Write a review   Sign In

Garden State Paving & Sealcoating

Paving Contractors, Seal Coating, All Other Specialty Trade Contractors (NAICS: 238990)

Have you had any experience with this company? Share it by adding a review!
Add a review

Garden State Paving & Sealcoating Reviews (11)

Satisfaction rating: 
User Yitty time Jun 12, 2019

My name is Howard. As a wedding gift for my son and his future wife, I hired Garden State Paving (Rich Sr. and Rich Jr.) to pave their driveway of their new home in Mullica Hill. They gave us a good price for the job, explained the procedure as to what they were going to do,
They prepped and paved the driveway and did excellent job cleaning up. After a couple of days, a few weeds started to pop up through the asphalt. I was concerned so I called Rich Jr.. He told me he would come out and look at the driveway. He torched the weeds and sprayed it with bleach. Before he left, he said "I want you to be completely satisfied. If it happens again, I will come back and pave the whole driveway again...no questions asked." A couple weeks past and I started to see a few more weeds popping up. I called Rich Jr. and let him know. He replied : I will be on it by the end of this week or beginning of next week depending on the weather." He came as he said the beginning of the next week and did exactly what he said he would do. He repaved the whole driveway.

My point to this review is... This does not usually happen with too many companies...Keeping their word! These two men in my opinion are the way it should be with people doing an honest days work for an honest wage. They kept their word and backed it up by doing what they said they were going to do. If you are looking for a good paving company, do yourself a favor and check these guys out. Nicest people you will ever meet!


Mark as useful (0 votes)
Reply
Satisfaction rating: 
User Reviewer12733616 time Jan 21, 2019

to whom this concerns myname is ******* from garden state paving there is a problem with the work atthe property and I wou
d like to fix it if I can but the problem is the ground is so wet with water that its making the ground very soft.The first price we gave the customer was somewhere
around Me and the property owners discussed the problem and we agreed on going with a thicker layer of asphalt which would be moreso we did put a thicker layor of asphalt times we came back but it still remains to become an issueThe extra money was never paid in full and thats not the issue I think maybe theyshould go with concrete because of the ground being so soft I want to reolve this if you could let me know how we can resolve this matter I will do everything in my power to get matter resolved thankyou sincerly ******* *******


Mark as useful (0 votes)
Reply
Satisfaction rating: 
User Reviewer13237261 time Jan 16, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to speak with me this morning. We mailed a refund check in the amount of $on or about 7/9/2014, which would be about the same time as she contacted you stating she had not received it. I had to wait until after the holiday to send as the person who signs checks was on vacation for the 4th of July holiday
****** ******
Office Manager
Garden State Paving
************


Mark as useful (0 votes)
Reply
Satisfaction rating: 
User Reviewer12915681 time Jan 14, 2019

I never got the message about the meter breaking I am the owner of the company and we will pay for the problem my cell *** *** **** ****** is no longer with us


Mark as useful (0 votes)
Reply
Satisfaction rating: 
User Reviewer7956077

Complaint: [redacted]
I am rejecting this response because:Garden State Paving has not yet sent my refund to me as per our agreement in my last response. My request was to send refund within 10 days of the response I sent.  Today is July 9th, 2014. We have exceeded my wait time of 10 business days. I would like Garden State Paving to still refund the agreed amount of $125 to me as what was apart of our original agreement
To close this complaint on their part, I would like a committment date from them when I will receive my refund and how they plan to send it to me so I will be looking out for it. Garden State has not communicated with me other than the last entry posted by them on this website. I am not informed why this refund is being delayed. I would appreciate a response so we can have resolution of this issue and that I will get my refund as agreeded. 
Regards,
[redacted]


Mark as useful (0 votes)
Reply
Satisfaction rating: 
User Reviewer7104557

Dear Revdex.com:
This is in response to case ID [redacted] regarding: [redacted] Sealcoating/ crackfilling
 I am so sorry to hear about the miscommunication. 
While it is very unusual that we only provide a verbal...

quote, it does
happen from time to time.  I feel that there was a miscommunication
between our estimator and the customer.  Asphalt or driveway repair is
always something that has to be looked at by an estimator to determine
the solution, especially when it is something mandated by the township.
 
What we would be willing to do for Miss [redacted], would be this: 
We can re-seal the driveway free of charge which will not solve the problem.
We can do an asphalt overlay, where we would pave 1.5 inches (compacted) asphalt overtop of the existing driveway.  The normal charge for this is
$1,250, but we would reduce it to $1,000.00 since the customer has already paid $250 for a sealcoat that did not remedy the situation.
Or we could refund $125.00 (half) of the sealcoat price.
 
