Sign in

Dominion Virginia Power

Sharing is caring! Have something to share about Dominion Virginia Power? Use RevDex to write a review
Reviews Dominion Virginia Power

Dominion Virginia Power Reviews (227)

• Apr 14, 2020

Wish I could leave zero stars!
It's funny how they have on their website they say "we're ready for storms" when nearly every time there is a storm I find myself frustrated with this "company". I have been without power for more than 24 hours and still will be with out it for the rest of the day it seems. This is unacceptable, especially when they have Monopoly over the state. Where the heck are the other power company's!? Why is this the only choice around here!? Don't get me started on the greed this "company" has too. The don't give a crap about you, just the hard earned money in your pocket. Worst. "Company". Ever!

Revdex.com,
Thank you for bringing this customer’s concerns to our attentionWe appreciate the opportunity to research and respond as necessary
We have reviewed the handling of the account in question and find that adequate attempts were made to notify the customer of the final
balance on this account
We have spoken to the customer and advised him of the steps needed to remove this reference from his credit reportPlease note that Dominion Virginia Power does not report bad debts balances to credit reporting agenciesOnly collection agencies take that step
We advised the customer to contact Customer Relations if he needs further assistance in resolving his concernsWe believe the customer is satisfied with the suggested resolution
Again, thank you for allowing us the opportunity to address this customer’s concernIf you have any additional questions, or if we can be of any further assistance, feel free to call ***
Sincerely,
*** ***
Customer Relations

We have been without power for over 24 hours and cab't get a work order update from Dominion. Their recorded message keeps given the same estimated repair time. Other electric companies updates include how many outages initially reported, how many services restored and remains. Dominion? Nothing ! This is by far the worst customer service company to deal with. SHAME IN YOU DOMINION VIRGINIA POWER, We will switch our power supplier first chance we get!

Revdex.com:
I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted], and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.
I think the company could provide a temporary credit of $200 to $300 while I look for my records where they forgot to credit our account. Or put the budget billing that thye removed today back on the account so they don't turn off the electric for me and my wife and three children. 
Regards,
[redacted]

Revdex.com,
Thank you for bringing this customer’s concerns to our attention. We appreciate the opportunity to research and respond as necessary.
We have contacted [redacted] for further details related to his concern. [redacted] is not able to provide specific amounts or dates in...

question in order for us to research his claim. Additionally, there are no disputes from [redacted] related to the validity of the billed amount.
Therefore, we are unable to proceed with further review at this time.
Again, thank you for allowing us the opportunity to address this customer’s concern. If you have any additional questions, or if we can be of any further assistance, feel free to call 1-800-938-2118.
Sincerely,
C. Boyd
Customer Relations

How in the world can my bill be double the amount it normally is when the house has been empty for over 2 months? Literally, no one has been in the house to turn the thermostat up and before they blame the weather, did Dominion do updates when the weather was unseasonably warm? Dominion Power doesn't let anyone send an email to inquire; refuses to investigate if the meter is working when you do call their customer service line to ask them; or transfer you to anyone who can assist! What a rip off company and I will not allow this fraud to go unquestioned!

Review: I have received a Dominion VA Power statement for account #[redacted] stating 999 kWh for March 2016 services at [redacted].

I am the landlord, property is a rental property and was not occupied March 2016, previous tenant vacated rental property on Feb 07, 2016.

After tenant moved-out I put account in my name in order to have continued service.

Bill for April 2016 showed 126 kWh recorded which verifies that is vacant.

I contacted Dominion VA Power customer service in reference to high kWh for March 2016 and was informed that meter will be checked. On April 24th, 2016 was checked and I was told that meter is working correctly.

Please check into this matter.

Sincerely,

[redacted]Desired Settlement: Please adjust power usage for March 2016 since rental unit was vacant and not occupied.

Sincerely,

Landlord

Business

Response:

May 3, 2016

Revdex.com,

Thank you for bringing this customer’s concern to our

attention. We appreciate the opportunity

to research and investigate further.

