Sign in

House Smart Home Improvements

4 120 Glacier St, Coquitlam, British Columbia, Canada, V3K 5Z6

Sharing is caring! Have something to share about House Smart Home Improvements? Use RevDex to write a review

House Smart Home Improvements Reviews (%countItem)

• Oct 09, 2020

The installation team was very professional and did exemplary work. A neighbor recommended House Smart and I would be happy to recommend them to my friends, The estimator presented the various window installation options and was very helpful and knowledgeable.
The upshot? I am having the windows in my second house replaced.

• Oct 07, 2020

love our new windows, great installers were fast, friendly and extremely clean

• Oct 06, 2020

I have nothing but good things to say about House Smart, Ryan and the guys. We were very happy the first time we used them (2010) in our former home in North Vancouver - We did the research and saw 4 different companies and even though 2 of them had sale deals - nothing came close to the regular price that House Smart offered and continues to offer. It was a no brainer to contract with them again this past August. They were open to taking a ferry to reach us and we are very satisfied with every aspect of their competent and professional and ethical service. Highly Recommend!!

• Aug 07, 2020

We were so impressed with the whole window team. Ryan was extremely knowledgeable, pleasant to work with & always available for any questions we had. We received an accurate quote on the spot. The whole install team was fantastic. Jason & Steve went above and beyond to make sure everything was completed to our satisfaction. I would highly recommend House Smart Home Improvements.

• Jul 31, 2020

House smart replaced a large picture window. The service was good and they were fast and efficient. I would hire this company again to replace more windows. Good quality product and warranty

• Jun 29, 2020

Quick service, and knowledgable. We had a broken down furnace in the winter. They installed a new one that we purchased from them at a affordable cost. The service was good.

House Smart Home Improvements Response time Jul 08, 2020

Hi ***,
Thank you for sharing your positive experience with House Smart Home Improvements. We are happy you received good value from our service. If you need anything else in the future don't hesitate to reach out as we would be pleased to help out again.
Best regards,
-Ryan S.
General Manager

• May 28, 2020

we found the service for the installations of our front room windows clean and professional.
Definitely recommend this Company to friends and family.

House Smart Home Improvements Response time Jun 02, 2020

Hello ***,
We are pleased to hear you were more than satisfied with our services and thank you for your review, If you have any questions feel free to call us in the future and we would be happy to help.
Best regards,
Ryan S.
House Smart Home Improvements.

• May 25, 2020

We recently had our windows updated by Home Smart and couldn't be happier. Starting with our friendly & knowledgeable sales rep Glen! With the onset of Covid19 our windows were put on hold but the office called us every few weeks to let us know we weren't forgotten. We had our windows done last week and we were impressed by how well Chris Steve & Aubrey conducted themselves and were able to give us beautiful new windows and a clean home afterwards! I would definitely recommend this company to family & friends that are in need of home improvements.

House Smart Home Improvements Response time May 27, 2020

Hello ***,
Thank you for sharing your positive experience. We are glad to hear you are happy with your new windows and how House Smart dealt with the outbreak of Covid-19.
Best regards,
-Ryan from House Smart Home Improvements

• Jan 11, 2020

We hired them to put vinyl siding on our house. It took roughly five months for them to complete the job. Poor quality work. Scraps and nails were strewn across our lawn and building materials were dumped in our garbage and recycling. Their contractor covered over our dryer vent and we were not able to do laundry for several days until he came back to fix it. The job was left unfinished and pieces, which were improperly installed, fell off in the wind. My complaints about the poor work were initially rebuffed until I brought in a home inspector. ***. Also, the company charged money to our credit card without our authorization. We had a very negative experience and will avoid this company for any further home improvements.

House Smart Home Improvements Response time Feb 04, 2020

Hello ***,
We are sorry to hear you have had a negative experience with house smart home improvements as we strive to make sure every client is happy at the end of the job. In regards to the timeline on your job, we had the installation of the job done within a reasonable time however as you mentioned there were deficiencies that we had to come back for. During this time we discussed bringing a different crew to your home to complete the deficiencies and that there would be a wait for one of our other crews to become available.
In regards to the home inspection many of the listed deficiencies would only apply to new construction applications and not renovations however we did go over every item listed in the report and completed them as we wanted to ensure you were satisfied with the end result. We talked to ***, he would not pay the balance of the contract unless he was OK with the job done. We did a good job on his house and I am disappointed that he wrote a negative review. House Smart gave *** a discount on this job because it took longer then we wanted. Thank you *** for your review as it helps us improve on our policies and practices.
-Ryan S General Manager

Do not use house smart home renovations for your siding install! We made the horrible mistake of using this company and they did such a horrendous job we will need to have it redone! Nothing was installed to *** recommended practices or to any building code, pieces were installed broken and then caulked on top off to hide. Nails were installed through most of the material, boards were left loose or installed backwards. Boards were installed over top of nails from the previous siding and over top of cables. The *** strips which make up part of the rain screening were all different thicknesses leaving the boards to warp when they were installed. The list goes on and on! Please Do not use House Smart Home Renovations if you want a professional job that looks good!

