Sign in

J & B Properties

Sharing is caring! Have something to share about J & B Properties? Use RevDex to write a review
Reviews J & B Properties

J & B Properties Reviews (10)

Hello, We would like to address the above complaint:On April 10, 2015, Ms [redacted] , who had been a tenant of JB Properties from August 1, ***-July 1, 2015, called me to say she had purchased a house and asked, “Although the end date of her lease was not until August 1, 2015, could she be let out of her lease as of July 1, 2015, so that she would not have to pay both a mortgage and a rent paymentI congratulated her on her new home purchase and stated that to do that, “I would list her apartment as being available starting July 1, and that if it is be rented for that date, I would let her out of her lease early” Ms [redacted] agreed to these conditions and JB Properties was able to rent the apartment for July 1, 2015.At the end of the above conversation, Ms [redacted] said, “she loved the apt, she loved renting from us, and that is why she had recommended our company to people she knew” (if she hadn't, why did she renew her lease for a second year?) Furthermore, she went on to say that she, “would have renewed her lease for another year if she hadn’t purchased the house.”After the conversation outlining the terms in which we would release her from her lease, I told her that an “End of Lease” form would be sent out to her, outlining what needed to be completed for her move out and to receive her security deposit Again, she said "Thank You." As for the complaints listed in Ms [redacted] ’s original letter, I will address them as follows: The former tenant [redacted] actually did refer prospective tenants to JB Properties during her lease with JB Properties, contrary to her statement that she, “would never refer anyone to us”Furthermore,she received a $credit, towards one month’s rent, for a successful referral and lease signing of a one of her referrals There were others that she referred including a co worker As to the matter of the maintenance personnel being sent un-announced, I refer you to section within Ms [redacted] ’s signed lease and renewal stating: “LESSEE AGREES to permit the Lessor, its servants, agents and/or any other person, authorized by Lessor, to have free access to the leasehold premises herein described from the hours of 8:00am to 8:00pm, (1) to make such repairs or alterations as Lessor may see fit or, (2) to permit inspection by prospective purchasers of the leasehold premises and/or the building in which the leasehold premises are contained or, (3) to inspect the leasehold premises and/or the building in which the leasehold premises are contained or (4) to permit inspections by prospective tenantsThe Lessor shall have the right to access herein mentioned with or without the consent of the Lessee and whether or not the leasehold premises are occupied by the Lessee.” *Please Note: maintenance does not just walk into a apartment: they ring the bell, wait a few minutes, then enter-always announcing who they are and may they come in As to the condition of the apartment after Ms [redacted] ’s departure from the residence, I must protest any claims made by her by stating the following: - The apartment was not cleaned: It took six (6) hours of cleaning just to bring it up to a move in condition- The rugs were not professionally cleaned- The master bedroom door was damaged beyond repair: It required replacing- The master bedroom ceiling light fixture was broken beyond repair and needed replaced.- The main bathroom towel rack and toilet tissue holder were broken and/or missing and needed to be replaced- There were multiply holes throughout the apartment and along the entry wall leading up to the apartment that needed patched and painted These were not simply holes that were made to hang a piece of artwork or a mirror, but gouges so large, that sections of drywall itself had to be replaced in some areas- The keys that were left would not open the apartment door, and the lock/handle had to be manually taken off ad replaced.Due to the failure/non compliance on Ms [redacted] ’s part to comply with her end of lease, lease and renewal agreement along with the expenses occurred on JB Properties part, we were unfortunately unable to refund any of her security deposit.As for the matter regarding our company’s character, we feel that Ms [redacted] has misrepresented us, stating opinions and views that prove contrary to her own actions and deeds as stated in this letter Doris JD***, Property ManagerJB Properties [redacted] [redacted] [redacted] [redacted]

