Sign in

JJ Construction

Sharing is caring! Have something to share about JJ Construction? Use RevDex to write a review
Reviews Construction JJ Construction

JJ Construction Reviews (19)

Dec 08, 2019

See attached document7/16/Revdex.comRe: [redacted] To whom it may concern;The letter is in response to the complaint filed by [redacted] on June 16, [redacted] 's application was filled out and received on June 1, and was ruled over income on June 15, 2015, due to her gross income being too high to reside at Meadowview Townhomes in compliance with federal tax credit housing lawDuring the process in which she was screened for her background check, she was never told that she had qualified for move-in, only which her credit and criminal background check had come back approvedMeadowview Townhomes is a tax credit community, therefore all prospects must qualify under the regulated income and occupancy guidelines set forth by the federal governmentThe prospective resident must show proof of income for verification, in which is verified by Dominium's compliance departmentSome of the paperwork that was originally provided by [redacted] for employment verification (check stubs) looked as if her income would qualified for our communityThe LIHTC programs require written verification from employer to confirm incomeIt took several days to get this form back and it showed that [redacted] would be getting overtime on a regular basisHer overtime together with her child support for the past months did put her income over the restricted size for a household of two [redacted] s was immediately informed the next day,Taylor RS***Regional ManagerProperty ManagementDominiumNorthwest Blvd, Suite 150, Plymouth, MN 55441Phone [redacted]

Nov 15, 2019

In Response to Complaint ID# [redacted] ***; JJ Construction does not deny that a few mistakes were made on the deck project for [redacted] ***, some of the mistakes we take full responsibility for but some of the mistakes where also caused by the Homeowner As far as the length of time it took to complete the project, that was due to unforeseen work that needed to be addressed, customer involvement in how project was performed & laid out and lastly on specialty products being on back order ( these specialty products were for additional work that Mr [redacted] wanted completed ) any products that are on back order is completely out of our control As far as handling the mistakes that JJ Construction takes responsibility for, JJ Construction performed and supplied extra materials and labor for upgrades to the deck for any inconvenience that was caused to Mr [redacted] and for Mr***'s agreement to not go through with all the threats he threatened JJ Construction with to Slander our company all over the internet, which he did not honor because he put bad reviews of JJ Construction all over the internetThe extra materials and labor cost was approx$3, [redacted] still owes JJ Construction $1,worth of additional work that we preformed and that he verbally agreed to paying Mr [redacted] has been putting off meeting with [redacted] ( JJ Construction Sales Rep ) to sign the Change Order contract Lastly, We feel customer never had intentions of paying JJ Construction for the deck upgrade on house because he is selling his house and moving to North Carolina which we were not aware of until the project was completed and he refuse to pay for the jobJJ Construction had to inform him that if job was not paid that we were putting a lein on his home, at that time, Mr [redacted] then paid for most of job but again stated he did not want to pay for any of the work performedThe deck was completed,inspected, approved and passed all of Penfield building codesJJ Construction is asking for $4,in compensation because we honored the written and verbal agreements made between Homeowner ( [redacted] ) and JJ Construction where as Home Owner ( [redacted] ) did not honor his verbal commitment to JJ Construction

Oct 29, 2019

NO COMMUNICATIONDo not waste your time with JJ Construction - we selected them as our contractor after experiencing major ice damming over the winterThe first two visits were great, [redacted] was very helpful and informative, but as soon as we signed the contract to give them the job if we were awarded the money from our insurance company, [redacted] stopped answering his phoneMultiple calls and voicemails on his cell phone along with multiple calls to the office were also ignoredI'm thankful we don't have any money tied up in this transaction

After interviewing several Contractors in the Rochester area hands down JJ Construction was the best choiceThe entire experience from start to finish was enjoyable from the fun and witty representative Scott who educated us on all of our options to the crew that worked on the jobI would recommend them to anyone

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below
This response from *** see land is a complete lie he never onced called or came to my residence and told me these thingsThe only thing that was ever done for me was his foreman *** *** came out and shoved a piece of shingle in that hole in the valleyIf nothing was wrong with it then why would he put a shingle in there? And as far as the other issues they have fixed for me that is another lieHe has not come out with anyone to take care of my issuesOr has spent any of his money on any repairs to my houseThis is a complete and utter lieI have no paperwork with any work being done to my houseUnless he is doing the work to my house without my knowledge which is illegalThe lie he just told you is unacceptable there is a hole under my shingle where it meets the valley were ice is getting in true I had an ice damn there but so do my other side and the other side did not leak at allAgain this is unacceptable poor workmanship and act of god is two different thingsI was also told by *** *** quote "if you have any other problems call someone else cause we won't fix it" that's what I spent on for the owner to tell me basically screw offLike I stated before I have pictures and video of the roofThe valley is not made correctlyI have come to the conclusion that he does Not want to do the job because they will lose money from they're mistake I have a ten year warranty that I want honored

We have had the worst experience with this company and its ownerThe owner is shifty and calculatingThe work on our house is sub par! Not to mention they have been doing the work that was supposed to be done in under a mo th for almost a yearThey have been making half effort in remedying our performance complaintsThe are jerry rigging most of the work and we keep having them come back just to have them figure out how to "fix it," so we will leave them aloneNow we have spent almost thousand dollars in home repair to be jerked around by the owner all while demanding the last thousand we owe him that we have withheld for work not completedHe doesn't actually care about the quality of the work he just cares about getting his check!

