Sign in

Brandman University

Sharing is caring! Have something to share about Brandman University? Use RevDex to write a review
Reviews Brandman University

Brandman University Reviews (25)

Foreign transcript policy prevented me from being admitted to this University
I recently applied to a Special Education program with Brandman and my enrollment coach was Amy Manning. I have attended 3 Universities, 2 in the United States and 1 outside of the United States. According to my enrollment coach, the foreign transcripts have to be sent directly by mail to the Office of Admissions. Due to the covid crisis, this University is closed and I can't ask them to send transcripts. She mentioned that the other alternative was if I had a sealed envelope with the transcripts I could go to a notary and open it there to make it official but I do not have a sealed envelope with official transcripts. However, I do have an official document from APIE (Academic and Professional International Evaluations- Los Alamitos CA) that states that the transcripts are official and the University is recognized by the Ministry of Education in Chile. I asked my coach if I could bring that document to the notary and she said that would not work. I asked about alternatives and she mentioned the policies were strict on this matter.
The school district that I worked in last year approved the units from that University since I had an official document that translated and evaluated them. I am surprised that, according to my coach, Brandman University has a strict policy on foreign transcripts and that there is nothing I could do about this. Honestly, I find that the policies need to be revised, considering the current situation and students seeking to continue their studies should feel supported through this process. I am disappointed that I won't be admitted into the program and very frustrated with the enrollment process.

Jan 19, 2020

Revdex.com: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted] , and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear belowEvery student in the class agrees with my assessment of the instructor and the class- just request the teacher evaluations from the school There also might be a legal issue here; I would like to know if it is legal for an unlicensed intern to teach a graduate class The State of California and the Federal Govt are also investigating the school I hope the Revdex.com will not accept a secret investigation- this is not the old Soviet Union Regards, [redacted]

Nov 01, 2019

Student’s complaint about the adjunct faculty member's performance has been thoroughly reviewed by Academic Affairs leadership and appropriate action has been takenTo protect confidentiality, the details of such investigative effort and resulting action cannot be shared with the student The student was informed by the Associate Dean of Arts and Science that it would be inappropriate for the results of investigation to be sharedNeither Academic Affairs nor Student Services review found evidence of extraordinary performance problems by the adjunct faculty member such as would warrant a tuition refund

Ernesto B. Gregorio
1715 Webster St #205
San Francisco, CA 94115
March 20, 2019
Dean of Students
Undergraduate Studies
Brandman University
16355 Laguna Canyon Road
Irvine, California 92618
Dear Brandman University representative:

I completed my AA degree in May 2015 and marched in my graduation ceremony having completed all requirements for the degree and in good standing with the university. Though much of my schooling was through student loans, I was happy to have achieved my Associates Degree and was looking forward to getting a better job and a better life.

After the graduation ceremony we all noticed that we only received the covers to our diplomas and were told the actual diploma would be mailed to us within a few weeks. I never received my diploma. I was soon informed by the university I would not be able to receive my actual Associates Degree certificate nor my official transcript for all the work I had done over the two years. The University stated that payment for courses of the current summer must be paid in full before they would release my records. It was strange since I had withdrawn from those two courses once they told me I did not have a grant or funding available to cover them. I was perfectly happy with graduating and moving on but several University representatives, including my counsellor strongly encouraged me to get my Bachelor’s degree and continue taking courses. I had to apply to the University as well as for government loans which I got acceptance. My counsellor told me to take summer courses to get ahead and I presumed they would continue to take care of covering my costs through the government loans as they had during the last two years. After starting these summer courses and buying the expensive books someone informed me that I owed for the classes and that student loans funds do not begin coming in until the Fall. That same day I withdrew from the classes since I knew I could not come up with that kind of money.

I had started these classes under the advisement of my Brandman counsellor and by other school officials who were encouraging me to apply to continue at the University and was accepted to begin the bachelor’s degree program with full grants and loans to cover the costs. No one had warned me or informed me that grants and loans do not begin until the Fall … and I had asked my counsellor as well as financial aid department multiple times before my classes had begun. The day my counsellor finally got back to me with an answer was the day I withdrew.