Dominion made telephone contact to the customer and

discussed high bill concerns. A high bill investigation was previously conducted

on April 27, 2016 and our investigator did not find anything out of the ordinary

concerning the meter. The meter was working correctly, and the meter readings

for the customer’s two billing cycles were verified, and not estimated. The

Company recommends thermostat settings for the winter (68 degrees) and summer

(78 degrees) to conserve energy use. Additionally, the Company suggested the heating and cooling unit be checked to ensure it is functioning properly.

Again, thank you for allowing us the opportunity to address

this customer’s concern. If Customer

Relations may be of further assistance to you or the customer, please call us

at 1-800-938-2118.

Sincerely,

Greg W[redacted]

Dominion Virginia Power

Customer Relations & Policy

Consumer

Response:

I have reviewed the offer and/or response made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted], and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint. For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.Your response is not specific to my concern of 999 kWh being read/billed for March billing cycle. The unit was vacant. Please provide more details, i.e., meter read dates and billing cycles for the following months: January 2016 February 2016March 2016April 2016

Regards,

Review: We have no power and no oneone responds when we call the business!

Business

Response:

Revdex.com,Thank you for bringing this customer’s concerns to our attention. We appreciate the opportunity to research and respond as necessary.We understand the frustration our customers experience when power is interrupted. We sincerely regret the inconvenience this outage caused you and the difficulty you encountered when attempting to reach Dominion. To report outages please contact Dominion by calling [redacted]. You can also report power outages online at [redacted] by clicking on the “Report and Check Outages” tab.Again, thank you for allowing us the opportunity to address this customer’s concerns. If you have any additional questions, or if we can be of any further assistance, feel free to call [redacted]Sincerely,Daniel G[redacted]

Review: My Energy Usage jumped almost three times since Dec. 2015. I doubt the power meter is bad. From Apr. 21, 2016 to May 30, 2016 I had a trip. I turned off all switches on the power panel before I left my apartment.

155kWh was used from Apr. 20, 2016 to May 10, 2016. It does not make any sense, because ALL switches were turned off and nobody in the apartment.

I called customer service asking to check the meter, but it was refused.Desired Settlement: I paid bills on time over six years. If the meter is bad, the over charge should be refund.

Business

Response:

Our meter technician met the customer at the home on August 3, 2016 and performed a witness meter test.Test results:Light Load : 99.99%Full Load: 99.98%Weighted Average 99.98% Our tariff filed with the Virginia State Corporation Commission states the meter should record at plus or minus 2% of 100% to be considered accurate. Our investigation has failed to disclose any conditions which would indicate that your bill was incorrect. No adjustments are in order. We appreciate the opportunity to research your questions.

Consumer

Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's offer. If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted], and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. If the company does not perform as promised I can get back to you at: [redacted]

Regards,

Review: my light bill is extremely high for the past two months, I called about the problem they said they could not come out in check my meter to make sure it was working right. I live in a two bedroom townhouse my light bill shouldn't be 300 a month.Desired Settlement: I just want to make sure my meter is being checked properly.

Business

Response:

Revdex.com, Thank you for bringing this customer’s billing concerns to our attention. We appreciate the opportunity to research and respond as necessary. We certainly understand no one wants to pay for more electricity than they feel they have used. Because electric consumption is based on many factors, some of which are unique to particular customers, we cannot always explain the reasons for an individual customer’s usage. Per the customer’s request, we sent a representative to the service address to inspect the meter and ensure the customer was billed for the correct usage on August 18, 2016. Our representative obtained a “visual” meter reading of 7190 which was in line with previous meter readings used for billing. We hung a door tag with the results of our findings at the service location. Our investigation has failed to disclose any conditions which would indicate the bills previously rendered were incorrect. We encourage the customer to visit our website, dom.com for ways to save conserve energy. Again, thank you for allowing us the opportunity to address this customer’s concern. If you have any additional questions, or if we can be of any further assistance, please call us at [redacted] Sincerely, Ms. K. C[redacted] Dominion Customer Relations & Policy

Took 2 weeks for then to figure out they needed lease and ID to cut power on for disabled veteran. Customer service agents are [redacted]. Told power would be on 8/4/16 today is the 5th still no power!

