Sign in

Guirkin Plumbing, Heating & A/C

Sharing is caring! Have something to share about Guirkin Plumbing, Heating & A/C? Use RevDex to write a review
Reviews Guirkin Plumbing, Heating & A/C

Guirkin Plumbing, Heating & A/C Reviews (16)

March 23, Revdex.comMoorefield Park DriveSuite 300Richmond VA RE: [redacted] ***, Case # [redacted] On 03/16/15, we had to change Mr***’ appointment time from an AM call to a PM callWe called his phone, but it was out of order, so he didn’t get the messageAfter arriving and diagnosing the issue, we gave Mr [redacted] a price to make the repairs, as we do all of our customers before any work is complete His service call was not set up as a quote, therefore we charge a hour minimum charge of $If he wanted us to make the repairs, the $would have been incorporated into the total cost of the repairsAs a result of this letter, I will refund Mr [redacted] the $minimum chargeHis lost time from work might not have happened, had his telephone been working Mr [redacted] must have spent his entire weekend walking up and down the aisles at *** and [redacted] *** to get all of those figuresThey have no bearing on Guirkin Plumbing, Heating & Air Conditioning Co., LLCWe do not buy from box storesYours Truly, [redacted] Guirkin Plumbing, Heating & Air Conditioning Co., LLCGlazebrook AvenueHenrico VA CC: [redacted] [redacted] *** Richmond VA

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's offer If you wish, you may update it before sending it.] Revdex.com: I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted] , and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to meI will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolvedIf the company does not perform as promised I can get back to you at: [redacted] Please forward Guirkin Plumbing my contact information as they will need it to send a check or contact me to pick up cash Also, please relay to Guirkin Plumbing that I handle estimation in my profession as a Project Engineer and my take-off took a mere minutes of work I feel that their quote of $was unfair and unjust given the labor and materials involved I would like to remind them that there was absolutely no communication of the $show up fee until after analyzing and quoting the $of work Regards, [redacted] ***

Revdex.com: I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted] , and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to meAt this date Guirkin has already completed the work by removing the old furnace [redacted]

Dear Miss ***: I have received your complaint from the Revdex.com on January 4, According to our records, no maintenance has been done to your system since it was installed on August 23, 2013, almost Yz years ago. We have no record of any call backs or
complaints on your partThe entire system is or was still under warranty. You are asking for reimbursement for the unit that had to be disposed ofWe were never given the chance to look at or discuss any of these problemsI am assuming they replaced the air handler only and not the heat pump as well. Please forward me any pictures, documentation and a copy of *** * *** bill for my review. Please let me know where the piece or pieces of equipment that was removed from your premises is now so it can be inspected. Thank you Thomas CG*** Guirkin Plumbing, Heating and A/C

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's offer. If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]
Revdex.com:
I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ***, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to meI will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolvedIf the company does not perform as promised I can get back to you at: *** Please forward Guirkin Plumbing my contact information as they will need it to send a check or contact me to pick up cash Also, please relay to Guirkin Plumbing that I handle estimation in my profession as a Project Engineer and my take-off took a mere minutes of work I feel that their quote of $was unfair and unjust given the labor and materials involved I would like to remind them that there was absolutely no communication of the $show up fee until after analyzing and quoting the $of work
Regards,
*** ***

Dear Miss [redacted]: I have received your complaint from the Revdex.com on January 4, 2016. According  Verdana; font-size: 11px;">to our records, no maintenance has been done to your system since it was installed on August 23, 2013, almost 2 Yz years ago. We have no record of any call backs or complaints on your part. The entire system is or was still under warranty. You are asking for reimbursement for the unit that had to be disposed of. We were never given the chance to look at or discuss any of these problems. I am assuming they replaced the air handler only and not the heat pump as well. Please forward me any pictures, documentation and a copy of [redacted] bill for my review. Please let me know where the piece or pieces of equipment that was removed from your premises is now so it can be inspected. Thank you Thomas C. G[redacted] Guirkin Plumbing, Heating and A/C

