Sign in

Eligo Energy, LLC

Sharing is caring! Have something to share about Eligo Energy, LLC? Use RevDex to write a review
Reviews Eligo Energy, LLC

Eligo Energy, LLC Reviews (117)

• Jan 07, 2021

Eligo Energy "BAD NEWS!"
We were approached while at our local Walmart and solicited to switch electric supplier to Eligo Energy PA LLC.(Eligo).
We did make the switch and for the first part of our contract it did seem that we were actually receiving a better rate. Taylor was my Eligo representative and he called me on several occasions to discuss rates. Our rate was always kept at a rate of .0394 or lower. I was completely shocked when I received the December 2020 bill because my overall bill went from $226.97 (November 2020) to $1551.83 (December 2020). I called West Penn Power, my provider and learned that Eligo raised our rate from .0381 to .152 which is a 400% increase! I immediately called my representative Taylor and heard a recording that this line is no longer available.

We then called the company directly and we were advise that our rate had been change which was allegedly told to us in a letter that was mailed to us on (2) two different occasions once in July and once in August.

We never received any such letters.

Eligo has confirm that they sent the letters to the wrong address and to this date refuse to produce a copy of the alleged letter.

This was also particularly strange because the rate was not changed until December (4) four months after the alleged letter was sent.
After many hours on the phone with many agents of Eligo they offered an unreasonable resolution. I pleaded with several representatives and eventually a supervisor, asking them to be reasonable. We were not notified of a change and our representative who called regularly was no longer available. Eligo confirmed that they sent the letters to the wrong address but still will not offer to reduce the rate to the agreed upon rate.
They would adjust (1) one billing cycle if we signed a contract for (12)twelve months with a higher rate than is available from other suppliers.
This is unacceptable and we are left with no alternatives other than to litigate.

• Sep 02, 2020

Very poor customer service
I have had Eligo Energy as my electric supplier for a while. Contract was up for renewal in July. I called and resigned for 12 months and was told by the salesperson that I would stay at the current rate until the new rate took affect, since I was a loyal Eligo customer. Received my next bill and was charged the variable rate and my bill went up $100 from the previous month while using less energy. I called customer service and was told it would be submitted to billing to review and someone would call me back in 48-72 hours. One week later I called Eligo again checking on my request. I was told they would submit to billing again marked as urgent. Now it’s two weeks tomorrow since my initial call. I called customer service again and expressed my disbelief that no one could be bothered to return a call! I told them if I received no call back Today I will cancel! What kind of company is this? Are they so rife with complaints and billing problems they can’t call back in 2 weeks? I will be cancelling My contract with this terrible company and gladly pay the fee to find a more reliable company!

The recordings sent to the customer, as proof of their authorization of Eligo Energy as their supplier, are from October 26, 2016.Eligo Energy has no further records of calls from the customer until 04/28/2017, when they requested to cancelThere is a possibility that the customer is mistaking Eligo Energy for another supplier.In addition to providing this data to the customer directly, and to the Revdex.com, this data was also provided to the customer's utility company, ***, on May 04, The utility company was satisfied with the evidence of the authorization.As mentioned previously, Eligo Energy does not slam customersThe customer's accounts have been canceled per their requestThe are now in dropped status with Eligo Energy.Eligo Energy considers this matter closed.Thank you for contacting Eligo Energy

Customer was not billed for Dec2016, Janor Feb due to our billing system experiencing technical difficulties In March, customer received energy charges for those period plus the current period All charges are legitimate and we have fixed the situation Customer has indeed dropped and will receive a final bill in April

Initial Business Response / [redacted] (1000, 5, 2015/05/20) */ Ms [redacted] is a resident of [redacted] which selected Eligo Energy as its aggregate electricity supplier in the Spring of Because Ms [redacted] was a part of the town's previous aggregation program, she received a renewal notice from the town in June of 2014, indicating the town's choice of Eligo Energy as a new supplierThe renewal notice provided for a cancellation procedure for residents that did not want to participate in the town's aggregation programMs [redacted] did not notify Eligo Energy of her desire not to participate in the aggregation program and did not rescind her service per instructions provided in a subsequent letter that she received from her utility, ***Additionally, she was mailed a Welcome Packet from Eligo Energy, dated July 18, 2014, indicating the terms, conditions, and rate plan specifically for the [redacted] Since Ms [redacted] did not indicate her desire not to participate in the program to either Eligo Energy or her utility, [redacted] she was enrolled for service with Eligo Energy; that service took effect on her account in August of If the customer has since closed their utility account with [redacted] that action will automatically close the Eligo Energy supply service on the same accountThey will both be closed/cancelled on the same last date of serviceHowever, to move proactively on behalf of the customer, Eligo Energy has also processed a separate cancellation of this account for the customerThe cancellation was processed on 5/20/A last date of service is pending from [redacted]

