Sign in

Fifth Third Bank

Sharing is caring! Have something to share about Fifth Third Bank? Use RevDex to write a review
Reviews Bank Fifth Third Bank

Fifth Third Bank Reviews (1358)

March 11, [redacted] ***Re: Account #xxxxxx [redacted] Dear [redacted] :We received a copy of the complaint you filed through the Revdex.com dated February 26, 2015, concerning the hold placed on your deposit into your checking accountWe appreciate the time you have taken to express your thoughts and concerns regarding this matter.We strive to provide professional and accurate service to our customers and I am sorry if that has not been your experienceCustomer service is of the utmost importance to all of us at Fifth Third Bank and we appreciate your feedback as it assists us in identifying problems in an effort to continuously improve the service we provide our customersPlease be assured that we have contacted the relevant parties to express your dissatisfaction with the service you received and passed on your concerns.We are continually working to ensure that the funds from your deposits are available in a timely manner, while meeting all Federal regulationsThe Federal Government establishes guidelines regarding the handling of deposits, which are in place to protect you as the consumer, and the Bank from loss or possible fraudOn the day of your deposit, a combined $from all deposited checks is available immediatelyThe remaining funds will be made available on the next business dayCash deposited into an account is immediately availableFor deposits made on Saturday, Sunday, or a Federal Holiday, the day of your deposit is the next business dayA business day is defined as Monday through Friday, excluding Federal HolidaysDeposits received after certain cut­off times may be credited as of the next business dayIn some instances, we reserve the right to place an extended hold on a deposit, in which case you will be notified.You opened a Basic Checking account ending in [redacted] on February 20, You also made a deposit on that same day for $5,Since we considered the account to be a new account at that time, we placed a hold on your account for $5,and sent notification the following day on February 21, to the address on fileI have also enclosed a copy of that related notice for your reviewPlease note that the hold was released on March 5, and all of your funds from the deposit were made available to youI have confirmed that your checking account did not become overdrawn and no fees were assessed during the time frame that the hold was in effect.I can assure you that it was not our intention to cause you any frustration or hardshipOn behalf of the Bank, please accept my sincere apology for any inconvenience or concern that this matter may have caused youIf I could be of further assistance to you, please call me at ###-###-####, or toll free at ###-###-####.Sincerely, [redacted] Consumer Resolution Specialist Office of the PresidentPc: Revdex.com

[redacted] ***Date: March 20, 2015Account: [redacted] Re: Status of your closed checking accountDear [redacted] ***:We received a copy of the complaint you recently filed with the Revdex.comWe appreciate the time you have taken to document your thoughts and concerns.On behalf of the Bank, please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience or frustration this matter may have caused youPlease be assured we have researched this matter fully, and passed on your concerns to the relevant parties within the BankI also want you to know that customer concerns are reviewed by our senior and executive management teams as part of our ongoing commitment to improving our customers' satisfaction.Due to a check processing error by the Bank, two checks were mistakenly presented for payment on your account, resulting in your account becoming overdrawnSince this error was not corrected by the Bank, your account was charged off and placed for collections.Please be aware that on March 18, 2015, Fifth Third Bank has deleted the negative information that was reported to a consumer reporting agency called ChexsystemsA letter notifying you of this correction was sent on March 18, No negative credit reporting information has been sent to any other consumer or credit reporting agenciesAs of the date of this letter, you do not owe any money to Fifth Third Bank or [redacted] If you would like to contact the credit bureaus directly, their contact information is below: [redacted] ###-###-#### [redacted] ###-###-#### [redacted] ###-###-#### [redacted] ###-###-#### [redacted] ***, thank you for your patience while waiting for a responseYou have been a valued customer, and we certainly hope you will consider using Fifth Third Bank for your financial needs in the futureIf I could be of further assistance to you, please call me at ###-###-####, or toll free at ###-###-####, Monday through Friday, a.mto p.m., ET.Sincerely, [redacted] Consumer Resolution Specialist Office of the PresidentPc: Revdex.com

[redacted] ***Date: March 9, 2015Account: [redacted] Re: Collection Calls for Mortgage LoanDear [redacted] :We received a copy of the complaint filed with the Better Business Bureau regarding the telephone calls you have received for your Fifth Third Bank mortgage loanWe appreciate the time you have taken to document your thoughts and concerns regarding this matter.We would like to offer our sincere apologies for any inconvenience this matter may have caused youPlease be assured that Fifth Third Bank takes your feedback regarding your experience very seriously, and I have contacted the relevant parties to pass on your concernsWe strive to provide outstanding service to our customers, and I regret if the service you received did not meet the same high standard.Your mortgage loan is considered past due for payment if we do not receive your total monthly payment by the due date, which is the first of each monthThe final calendar day of your fifteen (15) day grace period is not considered the due date for your payment obligationsThe grace period indicates when a late charge will actually be assessed to your loan for a past due paymentDuring that time, our Collection Department will attempt to notify you via the telephone numbers we have on file for you in an effort to obtain a payment or to arrange suitable payment arrangementsIt was certainly not our intention to cause you any undue hardship and we sympathize with the frustration these phone calls may have caused you.Due to your comments, we have removed your telephone numbers from our systems and you will no longer receive telephone calls should your loan become delinquentPlease note that this will not stop other collection activity on the account should it become delinquentThis activity might include late charges, reports to the credit bureaus should the account become greater than thirty (30) days delinquent, or foreclosure proceedings.You may wish to consider using Auto BillPayerAuto BillPayer enables you to have payments automatically deducted from your checking account each month on the due date or any date within the grace periodThis will eliminate the need to make online payments or mail your mortgage paymentsIf you are interested in signing up for Auto BillPayer, please contact our Auto BillPayer Department at ###-###-####If you utilize Auto BillPayer and a payment date is setup every month during the grace period, our Collection Department will not contact you during the grace period[redacted] , I understand your frustration we appreciate your patience while waiting for a responseYou are a valued customer and we look forward to serving your financial needs in the futureIf I can be of any further assistance, please contact me at ###-###-####, or toll free at ###-###-####.Sincerely, [redacted] Consumer Resolution Specialist Office of the President