Review: Monday May 16 2016 I was just out of the shower in my bedroom getting dressed when I noticed a person at my bedroom window. Long story short after I called out who was there he said he was with the power company. He left my window and I ran to the back bedroom of my house and could see the "workers" already in the field through the gate parked outside the vehicles standing around. I called Dom power and the police! Dom power said these "workers" we're not their contractors. I waited a week for that info. The vehicles are still parked on the power lines. So I go the logo off the truck and called them. They said they work for Dom power!Desired Settlement: At this point I feel violated by the contractor employee's actions and I feel that Dom power has miss lead me with stating they pulled GPS and not their workers. I have no clue how they could possibly make this right

Business

Response:

Revdex.com,

Thank you for bringing this customer’s

concerns to our attention. We appreciate the opportunity to research and

respond as necessary.

An incident report was completed

regarding this matter and our Corporate Security staff has been in

communications with the customer to address her concerns.

Again, thank you for allowing us the

opportunity to address this customer’s concerns. If you have any additional

questions, or if we can be of further assistance, please call us at

[redacted].

Sincerely,

Ms. K. C[redacted]

Consumer

Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's offer. If you wish, you may update it before sending it.] Dominion Power stated (after I sent them the police report numbers) that they know who the individual is and can forward that information on to the sheriffs office. I will contact the sheriff's office tomorrow to see if they did in fact. I am not pleased with the way this was handled - me having to do the "investigators" leg work. Makes me feel like they thought they could put me off until it just all magically disappeared.

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted], and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. If the company does not perform as promised I can get back to you at: [redacted]

Regards,

Review: Since April 2016 Dominion power is been contacted for issue on the electric meter.

After many complains and issues caused, I've been paying for over a year a forfeit bill because my meter reader is broken. I keep contact the customer service, the people that dealer with the issue are rude, insensitive and incompetent.

I spend hours of waiting on the phone and the customer service keep telling me a technical will call to schedule a visit.

This since April 2016.

When will my meter will be replaced and when will I be able to have a correct bill?

I have every right to see the voltage consumed every month.Desired Settlement: I must have a technician come and replace the electric meter ASAP and they have to tell me a date and time.

Business

Response:

September

1, 2016

RevDex.com,

Thank

you for bringing this customer’s concern to our attention. We appreciate the opportunity to research and

investigate further.

The

customer’s meter was exchanged on September 1, 2016. Based on a report from the local office

supervisor, the meter used to serve the customer’s business displayed an error

message; however, it was still able to capture actual usage and correctly bill

the customer. The Company sends a

sincere apology for any inconvenience and frustration this issue may have caused

the customer.

Again,

thank you for allowing us the opportunity to address the customer’s

concern. If Customer Relations and

Policy may be of further assistance to you or the customer, please call us at [redacted]

Sincerely,

Greg W[redacted]

Consumer

Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's offer. If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted], and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. If the company does not perform as promised I can get back to you at: [redacted]

