Sign in

Gulliver's Movers, Inc.

Sharing is caring! Have something to share about Gulliver's Movers, Inc.? Use RevDex to write a review
Reviews Gulliver's Movers, Inc.

Gulliver's Movers, Inc. Reviews (16)

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively...

Resolved]
 Complaint: [redacted]
I am rejecting this response because:
The company never responded to me or to the bank. I got my money back because I stopped the transaction and the bank found in my favor. 
Regards,
[redacted]

The company has responded that the complaint has been resolved. (money sent back and repairs made)

Revdex.com:
I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted], and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  Thank you for protecting the customer.
Regards,
[redacted]

From: [redacted] <[redacted]@gulliversmovers.com>Date: Tue, Jan 6, 2015 at 6:16 PMSubject: Gulliver's Movers - Order# [redacted]To: [redacted]Cc: [redacted] <[redacted]@myRevdex.com.org>, [redacted]@gulliversmovers.comDear [redacted], Gulliver’s appreciates your business and we would like to offer you the requested monetary refund of $700.00, credited to your account today, as settlement of your dispute and hope that you are settled in and enjoying the New Year. Cynthia V[redacted]General Manager & Sales Rep forGulliver's Moving & Storage[redacted]

Company states that the complaint has been resolved / repairs made.

From: <[redacted]@gulliversmovers.com>Date: Thu, Dec 4, 2014 at 10:06 PMSubject: Complaint ID # [redacted]To: [redacted]...

<[redacted]@myRevdex.com.org>
Dear [redacted]:
I regret not having responded in more detail to your previous requests.  The consumer was moved into our storage warehouse in April of 2014 and paid $340 for the labor into storage.  I don't believe he ever paid our monthly storage fee of $65/month.  When he contacted us in mid-July to deliver his household goods, we were experiencing a major traffic jam in our warehouse  caused by a number reasons.  We simply could not access his storage vault in a timely fashion.  We finally located his vault at the end of July and made delivery to his residence at no charge which would have saved him approximately $300 plus the 4 months of storage ($260). 
I believe that we have operated in good faith and feel that the consumer is not entitled to any more satisfaction.
Sincerely,
Joseph K[redacted]
President
Gullivers Movers, Inc.
###-###-####

The company has responded that they will resolve the complaint in the next ten days.

Dear [redacted],
Thank you for working with me in hopes of resolving this customers’ complaint filed with the Revdex.com.
I have attached two records that show 1) A delivery bill (free of charge) which shows the customer was not charged the standard storage out fee or delivery fees. 
2) As for the storage fees not having been charged regularly as intended, I question why a customer would not call to rectify this, but that is me.  I can also see where Mr White may have misconstrued the commentary of “She and Jason discussed the balance due on the storage unit and the dates in question of how many units and when they were supposed to be consolidated into 1. Jason said he was correcting the account to reflect the April consolidation. [redacted] told Jason that there was no problem paying the balance due..” once the statement was updated and fee’s reflected actuals, hence the card being ran for service/charges incurred to that date.  Also please note that there was no pro-rated amount for their storage from July 14th, 2014 to the August 1st, 2014 delivery date.
I hope this resolves/meets the requested correspondence.  Please let me know if there is anything further I can assit you with,
Regards,
Cynthia V[redacted]
General Manager
Gulliver’s Moving & Storage
Ofc [redacted]

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]
 Complaint: [redacted]
I am rejecting this response because: I did not receive an apology or explanation, and because the partial resolution comes after months of inaction, and non-responsiveness. Unfortunately, how they have handled this complaint raises more questions about the trustworthiness of this business, rather than resolving them.
I am very thankful to the Revdex.com for assisting in getting a partial refund.  That said, I am not satisfied with the business' response.  I notice they currently receive an A+ rating from Revdex.com.  While they may have partially resolved this issue with the partial refund, they did not follow Revdex.com policy in terms of timeline, ignoring correspondence from Revdex.com and me, and then lying to both the Revdex.com (saying they would resolve this at the last deadline months ago and failing to make any attempt to do so) and to me.  
I hope this is reflected in their rating with Revdex.com and I hope you will publish this incident and the correspondence with it. Their handling of this situation, or lack there-of, is not an example of a better business---or even an adequate or average business.  
I happen to be a Realtor---and our firm used to recommend Gullivers to our clients as one of three moving companies.  If this is how they treat someone in the industry, who has sent them business in the past, and tried resolve an unfortunate incident in a quick and friendly manner with all intention of continuing to recommend them had they handled the situation better, then how do they operate with one-time customers in the public who they know they'll never have to work with again?
Regards,
[redacted]

The company has responded that the complaint has been resolved (repairs made) and will follow up with you for outstanding issues within the next ten days.

