Sign in

Fairview Bed and Breakfast Estate

Sharing is caring! Have something to share about Fairview Bed and Breakfast Estate? Use RevDex to write a review
Reviews Fairview Bed and Breakfast Estate

Fairview Bed and Breakfast Estate Reviews (16)

Fairview has maintained a strong record of hospitality and guest experience for the past yearsWe value constructive feedback and want to continuously improveAs a vacation rental property and wedding venue in high demand, we understand the important of a quality experienceOur consistently excellent guest ratings on [redacted] and [redacted] (and stars, with over total posted reviews) attest to the infrequency of any issues randomly raised in this particular reviewOur [redacted] star award was maintained for over yearsThis guest experience is simply not factual, and appears to be motivated by a desire to secure a full, unqualified refund, and a lack of intention to pay for services provided upfrontWe have filed a formal complaint with VRBO, and theft and damage to the property is still being investigated by local authoritiesIt appears that they broke into several secured storage areas both interior and exterior, and opened secured closets, potentially looking for valuablesThere was also extensive damage to an expensive new hot tub, and substantial linens left ruinedChallenges started prior to arrival, when these guests did not pay pet fees upfront prior to arrival, as required by VRBO policyDespite multiple attempts thru VRBO to remind them of payment due, their response back was a series of unfounded 'complaints' which ranged from mice to cleanlinessIt should also be noted that we did not receive any contact from these guests until full business days into their visitAs a rural property with a high occupancy, in an estate setting, we follow the professionally recommended practices for extermination, and eliminate field mice in a humane manner, consistent with the safety of our guestsWe also avoid harsh traps, to protect kids and petsWhile we have the occasional visitor from the small animal kingdom invade the interiors over the course of a year, it is rare, and occurs only at the beginning of the winter seasonThe FV staff made a special trip on-property, immediately after complaints were raisedWe inspected the interior of the Main House for overall cleanliness, reviewed staff countdown procedures, and took a series of dated photos to verify our usual cleanliness standards were metFrom the beginning, it appears they intended to defraud both Fairview and VRBOIt is our opinion, that this party may have done this before, and perhaps will do so again

Revdex.com: I have reviewed the offer and/or response made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted] , and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below Below we have responded line by line to Jennifer K [redacted] ’s inflammatory and response Her words are in quotation marksMy response follows each quote.“Fairview has maintained a strong record of hospitality and guest experience for the past yearsWe value constructive feedback and want to continuously improveAs a vacation rental property and wedding venue in high demand, we understand the important of a quality experienceOur consistently excellent guest ratings on two leading industry travel ratings (and stars, with over total posted reviews) attest to the infrequency of any issues randomly raised in this particular reviewOur star award was maintained for over yearsWe also received a Certificate of Excellence for 2015.”None of this is relevant to our experience Reviews that were made in the past are not relevant to the present Our experience was extremely negative, and old reviews mean nothing in this situation.“This guest experience is simply not factual, and appears to be motivated by a desire to secure a full, unqualified refund, and a lack of intention to pay for services provided upfront.”Everything we stated in our review is factual and is backed up by photo, email, or phone record evidence The refund is not unqualified because she promised us a refund if we left the property by October at AM, which we did We have email proof of her promiseShe also has no basis for attempting to claim to know what our intentions were.“We have filed a formal complaint with VRBO, and theft and damage to the property is still being investigated by local authorities.”We have contacted VRBO, who told us that there is no formal complaint lodged against us We committed no theft and no damage to the property We have not been contacted by any local authorities.“It appears that they broke into several secured storage areas both interior and exterior, and opened secured closets, potentially looking for valuables.”We did not break into any locked areas There were multiple open, unlocked closets and we were directed by the caretaker to look in them for space heaters to use during the cold night when the propane had run empty and the gas furnace stopped working We were not looking for any valuables and we did not take any of her belongings She has absolutely no evidence of any crime on our part Again, she has no basis to accuse us of things she thinks we might have been trying to do.“There was also extensive damage to an expensive new hot tub, and substantial linens left ruined.”We did not use the hot tub or even turn on the water It was not damaged during our stay and no evidence has been presented to prove her claims Quite a few linens were already dirty or wet when we arrived; we did nothing to the linens except wash them and fold themThere were linens that were left in the wet in the washer when we first arrivedAdditionally, the cleaning person who visited us during the week washed the linens and dried part of them but left the washer full of wet items upon her departure.“Challenges started prior to arrival, when these guests did not pay pet fees upfront prior to arrival, as required by VRBO policyDespite multiple attempts thru VRBO to remind them of payment due, their response back was a series of unfounded 'complaints' which ranged from mice to cleanliness.”First, we were not asked to pay the pet fee through VRBO MsK [redacted] first agreed that we could leave a check for the pet fee at checkout; we have email proof of this as wellSoon after she suddenly changed her mind and wanted us to pay the fee using non-VRBO means (PayPal), of which we felt was suspiciousShe would not give us the code to unlock the door on the house right up to the day we were traveling, which became very inconvenient, holding this pet fee issue over our headsHowever, when we brought forth our concerns to her regarding the lack of cleanliness of the house, she agreed to waive the pet fee We have email evidence of this as well.“It should also be noted that we did not receive any contact from these guests until full business days into their visit.”This is simply untrue I am not sure what MsK [redacted] is calling business daysWe arrived late on a Sunday night and started contacted her or her caretakers on Monday and TuesdayWe attempted to contact the caretakers three times on our first business day on the property before we heard from them We have phone and email records proving that we contacted them on each day of our stay, beginning with the first day.“As a rural property with a high occupancy, in an estate setting, we follow the professionally recommended practices for extermination, and eliminate field mice in a humane manner, consistent with the safety of our guestsWe also avoid harsh traps, to protect kids and pets.”We understand that some methods of rodent extermination are dangerous to children and pets Therefore, Jennifer should not offer this property for rental until the problem is professionally resolved There were mice in the house during our stay and we feel that this is unacceptable for a place of public lodging.“While we have the occasional visitor from the small animal kingdom invade the interiors over the course of a year, it is rare, and occurs only at the beginning of the winter season.”The fact that we saw mice in the rental property was not occasional or rare during our stay We saw multiple rodents running around during the day while we were trying to relax Besides this, some of our food was ruined by them and we were forced to keep all of our dry food in our vehicle or in newly purchased plastic boxes during the duration of our stay.“The FV staff made a special trip on-property, immediately after complaints were raised.”The special trip was not immediate and it did not resolve anything The cleaning agent treated us very unprofessionally The problem with the refrigerator was not addressed, even though we lost over $of our food Furthermore, the cleaning agent manipulated our belongings, possibly looking for valuables herself.“We inspected the interior of the Main House for overall cleanliness, reviewed staff countdown procedures, and took a series of dated photos to verify our usual cleanliness standards were met.There was little to no difference in cleanliness following this visit The rodents were still running freely and the linens were still dirty The maid did nothing to address the mice problem The point of MsK [redacted] and staff reviewing their procedures does nothing to affect our situationFrom the beginning, it appears they intended to defraud both Fairview and VRBOIt is our opinion, that this party may have done this before, and perhaps will do so again.”Our record with VRBO shows that we have never defrauded any owner To our knowledge we have been using VRBO for longer than Jennifer K [redacted] has owned this property We have no intention to defraud her; we simply wish Jennifer to provide the refund that she promised us We do not believe it is acceptable to allow this sort of speculation about our past and future intentions to be posted on this public forum.Desired Outcome:We would like Jennifer K [redacted] to provide the refund she promised, since we kept our end of the bargain Regards, [redacted]