RE: Claim ID# [redacted]         [redacted]         [redacted]...

[redacted]  To Whom It May Concern;  In response to Complaint ID# [redacted], JJ Construction was contracted to do a flat roof on front of house with new gutters.  On 8/20/2013, JJ Construction was contracted to redo front flat roof with new gutters and siding on front gable where all tie in together for $5500.00. Customer could not get financed so at that time we contracted to just do roof and gutters on 9/12/13 for $4000.00 even though siding needed to get done to flash roof properly into house. Again customer could not get the financing for this project. They were able to come up with $2,750.00 to do whatever possible to front porch that was very deteriorated. On 10/7/13 JJ Construction contracted to do flat roof and change fascia board but re-used existing plastic gutters that were already damaged and leaking as well as butt new roof to gable wall and seal. Wall was deteriorated and needed to be replaced but was not in their budget. At that time, we did replace (1) section of gutter on driveway side of house. On 6/10/14 was the only time that JJ Construction was contacted by the homeowner stating that they had a leak in their front porch. At that time, [redacted] Sales Rep for JJ Construction, went out to inspect and evaluated that the water that is causing the leak is coming from the siding above a roof that needed to be done but customer could not get financed for. Leak comes in on certain driving rain so it is possible that it will happen again until customer can have gable wall sided. Leak is not a cause of work contracted through JJ Construction therefore is not warranted through JJ Construction. If you have any questions pertaining to the above response, please feel free to contact me directly at [redacted]  Respectfully,  [redacted] JJ CONSTRUCTION

See attached document7/16/2015 Revdex.comRe: [redacted]To whom it may concern;The letter is in response to the complaint filed by [redacted] on June 16, 2015 [redacted]'s application was filled out and received on June 1, 2015 and was ruled over income on June 15, 2015, due to...

her gross income being too high to reside at Meadowview Townhomes in compliance with federal tax credit housing law. During the process in which she was screened for her background check, she was never told that she had qualified for move-in, only which her credit and criminal background check had come back approved. Meadowview Townhomes is a tax credit community, therefore all prospects must qualify under the regulated income and occupancy guidelines set forth by the federal government. The prospective resident must show proof of income for verification, in which is verified by Dominium's compliance department. Some of the paperwork that was originally provided by [redacted] for employment verification (check stubs) looked as if her income would qualified for our community. The LIHTC programs require written verification from employer to confirm income. It took several days to get this form back and it showed that [redacted] would be getting overtime on a regular basis. Her overtime together with her child support for the past 12 months did put her income over the restricted size for a household of two. [redacted]s was immediately informed the next day,Taylor R. S[redacted]Regional ManagerProperty ManagementDominium2905 Northwest Blvd, Suite 150, Plymouth, MN 55441Phone [redacted]

After interviewing several Contractors in the Rochester area hands down JJ Construction was the best choice. The entire experience from start to finish was enjoyable from the fun and witty representative Scott who educated us on all of our options to the crew that worked on the job. I would recommend them to anyone.