The University has provided a good example of how big business with no concern for the individual participant has taken over higher education in United States. Over the next few months I tried to get help and no one within the University responded to my requests. I decided not to continue with my Bachelor’s degree since they had lost all trust from me … I had earned my Associates Degree and had a right to my transcript and diploma – I had the student loan debts to prove it! Brandman University went so far as to claim my tax refunds … somehow because I was accepted into the bachelor’s program my prior rights and all the work I had done for my AA degree were unimportant to them and the bachelor’s degree became the focus. I have been trapped by Brandman University for the last four years – not able to move on because I did not receive my official AA diploma nor am I able to receive my official transcript. I still do not have a better life or a better job … as well as a massive student loan from Brandman. Who needs to be watched over for unreasonable demands – the student or the University?

I need Brandman University to assist me in fixing this problem but they are still silent and only send me demand letters for the two summer courses I never took – I have costs associated with those courses as well do I expect them to pay me for misleading me and giving me bad advice?

Sincerely,

Ernesto B. Gregorio

Good afternoon ***, We have conducted comprehensive review of the student’s accountAccording to Brandman university records, the student’s past due balance is caused by late withdrawal from LBSU-2***course plus accumulated interestBelow is the synopsis of events and financial
system screen prints illustrating the timeline as well as Brandman university policyI have redacted student’s information to protect privacyPlease redact my name/information when posting to the web site. 1) In term 2012C**, the student was registered for classes: ACCU-360, COMU-and LBSU-All three classes have been registered on 03/29/12. 2) The student did not attend two classes: ACCU-and COMU-Therefore, these two classes were dropped retroactively to 6/24/prior to the first day of the class and were refunded 100% back to the student, according to Brandman University policy. 3) The student withdrew from the third class LBSU-on 7/25/at 7:PMThe student was recorded as attending the class by the instructor. There were no drops before the withdrawal.4) According to Brandman University 2011-Academic Calendar (https://www.brandman.edu/files/attachments/2011-2012-catalog_0.pdf) page 21, drops after the second week of classes will not result in a refund. 5) According to Brandman University 2011-Academic Calendar (https://www.brandman.edu/files/attachments/2011-2012-catalog_0.pdf) page 11, the first day of instruction for Summer term (2012C02) was 06/25/The student dropped the class on 7/25/12, which is after the second week of classes and no refund is to the student is due per policy. Thank you.*** *** ***Director of Student Accounts Brandman UniversityLaguna Canyon RoadIrvine, CA 92618***@brandman.eduwww.brandman.eduT###-###-####F#-###-#### A Member of the Chapman University System

Revdex.com:
I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ***, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. I received a letter via email from the university indicating a zero balance on my account along with an apology I will consider this complaint resolved
Regards,
*** ***

I received my BA when this school was still Chapman University, as very well respected school and had a great reputation. The school took a 10 million endowment while most of use were in our last class for the MFT degrees and we did not want the Brandman degree but the Chapman degree. Who the heck was Mr. Brandman anyway? Due to an unforeseen occurrence, I had to step away after my MFT classes were done, but no the practicum, by the way the school does not help the student to acquire, and finally was okay with going back to now do the crossover classes for the added Clinical Psych. What I just recently found out was the the added, and NOT WORTH IT CLASSES, were to the MFT program, and the only added class was to the Clinical side which was another Advancement class, which I had already passed my Advancement years ago. I have my original signed doc. So, now there are some of us looking at possible ethics and legal avenues to pursue with the lack of direction in this school and the way in which the students have NO professional faculty members to advise them. I have seen the last of the original professionals leave this school in the last few years, as I have kept in touch with the comings and goings for this school. Hint: do not go here

Revdex.com:
I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ***, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint. For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below
I did not attend a single classIt is a completely claim, and I feel as though Brandman is lying to cover their tracksI was not dropped for not attending the other two classesI went online and dropped all three classes before the first class was even heldBrandman is making a statement! I believe they are doing this to cover their tracks and it shows how shady of an institution Brandman really isThe images attached were corrupted so I wasn't able to view them.
Regards,
*** ***

Good afternoon [redacted],
 
As per our telephone conversation a few minutes ago, Brandman University has worked with the student to research and resolve the problem with the erroneous account balance. We have assured her that there is absolutely no impact to the student’s credit history and the...

account was never sent to external collections agency or reported to a credit bureau. Brandman university has extended sincere apology to the student for any inconvenience it may have caused and thanked her for identifying the issue and raising it to our attention. The student’s account is fully resolved and at zero as of today, 12/1/14.
 
