Sign in

Conestoga Tile

Sharing is caring! Have something to share about Conestoga Tile? Use RevDex to write a review
Reviews Conestoga Tile

Conestoga Tile Reviews (5)

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the responseIf no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved] Complaint: [redacted] I am rejecting this response because:There are a number of items in the reply from Conestoga Tile which are not trueI am clarifying the facts and have included information at the end of this reply on Conestoga Tile agreeing to settle this matter.PARA - The 3rd, 4th, 5th & 6th pages of a staple bundle were all from Conestoga Tile, all prepared by Conestoga TileThe 1st & 2nd pages were the actual contractor notes/billThe Conestoga Tile employee only looked at one page of the four pages from Conestoga Tile when I was visiting them last fall and I asked what grout we needed to order to make sure I got the same colorOn 3/14/a Conestoga Tile employee did exactly the same thing, only looked at one of the six pages in the original bundle of paperwork, when I asked her the same question and emphasized I wanted the same color grout for my projectIf all the pages had been looked at either employee would have seen more than one grout possibility had been listed and which one the contractor usedThat is what they should have done instead of definitively telling me which grout we needed to order and telling me the wrong one, twiceThey are the experts in this matter and I should have been able to believe them when they told me what to orderI do not feel it is reasonable to state that I should have known better than they how to read their own paperwork and that I should have known not to believe themI told them I wanted to have the same color grout, they told me what to order after I showed them all the original paperwork, & I believed them In addition, none of the staff members I spoke with on my numerous visits last fall ever told me I should take grout samples home to compare and that the colors may not match, and neither did any of the employees I spoke to on 3/14/(at least not before I told them they had made an error).PARA - The staff of Conestoga Tile on this visit (3/14/15) told me that the grout colorant only lasted up to years in their experience and that due to the type of tile/stone I have a large amount of it would have to be applied each time it need applied.PARA - I had been corresponding with my contractor (***) up to this point and they were trying to facilitate a solution with Conestoga Tile [redacted] had told me about Conestoga Tile's proposal to use the colorant and I had let them know that I did not find this acceptable as per Conestoga Tile's own personnel and my own research this was a temporary solution (and thus would be wearing off over time), would take a lot of product & be very time consuming to apply on my type of shower (pebble with lots of curving lines & more grout than usual), & these factors combined would make this a costly alternative for me to have to do over and over for the rest of my lifeAfter numerous emails connected with this attempt, I received an email on 3/23/from [redacted] stating that Conestoga Tile would not do anything for me other than provide some colorant to ***At this point, since Conestoga was refusing to do anything else, I filed my complaint to the Revdex.comFor the first time, after I did this & let Conestoga Tile know of my Revdex.com complaint, someone from Conestoga Tile contacted me.PARA - I re-explained the facts of this situation to Jim V [redacted] from Conestoga Tile when he called meI also explained to him why the temporary "band aid" type of solution of using a grout colorant was not acceptable to meI wanted my shower done right; I was very upset about my messed up project with two different colors of groutMrV [redacted] insisted to me over and over that the colorant was permanent, even when I told him his own staff (several of them) had told me it was temporary and in their experience it would have to be reapplied at least every ten yearsWhen he still would not listen I pulled up the website for [redacted] ***, and right on their front page they tell you it is not permanent; their website says up to yearsI told him what I was looking at, but he still kept arguing his pointI offered to send him photos and copies of the original paperwork if he wished, but at this time he wasn't interestedThroughout the call MrV [redacted] was rude, abrupt, argumentative, and interrupted me and spoke over me most of the call, often with a raised voiceI finally told him I was not going to put up with this treatment and I was going to hang up (while he continued loudly talking over me the whole time), and I then proceeded to hang upAll of our future conversations were by email; MrV [redacted] was much more polite by email.PARA - I told MrV [redacted] that the photos I sent him were of very protected areas which had received a very minimum amount of exposure or wearI also told him two different contractors from ***, at two different times, had seen and agreed that the grouts were very clearly two different colors(They saw the entire shower area.) I'm sure there are other areas of my grout (in heavy water exposure areas) that could use cleaning, but no amount of cleaning is ever going to make these two different grouts matchAs admitted by MrV [redacted] in para4, they are two different colorsAs a result, I replied to him that I was not willing to accept a cleaner in settlement/resolution in regards to this error of using the wrong grout colorMrV [redacted] also proposed coloring all of my old grout and thought that was fair; however not only would that be an even bigger hassle and cost over time, but I don't want my grout all the wrong colorI like the color my original grout is and that is what I wanted.I offered to settle the matter with MrV [redacted] for $off of my project bill, which cost me more than $in totalI felt this was more than fair as I will always have to live with this botched grout issue on my project and it will always bother me, and the only real alternative to permanently fix this problem would be to tear the entire repaired area out and redo itThe cost to tear it all out and redo it would be more than $(I did part of the demolition myself the first time.) In addition, the cost to buy and reapply the colorant multiple times over my life would accumulate to more than $I told MrV*** I had contacted the [redacted] directly and was also accumulated further proof from other vendors/contractorsHowever MrV [redacted] repeatedly tried to argue various forms of the colorant &/or clean the grout proposalsMrV***, on behalf of Conestoga Tile, has agreed this week to accept my proposal of $of my project bill in settlement of this matter and I have received the finalized paperwork dated 3/31/As a result I agree to close this matterPlease let me know if you need anything further from me Regards, [redacted]

