Sign in

Hoffman Fuel Company of Bridgeport Inc

Sharing is caring! Have something to share about Hoffman Fuel Company of Bridgeport Inc? Use RevDex to write a review
Reviews Hoffman Fuel Company of Bridgeport Inc

Hoffman Fuel Company of Bridgeport Inc Reviews (11)

Revdex.com:I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ***, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to meSincerely, *** ***

Hoffman replaced the zone damper on 12/15/16 at the [redacted] household.   In some cases, the motor of the zone damper can be replaced and yes, the zone damper motor is a part that is...

covered under the Gold service agreement.  A detailed explanation can be found below: 
Damper motor replacement  vs entire damper replacement.
 
In this case it was a 16 x 8 inch zone damper that was replaced.  A damper this size will have numerous blades and linkages to  fit into the duct opening.   Each of these blades and linkages will have at least two pivot points, vertically on the blades and horizontally on the linkages.  There could easily be 6 individual blades on a 16 x 8 zone damper which would  amount  to 20 or more pivot points, these are not serviceable in the field.
 
In the event of failure of these pivots or a blade becoming bent  the damper will not travel freely.   In this case, the accepted trade practice is to replace the entire zone damper not just the motor since the excessive drag and friction will cause the  small 24 volt motor to overwork and burn out, this generally will result in a repeat service call.   
 
I do apologize to [redacted]or the unfortunate conversation she had with our service manager.  It sounds like it escalated needlessly.
 
Hoffman will absorb the labor charge for this service call and a credit in the amount of $170.16, including tax will be issued to the account.
 
I do hope that we can move on from this incident.  [redacted] have been good customers since they established their account almost 2 years ago and we do hope to continue to service them for many years.
 
Thank you,
 
Jill T[redacted]
Customer Service Manager
Hoffman Energy
###-###-####

On 2/5/15, [redacted] took a large delivery of 208.9 gallons.  The service related charges surrounding this delivery were charged erroneously and could easily have been addressed had [redacted] contacted our office.  They have been removed from his account.
Thank...

you.

A judgement was entered 6/11/2014 for $511.35 for the oil that was delivered to [redacted]. The $200.00 that was removed from [redacted] account was due to a bank execution that was filed thru the judicial system. We have received a check from our marshal for this amount....

No exemption was filed with the courts that the funds withheld were related to social security. As a good will gesture, we will refund the $200.00 to [redacted] in a form of a check. The judgement does remain open and unsatisfied. The oil was delivered and used and the suit was filed for only the oil delivered. We have been in contact with [redacted] and will work out arrangements that are suitable to her situation in order to pay this judgement. Thank You

Revdex.com and Jill,
I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted], and find that this resolution is acceptable to me. Thanks.
Sincerely,
[redacted]

In July 2009, this account had been closed by Hoffman due to an outstanding invoice from a 3/31/09 delivery. This delivery had been paid off November 2009, well outside of our 30-day net terms. We had reinstated the account in December 2009 with a $500 security deposit requirement. Security deposits...

are held in a security deposit account until the account is closed by either party. This, as security deposits do, helps protect the company against future potential losses from non-payment. In some cases, it will be refunded to the customer's account while active but only if the payment history on the account is consistently within our terms. Unfortunately, the payment history on this account does not justify a refund of the security deposit against the balance while the account is active. This had been explained to Ms. [redacted] over the phone and through email. I am extremely confident that no Hoffman representative told Ms. [redacted] that security deposits are refunded "when (we) feel like it". I have attached a copy of the signed security deposit form. Thank you.

Review: In 2009 Hoffman required a security deposit to renew my budget plan after a divorce. At the time I changed the name on the existing account, found there was an outstanding balance which I was unaware of and took care of immediately, and set up a new budget plan. I was told since my Landlord help the Service contract, I needed to remain on Automatic delivery with Hoffman for the service contract to be valid.

Since then I have remained a Hoffman client, despite issue I have had with their automatic delivery service.

Every new Budget year I inquire about my $500 security deposit which is not shown anywhere on my budget statements, nor is it in an escrow account earning interest, and am told various things by the represenative, the worse of which was we will refund your security deposit when we feel like it.

After 9 years, I have decided to explore other option and have left an outstanding balance on my budget plan purposely to make sure I at least recoup part of my security deposit back.