[redacted] ***Date: April 3, 2015Account: [redacted] Re: [redacted] Checking AccountDear [redacted] ***We received a copy of the complaint you submitted to the Revdex.com regarding your [redacted] Checking accountWe appreciate the time you have taken to document your thoughts and concerns regarding this matter.On behalf of the Bank, we would like to offer our sincere apologies for any inconvenience this matter may have caused youPlease be assured that it was not our intention to cause you any hardshipWe strive to provide professional and accurate information to our customers, and we regret if that has not been your experience.As we previously explained, Fifth Third's [redacted] Banking benefits include an [redacted] Checking account with the monthly service charge of $waived when you have direct deposits totaling $or more each month, or $1,in combined monthly balances across all of your accounts with the BankBecause you did not meet the direct deposit or balance requirements, your account was properly charged the monthly service feeWe understand that you may have had some confusion about the requirements, and in the interest of resolving this matter in a satisfactory manner, we waived the monthly service fees, totaling $33.00, leaving the account with a remaining balance of $31.52.During your previous conversation, you indicated that you would like to close your accountBased on this conversation, we have closed your account, effective April 3, Please find the enclosed check in the amount of $which was remaining in your account.Thank you for your patience while waiting for a responseWe regret that you feel the need to close your account, and we certainly hope you will reconsider using Fifth Third Bank for your financial needs in the future If I could be of further assistance to you, please contact me directly at ###-###-####, or toll free at ###-###-####, Monday through Friday, a.mto p.m., ET.Sincerely, [redacted] Senior Consumer Resolution Specialist Office of the PresidentPc: Better Business Bureau Enclosure (1): Check

We received a copy of your complaint, filed with the Revdex.com,regarding your experience with the ATM (Automated Teller Machine) located atthe [redacted] Bank MartWe appreciate the time you have taken to express yourconcerns regarding this matter On behalf of the Bank, we would like to offer our sincere apologies for anyinconvenience this matter may have caused youPlease be assured that FifthThird Bank takes your feedback regarding your experience very seriously, and Ihave contacted the relevant parties to pass on your concerns We strive to provide professional andaccurate service to our customers, and I regret that the service you receiveddid not meet the same high standardI apologize that you did not receive the funds you requested when you made an ATMwithdrawal from a Fifth Third Bank ATMUnfortunately, your dispute could notbe processed by Fifth Third Bank for your [redacted] ***r OneCard It is our understanding that you have been reimbursed for the funds debited fromyour [redacted] CardIf still you have not receivedfull credit for the unsuccessful ATM withdrawal or have additional questionsconcerning your card, please contact the customer service number on the back ofyour [redacted] *** Card It was certainly not our intention to cause you any hardship and we appreciateyour patience while we researched this matterIf I could be of furtherassistance to you, please call me at [redacted] Sincerely, [redacted] ConsumerResolution Specialist Officeof the President

Re: Account # [redacted] Dear [redacted] : We received a copy of the complaint you filed with the Revdex.com dated December 8, 2014, concerning the closing of your checking account We appreciate the time you have taken to express your thoughts and concerns regarding this matter When closing an account it is important to ensure that there are no outstanding checks or pending electronic payments, and that all direct deposits and debits have been cancelled Although you requested for your account to be closed, the Bank must still process any outstanding transactions that post to your account If you have outstanding items that you wish to stop from posting to your account, you must make arrangements with the payees or place a stop payment for each transaction If items post to your account within one (1) business day of the account being closed, the account may reopen and those items may be returned unpaid and subject to overdraft fees The Bank’s overdraft policy is outlined in the Rules and Regulations booklet that you received when you opened the account If your available balance is not sufficient to cover items that post to your account, the posted items may be returned unpaid and subject to overdraft fees Although you requested to close the account with a zero balance on August 6, 2014, an outstanding Automated Clearing House (ACH) item of $48.00, previously authorized by you, posted to your account on August 6, Bank representatives are unable to view items that will be deducted from your account until they are actually posted to your accountTherefore, we were unable to notify you of the outstanding ACH item until after your account had to be re-opened Your available balance on the account was negative ($48.00) on that day Due to insufficient funds, one (1) overdraft charge of $was assessed to your account for the ACH item and posted to the account on the following dayYour account remained overdrawn every day thereafter causing overdraft charges to be assessed until September 30, when the account was closed and charged off Please note that the Bank sent multiple notices and statements to you at the above address to advise you of the overdraft situation Enclosed please find copies of two (2) overdraft notices and three (3) monthly statements, which were mailed to you and reflect the overdraft situation on your account We empathize with the difficulties you have encountered with this account Therefore, we had the account returned from [redacted] , reversed the overdraft charges, and removed the charged off status from [redacted] Your account now reflects a zero balance and is closed I can assure you that it was not our intention to cause you any frustration or hardship On behalf of the Bank, please accept my sincere apology for any inconvenience or concern that this matter may have caused you If I could be of further assistance to you, please call me at ###-###-####, or toll free at ###-###-#### Sincerely, [redacted] Consumer Resolution Specialist Office of the President

