Sign in

B&M Motorcars

Sharing is caring! Have something to share about B&M Motorcars? Use RevDex to write a review
Reviews B&M Motorcars

B&M Motorcars Reviews (11)

• Dec 03, 2019

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the responseIf no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved] Complaint: [redacted] I am rejecting this response because: The issue continued despite the resetting of the module to give the appearance that the issue was resolvedUpon my second return, I was told that I would be charged $+ dollars and that I would have to pay 50%I awaited for the part to be ordered; unfortunately, that Service Mgrno longer worked thereSecondly, when I revisited this dealership, it was repaired, see attachment, and this cost is much different then the first quoteLastly, upon the last visit, due to safety inspection for the month of May, I was told that they, B & M Motors, by the owner, that they would reset it in order for me to pass inspection and that if the light came back on afterwards, then they again would repair said itemThis action was to no avail due to the continual illumination of the aforementioned "Service Air Bag" light after trying to reset itIf the corrective action was initially taken and repaired correctly, I would "NOT" be experiencing this ongoing problem Regards, [redacted]

• Nov 22, 2019

We apologize for the tardiness in response to the letter and emails in reference to complaint ID [redacted] We have reviewed the complaint and we are glad to announce to you that the situation has been addressedThe vehicle is back in our possession and we have refunded the customer his down payment We hope this brings a close to this issueAny further questions or concerns please contact us at ###-###-####Sincerely,

To whom it may concern;
In reply to complaint #***
In we the dealership sold *** *** the vehicle there was no such disclosure on ***, so we had no way of knowing the situationI am enclosing a copy of the *** to show that they only started reporting this in any
questions feel free to call us at ###-###-####

6-5-15
To Whom it May Concern, 
In reference to case # [redacted] the complaint in question was showed on several occasions even though the warranty on the vehicle in one month or 1000 miles.  The first time was free, the second time was only 50/50 even though the warranty had...

expired.  I was enclosing a copy of the warranty signed by the customer.  If you have any question please feel free to call the dealership anytime at [redacted].Sincerely,

We apologize for the tardiness in response to the letter and emails in reference to complaint ID [redacted]. We have reviewed the complaint and we are glad to announce to you that the situation has been addressed. The vehicle is back in our possession and we have refunded the customer his down...

payment.  We hope this brings a close to this issue. Any further questions or concerns please contact us at ###-###-####. Sincerely,

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]
 Complaint: [redacted]
I am rejecting this response because:
The issue continued despite the resetting of the module to give the appearance that the issue was resolved. Upon my second return, I was told that I would be charged $400 + dollars and that I would have to pay 50%. I awaited for the part to be ordered; unfortunately, that Service Mgr. no longer worked there. Secondly, when I  revisited this dealership, it was repaired, see attachment, and this cost is much different then the first quote. Lastly, upon the last visit, due to safety inspection for the month of May, I was told that they, B & M Motors, by the owner, that they would reset it in order for me to pass inspection and that if the light came back on afterwards, then they again would repair said item. This action was to no avail due to the continual illumination of the aforementioned "Service Air Bag" light after trying to reset it. If the corrective action was initially taken and repaired correctly, I would "NOT" be experiencing this ongoing problem.
Regards,
[redacted]

Review: I drove to right at 4 hrs to Leesburg, VA to B&M Motorcars to purchase a 2008 Toyota Avalon XL that turned out to be a smokers vehicle, not clean upon arrival, no floor mats, only one remote key as the remote is on the key and no ignition key. These things are mentioned as they were believe to have been available during the number of telephone calls to arrive at a sales price before leaving home to purchase the car. The car was cleaned, but no mats ($125.00 Value) were provided and no 2nd key remote a value of $234.00 plus a program cost of $62.00. The ignition key was made part of the sale in the amount of $50.00 that had to be cut by a local key vendor.