Hoffman's representative called me in August regarding the outstanding balance, I paid $300 and asked him to look into refunding the security deposit. The terms of the Security agreement state the account will be reviewed on a yearly basis and the deposit refunded if the 30 day payment terms are adhered to for one full season.

The Hoffman representative never got back to me. I finally contacted him through email, got no response and called by another Hoffman rep looking for payment. I called back the new Rep and was told I needed to speak with the original, who never called me back, or answered my questions.

I am told they will need to hold onto the deposit, interest free, or go on COD delivery with a guarantor once my outstanding balance is taken care of. Neither my payment history, nor my credit rating warrants either a security deposit nor a guarantor!

I am also being changed late fees on the outstanding balance, when they have held the deposit for 9 years interest free!

They will not answer my questions, nor help me in resolving this issue and I have been a customer with them for over 20 years!Desired Settlement: I would like my deposit refunded and to be able to secure a new budget plan with Hoffman with no security deposit required.

Business

Response:

In July 2009, this account had been closed by Hoffman due to an outstanding invoice from a 3/31/09 delivery. This delivery had been paid off November 2009, well outside of our 30-day net terms. We had reinstated the account in December 2009 with a $500 security deposit requirement. Security deposits are held in a security deposit account until the account is closed by either party. This, as security deposits do, helps protect the company against future potential losses from non-payment. In some cases, it will be refunded to the customer's account while active but only if the payment history on the account is consistently within our terms. Unfortunately, the payment history on this account does not justify a refund of the security deposit against the balance while the account is active. This had been explained to Ms. [redacted] over the phone and through email. I am extremely confident that no Hoffman representative told Ms. [redacted] that security deposits are refunded "when (we) feel like it". I have attached a copy of the signed security deposit form. Thank you.

Review: I am being FORCED to take a delivery of oil @3.71 a gallon or be penalized a fine -

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation)

Cancel my account without penalty

Business

Response:

Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/05/09) */

Mr. [redacted] had entered into a pricing agreement on 8/30/12, securing a ceiling rate of $3.999 per gallon for the term of 8/31/12 to 8/31/13. The terms of the agreement are listed below. On 4/16/13, we received the following request via email from Mr. [redacted]: "I will be closing this account att the end of this season - Please HOLD on any further oil delieveries at this time". Since there are 4 1/2 months left to the agreement, Mr. [redacted] was told that if automatic delivery is canceled prior to 8/31/13, a portion of the early termination fee will be charged. Based on the temperature and usage factors since the last delivery in February, our records indicate that Mr. [redacted] should have used nearly a full tank of oil. Mr. [redacted] had agreed to one more delivery in lieu of the early termination fee; a delivery has been scheduled.

Please review the Terms and Conditions of your contract and complete the e-signature section below Price Protection Contract Terms and Conditions

THE STATE OF CONNECTICUT'S CONSUMER PROTECTION LAW MANDATES THAT ALL PRICING PROGRAMS BE IN THE FORM OF A WRITTEN CONTRACT WITH ALL TERMS AND CONDITIONS CLEARLY STATED. PLEASE REVIEW THE TERMS & CONDITIONS, ELECTRONICALLY SIGN AND SUBMIT TO US.

(THE WORD "I" REFERS TO THE CUSTOMER)

1. I understand that this contract is related solely to price and that my original retail application is still in effect.

2. This contract will be effective upon the date the contract is received by Hoffman Energy or at the end of your current pricing agreement, if applicable, and will expire on 8/31/13. I understand that my account will become a floating price account upon the expiration of this agreement unless I enter into a subsequent pricing agreement with Hoffman Energy.

3. I understand that my account must be on automatic delivery. Requests for oil tank top-offs are not permitted under the Price Protection Plan. I agree that Hoffman Energy will be my exclusive provider while automatic delivery is in place on my account.

4. I understand that my account balance must be paid within our credit terms, which is 30 days from each transaction or if you are enrolled in our monthly Easy Payment Program, the monthly payments must be paid within 30 days from the statement date, in order to maintain this program.

5. I understand this contract can not be transferred to another property address or another person.

6. I understand in the event I terminate this agreement before its expiration or am in default of any part of this agreement, I agree to pay Hoffman Energy any amount then owed to Hoffman Energy, including any interest and collection fees, plus a sum of Four Hundred Ninety Nine dollars ($499.), which represents liquidated damages incurred by Hoffman because of my early termination. The amount of liquidated damages is not a penalty.

