Sign in

Hanger Clinic

Sharing is caring! Have something to share about Hanger Clinic? Use RevDex to write a review
Reviews Orthopedic Appliances, Prosthetic Hanger Clinic

Hanger Clinic Reviews (25)

• Jun 09, 2021

Terrible!
Making people in FL.wait MONTHS for appointments and devices. They are the only place Medicare uses in FL. Between my doctors screening ho paperwork and Hanger having a monopoly in FL on these devices patients suffer needlessly for a long time. I have been trying to get knee braces for over 3 months and its going to be a couple more.months. I can hardly walk, I am desperate. I called very location within 50 miles and it was amonth wait for.all but one office Some offices never answered the phone and I was sent to.an answering service during business hours. Another office barely spoke to me and told me "We are too busy to answer your questions " I called corporate and they were.no help it was excuse after.excuse. If you are in FL it will be waiting months on end to get appropriate medical.care.and devices. Medicare needs.to be made.aware there are enormous issues with Hanger.

• Aug 14, 2020

Bottom Tier
VA assigned me to come to this clinic for a knee brace. At my first appointment I was 10 minutes early, but I still waited over 35 past my appointment time to be seen. In the mean time other patients came and went within a couple of minutes of checking in. Okay they're busy. Right? BUT the person who saw me was a new face...he hadn't interface with the previous clients and now I can only assume he had just got to work or..?. Then after going in to the examining room, he excused himself to go get a measuring tape. Then for over 10 minutes he was gone, but I could hear him outside my room BSing with his fellow workers. Okay just a bad day...crap #@^& happens. Then this week, I came in for my 2nd appt and the same thing is going down...other patients come in and are seen in a few minutes, but after 25 minutes past my assigned appointment time And Zero interface -again- from anyone as to why the wait, I went to the reception window and told them I was leaving and when they weren't so busy...yes right... call and reschedule me. She nodded her head, without saying a thing. Like they couldn't care less. Now it has been 2 days since my visit and I haven't heard a word from them. I'll be contacting VA to let them know my experience with this group...hopefully, they'll find someone else that is more attentive to their patient.

The real cost of poor customer service.
I have been in the process of trying to order a pair of supportive, diabetic shoes for my patient for over a year. I called the patient to find out that he is having his Lt great toe amputated this Friday because HANGER failed to contact the patient for a final face-to-face visit.

If it were possible to aware HANGER "no stars" I would.

The final cost HANGER's poor customer is measured not in money, but in flesh. I hope they are proud of their reputation.

Michael Worley, RN, FNP

Aurora Il office has had script for almost 3 months and never called once to say come in and schedule an appt. I called them during that time to see if they had the script in and was told they did not. Poor customer service! They deserve Zero Stars but that's not a choice! Won't ever go there again.

the folks at the middle Georgia facility are wonderful. The facility is clean and orderly. but the best part is the focus on getting things right for me. I have a knee disark (not a below or above but through the knee). That was a good choice way back when but now they have great AK knees and sockets (the sockets then had issues). if I had to do it over again I would choose the AK option. fitting a disark stump is problematic. but the folks at Hanger take it seriously and focus on both function but also comfort. getting the socket right takes time and effort. Shout out to Darrell Hallman who is focused on getting things perfect for me. I can't speak for every office but the one I use is simply grand