[redacted] Date: March 31, Account: [redacted] Re: Deposit Hold Dear [redacted] : We received your email sent to our Board of Directors, as well as your complaint filed with the Revdex.com regarding a deposit holdWe appreciate the time you have taken to document your thoughts and concernsYour comments expressing less than quality service are very concerning and have been addressed and forwarded to the appropriate personnelOn behalf of the Bank, I apologize for any inconvenience this issue may have caused youWhen a customer contacts the Bank, we expect each situation will be handled in an accurate and professional mannerI apologize that this was not what happened when you initially contacted us and we expect that this will not be the case in the futureWe were able to further research your concerns regarding the hold that was placed on your accountOur records indicate that the Bank received notification on March 10, 2015, that the $1,deposit made to your checking account on March 9, 2015, was going to be returned because the check was counterfeitBecause the funds from the deposit were used, the Bank has determined it necessary to close your checking accountThat same day, an account closure letter was sent to you at the address above and a hold was placed on your checking accountFor your reference, I have enclosed a copy of the closure letter that was sent to youWe apologize if you did not receive itDuring our research, we also discovered that the check deposited on March 4, 2015, in the amount of $1,was returned on March 13, We were advised that the check was returned because the routing number was invalidWhen we reviewed the routing number, we noted it appeared to be valid so we reprocessed the check on March 19, The check was returned again on March 20, We are unable to process the check a third timeYou will need to contact the maker of the check in order to have a new check issuedIt should be noted that as of today the $1,check has not returnedWhen the check is returned, the funds will be removed from your checking accountAs of today, we indicate that your balance is negative ($811.44) due to the returned deposit item mentioned above in the amount of $1,Therefore, no additional funds would be refunded to youThe account will be closed within thirty (30) days of March 10, Any negative balance will be charged off, and reported to [redacted] .Please note that the Bank makes funds available from your deposit as per our Funds Availability Policy outlined in our Rules and Regulations Applicable to All Fifth Third Consumer and Business Banking Accounts and CardsFor your reference, I have enclosed a copy of the Rules and Regulations Applicable to All Fifth Third Consumer and Business Banking Accounts and Cards.We strive to provide professional and accurate service to our customers, and I apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused youIf I could be of further assistance to you, please call me at ###-###-####, or toll free at ###-###-####, Monday through Friday, a.mto p.m., ET.Sincerely, [redacted] Executive Support Specialist Office of the PresidentPc: Board of Directors, Revdex.comEnclosure: Closure Letter, Rules and Regulations Applicable to All Fifth Third Consumer and Business Banking Accounts and Cards

Revdex.com: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted] , and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me Regards, [redacted] ***

Revdex.com: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted] , and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.] Regards, [redacted] I have until the 25th to make this payment otherwise it would not be a grace period and the late fee would be charged immediately after the 15th I don't care at this point when the payment is due as long as it is paid by the 25th My actions do not justify theirs and I have been treated this way every since my father passed away on January 11, and I began making his car payment in February I have worked over hours a week, days a week since then to pay my father's obligation to this bank and this is how I am routinely treated So their apology isn't worth the paper it is written on The way I have been treated is obviously an acceptable method of treating customers or certain customers because it occurs too much You would think that a company would definitely have more respect for a daughter who makes her deceased father's payment in order to honor his last wishes for her only son and his only grandchild by paying this debt that is and was never mine My credit score is *** so I did not file a complaint for them to try to put this back on my by announcing the payment has not been received I have made the payments for over two years so I know when I make them and when I don't I called in and requested that the late fee be waived, they did not do this out of the kindness of their heart because they are heartless [redacted] *** [redacted] *** I told the last person that I was not making a payment until I was assured that something would be done to correct the unprofessional behavior of their employees But I believe that they would rather have the car back since they couldn't force the year old that my father left it to put it in his name or force me to put in my name which the probate attorney told me not to do and I have told Fifth Third Bank this repeatedly over the years Plus, I have two houses and a car of my own plus my the rent for the condo I live in another state that I transferred to for a promotion with my job This is why my father did not leave anything to me, his only daughter He did not know what leaving his estate to a minor entailed and neither did I but I have done my best to make the best of it When my [redacted] ***l goes to court and I have to detail everything that I have been through I will make sure that it is a matter of public record how Fifth Third Bank has treated me before and afterwards so that potential customers will never deal with them and hopefully current ones will leave They have made the worst times in my life worse than they had to be or I ever thought they could be! In the future if they expect to get paid then I expect to be treated professionally every time I call no exceptions, especially when this loan is not in my name and I never had to make the payments