7. I understand that I may cancel this Contract at the end of this Contract term, or as provided in Paragraph 6. Cancellations must be in writing and sent to our office at 56 Quarry Road, Trumbull, CT XXXXX.

8. HOFFMAN ENERGY MAKES NO EXPRESS WARRANTY WITH RESPECT TO PRODUCTS DELIVERED, OTHER THAN AS CONTAINED IN THIS CONTRACT. HOFFMAN ENERGY DISCLAIMS ALL IMPLIED WARRANTIES INCLUDING ANY IMPLIED WARRANTY OF MERCHANTABILITY AND IMPLIED WARRANTY OF FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE TO EXTENT PERMITTED BY STATE AND FEDERAL LAW.

9. Force Majeure Clause: The customer acknowledges and agrees that Hoffman Energy may be prevented from supplying fuel oil due to factors beyond their reasonable control. The customer agrees that Hoffman Energy shall not be liable for any damages caused by delay or failure to perform, in whole or in part failure to supply fuel oil at the price specified in this agreement to the extent that any such failure is due to any such factors. Such factors include, but are not limited to, acts of God, strikes, fires, floods, unusually severe weather, war, threats or acts of terrorism or similar acts, failure of public utilities, common carriers or suppliers to provide raw materials, energy or other supplies or services to Hoffman Energy, requirements of applicable federal, state, local, foreign governmental laws, rules, regulations or orders. Hoffman Energy agrees that if it suspends supplying fuel oil due to any such factor, it will make reasonable efforts to resume supplying fuel oil as soon as economically practical.

I understand and agree that this contract, and any attached documents, shall contain the entire agreement of the parties with respect to its terms and conditions and shall supersede all prior negotiations, agreements and understandings. This contract can only be amended by a written document signed by all parties.



Click here to print the Terms and Conditions.

It is your responsibility to print this page out for your records

Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/05/10) */

(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT ACCEPT the response from the business.)

That last scheduled delivery was promised as a 100 gal delivery by Gail - So here is a company that lies as well

Hoffman is now FORCING me to take a full take of oil (150+ gals) at 3.71 a gal at a time I do not need oil

I hope it is worth it to Hoffman, because as a real estate agent I constantly recommend oil companies to my customers and I have NOTHING nice to say about Hoffman - In fact I will go out of my way to AVOID Hoffman - IT WILL BE MY MISSION - I know 3 Hoffman customers here in my office I will convince

Based on pricing I was giving at he last delivery (3.71) it would appear they manipulate their pricing as well (several oil companies in my area are at $3.17)

Just cancel my contract and I will go quietly on my way and never bother Hoffman again - I was a good customer for 4+ years

What Hoffman doesn't get is they should not base my oil usage at last years price if the gal goes to $4 - of course I'm gonna use less oil !!

Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/05/15) */

Mr. [redacted] received a delivery of 175.7 gallons on 5/14/13 at a per gallon rate of $3.68 which was the daily delivered price under the ceiling yesterday. $3.68 per gallon is a very reasonable rate right now; I'm not sure what else can be done. Future deliveries have been suspended and the account will be terminated without the assessment of an early termination fee.

Review: I contacted the vendor because the oil tank looked empty and I was worried because very cold temperature. The vendor did not deliver the oil on time and we did lost heating in the middle of the night. We received an emergency delivery, but the furnace kept shutting off and the vendor sent a second service team, but charged us for repairs, supposedly not cover by the service contract.a few night later something went wrong with the furnace and the fire alarm went off and the fire department came to address heavy smoke and CO level in the house. Another team from the vendor came for more repair. I believe the vendor did not honor their side of the contract by letting us run out of oil and not sending a delivery when I flagged the issue: if we did not ran out of oil, we probably would not have to deal with restarting the burner and all issues related to having to clean fuel line and filter because of dirt from bottom of tank and do not feel we should be liable for the cost of repairs: both are related.Desired Settlement: Vendor to admit wrong doing and void repair bill for the last week, total,$364.29.

Business

Response:

On 2/5/15, [redacted] took a large delivery of 208.9 gallons. The service related charges surrounding this delivery were charged erroneously and could easily have been addressed had [redacted] contacted our office. They have been removed from his account.

Thank you.

