Sign in

First Commonwealth Bank

Sharing is caring! Have something to share about First Commonwealth Bank? Use RevDex to write a review

First Commonwealth Bank Reviews (19)

• Feb 18, 2021

Unprofessional, Long Wait
We have been using First Commomweath for 18 years and we choose to stick using this bank to avoid going through the hassle of changing accounts and redoing Bill Pay. The customer service is poor, it takes two days to get a reply. It took 20 minutes to wait on the line. Tyler, the customer support is very rude. He will not allow me to speak freely as much as I want to express my confusion with online banking. He instead repeatedly calling my name to shut me up while I was in the middle of saying something. I think it was humiliating and disrespectful. I think he should be patient with clients in walking through the details and not making them feel stupid.

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted] , and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below What the business offered as a response, was a complete lie and the recordings will reflect that there was no mention of my account being overdrawn or in a negative statusYou have my permission to listen to when I checked my account with the automated system on the 19, 20, and of January The system has been having problems since they implemented the new automated systemIt has given me other businesses private information, which I can prove alsoIf there needs to be a complaint filed with the Attorney General also, then let me knowIt's the principal of the matter that is of my greatest concern, then my moniesThe information I'm providing is true and they know itIf it takes three more months of contacting other agencies or filing a complaint with the banking commission then I will, because there behavior is very criminal and dishonest Regards, [redacted] ***

Attached, please find the response for the *** *** issueThank you

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ***, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me at this time. I appreciate First Commonwealth trying to rectify this matterProblems aren't a problem until they present themselves, then that's when a solution is to be createdIt seems as if this may be the first of it's happenings since these ATMs are new, so a new solution needs to be devised to clear my matter and to possibly help clients in the future with similar occurrences
Regards,
*** ***

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted], and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.
What the business offered as a response, was a complete lie and the recordings will reflect that there was no mention of my account being overdrawn or in a negative status. You have my permission to listen to when I checked my account with the automated system on the 19, 20, and 21 of January 2015. The system has been having problems since they implemented the new automated system. It has given me other businesses private information, which I can prove also. If there needs to be a complaint filed with the Attorney General also, then let me know. It's the principal of the matter that is of my greatest concern, then my monies. The information I'm providing is true and they know it. If it takes three more months of contacting other agencies or filing a complaint with the banking commission then I will, because there behavior is very criminal and dishonest. 
Regards,
[redacted]

I am writing this letter in response to the complaint letter you received from [redacted]. In this complaint Mr. [redacted] contends that First Commonwealth Bank took money from his account without notification and without cause to do so. He contends that when listening to his account information via...

telephone banking on the day that the incident occurred, there was no mention of a negative balance. He states that he monitored his account activity from January 19, 2015 through January 21, 2015, and was aware of the transactions that occurred and his account balance. He is requesting that this matter be reviewed, and that his account be refunded for the $35 service fee  he was assessed. In researching the transaction activity on his account for the above mentioned dates, I found that on January 20, 2015, Mr. [redacted]’s account ending [redacted] had a beginning balance of $50.99. On that day, there were several transactions that posted to the account, including check # [redacted] in the amount of $100, which left the account with a negative balance of $91.12. As a courtesy, this check was paid by the bank rather than being returned unpaid. The account was assessed a $35 service fee for the payment of the item. Mr. [redacted] has been provided a copy of the statement detailing the account activity on the dates in question. This information is available to the Revdex.com upon request. In addition, I have reviewed the telephone calls made by Mr. [redacted] to the Convenience Banking Center. Mr. [redacted] was advised on each call that his account had a negative balance on January 20, 2015, and that the posting of check #[redacted] and subsequent fee for the overdrawn account, were the cause for the negative balance. When Mr. [redacted] explained that he checked our telephone banking system for his account information, he was advised that depending on what time he checked his account via this channel, the check may not have posted to the account. I also spoke directly with [redacted], the associate named in the complaint, concerning the conversation he had with Mr. [redacted] at the branch. Mr. [redacted] explained that he reviewed the account activity with Mr. [redacted] and also explained the possible discrepancy between the time he called and received the account information from the telephone banking system, and the posting of the check to his account. Mr. [redacted] indicated that at no point did he advise Mr. [redacted] that the account was due a refund of the $35 service fee. At First Commonwealth Bank, we are committed to acting ethically and treating our customers with the utmost respect. In my review of this matter, I can find no evidence that we acted otherwise. Mr. [redacted] is not due a refund for the service fee he received in this as a result of this matter. The check in the amount of $100.00 was written on January 18, 2015 with an account balance of $50.99. A deposit to the account was not made until January 21, 2015. If there are any additional questions, please feel free to contact me directly at ###-###-####. Sincerely,     [redacted] Vice-President

