Sign in

Hobby Town USA

Sharing is caring! Have something to share about Hobby Town USA? Use RevDex to write a review
Reviews Retail Hobby Supplies, Retail Stores Hobby Town USA

Hobby Town USA Reviews (11)

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the responseIf no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]
Complaint: ***
I am rejecting this response because:I do not agree with the response that was sent overI actually went back into the store try to purchase the items that was needed to have my radio control car return to the state it was upon taking it to them and was denied a saleI was told that the business has the right to refuse who they sell their items to and therefore I am left with the vehicle that is not running it was in running condition when I took it thereThe vehicle was running when I took it there it just was not running to its full potential of the reason it was brought in was for a tuneup it was returned with a broken pole start which I had to go and hour away to a different location is seeing how they refuse my businessI am extremely saddened by the actions of this company as I have been a loyal customer for many years even before the move to this new location to be treated of this magnitude is completely preposterous.
Regards,
*** ***

September 17, Dear [redacted],
This letter will serve as our response to the above mentioned complaint number
"">This customer brought a radio controlled vehicle into our store for repair on approximately September 2, It was apparently obtained in a trade with another individualIt would start (idle) but not run properlyThis is why he brought it to us for evaluationHe stated that he did not want to spend a lot of money on the repair since he might sell it.After being looked at and attempting to get it running properly, it was determined that it would need about $in parts (a pull start and carburetor)The customer was notified of thisThe customer did not authorize the repair and claimed that it was running when he brought the vehicle to usIt did start but would only run in idleThe customer called me on Monday, September 8th to voice his complaint and threatened to contact the Revdex.com which he has obviously doneThe only resolution to this matter is for the customer to purchase the items that he was told were needed to get the vehicle running properly and have the vehicle repairedWe did not charge him for any of our time in trying to get the vehicle operational and we have no desire to continue a business relationship with him.Sincerely,
Robert S Owner

[redacted] has been paid for all expenses up front so that he and his workers could take apart various circuit board assemblies of an entire site that involved at least 30,000 pounds. We have advanced thousands of dollars with the promise that we would be picking up at least 20,000 pounds of...

circuit boards and therefore be given a reduced price to process his circuit boards. What we had ultimately received after waiting 2 months were approximately 8,000 pounds of electronic "junk" that included over 3,000 pounds of base metal and wire that had zero value. The remainder sent were low grade circuit boards which we did process and pay him for. We assume he used our cash advances for him to pick out the higher grade material to be sent or sold to another vendor. We saw none of the boards that we were supposed to have received. We have tried to resolve this in an amicable way but [redacted] was completely unreasonable. He insists that he had sent us high grade material which he did not send.

[redacted], I apologize up front for any possible errors we may have made regarding your lot. I have spoken to Mr. G[redacted], and he has explained the situation to me. We are currently in the process of reviewing your lot from start to finish, and will have more information by this coming Friday, 10/16. Either...

Mr. G[redacted] or myself will call you to discuss the results of our review then. Again, I apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused. Please be assured we are doing everything in our power to correct the situation.Thank you.Dan F[redacted]

As stated, she purchased some items at HobbyTown in [redacted] and later changed her mind and returned the items she had purchased. As your correspondent accurately pointed out, our return policy is prominently displayed three time in our check out location where she made the purchase. A copy of the...

posted policy is attached for your reference. To summarize, we offer to exchange or issue store credit for returned items but we do not issue refunds. This policy was established some years ago after consultation with the Austin Revdex.com and in keeping with your suggestion that the policy be clear, concise, consistent and prominently displayed. In addition, our return policy is also printed on the receipt given to each customer with each transaction. Although I was unable to identify the specific transaction with the information provided, the store credit which your correspondent reports having received was very probably issued in the form of a gift card valid at any of the three Austin area HobbyTown locations and/or any of the other 150 HobbyTown locations nationwide. We thank you for your attention to this issue and for your valued contributions to the Austin business community. [redacted] HobbyTown USA

The complaint in question revolves around a dispute from 1 year ago in December, 2014. Our credit card system was offline due to a system outage at the processor. [redacted] was a customer and buying R/C stuff. When this charge came through on his account, it showed a different status because it...

