Sign in

BuildZoom, Inc.

Sharing is caring! Have something to share about BuildZoom, Inc.? Use RevDex to write a review

BuildZoom, Inc. Reviews (29)

• Apr 02, 2021

Fake review and Identity theft
Fake Review and Identity theft. Someone posing as my customer got on Buildzoom wrote a bad review in my customers name. Buildzoom will not remove the bad review and all my efforts fall on def ears.
I contacted the said customer and they never heard of Buildzoom, Plus, they just referred me to their best friend for a project on their home.

Final Consumer Response / [redacted] (2000, 10, 2015/06/09) */ 6-9- Sent via email: Dear Ms***, I am contacting you to let you know that my dispute has been resolvedThank you for reaching out to me and the companyThey have removed the ad from the various websites Thank you, *** [redacted]

Complaint: [redacted] I am rejecting this response because: their answer does not address the factsThe service is not complementary Complimentary =given or supplied free of chargeThey do chargeThey are trying to hide behind a technicality They foster an environment of fear and threaten the contractors (who the charge for "the service" (hence NOT free) The service they offer is more than an introductionI've articulated where they've failed to fulfill the FULL service They still are not and refused to I'm having issues with the work (another area their "service" was to help with) I could have led and said I didn't use their contractor, but I have integrity They refuse to try to resolve the matterI received one call from them on this I have continued to try and open lines of communication So, I will continue to dispute this item until resolution is reachedIf the Revdex.com will simply mark this as an unresolved complaint, we can end the back and forth hereOther homeowners need to be forewarned of their business practices My next step with BuildZoom is to factual include their service failure as part of my contract experience on their siteif/when they pull it, I will socialize that fact as well I think they should be paid, but not the full amount they charged since they have fallen short of the service lied and said I never used one of their contractorsButSincerely, [redacted] ***

BuildZoom aggregates and publishes licensing and permit data from reputable, public databases, such as the Contractors State License BoardWe aim to provide the most complete and accurate information possible on the work histories of all active contractors in the US in order to provide consumers with the information needed to make a hiring decisionThis data is published in contractor profiles, which contractors can subsequently develop by updating contact information, areas of specialization and adding portfolio photosWe update the data continuously, which means that active contractors' info will be regularly added to our siteAs we aim to provide information on all active contractors, good and bad, any one contractor cannot opt out of our siteSince we're reprinting publicly available information that anyone could access through thorough, dedicated research, we are not required to receive consent prior to publication [redacted] is welcome to claim and update his profile on our site, but we are unable to accommodate his request that his data be permanently removed

Initial Business Response / [redacted] (1000, 7, 2015/07/01) */ Dear Mr***, We apologize for any confusion over the information we have published on the siteBuildZoom does not provide independent perspectives on contracting businesses; we compile information from a variety of public sources and make it easier for users to access this information In this particular case, the license information came directly from the Suffolk County Department of Consumer AffairsThe building permit data is from the New York City Department of Buildings Both of these are open sources of data that we essentially transcribe directly from the sourcesIf there are reporting errors, please let us know so we can fix them immediately Initial Consumer Rebuttal / [redacted] (3000, 9, 2015/07/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The information is in accurate as the information with the New York Department of Building is the following: Company Owners: [redacted] and [redacted] *** Buildzoom needs to correct the records to the stated names as they have agreed to do so in the response Final Consumer Response / [redacted] (2000, 17, 2015/10/07) */ Thank you [redacted] for the follow upOur case has been resolved and do appreciate the assistance we have received from Revdex.com Best regards [redacted] ***

Initial Business Response / [redacted] (1000, 7, 2015/10/23) */ Sent [redacted] an email just now to resolve this issue Initial Consumer Rebuttal / [redacted] (2000, 9, 2015/10/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) The issue has now been resolved

Initial Business Response / [redacted] (1000, 17, 2015/10/26) */ Mr [redacted] : Apologies for the delay in our responseI would love to know the URL of the site in question and what information is in questionWe are happy to delete it Please note that we only post publicly available information from building permits and other similar sources Thank you, [redacted] Director of Operations BuildZoom