Review: I found the service from Gulliver’s Movers to have been truly unprofessional and in breach of the basic contract terms in the following ways:

1. I had to make repeated calls to try to reach anyone about the status of my move.

a. I had to follow up on the initial quote. I called the office and the individuals who were working on my move. No one ever called me back. It was only through persistent calling that I ever reached anyone in your organization.

b. I the office called repeatedly throughout the move. No one returned my calls.

c. I called the office repeatedly after the move to try to resolve the issues. No one form the management team ever returned my calls.

2. The movers arrived extremely late each day I worked with them (6/20, 6/24, and 6/28).

a. On 6/20 they arrived at noon for a 9 AM start; three hours late. And then were not fed and wanted lunch which I would not provide for an afternoon service.

i. Because they were late starting, they were late finishing and I subsequently had to beg the building management to break the condo rules and allow for me to continue to load the truck after 5 PM. The load was not done until 6 PM.

ii. I called the main Gulliver’s Movers’ office several times during this event and no call was ever returned to me. Each time I got the receptionist who took my information, but no management person ever called me back.

iii. I had to lend a hand to get the items to the loading dock and only to the truck to make the 6PM finish time.

b. On 6/24 the movers were supposed to arrive at 9 AM but got lost.

i. I tried to give the driver directions to my new apartment before he left my Washington DC apartment on 6/24, but he refused the directions saying that he had a truck and needed to go specific router and would use his GPS. He was afraid the directions I gave him would not be appropriate for a truck.

ii. His GPS took him to the Holland tunnel which does not allow for trucks. If they knew they needed special routes, a professional company would have looked this up before getting to New York.

iii. If they had listed to me, and taken my directions, they would have arrived on time by going through [redacted] to [redacted].

iv. They did not arrive until 1 PM; 4 hours late. No one ever kept me informed to progress, or answered my calls. I was kept waiting hours. Finally, in persistent calling, the office answered my call and said the drivers were lost. Finally, after several repeated calls, the driver called me and asked for directions when they were trying to find their way through northern New Jersey.

c. On 6/28, the movers were supposed to arrive at 4 PM, they did not arrive until 9 PM; 4 hours late .

i. This meant that they had to move my china closet – the one which was broken in the initial pick-up – in the dark.

ii. Again, no one ever kept me informed to progress, or answered my calls. I was kept waiting and had given up all hope of seeing them that day until they arrived.

iii. When the movers arrived, I was informed that they started out from Maryland at 8 AM – not 3AM which is typical and therefore they were 5 hours late. A simple call during this would have alleviated a lot of anxiety as to the whereabouts of the truck.

3. The movers sent did not have experience in moving:

a. I thought that I had hired an experienced moving company. They is what the brochure said and was conveyed to me by Cindy V[redacted] who said in her email to me that “Gulliver's Movers has been successfully moving families in and out of the Washington DC Metro area and throughout the East Coast for over 23 years.” Instead, I got a very inexperienced crew:

i. Only the driver sent on 6/24 had worked for your company for more than a few weeks.

ii. One mover 6/24 said that this was his first day. He had no training.

iii. The other two movers had worked for the company for less than three weeks.

4. Despite the china closet having been mentioned in the initial quote documentation, not enough individuals were sent to pick up the piece on 6/24.

a. All the furniture was inspected by Cindy V[redacted] at the time of the quote when she conducted the in-house quotation; before it was picked up.

b. It is listed as a buffet base and a hutch (top) which is how the china closet comes apart. Cindy V[redacted] made it sound as if moving china closets was not a big deal.

c. The china closet was broken when the inexperienced mover dropped the one end to the ground. There was a repair of this corner attempted, but due to his inexperience, lack of training, and inability to carry his cover, a large chunk was broken off.

d. No one from Gulliver’s Movers called me after this event to discuss this situation with me. I did finally get to someone in the office who said they would attempt to fix it. It is not fixed.