I am writing you in regards to the compliant you received on 8/9/with the ID of Upon receiving the complaint I was very disappointed about hearing about the complainant's dissatisfaction, as we pride ourselves on excellent customer service and standards of careBefore I address the complaints from the complainant I would like to give you some background about our company and cranial remolding orthoses, like the one the complainant's son received Hanger Clinic is a national corporation that specializes in orthotics and prosthetics, also known as bracing and artificial limbs Our practitioners must meet strict certification standard through national boards of certification to be allowed to practiceCranial remolding orthoses fall under our scope of care and require further education to be certified to treat patients in need of a cranial remolding orthosis A cranial remolding orthosis (CRO), which the complainant refers to as a helmet, is an orthosis that is designed to correct plagiocephaly, which is the flattening of the skullCRO's require extensive and exact measurements of the infants skull a long with a detailed scan to capture to shape of the infants current head shape so that a CRO can be custom fabricated for each patientOnce the CRO is custom fabricated for the patient it needs to be fit and adjusted by the practitioner to ensure there is a proper fit with no impingement of the soft tissue and bony anatomy of the infant's cranium After this initial fitting the infant must be seen every 2-weeks for follow up visits to make adjustments to the CRO to continue to provide a proper fit and to take measurements to track progressThese follow up appointments are extremely important due to the rapid growth of an infant's head in the first years of life, any missed appointments can lead to sores and/or slowed progress in improvements in the infant's head shape In regards to the complaint about the CRO not being fit and alleging that the CRO was not custom made, this is untrueAs I have stated above, every CRO fit and provided by Hanger clinic is custom made,with many measurements and laser scan taken so that a CRO can be accurately fabricated per patient In this patient's case the first CRO that was fabricated had an unsatisfactory fit in my professional opinion, so we had the CRO refabricated to ensure a proper fit The complaint about the CRO blocking 1/of the left side of the face is untrue and exaggeratedA properly fit CRO has f langes that extend from the top of the CRO down the cheeks to about level with the bottom of the earThese frame the face and are trimmed so they do not block peripheral visionDuring one of the follow up appointments, I noticed some minor irritation on the left cheek,which led me to adjust the inside of the CRO in that area to prevent further impingementAt a later appointment the parents ask me to completely cut off this flange,this is what the complaint refers to as blocking 1/of the face I did not do this adjustment as it would compromise the structural integrity of the CRO and also prevent proper control and containment of the infant's head I explained this to the parents at that time as to why I would not make the adjustment and my rationale for not doing so and believed at that time that they understood An issue that was a reoccurring issue with this patient including the appointment on July 29th was being late for follow up appointments and/or not showing up for follow up appointments at allAs stated above follow up appointments for a CRO are extremely important for continued proper fit and function of the CROWhen these appointments were missed,Hanger Clinic needed to reach out to the parents to let them know they missed a follow up appointment and need to be rescheduled as soon as possible to make sure the CRO was still properly fitting In these instances, we were very flexible and fit them in at their earliest convenience In the orthotic and prosthetic field it is standard practice that with patients running minutes late it is at the discretion of the practitioner if the patient needs to be rescheduled or will be seen, and patients running late by minutes or more need to be rescheduled as this will more than likely effect the next patientWhen the patient's parents were late for the follow up appointments, often between 15-minutes, they would be seen but this would consistently cause their appointment to run over into the next patient's appointment, which is not fair to the other patientsOn July 29th the patient's parent showed up minutes late for the appointment They are correct in saying that when they walked in there was not another patient in the office, as that time was supposed to be for them,but minutes after their arrival the next patient walked in for their appointment During that time when they were in the office a technician for our HVAC walked in and needed to be shown the location of the unit, since my administrator was trying to get the patient rescheduled I pointed out this location and went back to getting materials ready for the next patient's appointment These allegations of Hanger Clinic being unprofessional, unethical and offering poor customer service are slanderousAt this location alone we see hundreds of new patients a year that state the exact opposite of what this patient claims l hope this helps to clarify the situationIf you have any further questions please do not hesitate to contact me

August 4, 2016To [redacted] ,Hanger received the Revdex.com Complain ID: [redacted] ( [redacted] ) dated July 21, and have been in the process of reviewing this complaintI understand from your voicemail that this complaint is closed and there is no further response needed from HangerPlease let me know if any further action or information is needed.Regards,Kelly WCorporate Paralegal

In 2015 I had a RBKA an had a prosthetic within six months of surgery. Unfortunately that company made an adjustment that caused an ulcer at the end of the bone. I then had a RAKA in January 2017 and turned to Hanger in Ithaca NY for a AKA prosthetic. Unfortunately I have found Hanger Customer Service to be very lacking. I have been told that the holdup was paper work and there were other times it was 3 or 4 weeks between appointments. I have been transferred to Hanger Johnson City, NY. I am writing this on October 24, 2019 and still DO NOT HAVE A PROSTHETIC. This is the main reason that I have been in The Crown Nursing and Rehab Center all of this time. Need less to say that I have missed being with my family birthdays, anniversaries and holidays. And today I was once again told that there was another paper holdup.
On your web site you talk about how great your Customer Service is, which is the main reason I chose Hanger.