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted], and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.
In Response to Complaint ID# [redacted] - [redacted];
JJ Construction does not deny that a few mistakes were made on the deck project for [redacted], some of the mistakes we take full responsibility for but some of the mistakes where also caused by the Homeowner. 
I know of no mistakes by us the homeowners, please enumerate.  The following mistakes were made by JJ CONSTRUCTION:
Accurate and detailed plans showing the layout of the deck on the back of our house were NEVER provided to homeowner or Village.  If provided, it would have prevented the following issues:
Incorrect size deck being built at the beginning,Lack of consistent spacing between foundation footers (caused by addition of a footer for wrong size deck),Size of deck would have been reduced by 1-2 feet to allow for correctly sized stairs with standard spacing between handrails.  We had to accept narrower stairs to avoid having the right side handrail protrude into middle of the dining room window.Contract called for NO SEAMS, the completed project did not satisfy this requirement.   Proper planning might have prevented the seam in the composite material across the front side of the deck. Workmanship issues including: Putting a lag bolt through a waste pipe due to not verifying what was on the other side of the wall. Workers not properly trained in the use of a gas powered core saw.  Homeowner had to tell them how to use it. Removal and re-installation of deck material due to improper installation. Correction of joist heights that were NOT installed properly. Attempts to have stairs that were out of code by the Village inspector.  First stair was 11" rise, last one was 6" rise.Hammer dents, nail holes in skirting of deck provide poor visual aesthetics. Gaps in corner joints of front of deck also add to the poor installation techniques. Inconsistent blocking and structural techniques make the deck look very poor from underneath.As far as the length of time it took to complete the project, that was due to unforeseen work that needed to be addressed, customer involvement in how project was performed & laid out and lastly on specialty products being on back order ( these specialty products were for additional work that Mr. [redacted] wanted completed ) any products that are on back order is completely out of our control.Alluding to customer involvement with layout, if the owner of JJ Construction means that we had to ask for improperly installed items to be corrected, then we agree, we had to be involved.  Errors in installation required that additional materials be ordered and that caused delays and back orders.As far as handling the mistakes that JJ Construction takes responsibility for, JJ Construction performed and supplied extra materials and labor for upgrades to the deck for any inconvenience that was caused to Mr. [redacted] and for Mr. [redacted]'s  agreement to not go through with all the threats he threatened JJ Construction with to Slander our company all over the internet, which he did not honor because he put bad reviews of JJ Construction all over the internet. The extra materials and labor cost was approx. $3,200.00 . 
JJ Construction indicates SLANDER, there is not one shred of evidence that anything was stated that wasn't truthful.  JJ Construction provided ZERO extra materials used on our project, and there was no agreement that we would not put TRUTHFUL, FACTUAL reviews on the internet.  [redacted] still owes JJ Construction $1,200.00 worth of additional work that we preformed and that he verbally agreed to paying . Mr. [redacted] has been putting off meeting with Scott ( JJ Construction Sales Rep ) to sign the Change Order contract. There have been ZERO attempts to contact me to sign Change order forms.  Show emails, text messages or phone calls, or letters proving that any attempt have been made.  Lastly, We feel customer never had intentions of paying JJ Construction for the deck upgrade on house because he is selling his house and moving to North Carolina which we were not aware of until the project was completed and he refuse to pay for the job. JJ Construction had to inform him that if job was not paid that we were putting a lein on his home, at that time, Mr. [redacted] then paid for most of job but again stated he did not want to pay for any of the work performed. The deck was completed,inspected, approved and passed all of Penfield building codes.First of all, it is Fairport, not Penfield.  The deck is indeed to code, but code does not require quality results.  We have pictures and detailed information regarding all of the items that were pointed out to Mr. [redacted] on September 11th.  As far as not planning to pay for the job, this is just not true.  When Mr. [redacted] came to our house, and we showed all of the poor quality issues, and discussed the time frame it took to complete the job, we informed Mr. [redacted] that we felt that with all of the problems associated with a simple rectangular deck, that we should get a discount. Mr. [redacted] became irate and asked for FULL PAYMENT, screaming at us in our own backyard, threatening to prevent us from selling our house with a mechanics lien.  On September 12th, I went to JJ Construction office and paid in FULL the invoice for the job that was presented.  I refused to sign an affidavit that stated that the job was complete, because we were not satisfied with the quality of the finished product. 
JJ Construction is asking for $4,400.00 in compensation because we honored the written and verbal agreements made between Homeowner ( [redacted] ) and JJ Construction where as Home Owner ( [redacted] ) did not honor his verbal commitment to JJ Construction.  This request is without merit.Regards,  [redacted]

In Response to Complaint ID# [redacted];
JJ Construction does not deny that a few mistakes were made on the deck project for [redacted], some of the mistakes we take full responsibility for but some of the mistakes where also caused by the Homeowner.
As far as...

the length of time it took to complete the project, that was due to unforeseen work that needed to be addressed, customer involvement in how project was performed & laid out and lastly on specialty products being on back order ( these specialty products were for additional work that Mr. [redacted] wanted completed ) any products that are on back order is completely out of our control.
As far as handling the mistakes that JJ Construction takes responsibility for, JJ Construction performed and supplied extra materials and labor for upgrades to the deck for any inconvenience that was caused to Mr. [redacted] and for Mr. [redacted]'s  agreement to not go through with all the threats he threatened JJ Construction with to Slander our company all over the internet, which he did not honor because he put bad reviews of JJ Construction all over the internet. The extra materials and labor cost was approx. $3,200.00 . [redacted] still owes JJ Construction $1,200.00 worth of additional work that we preformed and that he verbally agreed to paying . Mr. [redacted] has been putting off meeting with [redacted] ( JJ Construction Sales Rep ) to sign the Change Order contract.
Lastly, We feel customer never had intentions of paying JJ Construction for the deck upgrade on house because he is selling his house and moving to North Carolina which we were not aware of until the project was completed and he refuse to pay for the job. JJ Construction had to inform him that if job was not paid that we were putting a lein on his home, at that time, Mr. [redacted] then paid for most of job but again stated he did not want to pay for any of the work performed. The deck was completed,inspected, approved and passed all of Penfield building codes. JJ Construction is asking for $4,400.00 in compensation because we honored the written and verbal agreements made between Homeowner ( [redacted] ) and JJ Construction where as Home Owner ( [redacted] ) did not honor his verbal commitment to JJ Construction.

NO COMMUNICATION. Do not waste your time with JJ Construction - we selected them as our contractor after experiencing major ice damming over the winter. The first two visits were great, [redacted] was very helpful and informative, but as soon as we signed the contract to give them the job if we were awarded the money from our insurance company, [redacted] stopped answering his phone. Multiple calls and voicemails on his cell phone along with multiple calls to the office were also ignored. I'm thankful we don't have any money tied up in this transaction.