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's offer.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]
Revdex.com:
I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted], and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. If the company does not perform as promised I can get back to you at: [redacted].  Please forward Guirkin Plumbing my contact information as they will need it to send a check or contact me to pick up cash.  Also, please relay to Guirkin Plumbing that I handle estimation in my profession as a Project Engineer and my take-off took a mere 20 minutes of work.  I feel that their quote of $850 was unfair and unjust given the labor and materials involved.  I would like to remind them that there was absolutely no communication of the $90.00 show up fee until after analyzing and quoting the $850 of work.  
Regards,[redacted]

March 23, 2015 Revdex.com720 Moorefield Park DriveSuite 300Richmond VA  23236 RE: [redacted], Case # [redacted] On 03/16/15, we had to change Mr. [redacted]’ appointment time from an AM call to a PM call. We called his phone, but it was out of order, so he...

didn’t get the message. After arriving and diagnosing the issue, we gave Mr. [redacted] a price to make the repairs, as we do all of our customers  before any work is complete.  His service call was not set up as a quote, therefore we charge a 1 hour minimum charge of $90. If he wanted us to make the repairs, the $90 would have been incorporated into the total cost of the repairs. As a result of this letter, I will refund Mr. [redacted] the $90 minimum charge. His lost time from work might not have happened, had his telephone been working.  Mr. [redacted] must have spent his entire weekend walking up and down the aisles at [redacted] and [redacted] to get all of those figures. They have no bearing on Guirkin Plumbing, Heating & Air Conditioning Co., LLC. We do not buy from box stores. Yours Truly,  [redacted]
Guirkin Plumbing, Heating & Air Conditioning Co., LLC8447 Glazebrook AvenueHenrico VA  23228   CC: [redacted]
       [redacted]       Richmond VA  23221

Yes we did install a new furnace and yes we left the old one under the house.  It would not go under a main I beam of the house.  The new furnace was smaller in size, and that was also a tight fit.  We use the same basic language in our proposal and that is disconnect and remove the...

old equipment from the jobsite.  We knew the old furnace was going to be very difficult to remove even if we could remove it.  That part was not put on his proposal because of our standard language but we will make another attempt by cutting the old furnace up in pieces and remove it.  Once this is done we will resubmit to the Revdex.com and answer accordingly.
Sincerely,
[redacted], Owner
Guirkin Plumbing, Heating &
Air Conditioning Co., L.L.C.

"Times New Roman","serif"; font-size: 12pt;"> March 23, 2015 Revdex.com720 Moorefield Park DriveSuite 300Richmond VA  23236 RE: [redacted], Case # [redacted] On 03/16/15, we had to change Mr. [redacted]’ appointment time from an AM call to a PM call. We called his phone, but it was out of order, so he didn’t get the message. After arriving and diagnosing the issue, we gave Mr. [redacted] a price to make the repairs, as we do all of our customers  before any work is complete.  His service call was not set up as a quote, therefore we charge a 1 hour minimum charge of $90. If he wanted us to make the repairs, the $90 would have been incorporated into the total cost of the repairs. As a result of this letter, I will refund Mr. [redacted] the $90 minimum charge. His lost time from work might not have happened, had his telephone been working.  Mr. [redacted] must have spent his entire weekend walking up and down the aisles at [redacted] and [redacted] to get all of those figures. They have no bearing on Guirkin Plumbing, Heating & Air Conditioning Co., LLC. We do not buy from box stores. Yours Truly,  [redacted]
Guirkin Plumbing, Heating & Air Conditioning Co., LLC8447 Glazebrook AvenueHenrico VA  23228   CC: [redacted]
       [redacted]       Richmond VA  23221

Revdex.com:
I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted], and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. At this date Guirkin has already completed the work by removing the old furnace.
[redacted]