Revdex.com:
I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted], and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I...

reviewed appear below.
First Commonwealth Bank has chose to control my checking account without my permission.  I have talked to numerous employees from management to tellers trying to get answers about my account.  I do not understand why the answers cannot be gotten by anyone within the First Commonwealth Bank structure and within the same day.  I have had to wait days for answers when I needed an answer right away to fix a problem.  I have been told to "ONLY"  talk to the [redacted] Branch because that is where I opened my 1st account and management in that branch is the only one to help me.  Management in [redacted] cannot help me because the response I  receive is "I don't understand",  "I'm not sure what you mean" & " I'm pretty sure that doesn't happen."  Great customer service.  Simple accounting and bookkeeping practices are a qualification anyone should have when dealing with account problems.
 The only reason I received fees back from First Commonwealth was/is because of the amounts of my deposits & I called questioning my account.  I made many phone calls to fix those mistakes made by the bank or myself.  The fees were not just reimbursed to me without 10 phone calls.  What happened to the phone  call to say: " hey can you stop in to First Commonwealth today?" I believe, had I not made those calls, First Commonwealth would not have done the right thing.  Between the teller and myself we could not figure out what my account balance was.  That is not acceptable! 
 I recently ran into some financial downfalls due to change in jobs, starting a part-time business, &  helping family members  with other businesses,  I am involved with,  due to the economy.  Times within 2014 I needed some help with my account.  I never expected the response I got:  "Well [redacted], you should probably not use the account with no money in it."  The deposit was in the night deposit and being posted during our conversation.
[redacted] Branch chooses what they will help me with and what they will not.  It is not referenced on my statements or any statements I have seen within my family members, what is being paid and what they are returning for non payment both of which come with a $35 fee.  I  checked my statement online and got ready for the bank in the a.m.  I went into the bank next morning and I was sick to find out nothing I looked at that evening was going on at all(10 hours later) The choices to pay and not to pay with no reference on my statement.    What a mess! They take fees for situations that happened previously, the response for that is "The computer didn't catch it."  or "It's the computers fault, we have no control over that."    I called trying to get answers, no one could answer my question(s), I refused to put anymore money into my account until someone got back to me.  I did not receive a call back for 2 business days, which as you know, fees accumulated.  [redacted]  Management chose not to call me until I went to [redacted] asking for help.
 I use a short term loan V.I.P Club.  I have other accounts I use to pay them so at times it got a bit confusing.   V.I.P. charge me a redeposit fee of $30.  This charge only happens  " IF" I need them to change accounts for payment.  First Commonwealth posted the $30 fee for 5 different checks, only two checks were posted with $35 fee for being paid,  two checks returned not paid with a $35 fee, and one was in limbo and was not found for 4 days!   How does this happen????????   V.I.P. believed they were paid in full.  I refused to deposit anything until someone could help me. Unfortunately,  Everyone was so confused no one knew where to start.  Meanwhile my account and myself suffers.  V.I.P received three checks back and called me.  Monies were deposited and they paid.   V.I.P charged me extra fees for late payments on the 3 checks.  
What happened to "PENDING?"  Up until this point ALL my transactions were pending, even cash transactions.  Pending was a problem when that started due to the way they chose to put it into effect.  Reimbursed for many fees that caused and now it doesn't work at all the way I read or explained to me.  Why does it change when I am having a problem?  More fees to First Commonwealth?   I try to check my account on a regular basis but lately I have spent way to much of my time checking my account.  I  believe if I had not have called the only correspondence I would have received from First Commonwealth would be their letters a week after the fact and $250 in fees.  [redacted] Management has never called me to help me.   I live closer to [redacted].  I choose to do 90% of my banking in [redacted] but I should be able to go to any Branch and get my questions answered and helped.  
Regards,
[redacted]