[redacted] Date: May 13, Account: ' [redacted] Re: Customer Service Experience Dear [redacted] ***: We received a copy of your complaint filed with the Revdex.com, concerning your Fifth Third Bank debit card and your experience at the [redacted] Banking CenterWe appreciate the time you have taken to express your concerns and for bringing this matter to our attentionYour comments expressing less than quality customer service are very concerningWe strive to provide accurate and professional services to our customersPlease be assured that I have contacted the relevant parties and expressed your dissatisfaction with the service you received from our Fraud Department and at the [redacted] Banking CenterI understand that you were not aware of the option to notify Fifth Third Bank that you were travelingThis temporary block is used not only for customers who are traveling, but for card transactions outside of a customer's activity patternThat is why we don't "require" customers who are traveling to notify usFor customers who will be traveling for an extended period, the Bank can monitor their cards allowing the majority of transactions to be approved that might otherwise be considered outside of their spending habitsNotifying the Bank that you will be traveling does not guarantee all transactions will be approved; however, it decreases the likelihood of receiving a denial at a merchantOn April 29, 2015, our Fraud Department detected three (3) consecutive charges on your debit card that they viewed as potential fraudulent activity and blocked itThe purpose of the block was to have you call us so that we could verify the card was in your possessionFifth Third Bank takes protecting financial and personal information very seriously and I regret that the policies meant to ensure the security and privacy of your account caused you any inconvenienceIt is our understanding that the block was placed after the approved call out hoursOur Fraud Department placed your account in a call out queue for the following day, in order to notify you of the block and verify the debit card transactionsOn April 30, 2015, our Fraud Department confirmed that you contacted them to confirm the debit card transactions before the call out queue was workedLater that same day, another agent from our Fraud Department attempted to call you at your home phone number while working the call out queue and had to leave you a messageSince this agent was not aware that you had already verified the debit card transactions in question, they replaced the block on your debit card in error.It was not our intention to cause you any hardship, and we sympathize with the difficulties you have encountered with our Fraud Department and at the [redacted] Banking CenterFifth Third Bank takes comments of unprofessional conduct very seriouslyWe have conducted an investigation of your claims but were not able to find any misconduct was involvedWe are not able to provide any additional information to you concerning our investigation.Because the Bank is attempting to confirm your identity when placing or removing a block on a card, the Bank employees will ask verification questions based upon your account relationship with the BankWe ask verification questions about your account activity or for your mother's maiden name, because that is not easily accessible information to an outside partyIf the customer is unable to answer a question, the agent must ask a different question until a minimum number of correct answers is receivedOur intention is not to cause you aggravation or inconvenience, but to safeguard your account.In addition we expect our customers to conduct themselves in a respectful manner during all interactions with the BankDuring our review of your complaint, we have found that this does not seem to be the case with your conduct at the [redacted] Banking Center.We regret that after careful review, we decided to terminate our relationship with youA notice was mailed to you on May 1, 2015, to inform you that your accounts would be closed effective May 11, Per this notification, the savings account ending in [redacted] was closed on May11, 2015.On May 11, 2015, the balance in your checking account was $A total of $in fees was credited back to your accountFive (5) transactions posted to your account totaling $1,354.34, creating an ending available balance of negative ($516.02)Due to non sufficient funds four (4) overdraft fees totaling $were assessedThe ending available balance was negative ($664.02)I have included a copy of the overdraft notice for your review.Due to the negative balance in your checking account ending in [redacted] the account could not be closed on May 11, If you make a deposit of $to the checking account, the [redacted] Bankmart is willing to waive the overdraft fees totaling $and close the checking account with a zero balance.I am sorry for your unsatisfactory experience when you attempted to resolve this issueHowever, we stand by the decision to close your accountIf I could be of further assistance to you, please call me at ###-###-####, or toll free at ###-###-####.Sincerely, [redacted] Consumer Resolution Specialist Office of the PresidentPc: Revdex.com