Dear [redacted] I have received your letter in reference to a complaint filed on 3/23/identified as ID [redacted] I first became aware of this complaint on Monday, March 23, Here is the information which I am aware of this complaint

Dear [redacted]I have received your letter in reference to a complaint filed on 3/23/15 identified as ID [redacted]. I first became aware of this complaint on Monday, March 23, 2015. Here is the information which I am aware of this complaint.Background:In February 2002, the complainant had visited...

our showroom and had selected tile for her bathroom which was installed by a 3" party contractor. Recently, the complainant had a problem with her shower floor and had requested another 3" party contractor to repair the shower floor. She had visited our showroom on November 20, 2014. The complainant provided one of our employees with a pack of papers from the original project and asked if we could identify the grout used in her showroom project. The 1s' sheet was our showroom selection sheet and it had identified a shower area with grout color Laticrete Marble Beige. The showroom person told her the grout selection for the shower shows Laticrete Marble Beige, but also informed the complainant that the color may not exactly match because the grout was installed over 12 years ago. At the time, we were unaware that within the paper work were additional selections for the same bathroom with a different colored grout. The complainant never informed us that she had considered several different options for the original installation. In addition, the complainant never asked to see the color of the grout we had referenced on the first showroom selection sheet. The complainant visited our showroom 2 more times (11/21/14 and 11/22/14) to choose her new tile for her showroom floor, but never asked to see the grout color for these selections.On 2/10/15, we received an order from the 3" party contractor for the new tile and grout for the complainant's new shower floor. This order was delivered to the 3" party contractor on 3/3/15.On 3/14/15, the complainant came back into our showroom. She had asked one of our Showroom personnel to let her know what grout she had used on her original shower project, She handed the showroom person the same packet of papers. Once again, this showroom person looked at the first page where it had identified a shower selection, and informed the complainant that the color on the selection sheet is Laticrete Marble Beige. At that time the complainant said that we had a problem because the complainant said she reviewed all of her paperwork and noticed that the grout actually used was Summitville Buckskin. Summitville Buckskin is a slightly darker beige color than the Laticrete Marble Beige. The showroom person informed the complaint that a grout colorant can be used to match the color of grout she would like. A grout colorant is commonly used product in our industry as a long-term solution to change the color of a grout. Our showroom person said that if they would like to use a grout colorant they should work through their 3" party contractor to order this material.On Friday 3/20/15, our director of sales and marketing received a voice mail from the 3" party contractor. He was out of the office on that day. He returned his called on Monday 3/23/15 and even though we did not feel we were at fault, he had provided a resolution that we would supply the grout colorant at no charge and assist the 3" party contractor with his cost to apply the grout colorant. The 3" party contractor offered this solution to the complainant on 3/23/15.After the complainant received this kind-gesture offer to assist in the situation, she filed her complaint