[redacted], please use my title when publishing this response, not my name.
 
 



Thank you.
 
[redacted]
Director of Student Accounts




 
Brandman University
16355 Laguna Canyon Road
Irvine, CA 92618
[email protected]
www.brandman.edu

T###-###-####F#-###-####
 
A Member of the Chapman University System

If the student is not satisfied with the senior leadership decision, she can contact University Ombudsman for independent, impartial review of her case at [redacted]

Revdex.com:
I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted], and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. Every  student  in  the   class  agrees  with  my  assessment of  the  instructor  and  the  class- just  request  the   teacher  evaluations from  the  school.  There  also might be  a  legal  issue  here;  I  would  like  to  know if it  is  legal  for an  unlicensed  intern to   teach a  graduate  class.  The  State  of  California  and   the  Federal  Govt.  are  also  investigating  the  school.  I  hope  the  Revdex.com  will  not  accept  a  secret  investigation-  this  is  not  the  old  Soviet Union.   
Regards,
[redacted]

The university has reviewed Ms. [redacted]'s concerns and encourages her to
speak with her advisor to discuss her options for finishing her degree. Meetings with the School of Social Work official will be facilitated by the advisor as needed.

I have been attending Brandman University since Summer 2015. I was assigned an advisor, Ms. [redacted] since my admissions. During my admission and my advisor informed me that she will be giving me the Military Tuition Rate as it was applicable and it applied to me. I lived on Joint Base [redacted] and with my active duty husband. I had no reason to believe that it was not applied to my student account or nothing to compare it to, in the event that it was not applied. On Dec. 2016, Ms. [redacted] was fired for messing up many military students’ accounts and education plans at the Joint-Base [redacted] campus. Since Dec. 2016, I have tiresomely reached out to many administrative staff and other advisors from other campuses asking for help and advisement. I was in the dark about my advancements. When spontaneously a professor told me that I will get an email from someone at the JBLM campus, I didn’t even then, but he told me approximately when and where it would be. I guessed without any chance to study because I didn’t know advancements when advancements will be exactly, but it was an imperative aspect for practicum to begin. During advancements, professors apologized for the lack of information that I received and informed me “off the record… Ms. [redacted] was fired because she wasn’t doing her job well and messing up student accounts”. As my practicum progressed, I assumed I was up for graduation soon as Ms. [redacted] advised me that practicums are my last classes  before graduation. Except for I had no information or communication with the Brandman staff about absolutely anything. I had no idea about graduation requirements, I was completely in the dark about everything and didn’t know what to do next. I was in the dark for a little over 4 months without any response from anyone at Brandman regardless of my attempts in person and via email.  Without any success and upon graduation, I browsed their website continuously trying to find anything on graduation requirements. INSTEAD, I found that I had been paying a much higher TUITION rate, where I was OVERCHARGED $810 additional for each and every class. After taking 15 classes and being overcharged in TUITION, Brandman University overcharged me an additional $13,890. They gave me $1,620, which covers 2 classes, but they still owe me $12,270.00, for the remaining 13 classes.  Once I figured this out, I immediately went to the Lacey campus and informed the advisor there of what I have learned. Not only did the advisors and staff in the Lacey campus confirm me of Ms. [redacted] inability to help over 100’s of students in the JBLM campus, but they told me that any refunds given will amount to me owing the Dept. of Education even more and it would have to paid up-front. Of course, that didn’t make sense to me. After them attempting to explain it to me, it made absolutely no sense. Advisors were getting students to decline any refunds requested by stating that it would be easier and students would owe less if their accounts were left as it is. That did not work for me and toward the end I was told “that they will do everything they can to help me my student account and education plan”. Additionally, she told me that I do not graduate because I still have another class to take. “WHAT!” There was no other way to respond to that. Not only am I not able to pay for this class because I am currently working for free at my practicum site and I used financial aid which will not just pay for one more extra class. Financial aid will assist when you are taking two or more classes.  By this point, I have experienced severe distress, restlessness, sleep disturbances, and anxiety all due to Brandman University. Finally, [redacted] Hill, the campus director called me and informed that she will discuss this with several people and that she would advocate for me. At one time, they I was offered a little over $8,000.00, but that if I took this amount, I would owe and have to pay back the Dept. of Education an additional $13,000.00 that has to be paid upfront. That of course, didn’t make sense to me. When I asked her to please explain that to me, she was unable to explain and said someone will be calling me to answer all my questions. I called the Dept. of Education to confirm any all information regarding refunds and overpayment/overcharging from BU, and the dept. of Education told me that my school just needs to refund me the difference and nothing on their end should or will change as far as my student loan account. Weeks went by, when she called me back and said that the head of Brandman University is declining any refunds or offers because “IT WAS MY RESPONSIBILITY TO KEEP TRACK OF MY OWN ACCOUNT”. I was unsure how this was ALL my fault and she said, “it’s not your fault, but there is nothing else that I can do for you”. Like I told the campus director, “I am not responsible for my billing of tuition accounts and I didn’t know that I wasn’t being charged correctly and when If I did I had nothing to compare it to. I found out because advisors and other staff were informing me of this occurrence and when I brought it up, it suddenly became my responsibility”. That just doesn’t sit well. Also, the advisor [redacted], was fired for doing the exact thing I am complaining about, so why can’t Brandman take responsibility for the actions of their staff when she was on board with their team? WHY are they refusing to take accountability? At the end, I didn’t speak with the multiple people that I was told would call me. I only spoke with her and she decided to speak on their behalf. Brandman University declined to be there for their student, did not help or guide there student in the right direction as promised, rejected to do the right thing when they had the opportunity, and disregarded their student when clearly she was reaching out for assistance and help. I did owe so much on student loans because of the overcharge in Tuition, $12,270 worth. Brandman understood their default and reimbursed me for 2 classes $1620.00 , but when they realized their default for a whole 2 years In Tuition, it became too much money to pay back, but I GUESS  IT’S OKAY FOR THE STUDENT TO PAY IT BACK, BECAUSE THEY PRESSUME  IT WAS MY FAULT. I have worked really hard for this degree and for me to be treated and disregarded in this manner is unacceptable and unprofessional.  I am requesting a refund for difference of overpayment of Tuition.