Hello, My name is Doris D***, Property Manager for JB Properties and I would like to address the complaint issues 1 x 1: -as to being mislead as to the lease termination, per the lease the tenant signed at the onset of her lease and the additional renewal form... (10/15/14)there are no conditions that allow for early termination of a lease which in Ms. ***'s case runs through December 31, 2015. The above named tenant phoned me in April 2015 stating she was in the process of looking to purchase a home and wanted to know the process of terminating her lease early: I told her there was none, but as a courtesy to her, I would allow the early termination and explained verbally what I could offer her. I also sent three (3) letters - one (1) of which I personally attached to her apartment door outlining what would be required. (per our phone conversation) Also during the above phone conversation, the tenant stated she had saw a townhouse in Wexford she liked and would be putting in an offer ASAP. I replied that if she gave me her sixty (60) day notice and her offer did not work out, to let me know and I would extend until she found another home. Ms. ***'s reply was"it doesn't matter if they reject my offer on this one, there are two (2) others in the same plan and I am sure I will get one of those so there wouldn't be any reason to extend." As you will see in the letter, which is in the form of an example- there is no command from us as to when she had to leave in fact, we left that up to her. -as outlined, the sixty day notice it had to be accompanied with the two (2) months rent it was for (Ms. ***'s choice) and the two (2) months buy out:her rent is $1000.00/month which would equal $4000.00 with the sixty day notice. Ms. [redacted] called me to say she could not take that much money out ofher accounts at once because it would "red flag" her account to the mortgage company: she asked if she could send the sixty day notice amount of $2000.00on May 9, 2015 when she got paid and the two month buy out - $2000.00 at the end of May. I agreed to this in an effort to try to help her mortgage process proceed smoothly.(As a note, rents are due on the first (1st) of the month with a fifty ($50.00) dollar late fee assessed after the fifth (5th) of the month: I did not chargeMs. [redacted] a late fee for May 2015's rent payment being late and also as a courtesy, have not charged her late fees for the three (3) other times her rent payment was late over the course of her tenancy with JB Properties.)As you will also see, one of the last lines in the informational letter states that she can also buy out her entire lease if she chooses. -as to the three (3) phone calls I made: 1 was to ask if she still intended to seek early termination of her lease since we DID NOT RECEIVE the notice or the dollar amount by May 11, 2015. 1 was at the end of May 2015 to ask if she had sent the buy out 1 was in June 2015 to say that the buy out $ had not yet been received: she stated that the envelope was returned because of an incorrect address and asked me what our correct mailing address was since she did not know it. (I found this strange since her previous checks-on time and late-reached us) During this last conversation, I stated I would not be contacting her again concerning the money issues and would assume she had reconsidered. -the apartment has been listed on Craigslist, Trulia and Apartment Finder since 5/9/15. I or my associated have shown the apartment 12 times since the listing -with Ms. [redacted] always being informed as to when we would be showing and as I tell all tenants that are moving, "They never have to leave the apartment while we show"-the ONLY DAY Ms. [redacted] was ever present for any of these showings was onSaturday, 6/20/15. NOTE: Initially Ms. [redacted] stated that she had friends interested in her apartment and a week later when I had not heard from her or anyone referencing her, I called Ms. *** to ask to have them contact me to set up appointments: her response was "I'm not even going to refer then to you-you can get your own listings." -you will also see the "End of Lease" sheet that is sent to ALL tenants that are moving: it states that their security deposit will be refunded if all the conditions are met and there are not repairs that are needed. As a last note, JB Properties ALWAYS works with tenants in this and other situations of this nature. In fact, in the last year alone, we have had four (4) other tenants in the same situation as Ms. *** - relocation and/or buying of homes and all have received their security deposit refunds and either all or some portion of their buy out if their apartments have been rented. In fact, the four (4) tenants I spoke of have all written cards of "Thanks" in helping them in their transition. (I would be happy to supply the bbb these cards if you wish) To recap: the early termination of the lease requested by the tenant was given as a courtesy no one stated when or if Ms. [redacted] had to move calls made to the tenant were into the "no response by the tenant" in holding up her end of the agreement it is always in our best interest to get an apartment rented as soon as possible there is no foundation to any of the allegations made by the tenant The documents attached are: the bbb's cover letter and complaint letter copies of the letters (2) sent and (1) placed on Ms. ***'s door outlining the "courtesy early termination of her lease" the "End of Lease" sheet which explains what is required when moving out If you would have any additional questions, please do not hesitate to contact me. Doris J. D***, Property ManagerJB Properties [redacted] [redacted]

May 7, Revdex.comFAX # *** ID # ***All items that are listed in the complaint were addressed and corrected as they were called into the maintenance office.If you would have any additional questions, pjease do not hesitate to contact us.*** ** *** *** ***
***
*** *** ***

Hello, My name is Doris D[redacted], Property Manager for JB Properties and I would like to address the complaint issues 1 x 1:  -as to being mislead as to the lease termination, per the lease the tenant signed at the onset of her lease and the additional renewal form...