Review: 12/05/15, contacted Guirkin reported a "dirty sock " smell emanating from our [redacted] 2 1/2 Ton 15 seer HVAC system they installed on 08/23/13. A female employee answered phone stated that we were experiencing "dirty sock syndrome" and we just needed the ducts cleaned. Guirkin did not offer to send a technician to our home and politely thanked us for calling and hung up. We were not satisfied with response, felt the need to have our HVAC system inspected, considering the age of the system, which we paid $6,450.00 to install. Contacted [redacted] Services, Inc. came to our home on 12/5/15. Upon reviewing HVAC system concluded the issues affecting the way the system was operating; problems with the actual duct work; including connections; and poor air flow. Additional problems found at the initial visit:1)Air Handler was connected to a return duct run that was too small for the size of the unit 2) Supply end of Air Handler was partially blocked (approximately 40% to 50%) by sheet metal causing heat strips to cycle on and off rapidly. 3)Condensate drain was double -tapped; causing a resistance in the normal removal of the condensation. 4)Return duct had holes appeared to be caused by animals. [redacted] returned 12/7/15 to replace system and correct duct issues , Installers observed additional problems:1)Electrical supply wire to Air Handler was #8 copper and should have been #6 copper to match the unit size. 2)Return box on Air Handler was tapped off at bottom causing insufficient volume of air to enter opening and reach Air Handler. 3)Return flex duct was not wrapped with insulation in crawl space; caused a condensation issue allowing water to collect in duct work and a growth(mold) to appear 4) Further investigation of ductwork showed that water caused saturated duct to sag down to ground providing easy access to animals. Weight of sagging pulled duct back from connections at box on Air Handler allowing air seepage; a hammer was found inside the duct.Desired Settlement: System developed mold due to the access water and poor air circulation, and had to be disposed of due to health reasons as a result of faulty installation. [redacted] reported unit was continually overheating and shutting off on a repeated basis and heating coils were damaged. During installation of unit by Guirkin electrical connection wires were laid across sheet metal covering the heating coils creating a fire hazard. [redacted] stated Guirkin sold us an HVAC system that did not correctly fit ductwork system already in place and made no adjustments to ductwork. Thermostat installed could not access features of unit such as humidity control. [redacted] reported Guirkin Plumbing Heating and Air Conditioning LLC did not install the Trane XL15 2 1/2 Ton 15 seer HVAC system correctly. [redacted] provided us with photographs and written documentation of the installation errors made by Guirkin. We are seeking to be reimbursed for unit that had to be disposed of.

Business

Response:

Dear Miss [redacted]: I have received your complaint from the Revdex.com on January 4, 2016. According to our records, no maintenance has been done to your system since it was installed on August 23, 2013, almost 2 Yz years ago. We have no record of any call backs or complaints on your part. The entire system is or was still under warranty. You are asking for reimbursement for the unit that had to be disposed of. We were never given the chance to look at or discuss any of these problems. I am assuming they replaced the air handler only and not the heat pump as well. Please forward me any pictures, documentation and a copy of [redacted] bill for my review. Please let me know where the piece or pieces of equipment that was removed from your premises is now so it can be inspected. Thank you Thomas C. G[redacted] Guirkin Plumbing, Heating and A/C

Review: On or about March 12, 2015, I made a phone call to Guirkin Plumbing to set up an onsite appointment with the plumber and was told that they would be out to my house on March 16, 2015. The appointment was to be between the hours of 10:00 AM and 12:00 PM. I waited at the house for two hours and they had not arrived. I called Guirkin Plumbing at approximately 12:10 PM to verify that they would be coming to my residence and they notified me that they would be late and that they left a message stating that they would be late. I did not receive the message due to bad service, so they are not at fault for that, however, they did not arrive at the house until 3:30 PM, approximately 4.5 hours after their stated appointment time. This was 3.5 to 4.5 hours of lost work time that I incurred. The plumber (2 men) showed up and inspected the issue for approximately 30 minutes and gave me an estimate of $850 for the following: "Gave Cust. price of $850.00 to pull downstairs hall bath toilet and install new 4x3 flange, cut 4" cast iron in crawl and replace w/ 4" PVC." I told the Guirkin plumber that I thought the price was high and he called his boss back to explain. His boss relayed back to him that he could not go any lower. Upon this explanation, I was notified that I owe them $90.00 for their time and estimate which I was hesitant to pay, but paid. Note: I was not initially told over the phone by the Guirkin representative that this was a cost that I would incur, so this was a surprise to me. Guirkin did say that the $90 would be built into the $850 estimate if I decided to hire them for the job.Desired Settlement: My estimate is as follows:

1. [redacted] (Richmond, VA): Charlotte Pipe 4-in x 5-ft 220-PSI Schedule 40 PVC Pipe = $11.47 per 5 LF = $22.94

2. [redacted] (Richmond, VA): LENOX 5-Pack 12-in 18-TPI Bi-Metal Reciprocating Saw Blade Set = $23.98 ea.

