Sign in

Bolt Energy

75 Lake Rd Suite 215, Congers, New York, United States, 10920-2342

Sharing is caring! Have something to share about Bolt Energy? Use RevDex to write a review
Reviews Energy Service Company Bolt Energy

Bolt Energy Reviews (%countItem)

• Nov 24, 2021

THANK YOU ALL FOR YOUR REVIEWS
While talking with a Bolt Energy representative on the phone, I looked up Bolt on my computer and was reading these reviews. I than answered "no" to one of the confirmation questions. Which was adding fees and taxes. I than called their customer service number to make sure it's understood I am not interested in Bolt services. Hoping since I didn't complete the confirmation it will be the end to my story.

Again, just want to say "thank you" for the reviews. It truly helped me from making a terrible mistake.

• Aug 09, 2021

Bolt energy scams elderly!!!
My father received a phone call offering a discount gas rate. He is 86 years old. He was not told it was an alternative gas supplier and that this was a 2 yr contract. After paying 4 times the cost of gas I tried to cancel the service and was told that there was a $99 cancellation fee. I am filing a complaint with COUC consumer affairs and writing to the management at Bolt. To take advantage of elderly is discussing and should be prosecuted!

• Nov 04, 2021

Thank you for sharing an honest review of your experience with us. Please contact Customer Service at 800-213-2870

• Jun 29, 2021

Total waste of my time and money
Someone showed up at my door during my lunch break and said that they were going to continue to come back. I thought that by signing up for this "money-saving" service that I could be done with them and prevent them from coming back. Turns out they're a money-sucking service.

That's all they've done... sucked money and time out of my life. They add an additional $50 to my pge and bill. I just closed my account with them today. I paid the 200 dollar early cancellation fee, so hopefully they will really be out of my life in a billing cycle or two. It would have been nice for the scammer to tell me I was signing up for a 2 year contract with them... but I guess then that would lessen their chances of getting my money.

Everyone here complaining about them is completely right. They are scammers and should be shut down and have legal action taken against them. I ususally don't write reviews, but I don't want another person scammed. Hopefully others will see this and someone can take action against them.

• Jun 05, 2021

Bolt Energy Services LLC is a SCAM.
I was completely misled by someone coming to my door telling me that I could save a lot of money if I signed up with their third party service. The third party service I was with at the time was saving me money and the salesperson was informed by me several times that my bill is at most $10 in the winter and less than $5 in the summer. I only have a gas stove and heater so my bill is really inexpensive. That being said, since the salesperson knew of my already low rate and the third party service I was already with saving me money, I had no reason to believe I was being scammed. The lied to get me to sign up with their services and then lied again by telling the CPUC that they had contacted me and resolved my complaint, which of course they didn't. In 3 months service charges before they finally actually cancelled my service for me ended up coming out to be $166 in charges +$199 cancellation fee, not counting PG&E charges. And, then to top it off there customer service refused to help me at all with this matter and then proceeded to tell me I would be charged a $199 cancellation fee. Even in 2 years of gas service, I wouldn't have had to pay that much money. Bolt Energy Services are scammers, liars and NEED TO BE PUT OUT OF BUSINESS. Oh, and by the way the CPUC closed my case believing the matter was resolved and now I keep trying to contact them with no response now. So, if anyone believes the CPUC or BBB is going to help you with this fake gas company service, that is scamming everyone, I wouldn't hold my breath. No one is going to do anything to help you, it's just another scammer that gets away with it and nobody gives a crap enough to do anything about it. I was never informed there would be a monthly rate of $55 to $57 because obviously I would never have signed up with the salesperson and they wouldn't have made that sale. This company's sales practices are completely misleading, they lie about everything and they are unprofessional. I want all my money refunded and then I want to see Bolt Energy shutdown.