Please see attached repsonse December 31, [redacted] ***Re: Mortgage loan ending in ***Dear [redacted] ,We received copies of your complaints filed with the Revdex.com and the Consumer Financial Protection BureauWe strive to provide quality service to all of our customers, and I am sorry for your unsatisfactory experience during your previous attempts to resolve this matterPlease be assured that Fifth Third Bank takes your feedback seriously, and I appreciate this opportunity to respond to your concerns.Investors such as the Federal Home Loan Mortgage Corporation (FHLMC), also known as Freddie Mac, own many of the mortgages that we originateWhile Fifth Third Bank is considered the servicer for the loan, Freddie Mac establishes numerous guidelines beforehand that we are required to followThis includes requiring Private Mortgage Insurance (PMI).PMI is paid by the borrower to protect the lender against loss on a defaulted loanA customer can request to cancel their PMI at any time, however, that request may be declined due to guidelines set by the investor that must be satisfiedThe loan-to-value ratio is not the only considerationI regret the frustration caused when we could not satisfy your request to cancel PMI in October of 2014.The first PMI payment on a new mortgage is deferred and is paid when the PMI is cancelledIn addition, the first PMI payment is calculated from the closing date of the mortgage, not the first payment due datePMI is paid in arrears meaning it pays the previous month, not the upcoming month.Your mortgage loan originated on January 21, Your first payment posted on February 28, The first payment toward PMI was $on March 5, So, the PMI paid on November 4, 2014, for $was two (2) PMI payments of $representing the months of January and October 2014.Your payoff of $412,was received October 30, 2014, and your loan was closed on that dayThe payoff amount quoted October 9, 2014, included the funds needed to satisfy your escrow obligationsAfter a payoff amount is quoted, all payments from escrow are suspended in order to prevent changing the payoff amountThis is why the PMI payment could not be paid before the payoff postedThe last PMI insurance payment of $was properly disbursed on November 4, It is not an error that it was paid after your payoff was received I understand why you were frustrated when you called to confirm the funds to be refunded to you from your escrow accountThe amount given to you was, as you know, before the last PMI paymentIn an attempt to resolve your concern, the Customer Service agent you spoke with requested a stop payment on the escrow refund check $3,that had already been mailed to youThe agent’s intent was to have a “corrected” check sent to you that included the PMI disbursement.I apologize that the agent you spoke with did not correctly identify that the PMI payment had been held due to the payoff lock on the account and was properly paid once it was releasedThe supervisor that you previously worked with did complete her due diligence and had the calls reviewed and forwarded your feedback to the relevant parties.We are unable to return the last PMI payment to youHowever, in order to more positively resolve this matter for you, I have enclosed a check for $to reimburse you for the returned deposit item fee you were charged when you tried to negotiate the first refund check.On behalf of the Bank, please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience this matter may have caused youI hope this letter provides the clarification you requestedYou were a valued customer and it was certainly not our intention to cause you any hardship or frustrationIf I could be of further assistance to you, please call me at ###-###-####, or toll free at ###-###-####.Sincerely, [redacted] Regulatory Support Specialist Office of the PresidentPc: Revdex.com, Consumer Financial Protection Bureau Enclosure: Check

January 26, [redacted] ***Re: Business Checking Account [redacted] Dear [redacted] : We received a copy of your complaint filed with the Revdex.com, concerning your account with Fifth Third BankWe appreciate the time you have taken to bring this matter to our attentionWe would like to offer our sincere apologies for any inconvenience this matter may have caused you, and we sympathize with the difficulties you have encountered with your account We strive to provide professional and accurate service to our customers, and we regret that the service you received from the [redacted] Financial Center did not meet the same high standardI want you to know that I have already taken action on your feedback, and I have shared the concerns you brought to our attention with the Senior Management in your regionAdditionally, customer feedback is reviewed by our Senior Management as part of our ongoing commitment to improving our customers’ satisfaction.The account closure fee of $ [redacted] is disclosed to customers in the Rules and Regulations Applicable to All Fifth Third Consumer and Business Banking Accounts and Cards bookletYou should have received a copy of Rules and Regulations upon opening your accountFor your review, I have enclosed a copy of our Rules and Regulations; page five (5) provides additional information regarding the fees associated with business accounts.In the interest of customer service, the [redacted] Financial Center is willing to waive the account closure fee of $*** Once all of the pending debit card transactions have posted to your checking account ending in ***, you may visit the [redacted] Financial Center to close the accountWe hope that this letter will meet your satisfactionPlease be assured that it was not our intention to cause you any hardship and we regret you feel the need to close your accountYou are a valued customer and we sincerely hope you will reconsider this decisionIf I could be of further assistance to you please call me at [redacted] Sincerely, [redacted] Consumer Resolution Specialist Office of the President

Please see the attached response to the complaint filed by [redacted] December 19, [redacted] ***Re: Real Life Rewards Credit Card [redacted] *** ***Dear MrE [redacted] We received a copy of your complaint filed with the Revdex.com, regarding a Fifth Third credit card accountWe appreciate the time you have taken to document your thoughts and concerns regarding this matter.On behalf of the Bank, we would like to offer our sincere apologies for any confusion or inconvenience this matter may have caused youPlease be assured that we have contacted the relevant parties to fully research the credit card application in question and passed on your concernsIt is a common practice for the Bank to offer customers products and services that may be of value to themHowever, it is certainly not our intention to enroll customers for a product they do not want.While visiting the [redacted] Financial Center on November 13, 2014, it is our understanding that you decided to apply for a new credit card account versus the credit card limit increase on your existing card you had originally inquired aboutAfter discussions with our staff at the [redacted] Financial Center, you decided not to proceed with the credit card limit increase after hearing about the offer of 0% for twelve (12) months and rewards offered on the new credit card accountOur staff also advised that your credit would need to be pulled to approve a credit increase or to open a new card.Due to this reason, the Bank employee you spoke with believed that you agreed to apply for the credit card and an electronic application was submitted on your behalf on that same dayOnce the application was submitted, the Bank employee followed up with you for further information to provide to our Underwriting teamIt is our understanding that, although it was not ideal for you to provide your Social Security Card and signature, you did so to obtain the limit that was offered to you in your preliminary approvalAs a result, the Real Life Rewards credit card account was opened and issued for you the following month.Since that time, no transaction activity has occurred on the credit card and the account was closed with a zero balance per your request on December 8, It is standard procedure for us to submit an inquiry to the credit bureaus while reviewing your credit report per your requestHowever, we understand your frustration when this situation occurred and we sympathize with the difficulties you encounteredTherefore, as a courtesy to you we have removed our reporting of this credit card account and inquiry to the relevant credit bureausPlease allow up to thirty (30) days for the credit bureaus to process and complete this reporting updateYou may present this letter as proof of the update should you apply for any additional loans or credit during that time Mr [redacted] it was certainly not our intention to cause you any frustration or undue hardshipWe strive to provide professional and accurate information to our customers when inquiring about their credit bureau information, and we sympathize with the difficulties you encounteredIf I could be of further assistance to you please contact me at [redacted] Sincerely,

