Sign in

Fitness U S A

Sharing is caring! Have something to share about Fitness U S A? Use RevDex to write a review
Reviews Fitness U S A

Fitness U S A Reviews (15)

• Dec 04, 2019

Good Afternoon,This is the second response to the complaint I received.To Whom it May Concern,As I stated before, as you can see on the police report, it states that they were in possession of marijuana on our propertyWhether they had it on them in the room or outside in the parking lot, this is still Best Western property and illegal to have possession of itThey did smoke in the room even though they signed a contract stating that we are a non-smoking hotelI stand by what was stated in my first response, nothing has or will change.Thank you,Monica A***General Manager

This club is owned and operated by a company in Owosso, Michigan, called Fitness US of Lansing. Please direct your complaint to their office at ###-###-####. The former ownership under the name of Fitness USA is out of business.Tell us why here

To Whom It May Concern,This guest did stayed with us on March 11, 2016. We received complaints from other guests saying there was someone smoking in a room and the hallways reeked. The executive housekeeper had gone to check and see which room it was coming from and upon knocking on the door it was...

obvious the smoke had come from this room Then a manager had gone up to ask the guest to leave as we have a non-smoking policy, if they decide to smoke in a room there is a service fee of $250, every guest signs this at check-in(Registration card can be provided where they signed it if needed) only to receive guest complaints of it being marijuana smoke. When this kind of smoking is reported we automatically call the police. The police came as they were walking down the hall to the room they could smell the marijuana already. The officers got to the room as soon as the door opened you could smell the smoke very strong. The guests were searched, marijuana was found on them and they asked to leave property (Possession Charge from court attached). The manager tried to charge their credit card the service fee for smoking in the room and they couldn’t get the whole amount because it was declining. The only amount they could charge was $50. The guest was escorted off property and given a no trespassing order by the officers.(We can provide this also if needed) . We stated with the police there that they would not be getting a refund for their stay. Almost a month later the guest complained to our corporate office, stating that they had been charged all of these outrageous amounts, which weren’t true (Attached –guest made up amounts varying from 300- to over 800 in charges). I had spoken to our corporate office and verified what they were actually charged. The guest was very rude to us and our corporate office, insisting on a refund, even though we did not charge them for the amounts they claimed we did. The case with the corporate office was closed. I have attached that report, along with the police reports stating the charge that was made that day.Please let us know what more we need to do to clear this issue. Thank you,Monica A

Still does not say that we smoked in room just that we had weed we were never handed a copy of.the report and like I said weed is illegal but has nothing to do with smoke free policy you have to smoke in room to be charged which she keeps saying over and over again but never happened im guessing this is how they treat all customers lady needs to be fired
 Complaint: [redacted]
I am rejecting this response because:
Regards,
[redacted]

Good Afternoon,This is the second response to the complaint I received.To Whom it May Concern,As I stated before, as you can see on the police report, it states that they were in possession of marijuana on our property. Whether they had it on them in the room or outside in the parking lot, this is still Best Western property and illegal to have possession of it. They did smoke in the room even though they signed a contract stating that we are a non-smoking hotel. I stand by what was stated in my first response, nothing has or will change.Thank you,Monica A[redacted]General Manager

Review: I upgraded my membership with Fitness USA on November 15, 2013. I paid the amount of $295.00.Since the facility in Mishawaka, IN closed and the facility in South Bend, IN closes on 6/20/2014, I faxed a request to Fitness USA for a refund in the amount of $295.00. I have not received a response from Fitness USA.I am not even requesting that the $300.00 I paid for a life-time membership in 1982 be refunded. Maybe I should.Fitness USA's fax number is ###-###-####.Desired Settlement: Refund in the amount of $295.00 that I paid on November 15, 2013 to upgrade my gym membership. Both Fitness USA facilities in Mishawaka and South Bend, Indiana are closing.

Business

Response:

It is with great sadness that we were forced to close our South Bend, Indiana club on June 20, 2014, after 35 years at this location. Every viable option was explored and implemented to avoid closure, including numerous business changes, updates to the facility and more. However, unprecedented economic difficulties and financial losses made it impossible to continue.