3.[redacted] (Richmond, VA): AMERICAN VALVE 4-in x 4-in Dia Flexible PVC Coupling Fittings = $7.98 ea.

4. [redacted] (Richmond, VA): 4 in. PVC DWV Replacement Closet Flange = $22.33 ea.

5. Miscellaneous supplies (caulking, screws, etc.) = $20

6. [redacted] (Richmond, VA) @ $69.62 per hour for 3 hours = $208.86 total

7. Material and Labor Cost = $22.94+$23.98+$15.96+$22.33+$20+$208.86 = $314.07

8. Overhead & Profit (O&P) = (12.30% x $314.07) + $314.07 = $38.64 + $314.07 = $352.71 Total

If I were to increase the Labor to $100 per hour, the total cost would be $432.60 at 12.30% O&P. This is approximately $417 below the estimate, 49%! I believe that Guirkin overpriced their estimate.

Refund = $90 + $112 (lost time from work) = $202.

Business

Response:

March 23, 2015 Revdex.com720 Moorefield Park DriveSuite 300Richmond VA 23236 RE: [redacted], Case # [redacted] On 03/16/15, we had to change Mr. [redacted]’ appointment time from an AM call to a PM call. We called his phone, but it was out of order, so he didn’t get the message. After arriving and diagnosing the issue, we gave Mr. [redacted] a price to make the repairs, as we do all of our customers before any work is complete. His service call was not set up as a quote, therefore we charge a 1 hour minimum charge of $90. If he wanted us to make the repairs, the $90 would have been incorporated into the total cost of the repairs. As a result of this letter, I will refund Mr. [redacted] the $90 minimum charge. His lost time from work might not have happened, had his telephone been working. Mr. [redacted] must have spent his entire weekend walking up and down the aisles at [redacted] and [redacted] to get all of those figures. They have no bearing on Guirkin Plumbing, Heating & Air Conditioning Co., LLC. We do not buy from box stores. Yours Truly, [redacted]

Guirkin Plumbing, Heating & Air Conditioning Co., LLC8447 Glazebrook AvenueHenrico VA 23228 CC: [redacted]

[redacted] Richmond VA 23221

Consumer

Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's offer. If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted], and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. If the company does not perform as promised I can get back to you at: [redacted]. Please forward Guirkin Plumbing my contact information as they will need it to send a check or contact me to pick up cash. Also, please relay to Guirkin Plumbing that I handle estimation in my profession as a Project Engineer and my take-off took a mere 20 minutes of work. I feel that their quote of $850 was unfair and unjust given the labor and materials involved. I would like to remind them that there was absolutely no communication of the $90.00 show up fee until after analyzing and quoting the $850 of work.

Regards,

Review: Have a contract with Guirkin Plumbing and Heating to install a new furnace and remove an old furnace. Contract was signed 3/5/2014, Installation of new furnace was complete 3/7/2014. After installation the old furnace has been pushed aside in the crawl space. As of 4/15/2014 the old furnace is still in the crawl space. I have made repeated attempts to ask Guirkin to remove the old furnace, last attempt I talked to the owner about the situation, he said it is too difficult to remove the old furnace so they are refusing to remove it. They claim all their contracts for furnace installations have removal of the old units as part of the contract however they only honor removal of old units if it is easy, in the case of difficult removals they don't honor that part of the contract. I know from talking to other professionals about this, it is possible to remove the old furnace it just may require some extra work.

I believe any difficulties that maybe present in the removal of the old unit where obvious at the time of estimation, any difficulties should not have come as a surprise after disconnecting the old unit. For this reason I believe Guirkin is not in good faith honoring the contract.Desired Settlement: Remove the old furnace or $750 refund for unfinished work.

Business

Response:

Yes we did install a new furnace and yes we left the old one under the house. It would not go under a main I beam of the house. The new furnace was smaller in size, and that was also a tight fit. We use the same basic language in our proposal and that is disconnect and remove the old equipment from the jobsite. We knew the old furnace was going to be very difficult to remove even if we could remove it. That part was not put on his proposal because of our standard language but we will make another attempt by cutting the old furnace up in pieces and remove it. Once this is done we will resubmit to the Revdex.com and answer accordingly.