with the Revdex.com immediately. She also sent our office an email to our general email address on 3/23/15 which was redirected to me. Via her email, the complainant said "I have filed my complaint with the Revdex.com regarding your error concerning my grout. I am working on information for the [redacted] and also consulting an attorney”.I spoke with my employees which had information about the situation. I than called the complainant late in the afternoon on Monday March 23rd to get a better understanding of the situation from her perspective. After hearing both sides, I informed the complainant that I did not feel that Conestoga Tile was at fault. I informed her that we would perform a kind gesture and provide the grout colorant at no charge and assist the 3" party contractor in his costs to apply the grout colorant which would not cost the complainant anything. This offer was being made because we do not want our customers to be unsatisfied with their Ceramic tile project, The complainant said that this was unacceptable. The complainant said she would only accept the grout being removed and reinstalled with a correct color or we could pay her $1,000. Unfortunately, the grout used is an epoxy grout and the tiles are pebbled shape. Removing the grout would be a very tedious and time-consuming project to the point that it would be easier to remove the entire shower floor and the waterproofing, tile and grout would have to be reinstalled which would be very costly. To apply the grout colorant would be less than $500.On Tuesday March 24", in a subsequent effort to help resolve the situation, I asked the complainant to send me pictures of the project. Upon receiving the pictures on Thursday March 26", I noticed that the 2 grouts were very different in appearance. In fact, the old grout appeared to be a grayish color, Summitville Buckskin is a beige color. It appeared that the old grout, over many years of use, had become imbedded with dirt. I then requested to visit her and get a first-hand look at the problem. I wanted to apply a “heavy duty tile and grout" cleaner to the old grout to bring back its original color and see if the colors would become closer and acceptable. The complainant declined my offer to visit the project to consider different options to resolve the complaint.Resolution Recommend:Based on the information provided by the complainant and my employees, Conestoga Tile does not feel that we were at fault in this situation for the following reasons:1. The complainant had asked what grout was selected for her shower on our selection sheet, which we had identified a shower selection on the first page of the documents2. At no time did the complainant inform us that she had actually made several selections and that the one we were looking at might not be the one she actually selected.3. The complainant never asked to see what the color of the grout that we had identified even though she had spent 3 visits picking out a new tile for the floor.4. The complainant was able to review her documents and because she was more aware of her project than anyone else, she was able to identify the original grout.Although we do not feel we are at fault, we offered again to supply a grout colorant similar in color to the original colored grout at no charge and cover the costs for the 3" party contractor to apply the grout colorant. This resolution has been used for many years in our industry as a reasonable and acceptable long-term solution to this type of problem.At this time, the complainant has not accepted this offer and refuses us the opportunity to see the project “first-hand" to identify if another possible solution can be recommended.Sincerely,James J. V[redacted] President

