Sign in

Goodberlet Home Services

Sharing is caring! Have something to share about Goodberlet Home Services? Use RevDex to write a review

Goodberlet Home Services Reviews (6)

I hired Goodberlet to install electric and gas lines and service to my above ground pool and heater. I asked them if I had to call the Village of Mokena for an inspection of the electric/gas lines. They said they would call. I followed up with the Mokena Village Inspector after I had not heard from them, and found that Goodberlet never called. When the Inspector was able to come out, it completely failed inspection. The inspector stated they installed the wrong gas piping, there was no tracer wire, it was not properly grounded, they needed to leave the trench open for the inspection prior to backfilling (they needed to at least leave the hole open in the middle). This was despite me questioning whether that would pass inspection and they insisted it was not required. I was formally written up by the Village as not approved and issued a field correction notice stating the Code section/chapter 4 of the International fuel/gas code needed to be followed, and the trench needed to be opened to verify the material and depth.

I tried calling GoodBerlet's general number and received no call back. So the next morning, I called the Sales person directly, and he said he would be in the office shortly, and would call be back. Hours later, still no call. I would at least expect communication and timeline to fix the issue and work to be completed in a workmanlike and generally accepted manner; however, they haven't even attempted to schedule or discuss the issue. This has a domino effect of delaying my landscaping contractors as well and grass repair from the trenches.

Goodberlet Home Services Response time May 12, 2020

Goodberlet did receive the inspection report dated 5/11/2020 (yesterday). I have included the report. We have already scheduled the customer for this Thursday to return. Goodberlet will perform the work per the contract and as always will make sure all work is up to code and approved per town/city or village requirements. Once the corrections are made, an inspector will be contacted for return.

Customer Response time Jun 01, 2020

Complaint: 14354838
The plumber showed up today, and caulked my brick housed painted the gas line-- and said laborers should backfill the trench. When I called the office, I explained the hole was caulked and it should be cement. The person I spoke to assured me that the laborers would be scheduled today to backfill, and fill the hole with a hydraulic cement mortar mix She said they would be instructed.

Unfortunately, a large area/trench was not backfilled (picture attached) after coming back out for the 3rd time. They only backfilled a portion of it and left without even knocking on the door to let us know they were done. We actually thought they might be coming back to finish the job. The drilled hole into the house was also not corrected with hydraulic cement mortar mix as promised to me and my wife by the office this morning.

More importantly, the office kept saying that the inspector is being too picky. Well-- the Vilage of Mokena clearly lays out the requirements by bullet point (attached). Per the attached Village of Mokena requirements, in order to be up to code, it is an ELECTRIC REQUIREMENT that the pool is bonded. Please see bullet point #3 under the "ELECTRICAL REQUIREMENTS" for the Village of Mokena for Above Ground Pools. Additionally, please see the attached pool contract from Great Escapes that shows it is a licensed electrician's responsibility to ground the pool (cirlcled provision in the contract) which exemplifies this is common practice in the industry. After I hired Goodberlet to install electric to the pool and plumbing, they tried to charge me an additional $800-$900 AFTER the inspector said they were supposed to do the bonding. How are they claiming this is not included in installing electrical to an above-ground pool in order to be in compliance with Mokena Code? They promised it would be up to code and the contract says it will be done in a workmanlike manner (which by law means within local industry standard). In order to avoid the charge, I paid for the wire, and trenched it myself (this passed when I did it). Either this is a bait-and-switch tactic where I could have gone with a different company to get a price on the COMPLETE & UP TO CODE JOB (in such case this is something that should be reported to the Attorney General's Office-Consumer Affairs Division)- or they cannot perform to the Mokena code-- in which case it is necessary to file a complaint against their licenses. The Village of Mokena even clearly lays out that the electrical contractor should call them prior to beginning work as shown in bullet point #6.

Given that the bonding is an Electrical Requirement as shown in the code and clearly laid out, I want the price reduced by the quoted fee of $800-$900 because that is what is required in order for Gooberelt to perform per the contract and up to the Village Code---which they stated they stand by.