Regards,

Review: I use to reside with my now ex-husband in Norfolk, VA, at our home, which Dominion Power furnished the power at the location. Divorced I decided to move out the home, and leave my ex still living there. In the process I called Dominion Power to have my name completely off the account. She advised me that I was no longer responsible for the bill, and also issued my ex-husband a new account number. At the time of this my name had been changed back to my maiden name. I moved to Maryland in October of 2015, and on June 7, 2016 I made a mistake and sent Dominion Power a check for $160.00 with the old account number on it thru my bill pay that was mint for my current light company [redacted]. I called to make Dominion Power aware. I went in complete circle in an attempt to get my money back. I was told that since my ex-husband did not pay the bill that they took my check that had the old account number on it, my last name no longer reflected my ex-husbands last name, and applied it to his bill. I advise several reps that, what they were doing was unethical. I also ask for someone to send me some type of statement of where my money went, and I was told I couldn't because I'm not listed on the account. How in the world can this company steel my money from a check that had an old account number on it, my last name was different than my ex-husband, and just apply it to his account? This is totally unethical, and bad business practices. I finally talk to a rep was a supervisor who claimed she understood, and was doing all the paperwork to get me my refund. She advised me that it could take up to 6 weeks before I could receive my refund. The refund never came and when I call the company back, I was told that I would not be able to get my money back. So I was just lied to, so I could get off the phone. I ask for some type of documentation of where my money went, and yet Dominion Power has not offered proof of where and what account my money was paid to.Desired Settlement: I want my money back that I was told by rep [redacted] advised me that she was working on to getting my refund out.

Business

Response:

Revdex.com, Thank you for bringing our customer’s concerns to our attention. We appreciate the opportunity to research and respond. We regret any misunderstanding between the customer and our associates. Our research revealed a joint account is involved and this is considered a domestic matter. Domestic matters fall outside the realm of Dominion’s responsibility. Please understand we are unable to reverse the payment transaction initiated by the customer. We strongly encourage the customer to contact their bill pay service to recover the payment. Again, thank you for allowing us the opportunity to address this customer’s concerns. If you have any additional questions, or if we can be of further assistance, please call us at [redacted] Sincerely, Ms. K. C[redacted]

Consumer

Response:

I have reviewed the offer and/or response made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted], and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint. For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

After calling the number provided Dominion Power is still refusing to provide me with a general ledger of where my money went. I need for Dominion Power to do either one of these solutions, provide me with a refund or provide me a general ledger of where my money went in their system in order for me to reconcile my records and account. As a consumer I have the right to know where my hard earn government money went.

Regards,

Review: Dominion Virginia Power repeated ignored my requests to address serious power fluctuations occurring in my home. Customer service ignored my complaints and only sent out utility people to check the line at the street and then once that checked out fine routinely ignored my problem. After several months of complaints I finally heard that trees along my power line were the likely cause, but my neighbor did not agree to cut the offending tree. When I requested the lines be placed under ground, Dominion employees scheduled the work in several months but did not send me instructions on what I was to do and then without notice rescheduled the work date several more months. Despite my appeals due to the intense power fluctions damaging my stove, microwave and this week my HVAC, Dominion has not agreed to do anything to address my issues in a more timely manner. Offered no explanation why they are unable to provide assistance earlier and have not returned phone calls or emails.Desired Settlement: I want Dominion Virginia power to replace my damaged appliances and quickly begin work placing my lines underground in order for the power fluctuations to stop this month...not mid September. I pay my bills monthly and find their contempt for consumers astonishing.

Business

Response:

Unfortunately the local inspection on the service conversion from overhead wires to underground wires did not immediately post to the Dominion project. As a result of the contact by the Revdex.com, the local inspection was verified and the work to put the service underground is showing complete.

Review: I've recently received a collections letter from Penn Credit in Harrisburg, PA, on behalf of Dominion VA Power in the amount of $264.78 for a property located at [redacted] The amount is a bill outstanding from January, 2016. I rented this property out in 2009 and sold it in 2010. I have all the paperwork backing up the sale of the property. I've called Dominion Power and they've told me that I should have called them as I'm listed as the person in the records in case the tenant does not pay their bills. This is an agreement the property manager, ProActive set up, however the agreement with me and Dominion Power would have been null and void once I sold the property. Again, we are talking almost 7 years ago. Dominion VA Power has not looked for the current tenants or owners, but has come after me, for a property that I have nothing to do with. I've recently written letters to the CEO and customer service divisions. Can you help me? And, I do not have an outstanding balance in my name and no longer live in Virginia. This seems to be a reach for the company and I'm asking them to reach out to whomever currently owns or rents the property. Yes, the years in my complaint are correct. By the way, they've reported this to all 3 major credit bureaus and it has negatively affected my credit rating. Please help!!