I have an ankle that didn't heal rt. I causes a lot of pain . My rehab guy told me about this place near me in Montrose Colorado. I have gone to these type of people before but it had been a few years 7 . So I called they were kind ,polite and very pleasant. I missed or was late getting there can't remember.they were still very nice . Been to doctors enough if you do the s they get rude . No here . Any ways I explained what I needed he just said ok let me take a cast of your leg . Wow really. Three weeks later I had a brace I could wear with any of my own shoes and I walk so much better. I cant thank them enough.

I purchased a 34,dollar can Am from them like to led me t over in show room they took it to clean it up and (PDI) it but they took it out for a joy ride burned out the tires where rubber was hanging off tires clutch dust all over rearend doors fell off side mirror fell off on way home on a trailer Went down to talk with owner and told me to get out of the store or she would call the policeSome much for customer service

------ Forwarded message ----------From: Revdex.com of Metro Washington DC Date: Wed, Aug 3, at 2:PMSubject: Fwd: Case # ***To: ***@myRevdex.com.org---------- Forwarded message ----------From: Date: Wed, Aug 3, at 12:
PMSubject: Case # ***To: [email protected] is to let you know that I have received the check.Thank you for your assistance,*** ***@***.com

Terrible, closed clinic my children went to without noticeFailed to do prior auth to insurance company as wellWould never do business here again!

I have a Genuine Hooligan Motor Scooter that is still under factory warranty On 1/3, I dropped it off at Central Coast Yamaha which is a Genuine Scooter Authorized dealer On 1/I received a call from Central Coast Yamaha and the service person told me that Genuine would not cover diagnosing the problem under warranty I was told I had to pay for diagnosing the issue with my scooter and the minimum shop charge would be $ I instructed them not to take any action and that I would pick my scooter up on 1/ When I went in to get my scooter I was charged $for 1/hour labor for the service person calling Genuine to request warranty coverage He also stated that he went through the manual twice looking for a fix, although he stated earlier and subsequently that there was no manual for my model of scooter In my lifetime, I have never been charged for a vehicle service department processing a warranty issueCan't understand how this dealer got an A+ Revdex.com rating

• Dec 19, 2020

I also have a scooter through the VA. Also under warranty. I took it to A-Ability for some warranty work. They also informed me that I had to pay for the labor but not the parts. I told them this was through the VA and that ended the labor charge. I will say they are very nice and caring people but they have a business to run.

This letter is written about the Hanger Clinic in Jacksonville Beach, Fl. I have been going there for years after suffering a TBI in a car accident. Today (Sept. 19, 2018) was about the 8th time (over a period about of a year and a half) I have been to see you about getting an orthotic. About 4 of my visits were met with "I'm sorry there is a problem with your brace. We tried to call you but were unable to get ahold of you. You'll have to come back" We then would notice they have the wrong phone number down for me. I would give them the correct number and they assured me it was changed to the proper number. This exact scenario just repeated itself for the fourth time today. My wife was there for three of these episodes and also shares my anger and disbelief. The lady behind the counter ALWAYS has strongly implied this was all my fault and that I had forgotten to fill out the necessary paperwork . I have my Master's degree and this was earned after my accident, yet she always speaks to me as if I'm incompetent. I have seen her treat other disabled individuals in a similar manner.

I've know Hanger has provided a needed service to many disabled individuals. I also know of numerous disabled friends who have left Hanger feeling diminished and angry. It all starts at the front desk. Find someone who treats a disabled person with respect and watch your business grow.

Anonymous

I have been working with Hanger Clinic, particularly the Tupelo Ms Branch for 15+ years. I cannot compliment Will Whittington CPO enough, he has helped me thru so many difficult situations and is always so very kind and courteous. I HIGHLY recommend this facility, they are always very polite and courteous.