November 12, [redacted] Re: [redacted] Dear Ms[redacted] , We received a copy of your complaint filed with the Revdex.com, regarding your charged off checking accountWe appreciate the time you have taken to document your concerns regarding this matter, and we sympathize with the difficulties you have experienced Your comments expressing less than quality service are very concerningOn behalf of the Bank, please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience this situation may have caused youWe strive to provide professional and accurate service to our customers, and we regret if that has not been your experienceTherefore, we have decided to recall your checking account from Allied collection agency and delete the charge off record from [redacted] On July 26, 2014, a purchase for $ [redacted] from [redacted] was authorized with your debit card ending in [redacted] and pending on your checking accountThe hold for this pending transaction was scheduled to remain on your account through July 31, The following day, the hold for $ [redacted] and authorization were removed from your checking account As a result, the transaction was no longer showing as pending on your account On August 4, 2014, the beginning balance for your checking account was $***A transfer from your savings account ending in [redacted] for $ [redacted] was credited to your checking account [redacted] transactions totaling $ [redacted] posted to your account, including the debit card purchase noted aboveTherefore, your ending account balance was [redacted] ($***)Due to insufficient funds, [redacted] overdraft fees totaling $ [redacted] were assessed to your account and posted the following dayAlthough you requested that your checking account be closed on this day, the account remained open due to the posted debit card transaction On August 12, 2014, your beginning checking account balance was [redacted] ($***) Your deposit in the amount of $ [redacted] posted to your checking account Therefore, your ending account balance was [redacted] ($***)Unfortunately, your deposit was not enough to bring your account to at least a zero balance Your checking account remained overdrawn for fifty-seven (57) days following the overdraft that occurred on August 4, During that time, a monthly service charge for $ [redacted] posted to your accountOn September 30, 2014, your checking account was closed, reported to [redacted] and charged off for collection in the amount of $*** After further review of this matter, your checking account was recalled from Allied collection agency and the information reported to [redacted] was removed on November 5, As a result, there is no balance due for your account and we have updated our records to reflect this Ms [redacted] , please be assured that it was not our intention to cause you any hardship and frustrationYou were a valued customer and we hope that you will consider the Bank for your financial needs in the futureIf I could be of further assistance to you, please contact me directly at [redacted] Sincerely, [redacted] Consumer Resolution Specialist Office of the President Pc: Revdex.com

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response If you wish, you may update it before sending it.] Revdex.com: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted] , and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me Thanks a lot for the prompt resolution Regards, [redacted]

Revdex.com: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted] , and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]I have checked with other banks and none of them do business on loans in this manner Again, I expected the last payment was the last coupon in my payment bookWhen I went to payoff the loan, the employee and the manager of the branch would not take my check for the payment with out the additional "extra" payment I did not leave the bank until they took my check This treatment was rude and unprofessional as well as deceptive on the part of the bank I appreciate this opportunity to "do" something to alert other people facing this issue with this bank and accept the response from the bank Thank you Revdex.com Regards, [redacted]

Revdex.com: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted] , and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint Regards, [redacted] ***