I wish I would have read reviews before I booked this place! I booked the cottage for a graduation weekend and put $depositWe e-mailed back and forth and said we would keep in touchCalled two weeks before arrival and was told my weekend was not availableI had forgotten to send final days out but also never got a reminder or request from owner and she rebooked without even contacting me to see if we were still comingI was devastated because everything else in area was booked for the graduation weekendI believe the lack of contact was intentional because of a higher offer for the rentalAlso never got a penny of my deposit back!!! Looks like similar things have happened to othersBEWARE!!!

Customer Information: [redacted] *** [redacted] We provided a payment of $(full refund) to this customer on 11/25/15, despite add'l property expenses incurred due to unauthorized fuel usage (catering support) and add'l cleaning fees of $to clean the main kitchen following the Sept wedding Please note the business file accordingly.Thanks much Regards, [redacted] [redacted] [redacted] ***

Revdex.com:
I feel a reply is necessary as the owner is simply trying to tip toe by without sharing the details of the entire situation and how a resolution was met
First I will start with our contract, below you will find our contract as provided by the owner___________________________________________________________________________... /> Proposed Day Lease: {base rental $Main House}, a flat cleaning fee of $250, including 10% taxes {$295} & a refundable damage deposit of $= Projected Total $
5. DAMAGE/RESERVATION DEPOSIT- A damage/reservation deposit of $is requiredThis must be received within (5) days of booking the reservationThe deposit automatically converts to a security/damage deposit upon arrivalThe deposit is NOT applied toward rent; however, it is fully refundable within (14) days of departure, provided the following provisions are met
a. No damage is done to house or its contents, beyond wear and tearb. No charges are incurred due to contraband, pets or collection of rents or services rendered during the stayc. All debris, rubbish and discards are placed in refuse containers outside, and soiled dishes are placed in the dishwasher and cleaned. All keys are left in the lock box and house is left locked
e. All charges accrued during the stay are paid prior to departuref. No linens are lost or damagedg. NO Early cheor late check-out
We checked out on September 27, The check was finally given to us days later even after the contract clearly states it would be returned within days
Our second issues with the owner's statement is that we arrived later than planned for cheand we informed the owner we were running lateShe said that her Son and Daughter-in-law were doing the process of checking us in and would wait for our arrivalWhen we finally made it to Fairview, our guests for which we had booked rooms, told us that the couple gave them a basic tour and then leftWe were told they would return the second morning to do a full walk through with us but that never occurredSecondly, upon checkout, no staff was present to do a final walk through and we left the premises on timeMy wife and I headed off to our honeymoon location and didn't hear anything from the owner until September 29th This is when she finally told us that the house had apparently been left a mess and that there was damage to the range in the kitchen and that there was also moldy food left in the kitchenBased on the pictures of the "damage" that the owner sent us we quickly sent back the pictures that we took ourselves upon arrival since we were not given a walk through to document existing quality of the place*** insisted that our caterer had damaged the range and had left the grease trap fullFirstly our caterer did not cook anything that would produce greaseMost of the items were fully cooked and simply needed to be re-heatedWe had pasta with grilled chicken and an assortment of vegetables none of those food items would have filled a grease pan for the rangeIn addition to that the owner stated that the use by the caterer was not authorized....in our conversations with the owner prior to our wedding this is what was exchanged around the use of the kitchen and appliances
Prior to signing the contract we emailed the owner and asked the following question "Ok and what all is available to us in the kitchen as far as catering items if we were to cater the event ourselves?"
The owner responded with "Hi *** You can cater the event yourselves entirely, using the Main House kitchen. We have a simple safety requirement, to make sure you know how to use the restaurant range, but that's it its pretty straight-forward."
So now the owner has said that we could cater it "ourselves" that doesn't really say that an actual caterer could not use the facilitiesMy wife and I did not want to make any assumptions though and we kindly notified our caterer that she would need to contact the ownerBelow is a quote form the caterer in regards to the owner's accusations_____________________________________________________________________... /> Hi *** - Thank you for sharing this with us.I have shown the e-mails and the photos to our chef and to Louise,
my business partner - both who were on site the day of the eventWe did not cook any menu items on the stove top that would have
created grease - therefore the grease trap "mess" was not created by us.We believe the burn marks were there before we arrived - as you can see in your photos as well.Moldy Food in the ovens when we left, the pan of mashed
potatoes were still in the oven - with the oven door open and guests
were standing in the kitchen eating from it.We left food in the fridge, that was brought in fresh that afternoon
- so should not have resulted in any molded food from the catering
team.Health Department Concerns we had for a food prep area / kitchen Cat moving freely to and from the kitchen and in the dining room area Many insects needed to be killed - constantly Pigeon poop too close to food prep and food serving areas Pigeon's flying around food service area Pigeon's flying, literally, in the way of the guests and the catering staff A lot of animal hair in dining room too close to food service areaAs for using the kitchen without permission - I called several days
before the event once I learned from Kathy that *** had a concern