was run offline. He disputed the charge saying we fraudulently did the transaction. We filed the necessary paperwork and showed the signature to the credit card company and the charges. But because the system was offline, and processed manually, the credit card company gave us a charge back. In the meantime, [redacted] was talking trash about our store, saying we were going to go out of business and telling people on various websites to go to a new store that was being open up by some of his friends. He also made threatening comments about guns and having it out with [redacted], our son. These comments included "guns will be blazing", "you come near me and you better be armed". So he was banned from the store.About a month later, [redacted] saw him in a grocery store, and [redacted] says he tried to give the money from the dispute to [redacted], but that [redacted] "ran away like a little girl, and that he was scared of [redacted]". I had told [redacted] that we couldn't accept the money because the dispute was in process of being challenged.[redacted] continued to post all sorts of accusations on different sites, and we banned him from the store. That was 1 year ago.He came back in the store last month and he was asked to leave by the manager. And so it all started again. He has posted stuff on our [redacted] page, the local R/C club page and other sites.So we don't want him anymore.HobbyTown USA [redacted]
[redacted]

I have reviewed the response offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted], and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.
Regards,
[redacted]
UNsatisfactory.Im not the 1st 1 this has happened to. I can think of 7 more, but these dont have the courage to follow up, * I do.yes dec 2014. "MY" so called sig was LEGIBLE, as in signed by someone who has perfect cursive writing. NOT mine.Lets go ahead & follow thru with this suit/lawsuit. I'll copy & past & send to my lawyer & to [redacted]

Complaint: [redacted]
I am rejecting this response because:
Sincerely,
[redacted]

Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/06/17) */
Customer has been given excellent customer service with immediate attention to his requests every time he has come to our store. We have even stayed open after hours to take care of his requests. His vehicle has broken several times through...

the use of the vehicle. We have fixed it at our expense several times and he has been put to the front of the line ahead of all other customers to try to satisfy him. We do not have the ability to refund or replace his item that he purchased. Our return policy clearly states that refunds or exchanges are on unused unopened items which his vehicle is clearly not. We also explained that the warranty is with the manufacturer. If they want to send a replacement, that is at their discretion. The manufacturer sent a call tag to get the item back and try to resolve the issue. This apparently is unacceptable to the customer as he has not returned the vehicle to the manufacturer. Several of the repairs were necessary due to obvious crash damage. We tried to just repair it without pointing fingers at the customer. Since he has decided that he needs to try to drag our name through the mud then here is the truth. The customer did obvious damage by crashing the vehicle. We fixed this crash damage for free when we should not have. We provided numerous repairs at no charge. The customer should not have bought this vehicle as he does not have the mechanical aptitude for this type of product. He keeps yelling lemon but a majority of the damage to the vehicle was self inflicted and the remainder of the issues is his lack of mechanical aptitude. We cannot refund his purchase and that is all that will make him happy. He has ignored attempts by the manufacturer to resolve his unhappiness, so we will agree to disagree.
Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2015/06/19) */
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Nothing was given to me for free..the only time the store stayed open late was when [redacted] took the Nitro RC car outside and broke it himself he had no choice but to stay late. I totally disagree with everything he had said.. this is a very unprofessional establishment and I will not stop broadcasting my horrible experiences with [redacted], HOBBY TOWN USA and TRAXXAS for selling me a LEMON. Companies need to pay more attention to there customers and provide the best service especially the ones that spend. I never wanted to this to happen the store is actually very convenient to where I live but I won't let anyone take advantage of me. In this situation I paid for replacement products that were defective and wasn't given back my old parts... This should have been covered with some what of a warranty he took advantage of me because he saw I was spending money. Sorry [redacted] but no matter what you say it doesn't add up if everything happened the way you say it did why would anybody make a complaint. You portrayed yourself to be such a professional but when the last day I was there you were hiding in the backroom or when you changed the gear on the Nitro RC and ZIPPED TIED it back together. Actions speak louder then words. Meanwhile this pile of Junk that I paid Nearly $1k is still sitting in my garage with a bad Radio but yet I was careless with this as you insist. But the words "SORRY WE DIDNT BUILD THIS" never came out of your mouth. Wonderful to see Professional business owners like yourself stand behind there product. No matter what you have to say I have the car and receipts to prove that you took advantage of me.. I will continue with what I'm doing I want everyone to see what happen and to really understand what I went thru. Thanks again for selling me a $1k lemon it looks great on my Shelf next to the none working Remote that supposedly I broke and you tried replacing with a USED one. I Wouldn't be shocked if you broke everything to keep me coming back to spend more and more.

