Sign in

CenterPoint Energy

Sharing is caring! Have something to share about CenterPoint Energy? Use RevDex to write a review
Reviews CenterPoint Energy

CenterPoint Energy Reviews (209)

• Jul 29, 2020

Center Point Energy taking 6 weeks to fix dryer, broke A/C and shut off hot water for no reason
Center Point energy was called on 07/08/20 to fix my dryer covered on HSP. During visit A/C stopped working and a gas leak occurred hours later. They never told us they shut off our hot water or touched my A/C. I have documented medical issues that are life threatening called Uticaria and so does my son. I pleaded for help...it took 12 hours on the phone to get someone here. I have waited a total of 24 hour hours because the appointment windows are from 8 am to 9 pm, I have missed hours to serve my clients. Now they want to show up to fix my dryer that they fixed that worked for a total of 4 drying cycles on a day that I have clients back to back and my son is on Zoom for college. I have begged them to come earlier...I have been stood up and have lost wages to a point I will have nothing next month. I can't afford groceries next month because I have had to wait to essential services. I a

A CenterPoint technician came to replace/upgrade my gas meter and in the process he broke my mainline. When he came to tell me there was an issue he repeatedly tried to convince me that there was a gas leak and we checked every gas outlet in the house... no gas leak. The leak was where he had broken the mainline at its threads but I did not know this at the time. It cost me $3000 to have my gas lines replaced and a week of no hot water, heat or stove. Because he took the meter I had to have a city inspector come and sign off on the repair work which was more hassle and more missed work time. The final insult was another tech that came to replace the meter commenting that the first tech was known for doing things like this. The plumber I hired stated that there was no doubt at all that the tech broke the mainline. My pipes were old but there were no leaks until he caused the damage. This is also reflected in my consistent gas bill. I am absolutely disgusted and out a considerable amount of money that I should not be.

• Jan 15, 2020

I am rejecting this response because: ONLY PART OF THIS STATEMENT IS TRUE-->Upon arrival, our employee found the dryer already pulled away from the wall and you admitted you had removed the dryer hose prior to our technician arriving; WE HAD THE DRYER PULLED ~ 3" FROM THE WALL! THE RIP IS 15" FROM THE WALL THEREFORE, WE DID NOT DO THE RIP!! I HAVE ATTACHED TWO PHOTOS #IS A PHOTO OF THE RIP ITSELF IT IS UNEQUIVOCALLY IMPERATIVE TO NOTE THAT THE RIP, PICTURE #1, IS CUT AT THE FRONT AND PUCKERED TOWARDS THE BACK ANALYSIS--> THE PUCKERING IS FROM THE FORCE OF THE FOOT OF THE DRYER CUTTING THE VINYL FLOOR, FROM THE FRONT, WERE THE CUT IS, TO THE BACK WHERE THE PUCKERING OR ACCORDION LOOK IS THE BACK I AM REFERING TO IS THE TOP OF THE PHOTO AND REPRESENTS THE WALL, THE FRONT IS THE BOTTOM OF THE PHOTO AND IS THE FARTHEST FROM THE WALL CONCLUSION BASED ON PHOTO FACT----> THE RIP OCCURED WHEN PUSHING THE DRYER BACK TOWARDS THE WALL, THAT IS HOW YOU CUT AT THE FRONT AND PUCKER TOWARDS THE BACK IT IS 100% IMPOSSIBLE TO DO THIS BY PULLING THE DRYER OUT FROM THE WALL--- #PHOTO IS SHOWING A TOP DOWN VIEWTHE DRYER SIDE ON THE LEFT, THE WALL OF THE SINK ON THE RIGHT, THE RIP IN THE FLOOR, PUCKER TOWARDS THE WALL WHERE YOU SEE THE BASEBOARD CLEARLY AT THE TOP OF THE PICTURETHIS IS FALSE---HE DID DAMAGE THE FLOOR---SEE THE ABOVE EXPLAINATION---As a courtesy, our employee reconnected the dryer hose at your request and pushed the dryer back against the wall after reconnecting the hoseHe did not damage the floor when the dryer was put back in place THIS IS FALSE--WE SAW, WHEN THE TECHNICIAN LEFT TO BY THE PART, HIS STUFF AND THE DRYER PARTS WERE ALL OVER THE DRUM TO THE DRYER WAS IN THE DOORWAY IN FRONT OF THE SINK THIS ACTION IS HOW THE WALL TRIM WAS CUT AND DAMAGED, BY HIM MOVING STUFF EVERYWHERE The CenterPoint Energy technician made all repairs from the front of the unit, eliminating the need to move the dryer forward (from the position you had placed it in prior to his arrival); THIS IS FALSE---THERE WAS ALL KINDS OF NOISE WHEN HE WAS WORKING AND A BIG "BANG" WHILE HE WAS HERE, THEN WE HEARD THE TECHNICIAN SAY, "OH S_ _T" THIS IS A COMPLETELY STATEMENT BY CENTERPOINT/SERVICE PLUS THIS HOUSE IS LESS THAN TWO MONTHS OLD, WE ARE NOT GOING TO CLOSE ON AND BUY A HOME WITH DAMAGED WOODWORK The indentation in the door is on the opposite side of the room from the dryer and not anywhere near where the technician was working There is no evidence to support your claim that CenterPoint Energy’s technician was responsible for this damageTHERE IS 100% EVIDENCE Therefore, we respectfully maintain our position regarding liability of this claim and stand by our denial.----LET'S TAKE THIS TO THE NEXT LEVEL IF CENTERPOINT IS STANDING BY THEIR CLAIM THEY ARE WRONG!!!WE WANT THEM TO REMOVE THE WAHER AND DRYER AND DISCONNECT THEM, REMOVE THEM FROM THE ROOM, STORE THEM IN A SAFE PLACE, REPLACE THE WOOD TRIM AND COMPLETE FLOOR WITH NEW PRODUCT, REPLACE AND RE-HOOK UP THE WASHER AND DRYER---MAKING OUR LAUNDRY ROOM LOOK LIKE NEW AGAIN THIS IS WHAT WE WANT THEM TO PAY FOR AS THIS IS TOTALLY THEIR FAULT

