I; Exam0101A - Introduction To Law. He failed this first attempt scoring a 65%. As is our policy, [redacted] was allowed to retake the exam and while passing the exam on the second try, he was given a maximum score of 70% as is our retesting policy. Please see Document B. At no time until the receipt of his Revdex.com complaint were we ever requested to cancel his program. Had he requested to cancel, we would have processed his cancellation according to the terms of his agreement and issued his refund. All of this is clearly stated on his copy of the Enrollment Agreement and within our website.Blackstone Career Institute received an email dated 05.12.14 which clearly attempts to influence Blackstone into a $900.00 settlement payment or risk being taken to small claims court. See document C. Upon receipt of [redacted]s latest email we triggerred the cancellation of his account. Even now Blackstone does not have any correspondence indicating a request to cancel. Once we were made aware that his intention to cancel, the request was implemented according to the terms of the agreement . Attached please find document D which fully explains the amount of refund [redacted] is entitled to and how the cancellation was calculated. The Blackstone Student Protection Policy on the back of [redacted]s Enrollment Agreement fully explains how an account would be cancelled. The agreement also provides the timing on making such refund payments.Obviously [redacted] choose to ignore this direction. We will process his cancellation and refund all appropriate monies.See attachments.[redacted]General ManagerLet me know if the attachments did not come through correctly.

Consumer

Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Review: [redacted]

I am rejecting this response because: Refunds need to be issued to [redacted] used to pay for the transaction.

Regards,

Business

Response:

[redacted],Director [redacted] has agree to [redacted]'s request that the refund of $900.00 be credited directly back to the credit card used during his initial enrollment. This is the card ending in [redacted] with an expiration date of 10/2015. (BCI) will process his refund provided [redacted] agrees that the payment will serve as full and complete satisfaction to the letter of demand originally submitted on Monday 05.12.14 and that by depositing and/or use of these funds it will constitute agreement to his full satisfaction and release of (BCI) from any further obligation or responsibility.Upon receipt of agreement and acceptance through the Revdex.com, we will immediately transact the refund. If the acceptance is received during the weekend, we will transact the refund during our next business day's activity.Thank you for your assistance in this matter,[redacted]General ManagerBlackstone Career Institute

Consumer

Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted], and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

Review: Up until yesterday I was able to log in as a student with no problems. Now when I try to, I get webpage not found. I call/email Blackstone Career Institute several times today to no avail. no one returns my phone calls or emails. I am over half way into a paralegal online course, a course that I used my benefits under the Post 9/11 GI Bill to pay $1214.00 for the course and materials. I am concerned that this school may have misled me and the VA as to this course.Desired Settlement: For the school to fix this or reimburse the VA for the money they took. They have a problem with their website that needs to be fixed ASAP.

Consumer

Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response. If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted], and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Complaint has been resolved.

Regards,

Check fields!

Write a review of Blackstone Career Institute

Satisfaction rating
 
 
 
 
 
Upload here Increase visibility and credibility of your review by
adding a photo
Submit your review

Blackstone Career Institute Rating

Overall satisfaction rating

Description: Online Education, Schools - Academic - Colleges & Universities

Address: 1011 Brookside Rd Ste 300, Allentown, Pennsylvania, United States, 18106-9042

Phone:

Show more...

Web:

www.blackstone.edu

This site can’t be reached

Shady, yet now dead: once upon a time this website was reported to be associated with Blackstone Career Institute, but after several inspections we’ve come to the conclusion that this domain is no longer active.



Add contact information for Blackstone Career Institute

Add new contacts
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | New | Updated