House Smart Home Improvements Response time May 27, 2020

Hello, We are sorry to hear such dissatisfaction as House Smart Home Improvements wants to ensure every customer is happy at the end of the job and many of the deficiencies were fixed however we could not come to an agreement on the finalization of the project so we have, with the homeowner, decided to let them finish the project. In lieu of the above we did not collect the remaining balance which was more than 50% of the total project price in order for them to have a third party come into finalize the job.

We had great experiences with House Smart. We had the windows on the front of the house replaced in 2017. The salesman was great at explaining the best options. We even decided to have the front and back door replaced at the same time.
The crew was amazing - they were polite, neat and tidy. They even took away all the old windows and doors.
Everything was so good that in 2019 we decided to go back to House Smart and have the windows on the back of the house replaced. Once again the salesman was great and the crew was great. You couldn't ask for better. It was also nice to be able to call their office and talk to an actual person rather than a machine.
We love our new windows. They are brighter, easy to open and close and even block some of the outside noise!
We would highly recommend House Smart to anyone looking to have their windows and doors replaced.

We had 6 windows replaced in the basement floor of our home and very pleased with the quality and the workmanship of the technicians. They
cleaned very well after the work was all done. I would recommend to anyone who are looking to get renovations done to their homes.

House Smart Home Improvements Response time May 21, 2019

Thank you for sharing your experience. We are happy to hear we provided you with a top quality installation and product. Thank you again for your business, it was a pleasure working with you.

We bought a house and the windows were the old aluminum style. Also the furnace was 40 years old.
We engaged House Smart as we saw one of their flyers and liked that we could get both products replaced by the same company.
The team that came to measure & fit the windows were super-efficient and very friendly. They were done in one day.
The furnace team helped us to reorganize the room so that we could also add a stackable washer & dryer.
I would definitely recommend House Smart

Replacement of windows and trims not finished as scheduled. Re scheduled a second time after 3 weeks and left it unfinished again.

House Smart Home Improvements Response time Nov 14, 2018

Initial Business Response /(1000, 5, 2018/10/26) */
Contact Name and Title: Ryan S GM
Contact Phone: ***
Contact Email: ***
Hi ***, We am sorry to hear that you are unsatisfied with the efforts House Smart Home Improvements is making to finalize your job. We did not finish the job on the original date, we understand how this can be frustrating thus we have made our best efforts to ensure that your job is completed to the best standards at our crews earliest availability. In regards to your desired resolution, as mentioned above we are looking into the earliest date to have our crew come over and finalize your trims. In the meantime we can assure you that there will be no damage to your home from the installation as everything is sealed and all of the main components have been installed. If there is any damage caused by House Smart Home Improvements during the installation it will be covered by our lifetime warranty, which is inclusive of the installation. We are confident that once the trim work is completed you will be more than satisfied with the outcome of the job.

A very professional company from top to bottom. Very knowledgeable and courtious staff. Would highly recommend to friends and general public.

House Smart Home Improvements Response time Jul 24, 2018

Thank you for your business and positive review, we know you'll continue to love your new windows for the years to come.

House Smart Home Improvements.

Awesome work from presentation *** to execution by***. *** is very professional. He was patient in addressing all our questions. We never felt he was doing a "hard sell." We were very pleased in interacting with him. *** who did the installation was helpful in addressing our questions about the installation. He completed the work within the timetable with least disruption.

House Smart Home Improvements Response time Jun 20, 2018

Thank you for choosing House Smart Home Improvements as your service provider, we appreciate your business and positive review. We are very happy to hear that you had an overall good experience from start to finish.

We are very happy with our new windows, they look great. The service was great all around. I was so happy how clean everything was and there is very little we have to do after installation. I would totally recommend House Smart and would use them again if I want to do more improvements.

House Smart Home Improvements Response time May 28, 2018

Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We are happy to hear you are pleased with your new energy efficient windows. We look forward to the chance to earn your business again.

Caveat Emptor (Buyer Beware)

I am shocked to see the positive reviews of this company. This was not my experience! I did notice one review about the window trim being not recommended and I fully agree.

We were told the new window trim would not require regular painting for upkeep and it sounded very good. It starts to go downhill from there. The price quoted had to be revised once an installer came due to different sizing. Once installed it was noted that the white was a different colour than the window frame....and we were advised that the colour was as close as they could get (pictures attached). There was not much choice at that point for us, as the old trim was gone. We were never advised of this colour variation during the sales presentation. They were put on with staple gun and some nail holes were filled, many not...and that doesn't matter as they were filled with the wrong colour paint (picture attached).