• Jan 09, 2020

Initial Business Response / [redacted] (1000, 5, 2014/10/17) */ October 16, Ms [redacted] Savage, MN 55378- Ms [redacted] : This letter responds to your complaint to the Revdex.com (Revdex.com) of Minnesota regarding the estimated consumption billed to your account during the time your meter was not registering The gas meter at your property at [redacted] , Savage, Minnesota, did not register gas consumption from the time you moved into the property in September until the meter was replaced in July As you note, you called CenterPoint Energy to report this issue in December 2013, but the gas usage billed to your account continued to be estimated until July To resolve this issue, I have credited your account in the amount of $1,033.63, which is the total amount of estimated consumption from the time you called until the time the meter was replacedAfter this credit is applied, your account balance will be $48.99, which accounts for the actual consumption (less the payments you have made) since the meter was replaced Although CenterPoint Energy does have the right to estimate gas consumption for up to months in these cases, because you called to report this issue, you will be billed estimated consumption only until the time that you called I would like to apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced as a result of this issuePlease contact me if you have any further questions regarding this issue Sincerely, [redacted] Regulatory Liaison CenterPoint Energy [redacted]

• Jan 08, 2020

Initial Business Response / [redacted] (1000, 5, 2014/11/04) */ November 4, Ms [redacted] Plymouth, Minnesota 55442- Ms [redacted] : This letter responds to your complaint to the Revdex.com of Minnesota regarding the refund of payments you submitted in July CenterPoint Energy records show that you inadvertently overpaid your bill by $on July 8, You then contacted us on July and requested that the overpayment be refunded, which was processed as two refund checks (in the amounts of $and $83) were mailed to you on July However, the checks were returned to CenterPoint Energy by the United States Postal Service (USPS) on August 5, who noted that the mailing address ( [redacted] , Plymouth, MN 55442) was incorrect The refund checks were then re-issued on August (at your request), but were not cashed, and were then voided on September so that they could again be re-issued, as you had still not received the checksThese checks were sent again and returned on October by USPS as undeliverable At this time, your refund checks have again been mailed to your address as of October The address they were mailed to was: [redacted] Plymouth, MN 55442- CenterPoint Energy has attempted to refund your overpayment four timesI would like to confirm that the above address is correctAlso, if you wish, I will update your CenterPoint Energy account to reflect your name change I would like to apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced as a result of this issuePlease contact me if you have any further questions regarding this issue Sincerely, [redacted] Regulatory Liaison CenterPoint Energy [redacted] Initial Consumer Rebuttal / [redacted] (3000, 7, 2014/11/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Dear ***, Thank you for responding to my complaintI have checked with my landlord and my postal carrier and they have not seen the refund checks/mail you indicate have been sent multiple times I also had my landlord check with the tenant in my old apartment (I transferred to a different apartment within the same complex last February), and they also have have not received these checks You indicate in your response that the checks were most recently sent again on 10/30/As of 11/8/these checks have not arrived to my residence Are you able to expedite my checks and/or send them via a traceable method? There really seems no logical explanation to how if the checks have been mailed as you've indicated - and the address is correct - that no one on my property (me, USPS mail carrier or landlord) has seen them Sincerely, [redacted] Final Business Response / [redacted] (4000, 10, 2014/11/20) */ Ms [redacted] : I see that you have corresponded with our Online Customer Service group yesterday regarding this issueI would like to outline the steps taken to rectify this payment issue First, your account has been updated to reflect your full last name: [redacted] As such, the refund check will be made out to your full name, which will also display on the envelope used for mailing Second, we have cancelled the checks that were last issued, and will send new refund checks with your updated name as soon as possibleTypically, we have a day policy before checks can be reissuedHowever, given the circumstances and continued difficulty you have experienced, we will expedite the processing of your refundIt will be issued next week no later than November 26, Finally, I understand that the mailbox at your property has been updated with your full nameI am hopeful that this will resolve any issues the postal office may have had in delivering your checks I would like to apologize again for the delays in delivering your paymentPlease contact me if you have any further questions regarding this issue Sincerely, [redacted] Customer Services CenterPoint Energy