Eligo Energy does not slam or fraudulently enroll customers without their consent.After investigating this matter, we believe that this enrollment was made by the complainant herself or someone in the complainant's household or by someone with full knowledge of the household's identifying information.When customers authorized the switch of their electricity supply service, they have to provide us with their account informationEligo Energy does not possess customer account information until the customer provides it for us.The customer authorized the switch for electric supply service on 10/26/2016, via third party verification ("TPV")During the TPV, the customer agreed to a month term at a rate of cent per kWh, then, a month to month market variable rate for any service periods thereafterWe have an audio recording of the authorizationsThe recording can be provided to the customer upon request, via email.During the TPV, the recording repeats "Eligo Energy" as the name of the supplier, several timesAfter providing this information, the TPV asks the customer to "please say yes to confirm"We do not believe the call misrepresents the identity of Eligo Energy or the supplier authorization process.The customer's accounts with Eligo Energy have been droppedA service end date from the utility, [redacted] is pendingThe customer will continue to be billed by Eligo Energy up until the service end date provided by her utility.Please let us know if there are any additional questions or concerns

Initial Business Response / [redacted] (1000, 5, 2015/05/13) */ In June 2014, the community of Evergreen Park elected to aggregate their municipality with Eligo Energy as the retail electric providerThe aggregation program ends in the Fall of As a participant of Evergreen Park's previous municipal aggregation program, Mr [redacted] received an Eligo Energy Welcome Packet detailing the terms of the program and ways to rescind his enrollmentMr [redacted] submitted the requisite paperwork to cancel his enrollment; however, due to a computer error, his account was sent to [redacted] for enrollment but subsequently rescindedAs a result, no Eligo Energy service will take effect on his account

Initial Business Response / [redacted] (1000, 5, 2015/04/02) */ [redacted] (Eligo Energy) Apr 2, 4:PM Private note Edits Mr [redacted] is a resident of [redacted] Township, which selected Eligo Energy as its aggregate electricity supplier in the Spring of Because Mr [redacted] was a part of the town's previous aggregation program, he received a renewal notice from the town in June of 2014, indicating the town's choice of Eligo Energy as a new supplierThe renewal notice provided for a cancellation procedure for residents that did not want to participate in the town's aggregation programMr [redacted] did not notify Eligo Energy of his desire not to participate in the aggregation program and did not rescind his service per instructions provided in a subsequent letter that he received from his utility, ***Therefore, Mr [redacted] was enrolled for service with Eligo Energy The customer subsequently received a Welcome Packet from Eligo Energy, dated July 18, 2014, indicating the terms, conditions, and rate plan specifically for the [redacted] townshipThe terms and conditions of the plan allow for customers to cancel without any penalty if the utility's rate for electricity supply is ever lower than the kWh rate portion offered by Eligo EnergyIn the event the customer cancels their account when the utility's supply rate is not lower, a one time $Early Termination Fee is dueMr [redacted] was notified of this when he called to cancel his account on 03/11/ An Eligo Energy Customer Service Manager has reached out to Mr [redacted] to explain the situation and circumstancesWhen she mentioned the three different mailings sent to Mr [redacted] prior to the service taking effect on his account, he mentioned that he may have received the documentation, but disregarded it as junk mail Based on these facts, the $fee is due and will not be waived Initial Consumer Rebuttal / [redacted] (3000, 7, 2015/04/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I get junk mail every day from people claiming to help save me money by switching to their service I file it in the garbage can under the file name junk mail I get companies that can lower my mortgage can sell me insurance cheaper can provide services for heating and cooling in our home I think I will start sending them to eligo energy just in case they need help saving money I have yet to see an eligo energy truck out side when the power goes out I did not sign a contract with eligo energy I do not want eligo energy Final Business Response / [redacted] (4000, 13, 2015/04/14) */ Dear Revdex.com / Mr [redacted] The Illinois Commerce Commission has a helpful FAQ section on municipal aggregations [redacted] Section 1-of the Illinois Power Agency Act allows for the aggregation of electric load by municipalities and counties (i.e., government aggregation)This means a municipality or county can negotiate for the purchase of the combined electric supply of its residents and eligible small businesses Opt-out aggregation requires the voters of a municipality or county to pass [redacted] referendum that automatically combines the electric load for residential and eligible small businesses for purchasing purposes except for those customers who actively choose not to participate in the municipality's or county's purchase program The chosen supplier will send opt-out notices to all residents and eligible small businesses within the municipality or countyYou will need to fill out and return the opt-out notice in order to be excluded from the aggregation program In the Customer's case, the voters of the City of [redacted] passed [redacted] referendum on May 8, 2013, which passed by a majority of the vote of [redacted] residents on April 9, The City of [redacted] selected Eligo Energy, an energy supplier licensed by the ICC and authorized by ***, to supply energy to eligible City of [redacted] customersAs an eligible customer, Mr [redacted] received an opt-out letter, a welcome letter, and a [redacted] letter, all explaining how the customer could rescind his participation in the program If Mr [redacted] has any additional questions about the authority of his municipality to enter into this binding agreement on his behalf, then he should check the above link Final Consumer Response / [redacted] (4200, 15, 2015/04/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I get junk mail every day in the mail from companies claiming that they will save me money if I switch to their service.if you like I will start sending this junk mail to you so you can help me decide what to do I never signed a contract with you people I did not want your service I do not want your service ever I do not think I should have to pay you people for something I did not want