Sincerely,

Tim

Goodberlet Home Services Response time Jun 03, 2020

100% customer satisfaction is what we strive for in all cases. Unfortunately, at times it cannot be reached. We have verbally agreed to the following with the customer: The customer requested a refund, and we have accepted this offer as a fair compromise. However, the customer had already contested the payment for the credit on their credit card. Until a resolution of the contested amount is known, we cannot provide a refund. Should the payment be given to us upon conclusion of the contested payment we will credit the agreed amount thru our credit card processing system.

We have worked with the customer to try to come to a fair conclusion and we believe this matter should now be closed once a judgement is made on the transaction in question.

WELL I don't want to get into novel length with my review but I didn't know about Goodberlet till I dialed the number of the company that installed my other furnace 23 years ago. I didn't recognize the name when the voice on the other end answered so I hung up (thinking I dialed a wrong number) but when I dialed it again she repeated the name and I asked if they bought out Elm Heating. Now here is where they made my day. I had called the company that put in a new A/C unit for me in August ( THE RIGHT REASON PEOPLE ) but they did what I knew was going to happened...showed me some crack on a hand held camera and said..WE CAN"T WORK ON IT, YOU NEED A NEW ONE...15 seconds later...$4,000 dollars.. Didn't say what brand, what type, didn't say what options l could choose from...JUST $4,000 dollars...When I raised a concern about calling someone else the price dropped a few hundred but I still told the guy to leave. Chris from Goodberlet was at my house with in about an hour and explained what he had to offer... 4 different styles and explained all their functions and options and made me sure that he was there for me...not profit. The crew showed up about a half hour early and after taking the old furnace apart showed me that there were 'NO" cracks in the chamber but assured me I did get the full life out of my old unit. I know we all get that dreaded feeling in the back of our minds when A/C's and furnaces go out when you need them....and no one is ready for that sticker shock when it's so important at that moment....Thank you Goodberlet, making it clear that having the best advertisement doesn't mean you are the best!!!
John *.

Goodberlet Home Services Response time Jan 16, 2020

Thank you for the incredible and detailed review. We want to make sure our clients are aware of all of their options so they can feel comfortable when decisions have to be made. We strive for 100% customer satisfaction. Thank you again for the great review and we hope you have a warm winter

I’ve had 2 issues wirh my air unit (5 yrs old) this year , 1st one May 22nd- low on Freon, other than that all good....... until 6/25 when I actually had to use the air ..... again put Freon .... I said I’m under warranty....there has to be anotherreason for the lack of Freon when I had not even used the air unit .... “ no, Freon can dissipate “ was the Explanation given by your service person (unbelievable) so he filled it again ! Here we are again 9/9 and again cool air- Not cold air coming out and my air has been running non stop for 16 hrs and it still reads 75- when I have it set at 74. I have had nothing but issues with both my air and furnace since I purchased BOTH in January of 2015...I am writing you first to see if you can handle this issue.
Cathy

Goodberlet Home Services Response time Sep 27, 2019

Thank you for the great review

Had my yearly cleaning done and everything went great. Dave gave me information that I never even considered. There was no pressure to act but I did agree with him. He is very knowledgeable and did a great job

Goodberlet Home Services Response time Apr 24, 2019

Thank you so much for your feedback and excellent review. Have a great day

May of 2018 our house was hit by lightening and blew the a/c unit out. long story short I asked my insurance company for advice and they sent one company out that caused more issues and then I had Goodberlet come over give a price and got a/c unit and furnace replaced. My electrical box was needing to be fixed as the breakers was tripping and causing issues. I received a 525.00 quote. They came out fixed some was supposed to come back and put the door on the box. Never showed had to order part. In the mean time Peking wrote the check out to my husband Logan ***, *** Loans our mortagage and Goodberlet. I dropped the check to Goodberlet to be endorsed so I could send it off went 4 days in a row to have the check and it was in someones personnel vehicle she tried dropping it by once when she knew I was not home. The check was close to 10 grand for full repairs minus the electrical. Logan stopped in and picked the check up the electrical bill was not finished and told Logan to stop back in. Bill wasn't ready we are not going to keep randomly going in to see if its finished. They "put" the bill in our folder there. But we never received the bill. I spoke with a Scott project manager and he didn't know anything about it, Until I received paper work from collections department from a RFGI saying im turned into collections. One when you call no one relays messages to there associates. So I was not able pay Goodberlet. So I have been paying RFGI and then charged an additional 250 for there services I asked if I can pay off early they said contact Goodberelet I have to maintain a payment. I also asked for them to removed the charge for collections and deduct since the job was not completeed