• Jan 06, 2020

Thank you for your patience in our response regarding Revdex.com Complaint# [redacted] for Mr [redacted] for the address of [redacted] in Minneapolis, MN Our investigation revealed Mr [redacted] contacted CenterPoint Energy Customer Service on 2/23/2016, to request a state inspection of his gas furnaceOur customer service representative agreed and scheduled the appointment in error On 2/27/2016, an HSP technician traveled to Mr [redacted] address and completed a gas furnace tune up without the requested inspection Mr [redacted] soon after contacted our customer service department to initiate a complaint about the mishandling of his order; and therefore demanded to speak with a supervisor A customer service supervisor returned Mr [redacted] phone call hours later, leaving a voice mail On 3/1/2016, Mr [redacted] gas account was billed in the amount of $for cost of the furnace tune up; with a date due by 3/29/ On 4/2/2016, the charges in the amount of $were retractedWe offer our most sincere apologies for any inconvenience this matter may have caused Mr*** Please know expectations of improvement were clearly communicated to those responsible for the mishandling of Mr [redacted] gas account; and know we are grateful for having the opportunity to assist and better serve Mr*** in the future Sincerely, Shauntee [redacted]

• Jan 02, 2020

Thank you for your patience in our response regarding Revdex.com Complaint# [redacted] for Mr [redacted] We acknowledge receipt of Mr [redacted] ’s rebuttal rejection received in office Please note on 6/7/16, Mr [redacted] contacted CNP/HSP regarding adding the Replacement Assistance Plan, it was at this time our representative advised that the refrigerator would be covered with RAP “if it is in working condition” Please understand the Replacement Assistance Plan was canceled for the refrigerator option only on 8/2/due to the pre-existing condition We apologize for any misunderstanding and inconvenience that this matter may have caused Mr [redacted] However, we stand by our decision to deny Mr [redacted] ’s request for Replacement Assistance in the amount of $Mr [redacted] has not been charged for the Replacement Assistance Plan Sincerely, Shauntee [redacted]

• Jan 02, 2020

April 27, Mr [redacted] size="3"> [redacted] Mr [redacted] : This letter responds to your complaint to the Revdex.com (Revdex.com) of Minnesota regarding your claim of property damages caused by a Home Service Plus (HSP) technician during the repair of your dryer at [redacted] ***nue, [redacted] CenterPoint Energy records show that you requested that Home Service Plus (HSP) repair your dryer on February 22, 2016, and that an HSP technician then serviced your dryer on February As your complaint notes, you claim that this technician caused property damages during the course of this repair To investigate this issue, our technician’s supervisor visited your property to attempt to determine the source of the property damagesThis supervisor’s manager then also visited your property to attempt to resolve this issue and determine if CenterPoint Energy or HSP were responsible for any property damages As noted in the letter sent by CenterPoint Energy’s Claims Department on April 7, 2016: Our investigation of this matter revealed the following: Upon arrival, our employee found the dryer already pulled away from the wall and you admitted you had removed the dryer hose prior to our technician arriving; As a courtesy, our employee reconnected the dryer hose at your request and pushed the dryer back against the wall after reconnecting the hoseHe did not damage the floor when the dryer was put back in place The CenterPoint Energy technician made all repairs from the front of the unit, eliminating the need to move the dryer forward (from the position you had placed it in prior to his arrival); The indentation in the door is on the opposite side of the room from the dryer and not anywhere near where the technician was working There is no evidence to support your claim that CenterPoint Energy’s technician was responsible for this damageTherefore, we respectfully maintain our position regarding liability of this claim and stand by our denial Sincerely, Robin H Regulatory Liaison CenterPoint Energy [redacted]