We apologize for any lack of communication and
miscommunication that Miss [redacted] has experienced and please know
that we are continuously striving for 100% customer satisfaction. 
We hope that Miss [redacted] will be satisfied with one of the above options.


Mark as useful (0 votes)
Reply
Satisfaction rating: 
User Reviewer6917647

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it...

before sending it.]
Revdex.com:
I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted], and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.
Regards,
[redacted]


Mark as useful (0 votes)
Reply
Satisfaction rating: 
User Reviewer5543949

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]
Revdex.com:
I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted], and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  
I appreciate the company's effort in extending options to me to correct the complaint issue. Based on these three options, I have decided to choose the monetary refund.  $125 is not the value on which I would price the work that was done. To show this, I have attached a photos of my driveway the day the seal coat was applied and 3 days after the seal coat was applied which it rained two days after application. I would hope these photos will provide proof to help you understand why I was not pleased with the work I received especially from a company with so much experience in paving driveways. I would hope you would reconsider to be more generous in your refund to make me a happy customer making this resolution in a fair and ethical manner.   
I am requesting to receive this refund within 7-10 business days of opening this email. I feel this is plenty of time as this company is based within my geographic area. I am not confident in the follow up of this company based on my previous history with them and therefore request the option to re-open if this company doesn't comply with my request. Refund can be sent Regular mail as I should receive within two business days. Cashing check will be record of receipt for the company. 
Thank you for your consideration and resolution!
Regards,
[redacted]


Mark as useful (0 votes)
Reply
Satisfaction rating: 
User Reviewer917545

Review: Promised to come back and fix divots in my driveway and never heard from him. The driveway looks terrible, it's not flush with the ground, it's a few inches higher and causes a tripping hazard!Desired Settlement: Repair in a timely fashion

Business

Response:

to whom this concerns myname is [redacted] from garden state paving there is a problem with the work atthe property and I wou

d like to fix it if I can but the problem is the ground is so wet with water that its making the ground very soft.The first price we gave the customer was somewhere around 3000.00. Me and the property owners discussed the problem and we agreed on going with a thicker layer of asphalt which would be 1500.00 more. so we did put a thicker layor of asphalt 3 times we came back but it still remains to become an issue. The extra money was never paid in full and thats not the issue I think maybe theyshould go with concrete because of the ground being so soft I want to reolve this if you could let me know how we can resolve this matter I will do everything in my power to get matter resolved thankyou sincerly [redacted]


Mark as useful (0 votes)
Reply
Satisfaction rating: 
User Reviewer917541

Review: On April 1st, 2014, I had sent an email through Garden State's Paving website to get an estimate on filling cracks & seal coating my driveway. The drop down menu only gave you the option to select seal coating and to fill out your contact information. On April 2nd, 2014 I received a call back from a guy named [redacted] who left a voicemail asking me to describe what type of work I was looking for. [redacted] left his home telephone number for me to contact him back. I returned the call and stated that I wanted to know how much it would cost to fill the cracks in my driveway and seal coat it. [redacted] responded back on my voicemail, "to fill the cracks and seal coat the driveway would be $250.00". I called [redacted] back on April 3rd and left a message that I would like for him to take my job. After waiting nearly 3 weeks, I received a call on Saturday April 26th at about 1:45pm. My caller ID had the name of [redacted]. the man on the other end (I can't remember his name) stated he could come and take care of my driveway for the price I had agreed upon with [redacted]. We agreed on Sunday 4/27/14. He called my house at 9:52am (time stamped on my caller ID). I arrived home at 10:30am from dropping my dog at a grooming appt & saw the Garden State Paving truck. I greeted the guy at & he was done with the driveway. It appeared that the holes were sealed with all the seal on top but as it dried, they were not. I was confused as to how he finished so fast but when he said he used a sprayer, I didn't question it. I paid him $250 in cash and received a receipt. As my driveway was drying, I noticed the cracks were not filled just seal coated. I called the company number in Cherry Hill to resolve the situation on Tues 4/29/14 where someone answered the phone and claimed to be an answering service so I left a message. No one called back. I called [redacted] home number and the company's Cherry Hill office on Thur 5/1/14. No one returned my call so I feel that I was taken advantageDesired Settlement: I desire to receive a refund of the service due to the fact that Garden State Paving have shown me they are not to be trusted with communication. I wish they just would have honored the verbal agreement I made with their representative, [redacted]. [redacted] should have taken the time to call me and let me know who would be doing the job as I left several messages that week that went unresponded by him. I felt that he and/or Garden State Paving, at least owed me the time to listen to my concern and come by my house to inspect the job that was done. , then find a way to resolve it. If Garden State Paving would had done that, then I wouldn't be on this website. Not only that but when I called the company phone number and still no response, I feel this is very unprofessional. The job I wanted done was because the city I live in warranted the repairs of my driveway and I had a deadline to make. Because of this, I may have a lien place on my property as the city will repair it at a cost to me.