(10/15/14)there are no conditions that allow for early termination of a lease which in Ms. [redacted]'s case runs through December 31, 2015.  The above named tenant phoned me in April 2015 stating she was in the process of looking to purchase a home and wanted to know the process of terminating her lease early:  I told her there was none, but  as a courtesy to her, I would allow the early termination and explained verbally what I could offer her.  I also sent three (3) letters - one (1) of which I personally attached to her apartment door outlining what would be required. (per our phone conversation)  Also during the above phone conversation, the tenant stated she had saw a townhouse in Wexford she liked and would be putting in an offer ASAP.  I replied that if she gave me her sixty (60) day notice and her offer did not work out, to let me know and I would extend until she found another home.  Ms. [redacted]'s reply was"it doesn't matter if they reject my offer on this one, there are two (2) others in the same plan and I am sure I will get one of those so there wouldn't be any reason to extend." As you will see in the letter, which is in the form of an example-  there is no command from us as to when she had to leave in fact, we left that up to her. -as outlined, the sixty day notice it had to be accompanied with the two (2) months rent it was for (Ms. [redacted]'s choice) and the two (2) months buy out:her rent is $1000.00/month which would equal $4000.00 with the sixty day notice.  Ms. [redacted] called me to say she could not take that much money out ofher accounts at once because it would "red flag" her account to the mortgage company:  she asked if she could send the sixty day notice amount of $2000.00on May 9, 2015 when she got paid and the two month buy out - $2000.00 at the end of May.  I agreed to this in an effort to try to help her mortgage process proceed smoothly.(As a note, rents are due on the first (1st) of the month with a fifty ($50.00) dollar late fee assessed after the fifth (5th) of the month:  I did not chargeMs. [redacted] a late fee for May 2015's rent payment being late and also as a courtesy, have not charged her late fees for the three (3) other times her rent payment was late over the course of her tenancy with JB Properties.)As you will also see, one of the last lines in the informational letter states that she can also buy out her entire lease if she chooses. -as to the three (3) phone calls I made:         1 was to ask if she still intended to seek early termination of her lease since we DID NOT RECEIVE the notice or the dollar amount by May 11, 2015.       1 was at the end of May 2015 to ask if she had sent the buy out       1 was in June 2015 to say that the buy out $ had not yet been received:  she stated that the envelope was returned because of an incorrect address and          asked me what our correct mailing address was since she did not know it.  (I found this strange since her previous checks-on time and late-reached us)       During this last conversation, I stated I would not be contacting her again concerning the money issues and would assume she had reconsidered.  -the apartment has been listed on Craigslist, Trulia and Apartment Finder since 5/9/15. I or my associated have shown the apartment 12 times since the listing -with Ms. [redacted] always being informed as to when we would be showing and as I tell all tenants that are moving, "They never have to leave the apartment while we show"-the ONLY DAY Ms. [redacted] was ever present for any of these showings was onSaturday, 6/20/15. NOTE:  Initially Ms. [redacted] stated that she had friends interested in her apartment and a week later when I had not heard from her or anyone referencing her, I called Ms. [redacted] to ask to have them contact me to set up appointments:  her response was "I'm not even going to refer then to you-you can get your own listings."  -you will also see the "End of Lease" sheet that is sent to ALL tenants that are moving:  it states that their security deposit will be refunded if all the conditions are met and there are not repairs that are needed. As a last note,  JB Properties ALWAYS works with tenants in this and other situations of this nature.  In fact, in the last year alone, we have had four (4) other tenants in the same situation as Ms. [redacted]  - relocation and/or buying of homes and all have received their security deposit refunds and either all or some portion of their buy out if their apartments have been rented.  In fact, the four (4) tenants I spoke of have all written cards of "Thanks" in helping them in their transition.  (I would be happy to supply the Revdex.com these cards if you wish) To recap:  the early termination of the lease requested by the tenant was given as a courtesy                   no one stated when or if Ms. [redacted] had to move                   calls made to the tenant were into the "no response by the tenant"  in holding up her end of the agreement                    it is always in our best interest to get an apartment rented as soon as possible                    there is no foundation to any of the allegations made by the tenant                   The documents attached are: the Revdex.com's cover letter and complaint letter                                     ... of the letters (2) sent and (1) placed on Ms. [redacted]'s door outlining the "courtesy early termination of her lease"                                     ... the "End of Lease" sheet which explains what is required when moving out If you would have any additional questions, please do not hesitate to contact me. Doris J. D[redacted], Property ManagerJB Properties[redacted]      [redacted]