On behalf of [redacted] here is the response to the above mentioned claim: Pertaining to [redacted], JJ Construction was contracted to install siding and roofing for the customer in 2011.  The work was completed in September of 2011.  Since the work has been completed we...

have on file a few concerns from [redacted] regarding things he wanted done differently.  JJ Construction has addressed and acknowledged every one of [redacted]’s calls and on each occasion  we have replaced or changed things in accordance with his wishes/concerns.  Sometimes these things were done even at our own expense, even if it wasn’t warranted, with the exception of his last request.  [redacted] called in this past winter (2014) and had a leak.  This is the only leak he has had that JJ Construction is aware of.  [redacted] Brant met [redacted] at his residence and saw that the gutters were packed with ice and that the ice was building up on the roof.  [redacted] explained to him that ice damming was occurring.  JJ Construction has NO control over ice damming, when it occurs or how it forms.  [redacted] did offer to remove the ice from the gutters and put down calcium over the roof and [redacted] would have been charged our normal service charge, but [redacted] declined. [redacted] called after he cleared the roof and wanted someone to come back out to look at it and we found nothing visually wrong with it, so nothing else needed to be done.    [redacted] then called myself, [redacted] Seeland, to ask me to pull the wall apart and the valley.  I asked him when he removed the ice if his leaking stopped and he confirmed that it did indeed stop when the ice was removed.  I explained to him that his roof had no visual workmanship defects and that his roof has never leaked during any of the hurricane-like rain storms that we have had, even through Hurricane Sandy and it never leaked since.  The only time it has had a leak is in the winter of 2014 when it had ice build up.  I informed him that the manufacturer builds their product and the roofers provide and install the product to shed water and weather elements.  [redacted]’s leaking problems were due to water running up the roof, and then back down and that is what caused the leak.  I informed him that this would fall under the category of “Acts of God” and that neither the manufacturer nor JJ Construction warranties that.  I also informed him that we would not be changing anything because of that and that he should call me if there were any other issues. I have not heard anything else from him until this complaint.  JJ Construction stands behind what is written in his contract and that states that we do not warranty any type of ice damming and his leaking was in fact occurring as a result of ice damming at that time.[redacted]

Review: We signed a contract for a 20x14 size deck off the back of our home. The existing deck was to be removed and a new deck comprised of Azek material with Vinyl railings 20x14 with stairs on the side was to be installed. The contract indicated a June 2014 completion timeframe, however we did not notice that the salesman checked a box that indicated definite completion date was NOT of the essence.

We signed the contract on 5/24/14, the last worker was on our property on 8/22/14. The owner demanded full payment even though poor quality issues still existed. The owner became belligerent and threatened to invoke a mechanics lien. This would become difficult since our home is for sale. We were coerced into paying him in full.

The deck is indeed 20x14 as specified in the contract. The time from the signing of the contract on May 24th to completion on August 22nd was a total of 80 days. The actual project duration was 61 days. Numerous failures of proper planning resulted in delays and adversely affected final quality of the overall project. Heavy usage of shims and strange blocking under deck make the quality from underneath look sub-standard. A fourth 6x6 post for installed after the contractor was informed that the wrong size deck was being built. This extra post looks out of place and wrong. The staircase with nail holes, hammer dents, visibility of risers and treads above skirting, narrow space between the hand railings all contribute to poor quality appearance. Inferior construction including no additional blocking for a longer span (14') from the house.

Full details:

1. The installation date was supposed to begin the week of 5/26/14. We were told on Wednesday, 5/28/14 that there was an issue with getting the building permit for the Village of Fairport due to an issue with Workers Comp insurance. We were told that it would be resolved that week, and that work could start the following week (6/2/14). We finally received the building permit to display on 6/9/14, at which time we were told that work would start on 6/10, 6/11 at the very latest. Workers did not start until 6/12, a full two weeks after original date given to us.

2. Upon digging for footers for new posts on 6/12/14, it was determined that there was a concrete slab 18” below the ground surface spanning all three “planned” post holes. On 6/13, the crews showed up with a gas powered hole saw that they had great difficulty using. Looking at the placement of the posts we informed the salesman that the size of the deck being built was wrong. A fourth 6x6 post was added at this time, it looks out of place and a mistake.

3. On 6/15/14, the decking material was finally laid on the main deck area, work commenced on the stairs and on the siding.

4. On 6/19/14, the salesman texted my cell phone to inform me that parts for the railing system were backordered, and would not be in until the end of the week of 6/23/14. Temporary railings made out of 2x4’s were installed. The stairs were blocked off, unusable since 4 or 5 treads were not installed.

5. On 6/23/14, seeing the following issues, we contacted the salesman via voicemail as well as text message in the morning, it is disappointing that they felt this was acceptable quality:

a. Decking in southwest corner of deck shows a “wave” pattern, indicating that underlying deck joists are not at the same height.

b. Looking at the deck from the southwest side, the decking material was not laid to be “straight” lines, it meanders left and right, not looking like a professional installation.

c. The middle stringer for the stairs is not at the same level as the outside stringers. It is approximately .40” lower. This causes a bowed look. In addition, I am assuming there will be additional structural support for the stairs added since they are quite “bouncy”.

d. The decking material used as the front of the stair is not correct as it should have a bull nosed fascia. It currently shows indents for hidden fasteners.