• Dec 31, 2019

We contacted the customer and verified that the gas service was reconnected on the next dayThe customer admitted that they were given the two call a heads on the first day and they, the customer, did not make it to the location in timeAs procedure, our tech tagged the door and continued his workWhen the customer called in to reschedule for the next day, they felt that our customer representative was not "sympathetic" to their issue and the customer became upsetThe order was rescheduled and we did meet the customer on the next day and no additional charge and gas service was restored After talking with the customer they are satisfied at this point and said they would be retracting their complaint

• Dec 31, 2019

Initial Business Response / [redacted] (1000, 5, 2014/07/24) */ July 24, [redacted] Albertville, MN Dear Ms [redacted] : This letter responds to your complaint to the Revdex.com (Revdex.com) in which you claim that CenterPoint Energy's phone representatives gave you inadequate information to complete an online payment, and because of that, you were unable to make an online payment Your complaint also states you have spoken with five different phone representatives, none of which could provide accurate information on how to make an online payment Our records indicate your last contact with CenterPoint Energy was on September 20, Our notes indicate you spoke with a phone representative in regards to making an online payment, and on the same day made a One-time Payment through our online services You then enrolled in our Online Billing program on January 16, 2014, and have made all payments online since that dateYou have made all of your payments on time and have incurred no late fees If you have questions regarding Online Billing in the future, please feel free to contact me directly Sincerely, [redacted] Customer Services CenterPoint Energy [redacted]

• Dec 28, 2019

Initial Business Response / [redacted] (1000, 5, 2014/03/27) */ March 27, [redacted] XXX XXXth [redacted] MN XXXXX-XXXX Dear [redacted] : This letter responds to your complaint to the Revdex.com of Minnesota regarding repairs to your clothes washer As noted in your complaint, Home Service Plus made repairs to your washer on four occasions since last year, but you continued to experience issues with the applianceTo resolve these issues, a master technician was dispatched on March 25, As you suggested, the drain pump required repair, and after completing the repair, our technician conducted several tests, which confirmed that the clothes washer functioned properly Because you had experienced repeated issues with your appliance, and because you are a valued Home Service Plus customer, our representative agreed to credit the cost of two months of your Home Service Plus Repair PlanThis credit will appear on your next two invoices In your complaint, you also note that you had "nearly $1,invested in our service protection plan," which is trueHowever, please note that the total cost of repairs to your appliances since May of (when you signed up for the Repair Plan) is currently $2, Because your appliance has been repaired, CenterPoint Energy considers this matter resolvedPlease contact me if you have any further questions or concerns Sincerely, [redacted] H [redacted] CenterPoint Energy XXX-XXX-XXXX Initial Consumer Rebuttal / [redacted] (3000, 7, 2014/03/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) A master technician came out, listened to what was happening with the washer, researched the codes, replaced the discharge pump and waited for the washer to cycle successfullySo far the tech seems to have fixed the problem In response to how many times home service plus has serviced out washer, this was not the same washerThis was a washer needing service after we had replaced a washer that HSP had been scheduled to fix a previous yearI don't have control of when my appliance fails or the cost of the appliance failureThat's part of a reason why someone enrolls in one of your programscomfort and peace of mind So, the total cost to the business resulting in fixing my appliance may be relevant to HSP, but I don't know how I could have changed thatI do believe that if a problem is fixed in one appointment vs three, it has to cost a business lessAn attempt to guilt a customer in how much their appliance protection program has cost the business is not a fair judgement of service

• Dec 23, 2019

Thank you for your patience in our response regarding Revdex.com Complaint # [redacted] listed in the name of [redacted] located at the address of [redacted] Minneapolis, MN According to our records Ms [redacted] contacted CenterPoint Energy Customer Service on 7/11/16, to establish gas service in her nameOur representative established the gas account and advised that appointment window would be between the hours of a.m., to p.mMs [redacted] was receptive to the information provided and asked for a thirty minute call ahead on her move in request Our automated dialer contacted Ms [redacted] at 4:p.m., which was answered and the option of customer enroute was selectedThe technician arrived to the subject address at 4:p.m., and found no one home; leaving a door tag regarding the missed appointment After several more phone calls to customer service, Ms [redacted] spoke with a Supervisor; and an after hour’s exception was made to accommodate Ms [redacted] for 7/12/ On 7/12/16, gas service was successfully activated at 10:p.m In review of your concerns raised, our appointment windows on reconnection move in requests are scheduled all day; and require the customer’s presence to allow us inside access so that a safety inspection can be performed, in addition to lighting all gas appliances which is completed as a safety precaution Please note in addressing the missed appointments: once an appointment has been missed our process does not allow us the opportunity to go back to the service address, due to workload permitting in addition to possible gas emergenciesOur process requires the customer to reschedule their appointment for the next date available We apologize for any inconvenience this matter may have caused youWe highly regard any recommendation that will improve the way we conduct business; as we are thankful for having the opportunity to assist you and look forward to better serving you in the future Sincerely, Shauntee [redacted]