5. At some point during the move, Gulliver’s Movers cracked the leg of the secretary. At some point, the secretary was dropped on its leg and it can no longer support itself. Again, I would have been happy to work with someone from Gulliver’s movers to remediate this situation, but no one called me back to address this situation.

6. Knowing that Gulliver’s movers damaged the china closet piece in the pick up on 6/24, when they came to deliver it on 6/28, they sent two men.

a. Gulliver’s’ movers management never called me and gave me the option of hiring more men for the delivery on 6/28.

b. Gulliver’s’ movers never spoke to me about the difficulty that they would have in moving this piece in, as no one ever called me back between the pickup and the delivery of this piece.

c. Nowhere in the quote did it say the number of people that would be involved, but clearly, they needed more people. The quote only indicated that the needed one truck.

7. On 6/28, having arrived with two people to move the china closet in, it became clear that I myself would have to assist in getting this china closet into my apartment. For the second time, I had to help lift and carry my furniture into place despite having paid for a service to do this. It was not a part of the service that I paid for that I would have to lend a hand in the move itself. What if I was incapable of lifting heavy objects and moving?

a. Still not having enough people, the driver went out to the street corner of [redacted] St. and [redacted] Avenue and hired two people who were drinking on the corner, to assist with the move. One person left. The other person, with alcohol on his breath, helped me, the driver and the second individual lift the china closet into place. It was unacceptable that Gulliver’s Movers opened my home up to unlicensed and unknown persons to move this china closet into the apartment. Clearly this was an unprofessional mover as he was found on the street.

b. This person, unknown to me and Gulliver’s movers, has now seen my apartment and its contents. It is unclear to anyone if this is a trustworthy individual. It is unprofessional to show up to a job without the appropriate number of people to handle the job. It is unprofessional to solicit assistance from men drinking on a corner for $100 cash. It is unprofessional to use assistance while those people are under the influence of alcohol – if not other substances. I am truly enraged by the lack of professionalism, thoughtfulness and consideration that was demonstrated by Gulliver’s Movers in this event.

c. No one from Gulliver’s movers management called me back to discuss this situation. The china closet was again damaged during the delivery and despite repeated calls, no manager called me back. The contract stated that Gulliver’s movers would attempt repairs, but no one ever came, and I was never contacted for such repairs. I finally got a hold of one person named Don who attempted a fix of the china after the damages on pickup. When I asked when he would be coming to fix the dames on delivery he said to speak with management. No one from management would return my many attempts to contact them.

Overall, I found the experience in dealing with Gulliver’s movers to have been very unprofessional and in breach of the contract. I would have worked this out with the management, but no one ever called me back from Gulliver’s’ movers despite many attempts to reach management and discuss the situation. With all that happened, I have to say that was the most frustrating part. I am in the process of obtaining my phone records from my cell phone and my desk phone to show the number of times I tried to reach out and discuss the situation with your company – with no response.

Gulliver’s movers did not, in any way, attempt to repair the furniture pieces after they were damaged in the delivery (the china closet for the second time). It states on the quote that “Gulliver's Movers Inc. always makes a serious effort to quickly repair any damaged property resulting from our error.” This did not happen. I have therefore had to solicit quotes from furniture repair companies. The first quote cost me $80 for the estimate of $750. I receives a second quote on Thursday 7/24 which cost me $40, just for the quote and an additional $300. I went with this quote to fix the furniture. I am forwarding this information to Gulliver’s Movers as it comes into me and expect the cost of the repairs to come out of the money that is being held back by Bank of America.Desired Settlement: I would please like the refund in the amounts to fix my china closet and secretary desk

Business

Response:

The company has responded that the complaint has been resolved. (money sent back and repairs made)

Consumer

Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Review: [redacted]

I am rejecting this response because:

The company never responded to me or to the bank. I got my money back because I stopped the transaction and the bank found in my favor.