I went to Hanger Clinic in Bluffton, SC in May 2018 for a brace for my right foot. The patient care coordinator Minnie Simmons, PCC was extreamly helpful and efficient in working with me and my medical provider.
Thank you Minnie,
Vivian Mellett

I went to Hanger clinic in Ontario, CA for a helmet for my premature baby boy because my insurance didn't cover Cranial technologies(who we had had an appointment for already). From the beginning things seemed not professional in that our approval sat at their desk and I had to call and had them check for them to schedule us. The practitioner Michelle talked a lot about how much better they were than their competition Cranial technologies so she made it seem logical and true. So on our day to take the measurements, they put the "sock" on my baby and her phone wasn't taking the pictures. 15 minutes later after she restarted her phone and the system my son got fuzzy and we had to schedule. I requested a different room hoping for better reception this time and we had her manager go in and assist her. Must've been reception because in 2 minutes he was done with the all around pictures. She still said it was my baby who wouldn't stay still the first time. Lies! So we finally get the helmet, from the beginning it wasn't sitting right on his head. They had to file down from inside, from the back, from everywhere. We tried it and a week later came back for better fitting. I requested that they drill holes for ventilation, they tell me they did not have the tool for it so I'd have to wait for next visit. Next visit Michelle tells me she just went to buy the tool at home depot. All the holes were a different size. My pinky fit through one of them. The material on the inside was left horrible as if it got chiseled out. She stated they had to go buy the right tool to file the holes from inside. Apparently this clinic had no experience with this. For a few weeks we kept going back to have the helmet filed down for better fitting.
The worst thing they did was, after realizing helmet wasn't fitting because they filed down TOO MUCH on the inside side burn part, Michelle went and GLUED ON a piece of foam on the side burn part. WE put on the helmet and leave, and hour later my son had a QUARTER-SIZE RASH/BURN! I feel they used industrial glue and didn't wipe down the excess before putting it on my child. Of course I called right away and the next day they decide that helmet wasn't working and had too many issues and they decide to provide a new one out of pocket for them. I never received and apology for the big rash they caused my boy. Michelle never saw us again. When we went for the new helmet (1 week later) his first scab was barely hardening. 2 weeks later we went for fitting since by now he hadn't worn a helmet for 3 weeks, and his skin was still not healed from the reaction Michelle cause with that glue. This time we saw a new practitioner who didn't know the back story to this second helmet. The week of the rash I called their corporate office and complained and I got a call back from the clinic but just to know what happened. No one apologized to what had happened to my boy. Now he had a light scar on his right side burn. I hope this isn't permanent. But I definitely don't recommend this clinic to anyone. Their unprofessionalism is just unacceptable. No acknowledgement of their mistakes. Michelle never showed her face in my visits and she is the first who should've apologized. Worst thing I've put my baby through!

Diabetic inserts were fabricated from mold of patients feet. Inserts were fabricated two different times. Unfortunately patient not pleased with fit of arch supports stating they were too narrow. Patient was instructed to bring in the “old” inserts that she was pleased with and inserts would be...

refabricated at no charge. However, patient did not return with inserts that she wanted fabricated. Patient was only charged for shoes that were delivered. No charges were made for any of the inserts. Thank you, [redacted]   [redacted] Office Adminstrator   Hanger Clinic

I am writing you in regards to the compliant you received on 8/9/2014 with the ID of 10171071.  Upon receiving the complaint I was very disappointed about hearing about the complainant's dissatisfaction, as we pride ourselves on excellent customer service and standards of care. Before I address...