Regarding,

[redacted]Desired Settlement: I would like something in writing stating I do not owe this amount to VA Dominion Power and I would also like them to have this negative information removed from my credit report by reporting out to the 3 large agencies that a mistake was made!

Business

Response:

August

17, 2016

RevDex.com,

Thank

you for bringing this customer’s concern to our attention. We appreciate the opportunity to research and

investigate further.

Based

on a thorough review of our records, we have determined the customer is not

responsible for services rendered at [redacted] from November 2, 2015 through January 6, 2016. The current debt collection agency, PENN

Credit, has been advised to update their records on the balance of $264.78. The customer may contact the major credit

bureaus to find out when this information will drop off of their credit reports.

Again,

thank you for allowing us the opportunity to address the customer’s

concern. If Customer Relations and

Policy may be of further assistance to you or the customer, please call us at [redacted].

Sincerely,

Greg W[redacted]

Dominion

Virginia Power

Customer Relations & Policy

Consumer

Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's offer. If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted], and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. If the company does not perform as promised I can get back to you at: [redacted]I'd like to add that Greg W[redacted] from Dominion Power Customer Service was very responsive and I really appreciated his efforts to assist!!

Regards,

Review: I have recently relocated and turned off power on 8.8.2016. In fact, I had left the premises on 8.6 (Saturday), and other than the refrigerator, everything else was unplugged and the AC turned off. I have received my billing for the period 7.13-8.11. 2016 for $96.28, a bill that is unmatched by any other monthly bill, except fro February (the previous bill, that covered the entire month was $67). I have spent an hour trying to speak with a customer representative but it is impossible. The phone # they provide just makes everything go in a loop, w the same useless options. Nowhere on their site theres an info regarding challenging a bill. It may not be a big sum, but it is frustrating and disrespectful to not be able tp talk w someone who can explain why I am being charged so much and for days after I turned off the service. Please, help.

Thank you,Desired Settlement: Billing adjustment, that does not include the period after I turned off the service!

Business

Response:

August 17, 2016

Revdex.com,

Thank you for bringing this customer’s concern to our attention. We appreciate the opportunity to research and investigate further.

Based on a thorough review of our records, we have determined the customer requested service turn-off on August 8, 2016. Dominion inadvertently billed the customer through August 11, and we apologize for this error and for any inconvenience and frustration we may have caused. Dominion has spoken to the customer and the appropriate billing adjustment has been made. The customer appears to be satisfied with the Company’s resolution.

Again, thank you for allowing us the opportunity to address the customer’s concern. If Customer Relations and Policy may be of further assistance to you or the customer, please call us at [redacted]

Sincerely,

Greg W[redacted]

Consumer

Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's offer. If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted], and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. If the company does not perform as promised I can get back to you at: [redacted]

Regards,

Review: This is the second time dominion has removed me from my account and placed someone else on it due to the fact they claimed to live at my residence. I am the sole lease signer, the only person living there. After the first time this occurred a few months ago there should have been a flag placed on my account stating that until May 25th of 2017 there is to be no one else claiming to live at my residence. This puts all the frustration and hassle on me to correct and the people at dominion could care less. I have to get a new account number, I have to set up a new online account, I have reenter all my billing information, and I have to contact dominion because if I don't they will say I am delinquent on payments and cut off my power all because someone else claimed to move in. Last time they even has the bills going to another location so I was unaware for months what was going on. If they had ever taken 5 seconds to call me and confirm I left the residence before cancelling it or send an email saying if this isn't true we won't do this all of this hassle and aggravation could have been avoided. It's really quite sad there is no other power company we can utilize and as a monopoly they choose to treat their customers like garbage.Desired Settlement: I want my account to remain under me NO MATTER WHAT until I advise them in MAY 2017 where I will have them move my power to. No one else lives at this apartment with me except my animals. If anyone else CLAIMS to live there or need power transferred to their name I NEED dominion to call me and confirm before they make the switch. if that is too much they need to email me. If that is too much they need to put big red flags all over the account and train their employees to read the notes on the account so I don't have to deal with this in the future.