Thank you for sharing the student's concern with us. This case was previously reviewed and closed by Senior Leadership, but the student has the ability to contact Brandman University Ombudsman at [email protected] for impartial detailed research and review of that decision. Please note that unless a fundamental error was made, the Ombudsman’s office is likely to arrive to the same conclusion.

This school has consistently fallen down the credibility slide. Ever since they took 10 million endowment and agreed to change the name to the persons last name, did they begin to get severely compromised ethically. At Roseville, we have NO professional faculty advisors. Nothing is run correctly, not one damn thing.

Student’s complaint about the adjunct faculty member's
performance has been thoroughly reviewed by Academic Affairs leadership and
appropriate action has been taken. To protect confidentiality, the details of
such investigative  effort and resulting action cannot be shared with...

the
student.  The student was informed by the Associate Dean of Arts and
Science that it would be inappropriate for the results of investigation to be
shared. Neither Academic Affairs nor Student Services review found evidence of
extraordinary performance problems by the adjunct faculty member such as would
warrant a tuition refund.

Brandman university is fully committed to a fair resolution based on documented evidence. While the university's records stored in Accounts Receivable system indicate that the class in question was not dropped and the student's attendance was recorded, if the student has evidence to the contrary, such as an email communication thread with the campus or any other documented proof, the student is highly encouraged to contact the university to provide evidence of non-attendance. If there is a need for the student to review the financial system screen prints provided in the previous response and they are not legible through the Revdex.com site, the student is also encouraged to contact the university for clear copies. The student's name and personally identifiable information was redacted for privacy protection, but the student will be provided legible unredacted copies from the university upon request.

On February 22nd, 2016, after a rigorous review, an official detailed response to the student's inquiry has been prepared by the Office of the Executive Vice Chancellor of Enrollment and Student Affairs. The student should have received this response by the time of this writing or should be...

expecting to receive it shortly.

BU recommended this person for their preliminary single subject teaching credential on 04/23/2013 with an issuance date of 03/27/2013. The document has been granted by the state.” It appears that at the time the student owed money. When he paid via a personal check on 4/16/13, there was a several...

business day waiting period to ensure that the check clears without bouncing, per Brandman policy. So technically, his past balance due hold was released after the waiting period and his teaching credentials have been processed accordingly immediately after check cleared.