about us using the kitchen and that we needed to speak with her.I phoned right away and left a message for *** with details
about who we were, that we would need to use the kitchen, that we were
fully insured and could provide documentation as needed and for her to
call me back if she needed to speak with me. I also mentioned that we
would be driving out to make a site visit a few days before the
wedding. ***'s voice mail said to allow hours for a return
phone call - a return phone call never came.Drove out on the Wednesday before the wedding, and spoke with a lady
on site who was cleaning. She gave me the code to the door. I
mentioned to her that I was the caterer and that we would be using the
kitchen on Saturday and asked about any rules we needed to know about,
etc. She showed us around the kitchen and seemed aware that we would be
cooking there and I mentioned to her as well that we could provide
documentation, etcas needed.We pride ourselves on leaving a place cleaner than when we arrived.
This was the case the day we left the kitchen. We did not check the
grease trap on the stove because we knew we did not cook with grease.The stove top was used to boil noodles, heat sauces and boil
broccoli None of those items should have damaged the stove top - as
they were placed in large pots and nothing even came half way up, much
less spilled over the top to have caused a mess of any kind.I am concerned, how the owner would assume we were to blame as we
cooked meal in the house, yet she allows guests full use of the
kitchen from Thursday to Sunday. It could just as easily be an
accumulation of meals coupled with the fact that the kitchen was no
where near spotless to begin with. With ALL that being said - we pride ourselves in taking care of our
clients - and are willing to swallow our pride, and how we feel about
things that *** is trying to do with your deposit - and want to
assure you that we will do whatever you need done to ensure you are able
to get out of this situation with your deposit in tact if possible.If we are to go and do the "extensive" cleanup she is suggesting -
she must be on site with a detailed list of what the complaints are and
what needs to be done to correct the issues. She needs to assure us, in
writing, that once these items are handled that your deposit will be
returned to you. If she is unwilling to do these things, I have the
feeling that your deposit is going to be kept regardless.I hope all of this makes sense - and that we can help you resolve
this issue as soon as possible. I apologize that it is even happening_______________________________________________________________________... /> So even after our professional caterer made her remarks and even offered to come back and clean, the owner ignored these facts.
After we contacted *** several more times she agreed to refund our deposit on October 7th which is documented in an email but the check was never receivedOn October 17th we still had not received our refund so we again emailed the ownerThe owner told us "We have you guys set up for a payout, the week of 10/22."As predictable the 22nd had come and gone and we still had not received our refund so we yet again emailed the owner on October 29th to inquire about our refundThis was the owner's response when she finally emailed us back on November, "*** ...I'm on travel, will ck againIf it wasn't mail locally, will send a ck from here"So we waited yet again and finally received another email from the owner on November 12th, Here is what the owner had to say this time
"""*** * *** I am truly saddened by the rhetoric and tone in your texts and emails. We
still intend to refund the deposit. Although we are a small business,
its really not about the money. We wanted to get to the full truth about
the usage of the gas range, and the add'l cleaning costs that the
property incurred. As a small business, we do have to manage all costs
very carefully, which I'm sure you can understand. Just
wanted to make you both aware that the information from your caterer
was clearly incorrect. We now have records from Suburban which indicate
high usage during the entire day wedding period. To be clear, I am
seeking further charges, or proposing to withhold your full refund. I
simply wanted to know the full storyI think that's fair to both of
us.We will mail your deposit today. Please
confirm receipt. Again, I regret this outcome. We gave you guys a
great price point for your wedding at FV including providing the
Cottage at no charge. I'm quite sad, give our prior communications and
interactions, which up to this point were really positive! I wish you
both the very best. -***"""
________________________________________________________________________________... /> So now the owner all the sudden months after our check out magically came up with gas usage numbers from the three specific days of our weddingFirst of all we knew this was not legitimate because she had said that gas was used all three days which simply was not the caseThe range was only used the day of our weddingThe other days we ate out for dinner, had muffins etcfor breakfast which were store bought, and our rehersal dinner was prepared off-site and delivered to usSecondly she should not have tried to with-hold our deposit for ""gas usage" reasons since their was nothing in our contract stating a limit on gas usage or a fee for gas usage
We waited and emailed *** several more times and got little to no response or our refundOn November 25th 2015, we emailed the owner and notified them that we would take legal action in small claims court if we did not have confirmation of a sent check by 6pm on November 24, We did not hear back from the owner until the morning of November 24thShe told us that she would be in town and would hand deliver the check
My wife met with *** the morning of November the 25th, The owner talked with my wife and finally signed the check after threatening to take legal action against us if we try to "tarnish" the establishment at allIn my opinion this was the owner's way of covering the real story but since I had already opened this complaint I figured I wold share the details of the entire processIf further clarification is needed we have all emails, texts, and photos exchanged between the owner and ourselvesWe will not be bullied out of telling the truth and sharing this info with the Revdex.com
Regards,
*** ***

