Sign in

Great American Exteriors

470 S Spring Rd, Elmhurst, Illinois, United States, 60126-3949

Sharing is caring! Have something to share about Great American Exteriors? Use RevDex to write a review

Great American Exteriors Reviews (%countItem)

• Sep 10, 2020

The entire 2nd story of our house was redone incl. windows, old stucco and gables replaced.
All the staff were friendly & went out of their way from start to finish to ensure everything went smooth. The cost for the project was very reasonable.
We can’t say enough about all the workers. They were so hard-working even in the summer heat, & really knew their craft. No details were overlooked & no corners cut. The results are beautiful.
We are very pleased to recommend them & plan to have them do some other projects.

• Aug 24, 2020

I needed a warranty patio door locked replaced. I called on Dec. 28th 2019. Someone came out several weeks later to verify lock was bad.He did proceeded to take photograph's of all the necessary part numbers. GRAMEX found several replacement locks that were nowhere close to the original lock. As time went on and no lock,I stopped at their office with the bad lock to show them what was needed. Again photos were taken and was told we will get the right one ordered this time. As time went on and no lock I went on All About Doors website and found the correct lock. I then brought that info to GRAMEX. Again they purchased the incorrect lock. So eventually with the incorrect locks, and living on the Ground Floor and having to us a piece of PVC pipe for the lock, not to safe. I purchased the lock from All About Doors and installed it. I brought the invoice to GRAMEX to be reimbursed. It is now August 24, 2020 almost 8 months later and still no reimbursement.The plus is the gentlemen I was dealing with at GRAMEX was very professional.

• May 13, 2020

April 29, 2020
Have you ever worked with a company that did such a good job, you wish you had another project to give them? Our project wasn’t big; it involved replacing the millwork above the front door on our classic 75-year-old Georgian home. But they treated our requirements and us with the same importance as if we had contracted for a sprawling backyard deck or a home addition. Everybody we talked to at Great American Exteriors was helpful, caring, and had our complete satisfaction in mind. We highly recommend this company, and we know they will do an outstanding job for you, just as they did for us
Stewart and Jean Scott, Homewood, IL

• May 13, 2020

My husband and I are very satisfied with the work that was performed. We replaced two entry doors and railing and we couldn’t have been happier. Derek did a great job installing both doors. I would highly recommend this company to anyone. We are still waiting for our window shutters to arrive but can’t wait to see the final touch to our home.

• Feb 03, 2020

They are the best.

I have a screened in sunporch. The screens were in bad shape. Great Amex replaced the screens with sliding window/screen combinations. I was so pleased I had them out again and replaced the old screen door with a new permanent door and a new screen door. Another great job. We use that room so much more now.

A few months later I noticed a rotting boards on the fascia of the house which is about 30 feet high. They came out and again a great job. I wouldn't call anyone else.

Ed B.

Great American Exteriors Response time Feb 05, 2020

Ed,
Thank you for your positive review. We are glad to hear that you are happy with our work. We value you as a customer and look forward to the next job for you!!

We are so happy with our new windows. Great quality. Beautifully installed. We had a new front door installed a few years ago and same thing, love the door and the quality. We get many compliments. Everyone who works there is professional and they go out of their way to take care of you. You know your job is a priority, big or small. We highly recommend Great American Exteriors.

I should have read the reviews. Crap *** company with shady business dealings. I had their sales rep come to my house and provide a quote of $6700 for a 9x80ft concrete driveway. He twice measured it both times that he came to my house. When they arrived for the job a few weeks later, the guys on the job informed me the measurements were incorrect and they called the office to confirm. The sales guy provided the quote based on the right number, writes the wrong measurement on the order and then tries to increase the job by $3000. He claims it was an honest mistake but he has the measurements drawn on a piece of paper so I know his quote is based on the right measurement but the day of the job they tried to tell me that the quote provided was for a 9x50ft job and tried to negotiate with me the difference in price. I had them null the contract and sent them away. Please don't fall for their crap lies.

Great American Exteriors Response time Jun 25, 2019

Dear *** and others to whom it may concern, on 5/22/19 our representative and Ms. agreed on a price to replace a 8.5ft x 50ft section of driveway in the front of home. Both signed off on 8.5ft x 50ft on the clarification form and Ms. gave $47. As a deposit. When we met for preliminary pre-installation meeting on 6/24/19, with our installation team present, Mrs. requested additional square footage of 10ft x 80ft, which is substantial in terms of job cost. Although we had pleasant dealings with Ms. and would like to help her with her new driveway, and worked with her on the additional square footage cost. We were unable to perform the work for free with the additional labor and materials added. When she was made aware of the price changes with the associated labor and material costs included, and that her existing contract would need to be amended for the work she wanted to be completed, she decided to cancel. Even though Mrs. had signed a contract with us, which we can provide the details of, which were signed by both Mrs. and our representative, we decided the best thing to do was to part ways. We always look to be professional, have good paperwork, and use a proven process. We were able to catch this issue before any work was performed, on-site, with our installation team and company representatives present. Her complaint is primarily based on us not doing additional work for free. Again I would like to stress no work was performed for Mrs. and all of this was done with only a minor payment, which will be refunded when requested.