6. On 6/26/14 I met with the salesman and the lead mechanic from JJ Construction at my house. We went through the entire project and agreed to what needed to be corrected. I asked them to please send me the punch list of things that needed to be corrected. I was told they would send in the morning. I was also told that there would be a full crew working on Friday 6/27/14 to start fixing things. I never received a copy of the punch list.

7. On 6/27/14: I stayed at home expecting workers to be onsite again, only to have nobody show up. I contacted the salesman directly, and was told he would call me back with an explanation of when things would be corrected, and the job completed. As of 11:30AM, I had not heard from him. I received a call from the lead mechanic at 12:58 PM asking if I received a call that morning, I told him no. I was then informed that if I had any further questions, I should direct them to him. I was told a crew would not be at the house today, but would start on Monday.

8. I went to JJ Construction office to see the owner at his office at 3PM. We talked about the entire project. I found out that he had stopped the crew from starting Friday morning because he wanted to inspect the job before anything else was done. He indicated:

a. Azek material has never been approved for use in JJ Construction jobs, and that the salesman exceeded authority by agreeing to use it. The owner indicated he always does testing of materials first prior to use on a customer site.

b. The fasteners used for the deck were not working, and caused additional problems. The owner indicated he would be calling Azek representative to find a solution.

c. He requested that I send copies of all text message correspondence between myself and the salesman; in addition, I sent lists of communications (cell phone) dates / times. In addition, I sent a copy of the information from this letter (up to item7).

d. The owner and I agreed that the crew would NOT start Monday, but would wait until a full understanding of material issues and all parts were in hand. He requested that I communicate through him from now on.

9. Saturday afternoon 6/28/14, I found water in the basement of our house. I believed that through the installation of new cedar siding, that a waste pipe was pierced. Upstairs bathrooms toilets and sinks cause water to flow into basement. I left a voice mail for the owner @ 4:30. He returned my call at 6:07pm and indicated that he wouldn’t have someone at the house until Monday morning to correct the problem.

10. Monday morning, 6/30/14, the job foreman showed up to look into issue. A 3” waste pipe indeed had been pierced by a 3” lag bolt that held the top of the stairs platform in place. Apparently the water problem had existed since the platform was built 6/18/14. The foreman removed the cedar siding and cut a hole into the plywood to open access to the pipe. The pipe was repaired, and at my request, tested before sealing up the hole. The foreman worked the rest of the day installing additional cedar siding under the deck. I received a call from the construction office at 2pm indicating that the owner would call me later that evening, or the next morning to apprise me of the status of the remaining work.

11. Tuesday afternoon 7/1/14, I heard from the owner saying they will be at our house mid-afternoon Wednesday to remove decking, put in posts for stair stringer supports and to prep to fix all the issues we agreed on. I informed the owner that he also needed to do something to remediate the waste water that had fouled the fiberglass batting in the basement. He said they would remove the existing batting, let the wood dry, apply a bleach blend to kill bacteria and install new batting.

12. Wednesday afternoon, 7/2/14 decking was removed, and work commenced on fixing stringers etcetera. I informed the owner that we would be on vacation returning 7/10/14. I was told that the deck would be complete by the time I returned, or early the next week.

13. I received text from the lead mechanic on 7/10/14 at 11:05 stating he would be leaving early to deal with another job. I was told that the deck looked “mint”, and that he would be coming back on Friday to “finish”. We arrived home to find stairs not in place, and railings not started, not what we would call “mint”.

14. 7/11/14 – railings were installed on the deck, no stairs installed yet, just stringers. Railing on north-west side is not very secure, moves under minimal pressure. I worked from home and was called out to the deck by the lead mechanic. He told me there was an issue with the stair railings. If installed to code, the railing would protrude into the window for the dining room by 6-10 inches. Rather than delay the job again, we reluctantly agreed to ask the inspector approve the change, allowing the railings to be on the inside of the stringers. [redacted] came by and approved the modification. Crew left at 4pm without blocking openings on deck or access from the sliding glass door into the house where someone could fall through. I was told that they were missing a railing section and that it might be a week or more before it came in. I texted the owner saying “another week, another lost weekend”. He called me back and questioned the validity of it being a lost weekend. I informed him that we couldn’t use the pool since there a significant amount of construction materials and other items surrounding pool. He offered to move the construction materials, and I said it wouldn’t help, the deck was unusable, and we wouldn’t have anywhere to move all of the items that had been removed from under and on top of the deck to facilitate the job. I indicated to him that we were very tired of the deck not being completed, and that our frustration level was increasing.