A screen was removed from one of the windows that was not being done and never replaced. (We did spend over $25,000 having most of the windows in the house done). I have called and enquired about this and was told they would reimburse up to $50 for a new screen, which I had to source myself. Investigating this, I discovered that the cost would be up to $200 for service call, screen cost and installation and advised House Smart. I was told to go to a local place like *** or *** and buy one....and was requoted in writing (email available upon request) that they would reimburse "up to $50". I am not a window or screen installation expert, and found this advice daunting.

When the windows were installed some of the labels were left on the outside of the windows. One of the windows was the large one on the front of our house. When I called to ask for it to be removed, the receptionist suggested that I remove it myself. It was about 12 feet up, and I told her that was not something I could easily do...Thankfully, it was taken care of, but not without having to insist upon their help.

Sadly, we spent over $25,000 with this company and expected a professional job. Now I have window trim that doesn't match, a missing screen and picked up so much garbage (snipped silicone container caps, pieces of stucco, nails, saw dust in our garage, etc.) it was ridiculous.

We are hoping that the actual windows we had installed will live up to expectations, nothing else has. From our experience we now worry about those, so we give a two star rating.

The first two pictures show the difference in colour and the fill of nail holes....and this is the finished product. I now have to hire a painter to come and paint this trim that was "easy upkeep".

The third picture shows the missing screen.
Sadly, I am unable to attach the mentioned pictures, they are available upon request,, as they do tell the story.

House Smart Home Improvements Response time Jun 04, 2018

When it comes to ***'s complaint about the trim we feel this should be broken down a little more, when a representative is quoting a job and even upon writing the contract we always specify that a re-measure will be done within 7-10 business days and that there may be additional costs or price changes... this is something we have all clients sign off on including Susan. As per the window trim needing to be painted or constant upkeep, we have provided *** with two options for trim, wood or composite, *** went with the composite trim which is considered a low maintenance item as it does not need to be painted and will not yellow in the direct sun because it comes with UV-inhibitors built in, Had *** chose a wood trim then there would be a higher level up upkeep. For the color of trim being different than the window frame, During the presentation our reps show the client a cut out of the composite trim as well as a cut out of the window profile so the color comparison was available to see before any contract or deal was written.

As per the installation it is confusing to hear that *** was not satisfied with the install... Again upon finishing the installation our installers do a walk through with the client to make sure everything is satisfactory and have the client sign off on the job... This is something *** has signed off on. We appreciate all business given to us and would have gladly gone back out to fill any holes that where missed, just like we went back to remove a sticker, if *** had requested us to do so. The only request *** had of us was four months after her installation to replace a screen that had gone missing, House Smart Home Improvements does not manufacture screens nor did we supply the window that was missing a screen, therefore we could only cover the cost of the screen being purchased through a third party out of good faith. When *** was told we would cover the cost of the screen she was still unsatisfied but told us she would get back to us with a bill.... We have not heard from *** since our last conversation in our attempts to right a wrong even if it was not us that misplaced the screen. Below *** has stated that she is not looking for a resolution which is unfortunate because House Smart Home Improvements strives to make sure all clients are happy with the installation and follow up services provided.

We had the windows, balcony door, front and rear doors, dehumidistat and siding replaced. We were very happy with the majority of the work that was done. However, some of the finishing work on the siding was poor. Although, the problems were rectified in the end (for the most part), it caused me a great deal of anxiety at times. I would recommend window replacement, but not siding with this company.

In January 2018 we had House Smart Home Improvements install Atrium windows and a patio door. We are very happy with the product. Their sales representative Bryan White was very informative. Of the four companies we asked for quotations, Bryan was the only sales representative who brought samples of the various products. The installation and office staff were friendly and helpful. We would recommend using House Smart Home Improvements.

House Smart Home Improvements Response time Feb 02, 2018

Hello Anna,
Thank you for sharing your experience with House Smart. We are happy to hear our sales presentation but us ahead of the crowd. We also have a great show room in Coquitlam. Thank you again for your business, it was a pleasure working with you.

Check fields!

Write a review of House Smart Home Improvements

Satisfaction rating
 
 
 
 
 
Upload here Increase visibility and credibility of your review by adding a photo

House Smart Home Improvements Rating

Overall satisfaction rating

Address: 4 120 Glacier St, Coquitlam, British Columbia, Canada, V3K 5Z6

Phone:

Show more...

Fax:

+1 (604) 945-1903

Web:

housesmarthomeimprovements.com

E-mails:

Sign in to see

Add contact information for House Smart Home Improvements

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | New | Updated