Regards,

Review: Movers were hired to move furniture into our rental house on May 10th. First of all, the movers were rude and unprofessional as they moved saying things such as "I'm not going to throw my back out for this stuff." Additionally, they significantly damaged 4 large pieces of furniture and a mirror as well as made numerous scratches and dents in our walls. I called and asked to speak with management the following business day after the move - May 12th. The only person who contacted me for two weeks was their repairman. I only heard from a manager when I asked for a refund for services. His first attempt to call was last night (5/21) was after hours, and he did not leave a call back number. Additionally, I missed work for three scheduled appointments for them to come see the damaged furniture and pick it up for repairs. They only showed up to one appointment (5/20). Once, I was notified at the estimated time of arrival they weren't coming on 5/15, and then today (5/22), no one showed when I was told they would pick up the furniture for repairs. I missed a total of 8 hours of work all together for these (missed) appointments. After waiting an hour this morning, I called the repairmen who stated the work order did not go through for furniture pick-up b/c of the manager, Jason White, would not put it through until he spoke with me. As previously mentioned, in his message last night there was no call back number nor was there notification that no one would be showing up this morning to pick up the damaged furniture. Once he finally called (after repeated unanswered phone calls to the company this am), I was told he "wasn't aware" I had taken off and was waiting for someone to pick up my furniture this morning. When asked about both furniture repair and refund for time off work for missed appointments, he stated that they were already losing money on this given the repairs are going to be more expensive than the cost of the actual move. The end result of this conversation is that they would repair my furniture and he "might be able to reimburse" me for the time off work I had to take but he just wanted to take care of the furniture repair first. I also expressed my concern this morning that no one other than the repairmen has called since I made my complaint on 5/12. I was given the excuse of being short staffed. I do understand this as I am a nurse practitioner in an extremely busy practice with insufficient staffing. However, if I don't return phone calls and take care of matters at hand, it adversely effects my patients and their care. The bottom line is that this damage should have never happened to begin with, and now the situation isn't being handled appropriately. It's unacceptable practice and professionalism.Desired Settlement: I believe that after all the missed time off work, I am due a full refund in addition to them completing the appropriate and necessary repairs to my furniture.

Business

Response:

Company states that the complaint has been resolved / repairs made.

Consumer

Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Review: [redacted]

I am rejecting this response because: I called back for additional repairs as the initial work was not completed to my satisfaction. No one returned my phone calls or came back to redo the initial repairs. I spoke with the repairman Don who assured me he was going to return my call and return for follow up once he returned from his birthday vacation. He said I caught him at the airport. This call was made in June and there has been no communication since. I'm happy to attached further pictures of the repairs that were not to my satisfaction. Additionally, no monetary compensation for my trouble and loss of work wages for appointments they missed has ever been offered or given. I am still very unhappy with the communication of this company as they did a completely botched job with my move and have yet to make this situation satisfactory.

Regards,

Business

Response:

The company has responded that the complaint has been resolved (repairs made) and will follow up with you for outstanding issues within the next ten days.

Review: I hired Gulliver's Movers to assist me with moving a 1 bedroom apartment. The movers either lost or stole a backpack during the move that contained a laptop and an ipod. The movers also either lost or stole the keys to both my new apartment and my old apartment. I have repeatedly called the company regarding the incident, including immediately after the movers left, and have gotten no assistance regarding replacement of the lost or stolen items or any explanation for why these items never made it to my new apartment. I was just told that the individual who I need to speak to is out of the office for five days and there is no one else I can speak to regarding these lost items.

In addition, the company quoted me a $98/hour price for the move and on the day of the move after the job was completed increased the price to $138/hour without any prior warning. It took several calls with the company before they agreed to charge the original quoted price of $98/hour.

It has been a nightmare experience hiring them and would counsel anyone to avoid hiring them for any move.Desired Settlement: I would like them to either return the backpack and keys or provide compensation for the cost of the items in the backpack and the cost to get replacement keys made.

Review: I have had possessions in storage with this company for several months and I called to establish a date for the company to move me to a new apartment and bring my items out of storage to move them in as well. On the day of the move they told me they were unable to access my storage vault because of malfunctioning equipment (forklift) and that they would possibly be able to access it later in the day once they got another propane tank for it. That was July 12th and today is July 30th and I still do not have my possessions. After a week of issues with the forklift and repairs it suddenly became an issue of necessary personnel being on vacation. After constantly trying to communicate with the company to no avail and several calls with no information offered or some arbitrary guarantee of a date that doesn't come to fruition I have been left with no choices. I have called several times and been told that someone would call me back at a later time only to never hear from anyone from the company. I have received no voluntary information or status updates on the situation.Desired Settlement: My desired outcome is that the job is not only completed complimentary, but also that I receive a refund for my storage fees for the entire time that my property was in storage and also that I receive monetary compensation for the inconvenience that the company has caused me. Due to the nature of the items that are in storage I have been extremely inconvenienced.