15. The following items were discussed and documented by us on 7/23/14, again amazed that this type of quality was deemed acceptable by the crew.

a. Joists are reinforced on the ledger board by joist hangars. Not all holes are filled.

b. There is at least a ½” gap between the beams and two of the 6x6 posts, that gap should be filled and should have cosmetic trim to hide the flaw.

c. The joists, since 14’ long should have solid blocking to ensure that the deck doesn’t twist.

d. North East railing skirting needs to be fixed, gap showing metal seen.

e. Azek material has two cuts in it, North East Corner, and middle-west side of deck.

f. Additional cedar siding needs to be replaced.

g. Corner square post (inside north-east corner) needs to come all the way down to the deck.

h. Stairs – They need to conform to code. The top stair is 6” and the bottom is >11”.

i. Skirting for pressure treated 12” beams surrounding deck needs to be installed to make deck aesthetically acceptable.

16. I received text from the owner on 7/24/14 that crew would be at my house on Friday morning to work off the punch list.

17. Crew showed up on 7/25/14 as assured. Difficulties with the electrical move due to the cement pad under the ground created quite an issue for the electrician, but they finished up by 5:30. Remaining crew left around 4:30-5:00pm, but did not complete punch list.

18. Monday the crew worked came and worked until about 3pm when it rained. Almost got through the punch list.

19. Tuesday 7/29/14 they seemed hurried at the very end and left @ 3pm.

20. Thursday 7/31/14, crew was here around 8:30 and left around 2pm. Thursday 7/31/14, Contacted the Fairport Building Inspector to find out if JJ and called for a final inspection, they had not.

21. Monday 8/4/14, the owner came out 8:30 in the morning. We went through entire job, we told him we weren’t happy with the quality, and that the stairs would not pass final inspection. He indicated that he believed that the inspection of the framing was all that was required. We discussed how badly the job had gone, and why. I remarked that inadequate plans at the very start caused all kinds of issues. He agreed that when they found out they were building the wrong size deck; they should have stopped and looked again at all of the ramifications. The fact that we needed to put the railings on the inside of the stairs making the distance between the railings 29”. The code indicates a minimum of 27” between railings. We talked about the main areas that needed attention:

a. Stairs – unhappy with how the stair treads stick up over the stringer, able to be seen from the side. I was told that he would order touch up paint to make it look better. The stairs at best look very sloppy, no consistency step to step.

b. Shims for collars for 6x6 posts needed to glued in and fixed.

c. Decking material by platform for stairs was bowed down, easily seen by standing to the other side of deck. He indicated they will just back out the screw a little bit to relieve tension.

d. Skirting for main beams needed to be ordered / installed. He indicated that this was above what was in the original contract. He also indicated that they would most likely order 12’ sections since the coverage area was greater than 20’.

22. Monday, August 4th afternoon, I received a phone call from the office manager at JJ Construction indicating that they wanted to schedule a review of the job and deal with final paperwork with the salesman. We arranged for Wednesday evening. I mentioned to the office manager that a final inspection needed to be arranged with the Fairport Building Inspector.

23. I contacted the owner Tuesday, August 5th morning via text to ask him to order additional skirting for the lower front beam under the deck. He indicated that he would do that. The Fairport Building Inspector came and indicated there were three things that needed to be corrected prior to getting Certificate of Completion:

a. Shims that were installed were cut against the grain, and that was wrong. They needed to be recut with the grain, and installed / glued in place.

b. Since the conduit for the underwater pool light had been broken, and the electrical switch replaced, an electrical inspection needed to be scheduled / completed.

c. The stairs failed compliance since most of the stairs have a 7.75 rise and the last step up onto the stair platform was < 6.75”. This needed to be corrected. The building inspector was disappointed that they even called for a final inspection with this situation in place. “JJ Construction should have known it wouldn’t pass final inspection.”

24. Wednesday, Aug 6th, I sent a text to the owner at 7:40am asking him to call me with how and when he planned on correcting the issues that the building inspector raised would be resolved. I received a return text stating “I will get back to you about what we will do about stairs ….. Late today, tomorrow morning… trim coming Friday, paint back order... looking like end of next week.” I responded that they should not wait for paint. He responded saying that he was hoping to finish on Friday.

25. Thursday, August 7th afternoon, 2:10pm, the owner has NOT contacted me, I contacted the office manager and she indicated that the owner was in an area that had bad reception, but she would try and contact him. I received a call back indicating that they needed to work on 9 or 10 step treads which needed to be removed / fixed, and that this work would not happen until Wednesday 8/13/14. I told the office manager that this was unacceptable, I was told they would be here Friday, 8/8/14 and I wanted to know exactly what they were doing to the steps to correct the situation and I wanted a call back to understand why we are waiting until next Wednesday.

26. Received a phone call from the owner on Friday 8/8/14, 12:45. He indicated that materials will be in, and a crew will be onsite Wednesday 8/13/14 to correct the stairs. He indicated that it would probably be a full day of work. He also stated that failing the stairs a surprise since he has had similar situations in Greece and the stairs passed inspection. I informed him that this was Fairport not Greece, and I wanted the stairs fixed to be in compliance with the code. The actual work on the deck was completed on 8/14/14. It has been 57 days since our 11 day project started, 71 days since we provided $3000 and signed the contract for a job that was to be done a week after memorial day.