Business

Response:

Revdex.com, Thank you for bringing this customer’s concerns to our attention. We appreciate the opportunity to research and respond as necessary. Dominion regrets that this customer’s account was closed in error. We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause. As requested, additional “flags” have been placed on this account in an attempt to prevent this from happening again. Again, thank you for allowing us the opportunity to address this customer’s concern. If you have any additional questions, or if we can be of any further assistance, feel free to call [redacted] Sincerely, Daniel G[redacted] Dominion Virginia Power

Review: I transferred services from one address to another and the deposit from the older that just transferred to the new address and when I called in before the bill came out I was advised that I can split it in two installments and now that I'm calling to split it in two installments Dominion is refusing to do that although that is what they stated that they would do it was even told to me by a supposedly supervisor that they can pull the call to listen to see if that was what was said by the representative but even still she can do nothing for me I called in for a payment arrangement as maybe a resolution and I'm not being offered all the payment arrangement options one representative decided that she wanted to set up a certain payment arrangement and I declined to take it she noted it to my account and now everyone is refusing to offer me my other options that I had as a customer that Dominion provides to its customers your employees are incompetent and they don't handle the accounts based on what's best for the company and the customer they handle it on how they feel and it's borderline discrimination my electricity bill should not depend on how it laquisha feels that dayDesired Settlement: I would like my deposit to be split on the next three months bills as it is with every other customer I'm not asking for an adjustment I agreed that I use the services so I have to pay for them but I would like to be treated like the other customers and I would like to have my deposit split on 3 months bills and also when I call in for payment arrangement I expect to be given all of my options in full not just what Latoya noted from the previous call

Business

Response:

The account deposit was assessed for this customer in Jan 2016. The deposit on the account was split over Jan, Feb, and Mar of 2016. The account balance was transferred to the new address when customer started her current account on 3/31/16.Customer is currently on a "Short Term" payment plan. Amount on short term extension is due by 5:00 PM on 7/14/16. A better option for this customer may be to cancel the existing plan, and start a long term plan for 6 months. Down payment on the extended plan is less than the payment needed on the current extension. After the down payment is received, the account balance can then be extended over 6 months. the down payment on a long term plan would be due by 5:00 PM on 7/14/16. Customer may contact our help line at 1[redacted] and request to cancel existing short term extension and start a 6 month long plan. The agent will be able to explain the details, down payment, and amount to be paid with the current bill over the next 6 months.

Review: dominion power has ignored all of my communities complaints on frequent power loss over the past year the line will break in the same area everytime , me being the chief of the fire dept I will ride out to this same spot ,locate the problem call it in and still wait hours to even see a crew ,today july 8 the power went out at 7:00 pm it is now 5:30 am and no crew yet this is total disrespect to a town and its customersDesired Settlement: dominion should replace the lines ,cut their right of way properly ,and give credit to all customers affected by their neglect of their services

Business

Response:

Revdex.com, Thank you for forwarding our customers' concerns. Dominion is in the process of trimming the circuit serving this customer. This project should be completed by early fall of this year. Trimming typically occurs every 3-5 years. This should significantly reduce tree related outages in this area. Related to the line location of frequent outages, please have the customer contact Customer Relations & Policy a[redacted] so that we can obtain more details in order to investigate this issue. Sincerely,

Check fields!

Write a review of Dominion Virginia Power

Satisfaction rating
 
 
 
 
 
Upload here Increase visibility and credibility of your review by adding a photo

Dominion Virginia Power Rating

Overall satisfaction rating

Description: Electric Companies, Gas - Propane - Equipment & Supplies, Business Brokers, Energy Management & Conservation Consultant

Address: PO Box 26666, Richmond, Virginia, United States, 23261

Phone:

Show more...

Web:

www.dom.com


Add contact information for Dominion Virginia Power

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | New | Updated