the complaints from the complainant I would like to give you some background about our company and cranial remolding orthoses, like the one the complainant's son received.
Hanger Clinic is a national corporation that specializes in orthotics and prosthetics, also known as bracing and artificial limbs.  Our practitioners must meet strict certification standard through national boards of certification to be allowed to practice. Cranial remolding orthoses fall under our scope of care and require further education to be certified to treat patients in need of a cranial remolding orthosis.
A cranial remolding orthosis (CRO), which the complainant refers to as a helmet, is an orthosis that is designed to correct plagiocephaly, which is the flattening of the skull. CRO's require extensive and exact measurements of the infants skull a long with a detailed scan to capture to shape of the infants current head shape so that a CRO can be custom fabricated for each patient. Once the CRO is custom fabricated for the patient it needs to be fit and adjusted by the practitioner to ensure there is a proper fit with no impingement of the soft tissue and bony anatomy of the infant's cranium.  After this initial fitting the infant must be seen every 2-3 weeks for follow up visits to make adjustments to the CRO to continue to provide a proper fit and to take measurements to track progress. These follow up appointments are extremely important due to the rapid growth of an infant's head in the first years of life, any missed appointments can lead to sores and/or slowed progress in improvements in the infant's head shape.
In regards to the complaint about the CRO not being fit and alleging that the CRO was not custom made, this is untrue. As I have stated above, every CRO fit and provided by Hanger clinic is custom made,with many measurements and laser scan taken so that a CRO can be accurately fabricated per patient . In this patient's case the first CRO that was fabricated had an unsatisfactory fit in my professional opinion, so we had the CRO refabricated to ensure a proper fit.
The complaint about the CRO blocking 1/3 of the left side of the face is untrue and exaggerated. A properly fit CRO has f langes that extend from the top of the CRO down the cheeks to about level with the bottom of the ear. These frame the face and are trimmed so they do not block peripheral vision. During one of the follow up appointments, I noticed some minor irritation on the left cheek,which led me to adjust the inside of the CRO in that area to prevent further impingement. At a later appointment the parents ask me to completely cut off this flange,this is what the complaint refers to as blocking 1/3 of the face.  I did not do this adjustment as it would compromise the structural integrity of the CRO and also prevent proper control and containment of the infant's head.  I explained this to the parents at that time as to why I would not make the adjustment and my rationale for not doing so and believed at that time that they understood.
 
An issue that was a reoccurring issue with this patient including the appointment on July 29th was being late for follow up appointments and/or not showing up for follow up appointments at all. As stated above follow up appointments for a CRO are extremely important for continued proper fit and function of the CRO. When these appointments were missed,Hanger Clinic needed to reach out to the parents to let them know they missed a follow up appointment and need to be rescheduled as soon as possible to make sure the CRO was still properly fitting . In these instances, we were very flexible and fit them in at their earliest convenience.  In the orthotic and prosthetic field it is standard practice that with  patients running 15 minutes late it is at the discretion of the practitioner if the patient needs to be
rescheduled or will be seen, and patients running late by 30 minutes or more need to be rescheduled as this will more than likely effect the next patient. When the patient's parents were late for the follow up appointments, often between 15-25 minutes, they would be seen but this would consistently cause  their appointment to run over into the next patient's appointment, which is not fair to the other patients. On July 29th the patient's parent showed up 50 minutes late for the appointment . They are
 
correct in saying that when they walked in there was not another patient in the office, as that time was supposed to be for them,but 5 minutes after their arrival the next patient walked in for their appointment.  During that time when they were in the office a technician for our HVAC walked in and needed to be shown the location of the unit, since my administrator was trying to get the patient rescheduled I pointed out this location and went back to getting materials ready for the next patient's appointment.
These allegations of Hanger Clinic being unprofessional, unethical and offering poor customer service are slanderous. At this location alone we see hundreds of new patients a year that state the exact opposite of what this patient claims.
l hope this helps to clarify the situation. If you have any further questions please do not hesitate to
contact me.

August 4, 2016To [redacted],Hanger received the Revdex.com Complain ID: [redacted]) dated July 21, 2016 and have been in the process of reviewing this complaint. I understand from your voicemail that this complaint is closed and there is no further response needed from Hanger. Please let me know if any further action or information is needed.Regards,Kelly W. Corporate Paralegal

Check fields!

Write a review of Hanger Clinic

Satisfaction rating
 
 
 
 
 
Upload here Increase visibility and credibility of your review by adding a photo

Hanger Clinic Rating

Overall satisfaction rating

Description: Prosthetic Devices, Orthopedic Appliances

Address: 1054 Bellefontaine Ave STE B, Lima, Ohio, United States, 45804-1869

Phone:

Show more...

Web:

www.hanger.com

This site can’t be reached

Shady, yet now dead: once upon a time this website was reported to be associated with Hanger Clinic, but after several inspections we’ve come to the conclusion that this domain is no longer active.



Add contact information for Hanger Clinic

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | New | Updated