Business

Response:

From: <[redacted]@gulliversmovers.com>Date: Thu, Dec 4, 2014 at 10:06 PMSubject: Complaint ID # [redacted]To: [redacted] <[redacted]@myRevdex.com.org>

Review: In December of 2012, we hired Gulliver’s Movers to move our business from an office in [redacted] to an office in [redacted] (just a couple miles away). We had a successful move and paid on the day of the move with a credit card. We also put items in their [redacted] location storage facility and authorized a monthly storage fee on that same credit card. We initially started with 3 storage (large wooden crate) units and after the first visit, [redacted] was told by Eugene that he would consolidate into 2 units. [redacted] went into the storage unit 3 times to sell items in January and February of 2013. She last visited the storage unit in April 2013, when she sold a large desk. At that time, Eugene said that he would consolidate the items into 1 storage unit because we only had 7 items remaining in storage.

We had no need to get into the storage unit because the remainder of the items didn't sell until recently. When [redacted] tried to contact Eugene she was told that he no longer worked for the company. On June 26th, she set up an appointment to show the remaining items to a gentleman interested in purchasing them at noon on Monday, July 7th . That morning [redacted] received a phone call saying that they wouldn't be able to show the items because their forklift was broken. They rescheduled the appointment for July 9th and as she confirmed the [redacted] address, she learned that the items were no longer in storage in [redacted], that they had shut down the facility and moved the items to [redacted], MD, without notifying me. Keep in mind, their company moved us from [redacted] to [redacted]. We provided both addresses. We provided 2 cell phone numbers. We provided a credit card for payment. None of this information has changed.

After learning this, the buyer decided to go ahead and trust that the items were “as advertised” and purchase them sight unseen. [redacted] arranged to have the items delivered to him in [redacted] for $216.70 on Monday, July 14th. On the day of delivery they never called and never showed up. Christina (from Gullivers movers) called at 3:15pm that afternoon to schedule the delivery (which had already been scheduled for delivery that day). After [redacted] spoke with Jason, the general manager, at the Maryland office, he said they called both numbers and went to the location and no one was there. [redacted] then called the buyer who said there had been several people in the office all day and his phones were working fine. He asked if they opened the door and walked in - it is an office, not a residence. We learned later that they went to the wrong address ([redacted], not [redacted]). During that same conversation, Jason and [redacted] talked about the balance due on the storage closeout which was $75 and the move fee of $216.70, which [redacted] had provided a company visa card and authorized for that amount on the day they scheduled the delivery for Monday July 14th. She and Jason discussed the balance due on the storage unit and the dates in question of how many units and when they were supposed to be consolidated into 1. Jason said he was correcting the account to reflect the April consolidation. [redacted] told Jason that there was no problem paying the balance due but she DID NOT authorize a $1500 charge!!! We had never received a bill, an itemized statement or any correspondence from Gulliver’s after the day of the move. Again, keep in mind, their company was provided a credit card for payment - which they never charged for the monthly storage unit.

Back to the delivery...when they did get to the office they tried to deliver a mattress, dresser, and some other items, clearly NOT office furniture. This created an issue as to whether or not they actually have the items. [redacted] has called several times every day to try to reach someone to resolve the issue and get the answer to the question if they have our items at all. She has spoken to two office employees (when they answered the phone) who assured her that Jason was in the warehouse working on the issue at that time. On Friday, July 18th, she was assured by Christina that the items were in the warehouse, and would be delivered on Monday, July 21st. Monday came and went with no delivery. The buyer confirmed that Gulliver’s had not been there and again, someone was in the office all day.

At 3pm, July 22nd, I called and spoke to the office. I left very clear instructions as to my intention to file this complaint, file with the bank for fraud, and have our lawyer file suit against them if we were not contacted with a resolution that day. It is July 23rd and there has been no response (again).Desired Settlement: 1. The unauthorized credit card charge of $1500 needs to be refunded immediately.