Susan C [redacted] believes that she has been overcharged by Eligo Energy and is looking for a credit to be posted to her account.Eligo Energy has checked its records and found that the customer has not been overcharged by Eligo Energy and is not owed a credit.The customer authorized service with Eligo Energy on 08/08/At the time if the authorization, the customer was advised, via the [redacted] and in writing via the Welcome packet, that no savings were guaranteed.No refund will be provided since the switch authorization was valid and the energy was purchased by Eligo and consumed by the customer

Complaint: [redacted] I am rejecting this response because: While I am satisfied with the end result of canceling the switch account I don't like many of the implications in this response or that it the first response wasn't even about my caseWhen I first got an email from the company that a switch was happening on August 31st when my wife and I were supposedly signed up for Eligo Energy We were together in DC for a conference working together all day (there was no way a Maryland IP address would have been anyone in my family), I called Eligo and explained my complaint about the sign up and I was told a manager would call me backProceeding the conference I didn't get any calls back from Eligo management and since they had my parent's mailing address on the order I thought it was a weird mistake Then I received the [redacted] switch order a month later and I called to figure out what was going on, twice I called I was told I was speaking to management which in this complaint said I never talked to anyone While I understand my personal information was entered into the system, it should not be that hard to believe it was not me I was spoken to rudely and told on multiple occasions from [redacted] and Eligo that the switch would happen I do in fact work for a competitor ( [redacted] Energy) and get free energy every month for the past years for my efforts, which is why I was so upset I was signed up fraudulently I am happy with my current supplier and never would have switched my account I appreciate the suggestion to see if [redacted] can lock my account and certainly would like to make sure Eligo never enrolls my account again with their servicesThe complaint was filed the day after we talked because of how rudely I was spoken to by you customer service and how much little information they could provide me about how my account information was received and verified A simple call to the new customer or return call from my initial complaint would have never needed a complaint to the Revdex.com I was tried horribly by your staff and when I requested a manager they never called and was not transferred like I was told I would beAgain I hope you take better care of your actual customers and use better customer verification processWhile you claim no foul, my wife and I never made the switch to Eligo and certainly never will Sincerely, [redacted] ***

Eligo Energy's investigation shows that the customer's claims are correct.Eligo Energy has recently experienced some issues with billing, which was caused by a conversion to a new billing systemAs a result, this customer's bills were affected by the mis-rated billing errorThe customer should have received a rate of from 09/30/until 03/30/2017.Eligo Energy will re-rate the customer's charges to the rate that he should have received and will cut him a check for the difference of $The check will be sent to the address provided by the Revdex.com.Please let us know if there are any further questions or concernsThank you for contacting Eligo Energy

Eligo Energy takes misrepresentation claims very seriously and will research these allegations and address them with the agent in questionAt this point of the investigation, Eligo Energy does not have any records of this call being madeNevertheless, Ms [redacted] has been added to Eligo Energy's internal do not call list to ensure she is not contacted by Eligo Energy again.Thank you for contacting Eligo Energy