• Dec 20, 2019

I am rejecting this response because: After calling for balance information I was told I am still past due and my payment I must make is $ I checked the account online it states the sameMy account is past due and payment due is $After previous treatment and calls from this company I do not feel comfortable acceping an email resolution unless it is verified by a corrected billing or at least an update to customer service so they can verify an adjustment was actually made

• Dec 19, 2019

October 19, Mr [redacted] New Roman"> [redacted] Cedar, MN 55011- Mr [redacted] : This letter responds to your complaint to the Revdex.com (Revdex.com) of Minnesota regarding the Home Service Plus (HSP) Repair Plan coverage for your properties CenterPoint Energy records show that you hold a Repair Plan contract at the following properties: [redacted] *, Brooklyn Park $ [redacted] *, Brooklyn Park $ [redacted] Brooklyn Park $ CenterPoint Energy records show that you have had four service calls at [redacted] since you enrolled in HSP in 2012: On December 7, 2013, your tenant called to report that the furnace was not heatingOur technician arrived at the property later that day and made repairs to the furnace, the cost of which ($164.76) were covered by your Repair PlanOur records show that your account was credited for three months’ cost of the HSP Repair Plan as compensation for the wait timeOn January 30, 2014, your tenant called to report that there was no hot water at the propertyAgain, our technician arrived within hours of the call and repaired the appliance, and again the cost ($137.98) was covered by your Repair Plan On October 4, 2014, the furnace again required repairHowever, because HSP was overbooked, a repair was not completed until October The cost of this repair ($120) was also covered with your Repair PlanOur records show that your account was credited for two months’ cost of the HSP repair plan due to this wait timeOn October 8, 2016, your tenant called CenterPoint Energy to schedule a repair of the furnaceAt that time, the soonest available appointment was October However, during the course of the repair, our technician found that the furnace (which was years old) was producing unsafe levels of carbon monoxide during operationTo make the situation safe, the technician “red-tagged” the appliance and stated that the furnace would need to be replaced, as your complaint notes Your complaint notes that the issues with your furnace were repaired by another heating contractor “for $each time.” CenterPoint Energy and HSP stand behind our technician’s diagnosis that the furnace at your property was producing unsafe levels of carbon monoxide and cannot verify the work performed by another heating contractor CenterPoint Energy and HSP have fulfilled the terms and conditions of the HSP Repair Plan contracts you have, and respectfully decline your request for “a refund of everything I have ever paid to HSP.” However, if you wish to cancel your contracts, you may do so with no additional charges Sincerely, Robin H Regulatory Liaison CenterPoint Energy

• Dec 17, 2019

Thank you for your patience regarding Revdex.com Complaint# [redacted] for [redacted] located at the address of [redacted] in Sleep Eye, MN We tried contacting Mr [redacted] by phone today and the call went unanswered; and the voicemail was full and we could not leave a message We would greatly appreciate your assistance by responding to this email as soon as possible to let us know a day we can schedule repair visit(Monday through Friday only) Sincerely, Shauntee [redacted]