Ms. [redacted] has been a valued member since 1982 (32 years) - her initial membership term was for 12 months and then was renewable at her option for only $75 a year. Over the years, we periodically provided her with promotional offers to reduce her renewal fee. In 2009, we allowed her expired membership to be reinstated with a reduced amount and provided additional months to her membership term at no charge. In 2013, we again allowed her expired membership to be reinstated and upgraded by paying a one-time fee, which eliminated future renewal dues. This amount was non-refundable.

Our Elkhart club remains available for Ms. [redacted] use with no changes to her current status, or, if she prefers, The [redacted], located only 1/2 mile away from our former South Bend club, is offering special discounted rates to Fitness USA members.

Jodi L. Berry

Executive Director

Review: Refund for a life time member ship since the gym is closing I j en a member since 1994 dont think its fair spending all that money now I cant use it.

Gym is closed I want refund been member since aug 31 1994 my account number is [redacted] payment amount is 1,000 dollars it was at fitness usa in Dearborn mi.Desired Settlement: I have been a life time meber ship sinne 1997 now I cant use it.I would like my 1,000 dollars back . Its not fair cause its a life tkme mmember ship that I cant no longer use. I woul like my money back.

Business

Response:

Review: I recently contacted Fitness USA to have a membership put on hold for 6 months, while I am working out of state. The office manager indicated that they do not put memberships on hold for this purpose. I explained to her that I would not be cancelling my membership, I would just like it on hold until could use the gym again. The office manager and staff were rude and very unprofessional and would not direct me to any policy stating that holds were unallowable for this purpose.Desired Settlement: I would like my membership to be put on a temporary hold.

Consumer

Response:

Good Morning [redacted],

I submitted a complaint the other day in regards to Fitness USA. They contacted me this morning and have settled the complaint. Please do not pursue any further.

If you have question, please feel free to contact me directly.

Thank you,

Review: I canceled my membership more than a year ago and they are still taking money out of my bank account

I signed up for a month to month membership at this facility used it for a few months all was OK then decided that this place wasn't for me and that I wanted to cancel my membership. I went in to the facility in early November of 2013 and told them to cancel my membership and they said OK that it would be taken care of and also took my membership card and discarded it. ... almost a year goes by and I start getting phone calls about my membership and I called them and told them I canceled more than a year ago and they preceded to tell me that I signed a contract with them and there wasn't any way to cancel the contract. So I've been dealing with this now for a few months and it's even painted on the side of they're building "No contract month to month" I then look into my bank account and they have been taking out anywhere between 10 dollars a month to 24.45 a month after I canceled with them.Desired Settlement: I don't know the exact amount that they have taken out of my account but I would like a refund for at least the last year. They can obviously look it up in they're system as to the last time I went and use they're facility. So from the last time I went to current is all I'm asking for and to actually "cancel" my membership like they said they would do a year ago. I can try to get bank statements and figure out the amount that they have taken if needed

Business

Response:

Mr. [redacted]' original membership agreement required a 30 day written notice of cancellation. In August, 2014, the Fitness USA business in [redacted] was sold due to insolvency to a new Owner, who is operating as Fitness US [redacted]. The new owner continued to honor members under the terms of our agreement with the new Buyer. They are operating in the same building with the same equipment and amenities. There has been no interruption in services. We are unable to locate any record of a cancellation to Fitness USA prior to the closing of the business. We suggest Mr. [redacted] contact the new owners and follow their required cancellation policy.

Review: The club is no longer open to men and I purchased a lifetime membership 13yrs ago and have been goin there off and on for years, the buillding is all on level so it hanicap access to pool is easy, as well as the showers and changing rooms. Now that they have closed it to Women only and onpened the lincoln park one to both on altering day's where it's a 2 story building I can no longer us my membership to swim or access the changing rooms or showers. That discrimination agianst me and my wheelchiar. sorry for the bad grammer I so angry I can even type right now. I have written letters to the home office and emial and have not gotten any response, they will not disucuss this on the phone. I just sent my secound emial right before I wrote this. so lets see what happens. The bad thing is last year I bought my son a membership there as well to help me, now im out 2 memberships , one lifetime one exeitive.Desired Settlement: Since I can no longer use my membership I want a full refund, or I want them to reopen the taylor fittness like it use to be every other day so I can go swimming agian. To be honest I rather swim and than have my money back, it was the only execrise I got.