We had some fascia that had come off our house and needed repair on our second story. I called Great American Exteriors and they responded right away. They came out the same day and pointed out some other areas that needed repair. The repairs were done the next day at a reasonable price. I would use them again and recommend them.

We went to a local home improvement show at the beginning of March in Tinley Park and spoke with the business's representative Mike *** to get an estimate for work at our home. He scheduled us for 10-11am on Saturday 3-23-19. He said someone would call to confirm the appointment. On 3-23 we waited. No calls from the company. By 10:15 am, I called them. I spoke to Sam. He stated that they were OVERBOOKED for 10am and they only have 6 people working. He said' Everybody wanted the 10am appointment'. I stated that I was disappointed that no one called to let us know about the delays. Sam stated that someone could be here between 12 and 2 or 3pm and if we wanted coffee and donuts. Sam also asked if my husband would be present. Not appropriate and should not be assumed. He promised that he would call either way if they were coming out or not on 3-23. My phone had 2 calls attempted with no messages from the company's number. We sat and waited again. This company is not responsive and is unprofessional. Would not recommend. When I called back again at 1:15pm, I spoke with Robin. She stated that they were still running behind with other customers. She asked if we could re-schedule for during the week. I said NO that it is unacceptable I had already waited a day. And Robin agreed with me. I cancelled the appointment.

Great American Exteriors Response time Jun 25, 2019

Dear Mr. or Mrs. Simmons or to whom it may concern, we do not wish to cause any inconvenience to any of our potential customers. To ensure quality, so that we can give exact pricing, and also to respect everyone time. When scheduling free consultations we do require all homeowners and/or decision-makers to be present. I am very sorry for any inconvenience we may have caused you, in my defense I did offer to bring you coffee and donuts, and that offer still stands if you would like to give us another shot? For the Record I would like to clarify no work was performed for the Simmons. This complaint is primarily based on scheduling. Again no work was performed.

We had a concrete patio put in last March, 2018. Water sits on patio, does not drain. Concrete was left about 1 inch away from the house. We called them to fix the problem and no one came. During the extreme winter weather, we were unable to open the back door, because the concrete swelled so much. Needless to say we do not recommed this company to do anything. If we were satisfied we were going to have them re-do our drive way. When Sam came out to the house, we were going to do the driveway first. but changed our mind. decided on the patio to see how they would do.

Great American Exteriors Response time Jun 25, 2019

Dear Mr. Smith As soon as we received your message we sent our service technician to your home to assess the situation. Together we decided the solution at no cost to you, will be to replace the back door so that it would clear the patio next winter if it was to raise up again in the extreme weather. This problem has been corrected under warranty. Feel free to contact me if there are any other issues. At this point I feel this complaint is inappropriate and should be removed.

Great American Exteriors or " Gramex" was contracted to do a room addition from the foundation up. I didn't contact them but they contacted me and told me that this type of work was in their wheelhouse of things they do. Was told the owner Sam *** would come out to discuss project and pricing. Upon his arrival his professionalism was lacking as the first words out of his mouth were that could he use my washroom and he has been driving and needed to use it. Needless to say ..rude.
When we sat down and discussed the job I was shown many jobs performed and supposedly so many happy consumers with pictures and video. I inquired that this job seems to be bigger than what he has shown but I was assured that it is a relatively simple " stick build" and will be done in a matter of weeks. Mr. San Filippo was adamant about me signing contract or the price may go up if he had to come back. I wanted to make sure his price and service matched what other offers we had and financially had to make sure. About a few days later we agreed and he did come back and honored the contract, but the rush to sigh a very large financial project didn't start our relationship off very well. The contract was signed at the end of March (March 19 2018). According to contract the job to start 6-8 weeks from then (May 19 2018) The job prints weren't approved til June 11 2018 a full month after contracted start dates. Only 1 inspection was performed where "Gramex" was on site on June 26 2018. I was told by Gramex that all other inspections as the project went along were called and done after that date. I was here for every inspector visit and every time no one from Gramex was here.
Project management is non existent. I have dealt with William *** James *** Someone named Rob and Sam himself. All apologizing and promising everything and getting next to nothing in return. Window mis-measurements, concrete re-pours, electrician not doing as asked and even damaging area where work had to be done and damaging sump pump where water flooded part of basement. Gramex had someone come out to repair electrician damage but didn't know how to paint so as a homeowner I had to repaint and also fix my sump pump after the damage, as I couldn't trust them to do it properly. Up until their best worker/subcontractor " Tony" had come out to actually finish all the exterior and interior, the job site was always left in an unorganized manner.
While the finished product of a 17X17 room addition looks OK, The trouble and headaches I, as a homeowner, have had to go through to keep on the contractor leaves a foul taste in my mouth.
Lastly a final inspection is yet to be performed and the inspector has been out 2 times and again no one from GRAMEX was here. It was after the 2nd " final" inspection I found that the inspections, I was told were performed and approved, were never done and the village is waiting on some documentation to be shown to them. A 3rd final inspection as set up by GRAMEX on October 24 2018 and when no one from village or contractor arrived I contacted the village myself only to learn that GRAMEX NEVER set up schedule and in email assuring me yet again that it was scheduled for the 10/24/18 date and time. FYI a project slated to be completed 2-4 weeks after the initial 6-8 weeks is still not completed officially. Told to be done by end of July not finalized now going into November 2018, 4 MONTHS after the contracted dates!!! I have held up the end of my bargain on the contract but Gramex has fallen flat on honoring theirs.
Word to others who may be considering Great American Exteriors or GRAMEX to do work at their home DON'T do it. Total lack of project management, follow up and performing less than desired workmanship are reason enough to find someone else for your next remodel.
Randy

