Sign in

Historic French Market Inn

Sharing is caring! Have something to share about Historic French Market Inn? Use RevDex to write a review
Reviews Historic French Market Inn

Historic French Market Inn Reviews (4)

Review: Our stay was from Sunday, November 1st, 2015 - Wednesday, November 4th, 2015. Our initial room number was 414, and our final room number was 314.

During our first two nights at the hotel, we stayed in room 414 and did not have any issues. However, at approximately 2:30 am on the third night, my girlfriend woke me when she jumped out of bed complaining that she had felt something crawling on her. Assuming that it was some kind of bug, I pulled back the covers to discover a mouse in the bed. After chasing it into the closet, my girlfriend was hysterical. I called the front desk to report what had happened.

The response that I received from the front desk was completely inadequate. There was no apology or even any concern. The woman working at the desk simply stated that there was no one from maintenance available and that there was really nothing she could do. I insisted that we change rooms, at which point she began checking in the computer, stating that she did not think that they had another of our room type available or anything in our building, although an interior room might be available. I told her any other room would be better than the one we were in. After searching for a minute, she stated that Room 314 was available, that it was the same room type and located directly under the room in which we were staying (Room 414). I told her that that would work, and she said that she would have the bellman come up to move us to the new room. Again, there was no apology from the clerk at the desk, and while the bellman was courteous, he also had nothing to say about it. Although the new room appeared to be clean and free of rodents, my girlfriend was still extremely upset and was not able to sleep that night.

The next day, during checkout, I brought up to the clerk (a different woman) what had happened and the fact that we had had to change rooms. Again, there was no apology or even a measure of concern, simply an, "Oh, that's fine." I also emailed the hotel, but I never received a response.Desired Settlement: I found not only this situation but the staff's response to be wholly unacceptable. My desired resolution would be to receive an apology from the hotel and for them to refund one-third of the total amount that we spent on the three nights at the hotel. I feel that this would be fair given what happened and the fact that we never actually slept in the room on the third night.

Consumer

Response:

At this time, I have not been contacted by Historic French Market Inn regarding complaint ID 10991716.

Regards,

We stayed here for Mardi Gras 2014 and had the perfect trip, the perfectly located Inn being a big part of that. Therefore, it is with a heavy heart that I must relate the problems we had this year. We made reservations for 2/4-2/10/16 back in Aug 2015, street side balcony room (quoted price of $2,400.). $200 was charged to our credit card immediately. In Nov 2015, our card company had an internal security breach and issued all new cards. In Dec 2015, my son received 2 emails from the Inn, both with the subject line "RESERVATION CONFIRMATION." He saw them as reminders and did not open either. Jan 2016 he called the Inn, just to make sure all was set for our arrival. They told him our reservations had been cancelled because the card number was no longer valid. NOTE: They had his phone number and snail address, but did not use either to contact him. He was told we would have a room: "whatever is available when you get here." Another $2,200.+ was immediately charged to the new credit card. The room we were assigned was tiny - obviously a single with another bed moved in. There was a very small coffee stand in one corner, a small bedstand, and the bathroom door brushed the side of one bed when opened, closet about 18" wide, barely room to walk around the ends and between the beds. There was a flatscreen TV on the wall but we discovered that a previous guest had demolished the cable, which we reported the next morning, but that was never corrected (they did take off $68. from the bill for that). A window looked out on the courtyard, only we could not see the courtyard - only the open wooden staircase going up to the next floor. We kept the shade down as anyone climbing those stairs could look right into the room. Our luggage sat on the beds as there was no room to use the luggage stand. Noise is not an issue as it was Mardi Gras, but the tromping of people up and down the stairs at all hours was annoying (one bed was right up against the window). The tiny shower did have good water pressure and shower head and the bathroom was clean. The staff was friendly and housekeeping efficient. Our final bill came to $2,357.25 which was outrageous considering this was the same price we were quoted for our original reservation. If nothing else, they should have tried harder to let us know about the card problem - called or sent emails that said "RESERVATION CANCELLATION", not confirmation. When we return to NOLA, we will definitely NOT be staying here.

Review: In September of 2015 I paid for 4 weekday nights at the French Market Inn. Due to unforeseen circumstances I had to cancel. I was told I could not get a refund but I had until September 2016 to use it. Due to health issues I'm not able to go. I was going to let a friend use the room. She was told she couldn't. I called the manager, Lenny, who is very rude. He said the room is nonrefundable, nontransferable, and he was doing me a favor of extending it this long. He won't refund me any money or let anyone else stay. The hotel STOLE $351 from me.Desired Settlement: I would like either a refund or let someone else use the room.

Consumer

Response:

At this time, I have not been contacted by Historic French Market Inn regarding complaint ID 11092128.

Regards,

Review: This is a copy of the e-mail I sent them. I also called on Tuesday 2/4I stayed at the French Market Inn on Jan 31st through the 3rd, checking out the morning of the 4th. When I checked in I told the reservation clerk that I was NOT going to valet my car, that I was going to leave it in public parking across the street. I was originally charged $172.76 on 1/30 for my first nights stay. When I checked in I asked what my charge for the balance would be and I was told $542.02. That seemed high so I asked again to make sure that the valet parking was not included. I was told no. Now I find that I was charged 542.02 on the 3rd AND 172.76 on the 30th, for a total of $714.78. My room total should have been $589.34. Please issue a credit of $125.44 to my credit card as soon as possible. I have several automatic debits coming out of my account and your error is going to cause my account overdraft charges.Desired Settlement: I checked in on 1/31, called on 2/4, and e-mailed on 2/6. I would like my refund of 125.44 posted to my debit card as soon as possible.

Check fields!

Write a review of Historic French Market Inn

Satisfaction rating
 
 
 
 
 
Upload here Increase visibility and credibility of your review by adding a photo

Historic French Market Inn Rating

Overall satisfaction rating

Description: Hotels

Address: 501 Decatur Street, New Orleans, Louisiana, United States, 70130

Phone:

Show more...

Web:

www.neworleansfinehotels.com

This site can’t be reached

Shady, yet now dead: once upon a time this website was reported to be associated with Historic French Market Inn, but after several inspections we’ve come to the conclusion that this domain is no longer active.



Add contact information for Historic French Market Inn

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | New | Updated