I write to you in reference to a customer issue brought forth by Ms. [redacted]. Ms. [redacted] indicates that she attempted to make a cash deposit on January 30, 2015 at an ATM operated by another institution [redacted]) in the amount of $250.00. The ATM went down during her transaction but...

only a portion of the funds were returned to her $150.00; no acknowledgment was provided. She then proceeded to another foreign ATM operated by the same institution and made the deposit in the amount of $150.00. Ms. [redacted] notified First Commonwealth of the situation and requested that a dispute be processed to obtain her remaining funds. First Commonwealth attempted to resolve the issue but since no record of the transaction is on our system and the client does not have a receipt for this transaction, a claim cannot be processed to [redacted]. We have issued a provisional credit to Ms. [redacted] while we investigate and attempt to recoup her funds from [redacted]. In the event that [redacted] does not confirm the issue with their ATM and denies the transaction adjustment, the provisional credit may be reversed at that time.If you have any questions or concerns regarding this issue, please contact me at ###-###-####.Sincerely,[redacted] Executive Assistant to the President

Review: I went to check on my bank account as we have direct deposit for paychecks. I then noticed three separate overdrafts I was not aware would have happened. I have my [redacted] and my [redacted] accounts debited from my account on the 4th of every month. When the companies receive payment, I then receive a receipt via email. I received my emails from them and I thought all was ok. I knew a payment was going to take place on the 9th which I did not have the funds for. I knew this one payment would bounce leaving me with one 35 dollar charge. What the bank did was pay the big payment on the 9th and bounce all the little ones that were paid on the 4th. When I called she told me the bank processed differently because of the holiday. SO THATS MY FAULT???? I knew the smaller payments would clear but not the large one, so yes, I am responsible for that but not four overdrafts now!!!! When I called back, the other customer service rep found it unusual as well as she told me when this happens, they usually pay the smaller amounts first, then the larger one.Desired Settlement: I am responsible for 1 overdraft not four! I would like an overdraft refund of $105.

Business

Response:

Ms. [redacted],Attached is our findings of the issue that was submitted to your office by [redacted], ID # [redacted]. Our response was also sent to Ms. [redacted] via US Postal Service today, September 30, 2015. Please let me know if you have any questions or concerns regarding this issue.Thanks,Rose S[redacted]###-###-####

Consumer

Response:

Although I have completely different processing paperwork to prove the transaction dates, I will accept the business response. Thank you for all of your help in this matter.

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted], and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Review: Due to a banking error on my part, my account was negative. Because I was not able to correct it in time, and my husband was not made aware of the issue until it was too late, he charged 1.50 a number of 4 times on the credit card. This bank thinks its fair to be charged 35.00 over draft fees for a 1.50 purchase and refuse to return any or all overdraft fees as they state its out of their hands. It was 1.50 and they want to charge me 35.00 EACH time. How is this even legal? This has got to be the most absurd thing I've ever heard and needs to be changed. Living paycheck to paycheck is not easy and when one mistake is made it trickles down to having 350.00 work of overdraft fees that the bank will do nothing about. I"m not on welfare, I'm not collecting 75K a year by having someone else work. I work hard and I work a lot while trying to support a family. These fees are ridiculous.Desired Settlement: I want all Overdraft fees returned for any charge over 5.00

Business

Response:

October 20, 2015 [redacted] Revdex.com 400 Holiday Drive, Suite 220 Pittsburgh, PA 15220 RE: Revdex.com ID number [redacted] Dear Ms. [redacted], I write to you in response to the letter you received from our client, [redacted]. In her notification to you, she indicated that due to an error on her part, her account went into a negative status. She also indicated that although her husband was not aware of their account balance, he continued to use their debit card to make purchases. In making these purchases while the account was in overdraft status, the client was charged fees for each transaction. The client is questioning the legality of the charges and is requesting refund of fees charged for any item she received a fee for, where the amount was over $5.00. In reviewing the transactions, Ms. [redacted]s account went into overdraft on September 29, 2015. With each transaction, a fee was accessed per bank policy. As required, a schedule of fees is provided to each client at account opening explaining our fee structure. It was determined that since there were no errors made by the bank, the fees on the transactions noted by the client will not be waived. However, please note that since January 1, 2015, First Commonwealth has waived fees totaling $175.00 to Ms. [redacted] for non-bank errors in an attempt to assist her. Due to what has already been refunded, we feel that we cannot continue to waive such fees as a result of her current financial practices. As a team, we are focused on assisting all of our clients find better financial solutions. Our office manager indicated that Ms. [redacted] has been invited to discuss overdraft protection and possible debt consolidation to assist her with such circumstances. We have discussed with her options of opting out of these charges and provided her an automatically generated letter each month informing her of her ability to opt out. She has refused to accept that help and declined our offers of sitting down to assist in finding better options and behaviors. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to review this issue. If the client has further questions or concerns, we welcome her to contact her Office Manager, Nathan C[redacted] at ###-###-#### or myself at ###-###-####.Sincerely,Rose S[redacted]Executive Assistant to the President