Consumer

Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted], and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. Sincerely, [redacted]

Review: After over 60 years as a steady customer of Hoffman Fuel, I discovered that I am regularly billed more than $1.00 per gallon over the prevailing delivery price offered by Hoffman competitors in CT.The explanation given is that "we don't price according to what our competitors price" and "we charge our posted price for that day".I have been gouged for some time now, paying, for example $4.449 per gallon on 09/21/13 when my neighbor paid $3.31 that same day. I am told this company has been bought by a conglomerate and that their policies have changed. I feel they have taken serious and immoral advantage of my age and trust, and billed unsupportable prices, for how long I cannot now determind but more than 1 year.Desired Settlement: I would like to pay no more than 110% of the average delivery price in my area for the last several years. I can understand a small premium. A premium of 33% over the average price is unconscionable. I believe the diference over the last three years should be paid to me.

Business

Response:

Mrs. [redacted] has indeed been a Hoffman customer for many, many years. For heating seasons 2006-2007, 2007-2008 and 2008-2009, the [redacted]'s had chosen to enter into either a fixed or capped pricing agreement. Subsequent to that, their account had reverted back to paying our posted retail price, which fluctuates based on market conditions.

Obviously, each fuel company sets its price based on the cost of doing business, which will vary with the level of products and services offered by each. Hoffman's delivered fuel is priced according to our cost of doing business. Comparisons to other fuel company's prices is fair only if the comparison is done to the regular retail price of a company with comparable services.

Mrs. [redacted] was offered a very low one year ceiling price by a Hoffman employee on 9/26/13 as a good-will gesture; having been with Hoffman for so long. The price that was offered was equivalent to Hoffman's [redacted] program we have established for [redacted]

Should Mrs. [redacted] accept this one year ceiling program, we will be extremely pleased to adjust the last delivery to this price which will equate to an account credit of $157.56. I would encourage her to call me directly to arrange this.

Review: I was delivered a tank of oil from Hoffman fuel and I am not their customer. The delivery driver was informed he was at the wrong address and the oil was supposed to go to another address and they delivered it anyway. I received a bill in the mail and had my daughter [redacted] call the company right then and the woman said there was nothing they could do about it and we were getting charged for the oil no matter what. We informed her we were not going to pay for their mistake. I am a senior citizen on a fixed income and cannot just pay an unauthorized bill. Then to make matters worse they put a hold on my bank account and I was informed that they couldn't do that because I am on SS. I informed the woman that I would work with them to alleviate this problem and she said ok that I should call the bank and complain about the hold. I waited for an invoice from Hoffman and got a letter from the bank instead saying they took the 200.00 that I had in the account. I am very upset about this and cannot afford to have someone take money from me.Desired Settlement: I would like this matter resolved and my money back. I would also like a formal complaint made about them with you. If possible also pain and agony over this matter I have been extremely sick over this whole matter. Thank You

Business

Response:

A judgement was entered 6/11/2014 for $511.35 for the oil that was delivered to [redacted]. The $200.00 that was removed from [redacted] account was due to a bank execution that was filed thru the judicial system. We have received a check from our marshal for this amount. No exemption was filed with the courts that the funds withheld were related to social security. As a good will gesture, we will refund the $200.00 to [redacted] in a form of a check. The judgement does remain open and unsatisfied. The oil was delivered and used and the suit was filed for only the oil delivered. We have been in contact with [redacted] and will work out arrangements that are suitable to her situation in order to pay this judgement. Thank You

Check fields!

Write a review of Hoffman Fuel Company of Bridgeport Inc

Satisfaction rating
 
 
 
 
 
Upload here Increase visibility and credibility of your review by adding a photo

Hoffman Fuel Company of Bridgeport Inc Rating

Overall satisfaction rating

Description: Oils - Fuel, Energy Audits, Duct Cleaning, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems, Heating Contractors, Heating & Air Conditioning, Gas - Propane

Address: 56 Quarry Rd, Trumbull, Connecticut, United States, 06611

Phone:

Show more...

Web:

www.hoffmanfuel.com

This site can’t be reached

Shady, yet now dead: once upon a time this website was reported to be associated with Hoffman Fuel Company of Bridgeport Inc, but after several inspections we’ve come to the conclusion that this domain is no longer active.



Add contact information for Hoffman Fuel Company of Bridgeport Inc

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | New | Updated