2. The items need to be presented ASAP. If Gulliver’s cannot present the items then we should not be required to pay for storage after April 2013, since that is the last time [redacted] saw the items and they cannot prove they they stored them for any period beyond that date. (For all we know, they could have sold the items instead of moving them to Maryland since we weren't notified of the move). If they cannot present the items in a reasonable time (they have already had since June 26th) then restitution for the value of the lost items needs to be paid.

4. If the items are located, a billing statement for the storage unit needs to be provided before any authorization for payment will be made.

We are willing to pay for the storage, AFTER the items are delivered and a billing statement is provided.

Business

Response:

Items have been delivered. The customer was not charged for the delivery of items or any storage labor fees moving them out. The $1500 charge was for rent owed and unpaid for previous 6 months. So at this time Gulliver's has completed work at no charge and considers matter closed.

Consumer

Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Review: [redacted]

I am rejecting this response because:

Review: I utilized Gullivers Movers for my move on 8/1 within my apartment complex in [redacted] (from [redacted] to [redacted], which is about 1/2 a block apart). My move time, which I booked over a month in advance, was scheduled to start at 900am, and I had received an estimate for a 2 man crew for a 4 to 6 hour move. The crew did not arrive until after 1000a (outside of the 9a-930a window), and did not call until they were nearby. When they arrived, they discovered the ramp to their truck was broken and they would not be able to use it for the move. It took 10 hours to move a 1 bedroom apartment with everything packed ahead of time and no unusual items (the team even complimented me on my organization). Admittedly, the building I moved out of had one small elevator that added to the moving time, however, I feel that the ramp problem probably added 2 or 3 hours to the move. Last time I moved, it took less than 8 hours, and that included a cross town drive. For example, every time something heavy need to go into the truck, the man working in the apartment had to stop what he was doing and go down and to help lift it into the truck. Though I was upstairs most of the time, when I was downstairs, I watched as they tried to lift one of the large bins into the truck and it was too heavy and everything fell out onto the ground. Fortunately, nothing was broken in that bin, but they had to stop and put all these items in one at a time. However, it seems like things were handled a little rougher than if they had been able to run things up the ramp (ie, thrown into the truck instead of run up the ramp). The team foreman even said he didn’t really appreciate the job because he didn’t expect it to be 10 hours. He said they should have sent 3 people, and I don’t understand why I wasn’t given that option when I called for a estimate. The company is very familiar with my complex, so much so their information and a 5% coupon is in the welcome packet they give out at the leasing office, it seems that they should aware of the challenges those building might have posed. In addition, when I expressed my displeasure to the supervisor during check out about how much longer this move went over the estimate, I was simply offered at 5% discount, which felt a little insulting, since I already had coupon for 5% off (which I mentioned).

Since the move finished afterhours (at 7p), I left a message that night and called first thing the next day to follow up. I was told to speak with [redacted], and over the next 7 days left several messages for him to call me, and he never returned a single call. Finally, I was able to get him on the phone the next week. I expressed the same sentiments to him I’ve outlined above. He offered to give me a credit for one hour. To this date, that credit has not been applied to my credit card. He also said any credit beyond that would require speaking with the General Manager, so he took my information and said he’d leave a message to call me. I never recieved any phone call. I also emailed the General Manager, [redacted], twice. Once on 8/21 and again on 9/24 with no response. The last email I said if I did not hear from him by 10/1, I would be filing this complaint.

I had several items damaged, including 2 legs to my couch which were broken off completely. The team told me about this right away and said they had called in. They even took the broken legs with them so the repair man could fix them correctly. He said someone would be out in a week or so, and even took pictures to help speed up the repair. I also discovered after the move in, a chunk of the fabric in my ottoman was torn, the leather on my couch was really scuffed up, and there was significant damage to my bookshelves. I called several times to find out the status of the repairs and seem to get different answers. Last time I called (on August 15th), I was transferred to the cell phone of the person who handles the repairs, which was the first time I’d ever even been told I had to speak with that person. He asked me to text him because he was in transit and he’d be in touch to make an appointment to come take a look at the damage. I texted him immediately after hanging up the phone (on Aug 15th at 1214pm) have not heard from him since. I've had to move forward and fix most of the items myself at my own expense. This despite the company's website claim that "event of damage, our dedicated repair man will ensure a satisfactory, timely resolution."