Review: was charged over $65.00 on my capt 1 card & the signature was fully legible. MY sig is NEVER legible! cAPT 1 called ME & ASKED. tHEY seen IT. I LET IT GO. now iM "BANNED" FROM ever BEING IN A hOBBYTOWN usa OWNED BY bOB & mARY bARRETT.Desired Settlement: bot bOB & MAry CAN ROT IN [redacted]

Business

Response:

The complaint in question revolves around a dispute from 1 year ago in December, 2014. Our credit card system was offline due to a system outage at the processor. [redacted] was a customer and buying R/C stuff. When this charge came through on his account, it showed a different status because it was run offline. He disputed the charge saying we fraudulently did the transaction. We filed the necessary paperwork and showed the signature to the credit card company and the charges. But because the system was offline, and processed manually, the credit card company gave us a charge back. In the meantime, [redacted] was talking trash about our store, saying we were going to go out of business and telling people on various websites to go to a new store that was being open up by some of his friends. He also made threatening comments about guns and having it out with [redacted], our son. These comments included "guns will be blazing", "you come near me and you better be armed". So he was banned from the store.About a month later, [redacted] saw him in a grocery store, and [redacted] says he tried to give the money from the dispute to [redacted], but that [redacted] "ran away like a little girl, and that he was scared of [redacted]". I had told [redacted] that we couldn't accept the money because the dispute was in process of being challenged.[redacted] continued to post all sorts of accusations on different sites, and we banned him from the store. That was 1 year ago.He came back in the store last month and he was asked to leave by the manager. And so it all started again. He has posted stuff on our [redacted] page, the local R/C club page and other sites.So we don't want him anymore.HobbyTown USA [redacted]

Consumer

Response:

I have reviewed the response offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted], and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint. For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

UNsatisfactory.Im not the 1st 1 this has happened to. I can think of 7 more, but these dont have the courage to follow up, * I do.yes dec 2014. "MY" so called sig was LEGIBLE, as in signed by someone who has perfect cursive writing. NOT mine.Lets go ahead & follow thru with this suit/lawsuit. I'll copy & past & send to my lawyer & to [redacted]

Review: I dropped off my running RC car (valued) $300 for a tune up and optimal running capacity. I was called a week later and was told that they worked on my car and it is NO LONGER RUNNING. They stated they tuned it out of sync and unable to re-sync it properly. I asked how they were going to correct my car, and they stated they are not and requested I come pick my car up. I requested to speak to the owner and he stated that unless I purchase $250 work of new parts (that was not needed) when my car went there, my car will be returned in NON WORKING ORDER.Desired Settlement: I am requesting they correct my RC Car back to running condition. It should not fall on my hands to correct their mistake. Please assist in having them restoring my car back to how it was when I dropped it off.

Business

Response:

September 17, 2014Dear [redacted],This letter will serve as our response to the above mentioned complaint number.This customer brought a radio controlled vehicle into our store for repair on approximately September 2, 2014. It was apparently obtained in a trade with another individual. It would start (idle) but not run properly. This is why he brought it to us for evaluation. He stated that he did not want to spend a lot of money on the repair since he might sell it.After being looked at and attempting to get it running properly, it was determined that it would need about $60 in parts (a pull start and carburetor). The customer was notified of this. The customer did not authorize the repair and claimed that it was running when he brought the vehicle to us. It did start but would only run in idle.The customer called me on Monday, September 8th to voice his complaint and threatened to contact the Revdex.com which he has obviously done.The only resolution to this matter is for the customer to purchase the items that he was told were needed to get the vehicle running properly and have the vehicle repaired. We did not charge him for any of our time in trying to get the vehicle operational and we have no desire to continue a business relationship with him.Sincerely,Robert S Owner

Consumer

Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Review: [redacted]

I am rejecting this response because:

I do not agree with the response that was sent over. I actually went back into the store try to purchase the items that was needed to have my radio control car return to the state it was upon taking it to them and was denied a sale. I was told that the business has the right to refuse who they sell their items to and therefore I am left with the vehicle that is not running it was in running condition when I took it there. The vehicle was running when I took it there it just was not running to its full potential of the reason it was brought in was for a tuneup it was returned with a broken pole start which I had to go and hour away to a different location is seeing how they refuse my business. I am extremely saddened by the actions of this company as I have been a loyal customer for many years even before the move to this new location. to be treated of this magnitude is completely preposterous.

Regards,

Check fields!

Write a review of Hobby Town USA

Satisfaction rating
 
 
 
 
 
Upload here Increase visibility and credibility of your review by adding a photo

Hobby Town USA Rating

Overall satisfaction rating

Description: HOBBY SUPPLIES

Address: 251 W Golf Rd, Schaumburg, Illinois, United States, 60195-3605

Phone:

Show more...

Web:

www.hobbytown.com

This site can’t be reached

Shady, yet now dead: once upon a time this website was reported to be associated with Hobby Town USA, but after several inspections we’ve come to the conclusion that this domain is no longer active.



Add contact information for Hobby Town USA

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | New | Updated