Business

Response:

Please see the attached letter which is being mailed to [redacted] along with the refund check. We consider this matter closed and have marked our file accordingly. [redacted] Executive Director

Review: I joined the spa because it was a mens only spa. They changed it to be coed and refuse to stop my monthly payment agreement. I am an observant Jew and I am strict with the laws of modesty. Based on my religious beliefs, and laws of modesty, I joined the gym, as it was the only non-coed gym in my neighborhood. I have been a member since October 23, 2012. The gym became coed in the beginning of December 2012, and therefore not usable for me. I sent written notice of request of cancellation on December 20, 2012. I was denied cancellation. They continue to bill me and threaten to send a collection agency after me. I have not used their gym since it has become coed. They justify their action by telling me that the pool is not coed and would be available for me. That is very nice, but that is not why I joined the gym. I do not go swimming, I do aerobic exercise and lift weights. It was only a bit more that a month after I signed up that they became coed. I made it very clear to their representative with whom I signed up why I had chosen this gym. Although it was certainly known to them at the time that I signed up that there were going to be changes in their gym, they did not let me know and had me sign up for a year. This type of trickery should not be let to happen with any business.Desired Settlement: I request that they stop sending me bills and charging me for the gym, since I do not go there. That would be to remove all charges since December. I am not looking for a refund, I just feel that I should not be charged a monthly fee for a gym that I can not and have not been using. I also feel that I should be refunded my $60 start up fee which I paid at a time that they knew the changes they were going to make and failed to disclose that information to me.

Business

Response:

[redacted] membership was cancelled on 4/11/13, as a result of his special circumstances. No further payments will be deducted from his account. We have notified him under separate cover and requested he return his membership card, as required by his agreement. [redacted] Fitness USA

Review: My issue is with Fitness USA's decision to make the gym in Taylor, MI for women only. I cancelled my membership with Fitness USA when I found that out.I signed up for Fitness USA in 2008 and got an Executive Membership with the gym which gave me the right to use any Fitness USA in the area. Now in 2013 most of the Fitness USA gyms are being turned into women only gyms? That is not right. What was the point with paying the over $200 start up fee to be an executive member?Desired Settlement: I would like to be reimbursed the start up fee I paid Fitness USA when I signed up for the Executive Membership.

Business

Response:

[redacted] originally enrolled in 2008 on a monthly membership, which was cancelable any time at his option, with 30 days notice. In August 2011, he decided to upgrade to a Diamond membership which included numerous additional benefits and privileges, including a reduction in his monthly dues after 12 months to only $9.95 a month. Recently, he decided to cancel his Diamond membership, which he has been using since he enrolled. The membership fees he paid for services rendered are not refundable. Should he wish to re-instate his Diamond membership and utilize our Lincoln Park club, which is open everyday for ladies and men, we will do so with no additional fees, continuing at the $9.95 per month dues amount. To take advantage of this option, [redacted] may contact our office directly within the next 10 days. [redacted]

Review: Fitness USA has filed a balance due on my credit report but when I call to get a copy of my contract for proof of this debt, they refuse to return my call, yet when I dispute it on my report, they confirm it with the credit bureaus. I want this removed from my credit and proof that I signed a contract with them. I have left messages and have not heard from them. When I contact the local office they refer me back to this corporate office. My goal is to get this "debt" removed.Desired Settlement: A copy of the contract or preferably for the corporate office to remove this from my credit reports as they refuse to provide proof that a contract ever existed.

Business

Response:

Please find copy of our reply to the above complaint. A copy of the reply including a copy of contract will be sent to customer by mail.

Business

Response:

This is in regards to the rejection notice.

As stated to the Better Business, "A copy of the reply including a copy of the contract will be sent to the customer by mail".