27. The final certificate of completion was authorized on 8/22/14. The deck material that is intended to improve aesthetics sits on the ground in the pool area.

28. September 11, 2014 – Sitting down with the owner of JJ Construction to “settle up”. The owner came over and we informed him that the quality of the job was not great, that overall we were dissatisfied with the job. He estimated the cost of installing the skirting would be an additional $1200, $380 materials, $50/hour * 2 men for three hours plus profit. We told him we didn’t want him to do that work. He said that he couldn’t charge me for the other extra costs he had incurred since we hadn’t signed any change orders, totaling $1200 of overages. He informed us that he lost >$30K in other jobs because of ours, and that he had not made one penny. He indicated that he wanted FULL payment. When told that we disagreed, that the job took far longer than was promised, that there were quality issues that forced work to be done twice, that we felt he should compensate us for timing / quality and loss of use of our pool area for the summer. We were told that we should have thrown him off the job site a month and a half earlier if we thought we would get a discount, that no judge would grant any allowance for length of job since a box on the contract that said “Time of completion is NOT of the ESSENCE”, that he was due the entire amount and he would obtain a mechanics lien against our house preventing us from selling it. We informed him that we needed to talk to our lawyer, and he left.

29. After discussion with a lawyer, we have decided to pay the remaining balance and be done. We would not recommend this construction company to anyone that is interested in a timely quality job.Desired Settlement: We do not trust this contractor to correct the deficiencies, and would like a refund of 20-40% so we can have all of these issues corrected.

Business

Response:

In Response to Complaint ID# [redacted];

JJ Construction does not deny that a few mistakes were made on the deck project for [redacted], some of the mistakes we take full responsibility for but some of the mistakes where also caused by the Homeowner.

Review: My elderly parents, [redacted]., received a quote for having their roof shingles replaced to stop leaking in the front left corner of their house. After they started work, the job manager, knowing that insurance money was forthcoming, told my parents that one of their workers "fell" through the roof in one spot, so they needed to replace the entire roof's plywood and added another $4000. They did not show my parents all rotted boards, nor did they honor our request for a complete itemized list of expenses.

The front and back of the roof is not straight across and has a "dip" in it, which have not been repaired as requested and it still makes icicles affording dangerous ice on the ground in front of the garage door. My parents were lead to believe the roof would not have icicles after the roofing job was completed.

After additional research, I believe my parents, at 87 & 90 years old were coerced into signing unclear paperwork.

I had several other companies give me an estimate. Each sited several instances of improper workmanship, improper venting and estimated a much lower cost for the same job.

The job manager also told me about an employee who fell through the roof, but then later denied the incident happened at all when I requested the employee's information. They also charged $650.00 for warranty, which other companies include at no charge. An additional charge of $500.00 was for a tarp, which they did not leave with my parents. We still await the requested complete itemized list.

They have not provided the signed written warranty nor have they provided a signed certificate of capital improvement.

The company’s employee showed my parents a misrepresented letter with letterhead from Revdex.com. It indicating no complaints filed within the previous 36 months, but when I pulled a copy off the Revdex.com's website on 10/8/12, it showed two complaints.Desired Settlement: After much aggravation, my parents might be willing to pay the original amount of $9,986.00 minus the Sr. Discount of $500.00 offered on the original paperwork, but not on the bill, and minus $1,000.00 down payment. The $500 for the tarp and $650 for the warranty should be deducted. They would like the front and back venting of the roof repaired as offered to me by the job manager to straighten the "dip", at no additional cost. The Warranty and Improvement Certificate must be signed and delivered.

Business

Response:

Revdex.com spoke to [redacted] from the business today. The complaint was filed by the daughter and not the consumers that were the customer. The company has not been paid and a lien has been filed on the house. The company had no communication at all with the daughter during the entire process of the project. The first communication was when payment was due.

Consumer

Response:

Revdex.com spoke to [redacted], the actual consumer to clarify the processing of the complaint. She would like the complaint filed. Please respond to the issues of the complaint.

Review: The roof they put on one year ago has leaked twice. The first time they fixed it. The second time they are trying to charge us to fix it. It took them months to respond to our phone calls. After they finally told us they were going to charge us to repair the job that they did wrong, we wrote them a letter stating that we expected them to fix it free of charge. The leak is in the garage and the drywall is now moldy and falling apart from the water damage. John Seeland never responded to our letter, and has not finished the job that they started.Desired Settlement: Fix the leaking roof on the gable over the garage and replace the moldy drywall in the garage free of charge.

Business

Response:

I did go out on service call for leak on garage roof. We could not find any physical appearance of any leakage on top of the roof. We took a hose and sprayed the hose to force a leak, the roof would not leak at all. A gable vent along the wall of the siding appeared to be damaged. We sprayed the wall vent and the garage started leaking in the exact spot where the customer said it was leaking. It is coming from the wall vent. The husband was there when we did this procedure and we explained and showed him the cause of the leak. We were contracted to do the roof , not the siding, therefore the gable vent is not covered by the roof warrantee. The consumer is aware of this. We gave them an estimate to fix it but they declined.