October 3, [redacted] Re: Mortgage loan xxxxxx [redacted] Dear Ms***, We received a copy of your complaint filed with the Revdex.com regarding your mortgage loan accountWe appreciate the time you have taken to express your thoughts and concerns regarding this matterOn behalf of the Bank, please accept my sincere apologies for any frustration you experienced regarding this matter In response to your concerns regarding setting up the escrow account for your new loan, when the Bank refinances a mortgage loan and an escrow account is not required, we are able to set up an escrow account when the customer sends us their tax and insurance bills Alternatively, the loan officer can ask the Bank to establish the new escrow account by using the tax and insurance amounts from the old loanContrary to the information you were provided by the Bank, we do not require the customer to receive the escrow refund from the previous loan before we can establish an escrow account on the new loan Additionally, as far as the payment of tax or insurance bills, even if the bills are sent directly to the Bank, the Bank does not pay tax or insurance bills that are due in the same month that the escrow account is being established or bills due before the new escrow account is set upTherefore, the customer is responsible for making those payments and if the taxes become delinquent, the customer is responsible for any related penalties that may be assessedWhen we initially submitted your request for a refund of the tax penalty, our Escrow Department confirmed that Bank policy was followed with regard to not paying the tax bill that we received because there was no escrow account established at that timeI apologize for the inconvenience and concern this caused you We have confirmed that the information about reestablishing your escrow account on the new mortgage loan was not relayed to you appropriately during your mortgage refinanceWe appreciate that you have chosen Fifth Third Bank to service your financial needs and I regret any misinformation that was provided to youPlease be assured that Financial Center Manager, [redacted] , has processed a refund for the $ [redacted] tax penalty that we paid out of your escrow accountThe $ [redacted] was credited to your checking account on September 12, During an escrow analysis, we calculate how much money would need to be paid into the escrow account each month to cover all of the payments that would come out of your escrow accountWe also take into account the fact that the balance in your escrow account cannot fall below a minimum balance amount at any point during the yearThis minimum balance amount, as allowed for by the Real Estate Settlement Procedures Act (RESPA), is the equivalent of two (2) month’s worth of escrowWe maintain a minimum balance in your escrow account in order to cover unexpected tax or insurance increases or other unexpected costsPage two (2) of the enclosed August escrow analysis provides additional information regarding the minimum balance as well as the estimated payments in and out of your escrow account We originally completed your first (1st) escrow analysis for the new mortgage loan in June However, as a result of making an extra payment out of the escrow account for the delinquent taxes, we completed a new escrow analysis on August 22, This analysis reviewed the projected payments out of your escrow account from October to September This analysis determined that in addition to the taxes and home owner’s insurance that we had already paid, we would also pay another two (2) installments of $ [redacted] for your taxes and another home owner’s insurance payment of [redacted] during the specified time frame During the August analysis, we calculated that the total payments that would be paid from your escrow account between October and September were $ [redacted] To determine the base monthly escrow payment that we use to calculate whether there is an escrow shortage or an escrow surplus, we divide the total payments from escrow by twelve (***Using this method, we calculated that you had a base escrow payment of $ [redacted] Therefore, we calculated that your minimum escrow balance could not fall below $ [redacted] at any time during the yearWe determined that in order to make all of the requested payments from escrow while maintaining the minimum escrow balance of $ [redacted] , we would need a monthly escrow payment of $ [redacted] The difference between the $ [redacted] monthly base escrow payment and the needed $ [redacted] monthly escrow payment is $*** This meant that there was an escrow shortage $ [redacted] per month for a total escrow shortage of $ [redacted] Please note that this additional shortage was the result of paying the delinquent taxes from the escrow accountPaying the delinquent taxes resulted in the Bank paying three (3) tax payments instead of two (2)Additionally, the escrow was reanalyzed for the next twelve (12) months, during which time another home owner’s insurance bill would be dueIf you did not pay the shortage in full then we indicated we would spread the $ [redacted] shortage over the next twelve (12) monthsSpreading out the shortage would result in a monthly mortgage payment of $ [redacted] effective on October 1, This amount included your $ [redacted] principal and interest payment and a $ [redacted] escrow paymentIf you paid the $ [redacted] shortage by September 1, 2014, then your monthly mortgage payment would be $ [redacted] effective on October 1, This amount included your $ [redacted] principal and interest payment and a $ [redacted] escrow payment Please note that your Easy Home Refi mortgage has a shorter repayment term than the mortgage you originally opened in The original mortgage loan ending in [redacted] was opened on August 27, 2007, for $ [redacted] with a maturity date of September 1, and an interest rate of [redacted] *** percent (***%)The monthly principal and interest payment for that mortgage was $ [redacted] Your new Easy Home Refi has a fifteen (15) year repayment termYour new mortgage loan ending in was booked on May 19, 2014, for $ [redacted] with a maturity date of June 1, and an interest rate of three point seven four zero percent (***%)The monthly principal and interest payment for this mortgage as outlined in the enclosed Note is $ [redacted] Due to the shorter repayment term, your monthly mortgage payment now is larger than it was on your previous mortgageThis fact in combination with the escrow analyses as explained above caused the total monthly payment for the mortgage loan ending in *** to be greater than the mortgage loan ending in *** I confirmed that the escrow account for your mortgage was closed at your request on September 5, Enclosed is a copy of the letter that we mailed to you that day confirming the escrow closureThe balance in your escrow account on that date was $ [redacted] On September 5, 2014, these funds were mailed to you in the form of a check to the address listed aboveIf you have not received this check, please contact me directly using the phone number listed belowBecause the escrow account has now been closed, your monthly mortgage payment is the principal and interest payment of $ [redacted] The Bank is no longer paying your tax and insurance obligations; therefore, you are responsible for paying the bills on your own Please note that if we receive notification in the future that the tax and insurance obligations are not being paid, the Bank may force an escrow account for the mortgage loanIf you would like to add escrow back to your mortgage account in the future, please contact our Customer Service Department at [redacted] We will complete a new escrow analysis at that time which will advise you of the new monthly mortgage paymentWe can also make any adjustments regarding where your tax bills are sent at that time In your letter dated September 3, 2014, you mentioned that we paid Private Mortgage Insurance (PMI) for your previous mortgage loan ending in [redacted] after the mortgage was paid in full on May 23, Please be advised that PMI is paid on mortgage loans in arrearsThe PMI payment of $ [redacted] that processed on May 28, 2014, covered the PMI that was due for the month of May 2014, during which time your mortgage loan was still open Your comments regarding customer service are very concerning and have been forwarded to the appropriate personnel for reviewWe expect that each customer will receive quality service and accurate information, and I regret that was not your experienceI understand that you spoke to Mr [redacted] on September 12, 2014, regarding your concernsI also understand he offered to go over the projected escrow analysis with you in person as well as offered to open a savings account for you to save money monthly to go toward your tax and insurance obligationsMr [redacted] has advised that you declined both of these optionsIf you would later like to accept either of these offers, please contact Mr [redacted] directly at [redacted] Alternatively, you may contact me directly using the phone number listed below We appreciate your patience while we researched this matter and we value your businessIf I can be of any further assistance, please contact me at [redacted] , or toll free at [redacted] Sincerely, [redacted] Consumer Resolution Specialist Office of the President Pc: Revdex.com Enclosures: Escrow Analyses, Escrow Closed Letter