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]
 Complaint: [redacted]
I am rejecting this response because:There are a number of items in the reply from Conestoga Tile which are not true. I am clarifying the facts and have included information at the end of this reply on Conestoga Tile agreeing to settle this matter.PARA 2 - The 3rd, 4th, 5th & 6th pages of a staple bundle were all from Conestoga Tile, all prepared by Conestoga Tile. The 1st & 2nd pages were the actual contractor notes/bill. The Conestoga Tile employee only looked at one page of the four pages from Conestoga Tile when I was visiting them last fall and I asked what grout we needed to order to make sure I got the same color. On 3/14/15 a Conestoga Tile employee did exactly the same thing, only looked at one of the six pages in the original bundle of paperwork, when I asked her the same question and emphasized I wanted the same color grout for my project. If all the pages had been looked at either employee would have seen more than one grout possibility had been listed and which one the contractor used. That is what they should have done instead of definitively telling me which grout we needed to order and telling me the wrong one, twice. They are the experts in this matter and I should have been able to believe them when they told me what to order. I do not feel it is reasonable to state that I should have known better than they how to read their own paperwork and that I should have known not to believe them. I told them I wanted to have the same color grout, they told me what to order after I showed them all the original paperwork, & I believed them.  In addition, none of the staff members I spoke with on my numerous visits last fall ever told me I should take grout samples home to compare and that the colors may not match, and neither did any of the employees I spoke to on 3/14/15 (at least not before I told them they had made an error).PARA 4 - The staff of Conestoga Tile on this visit (3/14/15) told me that the grout colorant only lasted up to 10 years in their experience and that due to the type of tile/stone I have a large amount of it would have to be applied each time it need applied.PARA 4 - I had been corresponding with my contractor ([redacted]) up to this point and they were trying to facilitate a solution with Conestoga Tile. [redacted] had told me about Conestoga Tile's proposal to use the colorant and I had let them know that I did not find this acceptable as per Conestoga Tile's own personnel and my own research this was a temporary solution (and thus would be wearing off over time), would take a lot of product & be very time consuming to apply on my type of shower (pebble with lots of curving lines & more grout than usual), &  these factors combined would make this a costly alternative for me to have to do over and over for the rest of my life. After numerous emails connected with this attempt, I received an email on 3/23/15 from [redacted] stating that Conestoga Tile would not do anything for me other than provide some colorant to [redacted]. At this point, since Conestoga was refusing to do anything else, I filed my complaint to the Revdex.com. For the first time, after I did this & let Conestoga Tile know of my Revdex.com complaint, someone from Conestoga Tile contacted me.PARA 7 - I re-explained the facts of this situation to Jim V[redacted] from Conestoga Tile when he called me. I also explained to him why the temporary "band aid" type of solution of using a grout colorant was not acceptable to me. I wanted my shower done right; I was very upset about my messed up project with two different colors of grout. Mr. V[redacted] insisted to me over and over that the colorant was permanent, even when I told him his own staff (several of them) had told me it was temporary and in their experience it would have to be reapplied at least every ten years. When he still would not listen I pulled up the website for [redacted], and right on their front page they tell you it is not permanent; their website says up to 15 years. I told him what I was looking at, but he still kept arguing his point. I offered to send him photos and copies of the original paperwork if he wished, but at this time he wasn't interested. Throughout the call Mr. V[redacted] was rude, abrupt, argumentative, and interrupted me and spoke over me most of the call, often with a raised voice. I finally told him I was not going to put up with this treatment and I was going to hang up (while he continued loudly talking over me the whole time), and I then proceeded to hang up. All of our future conversations were by email; Mr. V[redacted] was much more polite by email.PARA 8 - I told Mr. V[redacted] that the photos I sent him were of very protected areas which had received a very minimum amount of exposure or wear. I also told him two different contractors from [redacted], at two different times, had seen and agreed that the grouts were very clearly two different colors. (They saw the entire shower area.) I'm sure there are other areas of my grout (in heavy water exposure areas) that could use cleaning, but no amount of cleaning is ever going to make these two different grouts match. As admitted by Mr. V[redacted] in para. 4, they are two different colors. As a result, I replied to him that I was not willing to accept a cleaner in settlement/resolution in regards to this error of using the wrong grout color. Mr. V[redacted] also proposed coloring all of my old grout and thought that was fair; however not only would that be an even bigger hassle and cost over time, but I don't want my grout all the wrong color. I like the color my original grout is and that is what I wanted.I offered to settle the matter with Mr. V[redacted] for $1000 off of my project bill, which cost me more than $6000 in total. I felt this was more than fair as I will always have to live with this botched grout issue on my project and it will always bother me, and the only real alternative to permanently fix this problem would be to tear the entire repaired area out and redo it. The cost to tear it all out and redo it would be more than $6000 (I did part of the demolition  myself the first time.) In addition, the cost to buy and reapply the colorant multiple times over my life would accumulate to more than $1000. I told Mr. V[redacted] I had contacted the [redacted] directly and was also accumulated further proof from other vendors/contractors. However Mr. V[redacted] repeatedly tried to argue various forms of the colorant &/or clean the grout proposals. Mr. V[redacted], on behalf of Conestoga Tile, has agreed this week to accept my proposal of $1000 of my project bill in settlement of this matter and I have received the finalized paperwork dated 3/31/15. As a result I agree to close this matter. Please let me know if you need anything further from me.
Regards,
[redacted]