Hello, We would like to address the above complaint:On April 10, 2015, Ms. [redacted], who had been a tenant of JB Properties from August 1, [redacted]-July 1, 2015,  called me to say she had purchased a house and asked, “Although the end date of her lease was not until August 1, 2015,...

could she be let out of her lease as of July 1, 2015, so that she would not have to pay both a mortgage and a rent paymentI congratulated her on her new home purchase and stated that to do that, “I would list her apartment as being available starting July 1, 2015 and that if it is be rented for that date, I would let her out of her lease early”.  Ms. [redacted] agreed to these conditions and JB Properties was able to rent the apartment for July 1, 2015.At the end of the above conversation, Ms. [redacted] said, “she loved the apt, she loved renting from us, and that is why she had recommended our company to people she knew” (if she hadn't, why did she renew her lease for a second year?) Furthermore, she went on to say that she, “would have renewed her lease for another year if she hadn’t purchased the house.”After the conversation outlining the terms in which we would release her from her lease, I told her that an “End of Lease” form would be sent out to her, outlining what needed to be completed for her move out and to receive her security deposit.  Again, she said "Thank You."             As for the complaints listed in Ms. [redacted]’s original letter, I will address them as follows:             1.      The former tenant [redacted] actually did refer prospective tenants to JB Properties during her lease with JB Properties, contrary to her statement that she, “would never refer anyone to us”. Furthermore,she received a $100.00 credit, towards one month’s rent, for a successful referral and lease signing of a one of her referrals.  There were others that she referred including a co worker. 2.      As to the matter of the maintenance personnel being sent un-announced, I refer you to section 27 within Ms. [redacted]’s signed lease and renewal stating: “LESSEE AGREES to permit the Lessor, its servants, agents and/or any other person, authorized by Lessor, to have free access to the leasehold premises herein described from the hours of 8:00am to 8:00pm, (1) to make such repairs or alterations as Lessor may see fit or, (2) to permit inspection by prospective purchasers of the leasehold premises and/or the building in which the leasehold premises are contained or, (3) to inspect the leasehold premises and/or the building in which the leasehold premises are contained or (4) to permit inspections by prospective tenants. The Lessor shall have the right to access herein mentioned with or without the consent of the Lessee and whether or not the leasehold premises are occupied by the Lessee.” *Please Note: maintenance does not just walk into a apartment:  they ring the bell, wait a few minutes, then enter-always announcing who they are and may they come in. 3.      As to the condition of the apartment after Ms. [redacted]’s departure from the residence, I must protest any claims made by her by stating the following: - The apartment was not cleaned:  It took six (6) hours of cleaning just to bring it up to a move in condition- The rugs were not professionally cleaned- The master bedroom door was damaged beyond repair:  It required replacing- The master bedroom ceiling light fixture was broken beyond repair and needed replaced.- The main bathroom towel rack and toilet tissue holder were broken and/or missing and needed to be replaced- There were multiply holes throughout the apartment and along the entry wall leading up to the apartment that needed   patched and painted.  These were not simply holes that were made to hang a piece of artwork or a mirror, but   gouges so large, that sections of drywall itself had to be replaced in some areas. - The keys that were left would not open the apartment door, and the lock/handle had to be manually taken off ad replaced.Due to the failure/non compliance on Ms. [redacted]’s part to comply with  her end of lease, lease and renewal agreement along with the expenses occurred on JB Properties part, we were unfortunately unable to refund any of her security deposit.As for the matter regarding our company’s character, we feel that Ms. [redacted] has misrepresented us, stating opinions and views that prove contrary to her own actions and deeds as stated in this letter.   Doris J. D[redacted], Property ManagerJB Properties[redacted]