[redacted] ***Re: Account #xxxxxx***Dear [redacted] : We received a copy of the complaint you filed with the Revdex.com dated January 30, 2015, concerning your installment loan account We appreciate the time you have taken to express your thoughts and concerns regarding this matter We strive to provide professional and accurate service to our customers and I am sorry if that has not been your experience Customer service is of the utmost importance to all of us at Fifth Third Bank and we appreciate your feedback as it assists us in identifying problems in an effort to continuously improve the service we provide our customers Please be assured that we have contacted the relevant parties to express your dissatisfaction with the service you received and passed on your concerns.In researching your concerns, we found that an extension was not granted for the months of September and October for your installment loan because when we received the deferment agreement from you, the signature on the document did not match the signature we had on file for youWe requested documentation to verify the signature on the agreement, but we did not receive anything from youHowever, at this time the Bank is willing to offer you another payment deferral if you submit the appropriate documentationI have enclosed a hardship application for you to complete if you are interested.Our records reflect that you authorized a payment to be made on the account from the checking account of [redacted] on September 27, You provided the necessary checking account and bank routing numbers to our Collection representative as this is not a Fifth Third Bank checking account Please note that the payment was returned to the checking account on October 20, 2014, after you filed a dispute about the transaction with the Collection Department about the transaction Your vehicle was repossessed on September 27, 2014, due to the delinquencies on your accountAt the time, your vehicle was repossessed your account was past due for your July through September paymentsA payment of $was sent via Western Union on September 29, 2014, to redeem the vehicle, and we sent the release to our agent on October 3, 2014.\Additionally, the vehicle was repossessed on January 27, 2015, due to the delinquencies on the accountAt the time, your vehicle was repossessed your account was past due for your November through January paymentsA payment of $1,was sent via Western Union on January 28, 2015, to redeem the vehicle, and we sent the release to our agent on January 29, We have confirmed that you were able to pick up the vehicle on February 2, 2015.Enclosed please find a copy of your payment history for your files I have also included a copy of the contract you signed with the Bank on October 28, 2009, when you purchased the vehicle and opened the account Please note that the contract details the reasons that the Bank has the right to repossess the vehicleYour installment loan is considered past due for payment if we do not receive your total monthly payment by the due dateThe payments for your account are due on the twelfth (12th) of each monthThe final calendar day of your ten (10) day grace period for the loan is not considered the due date for your payment obligationsThe grace period indicates when a late charge will be assessed to your account for a past due payment At this time, your account is due for the April 12, payment.Per your request made through the Revdex.com on March 4, 2015, we have removed your telephone numbers from our systems You will no longer receive telephone calls should your account become delinquent Please note that this will not stop other collection activity on the account should the account become delinquent, including late charges, reports to the credit bureaus should the account become greater than thirty (30) days delinquent, or repossession.Please be advised that we have enforced our right to repossess your vehicle pursuant to the terms of the contractAs such, we cannot reimburse you for the towing charges or any other charges associated with the repossessions that were assessed to your account.We empathize with the difficulties you have encountered with this account However, I can assure you that it was not our intention to cause you any frustration or hardship On behalf of the Bank, please accept my sincere apology for any inconvenience or concern that this matter may have caused you If I could be of further assistance to you, please call me at ###-###-####, or toll free at ###-###-####.Sincerely, [redacted] Consumer Resolution SpecialistOffice of the President Pc: Revdex.comEnclosure: (3)

Revdex.com: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted] , and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint The transactions that were addressed in [redacted] letter are not all of the transactions being disputedThere is a prepaid card opened in my husbands name that is not ours ( which we had two ID alerts for this within the week time frame)Many calls were made about this by both my husband and I and it was not stoppedAlso my husband did a 4300$ transfer from his personal account into our joint, which never made itAs well as multiple transactions were said to be being online transferred from our joint into his personal which never went to his account and we were not the ones doing itIf they pull up the accounts they can see where it is coming out of our joint but not going into his personalWe have no idea why this kept happeningI have all the dates and reference numbers for these transactions Regards, [redacted]

Check fields!

Write a review of Fifth Third Bank

Satisfaction rating
 
 
 
 
 
Upload here Increase visibility and credibility of your review by adding a photo

Fifth Third Bank Rating

Overall satisfaction rating

Address: 384 1st St, Watervliet, Michigan, United States, 49098-5104

Phone:

Show more...

Web:

This website was reported to be associated with Fifth Third Bank.



Add contact information for Fifth Third Bank

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | New | Updated