Mr [redacted] wants to cancel Eligo Energy service He claims he had initial difficulty reaching an Eligo Energy customer service representative.Upon receipt of this complaint, Eligo Energy reviewed its records and was able to find a record of Mr [redacted] calling on 06/09/ An Eligo agent called him back on 06/14/and on 06/20/2016, but was unable to reach him both times.A utility drop notification from [redacted] was received on 06/21/and immediately processed by Eligo The cancellation confirmation number for the customer's reference is: [redacted] [redacted] provided a service end date of 07/07/ The customer's account is already in a dropped / rescinded status with Eligo Energy and never went into effect.The customer was also mailed a postcard from Eligo Energy, to serve as written confirmation of the drop.Thank you for contacting Eligo Energy

Initial Business Response / [redacted] (1000, 5, 2015/04/03) */ Eligo Energy records show that Mr [redacted] did enroll online with Eligo EnergyWe do not have any record of Mr [redacted] calling in to rescind his enrollmentUpon receipt of this complaint, his enrollment was stoppedAn Eligo Energy Customer Service Manager called the phone number we have on file, XXXXXXXXXX, and left a voicemail for Mr [redacted] confirming that his account with Eligo Energy had been cancelled and providing this confirmation number for his records: XXXXXXXXXX Eligo Energy does not have authority to ensure that his account remains with his previous supplierWe advise that Mr [redacted] contacts his utility company and his previous supplier to inform them of his desire to remain with that company

Eligo Energy does not fraudulently enroll or slam customers.After investigating this matter, we believe that this enrollment was made by the complainant himself or someone in the complainant's household or by someone with full knowledge of the household's identifying information for the following reasons.#- This account was enrolled onlineWhen customers enroll with Eligo Energy online, the webform they use is NOT pre-filledThe customer has to input all of their account information into the formFor [redacted] customers, this information includes a name, address, phone number, email address, and the utility provided [redacted] ID numberSomeone other than Eligo entered all of this information into the webform.#- Eligo Energy's records show that someone made eight attempts to enroll this account online, from two different IP address, between 08/31/and 09/27/2016, with the last attempt being successful on 09/27/The previous seven attempts were not processed by Eligo Energy because our internal system controls marked them as fraudulentThe 09/27/attempt was not marked as fraudulent for the following reasons:- The customer used a different IP address ( [redacted] ) from the one that was used in the previous seven attempts ( [redacted] ); - It was the first attempt to enroll anyone from the IP address ( [redacted] ) for the successful enrollment; - The email address used in the successful enrollment, [redacted] @gmail.com, was not consider suspicious; - Our address validation system marked the address used - [redacted] Dr, [redacted] , MD - as a valid U.Saddress; - Only one enrollment attempt from this IP address, with this email and account number combination, was made.#- During a call with the [redacted] on 10/10/2016, he confirmed that his wife is named [redacted] ***On seven out of eight enrollment attempts, the names used to enroll the accounts were either [redacted] (most frequently used name with six attempts) or [redacted] ***.#- Two separate emails were provided during the enrollment attempts, [redacted] @gmail.com and [redacted] @gmail.comThe complainant confirmed that the first email account, [redacted] @gmail.com, belonged to himself.#- The IP addresses used were: [redacted] and [redacted] These IP addresses are located in Baltimore, MD and Abingdon, MD, respectively, which are within miles of the complainant's house.#- Eligo Energy has no records of any other enrollment attempts from these IP addresses for any other accounts, or prior to 08/31/2016, or after 09/27/The two IP addresses used only submitted enrollments for Mr***'s accountThis leads us to believe that the complainant was likely not a victim of a larger identity theft scheme or Eligo would have seen more enrollments attempts from these two IP addresses.#- The utility provided [redacted] ID number, [redacted] , cannot be found onlineAdditionally, the utility company, [redacted] does not publish an eligibility list containing [redacted] ID numbers or Utility Account numbersAs a result, rates of true identity fraud are extremely low in the [redacted] territory.Eligo Energy CSRs spoke with Mr, [redacted] concerning this matter on two separate occasions on 10/10/There is no record that Mr [redacted] ever spoke to a manager at Eligo EnergyThe reps cancelled his Eligo Energy enrollment, per his request, then explained to him that his account had not yet, and mostly likely would not go into service with Eligo EnergyEligo Energy does not decide when enrollments start or stop serviceThat decision is made by the customer's utility based on the utility's own internal rules and is then communicated to Eligo EnergyAccount changes can take one to two billing cycles to process on the utility's side.Concerning his desire to prevent the enrollment of his account with suppliers in the future, Eligo Energy's advice is to contact his utility and explore his optionsSome utility companies allow customers to place blocks on their accounts.Mr [redacted] was provided with a cancellation confirmation # of [redacted] at the time of his call on 10/10/Eligo Energy also mailed him a postcard confirming the cancellation of his account in writing.Please note that Eligo Energy received this complaint the day after we spoke to the customer twice, cancelled his account, and confirmed for the customer that service on his account had not and would most likely not take effect with Eligo EnergyFurthermore, it appears that the complainant works for a competitor of Eligo Energy.Please let us know if there are any additional questions or concerns