A copy of the reply (letter to Mr. [redacted]) including a copy of his contract was mailed on Friday August 2, 2013, via 1st Class mail. Mr. [redacted] should have received it by now. If for some reason he did not, please let me know and I will be more than happy to send Mr. [redacted] another copy.

Thank you,

Consumer

Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response. If you wish, you may update it before sending it.

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted], and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

Review: When I joined the club there were set days that males and females could go. I would have to travel between two gyms to be able to use the gym every day. Recently, the facility was made into a co-ed gym. It was advertised that if a lifetime member wanted to upgrade their membership to a Diamond Membership, they would be afforded certain priviledges, among these the use of all club facilities. I enjoyed going to the Taylor facility, which in my opinion is a better kept up facility then the Lincoln Park one, as well as the staff being very nice, so I decided to upgrade my membership. My understanding being (as well as the advertisement saying) that I would be able to use the Taylor facility practically any day I wish. I went to the gym yesterday (3-25-13) and observed a posting on the front door that stated as of 4-8-13, the Taylor location would no longer be co-ed. In fact, the facility would no longer be open to male patrons at all. The notice said that all gentlemen would be allowed to use the facility located in Lincoln Park, MI. The main complaints that I have are: (1) Fitness USA, in their advertisement, stated that if a member modified their membership certain priviledges would be afforded them. I upgraded my membership, paid the fee, and now they are going back on the agreement, in fact, it almost feels like a bait and switch, the bait being the flexibility to use any club facility (as advertised), then switch to not being able to use the facility and being forced to find another one; (2) the Lincoln Park facility that they are recommending is still a co-ed gym. The male members that enjoy the use of the Taylor facility and the option of going on days that work for them are being forced to go elsewhere. Not only would that cause overcrowding and extended wait times to use a machine, some of these facilities are not handicapp friendly. The Taylor facility is a single floor facility, where the lockerroom and pool access are on the same floor. The other has stairs.Desired Settlement: The settlement is simple. Honor the promises made for upgrading a membership, specifically, the USE OF ALL CLUB FACILITIES. In good faith, the members upgraded their memberships and paid the fees. All I am asking is that they honor their part and open the facility to all the members who paid for the upgrade, specifically, the Taylor, Mi. facility.

Business

Response:

[redacted] enrolled in October 1996 and completed payments on his membership in 1999. Over the years, he has enjoyed many changes to our facilities at no charge. In October 2012, we offered a membership upgrade to all existing members, after a remodel of the exercise areas of the club. This Diamond upgrade, available for a one-time nominal amount of $88, included numerous additional features, benefits and privileges, which were not part of [redacted]' original membership - including Tanning Unlimited, Additional hours, use of our new co-ed exercise areas everyday, Free WiFi access, special discounts for family,and other benefits. We have now made a decision and selected two clubs - one in Taylor and another in South Bend, Indiana, to create a health and fitness oasis for women only at these select clubs. Offering fitness, exercise, swimming, classes, nutrition and a wide variety of new amenities, services and special programs for the unique needs of women. [redacted]' membership will continue to be fully honored at our nearby Lincoln Park club, which he has used for many years without any issues or concerns. We look forward to continuing to serve his needs. In the event, [redacted] wants to transfer his membership to another family member, he may contact our office for assistance. [redacted]

Fitness USA has filed a balance due on my credit report but when I call to get a copy of my contract for proof of this debt, they refuse to return my call, yet when I dispute it on my report, they confirm it with the credit bureaus. I want this removed from my credit and proof that I signed a contract with them. I have left messages and have not heard from them. When I contact the local office they refer me back to this corporate office. My goal is to get this "debt" removed.

Check fields!

Write a review of Fitness U S A

Satisfaction rating
 
 
 
 
 
Upload here Increase visibility and credibility of your review by adding a photo

Fitness U S A Rating

Overall satisfaction rating

Address: 81 Grasso Plaza, Saint Louis, Missouri, United States, 63123

Phone:

651 0 0
Show more...

Web:

www.fitnessusa.com


Add contact information for Fitness U S A

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | New | Updated