The initial purchase per the telephone conversations included the processing fee of $500.00, that was denied after arriving. Also, I paid someone to bring me to make the purchase. The Dealership would only reduce the sale price by $100.00 and added $50.00 additional for cutting an ignition key. The dealership had no one to send the car to get the key cut,, so the person who brought me carried the car to get the key cut. The key vendor was told by the Finance Director that the dealership would be paying him, however, he still asked my person to pay him the $50.00, then I had to pay this person back. Now after calls back to the Finance Director that now don't return my calls and two supposely mailed attempts he stated he made to send me the refund, the first attempt was February 27, 2013. I also, spoke with someone named [redacted] that states that [redacted]-Finance Director had mailed the refund on March 11, 2013. I called back to speak with [redacted] on today, (March 25, 2013) and sent him an e-mail today as the call stated that he will be out for the week. The call was a follow-up just to let him know I had not received the money, also,he was to follow-up to see if I got the money during our conversation of March 13, 2013 of which he did not.Desired Settlement: I would like to have my money returned, but also, something should be done as to the type and quality of business that a customer deals with, while trying to make a purchase with their hard earned money by todays standards.

Business

Response:

[redacted]11:07 AM (14 minutes ago)to meThe fifty dollar reimbursement was an oversight on our part, and the check has been sent out. The check number is [redacted] and was mailed on 4/25/13. If you need any further information please don't hesitate to ask. I can be reached at [redacted]GMB & M Motorcars

Consumer

Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response. If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted], and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

Review: purchase an 06 Lincoln from B&M on 2/11/13 paid with check. Check cleared my bank on 2/12/13. Have not received the title to the vehicle. Temporary tag expires 3/13/13 tomorrow.NEED TITLE.Desired Settlement: SEND ME MY TITLE!

Business

Response:

CUSTOMER: [redacted]

RE: [redacted]

To Whom It MaY Concern,

The above referenced vehicle was registered by or dealership in error on 02/28/2013. Meaning [redacted] didn't pay us the fees required to register the car. At that point we immediately notified them of the error and provided them with (2) scenerios to correct the error.

1) Since we have already paid all the fees required to register their car in the State of [redacted] ($625) he could reimburse this amoount and we would release his plates and title to him with the receipt.

2) Or we could unwind the registration with [redacted]'s DMV and he could register the vehicle himself. He was also advised that this process would take longer and we didn't have a time frame in which the process would be accomplished.

[redacted] choose Option 2, therefore, we provided him with an additional 30 day extension on his temporary license plates and started the rewinding process. Currently, we are waiting on WV DMV to finalize the process.

Sincerely,

B&M Motorcars

Review: Car sold to me without knowledge of previous accident, used as car rental and multiple auction. Car sold at $17,000 and not worth $8,000.

Vin # [redacted]

2008 [redacted] $3000 down

$3960 total in 10 monthly payments

On July 17 2013, after weeks of talking to [redacted], a salesman, I decided to go and purchase a car. It just so happens that the day I went, [redacted] was not there. A salesman whom is no longer with B & M Motor Cars, [redacted], was the one that helped me. Over and Over again I had asked [redacted] for the [redacted] and [redacted] of the car I wanted to buy. And over and over somehow he did not give it to me, though he kept saying he would and I ended up with a car without the [redacted] Blue Book Value or [redacted]. Now, I know why this trick occurred.

On March 31st 2014 I went to a [redacted] dealer to trade in my car, I am not very happy With B & M Motors and just wanted to end my business with them and their in house financing. The car was then looked at and then check in Auto Check.

Things they found that are wrong with the car:

1.Frame/unibody damage record(s)

2.Fleet, rental and/or lease use record(s)

3.Loan/Lien record(s)

4.Repossessed record(s)

5.Many Auctions

Without knowing that this car was in an accident, used as a fleet and went through all these actions and repossessed, [redacted] told me the car was work $10,500. I had decided to swallow the price I received it for at $16,995. The online price, which is what I should have been prices was $13,997.