I was helped out by a lovely gentleman named Ben [redacted] , He was able to show me where I had been paying way more than I had to on of my accounts and helped me get out of my current contract! I've never had a sales experience quite like it! I'll happily be an Eligo Energy Customer for years to come!

In Spring of 2014, the community of [redacted] elected to aggregate their municipality with Eligo Energy as the retail electric providerMunicipal aggregation is a government program that allows a community to receive electricity supply from a dedicated supplier and benefit as a whole from potential savings.Over the course of the Summer of 2014, residents received mailed correspondence from the City of [redacted] and Eligo Energy detailing the terms and conditions of the programTo opt-out from participating, residents were asked to mail in a portion of a form to indicate they were not interestedAny customers who were part of a previous aggregation received a [redacted] notification letter and an Eligo Energy Welcome PacketBoth mailings indicated ways for customers to opt out of the program, including by calling, mailing and emailingMs [redacted] received a welcome packet via mail from Eligo Energy as well as a letter from ***.Eligo Energy did not receive any communication from Ms [redacted] during this period and her account was enrolled in the program with an effective service start date of 08/13/This customer has been being serviced by Eligo Energy for more than yearsThe [redacted] municipal aggregation agreement with Eligo Energy runs from September of until June of 2017.Upon receipt of this complaint, the customer's account with Eligo Energy has been cancelledA service end date from [redacted] is pendingMs***'s account will continued to be billed by Eligo Energy until the service end date, as determined by her utility, because it takes about a billing cycle to return to [redacted] for electricity supply.Please let us know if there are any further questions or concerns

Revdex.com: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted] , and await the result of the research Sincerely, [redacted]

Revdex.com: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted] and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me Sincerely, [redacted] Chen

Eligo Energy has never used door-to-door salesmen in IllinoisIt is possible that the customer was solicited by another company claiming to be Eligo Energy.In Spring of 2014, the community of [redacted] elected to aggregate their municipality with Eligo Energy as the retail electric provider Municipal aggregation is a government program that allows a community to receive electricity supply from a dedicated supplier and benefit as a whole from potential savings.Over the course of the Summer of 2014, residents received mailed correspondence from the City of [redacted] and Eligo Energy detailing the terms and conditions of the programTo opt-out from participating, residents were asked to mail in a portion of a form to indicate they were not interestedAny customers who were part of a previous aggregation received a [redacted] notification letter and an Eligo Energy Welcome PacketBoth mailings indicated ways for customers to opt out of the program, including by calling, mailing and emailingMr [redacted] received a welcome packet via mail from Eligo Energy as well as a letter from ***.Eligo Energy did not receive any communication from Mr [redacted] during this period and his account was enrolled in the program with an effective service start date of 09/12/The [redacted] municipal aggregation agreement with Eligo Energy runs from September of until June of 2017.After servicing the account for more than six months, we received a drop notification to Commonwealth Edison on 04/18/Mr***'s account with Eligo Energy ended service on 05/14/2015, as it takes about a billing cycle to return to [redacted] for electricity supplyEligo Energy will waive the early termination fee associated with leaving the aggregation program early as a customer service gesture

Check fields!

Write a review of Eligo Energy, LLC

Satisfaction rating
 
 
 
 
 
Upload here Increase visibility and credibility of your review by adding a photo

Eligo Energy, LLC Rating

Overall satisfaction rating

Address: 201 W. Lake St., Ste 151, Chicago, Illinois, United States, 60606

Phone:

Show more...

Web:

www.eligoenergy.com


Add contact information for Eligo Energy, LLC

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | New | Updated