Brandman is holding my transcripts hostage for a balance of 700.00 after receiving more than 20000 in tuition. I was called and very rudely told that I had not informed Brandman that I was attending another community college at the same time as Brandman which is a flat out lie. I was counseled and recommended that I take classes at Coastline concurrently to help speed my degree along. Apparently the grant I received went to Brandman and Coastline so once Brandman was made aware this is when I received the rude call to pay the money back immediately. The money I received was paid to the college for tuition. I asked to make payments and was very curdle told no all or nothing. This was the last straw for me and being treated so rude. On several occasions my financial aid was not awarded in a timely manner and once held fro more than 2 months due to an academic audit and they supposedly lent me the money internally to continue my classes with our interruption. I dropped all classes in a timely manner and the 700.00 is a balance that I cannot make payments on. They informed again yesterday that I would be going to collections next week, so I will make payments to the collection agency. The lack of academic support is appalling at this school, but money is top priority. My advisor quit shortly after I started and have had very little interaction with the 3 new ones in 3 years, and have had to constantly reach out to get an education plan. ALL STAFF WERE AWARE I WAS ATTENDING 2 COLLEGES AT THE SAME TIME. Pursing my education at a reputable, respectful and responsible university once my transcripts are released. I also did inform the collections department that I was awarded financial aid at the new institution and would be paying it back once that is received, but they will not release the transcripts which would release the funds. I am a 3.95 GPA student , never missed a class and very close to graduation with BA. SO sad and irresponsible.

Review: details of complaint

I started brandman in the fall of 2014. I took my first class and received an “a”. I started the next round of classes and was immediately shocked by the behavior of one of the instructors, [redacted]. She was inexperienced, unlicensed (as an mft), and psychologically very troubled. Every student in the class was appalled at her lack of teaching abilities and her desire to talk about her private life and perverse sexuality. I am not the only student who felt this way; please ask brandman for the student evaluations from this, her second class, and also from the first class she taught. The students tried to get her out; they went to brandman’s administration, talked to the head of the psychology department and tried to get the other teachers involved- all to no avail.

We learned absolutely nothing and brandman showed total contempt for the students by having her teach another class when they knew what she had done in her first class.

I could say more more but will leave it at that. I hope the revdex.com will take this seriously. The students are paying a lot of money; they will be paying back their loans for the rest of their lives and deserve better. I have three degrees from ucla and also attended the sorbonne. I have seen crazy teachers but nothing ever like this.

Thanks, [redacted]desired settlement: I want my bill from brandman cancelled. Also I want the government to be informed about brandman and the quality of its education. I would like to know if it is legal for an unlicensed "instructor" to teach a graduate class.

Brandman might be violating law.

Business

response:

student’s complaint about the adjunct faculty member's

performance has been thoroughly reviewed by academic affairs leadership and

appropriate action has been taken. To protect confidentiality, the details of

such investigative effort and resulting action cannot be shared with the

student. The student was informed by the associate dean of arts and

science that it would be inappropriate for the results of investigation to be

shared. Neither academic affairs nor student services review found evidence of

extraordinary performance problems by the adjunct faculty member such as would

warrant a tuition refund.

Consumer

response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint id [redacted], and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint. For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. Every student in the class agrees with my assessment of the instructor and the class- just request the teacher evaluations from the school. There also might be a legal issue here; I would like to know if it is legal for an unlicensed intern to teach a graduate class. The state of california and the federal govt. Are also investigating the school. I hope the revdex.com will not accept a secret investigation- this is not the old soviet union.

This must have been the same one that I had last class. Ms Metcalf, we learned ll about her private practice, one of her court cases, her lucrative side job as a child custody decider, her words, not mine, and also her lack of letting me, with being sick with pneumonia for several weeks, not being able to take my midterm, or even letting me know what wrong answers that were done on quizzes and my final. Oh, wait...its school policy to let the student take the quizzes 3 times, not once and also the tests. Its in the grading section of the school policies. Even the head of the psych dept did not stand up for this student.

Check fields!

Write a review of Brandman University

Satisfaction rating
 
 
 
 
 
Upload here Increase visibility and credibility of your review by adding a photo

Brandman University Rating

Overall satisfaction rating

Description: Schools - Academic - Colleges & Universities

Address: 2950 Buskirk Ave., Walnut Creek, California, United States, 94597

Phone:

+1 (925) 930-2000
+1 (800) 746-0082
Show more...

Website:

brandman.edu


Add contact information for Brandman University

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | New | Updated