From [redacted], I learned that the car is worth less than $7,000 and that they would be willing to do a trade - in at $5,600. Somethings they found wrong with the car * the steering wheel makes a noise ; this I complained to [redacted] (manager of B & M) about, the car was checked and that it's "Normal in [redacted] cars" obviously that was a lie * dent in the front, which was there at time of purchase. ( and since now I know the car was damaged in an accident it makes so much since) ( also, when I was buying the car, I pointed out to [redacted] that something is wrong with the tires, he told me after I drive it for a little while, it will be ok. When I did the Maryland Sate Inspection I failed because of my tires, Called [redacted] and got the run around from 'The company might pay it all' then later 'the company might pay half' when I went to B & M motors, I had to pay it all + labor = $450)

Looking at my contract, if I traded in a car (I did not)"Purchaser warrants any such used motor vehicle to be his property free and clear of all liend and ecnumbrances and that the title is free and clear of all indicators such as police, taxi, flood damaged, reconstructed or any other indicator that would adversely affect the value of such vehicle expected as other noted herein" IF B & M expects that from someone trading a car in with them, should I a purchaser not expect the same? I mean, this car has been in an accident, rebuilt, auctioned, and used as a rental car. These all depreciate the car very much! And yet they thought the could get way with charging me $17,000 for it?

The only thing close to that in all my contract is in the page that named "Below is a list of some major defects that may occur in used motor vehicles"Frame & Body : Frame-cracks, corrective welds, or rusted through Dogtracks, bent or twisted frame" No where does it say anything about cars frame might be rebuilt OR have been in an accident. "Tires: tread depth less than 2/32 inch, sizes mismatched, visible damage" It mentions nothing about corrosion, which is what was wrong with my tires, could have easily killed me on the highway home from the purchase!Desired Settlement: Resolution: There are 2 options I am looking for

1. B & M Motors should lower the loan value / car value to REFLECT what is now clearly known about the car. This new negotiated value should be back dated to July 17 2013, all taxes paid should reflect what should have been paid for the new amount and remaining balance added to principle of Loan. Car payments made should remain as is (so that it also is added to the principle). Also, a refund for this 499 accessories fee as there were no accessories given.

2. If they are not willing to do that. They need to cancel my contract, give me the $3,000 down that I gave and the $499 accessories fee. Since I have been using the car ( not to mention all the money I have put in the car already ) I do not want to fight for the monthly payments I have made as I was using the car.

Business

Response:

July 7, 2014

To whom it may concern,

At B&M Motorcars, we strive to provide the

greatest customer service experience.

The main source for vehicle history reporting used

by B&M Motorcars and other dealerships on industry is [redacted]. Attached is

the particular [redacted] for the vehicle at question, 2008 [redacted] XR, which

does not show any accidents or damage. At B&M Motorcars all of the vehicles

sold are not salvage, junk, rebuilt/reconstructed, or reported under flood.

All of our vehicles must successfully pass Virginia

State Inspection prior to sale. The particular vehicle had successfully pass

Virginia State Inspection on November 23, 2012.

Our vehicles have a standard 30 day/ 1000 mile

(whichever occurs first) warranty on engine and transmission only. If any other

items are covered under our standard warranty, then the list would be displayed

in a conspicuous place in the dealership. All promises must be made in writing

in order to be fulfilled. No promises were made to the customer, [redacted],

in regards to any additional coverage or warranty.

The vehicle at question, 2008 [redacted], had a

warranty for one month or 1000 miles which covered the engine and transmission.

The repairs done on the vehicle after delivery included the programming a new

key (August 5, 2013) due to customer negligence, and replacement of 4 tires

(October 16, 2013).

Another standard procedure is to present the

Worksheet to the customer. The worksheet must be accepted and signed by the

customer prior to sale completion, or the sale is void. The system used, DeskManager, does not itemize every

detail. The cash price includes the bank acquisition fee, which is based on

customer’s credit score.

The worksheet attached will show the breakdown of

price and fees associated with the purchase. The $499 fee in the complaint is a

transport (destination) fee, shown in a conspicuous place inside of the

dealership. The fees were explained at the time of purchase. The system used, DeskManager, to print the contract

cannot be modified to show “transport”.

The vehicle value in the complaint is referred to as

retail and trade. Both values are different. The customer used [redacted] to see the

retail value. The value given by de [redacted] dealer was most likely a trade in

value. Both values depend on age and mileage. B&M Motorcars does not

determine the depreciation or guarantee any kind of depreciation on any of its

vehicles.

The mechanical issues experienced are not uncommon. Below

we have attached some information in regards to the issues the customer may be

experiencing.