Sincerely,

[redacted], Owner

Guirkin Plumbing, Heating &

Air Conditioning Co., L.L.C.

Consumer

Response:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted], and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. At this date Guirkin has already completed the work by removing the old furnace.

Review: I had Guirkin to my house over the summer to research and repair two issues. The first was an issue with the HVAC unit in the attic sweating and causing water to create mold on the ceiling in the master bathroom, as well as water running down the walls. They installed a drain of some sort, but the problem was not resolved. I also asked them to look into the water pressure issues we were having in the kitchen and master bath. We were told that it was our water heater being old. We authorized replacement of the water heater. However, the water pressure issues were not fixed. So $1500.00 later nothing was resolved. I called twice about this and never recieved a returned call, both times I was told they would review the service order to see if the lines were blown out.

They came back to do seasonal check up on the HVAC system on November 6th. When we made that appointment I asked them to please blow out the lines to resolve the water pressure issue. Next thing I know I am receiving a bill for $635! They replaced the cartridge in the shower and the parts and labor for that repair were $575.00. The seasonal check up was $60.00. No one called me prior to making that repair to see if I wanted to do it, spend that kind of money, or give me a chance to call [redacted] to see what other options I had. All I had asked was for the lines to be blown out and the problem researched. When I did call [redacted] to see what the part costs, they sent me one for free because the shower is under a life time warranty. I could have completely avoided most of this charge if they had called me to ask permission to replace this part. I had [redacted] send me the part so that I could return it to Guirkin and get credit for it. They have refused to take the part, give me credit or ,make any actions to correct the issue.Desired Settlement: I just want the money back for the part. Approximately $300.00

Business

Response:

To Whom It May Concern,

[redacted] had pieces of dip tube in her plumbing system. This material came from her hot water heater and the only way to resolve that issue was to replace the hot water heater.

This dip tube material is a thick, oatmeal like substance that will stop up all the plumbing fixtures in the house. In our effort to resolve this problem we had to replace a very expensive solid brass [redacted] cartridge. [redacted] was not at home but the nanny was there. The nanny's comment was "well it has to be done, so go ahead and do the fix." She also signed the ticket when we were finished.

I was originally told that the cartridge was a special order item and could not be returned for a credit. After talking to my sales rep, I am able to return the cartridge and get a credit from my supplier.

I have mailed [redacted] a check for $[redacted]. This covers the cost of the Thermostatic cartridge assembly.

I hope this will settle the matter satisfactory.

Very truly yours,

Guirkin Plumbing, Heating and Air Conditioning Co. LLC

Have a contract with Guirkin Plumbing and Heating to install a new furnace and remove an old furnace. Contract was signed 3/5/2014, Installation of new furnace was complete 3/7/2014. After installation the old furnace has been pushed aside in the crawl space. As of 4/15/2014 the old furnace is still in the crawl space. I have made repeated attempts to ask Guirkin to remove the old furnace, last attempt I talked to the owner about the situation, he said it is too difficult to remove the old furnace so they are refusing to remove it. They claim all their contracts for furnace installations have removal of the old units as part of the contract however they only honor removal of old units if it is easy, in the case of difficult removals they don't honor that part of the contract. I know from talking to other professionals about this, it is possible to remove the old furnace it just may require some extra work.

I believe any difficulties that maybe present in the removal of the old unit where obvious at the time of estimation, any difficulties should not have come as a surprise after disconnecting the old unit. For this reason I believe Guirkin is not in good faith honoring the contract.

Check fields!

Write a review of Guirkin Plumbing, Heating & A/C

Satisfaction rating
 
 
 
 
 
Upload here Increase visibility and credibility of your review by adding a photo

Guirkin Plumbing, Heating & A/C Rating

Overall satisfaction rating

Description: Plumbers

Address: 8447 Glazebrook Avenue, Richmond, Virginia, United States, 23228

Phone:

Show more...

Add contact information for Guirkin Plumbing, Heating & A/C

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | New | Updated