Review: I rented from this company for 2 years. During this time, their property manager ([redacted]) treated me like a piece of garbage. She is one of the most unprofessional, nastiest people I have ever come across in my many properties that I have rented from. I asked for a few days grace after I sent a check once, and when she received it, she cashed it anyway and acted like we never had the conversation about it even though she said that wouldn't be a problem. The company has no website, no email address listed and no other contacts, they don't even have a real office that they work out of. Everything goes through the property manager, who is the worst person to deal with. I even spoke with the guy at the post office and the man who owns the PO Box who rent checks are sent to, doesn't even pick up his own mail. I actually sent a check once via certified mail, which means that you as the recipient needs to sign for it, well the woman's son picked up the "owners" mail and he never saw or signed for it at all. Also, upon moving out of the building, another tenant that lives in the building left some old furniture and belongings in the main hallway, and I received multiple harassing calls from the property manager swearing at me and accusing me that I left stuff in the building. Meanwhile, I spoke with the owner of that property who still lives in the building and he told me he refuses to move it because the property managers son cut the power cord on the TV. All around, this company is very shady, the property manager is beyond anything near being considered a "professional" and to top off the list, when we moved out, I FOUND BLACK MOLD GROWING IN THE VENTILATION, major health hazard.Desired Settlement: My fiance and I fear that the property manager is somehow going to propagate damage to the apartment and we will not receive our security deposit back once the lease has ended (November 30th, 2013). We actually moved a month ago because we were treated so poorly by Doris Dayoub that we just couldn't bear living there any more. We are still paying rent for a place we don't live in and we just want our Deposit back. We have photos to prove that we cleaned fully when we moved out on Oct 1, 2013.

Review: I would NEVER recommend JB Properties. I was a tenant for two years living in one of their [redacted] apartments. Since I moved in I've had multiple issues with water leaking from the upstairs bathroom to the kitchen which then resulted in plaster falling and MOLD. There was evidence of MOLD in the powder room, spare bedroom, kitchen, and upstairs bathroom. When we called to report this issue, they sent a maintenance man unannounced to our house and he simply just plastered over the water damage. In addition to the multiple issues we had with the apartment, the landlord was unresponsive and impossible to get in touch with. We left multiple voicemails, emails, and texts. Since I've been a tenant I've taken immaculate care of the apartment. Always keeping it clean and in the condition it was given to me. When it was time for my husband and I to move out, the landlord informed us that we would not be receiving any of the $875 dollars of our security deposit back. The landlord claimed that the keys we had given her did not open the door and had to call a locksmith to change the locks. This is hard for me to believe, as these were the keys we used for the past two years. If my key was unable to open the door, how would've we entered our apartment? Also, she claimed that the bath towel rack and the toilet paper holder were broken. And they were, since the moment we moved in. This rental property company is a SCAM and the employees working for this company are rude and unprofessional. JB properties is unfair to the young adults living in the Mt. Washington area. This company is the definition of a SLUMLORD. Do yourself a favor and NEVER rent one of thier unkept, dirty apartments.Desired Settlement: JB Properties owes myself and my husband our security deposit back. Their claims are unfair and untrue. If this does not resolve the issue, I will take this to court. I have pictures of the apartment when we left and pictures of the mold in multiple rooms.

Business

Response:

Hello, We would like to address the above complaint:On April 10, 2015, Ms. [redacted], who had been a tenant of JB Properties from August 1, [redacted]-July 1, 2015, called me to say she had purchased a house and asked, “Although the end date of her lease was not until August 1, 2015, could she be let out of her lease as of July 1, 2015, so that she would not have to pay both a mortgage and a rent paymentI congratulated her on her new home purchase and stated that to do that, “I would list her apartment as being available starting July 1, 2015 and that if it is be rented for that date, I would let her out of her lease early”. Ms. [redacted] agreed to these conditions and JB Properties was able to rent the apartment for July 1, 2015.At the end of the above conversation, Ms. [redacted] said, “she loved the apt, she loved renting from us, and that is why she had recommended our company to people she knew” (if she hadn't, why did she renew her lease for a second year?) Furthermore, she went on to say that she, “would have renewed her lease for another year if she hadn’t purchased the house.”After the conversation outlining the terms in which we would release her from her lease, I told her that an “End of Lease” form would be sent out to her, outlining what needed to be completed for her move out and to receive her security deposit. Again, she said "Thank You." As for the complaints listed in Ms. [redacted]’s original letter, I will address them as follows: 1. The former tenant [redacted] actually did refer prospective tenants to JB Properties during her lease with JB Properties, contrary to her statement that she, “would never refer anyone to us”. Furthermore,she received a $100.00 credit, towards one month’s rent, for a successful referral and lease signing of a one of her referrals. There were others that she referred including a co worker. 2. As to the matter of the maintenance personnel being sent un-announced, I refer you to section 27 within Ms. [redacted]’s signed lease and renewal stating: “LESSEE AGREES to permit the Lessor, its servants, agents and/or any other person, authorized by Lessor, to have free access to the leasehold premises herein described from the hours of 8:00am to 8:00pm, (1) to make such repairs or alterations as Lessor may see fit or, (2) to permit inspection by prospective purchasers of the leasehold premises and/or the building in which the leasehold premises are contained or, (3) to inspect the leasehold premises and/or the building in which the leasehold premises are contained or (4) to permit inspections by prospective tenants. The Lessor shall have the right to access herein mentioned with or without the consent of the Lessee and whether or not the leasehold premises are occupied by the Lessee.” *Please Note: maintenance does not just walk into a apartment: they ring the bell, wait a few minutes, then enter-always announcing who they are and may they come in. 3. As to the condition of the apartment after Ms. [redacted]’s departure from the residence, I must protest any claims made by her by stating the following: - The apartment was not cleaned: It took six (6) hours of cleaning just to bring it up to a move in condition- The rugs were not professionally cleaned- The master bedroom door was damaged beyond repair: It required replacing- The master bedroom ceiling light fixture was broken beyond repair and needed replaced.- The main bathroom towel rack and toilet tissue holder were broken and/or missing and needed to be replaced- There were multiply holes throughout the apartment and along the entry wall leading up to the apartment that needed patched and painted. These were not simply holes that were made to hang a piece of artwork or a mirror, but gouges so large, that sections of drywall itself had to be replaced in some areas. - The keys that were left would not open the apartment door, and the lock/handle had to be manually taken off ad replaced.Due to the failure/non compliance on Ms. [redacted]’s part to comply with her end of lease, lease and renewal agreement along with the expenses occurred on JB Properties part, we were unfortunately unable to refund any of her security deposit.As for the matter regarding our company’s character, we feel that Ms. [redacted] has misrepresented us, stating opinions and views that prove contrary to her own actions and deeds as stated in this letter. Doris J. D[redacted], Property ManagerJB Properties[redacted]

Review: I was mislead in understanding the terms of a lease termination by Doris D[redacted]. I was told in order to terminate a lease from J&B properties I would owe $2000 to break the lease and that would cover 2 months lease up front and then I would have to pay the additional required rent of $1000 each month the apartment was not rented out and if it rented I would be refunded money. I received harassing calls from Doris D[redacted] telling me I owed her $2000 more and was never told this.

I attempted to call John B[redacted] (The owner of JB Properties) to resolve my issue with the misunderstanding of the situation and the outcome was not well. He told me what I had to say did not matter and that anything that they said moving forward anything they say is what I must agree to. Being that I wanted to terminate my lease early for the purchase of a home, I was in a bind since they mislead me to believing I could pay these amounts over months of still living there. I expected to get out of my lease end of August 2015 (4 months of paying the lease of $4000) and if it rented before that I would not owe them anything.

I also attempted to ask Doris D[redacted] to please list my apartment to be shown so it could rent as soon as possible and she refused to list the apartment until the surprise demand of an additional $2000 was sent to her immediately. They are requiring me to move out of the apartment by June 2015 and I will lose $2000. I do not believe Doris D[redacted] is showing the apartment to attempt to get it rented. She has texted me multiple times about showing the apartment yet I am home each time she says the guests are coming and no one has come to look at it. I believe they have taken an additional $2000 without true attempts to rent the apartment out and return funds back to the tenant.Desired Settlement: My security deposit of $1000 is still at limbo and I would like to see the majority of this back. The apartment has been extremely well kept and I would like to see J&B Properties assess the property in a professional and realistic outcome. They have already taken $2000 additional rent money that I will not absorb and use at all in the apartment since I am moving out and all I would like back is the $1000 for my security deposit.