• Jun 05, 2021

Bolt Energy Services IS A SCAM
I was completely misled by someone coming to my door telling me that I could save a lot of money if I signed up with their third party service. The third party service I was with at the time was saving me money and the salesperson was informed by me several times that my bill is at most $10 in the winter and less than $5 in the summer. I only have a gas stove and heater so my bill is really inexpensive. That being said, since the salesperson knew of my already low rate and the third party service I was already with saving me money, I had no reason to believe I was being scammed. The lied to get me to sign up with their services and then lied again by telling the CPUC that they had contacted me and resolved my complaint, which of course they didn't. In 3 months service charges before they finally actually cancelled my service for me ended up coming out to be $166 in charges +$199 cancellation fee, not counting PGE's charges. And, then to top it off there customer service refused to help me at all with this matter and then proceeded to tell me I would be charged a $199 cancellation fee. Even in 2 years of gas service, I wouldn't have had to pay that much money. Bolt Energy Services are scammers, liars and NEED TO BE PUT OUT OF BUSINESS. Oh, and by the way the CPUC closed my case believing the matter was resolved and now I keep trying to contact them with no response now. So, if anyone believes the CPUC or BBB is going to help you with this fake gas company service, that is scamming everyone, I wouldn't hold my breath. No one is going to do anything to help you, it's just another scammer that gets away with it and nobody gives a crap enough to do anything about it.

• Apr 20, 2021

I NEVER EVEN SIGNED UP
they called me and I said to send me paperwork and I would look into it but they signed me up anyway without my permission. I used to pay $32 a month for gas but now bolt charges me $52 plus a $38 delivery fee from pg&e so now what was $32 is now $90. I canceled 2 months ago but i’m still being charged. Has anyone thought about a class action lawsuit

• Nov 24, 2021

They called me today and I responded that I wasn't interested, but it was after I had already even them my information. I called their customer service line after hanging up the phone to ensure there is no misunderstanding. That I am not interested in Bolt Energy. I also contacted PG&E and CPUC today with my concern. Thank you for your post.

• Jun 29, 2021

I'd join in on the lawsuit if there was one.

• Apr 19, 2021

Bought a new home and was scammed February 2021
I moved out of my parents into a a new home, because it is time to grow up/leave the nest. PG&E was my only provider at $40 a month, then some guy from Bolt Energy knocks on my door, asks to see my bill, says I am getting scammed and that if I switch to Bolt Energy my bill will decrease, so I did and my bill skyrocketed!

My bill went from $40 with just PG&E to $75 and then $120!
I called and complained to Bolt Energy who have a random person answering, with an unknown title, and to cancel you call another random number. Very unorganized and just showing how it is a scam. I called and paid to cancel the $200 cancellation fee, and my bill still increased.

I contacted the BBB, and they did nothing, so I contacted the Consumer Affairs Branch (CAB) of the California Public Utilities Commission (CPUC) and they are working on it.

I still feel scammed, even though Bolt Energy said my services has been cancelled as of 3/26. Evil company.

• May 09, 2021

Hello,

I feel so bad and totally understand your feeling. I was also scammed by this company. I wonder if they still charge you.
This company should be shut down.

• Apr 17, 2021

I think this company is a ripoff. I tried to cancel this service but they didn’t do it. Now I’m still paying 60.00 dollars a month plus what pg&e is charging. I want OUT of so called contract now.. Please respond and fix this. Thank you.

• Jun 29, 2021

I called Bolt and closed my account with them. I had to pay a 200 dollar early cancellation fee, but it's worth it for them to be out of my life.

Glad I checked to see if Bolt is reputable - the man was very persistent, said he was calling for PGE, but later revealed that his company was Bolt Energy. I have been fooled before (that my gas bill would be reduced - the 1st company charged a Lot of $ to get reconnected with PGE. ) He even called back after I told him I had to go and hung up. I can't even give 1 star.

Bolt Energy uses a devious sales strategy to get information from you in order to switch from your local gas provider. They never said their name was Bolt Energy up front. They're "Caller I.D." listed them as a PG&E number. PG&E is my local gas provider. I've since learned that "Caller I.D." can be manipulated. DON'T GIVE THEM ANY INFORMATION. This is a scam sales pitch if I've every heard one. With the CoVid-19 situation they are trying to take advantage of folks who are looking to save money wherever they can. This business should be shut down. I plan to file a complaint with the CPUC (California Public Utilities Commission). BEWARE of ANY sales pitch these days.

The company was unable and refused to provide information about when and who approved attaining services. I would like to know how this company was able to start providing services without an approval from the account holder.

Bolt Energy Response • Feb 17, 2020

The customer is not with us anymore.Tell us why here...