Business

Response:

Dear Revdex.com:

This is in response to case ID [redacted] regarding: [redacted] Sealcoating/ crackfilling

I am so sorry to hear about the miscommunication.

While it is very unusual that we only provide a verbal quote, it does

happen from time to time. I feel that there was a miscommunication

between our estimator and the customer. Asphalt or driveway repair is

always something that has to be looked at by an estimator to determine

the solution, especially when it is something mandated by the township.

What we would be willing to do for Miss [redacted], would be this:

We can re-seal the driveway free of charge which will not solve the problem.

We can do an asphalt overlay, where we would pave 1.5 inches (compacted) asphalt overtop of the existing driveway. The normal charge for this is

$1,250, but we would reduce it to $1,000.00 since the customer has already paid $250 for a sealcoat that did not remedy the situation.

Or we could refund $125.00 (half) of the sealcoat price.

We apologize for any lack of communication and

miscommunication that Miss [redacted] has experienced and please know

that we are continuously striving for 100% customer satisfaction.

We hope that Miss [redacted] will be satisfied with one of the above options.

Consumer

Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response. If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted], and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

I appreciate the company's effort in extending options to me to correct the complaint issue. Based on these three options, I have decided to choose the monetary refund. $125 is not the value on which I would price the work that was done. To show this, I have attached a photos of my driveway the day the seal coat was applied and 3 days after the seal coat was applied which it rained two days after application. I would hope these photos will provide proof to help you understand why I was not pleased with the work I received especially from a company with so much experience in paving driveways. I would hope you would reconsider to be more generous in your refund to make me a happy customer making this resolution in a fair and ethical manner.

I am requesting to receive this refund within 7-10 business days of opening this email. I feel this is plenty of time as this company is based within my geographic area. I am not confident in the follow up of this company based on my previous history with them and therefore request the option to re-open if this company doesn't comply with my request. Refund can be sent Regular mail as I should receive within two business days. Cashing check will be record of receipt for the company.

Thank you for your consideration and resolution!

Regards,

Consumer

Response:

Review: [redacted]

I am rejecting this response because:Garden State Paving has not yet sent my refund to me as per our agreement in my last response. My request was to send refund within 10 days of the response I sent. Today is July 9th, 2014. We have exceeded my wait time of 10 business days. I would like Garden State Paving to still refund the agreed amount of $125 to me as what was apart of our original agreement

To close this complaint on their part, I would like a committment date from them when I will receive my refund and how they plan to send it to me so I will be looking out for it. Garden State has not communicated with me other than the last entry posted by them on this website. I am not informed why this refund is being delayed. I would appreciate a response so we can have resolution of this issue and that I will get my refund as agreeded.

Regards,

Business

Response:

Thank you for taking the time to speak with me this morning. We mailed a refund check in the amount of $125 on or about 7/9/2014, which would be about the same time as she contacted you stating she had not received it. I had to wait until after the holiday to send as the person who signs checks was on vacation for the 4th of July holiday.

Office Manager

Garden State Paving


Mark as useful (0 votes)
Reply
Satisfaction rating: 
User Reviewer917547

Review: Garden State Paving provided a 2" overlay to our driveway. When applying this topcoat they ripped our electric meter off the exterior house wall overhanging the driveway. We had this repaired by PSEG and [redacted] Electric after numerous calls to [redacted] at Garden State. at a cost of $112.35.Desired Settlement: Payment to us, of $112.35, for this repair.

Business

Response:

I never got the message about the meter breaking I am the owner of the company and we will pay for the problem my cell [redacted] is no longer with us

Consumer

Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response. If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted], and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,


Mark as useful (0 votes)
Reply
Check fields!

Submit a review

Satisfaction rating:
Upload here Drag & Drop Your files here, or browse

Garden State Paving & Sealcoating LLC rating

Overall satisfaction rating

Category: Paving Contractors, Seal Coating, All Other Specialty Trade Contractors (NAICS: 238990)

Address: PO Box 905, Cherry Hill, NJ, 08003

Website: http://www.gardenstatepaving.com

143 people are currently seeking Garden State Paving & Sealcoating contact information.