• Dec 17, 2019

Initial Business Response / [redacted] (1000, 8, 2015/11/10) */ November 10, Ms [redacted] Mankato, MN 56001- Ms [redacted] : This letter responds to your complaint to the Revdex.com (Revdex.com) of Minnesota regarding the disconnection of your natural gas service at [redacted] , Mankato, MN CenterPoint Energy records show that a Notice of Disconnection was sent to you on September 29, 2015, for a past due balance of $This Notice expired on October 9, Because your account remained past due, your gas service was then disconnected on October On October 22, your application for the Gas Affordability Program (GAP) was received and your account was then enrolled in GAPOur office attempted to contact you via telephone on that date to schedule reconnection of your gas service, but we were unable to reach youWe then spoke with you on October and your service was reconnected on October Although your complaint states that you sent an email to our office on October 22, this was after your service had been disconnected for non-paymentRegardless, in cases when a customer's gas service has been disconnected for non-payment, the customer must call CenterPoint Energy to discuss reconnection and Cold Weather Rule procedures At this time your service has been restored and your account has been enrolled in GAPAs such, CenterPoint Energy respectfully declines your request to remove the reconnection fee from your account Sincerely, Robin H Regulatory Liaison CenterPoint Energy [redacted] Initial Consumer Rebuttal / [redacted] (3000, 10, 2015/11/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) My email that was sent, reference number [redacted] , was asking someone to contact me at my cell number to advise on how I could pay my billI was unable to make a payment due to the fact that they do not accept American Express cardsThis is the card that my money was onThe correspondence was asking for help to get payment made and the services back onI feel that since they made NO effort to contact me I should be compensated for their lack of customer serviceI was going to attach a copy of the email but am unable to access it nowI did send a second email on 10/24/asking why I had not had any responseMy bill would have been paid in full if someone would have contacted me in response to my emailI feel that since no one in their company wanted to contact me about getting the bill paid, than I should not be responsible for reconnection fees Final Business Response / [redacted] (4000, 12, 2015/11/13) */ Ms [redacted] : Our records show that your gas service was disconnected on October 14, Your email (sent October 22) would not have prevented disconnection of your gas serviceIf you had made payment for the balance owed to restore your gas service, the $reconnection fee would have still been assessed Sincerely, Robin H Regulatory Liaison CenterPoint Energy

• Dec 16, 2019

Mr [redacted] : Thank you for contacting CenterPoint EnergyUnfortunately, I am unable to locate your account in our systemCould you please provide your account number so that I can locate your account? If you are an XCel Energy customer, your complaint may need to be submitted to Xcel Energy for resolutionThank you, Robin HRegulatory LiaisonCenterPoint Energy