Business

Response:

Hello, My name is Doris D[redacted], Property Manager for JB Properties and I would like to address the complaint issues 1 x 1: -as to being mislead as to the lease termination, per the lease the tenant signed at the onset of her lease and the additional renewal form (10/15/14)there are no conditions that allow for early termination of a lease which in Ms. [redacted]'s case runs through December 31, 2015. The above named tenant phoned me in April 2015 stating she was in the process of looking to purchase a home and wanted to know the process of terminating her lease early: I told her there was none, but as a courtesy to her, I would allow the early termination and explained verbally what I could offer her. I also sent three (3) letters - one (1) of which I personally attached to her apartment door outlining what would be required. (per our phone conversation) Also during the above phone conversation, the tenant stated she had saw a townhouse in Wexford she liked and would be putting in an offer ASAP. I replied that if she gave me her sixty (60) day notice and her offer did not work out, to let me know and I would extend until she found another home. Ms. [redacted]'s reply was"it doesn't matter if they reject my offer on this one, there are two (2) others in the same plan and I am sure I will get one of those so there wouldn't be any reason to extend." As you will see in the letter, which is in the form of an example- there is no command from us as to when she had to leave in fact, we left that up to her. -as outlined, the sixty day notice it had to be accompanied with the two (2) months rent it was for (Ms. [redacted]'s choice) and the two (2) months buy out:her rent is $1000.00/month which would equal $4000.00 with the sixty day notice. Ms. [redacted] called me to say she could not take that much money out ofher accounts at once because it would "red flag" her account to the mortgage company: she asked if she could send the sixty day notice amount of $2000.00on May 9, 2015 when she got paid and the two month buy out - $2000.00 at the end of May. I agreed to this in an effort to try to help her mortgage process proceed smoothly.(As a note, rents are due on the first (1st) of the month with a fifty ($50.00) dollar late fee assessed after the fifth (5th) of the month: I did not chargeMs. [redacted] a late fee for May 2015's rent payment being late and also as a courtesy, have not charged her late fees for the three (3) other times her rent payment was late over the course of her tenancy with JB Properties.)As you will also see, one of the last lines in the informational letter states that she can also buy out her entire lease if she chooses. -as to the three (3) phone calls I made: 1 was to ask if she still intended to seek early termination of her lease since we DID NOT RECEIVE the notice or the dollar amount by May 11, 2015. 1 was at the end of May 2015 to ask if she had sent the buy out 1 was in June 2015 to say that the buy out $ had not yet been received: she stated that the envelope was returned because of an incorrect address and asked me what our correct mailing address was since she did not know it. (I found this strange since her previous checks-on time and late-reached us) During this last conversation, I stated I would not be contacting her again concerning the money issues and would assume she had reconsidered. -the apartment has been listed on Craigslist, Trulia and Apartment Finder since 5/9/15. I or my associated have shown the apartment 12 times since the listing -with Ms. [redacted] always being informed as to when we would be showing and as I tell all tenants that are moving, "They never have to leave the apartment while we show"-the ONLY DAY Ms. [redacted] was ever present for any of these showings was onSaturday, 6/20/15. NOTE: Initially Ms. [redacted] stated that she had friends interested in her apartment and a week later when I had not heard from her or anyone referencing her, I called Ms. [redacted] to ask to have them contact me to set up appointments: her response was "I'm not even going to refer then to you-you can get your own listings." -you will also see the "End of Lease" sheet that is sent to ALL tenants that are moving: it states that their security deposit will be refunded if all the conditions are met and there are not repairs that are needed. As a last note, JB Properties ALWAYS works with tenants in this and other situations of this nature. In fact, in the last year alone, we have had four (4) other tenants in the same situation as Ms. [redacted] - relocation and/or buying of homes and all have received their security deposit refunds and either all or some portion of their buy out if their apartments have been rented. In fact, the four (4) tenants I spoke of have all written cards of "Thanks" in helping them in their transition. (I would be happy to supply the Revdex.com these cards if you wish) To recap: the early termination of the lease requested by the tenant was given as a courtesy no one stated when or if Ms. [redacted] had to move calls made to the tenant were into the "no response by the tenant" in holding up her end of the agreement it is always in our best interest to get an apartment rented as soon as possible there is no foundation to any of the allegations made by the tenant The documents attached are: the Revdex.com's cover letter and complaint letter copies of the letters (2) sent and (1) placed on Ms. [redacted]'s door outlining the "courtesy early termination of her lease" the "End of Lease" sheet which explains what is required when moving out If you would have any additional questions, please do not hesitate to contact me. Doris J. D[redacted], Property ManagerJB Properties[redacted]

Review: I have been renting the current place for over 5 years now from J&B Properties. Initially, I could call and receive a follow-up from the property manager to discuss the request in further depth and the issue was resolved in a timely manner. Over the years, their reply to maintenance requests have declined dramatically and are basically nonexistent now. My calls go to voicemail without any follow-up response and remain unresolved for extended periods of time or unresolved entirely.