Initial Business Response / [redacted] (1000, 17, 2015/10/26) */ Mr ***, Apologies for the delay in our response and for the iterative nature of the issueI would love to chat with you on the phone to discuss your concerns and assure we put them to rest once and for allCan you please contact me at [redacted] @ [redacted] so we can set up a time to chat? Thank you, [redacted] Director of Operations

Initial Business Response / [redacted] (1000, 5, 2015/11/11) */ Dear [redacted] , Thank you for flagging this issueI assure you that we treat reviews and review disputes seriouslyI would love to look up the review in question but have no record of your name in our files Can you please email me at ***@buildzoom.com and provide the name of the contractor, so we can work through this issue? I'm interested in understanding your experience so we can improve our processes and prevent anything from falling through the cracks in the future Thank you, [redacted] Initial Consumer Rebuttal / [redacted] (2000, 9, 2015/11/16) */ The company contacted me and resolved the disputed reviewIt is now posted on the websiteI consider this issue resolved

BuildZoom remains disappointed by this client's dissatisfaction, but we can't issue a refund for a complementary serviceWhile this person has posted his complaint on multiple sites, our response remains the sameWe have never received a complaint of this type before, and are working with our customer service team to ensure better responsiveness in the future

Complaint: [redacted] I am rejecting this response because: there is no change from the last response from business I dare say it is an exact duplicate reply which tells me it is 1) a form letter response, and 2) they have many many similar complaints It is worth noting the service is not free All costs absorbed by businesses (in this case a contractor) is passed on to the consumer (homeowner) While they can try and hide behind that ascertation, the fact remains they did not provide the full services And the contractors objection was met by threatening to pull their listing It's not 'better business' by any stretch of the imagination I submit it is unethical and my lawyer affirms, liable I question the legality of it BTW, read the legal disclaimers they have and it is clear they spent a lot of money to try to legally scam both parties.Sincerely, [redacted] ***

BuildZoom is a marketplace that connects homeowners to contractorsWe aim to match the best, local contractors to folks in need of home improvement
We provide this service to every homeowner on BuildZoom, for free
When a contractor is hired based on our search, we charge
that contractor a small referral fee of 2.5% of the project valueThis is part of the contractor’s sales and marketing cost, and most of the time it is LOWER than any alternative method for obtaining projects
This contractor and all of our contractors are aware that a) they need to provide competitive pricing to obtain a homeowner’s business AND b) that BuildZoom charges a referral fee when projects are wonThis contractor successfully structured a competitive bid that did exactly thatHe won the homeowner’s project and, in exchange, paid BuildZoom for a project he wouldn't have known about or won otherwise
If the homeowner believed that he could find a better, more competitively priced contractor elsewhere, he was always free to do soIf he believes that his own contractor search could have yielded a contractor who would have offered a lower price (by 2.5%), he was always welcome to perform that search and reach out to contractors on his own
For the homeowner above, we successfully completed his contractor search, informed him about his matched contractors, and communicated the details of his project to those contractorsAgain, these services were performed for the homeowner totally free of charge
Again, BuildZoom has never charged this homeowner any money He is asking for a “partial refund” of a free service that was successfully completed
That isn’t to say we pitched a perfect game hereUnfortunately, an error in our email system caused us to miss his emails to usFor those errors, my team apologized directly and personally to the homeownerWe love nothing more than responding to homeowner questions because it drives better outcomes for both sides of the marketplace and are very sorry that we dropped the ball in this way
Had we gotten your requests, we would have welcomed the opportunity to perform our “Safe Hire” service for you - what you’re referring to as “contract review.” However it is worth noting that this service is free, like everything else BuildZoom does for homeowners

Complaint: ***I am rejecting this response because:I am filing a complaint against BuildZoom (an internet sales company that rates contractors) for presenting and publishing via their internet website inaccurate, incomplete information and misrepresentations with reference to my credentials as a professionalI have attempted to resolve this problem with them directly over a three year period (at least or times) since with no ultimate resolutionThey agree to remove my profile one year and then add my profile, the following yearApparently, this company's only concern is to build their reputation and business on dodgy facts under the guise of providing accurate information to consumers and the publicOther contractors have filed similar complaints with Revdex.comPlease stop this company from continuing their practices that can damage the reputation and livelihood of unsuspecting contractorsThey should obtain our written consent before presenting any information to the public and if a contractor requests to have their profile removed, it should be permanent - not just for one year; or any arbitrary time period as defined by this companyThis company obtains information from random records but does not verify facts and data
Immediate removal of my profile information from their websiteSincerely,*** ***

Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2015/10/24) */
Apologies for the delay in getting in touch with us ***We post only public information online, from permit and license data, to inform the public and help them select the best contractor for their needsOur score is a function of the
available information and not whether a contractor pays usWe would love to work with you to address your concerns, improve your profile and provide the most accurate information to the publicPlease feel free to email me at ***@buildzoom.com and we will go from thereThank you!

Revdex.com:I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ***, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to meSincerely, *** ***

Buildzoom does not require verifications of a reviewer’s claims. We attempted to dispute the claim as untrue. Buildzoom refused to remove the claim and would not work with us. Would not recommend!

My company is listed on BuildZoom. I never asked to be listed and I have no intention of joining. They never contacted me to ask if I wanted to be listed with them. BuildZoom collects contractors’ license information, a public record, and posts that info on their website. They assume they are doing us all some favor? I have been in business a long time and do not need any site like this or Home Advisor, Thumbtack, etc. to bring in new clients. There’s little to no advantage to having a third-party vet or negotiate for me. I have a good reputation and rely very well on word-of-mouth, and I usually place high in web searches and am easy to find for my area as a service provider.

Hi ,We've removed the BuildZoom profile. Thank you for including the reason you needed your profile to be deleted.While the profile and related contact information are no longer available on our site, please note that the link may take a few weeks to disappear from Google searches until they update...

their databases.
The first request for profile removal was denied because it did not include the reason why he wanted it removed (not a contractor).
Best wishes,

Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2015/07/01) */
Dear Mr. [redacted],
We apologize for any confusion over the information we have published on the site. BuildZoom does not provide independent perspectives on contracting businesses; we compile information from a variety of public sources and...

make it easier for users to access this information.
In this particular case, the license information came directly from the Suffolk County Department of Consumer Affairs. The building permit data is from the New York City Department of Buildings.
Both of these are open sources of data that we essentially transcribe directly from the sources. If there are reporting errors, please let us know so we can fix them immediately.
Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2015/07/06) */
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The information is in accurate as the information with the New York Department of Building is the following:
Company Owners: [redacted] and [redacted].
Buildzoom needs to correct the records to the stated names as they have agreed to do so in the response.
Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 17, 2015/10/07) */
Thank you [redacted] for the follow up. Our case has been resolved and do appreciate the assistance we have received from Revdex.com.
Best regards
[redacted]

Complaint: [redacted]I am rejecting this response because: their answer does not address the facts. The service is not complementary.  Complimentary =given or supplied free of charge. They do charge. They are trying to hide behind a technicality.  They foster an environment of fear and threaten the contractors (who the charge for "the service. " (hence NOT free)  The service they offer is more than an introduction. I've articulated where they've failed to fulfill the FULL service.  They still are not and refused to.  I'm having issues with the work (another area their "service" was to help with).  I could have led and said I didn't use their contractor, but I have integrity.  They refuse to try to resolve the matter. I received one call from them on this.  I have continued to try and open lines of communication.  So, I will continue to dispute this item until resolution is reached. If the Revdex.com will simply mark this as an unresolved complaint, we can end the back and forth here. Other homeowners need to be forewarned of their business practices.  My next step with BuildZoom is to factual include their service failure as part of my contract experience on their site. if/when they pull it, I will socialize that fact as well.  I think they should be paid, but not the full amount they charged since they have fallen short of the service.
lied and said I never used one of their contractors. ButSincerely,[redacted]

Check fields!

Write a review of BuildZoom, Inc.

Satisfaction rating
 
 
 
 
 
Upload here Increase visibility and credibility of your review by adding a photo

BuildZoom, Inc. Rating

Overall satisfaction rating

Address: 301 Howard St. Suite 1410, San Francisco, California, United States, 94105-3174

Phone:

Show more...

Web:

This website was reported to be associated with BuildZoom, Inc..



Add contact information for BuildZoom, Inc.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | New | Updated