• Dec 14, 2019

Initial Business Response / [redacted] (1000, 5, 2014/11/14) */ This is in response to Revdex.com Case # [redacted] submitted by [redacted] regarding the premise at [redacted] Katy, TX On behalf of CenterPoint Energy we would like to extend an immediate apology to Ms [redacted] in regards to her customer service experience as she felt that she did not receive the highest quality of customer service that we strive for and are accustomed to providing After a thorough review of our records we were able to determine that on 10/10/14, an invoice was mailed for $This includes a disconnect notice for $with a final payment date of 10/20/14, plus the current bill $due 10/27/Regrettably, the account remained unpaid and service was disconnected for non-payment on 10/22/An eligible reconnection offer was made and accepted by the customer on 10/22/in the amount of $This amount includes the past due amount of $37.14, a $collection fee, a $reconnection fee and a $deposit On 10/24/14, Ms [redacted] requested to speak with a supervisorThe supervisor explained the disconnection and reconnection process as well as the collection and reconnection fees in detailIn addition, the process to get the account transferred into another parties name was also discussedOn this same day MsLiz [redacted] 's account was forced out by a new partyThe supervisor agreed to waive the $reconnect fee and it was reversed on this same dayThe customer was advised that the collection fee was warranted and did apply Additionally, we have attached the disconnect notice for your review: The disconnect notice states as follows: IMPORTANT NOTICE - TEXAS CUSTOMERS The bill for your natural gas service is seriously past duePlease note that your regular bill also serves as a "Disconnect Notice" and should receive your immediate attention If your payment is not received in our office by the specified date for the past due balance, a collection charge may be made or your service may be disconnected without further notice If service is disconnected, you must pay your bill in full in addition to a reconnect chargeYour deposit requirement will be re-evaluated and may be increased if necessary to cover payment for future service A final bill was mailed on 10/28/14, for $due 11/12/This includes the a reconnection fee of $40.00, a $collection fee and a final bill for $The $reconnection fee was reversed, therefore leaving a remaining balance of $On 11/10/14, payment was received for $We were unsuccessful in our attempts to contact Ms [redacted] , however a voicemail message was left with our contact information In addition, we would like to provide clarification, that CenterPoint Energy does not accept or process payments from customer's by phoneWhile CenterPoint Energy offers, many alternative options, mail in, sign up for automatic bank draft, pay over the phone via the IVR and make a One Time Payment for free with your checking or savings account or through [redacted] , as well as make payment at an authorized payment location such as HEB, Kroger, etc and on-line; you can pay through [redacted] online and through your online account (MAO) or a One Time Payment for freeBy no means is a customer obligated to pay via [redacted] , a third party vendor, it is an option and the customer may decline or accept making payments via the third party vendor as there is a convenience fee of $that [redacted] charges for processing the payment We thank Ms [redacted] for allowing us the opportunity to research this issueWe sincerely apologize for any inconvenience Ms [redacted] may have encountered as a result of this matterUnfortunately, the collection fee is warranted and CenterPoint Energy is unable to honor Ms [redacted] 's request to waive the fee Respectfully, [redacted] CenterPoint Energy Initial Consumer Rebuttal / [redacted] (3000, 7, 2014/11/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I would like to respond to the recent communication from CenterpointFirst an invoice was never mailed outI receive electronic communication from CenterpointThe email I received on 10/stated I had a bill due on 10/in the amount of $There was no mention as to an unpaid balance or a disconnection notice.When a note appeared at the residence I called immediately asking why there was a shut off notice for service on my door when the communnication I received stated 10/due dateI was told that was for the current bill and there were in fact different due dates.I promptly paid the bill while I was on the phone and tried to come to a resolution After payment was made I was told I still had a balance to pay even though it was not reflected on my account onlineI was told service could not be reconnected without payment, which left me in a position to not be able to turn my service back on since there is not a way to pay a $balance I never accepted a reconnection offer at any timeI requested to speak to a supervisor who said in so many words "if I don't pay my bills that's not their problem and they will not credit anything off my bill for a mistake"I then asked to speak with her managerI was told I would receive a call back within 24-hoursI provided my current phone number [redacted] At no time was there mention of a $reconnect fee at this point, siply the $deposit and the $reconnect fee On 10/I called back at approximately 5:pm asking to please speak with a manager that I was never called and the matter was urgentAt this point the elderly resident in the home was without service for days on one of the coldest nights in months with no gas for cooking, heat, and hot waterI again provided my current number of [redacted] for the call back On 10/I called yet again on 10/to get all the options available since no one would call me backThe lady I spoke with told me I would have to pay $for reconnect, $for a deposit, and if I called her back within a few minutes she could have someone out there that evening to turn the gas onI confirmed times if the only fees on my account were the $reconnect and the $deposit and I was told yesI then asked if the current tenant called to put the service in their name what fees would be associated with this optionI was told I would pay the final balance for usage and the tenant would pay a $connect charge and a deposit which is based on creditI hung up the phone discussed my options with the tenant and had the tenant call back with a decision The tenant called back to start service in her name and have the technician come out that night to avoid waiting until Monday, a total of days from the initial callShe was told that was not an option and who ever told her that was wrongThe cut off for that option was hours before the call, which occured minutes prior to her call I then called back to speak to another supervisor to address the incorrect information I receivedI gave my number again to have a supervisor call me backI received a call around 7pm addressing my concernsIt was at this time after numerous conversations I was told about a $reconnect feeI told him I confirmed numerous times with the other agents and not one of them discussed this feeHis response was "I didn't ask the right questions"I would assume asking for any and all fees associated would include this particular feeHe then told me it is on the bill, which again is emailed to me, not mailedI read the statement to him which discusses the feeIt states "If your payment is not received in our office by the specified date for the past due balance, a collection charge may be made or your service may be disconnected without further notice." I emphasized the fact that the statement reads "or" not "and", which I was subject to both a collection charge and a disconnectionHe ignored my response and said he would not reverse any charges As you can see I made numerous attempts to rectify the situationI was given different answers by numerous employees on the same topicI also don't believe that my treatment in this situation was warranted Final Business Response / [redacted] (4000, 9, 2014/11/26) */ This is in response to case # [redacted] We thank Ms [redacted] for allowing us another opportunity to respond We would like to provide clarification in that Ms [redacted] was correct that her invoices were being sent electronicallyThe invoice dated 10/10/14, that was sent electronically to the customer as well as mailed to the service addressPlease be advised that when a customer is registered in Online Billing their invoices are sent electronically and the only invoice that is mailed is the disconnect noticeIn which our records indicate the invoice dated 10/10/14, was sent electronically to the customer as well as mailed on this date We have attached a copy of the invoice that was sent electronically as well as mailed and it can be viewed online under Billing & View Payment HistoryThe invoice was for a total of $55.71.This included a disconnect notice for the past due amount of $with a final payment date of 10/20/14, plus the current bill in the amount of $due 10/27/The invoice is pink in color and in bold white letters stated DISCONNECT NOTICE as well as stated as follows: IMPORTANT NOTICE - TEXAS CUSTOMERS: The bill for your natural gas service is seriously past duePlease note that your regular bill also serves as a "Disconnect Notice" and should receive your immediate attentionIf your payment is not received in our office by the specified date for the past due balance, a collection charge may be made or your service may be disconnected without further noticeIf your service is disconnected, you must pay your bill in full in addition to a reconnect chargeYour deposit requirement will be re-evaluated and may be increased if necessary to cover payment for future servicePlease notice the attached invoice for your review Unfortunately, we will be unable to refund the $Collection FeeThe fee is valid because on 10/20/14, due to no payment receivedThe Past Due notice was mailed on 10/10/It clearly stated that a payment in the amount of $was due on or before 10/20/14, in order to avoid the service being disconnectedThis fee was applied to the account because our technician had to travel to the premise to actually disconnect the service on 10/24/ Therefore, the collection fee of $is warranted and was applied to the customers natural gas accountThis fee was not erroneously billed to the customerAs a regulated company we are required to list all charges and the collection fee of $was billed on the final invoice dated 10/28/ We sincerely regret any inconvenience that Ms [redacted] may have encountered as a result of this matterWe thank Ms [redacted] for allowing us the opportunity to respond and for making her concerns known to us Respectfully, [redacted] CenterPoint Energy