Review: I am a First Commonwealth Bank client who made a cash deposit of $250 1/30/15 through a foreign ATM. The ATM kept $100 of my deposit, didn't give a receipt, and went offline. I deposited the remaining $150 in another ATM to have record that I was there. I called the next day to get it corrected, customer service said they were processing the dispute. The foreign ATM was verified and confirmed that I was the last transaction before the machine failure and that the ATM was over $100. 2 weeks later I call to check on the status of my dispute with FCB only to find out it was never filed. They tell me there is no record of the attempted deposit in their system to try and offset but they will take another dispute form over the phone and mail it for me to sign. 8 days later still no dispute form in mail, I got to the [redacted] FCB branch 2/18/15 and she has me sign the form. 3/6/15 I call to check on dispute status because no one has attempted to contact me, card services again tells me there is no record of the transaction which I am assuming is due to the system and machine error. The foreign bank says under FEDERAL REGULATION E they can only give their system info to FCB directly but FCB will not even attempt to contact them to obtain it. FED REG E says I have 45 days from the error date to file or my funds are lost and the financial institution will be fined. 3/17/15 is the 45th day with still no answers. Have attempted to email and call headquarters but it just goes to a general mailbox. It's as if since no one knows what or how to rectify the matter they are passing it off. The foreign bank is treating me with better respect and understanding than FCB with whom I hold an account with. Should I be out of $100 due to an computer error?Desired Settlement: I would like FCB to file the correct forms to obtain my funds from the foreign ATM before the 45 day deadline or be fined for violation. Also better training as far as problem solution. Thank you for your time and consider

Business

Response:

I write to you in reference to a customer issue brought forth by Ms. [redacted]. Ms. [redacted] indicates that she attempted to make a cash deposit on January 30, 2015 at an ATM operated by another institution [redacted]) in the amount of $250.00. The ATM went down during her transaction but only a portion of the funds were returned to her $150.00; no acknowledgment was provided. She then proceeded to another foreign ATM operated by the same institution and made the deposit in the amount of $150.00. Ms. [redacted] notified First Commonwealth of the situation and requested that a dispute be processed to obtain her remaining funds. First Commonwealth attempted to resolve the issue but since no record of the transaction is on our system and the client does not have a receipt for this transaction, a claim cannot be processed to [redacted]. We have issued a provisional credit to Ms. [redacted] while we investigate and attempt to recoup her funds from [redacted]. In the event that [redacted] does not confirm the issue with their ATM and denies the transaction adjustment, the provisional credit may be reversed at that time.If you have any questions or concerns regarding this issue, please contact me at ###-###-####.Sincerely,[redacted] Executive Assistant to the President

Consumer

Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted], and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me at this time. I appreciate First Commonwealth trying to rectify this matter. Problems aren't a problem until they present themselves, then that's when a solution is to be created. It seems as if this may be the first of it's happenings since these ATMs are new, so a new solution needs to be devised to clear my matter and to possibly help clients in the future with similar occurrences.

Review: This complaint is in reference to checking account (# ending in [redacted] opened on September 22, 2014 at the [redacted] branch of First Commonwealth Bank.

In a complaint filed with the FDIC's Consumer Protection Division in April of 2015 (Ref # [redacted] Cassandra C[redacted], Vice President of First Commonwealth Bank, acknowledged that I did not choose to activate overdraft protection for this account. She then, in the next sentence, stated that I did not opt out of the Bank's overdraft practices.