Review: On March 14,2013 my husband and I selected tile from Conestoga Tile's showroom that we were thinking of ordering. The woman in the showroom assured us that we would have the tile within a week and a half of placing our order with one of their approved vendors. That same evening we went to [redacted] (which is right next door) and placed our tile order and paid up front. A week and a half later, my husband called [redacted] to check on our order and was informed that it had not arrived, and was assured that we would receive it in another week. A week passed and still no tile... My husband contacted [redacted] twice more with no clear answers. I stopped in [redacted] 3 weeks after our order was placed and questioned "[redacted]" who said that our tile was not yet manufactured and we would not receive it for another 8 weeks. She said to contact Conestoga Tile for further explanation. My husband left the contact "[redacted]" a message, but didn't receive a call back. I called [redacted] back at [redacted]'s and requested to speak with a superior. She forwarded me to the home office. Spoke with [redacted] at the home office who was not able to assist with anything other than calling Conestoga Tile. Received a call from [redacted] on Friday April 5,2013 at 9AM, but I was at work and couldn't take the call. My husband called [redacted] back later that day for me and then again on April 8th, but still has not received a return call from [redacted].Desired Settlement: We would like to know EXACTLY when we are going to get our tile and would like to have a rush placed on the order or receive a portion of our payment back for the inconvenience but cannot get any response from Conestoga Tile and [redacted] accepts no responsibility in the process, solely pointing the finger at Conestoga Tile. We would also like the Revdex.com to maintain this information for potential future consumers so as not to encounter the same poor services that we have received.

Consumer

Response:

It's a little hard to explain....conestoga tile is the distributor and showroom. They were our first point of contact to select our tile. I cannot remember the woman's name who assisted us and it is not on our paperwork that we received from them. Our second point of contact was [redacted] at [redacted] (which is where we actually placed our order). From what we' be been told is that regular consumers have to order tile this way from conestoga tile as the only way to order directly through them is if you are a contractor or vendor and we are neither. [redacted] has been our contact until I started complaining to them about our tile not having arrived on time. She then forwarded me and my husband to [redacted] at conestoga tile (which we still haven't been able to reach) and [redacted] at [redacted]s home office (who wasn't able to really do anything additional for us). Long story short is that both Conestoga Tile and [redacted] are both involved in this situation. [redacted] is putting all the blame on Conestoga Tile Nd Conestoga Tile is not returning our phone calls. I hope this answered your question.

Business

Response:

Please see attached response.

Check fields!

Write a review of Conestoga Tile

Satisfaction rating
 
 
 
 
 
Upload here Increase visibility and credibility of your review by adding a photo

Conestoga Tile Rating

Overall satisfaction rating

Description: Tile Sales

Address: 4335 Lewis Road, Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, United States, 17111

Phone:

Show more...

Web:

This website was reported to be associated with Conestoga Tile.



Add contact information for Conestoga Tile

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | New | Updated