Revdex.com:
I feel a reply is necessary as the owner is simply trying to tip toe by without sharing the details of the entire situation and how a resolution was met First I will start with our contract, below you will find our contract as provided by the owner.__________________________________________________________________________... Day Lease: {base rental $Main House}, a flat cleaning fee of $250, including 10% taxes {$295} & a refundable damage deposit of $= Projected Total $3745 5. DAMAGE/RESERVATION DEPOSIT- A damage/reservation deposit of $is requiredThis must be received within (5) days of booking the reservationThe deposit automatically converts to a security/damage deposit upon arrivalThe deposit is NOT applied toward rent; however, it is fully refundable within (14) days of departure, provided the following provisions are met
a. No damage is done to house or its contents, beyond wear and tearb. No charges are incurred due to contraband, pets or collection of rents or services rendered during the stayc. All debris, rubbish and discards are placed in refuse containers outside, and soiled dishes are placed in the dishwasher and cleaned. All keys are left in the lock box and house is left locked
e. All charges accrued during the stay are paid prior to departuref. No linens are lost or damagedg. NO Early cheor late check-outWe checked out on September 27, The check was finally given to us days later even after the contract clearly states it would be returned within daysOur second issues with the owner's statement is that we arrived later than planned for cheand we informed the owner we were running lateShe said that her Son and Daughter-in-law were doing the process of checking us in and would wait for our arrivalWhen we finally made it to Fairview, our guests for which we had booked rooms, told us that the couple gave them a basic tour and then leftWe were told they would return the second morning to do a full walk through with us but that never occurredSecondly, upon checkout, no staff was present to do a final walk through and we left the premises on timeMy wife and I headed off to our honeymoon location and didn't hear anything from the owner until September 29th This is when she finally told us that the house had apparently been left a mess and that there was damage to the range in the kitchen and that there was also moldy food left in the kitchenBased on the pictures of the "damage" that the owner sent us we quickly sent back the pictures that we took ourselves upon arrival since we were not given a walk through to document existing quality of the place*** insisted that our caterer had damaged the range and had left the grease trap fullFirstly our caterer did not cook anything that would produce greaseMost of the items were fully cooked and simply needed to be re-heatedWe had pasta with grilled chicken and an assortment of vegetables none of those food items would have filled a grease pan for the rangeIn addition to that the owner stated that the use by the caterer was not authorized....in our conversations with the owner prior to our wedding this is what was exchanged around the use of the kitchen and appliances Prior to signing the contract we emailed the owner and asked the following question "Ok and what all is available to us in the kitchen as far as catering items if we were to cater the event ourselves?" The owner responded with "Hi *** You can cater the event yourselves entirely, using the Main House kitchen. We have a simple safety requirement, to make sure you know how to use the restaurant range, but that's it its pretty straight-forward." So now the owner has said that we could cater it "ourselves" that doesn't really say that an actual caterer could not use the facilitiesMy wife and I did not want to make any assumptions though and we kindly notified our caterer that she would need to contact the ownerBelow is a quote form the caterer in regards to the owner's accusations.____________________________________________________________________... *** - Thank you for sharing this with us.I have shown the e-mails and the photos to our chef and to Louise,
my business partner - both who were on site the day of the eventWe did not cook any menu items on the stove top that would have
created grease - therefore the grease trap "mess" was not created by us.We believe the burn marks were there before we arrived - as you can see in your photos as well.Moldy Food in the ovens when we left, the pan of mashed
potatoes were still in the oven - with the oven door open and guests
were standing in the kitchen eating from it.We left food in the fridge, that was brought in fresh that afternoon
- so should not have resulted in any molded food from the catering
team.Health Department Concerns we had for a food prep area / kitchen Cat moving freely to and from the kitchen and in the dining room area Many insects needed to be killed - constantly Pigeon poop too close to food prep and food serving areas Pigeon's flying around food service area Pigeon's flying, literally, in the way of the guests and the catering staff A lot of animal hair in dining room too close to food service areaAs for using the kitchen without permission - I called several days
before the event once I learned from Kathy that *** had a concern
about us using the kitchen and that we needed to speak with her.I phoned right away and left a message for *** with details
about who we were, that we would need to use the kitchen, that we were
fully insured and could provide documentation as needed and for her to
call me back if she needed to speak with me. I also mentioned that we
would be driving out to make a site visit a few days before the
wedding. ***'s voice mail said to allow hours for a return
phone call - a return phone call never came.Drove out on the Wednesday before the wedding, and spoke with a lady
on site who was cleaning. She gave me the code to the door. I
mentioned to her that I was the caterer and that we would be using the
kitchen on Saturday and asked about any rules we needed to know about,
etc. She showed us around the kitchen and seemed aware that we would be
cooking there and I mentioned to her as well that we could provide
documentation, etcas needed.We pride ourselves on leaving a place cleaner than when we arrived.
This was the case the day we left the kitchen. We did not check the
grease trap on the stove because we knew we did not cook with grease.The stove top was used to boil noodles, heat sauces and boil
broccoli None of those items should have damaged the stove top - as
they were placed in large pots and nothing even came half way up, much
less spilled over the top to have caused a mess of any kind.I am concerned, how the owner would assume we were to blame as we
cooked meal in the house, yet she allows guests full use of the
kitchen from Thursday to Sunday. It could just as easily be an
accumulation of meals coupled with the fact that the kitchen was no
where near spotless to begin with. With ALL that being said - we pride ourselves in taking care of our
clients - and are willing to swallow our pride, and how we feel about
things that *** is trying to do with your deposit - and want to
assure you that we will do whatever you need done to ensure you are able
to get out of this situation with your deposit in tact if possible.If we are to go and do the "extensive" cleanup she is suggesting -
she must be on site with a detailed list of what the complaints are and
what needs to be done to correct the issues. She needs to assure us, in
writing, that once these items are handled that your deposit will be
returned to you. If she is unwilling to do these things, I have the
feeling that your deposit is going to be kept regardless.I hope all of this makes sense - and that we can help you resolve
this issue as soon as possible. I apologize that it is even happening.______________________________________________________________________... So even after our professional caterer made her remarks and even offered to come back and clean, the owner ignored these facts. After we contacted *** several more times she agreed to refund our deposit on October 7th which is documented in an email but the check was never receivedOn October 17th we still had not received our refund so we again emailed the ownerThe owner told us "We have you guys set up for a payout, the week of 10/22."As predictable the 22nd had come and gone and we still had not received our refund so we yet again emailed the owner on October 29th to inquire about our refundThis was the owner's response when she finally emailed us back on November, "*** ...I'm on travel, will ck againIf it wasn't mail locally, will send a ck from here"So we waited yet again and finally received another email from the owner on November 12th, Here is what the owner had to say this time """*** * *** I am truly saddened by the rhetoric and tone in your texts and emails. We
still intend to refund the deposit. Although we are a small business,
its really not about the money. We wanted to get to the full truth about
the usage of the gas range, and the add'l cleaning costs that the
property incurred. As a small business, we do have to manage all costs
very carefully, which I'm sure you can understand. Just
wanted to make you both aware that the information from your caterer
was clearly incorrect. We now have records from Suburban which indicate
high usage during the entire day wedding period. To be clear, I am
seeking further charges, or proposing to withhold your full refund. I
simply wanted to know the full storyI think that's fair to both of
us.We will mail your deposit today. Please
confirm receipt. Again, I regret this outcome. We gave you guys a
great price point for your wedding at FV including providing the
Cottage at no charge. I'm quite sad, give our prior communications and
interactions, which up to this point were really positive! I wish you
both the very best. -***""" ________________________________________________________________________________... now the owner all the sudden months after our check out magically came up with gas usage numbers from the three specific days of our weddingFirst of all we knew this was not legitimate because she had said that gas was used all three days which simply was not the caseThe range was only used the day of our weddingThe other days we ate out for dinner, had muffins etcfor breakfast which were store bought, and our rehersal dinner was prepared off-site and delivered to usSecondly she should not have tried to with-hold our deposit for ""gas usage" reasons since their was nothing in our contract stating a limit on gas usage or a fee for gas usageWe waited and emailed *** several more times and got little to no response or our refundOn November 25th 2015, we emailed the owner and notified them that we would take legal action in small claims court if we did not have confirmation of a sent check by 6pm on November 24, We did not hear back from the owner until the morning of November 24thShe told us that she would be in town and would hand deliver the check My wife met with *** the morning of November the 25th, The owner talked with my wife and finally signed the check after threatening to take legal action against us if we try to "tarnish" the establishment at allIn my opinion this was the owner's way of covering the real story but since I had already opened this complaint I figured I wold share the details of the entire processIf further clarification is needed we have all emails, texts, and photos exchanged between the owner and ourselvesWe will not be bullied out of telling the truth and sharing this info with the Revdex.com
Regards,
*** ***