Great American Exteriors (GAE) did not meet their contractual obligation.

Over a 2 hour in-person sales meeting, on 1/17/18, we agreed upon work to be performed (garage floor and roof work) and a price, $2800. We both signed GAE's "Home Improvement Agreement" contract, I put down a deposit and I have been awaiting service since.

I have been engaged with GAE over the course of the last 2 months in selecting garage epoxy floor colors and coordinating schedules for final floor measurements.

On 6/5/18, I received a call from Sam, an owner, demanding more money. Specifically $1500 more for the job, which is a 54% increase in agreed upon contractual price.

I told Sam, we have a contract and agreed upon a price over a 2 hour meeting going over the lowest level of details. Sam proceeded to insult and harass me.

Sam boasts that GAE is a member of the Revdex.com. I don't believe Revdex.com should honor members that do business like GAE.

Great American Exteriors Response time Jun 14, 2018

Anthony, We are very sorry to see this review. We take a lot of pride in making sure our clients are 100% satisfied with our visits, and work we are willing to provide. We had a sales representative come out to visit you 1/17/18 to discuss a potential job. Our newly hired representative gave an estimate as to what he believed the cost of the job would be. After returning to our head office, the representative and I did an overview of the job, to ensure the pricing was correct. The job turned out to be much more sizable than indicated initially, which resulted in us having to increase the price in order to have the job completed. We always need to ensure we are giving a final price correctly before we start any type of work, to ensure our company, representatives, and customer are all compensated correctly, so we can provide the highest quality work. We are thankful that NO work was started, and we would like to have the opportunity to work with you in the future. To attempt to resolve this concern, we of course would like to refund the deposit given when our representative made his visit. Also, due to the confusion, we would like the opportunity to offer you a gift card to a local restaurant in town, and will look forward to possibly working with you in the future. Sam *** Great American ExteriorsCell: Office: Email: [email protected]: gramex.com

Customer Response time Jun 27, 2018

Complaint: ***

I am rejecting this response because:

p.p1 {margin: 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px; font: 15.0px 'Helvetica Neue'; color: #454545} p.p2 {margin: 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px; font: 15.0px 'Helvetica Neue'; color: #454545; min-height: 17.0px}
Sam has now breached his contractual obligation twice. First, on our original contract and second on his voicemail left on 2018-06-11:

“You did sign a contract with us and I can fulfill it... We’ll do a beautiful job for you so just give me a call to schedule...”.

My family and I invested a great deal of our time adhering to the extensive GAE sales process. This includes lengthy solicitation calls, a 2+ hour in-person meeting with Jordan (GAE sales rep) going over the lowest level of project detail. Additional time invested includes color and material selection for the roof and garage floor along with multiple appointments with roofing and garage floor technicians.

Sam has already seen my garage floor and gave me a quote, on 2017-04-29, so no surprises here. Also, Jordan reported that he has worked for GAE for many years and conveyed that my garage floor is in the realm of average level of effort based on his vast experience.

Finally, both Jordan and Sam were in contact many times during the 2+ hour in-person meeting at my house. In fact, Sam called me the next day reviewing all the details in entirety expressing further commitment and gratitude.

GAE has been in business for over 25 years. They have an extensive and verbose sales process to get their customer to commit to the project on the day of the salesperson’s visit. They even made sure my spouse was present on the first visit in effort to commit and save sales cost. In fact, their Pricing Policy states “We estimate your job and then give you one price based on our current discount… We know what the job will cost and we are in business to make a living, so the price we quote includes labor, material and a profit for our company.”

I expect a member of the Revdex.com and a deeply experienced business to stand behind their contractural obligation.

Sincerely,

Anthony

Salesman from Great American Exteriors cold called my home on 5/26/2018, despite a No Solicitation sticker on my door. Proceeded to be rude, loud and abusive to my wife. This guy gives sm a bad name.

Check fields!

Write a review of Great American Exteriors

Satisfaction rating
 
 
 
 
 
Upload here Increase visibility and credibility of your review by adding a photo

Great American Exteriors Rating

Overall satisfaction rating

Address: 470 S Spring Rd, Elmhurst, Illinois, United States, 60126-3949

Phone:

Show more...

Web:

www.yellowpages.com
gramex.com

E-mails:

Sign in to see

Add contact information for Great American Exteriors

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | New | Updated