In all, I probably made dozens of calls to Gullivers to try and get some resolution. I never once got a return phone call from them. When I was able to get someone on the phone, I was usually given different instructions or made promises that were never followed through on. Despite my frustration, I was always polite and professional, and I don't feel like their response gave me the same courtesy.Desired Settlement: I had used this company for a move 3 years prior. I had been incredibly happy with their service at that time which is why I chose them for this move. At this point, I would never use their service again and will never recommend them to anyone else. While a move always ends up costing a little more, between the added time as a result of their faulty equipment and the repairs I had to pay for, I've spent about $1400 on this move, which is almost double the estimate I recieved initially. That doesn't even count the time I spent just trying to get some resolution from them. They have not met the terms of their service, and therefore, I would like a full refund of the amount I was charged for the move. If they provide this, I will absorb the cost for the repairs. If they only provide a partial refund, I would then like to be refunded for the cost of repairing the items damaged in the moving process. Since they have not credited my credit card as promised in the past, I would like a check for those funds.

Consumer

Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Review: [redacted]

I am rejecting this response because: Per our telephone agreement on January 3rd, I was to receive a refund totaling $441. This was to reflect the amount they went over their estimate plus an additional $100 for the damaged items they did not repair. [redacted], General Manager of Gulliver's Movers, said a check for that amount less $98 had already been sent and would arrive by or on 1/9/14. As of 1/16/14, that check has not been received and is now a week overdue, which I believe is beyond what one might reasonably chalk up to normal mail delivery delays.

During that same 1/3/14 conversation, **. [redacted] had indicated that they had sent a check for $98 in August, which was why my refund was less $98. I informed him that I had never received this check and asked that it be reissued. **. [redacted] agreed to do so. I asked that he please call to let me know the check had been reissued and when I might expect it. **. [redacted] again agreed. I followed up via email on 1/6/14 to again ask per our agreement for confirmation the check had been reissued. **. [redacted]'s reply was simply the confirmation number for the check issued August that was never received and nothing else. When I again asked for confirmation he had requested the check be reissued, I got no reply. As of 1/16/14, I have not received this check either or any indication that check has been reissued.

I did notice in his reply to the Revdex.com that **. [redacted] had several different refund amounts listed. In the BOL, he said he was refunding $541, and in the response letter he said had issued a check for $339 (which, plus the additional $98, only equals $437). However, our understanding per the 1/3/14 telephone conversation was a refund in the amount $441. **. [redacted] asked repeatedly if I would close the complaint, and I

made it very clear both verbally and in writing that I would do so when I had received the full $441. (something I am still willing to do)

Therefore, I reject the company's response, as they have not met the terms of the agreement made on 1/3/14 since the full refund has not been received.

Regards,

Business

Response:

I am holding in my hand....the returned check from **s [redacted]. it was returned to us as undeliverable. I can have her pick up this check and the other or we need a valid address and time to deliver it to her.

Consumer

Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Review: [redacted]

The address listed on the check is incomplete which is why it has been returned. It does not include the apartment number, which, in addition to being in their records from my actual move, was reflected on the Revdex.com Complaint and also confirmed in my phone conversation with **. [redacted] when we agreed to this settlement. I assume this was also the case on the $98 check they claimed to have sent in August.

I understand that this was likely just an error of ommission on the part of the bank. However, it could have been easily sorted if someone from Gullivers had contacted me when the Postal Office returned them with a sticker that said "incomplete address" either time it occured. I have emailed **. [redacted] the correct address and requested that he resend both checks. When I recieve those, I will accept and close the complaint.

Regards,

Business

Response:

Company provided both checks to [redacted] to settle the complaint.

Check fields!

Write a review of Gulliver's Movers, Inc.

Satisfaction rating
 
 
 
 
 
Upload here Increase visibility and credibility of your review by
adding a photo
Submit your review

Gulliver's Movers, Inc. Rating

Overall satisfaction rating

Description: Movers, Moving & Storage Company

Address: 5500 Lafayette Pl, Hyattsville, Maryland, United States, 20781

Phone:

Show more...

Web:

www.gulliversmovers.com

This site can’t be reached

Shady, yet now dead: once upon a time this website was reported to be associated with Gulliver's Movers, Inc., but after several inspections we’ve come to the conclusion that this domain is no longer active.



Add contact information for Gulliver's Movers, Inc.

Add new contacts
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | New | Updated