Customer Information:*** * ***
*** *** ***
rgb(34, 34, 34)">We provided a payment of $(full refund) to this customer on 11/25/15, despite add'l property expenses incurred due to unauthorized fuel usage (catering support) and add'l cleaning fees of $to clean the main kitchen following the Sept wedding
Please note the business file accordinglyThanks much. Regards, *** *** *** *** *** ***

Fairview has maintained a strong record of hospitality and guest experience for the past 9 years. We value constructive feedback and want to continuously improve. As a vacation rental property and wedding venue in high demand, we understand the important of a quality experience. Our consistently...

excellent guest ratings on [redacted] and [redacted] (4 and 5 stars, with over 400 total posted reviews) attest to the infrequency of any issues randomly raised in this particular review. Our [redacted] 5 star award was maintained for over 3 years. This guest experience is simply not factual, and appears to be motivated by a desire to secure a full, unqualified refund, and a lack of intention to pay for services provided upfront. We have filed a formal complaint with VRBO, and theft and damage to the property is still being investigated by local authorities. It appears that they broke into several secured storage areas both interior and exterior, and opened secured closets, potentially looking for valuables. There was also extensive damage to an expensive new hot tub, and substantial linens left ruined. Challenges started prior to arrival, when these guests did not pay pet fees upfront prior to arrival, as required by VRBO policy. Despite multiple attempts thru VRBO to remind them of payment due, their response back was a series of unfounded 'complaints' which ranged from mice to cleanliness. It should also be noted that we did not receive any contact from these guests until 3 full business days into their visit. As a rural property with a high occupancy, in an estate setting, we follow the professionally recommended practices for extermination, and eliminate field mice in a humane manner, consistent with the safety of our guests. We also avoid harsh traps, to protect kids and pets. While we have the occasional visitor from the small animal kingdom invade the interiors over the course of a year, it is rare, and occurs only at the beginning of the winter season. The FV staff made a special trip on-property, immediately after complaints were raised. We inspected the interior of the Main House for overall cleanliness, reviewed staff countdown procedures, and took a series of dated photos to verify our usual cleanliness standards were met. From the beginning, it appears they intended to defraud both Fairview and VRBO. It is our opinion, that this party may have done this before, and perhaps will do so again.

Revdex.com:
I have reviewed the offer and/or response made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted], and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.
Below we have
responded line by line to Jennifer K[redacted]’s inflammatory and false response.  Her words are in quotation marks. My response follows each quote.“Fairview has
maintained a strong record of hospitality and guest experience for the past 9
years. We value constructive feedback and want to continuously improve. As a
vacation rental property and wedding venue in high demand, we understand the
important of a quality experience. Our consistently excellent guest ratings on
two leading industry travel ratings (4 and 5 stars, with over 400 total posted
reviews) attest to the infrequency of any issues randomly raised in this
particular review. Our 5 star award was maintained for over 3 years. We also
received a Certificate of Excellence for 2015.”None of this is
relevant to our experience.  Reviews that were made in the past are not
relevant to the present.  Our experience was extremely negative, and old
reviews mean nothing in this situation.“This guest experience
is simply not factual, and appears to be motivated by a desire to secure a
full, unqualified refund, and a lack of intention to pay for services provided
upfront.”Everything we stated
in our review is factual and is backed up by photo, email, or phone record
evidence.  The refund is not unqualified because she promised us a refund
if we left the property by October 22 at 10 AM, which we did.  We have
email proof of her promise. She also has no basis for attempting to claim to
know what our intentions were.“We have filed a
formal complaint with VRBO, and theft and damage to the property is still being
investigated by local authorities.”We have contacted
VRBO, who told us that there is no formal complaint lodged against us.  We
committed no theft and no damage to the property.  We have not been
contacted by any local authorities.“It appears that they
broke into several secured storage areas both interior and exterior, and opened
secured closets, potentially looking for valuables.”We did not break into
any locked areas.  There were multiple open, unlocked closets and we were
directed by the caretaker to look in them for space heaters to use during the
cold night when the propane had run empty and the gas furnace stopped working. 
We were not looking for any valuables and we did not take any of her
belongings.  She has absolutely no evidence of any crime on our
part.  Again, she has no basis to accuse us of things she thinks we might
have been trying to do.“There was also
extensive damage to an expensive new hot tub, and substantial linens left
ruined.”We did not use the hot
tub or even turn on the water.  It was not damaged during our stay and no
evidence has been presented to prove her claims.  Quite a few linens were
already dirty or wet when we arrived; we did nothing to the linens except wash
them and fold them. There were linens that were left in the wet in the washer
when we first arrived. Additionally, the cleaning person who visited us during
the week washed the linens and dried part of them but left the washer full of
wet items upon her departure.“Challenges started
prior to arrival, when these guests did not pay pet fees upfront prior to arrival,
as required by VRBO policy. Despite multiple attempts thru VRBO to remind them
of payment due, their response back was a series of unfounded 'complaints'
which ranged from mice to cleanliness.”First, we were not
asked to pay the pet fee through VRBO.  Ms. K[redacted] first agreed that we
could leave a check for the pet fee at checkout; we have email proof of this as
well. Soon after she suddenly changed her mind and wanted us to pay the
fee using non-VRBO means (PayPal), of which we felt was suspicious. She
would not give us the code to unlock the door on the house right up to the day
we were traveling, which became very inconvenient, holding this pet fee issue
over our heads. However, when we brought forth our concerns to her regarding
the lack of cleanliness of the house, she agreed to waive the pet fee.  We
have email evidence of this as well.“It should also be
noted that we did not receive any contact from these guests until 3 full
business days into their visit.”This is simply
untrue.  I am not sure what Ms. K[redacted] is calling business days. We
arrived late on a Sunday night and started contacted her or her caretakers on
Monday and Tuesday. We attempted to contact the caretakers three times on our
first business day on the property before we heard from them.  We have
phone and email records proving that we contacted them on each day of our stay,
beginning with the first day.“As a rural property
with a high occupancy, in an estate setting, we follow the professionally
recommended practices for extermination, and eliminate field mice in a humane
manner, consistent with the safety of our guests. We also avoid harsh traps, to
protect kids and pets.”We understand that
some methods of rodent extermination are dangerous to children and pets. 
Therefore, Jennifer should not offer this property for rental until the problem
is professionally resolved.  There were mice in the house during our stay
and we feel that this is unacceptable for a place of public lodging.“While we have the
occasional visitor from the small animal kingdom invade the interiors over the
course of a year, it is rare, and occurs only at the beginning of the winter
season.”The fact that we saw
mice in the rental property was not occasional or rare during our stay. 
We saw multiple rodents running around during the day while we were trying to
relax.  Besides this, some of our food was ruined by them and we were
forced to keep all of our dry food in our vehicle or in newly purchased plastic
boxes during the duration of our stay.“The FV staff made a
special trip on-property, immediately after complaints were raised.”The special trip was
not immediate and it did not resolve anything.  The cleaning agent treated
us very unprofessionally.  The problem with the refrigerator was not
addressed, even though we lost over $100 of our food.  Furthermore, the
cleaning agent manipulated our belongings, possibly looking for valuables
herself.“We inspected the
interior of the Main House for overall cleanliness, reviewed staff countdown
procedures, and took a series of dated photos to verify our usual cleanliness
standards were met.There was little to no
difference in cleanliness following this visit.  The rodents were still
running freely and the linens were still dirty.  The maid did nothing to
address the mice problem.  The point of Ms. K[redacted] and staff reviewing their
procedures does nothing to affect our situation. From the beginning, it appears they intended
to defraud both Fairview and VRBO. It is our opinion, that this party may have
done this before, and perhaps will do so again.”Our record with VRBO
shows that we have never defrauded any owner.  To our knowledge we have
been using VRBO for longer than Jennifer K[redacted] has owned this property. 
We have no intention to defraud her; we simply wish Jennifer to provide the
refund that she promised us.  We do not believe it is acceptable to allow
this sort of speculation about our past and future intentions to be posted on
this public forum.Desired Outcome:We would like Jennifer
K[redacted] to provide the refund she promised, since we kept our end of the
bargain.
Regards,
[redacted]