The confusion over this bank's overdraft practices has also been noted in other Revdex.com complaints with nearly the exact same circumstances as mine. Given that there is obviously a failure on the Bank's part to ensure that customers are aware of the shady practices used to charge overdraft fees for accounts believed to be exempted from such fees, it is only reasonable to expect that the Bank needs to review its account opening procedures to correct the confusion.

In my particular case, the Bank cleared an electronic check in the amount of $31.55 on March 4, 2015. At that time, as acknowledged by Ms. C[redacted] in the FDIC complaint, the account balance was $0.39. The Bank cleared this electronic transfer, causing the account to have a negative balance. The Bank then added a $35.00 Paid Item Fee. Beginning March 8, 2015, the bank began adding fees of $8.00 per day for Continuous Overdraft Fees. After the FDIC complaint, the Bank stopped adding the $8.00 daily fees and the account stands with a balance of $202.16 (as of March 21, 2016).

The bank is hiding behind fine print buried deep within the account disclosures to justify charging overdraft fees when overdraft protection is declined by unsuspecting customers. If the Bank is instructing employees not to explain the confusing overdraft policies and instead refer to the fine print disclosures after the fact, meaning after overdraft fees have been imposed in order to profit from the customers' lack of understanding, then it is reasonable to expect a refund of these fees.

While the Bank may have the legal protections granted by the fine print in their lengthy contracts, they most assuredly have the ethical responsibility to ensure that customers are fully aware of the policies before fees are imposed. To hide behind fine print when there have been previous complaints made about one particular confusing part of their overdraft policies simply to make a few profits off of the customers who likely are the least able to afford them is simply un-American.Desired Settlement: On behalf of all consumers, I am asking that First Commonwealth Bank review its policies regarding the opening of accounts, specifically related to the explanation of overdraft policies that may contradict the assumptions made by reasonable consumers when opting out of overdraft protection.

On behalf of myself, I am asking that the Bank waive the outstanding fees and balance in the amount of $202.16 and close my checking account ending in #[redacted] in good standing.

Business

Response:

April 13, 2016RE:[redacted]Dear Ms. [redacted]We are in receipt of your letter dated March 29, 2016 regarding an issue that was submitted to the Revdex.com by [redacted] The Revdex.com has assigned this as issue # [redacted] In Mr. [redacted] statement he indicates that he was not satisfied with the response to his issue that was filed with the FDIC in April of 2015. He finds the bank's disclosure of Overdraft practices are confusing and feels that the bank failed to make him aware of how these fees are applied. Mr. [redacted] is asking that we waive his outstanding balance and re-establish his account to good standing.In researching, Mr. [redacted] opened his account on September 22, 2014 at our [redacted] Office. At account opening, First Commonwealth provides all clients with a copy of the Schedule of Service Fees. This document discloses the bank's fees that may be charged to the account based on the activity of the account. At the account opening, the client did not choose to opt- out of the overdraft practices, nor did he establish overdraft protection on his account. Mr. [redacted] was also provided a copy of the Electronic Funds Transfer form, disclosing the client's rights and obligations for specific transactions, types of transfers, frequency and dollar limitations that may occur on his account. Mr. [redacted] acknowledged receipt of this information on September 22, 2014.On March 4, 2015, an electronic check was presented for payment against Mr. [redacted]' account from [redacted]l in the amount of $31.55. On this date, the account balance was $0.39. Since the check presented was an electronic check, it was paid and a paid-item fee in the amount of $35.00 was assessed the account. As the account was not made current after the fifth day, the daily continuous overdraft fee began to incur. Mr. [redacted] did not make a deposit to bring his account current.In reviewing the circumstances of Mr. [redacted]' transactions, it was determined that the account was handled properly and the fees assessed were in accordance with bank policy and practices. In April of 2015, Cassandra C[redacted] of First Commonwealth had offered to work with Mr. [redacted] to see how we could partner with him to bring his account back to good standing. That offer was not accepted by Mr. [redacted] and he did not contact her to make arrangements. We hope that this information provides additional understanding for Mr.[redacted] regarding the handling of his account.Sincerely,

Review: First Commonwealth Bank came to a class I attend called [redacted] conducted at [redacted], First Commonwealth Bank made an offer for a promotion. The promotion offer was that if you worked, started a new account with First Commonwealth Bank, and make twelve transaction, after they confirmed your employment, and stay in good standing, First commonwealth would give you $100. I met all of the qualifications and they did not honor their promotion. I tried contacting them several times and then they then said, now we want to do a presentations at the job also to get the money. they changed the qualifications after the agreement.Desired Settlement: I would like the one hundred dollars that I am entitled to.