1. During heavy downpours, the bedroom ceilings leak along the ceiling joints onto our dressers and possessions and even leaks downstairs in the middle of the ceiling, which leaves an ever enlarging saturated water mark in the ceilings. I have called after each major storm to report the leaking ceilings without any resolution. Their concept of a leak repair is to just patch over the spot and paint, which was the result from the complaint during my first summer of tenure when a large section of plaster actually fell from the ceiling.

2. The water supply hoses to toilets and sinks leak at times, leaving water puddles under/behind sinks and toilets. When I try closing the water supply valve to stop the leak, it leaks out of the supply valve instead. I've called for a replacement without any known resolution. I managed to slow/stop the leak with a partially closed valve to slow water flow and pressure.

3. The dishwasher grinds while running and no longer cleans dishes. I've called about replacement without any follow-up or resolution.

4. The garbage disposal leaked water from the reset button, leaking through the electrical box and live wires located at the bottom of the unit. I called for replacement and it took months to be replaced. I never was contacted that it was scheduled for replacement. I only noticed the replacement because they left the old garbage disposal on the countertop for me to dispose of.

5. The water fill unit inside the powder room toilet tank stopped working properly. I called and it took them well over a week to finally replace the piece and probably took less than 10 minutes to complete. When I returned home from work that night, there were soaking wet bath towels thrown on the laundry room floor and our trashcan was overflowing with an entire roll of paper towels. THEY FLOODED THE TOILET DURING THE REPAIR... (my powder room toilet is directly above the bedroom of the tenants living downstairs, so I'm certain water leaked down into their bedroom)

6. A large crack developed in the dining room window from a previous winter's extreme cold. I called them around March timeframe to report the crack and request replacement. Surprising, I was contacted and told it would be replaced as soon as the weather warmed up. However, it probably wasn't replaced until July or August.

I can only assume there is black mold growing throughout the house based on the water leaks that occur consistently throughout the house. There's only a house maintenance phone number to contact, which often goes unanswered. There's no direct contact to the actual landlord, only a PO Box for sending rent checks. Early on in my tenure, I was given the Property Manager's cell phone for "emergencies". However, when I have called to report one of the above stated water leaks, I was told with serious attitude that it was not an emergency and call the house maintenance number.Desired Settlement: Bare minimum, I would like them to make repairs now and in a timely manner in the future. If possible, I would like a guarantee that I will receive some security deposit back when can finally afford to move out. These repairs are outside of my responsibility but for calling to report them. However, I just have a feeling all these unresolved issues will be blamed and used against me to retain my deposit for their lack of repairs.

Business

Response:

May 7, 2015 Revdex.comFAX # [redacted] ID # [redacted]All items that are listed in the complaint were addressed and corrected as they were called into the maintenance office.If you would have any additional questions, pjease do not hesitate to contact us.[redacted]

I rented from this company for 2 years. During this time, their property manager ([redacted]) treated me like a piece of garbage. She is one of the most unprofessional, nastiest people I have ever come across in my many properties that I have rented from. I asked for a few days grace after I sent a check once, and when she received it, she cashed it anyway and acted like we never had the conversation about it even though she said that wouldn't be a problem. The company has no website, no email address listed and no other contacts, they don't even have a real office that they work out of. Everything goes through the property manager, who is the worst person to deal with. I even spoke with the guy at the post office and the man who owns the PO Box who rent checks are sent to, doesn't even pick up his own mail. I actually sent a check once via certified mail, which means that you as the recipient needs to sign for it, well the woman's son picked up the "owners" mail and he never saw or signed for it at all. Also, upon moving out of the building, another tenant that lives in the building left some old furniture and belongings in the main hallway, and I received multiple harassing calls from the property manager swearing at me and accusing me that I left stuff in the building. Meanwhile, I spoke with the owner of that property who still lives in the building and he told me he refuses to move it because the property managers son cut the power cord on the TV. All around, this company is very shady, the property manager is beyond anything near being considered a "professional" and to top off the list, when we moved out, I FOUND BLACK MOLD GROWING IN THE VENTILATION, major health hazard.

Check fields!

Write a review of J & B Properties

Satisfaction rating
 
 
 
 
 
Upload here Increase visibility and credibility of your review by adding a photo

J & B Properties Rating

Overall satisfaction rating

Address: P.O. Box 60001, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States, 15211

Phone:

Show more...

Add contact information for J & B Properties

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | New | Updated