Customer Information:[redacted] [redacted] 
[redacted]
We provided a payment of $500 (full refund) to this customer on 11/25/15, despite add'l property expenses incurred due to unauthorized fuel usage (catering support) and add'l cleaning fees of $150 to clean the main kitchen following...

the Sept 2015 wedding.  Please note the business file accordingly.Thanks much.   Regards, [redacted]   [redacted]   [redacted]

Review: On September 26 of 2015 my wife and I had our wedding at Fairview. We booked the estate for 3 nights and out entire wedding party stayed there. In our booking fee was included a $500 security deposit plus an additional $125 cleaning fee. When we arrived at fairview, we took pictures of most of the rooms but especially the kitchen area as our caterer was approved to use the kitchen by one of the staff members there. Upon arrival the B&B was already filthy. We had to clean up cob webs and sweep all the rooms before we would even let our guests enter because the house was in such bad shape. We had out wedding and left fairview. 2 days after we had left we received word that we would not be getting our security deposit back because of "extra" cleaning that the owner had to do. She also claimed that there was damage done to the stove used by our caterer. In addition to that she complained about potatoes being left in the stove but this should not have been a big deal since she had requested that we leave any trash in the kitchen. So after some back and fourth and showing her pictures of before and after of the stove she finally agreed to refund us our deposit. Now, here we are a month and a half later and the owner keeps coming up with excuses to not send the check. We have all conversations documented through email including the statement from the caterer about how awful the kitchen looked when they arrived. The owner has yet to send our check and keeps coming up with additional excuses to not send it.Desired Settlement: My wife and I would like our security deposit back in full and in a period of no more than 2 weeks from today's date (November 12, 2015)

Business

Response:

Customer Information:[redacted]

Review: When we first arrived at Fairview Bed and Breakfast on October 18th, there was a propane smell in the kitchen. By the morning of October 20th, the propane tank was empty and the propane company was contacted. We were unable to cook or run the heat for over 24 hours during freezing temperatures. The propane representative arrived October 21st and stated that Fairview is notorious for having propane problems. The propane system was tested and no leaks were found so we felt it was safe to stay. In response to this problem, Jennifer said that it was her fault that they did not have the propane refilled after a wedding that had taken place prior to our arrival.

We saw multiple mice in the daylight running around in the kitchen, the living room, and the dining room. Some of our food was ruined by them and we saw mice droppings. We contacted Jennifer K[redacted], who said that that is just what happens sometimes. All of the staff said that they knew about mice problem before we came and that it had happened before. We were also told by the staff that the wedding party that rented the property directly before our stay had also reported mice. For us this was a progressive problem over the days of our stay up to and including the morning that we left. No efforts were made by Jennifer K[redacted] or staff to address the rodent infestation in any way. We took actions like placing all of our dry food either in plastic boxes or back in our vehicle.

Thirdly, the refrigerator was a problem, because it tripped the breaker on October 20th, unknown to us, ruining over $100 worth of our food without compensation.Desired Settlement: In the end, Jennifer offered to give us a full refund if we left by 10:00 AM on October 22nd, which we did. This was an agreement that we and Jennifer came to via several email conversations. This departure date was one day earlier than our original itinerary (October 18th – October 23rd). This caused us to have to hurriedly find lodging for the seven people and one pet in our party. At this point, we have not heard from her since October 21 and have not received our refund. We would like to receive the full refund she promised.

Business

Response:

Fairview has maintained a strong record of hospitality and guest experience for the past 9 years. We value constructive feedback and want to continuously improve. As a vacation rental property and wedding venue in high demand, we understand the important of a quality experience. Our consistently excellent guest ratings on [redacted] and [redacted] (4 and 5 stars, with over 400 total posted reviews) attest to the infrequency of any issues randomly raised in this particular review. Our [redacted] 5 star award was maintained for over 3 years. This guest experience is simply not factual, and appears to be motivated by a desire to secure a full, unqualified refund, and a lack of intention to pay for services provided upfront. We have filed a formal complaint with VRBO, and theft and damage to the property is still being investigated by local authorities. It appears that they broke into several secured storage areas both interior and exterior, and opened secured closets, potentially looking for valuables. There was also extensive damage to an expensive new hot tub, and substantial linens left ruined. Challenges started prior to arrival, when these guests did not pay pet fees upfront prior to arrival, as required by VRBO policy. Despite multiple attempts thru VRBO to remind them of payment due, their response back was a series of unfounded 'complaints' which ranged from mice to cleanliness. It should also be noted that we did not receive any contact from these guests until 3 full business days into their visit. As a rural property with a high occupancy, in an estate setting, we follow the professionally recommended practices for extermination, and eliminate field mice in a humane manner, consistent with the safety of our guests. We also avoid harsh traps, to protect kids and pets. While we have the occasional visitor from the small animal kingdom invade the interiors over the course of a year, it is rare, and occurs only at the beginning of the winter season. The FV staff made a special trip on-property, immediately after complaints were raised. We inspected the interior of the Main House for overall cleanliness, reviewed staff countdown procedures, and took a series of dated photos to verify our usual cleanliness standards were met. From the beginning, it appears they intended to defraud both Fairview and VRBO. It is our opinion, that this party may have done this before, and perhaps will do so again.

Consumer

Response:

I have reviewed the offer and/or response made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted], and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint. For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Below we have

responded line by line to Jennifer K[redacted]’s inflammatory and false response. Her words are in quotation marks. My response follows each quote.“Fairview has

maintained a strong record of hospitality and guest experience for the past 9

years. We value constructive feedback and want to continuously improve. As a

vacation rental property and wedding venue in high demand, we understand the

important of a quality experience. Our consistently excellent guest ratings on

two leading industry travel ratings (4 and 5 stars, with over 400 total posted

reviews) attest to the infrequency of any issues randomly raised in this

particular review. Our 5 star award was maintained for over 3 years. We also

received a Certificate of Excellence for 2015.”None of this is

relevant to our experience. Reviews that were made in the past are not

relevant to the present. Our experience was extremely negative, and old

reviews mean nothing in this situation.“This guest experience

is simply not factual, and appears to be motivated by a desire to secure a

full, unqualified refund, and a lack of intention to pay for services provided

upfront.”Everything we stated

in our review is factual and is backed up by photo, email, or phone record

evidence. The refund is not unqualified because she promised us a refund

if we left the property by October 22 at 10 AM, which we did. We have

email proof of her promise. She also has no basis for attempting to claim to

know what our intentions were.“We have filed a

formal complaint with VRBO, and theft and damage to the property is still being

investigated by local authorities.”We have contacted

VRBO, who told us that there is no formal complaint lodged against us. We

committed no theft and no damage to the property. We have not been

contacted by any local authorities.“It appears that they

broke into several secured storage areas both interior and exterior, and opened

secured closets, potentially looking for valuables.”We did not break into

any locked areas. There were multiple open, unlocked closets and we were

directed by the caretaker to look in them for space heaters to use during the

cold night when the propane had run empty and the gas furnace stopped working.