Business

Response:

Please find attached, First Commonwealth Bank's response to the issue that was brought forward from Ms. [redacted]. Also attached is a copy of the ad she referenced in her complaint. Please let me know if you require further information.

Many thanks,

[redacted]Executive Assistant to the President

First Commonwealth Bank

Review: Monies where taken from my account due to multiple mistakes and employee's telling less than the truth. There are recorded telephone conversation that can easily correct the wrong, however the regional manager [redacted] said she favors the employee in question, namely [redacted] at the [redacted] Branch. [redacted] refuses to listen to the series of recorded phone conversations from August 2, 2014 thur August 6, 2014 with the customer call center and I. I spoke to several ladies at the said call center in question and [redacted] on multiple occasions. This conversation are clear on how monies where charged against my account. I think there should be an outside audit done, which I feel will uncover a pattern of unjust business behavior being applied to consumers in Southwestern Pennsylvania. This practice may have already caused elderly customers millions of dollars in unjust fees due to this communicaton scheme that is being applied and keenly enforced with the regional manager [redacted].Desired Settlement: Monies return that have been taking by communication scheme, which could have been avoided by applying professional business practices. The recorded conversations will prove everything in a reasonable fashion. I have called the Senior VP Ms. [redacted], whom is above [redacted], and await a phone call from her. If I'm able to resolve this matter I'll contact you by phone or email.

Business

Response:

Attached, please find our response and supporting documentation for issue #[redacted]. My sincerest apologies regarding the due date for our response.

If you need anything further, please contact me directly at ###-###-####.

Sincerely,

Review: First Commonwealth Bank has charged me for fees they cannot explain. I fell into a banking problem earlier on in the year due to the way they handle my account. I spent many hours on the phone with the Manager for him to say "I don't understand" & "I don't know" if he has these types answers when I call how am I as a consumer going to know what this financial company is doing with my money? First I am being charged with a $35 fee for them to pay a check for me. Then within 24 hours of looking at my account I have another $35 fee for a returned check fee. I have been charged many times for one transaction coming into my account. When I am charged these fees there is nothing telling me who they are paying or returning to. I have put it writing I do not want this bank to pay anything for me. They continue to use my money as they see to and do not answer to me just keep taking. I am being told "You shouldn't take money out of a account with no money" I don't they do and put me into a checking account disaster. When I make a cash deposit it is pending until the next day. When I have money and authorized a transaction it is pending until the next day. If I make an error or a credit card tries to come threw without my authorization it goes right threw with 100's of dollars in fees. They will take their fees before the principle of the transaction. There is no personal banking anymore and with the economy being so bad why are they hurting their customers. All I asked was someone to tell me what the charges were for and I would deposit the money. This went on for weeks and is currently with fees they refuse to refund. I want to know what they are doing with my money not just taking because they choose.Desired Settlement: I would like most fees returned to me due to their lack of knowledge of their own banking system.I would like to see on my statement what a fee is for and for whom it is for.I would like to choose what branch I talk to about my account. If I do not want to talk to a certain person or branch, I should be able to talk to any one of their branches and get the answer I need.

Business

Response:

Attached, please find the response for the [redacted] issue. Thank you.

Consumer

Response:

Review: I was charged an paid item fee regardless to the fact I opt - out stating that I didn't want the above business to pay anything which for there was not enough of funds. Pervious items would have been returned, So when I called to speak with someone about this, I was given a three day run around and the manager of this location didn't even return my calls despite leaving multiple messages and I only was able to speak with her after multiple calls into the office. I think that the manager was very rude whe I asked if she received my messages The staff refused to explain to me what has changed causing me to be changed this time. I have reaed with them the terms and conditions of that account preference with dose not state anything about a reoccurring charge.Desired Settlement: I would lIke for them to return the fee, for the paperwork to explain exactly what is opt in/out means and what it covers and doesn't, and more training to staff especially the manager on people skills.