Customer Response • Feb 21, 2020

Revdex.com:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ***, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

[Your Answer Here]

At the time this complaint I was a customer. They were unable to prove or provide any information stating they were authorized to be a gas supplier on my Nicor bill. Clearly they are still trying to avoid providing the information by using irrelevant deflection.

In order for the Revdex.com to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.

Sincerely

Bolt Energy Response • Feb 24, 2020

I can confirm that the customer has been effectively cancelled out already.

Customer Response • Mar 05, 2020

Revdex.com:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

***

Bolt energy has issued a refund check. I assume they were not able to provide proof of providing service. This satisfies the original complaint

Billed rate is 8 times higher than the home provider. They pray on the elderly who have limited income and ability to pay for services. My mother can't hear and would not have understood what was happening with her service. Nearly freezing in her Ohio home because she could not afford to pay the .889 per ccf , as opposed to Columbia Gas .118 per ccf. Customer service passes the buck, says they can't credit, has to be done by Columbia Gas, Columbia Gas says they can't adjust. Referring complaint to PUC

Bolt Energy Response • Dec 31, 2019

The matter has been taken care of. Thank You.

I was called on phone by bolt energy to get it as a supplier for my gas. I was told that it is energy efficiency product. So I enrolled into it. Now I got a gas bill of $1100 in feb'19. And then $875 in March. When I saw the bill I noticed that bolt energy is charging 89 cents/therm. While Nicor gas is charging 36 cents/therm. Why so much of difference? When I called Bolt energy I was told that their rates vary! And I was told that the bill is high because the meter reading is high. When I questioned, I was told that the rates vary from 1-2 dollars/ therm! They did not have answer to why it was 89 cents/therm vs 36 thcents/therm by nicor gas.
I find that the company is ripping off the customers. And I told bolt energy to cancel the service. They call on phone and tell that it is energy efficiency product. I thought it was going to be economical for me. But instead it was much much more expensive.
So I want to complain that they are ripping off the customers by phone call. And that they do not charge other customers exorbitant amount. This is rip off.

Bolt Energy Response • Apr 09, 2019

I can confirm this customer ha been cancelled out. We apologize for any inconvenience.

Customer Response • Apr 09, 2019

Revdex.com:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ***, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

[Your Answer Here]

The complaint is not about cancellation. I cancelled it because the charges were exorbitant The complaint is about not disclosing the rates when I was called in January '*** for enrolling. Why do they charge 89 cents/ therm vs 36 cents/therm by NICOR? Why don't they disclose the rates when they call? I was just told on phone that it is an energy efficiency company. That is misleading. The bill was much more than what I got by nicor gas in previous months or same time last year. The company calls the customer by phone and gives no information. That is not right. I want the company to refund the money for misleading me.
They should stop misleading the customers.

In order for the Revdex.com to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.

Sincerely

Bolt Energy Response • Apr 09, 2019

We will reach out. We apologize for any inconvenience.

BOLT ENERGY LLC IS A 3RD PARTY COMPANY that uses deceptive practices to get customers. I received a call from Bolt on February 23, 2019, stating that *** Gas customers could receive a lower rate for my gas bill. He then needed me to confirm my *** account. When I received my April *** gas bill it had doubled, due to Bolt's therm rate at .89 per therm *** was .51 per therm at the time. *** didn't know anything and told me I needed to speak directly with Bolt Energy. My 1st attempt I selected #2 (customer service), the line rang 2 times it picked up with no one on the other line. My 2nd attempt I selected #3 (billing) I was directed to leave a message. My 3rd attempt, I choose 1# (for those wanting to switch to Bolt), low and behold I got Richard. I told him to cancel my account immediately, he said it was done. He didn't have a cancellation confirmation number, so I will have to take him on his word. BOLT ENERGY LLC IS a very suspicious company.

Check fields!

Write a review of Bolt Energy

Satisfaction rating
 
 
 
 
 
Upload here Increase visibility and credibility of your review by adding a photo

Bolt Energy Rating

Overall satisfaction rating

Address: 75 Lake Rd Suite 215, Congers, New York, United States, 10920-2342

Phone:

Show more...

Web:

This website was reported to be associated with Bolt Energy.



E-mails:

Sign in to see

Add contact information for Bolt Energy

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | New | Updated