We were not looking for any valuables and we did not take any of her

belongings. She has absolutely no evidence of any crime on our

part. Again, she has no basis to accuse us of things she thinks we might

have been trying to do.“There was also

extensive damage to an expensive new hot tub, and substantial linens left

ruined.”We did not use the hot

tub or even turn on the water. It was not damaged during our stay and no

evidence has been presented to prove her claims. Quite a few linens were

already dirty or wet when we arrived; we did nothing to the linens except wash

them and fold them. There were linens that were left in the wet in the washer

when we first arrived. Additionally, the cleaning person who visited us during

the week washed the linens and dried part of them but left the washer full of

wet items upon her departure.“Challenges started

prior to arrival, when these guests did not pay pet fees upfront prior to arrival,

as required by VRBO policy. Despite multiple attempts thru VRBO to remind them

of payment due, their response back was a series of unfounded 'complaints'

which ranged from mice to cleanliness.”First, we were not

asked to pay the pet fee through VRBO. Ms. K[redacted] first agreed that we

could leave a check for the pet fee at checkout; we have email proof of this as

well. Soon after she suddenly changed her mind and wanted us to pay the

fee using non-VRBO means (PayPal), of which we felt was suspicious. She

would not give us the code to unlock the door on the house right up to the day

we were traveling, which became very inconvenient, holding this pet fee issue

over our heads. However, when we brought forth our concerns to her regarding

the lack of cleanliness of the house, she agreed to waive the pet fee. We

have email evidence of this as well.“It should also be

noted that we did not receive any contact from these guests until 3 full

business days into their visit.”This is simply

untrue. I am not sure what Ms. K[redacted] is calling business days. We

arrived late on a Sunday night and started contacted her or her caretakers on

Monday and Tuesday. We attempted to contact the caretakers three times on our

first business day on the property before we heard from them. We have

phone and email records proving that we contacted them on each day of our stay,

beginning with the first day.“As a rural property

with a high occupancy, in an estate setting, we follow the professionally

recommended practices for extermination, and eliminate field mice in a humane

manner, consistent with the safety of our guests. We also avoid harsh traps, to

protect kids and pets.”We understand that

some methods of rodent extermination are dangerous to children and pets.

Therefore, Jennifer should not offer this property for rental until the problem

is professionally resolved. There were mice in the house during our stay

and we feel that this is unacceptable for a place of public lodging.“While we have the

occasional visitor from the small animal kingdom invade the interiors over the

course of a year, it is rare, and occurs only at the beginning of the winter

season.”The fact that we saw

mice in the rental property was not occasional or rare during our stay.

We saw multiple rodents running around during the day while we were trying to

relax. Besides this, some of our food was ruined by them and we were

forced to keep all of our dry food in our vehicle or in newly purchased plastic

boxes during the duration of our stay.“The FV staff made a

special trip on-property, immediately after complaints were raised.”The special trip was

not immediate and it did not resolve anything. The cleaning agent treated

us very unprofessionally. The problem with the refrigerator was not

addressed, even though we lost over $100 of our food. Furthermore, the

cleaning agent manipulated our belongings, possibly looking for valuables

herself.“We inspected the

interior of the Main House for overall cleanliness, reviewed staff countdown

procedures, and took a series of dated photos to verify our usual cleanliness

standards were met.There was little to no

difference in cleanliness following this visit. The rodents were still

running freely and the linens were still dirty. The maid did nothing to

address the mice problem. The point of Ms. K[redacted] and staff reviewing their

procedures does nothing to affect our situation. From the beginning, it appears they intended

to defraud both Fairview and VRBO. It is our opinion, that this party may have

done this before, and perhaps will do so again.”Our record with VRBO

shows that we have never defrauded any owner. To our knowledge we have

been using VRBO for longer than Jennifer K[redacted] has owned this property.

We have no intention to defraud her; we simply wish Jennifer to provide the

refund that she promised us. We do not believe it is acceptable to allow

this sort of speculation about our past and future intentions to be posted on

this public forum.Desired Outcome:We would like Jennifer

K[redacted] to provide the refund she promised, since we kept our end of the

bargain.

Regards,

I wish I would have read reviews before I booked this place!
I booked the cottage for a graduation weekend and put $500 deposit. We e-mailed back and forth and said we would keep in touch. Called two weeks before arrival and was told my weekend was not available. I had forgotten to send final 30 days out but also never got a reminder or request from owner and she rebooked without even contacting me to see if we were still coming. I was devastated because everything else in area was booked for the graduation weekend. I believe the lack of contact was intentional because of a higher offer for the rental. Also never got a penny of my deposit back!!! Looks like similar things have happened to others. BEWARE!!!

Review: I bought a voucher for Fairview Bed & Breakfast and booked a reservation for February 22nd. [redacted], cancelled the reservation and stated that she would honor it through 2013 as well as providing a free extra night for the inconvenience of allegedly double-booking us, to which I agreed. I am happy to provide documentation of this. I set up another reservation for July 12, but she just cancelled that as well and is flatly refusing to honor the deal[redacted] told me that she "could not honor all deals" and that Fairview was undergoing renovations due to a fire (for which one can find no evidence of having occurred). However, if you look at their TripAdvisor web site (http://www.tripadvisor.com/Hotel_Review-[redacted], you can clearly see that many guests have been staying there over the past few months, including reunions. Meanwhile, there are dozens of reviews from consumers whose various vouchers are not being honored. They have had to deal with bad response time (or no response at all), unprofessional demeanor, inconsiderate attitude, last minute cancellations, and more: exactly what I have encountered. The [redacted] of this establishment seems disingenuous about her intentions to fulfill the deal consumers purchased, and this is further shown through the multiple negative reviews and complaints about her and her operation from many different people. I only wish I had researched this more thoroughly ahead of time.I was very much looking forward to this trip, but have had nothing but trouble[redacted] & Fairview. This has been a truly horrible customer experience. I and my significant other have twice taken time off of work and booked activities in the area. This has caused enormous frustration, financial loss, and a lot of logistical problems, having had our vacation twice cancelled on short notice.Desired Settlement: I would like [redacted] to be upfront and honest if she is truly unable to honor deals, instead of saying that the facility is closed when anyone can see that people have been staying there. An apology, acceptance of responsibility, & effort to make things right would be nice. She should honor the deal to make a reservation in 2013 or arrange similar accommodations in the area if she is unable to provide them herself. If not, an immediate refund facilitated by her is required.