Consumer

Response:

Address: [redacted] Last four of account # [redacted]

Business

Response:

December 28, 2015 Patricia Cook Revdex.com 400 Holiday Drive, Suite 220 Pittsburgh, PA 15220 Dear Ms. [redacted], I write to you in response to the issue you received from [redacted] that was assigned ID number [redacted]. Mr. [redacted] indicated that he was charged a paid item fee for a transaction that put his account into overdraft. He also indicated that he has opted out of the overdraft coverage and feels that First Commonwealth should have returned the item unpaid. Mr. [redacted] is also requesting that the bank return the fee that his account was assessed. Mr. [redacted] has opted out of the overdraft coverage for transactions that are covered under the standard overdraft practices. These transactions include checks and transaction made using the account number, ATM transactions, and everyday debit card transactions (point of sale purchases, etc.). However, the transaction that caused Mr. [redacted]’ account to go into overdraft was a pre-set ACH transaction. This type of transaction is set to be paid regardless if the client opts out of die overdraft coverage or not. The office manager as well as a customer service specialist has spoken with Mr. [redacted] in an effort to assist his understanding. We have provided the client with another copy of the Overdraft Service Notice which explains the standard overdraft practices, overdraft fees, and opting in or out of the overdraft coverage. Upon review of his account, it was determined that the transaction processed properly and no error was made by First Commonwealth. The overdraft fee that was applied in accordance to bank policy and procedure was fair; dierefore, we are unable to waive the overdraft fee.Thank you for giving us the opportunity to review the account and provide additional insight on the overdraft services. If Mr. [redacted] has any further questions or concerns, he may contact his Office Manager, Naomi B[redacted] at ###-###-#### or his Regional Manager, Bryan F[redacted] at ###-###-####.Sincerely, Rose S[redacted] Executive Assistant to the President Cc: [redacted]

Review: In January my wife had made an online purchase using the wrong account which put my bank account in overdraft by about $12. I am in the military and left oversees for a deployment at the end January as well. During the month of February the bank continued charging fees while I was unaware of the situation. Upon coming home in March I made a payment $65 to bring the account current, however the amount I paid was on a statement that was about 2 weeks old. In that time the bank had charged another $115 in fees, and they had already sent the account to collections. So in short a $12 overdraft turned into over $165 debt in less than a month, the month I was oversees. Upon contacting and complaining to the bank, they merely stated that it had already went to collections and they could no longer do anything about it. They showed no tolerance or any lenience in my situation. There only form of communication they used was through the mail, no calls, texts, or emails. When my wife contacted them, the banks stated that they had sent out six different statements, we only received three. I also believe they told me that an account goes into collections after 20 days of inactivity, which we had exceeded while I was serving my country. With another form of communication this could have easily been resolved and not cost me $165.Desired Settlement: That the bank change their policy in handling these matters. Other forms of communication are a must, in today's society snail mail just does not cut it. They need to send out e-mails or phone calls when an account becomes over-drafted or at least prior to sending accounts to collections where they no longer have any control.

Business

Response:

June 8, 2015 Re: ID [redacted] Dear Ms. [redacted], I am writing this letter on behalf of First Commonwealth Bank in response to the letter sent to your office by [redacted] In this letter Mr. [redacted] explained that his account was overdrawn due to an online purchase made in error using the wrong account. Mr. [redacted], who is in the military, was unaware that the account was in an overdrawn status and the subsequent fees that were assessed due to this, because he was deployed and out of the country. When he learned of the state of his account, he did make a payment to bring the account current, however the notification that he received was outdated, and additional fees had been assessed to the account. Furthermore, when Mr. [redacted] contacted the bank, he was advised that the account had been closed and sent to collections. He would like the bank to look at their policies in handling matters like this and consider ways to communicate with customers about their account activity other than out mailing notifications. I did reach out to Mr. [redacted] on Thursday, June 4, 2015 to discuss this matter with him personally. I explained the process that the bank uses to notify customers when there account is overdrawn. The initial notification is mailed out to the customer. The branch does make courtesy calls if the account is not brought current as well. I also explained that we have additional services like Online and Mobile Banking that will allow him to set up account alerts concerning his current balances. Mr. [redacted] was a valued customer of the bank and I am sincerely sorry that this happened while he was away serving our country. I am refunding Mr. [redacted] the full $163.00 in fees that he was assessed via check to him today. This check will be mailed to the address that was confirmed with Mr. [redacted]. We are committed to providing our clients exceptional service and assistance with their financial needs. Should Mr. [redacted] choose, I would be happy to assist him with reopening his account. Sincerely,[redacted]Vice President