The steering column issue is present on numerous ** models. There are many

complaints of the steering issue “If the dealer did indeed replace the i-shaft usually they

last at least six months before the noise returns” ([redacted]).

It appears that the issue is a recurring one.

“DETROIT – [redacted] informed the National Highway Traffic

Safety Administration today [2014-03-11] that it would recall more than 1.3

million vehicles in the U.S. that may experience a sudden loss of electric power

steering assist. If power steering assist is lost, a message displays on the

Driver Information Center and a chime sounds to inform the driver. Steering

control can be maintained because the vehicle will revert to manual steering,

but greater driver effort would be required at low vehicle speeds, which could

increase the risk of a crash….[redacted]: Some model year 2008 and 2009

vehicles” ([redacted])

Documents Attached:

[redacted] (November 24, 2012)

[redacted] (June 12, 2014)

Worksheet (July 17, 2013)

Buyers Guide

Picture (all promises must be made in writing)

Review: This complaint has multiple facets, below I have attempted to outline the complete picture.

February 6, 2014

I went to B & M Motorcars with a loan approval from [redacted] Loans ([redacted]), which is where I had a previous car financed. B & M was a dealer listed with them, and I found several cars on their site under $20,000 that would be approved with this loan. All 3 vehicles were within a range from $18,900 - $19,900, and they would each require $2,400 down and have payments ranging from $415 - $450 with a 18% APR. When we arrived the owner pulled our credit and brought us into his office. I brought to his attention that I would like to use [redacted] Loans to complete the sale. He insisted that the [redacted] Loans pre-approval was merely a formality to get us to the dealership and not an actual approval, despite the fact that I had to actually apply for it and it is a company I have financed a vehicle with before. I explained to him that I wanted to keep payments at $500 or less and the max I would put down is $2,500. The owner asked which cars we were interested in and I told him, while reiterating the vehicles’ prices. We took test drives in the vehicles and again reiterated the prices with the salesman. When we returned the owner told us that he would submit our information to finance companies the next day.

February 7, 2014

We returned to the dealership after being told that they found a financing company that approved us. Once we arrived we were taken to the finance manager’s office. He told us that he had submitted us to several finance companies and finally found a finance company that would approve us, however he did not disclose the lender’s name at this time. He quickly ran through some numbers (no paperwork at this time, just a calculator), asked how much I was going to put down, to which I replied $2,500, and then stated that my payments would be $615. At this time, he took my debit card and charged the $2,500. I was then asked to call my insurance company, add the car, and have the paperwork faxed to the dealer. At this time I was given the financing company’s name to add it to the insurance, [redacted]. After this we returned to the finance office to begin signing paperwork. The finance manager started by saying, “get ready I’m going to be moving fast”. He began rattling through pages saying “sign here, initial here” without much explanation at any point. The only thing he said is that the finance company charged a 30% “financing fee” and charge 21.95% APR. He also stated that the finance company would not finance the registration and taxes, so I would have to pay that additional $2,100 to the dealership, but they would defer it and offered to break it into payments. I reluctantly signed the paperwork, as it was getting late, but then was told that it would have to be redone because the address didn’t print on the paperwork. I was then sent away without a copy, to return the next day.

February 8, 2014

I returned to the dealership and was immediately brought into the finance office to re-sign the paperwork updated with the address. I was again rushed through in the same manner, and sent on my way. However this time I was provided copies. When I returned home I began to look through the paperwork as something felt out of place. The first thing to catch my attention was how the 30% was added to the price of the car instead of being listed as a financing charge. The advertised price of the car was $19,777 but was now listed as $25,710. Also I noticed that a License Fee of $298 and Sales Tax of $1,387.26 respectively on the Purchase Agreement. Then there is a Deferred Down Payment of $2,154 listed, which I believe is the misrepresented “registration fees”. Additionally, I felt that these numbers were skewed as my registered state, WV, only imposes a 5% tax + $10 title fee + $5 lien fee. I then noticed that the “finance company” was listed with a PO Box address and no phone number. I found this odd, so I began to search for the company and was unable to find it with any ease. I then did a more in depth search and discovered that the company that B & M passes off as an independent finance company is in fact registered to the same owner and address as the dealership. Also, even after having to come back for revised documents, the documentation still has my address incorrect throughout.