Goodberlet Home Services Response time Apr 04, 2019

Goodberlet Home Services did view the electrical box and breakers as mentioned in this complaint. An original proposal was given to Lindsay *** dated 6/27/2018 for replacing all breakers in breaker panel that were affected by lightening damage. However, it was later decided and agreed to replace the panel itself with all new breakers for the $925.00 mentioned in this complaint. Date of work was 7/20/2018. No payment was made by the customer at that time. The account was sent to collections on 11/6/2018. A payment was made to our collection company for $125.00. Transaction date 2/15/2019. At this time the remaining balance is $1,067.97 which includes late fees.

Athough several letters and phone calls were placed by both Goodberlet and our collection service, we are all about great customer service and want all of our customers to be 100% satisfied. We are willing to credit the $300.00 that is being requested and an additional $100.00 off to help with the late fees. Also are willing to send an employee to the home at no charge to inspect the work since it is being claimed that the job is not finished. Current balance owed would be $667.97 and would be due after inspection of work.

Goodberlet Home Services Response time Apr 05, 2019

Our response remains the same as we see it as a fair and reasonable solution to a project that was completed many months ago without payment:

This message originally read on 4/4/2019

Goodberlet Home Services did view the electrical box and breakers as mentioned in this complaint. An original proposal was given to Lindsay *** dated 6/27/2018 for replacing all breakers in breaker panel that were affected by lightening damage. However, it was later decided and agreed to replace the panel itself with all new breakers for the $925.00 mentioned in this complaint. Date of work was 7/20/2018. No payment was made by the customer at that time. The account was sent to collections on 11/6/2018. A payment was made to our collection company for $125.00. Transaction date 2/15/2019. At this time the remaining balance is $1,067.97 which includes late fees.

Athough several letters and phone calls were placed by both Goodberlet and our collection service, we are all about great customer service and want all of our customers to be 100% satisfied. We are willing to credit the $300.00 that is being requested and an additional $100.00 off to help with the late fees. Also are willing to send an employee to the home at no charge to inspect the work since it is being claimed that the job is not finished. Current balance owed would be $667.97 and would be due after inspection of work.

Customer Response time Apr 08, 2019

Complaint: ***

I am rejecting this response because: Those many months that bill was not paid I never had a bill until the collection agency sent my the bill upon my request. I had another company come out after the fact Goodberlet is now wanted to send someone out to fix the issue. So im still $400 more into a repair that should of been fixed from them.

Sincerely,

Lindsay

This company installed a complete HVAC system and I used them for 5 years as a maintenance and service provider. In the last year I was informed that the bearings were bad on the blower motor. When asked if it was under warranty I was told that the warranty was for 5 years from installation and that I was 3 months past that date. I was told that it would cost between $600 and 700 to fix it.

Upon contacting another contractor for another problem I found that all of the parts were covered by a manufacturers warranty.

When contacting the subsequent contractor for a problem concerning the air conditioning it was discovered that there was an obvious problem with the quality of installation persistent from the first day. All told the system is less than 10 years old and I've had to spend just under $1000.00 not including maintenance contracts.

Check fields!

Write a review of Goodberlet Home Services

Satisfaction rating
 
 
 
 
 
Upload here Increase visibility and credibility of your review by adding a photo

Goodberlet Home Services Rating

Overall satisfaction rating

Address: 255 E Brookmont Blvd, Kankakee, Illinois, United States, 60901-2102

Phone:

+1 (866) 795-8500
+1 (815) 937-0189
+1 (708) 453-0794
Show more...

Fax:

+1 (815) 937-1527

Website:

www.goodberletheating.com
www.goodberlethomeservices.com

E-mails:

Sign in to see

Add contact information for Goodberlet Home Services

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | New | Updated