Business

Response:

A fire occured at Fairview, on Sun evening, Jan 27th 2013. This is easily verified through emergency records, and news reports. We cancelled this guest reservation earlier due to the fire. Unfortunately, we can not reschedule accomodations for this individual.

We emailed this party on several occasions maintaining constant communication, and we called her directly as well on Mon, July 1st indicating that a rescheduled reservation was not possible, given continued delay in property rennovations. Many of our guests are flexible in rescheduling, particularly given a discount package. This individual was considerably personal and rude in her remarks during the July 1st phone call.

We reserve the right to refuse accomodations to guests who are verbally disrespectful. In this circumstance, we do not want to honor further requests for accomodations for this party, and have encouraged her to seek a full refund only.

The remaining course of action is a refund directly through the travel company where she purchased the package. As the business, we will happily support her request for a full refund. Please kindly advise if you need further details to resolve this matter. Best, [redacted]

Consumer

Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's offer. If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted] and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. I need [redacted] assistance in obtaining the refund. through [redacted] as soon as possible. Additionally I want to point out that as documented in my e-mail, the initial reservation was cancelled by [redacted] 5 days before she states the fire occurred. I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. If the company does not perform as promised I can get back to you at: [email protected]

Review: I purchased a weekend stay at Fairview through a [redacted] deal on 11/8/2011. The deal was good for a year (through 11/16/2012). After several attempts to make contact with [redacted] at the beginning of 2012 with no response to limited response, and after [redacted] extended the deal due to many others also having issues contacting [redacted] at Fairview and/or getting room reservations, I was finally able to make reservations for February 2013. Unfortunately, in October 2012 I had to contact [redacted] to change my reservation to some time in March 2013. She offered me the weekend of March 1st or 8th, and so I accepted the weekend of 3/1/2013. I never heard back from her receiving any sort of confirmation so I contacted her again in November 2012 to ensure that she had our room reserved for 3/1/2013. Still no response so by February 2013 I was very concerned and made numerous attempts to call [redacted], but she never answered the phone. I once left a voicemail and another time could not leave a voicemail as her voicemail was full. After another 2 weeks (and at this point it was only a week and a half until our reservation was scheduled), [redacted] emailed me to say that Fairview would be closed during our reservation period and that I would have to pick another time to come. I have since tried to contact [redacted] 3 times to make a reservation but to no avail. I have saved all email correspondence with [redacted].Desired Settlement: I am requesting a refund of the amount I spent on the Living Social deal to stay at Fairview.

Business

Response:

Fairview has closed the redemption period for all [redacted] vouchers. All ** vouchers have exceeded the allowable active period, according to the terms of the offer. The standard process is for the customer to contact ** directly for a full refund, after the redemption period. As the businesss, we will support all refund requests ... there should be no difficulties in getting a refund, if requested. If this customer is having difficulties with **, we will try to assist, as needed. While we have no direct influence on **, its our experience that they are usually supportive of routine refund requests. Thanks, [redacted] (owner)

Business

Response:

[redacted] ... following back up with you are your reservation requests, and your formal complaint with Richmond Revdex.com.

Review: I purchased a voucher in the amount of $299 for the Fairview Bed and Breakfast in Amherst, VA, through [redacted] (an online company which is used to offer special deals for participating businesses).

My wife and I were scheduled to stay at Fairview on Friday, February 15, 2013 through February 17. This had been booked for sometime, and only two days before we were to arrive the owner informed us that due to a fire the establishment would be closed for repairs.

We obviously wanted to reschedule, but the dates for staying were severely limited, including numerous weekend blackouts. Furthermore, the owner would not answer phone calls and was delinquent in answering emails. Repeated attempts by my wife to contact the owner by phone were unanswered, and we never received any clear, definitive response to our questions concerning rescheduling.

Obviously, [redacted] has a refund policy, although there was no way we could know that circumstances such as fire would effect our plans. Whereas we understand the need to close and remodel, I find it highly irregular that a business would contact prospective clients only two days before a scheduled stay, and it is indeed bad form to not answer phone calls or emails. As teachers, we cannot stay during the week, and to curtail the times when the voucher might be honored - especially after forcing us to do so at a late date - is unacceptable. Finally, the terms of the voucher indicated that it was only valid from September 6, 2012 until February 27, 2013. We purchased the voucher as we knew we could stay towards the end of February - not beyond. Therefore, we do not find it incumbent upon ourselves to continually reschedule when the fire prevented us from staying during a time that was personally suitable.Desired Settlement: My wife and I would like the amount of the voucher - $299 - to be refunded in its entirety. We find the overall service to be unacceptable, the late date of initial cancellation to be in poor taste, and the lack of communication through email and phone quite horrendous.

Business

Response:

To Revdex.com, R'mond: Per earlier similiar replies, Fairview has had limited operational capacity for part of 2013, due to a death in the immediate family which required rescheduled reservations, and a major fire which occured at the property on Jan 6, 2013. The property was closed for over 6 months, for historic rennovations and repairs for all or part of Jan to June 2013. We have honored over 98% of requested reservations to rescheduled visits to FV from July to Nov, with an courtsey extension on all vouchers for over 6months beyond the expiration period. Unfortunately, some guests were not responsive to requests to reschedued for the available time periods. At this time, as of late Nov 2013, we are no longer honoring expired discount packages that were pre-purchased. The only refund option for this consumer, is to request a credit or refund directly from [redacted], as FV has not been compensated for this transaction, and we did not receive monies for this purchase. While we do not have direct influence over any 3rd party travel companies, it is my understanding that they will honor either a full credit or refund, depending upon the date of the transaction.

Check fields!

Write a review of Fairview Bed and Breakfast Estate

Satisfaction rating
 
 
 
 
 
Upload here Increase visibility and credibility of your review by
adding a photo
Submit your review

Fairview Bed and Breakfast Estate Rating

Overall satisfaction rating

Description: Bed & Breakfast

Address: 2416 Lowesville Rd, Amherst, Virginia, United States, 24521-4237

Phone:

Show more...

Web:

fairviewbedandbreakfast.com

This site can’t be reached

Shady, yet now dead: once upon a time this website was reported to be associated with Fairview Bed and Breakfast Estate, but after several inspections we’ve come to the conclusion that this domain is no longer active.



Add contact information for Fairview Bed and Breakfast Estate

Add new contacts
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | New | Updated