Review: MY ACCOUNT WAS CHARGE OD CHARGES THAT I DIDN'T KNOW ABOUT UNTIL 15 DAYS AFTER THEY HAD BEEN APPLIED.I RECEIVED A NOTICE 12DAYS AFTER MY ACCOUNT WENT OVER DRAWN AND AT THE TIME IT WAS -$72.70 I MADE THE SAME DAY A DEPOSIT OF $75.00 THEN I RECEIVED A NOTICE THAT I HAD BEEN CHARGED OD CHARGES. IN SEPT 2015 .TO MAKE MATTERS WORST FIRST COMMONWEALTH TURN THIS OVER TO A COLLECTIONS OFFICEDesired Settlement: BILLING ADJUSSTMENT REMOVE COLLECTS NOTICE

Business

Response:

November 24, 2015 Dear Ms. Cook, I am writing this letter on behalf of First Commonwealth Bank in response to the correspondence sent to your office by [redacted]. In this letter Mr. Johnson explains that he was charged overdraft fees to his account ending #[redacted]. He states that he did not receive notification from the bank until 12 days after the account was overdrawn, and that he did make a deposit to the account, but was then notified of additional overdraft charges that had incurred. He also explains that further, this matter was turned over to a collection office by the bank. In researching this matter I reviewed the account history and noted that an ACH transaction in the amount of $43.00 posted to the account ending #6683 on August 27, 2015 for payment. The bank paid the amount of the transaction in accordance with Regulation E governing electronic transactions. The account was charged a service fee in the amount of $35 was assessed to the account as disclosed in the bank’s Schedule of Fees. Mr. Johnson received disclosures concerning Regulation E and the Schedule of Fees at the time of account opening. An Overdraft/Non-Sufficient Funds Notice was sent to Mr. Johnson on August 27th, advising of the transaction, the fee that had been assessed for its payment, and the amount that the account was overdrawn as of that date. The notice went on to advise that a deposit should be made as soon as possible to ensure that additional fees would not be incurred. This included a possible Continuous Overdraft fee of $8.00 per day that would be assessed after 4 consecutive days of the account being in an overdrawn state. A second Overdraft Notice was sent to Mr. Johnson on September 1st, and an additional notice one week later. A deposit was made to the account on September 8, 2015. The deposit that was made was not enough to bring the account out of its overdrawn status, and additional fees were assessed. On September 23, 2015, the account was closed, due to the length of time it stayed in a negative status, and turned over to a collection agency for further action. I found that the bank acted ethically in this matter and that the fees assessed were appropriate. Had Mr. [redacted] reached out to the branch or someone in the bank early on in this situation, I believe that the matter could have been settled without escalating to this point. I would be happy to discuss this further with him and should he like to do so, he can contact directly at ###-###-####.Sincerely,Cassandra [redacted] Vice President cc: [redacted]

I bought a vehicle from a local company which was financed by First Commonwealth Bank. At the time of purchase I was told by the dealership that I was required by this bank to purchase an extended warranty on the vehicle before they would grant me the loan.

At the time I was not aware that it was unlawful to require this. I paid over $1000 for the

warranty which I am still paying interest on through this loan.

Check fields!

Write a review of First Commonwealth Bank

Satisfaction rating
 
 
 
 
 
Upload here Increase visibility and credibility of your review by adding a photo

First Commonwealth Bank Rating

Overall satisfaction rating

Description: BANKS, FINANCIAL PLANNING CONSULTANTS, INSURANCE COMPANIES, INVESTMENT ADVISORY SERVICE, LOANS, LOANS-SMALL BUSINESS, CONSUMER FINANCE & LOAN CO., MONEY ORDERS & TRANSFERS, MORTGAGE BROKERS, RETIREMENT PLANNING SERVICE, FINANCIAL SERVICES, MORTGAGE BANKERS, ESTATE PLANNING & MANAGEMENT

Address: 2705 W Wall St, Lewis Center, Ohio, United States, 79701-3014

Phone:

Show more...

Web:

This website was reported to be associated with First Commonwealth Bank.


This website was reported to be associated with First Commonwealth Bank.




Add contact information for First Commonwealth Bank

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | New | Updated