February 10, 2014

I contacted the finance manager to ask how I would contact the “finance company” if I ever needed to change any information. Never did he let on that it was in-house, and he instead gave me the “finance company’s” phone number which is also registered to B & M. In an effort to discuss the discrepancies with this car deal and the misrepresentation of the “finance company” in accordance with the Virginia Consumer Protection Act, I contacted B & M’s owner via email.

February 11, 2014

After no response to my email I began attempting to call the owner. I was able to get him on the phone with my first call, but the owner stated that he was having trouble hearing me and then hung up. I made several attempts throughout the day to reach him on the phone, but he was either “no there” or “on the other line”. I asked the receptionist to have him call me, and left my number each time. My calls were never returned.

Summary

B&M Motorcars’ practices are misleading and they blatantly misrepresent their association, or lack there of, to [redacted]. This “finance company”, as they refer to it, is merely a shell corporation that acts as a vehicle for them to add a “finance charge” that equates to them raising the price of the vehicle by 30% and providing in-house financing. In my case they IMMEDIATELY denounced the approval documentation that I showed up with so that they could push their financing. However, this is all done through misleading practices without being upfront with the consumer about the fact that you are essentially using a buy here pay here service.Desired Settlement: I would like the 30% inflation to the price of the car removed and the car properly financed at the listed $19,777. I also want the registration, tax, and title fees reviewed and properly calculated. I want them to be included in the financing and not as a "Deferred Down Payment" which is not something I agreed to. If this is not done, I expect the contract to be voided with no penalty to me, and I will return the vehicle upon receipt of my full down payment of $2,500 in the form of cash or company check (no re-credit to my card). If an agreement cannot be achieved I will move forward with a consumer fraud lawsuit.

Business

Response:

We apologize for the tardiness in response to the letter and emails in reference to complaint ID [redacted]. We have reviewed the complaint and we are glad to announce to you that the situation has been addressed. The vehicle is back in our possession and we have refunded the customer his down payment. We hope this brings a close to this issue. Any further questions or concerns please contact us at ###-###-####. Sincerely,

I drove to right at 4 hrs to Leesburg, VA to B&M Motorcars to purchase a 2008 Toyota Avalon XL that turned out to be a smokers vehicle, not clean upon arrival, no floor mats, only one remote key as the remote is on the key and no ignition key. These things are mentioned as they were believe to have been available during the number of telephone calls to arrive at a sales price before leaving home to purchase the car. The car was cleaned, but no mats ($125.00 Value) were provided and no 2nd key remote a value of $234.00 plus a program cost of $62.00. The ignition key was made part of the sale in the amount of $50.00 that had to be cut by a local key vendor.

The initial purchase per the telephone conversations included the processing fee of $500.00, that was denied after arriving. Also, I paid someone to bring me to make the purchase. The Dealership would only reduce the sale price by $100.00 and added $50.00 additional for cutting an ignition key. The dealership had no one to send the car to get the key cut,, so the person who brought me carried the car to get the key cut. The key vendor was told by the Finance Director that the dealership would be paying him, however, he still asked my person to pay him the $50.00, then I had to pay this person back. Now after calls back to the Finance Director that now don't return my calls and two supposely mailed attempts he stated he made to send me the refund, the first attempt was February 27, 2013. I also, spoke with someone named [redacted] that states that [redacted]-Finance Director had mailed the refund on March 11, 2013. I called back to speak with [redacted] on today, (March 25, 2013) and sent him an e-mail today as the call stated that he will be out for the week. The call was a follow-up just to let him know I had not received the money, also,he was to follow-up to see if I got the money during our conversation of March 13, 2013 of which he did not.

Check fields!

Write a review of B&M Motorcars

Satisfaction rating
 
 
 
 
 
Upload here Increase visibility and credibility of your review by adding a photo

B&M Motorcars Rating

Overall satisfaction rating

Description: Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Address: 911 Edwards Ferry Rd NE, Leesburg, Virginia, United States, 20175

Phone:

Show more...

Add contact information for B&M Motorcars

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | New | Updated