• Dec 13, 2019

Initial Business Response / [redacted] (1000, 5, 2014/07/24) */ July 24, Mr [redacted] Burnsville, MN 55337- Dear Mr***: This letter responds to your complaint to the Revdex.com (Revdex.com) of Minnesota regarding CenterPoint Energy's response to your request to repair your air conditioner CenterPoint Energy records show that you purchased the property at [redacted] , Burnsville, on July 1, 2014, and that the air conditioner at the property had recently been serviced at the request of the previous ownerDuring that service call, our technician replaced the furnace's blower motor because it was repeatedly tripping the circuit breakerHowever, this issue continued intermittently after the service call, but because the previous owner had moved out, the appliance was no longer covered with their Home Service Plus (HSP) Repair Plan contract Your complaint to the Revdex.com was received on July 21, 2014, but CenterPoint Energy records also show that you called to have your air conditioner serviced on that date, and that HSP responded that same dayThis service call (totaling $315.60) was covered under HSP's warranty policy at no cost to youAgain, our technician replaced the blower motor and tested the electrical system to ensure that it would no longer trip your home's circuit breakerAfter replacing the motor, your air conditioner was found to function properly Because your appliance has been repaired and CenterPoint Energy has received no additional communication to the contrary since the repair, we consider this matter resolvedIf the problem with your air conditioner continues, please contact us Sincerely, [redacted] Customer Services CenterPoint Energy [redacted]

• Dec 12, 2019

May 2, Mr [redacted] size="3"> [redacted] Mound, MN 55364- Mr [redacted] : This letter responds to your complaint to the Revdex.com (Revdex.com) of Minnesota regarding your account for natural gas service at [redacted] , Mound, Minnesota Your complaint states that CenterPoint Energy disconnected natural gas service to your property after processing your request to start service at a new residence [redacted] Zimmerman, MinnesotaYou also state that you were held responsible for gas charges at the property in Zimmerman despite never closing on that home To resolve these concerns, I have investigated this issue and ensured that your account has been billed correctlyAll charges related to the address in Zimmerman have been removed from your account, and billing has been reinstated in your name for your property at [redacted] , Mound, MinnesotaYour account has not been referred to a Collection Agency, and no late fees or other penalties have been assessed by CenterPoint Energy Your complaint mentions that CenterPoint Energy shut off natural gas services to your home during the course of this transactionIn the email correspondence dated November 30, 2015, our representative explained that CenterPoint Energy requires customer information to start a new account after an account is closed, and without that information, the natural gas service at the property may be disconnected CenterPoint Energy records show that notification of this policy was provided by our representative on November 30, 2015: ADDRESS: [redacted] MOUND, MN We have received your request to discontinue the natural gas service at [redacted] MOUND, MN and a service technician will shut off service on 12/15/ TO AVOID DISCONNECT / PLEASE PROVIDE FIRST AND LAST NAME OF NEW OCCUPANT I would like to apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced as a result of these issuesAt this time, your account has been rebilled correctly If you have any further questions, please contact me Sincerely, Robin H Regulatory Liaison CenterPoint Energy

Check fields!

Write a review of CenterPoint Energy

Satisfaction rating
 
 
 
 
 
Upload here Increase visibility and credibility of your review by adding a photo

CenterPoint Energy Rating

Overall satisfaction rating

Address: 399 Highway 6 W, Oxford, Mississippi, United States, 38655-8597

Phone:

Show more...

Web:

www.centerpointenergy.com


Add contact information for CenterPoint Energy

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | New | Updated