NO COMMUNICATION. Do not waste your time with JJ Construction - we selected them as our contractor after experiencing major ice damming over the winter. The first two visits were great, [redacted] was very helpful and informative, but as soon as we signed the contract to give them the job if we were awarded the money from our insurance company, [redacted] stopped answering his phone. Multiple calls and voicemails on his cell phone along with multiple calls to the office were also ignored. I'm thankful we don't have any money tied up in this transaction.

Review: We had our porch roof replaced November of 2013. It ended up leaking a month later, and did damage to our new ceiling tiles we replaced in porch.After several attempts to contact them. In our contract it stated they were going to a leak where gutters meet. I contacted them and no calls returned. I have contract stating this. submitted pictures to them with proof.nothing done yetDesired Settlement: Fix leak in gutters and replaced tiles in porch

Business

Response:

RE: Claim ID# [redacted] To Whom It May Concern; In response to Complaint ID# [redacted], JJ Construction was contracted to do a flat roof on front of house with new gutters. On 8/20/2013, JJ Construction was contracted to redo front flat roof with new gutters and siding on front gable where all tie in together for $5500.00. Customer could not get financed so at that time we contracted to just do roof and gutters on 9/12/13 for $4000.00 even though siding needed to get done to flash roof properly into house. Again customer could not get the financing for this project. They were able to come up with $2,750.00 to do whatever possible to front porch that was very deteriorated. On 10/7/13 JJ Construction contracted to do flat roof and change fascia board but re-used existing plastic gutters that were already damaged and leaking as well as butt new roof to gable wall and seal. Wall was deteriorated and needed to be replaced but was not in their budget. At that time, we did replace (1) section of gutter on driveway side of house. On 6/10/14 was the only time that JJ Construction was contacted by the homeowner stating that they had a leak in their front porch. At that time, [redacted] Sales Rep for JJ Construction, went out to inspect and evaluated that the water that is causing the leak is coming from the siding above a roof that needed to be done but customer could not get financed for. Leak comes in on certain driving rain so it is possible that it will happen again until customer can have gable wall sided. Leak is not a cause of work contracted through JJ Construction therefore is not warranted through JJ Construction. If you have any questions pertaining to the above response, please feel free to contact me directly at [redacted] Respectfully, [redacted] JJ CONSTRUCTION

Review: I had my entire house done by this company. Roofing siding window trim gutters the whole thing. I have called them repeatedly to try to get them to come fix my roof that has started to leak this winter due to the gap in the left valley on the front part of the house. The valley was improperly installed and due to this gap ice got under the shingle and made it leak. I had called and talked to [redacted] he said I was on the top of the list. This was 4 months ago approx. he also stated that there are "ripped" shingles on the roof that is causing the leak. We have had rain out here and the roof has not leaked due to the "ripped" shingles. I have told them about the problem with the valley and they refuse to come out and fix it. I have paid for this project which includes a warranty that for some reason they do not honor. They call it an act of god so they will not cover the issue. I was told this by [redacted] when he came out 4 months ago. I have waited to go further with this to see if I would at least get a call telling me that they are coming to fix it. Nothing has happened with this problem. I have pictures and video of the leaks and would like this problem fixed. My overall experience with this company has been very poor. They never return phone calls and never come out to fix any of the problems.Desired Settlement: My desired outcome would be for them to come out and fix this problem. There is no reason why a brand new roof should be leaking after 3 years. When it is a 25-30 year roof.

Business

Response:

On behalf of [redacted] here is the response to the above mentioned claim: Pertaining to [redacted], JJ Construction was contracted to install siding and roofing for the customer in 2011. The work was completed in September of 2011. Since the work has been completed we have on file a few concerns from [redacted] regarding things he wanted done differently. JJ Construction has addressed and acknowledged every one of [redacted]’s calls and on each occasion we have replaced or changed things in accordance with his wishes/concerns. Sometimes these things were done even at our own expense, even if it wasn’t warranted, with the exception of his last request. [redacted] called in this past winter (2014) and had a leak. This is the only leak he has had that JJ Construction is aware of. [redacted] Brant met [redacted] at his residence and saw that the gutters were packed with ice and that the ice was building up on the roof. [redacted] explained to him that ice damming was occurring. JJ Construction has NO control over ice damming, when it occurs or how it forms. [redacted] did offer to remove the ice from the gutters and put down calcium over the roof and [redacted] would have been charged our normal service charge, but [redacted] declined. [redacted] called after he cleared the roof and wanted someone to come back out to look at it and we found nothing visually wrong with it, so nothing else needed to be done. [redacted] then called myself, [redacted] Seeland, to ask me to pull the wall apart and the valley. I asked him when he removed the ice if his leaking stopped and he confirmed that it did indeed stop when the ice was removed. I explained to him that his roof had no visual workmanship defects and that his roof has never leaked during any of the hurricane-like rain storms that we have had, even through Hurricane Sandy and it never leaked since. The only time it has had a leak is in the winter of 2014 when it had ice build up. I informed him that the manufacturer builds their product and the roofers provide and install the product to shed water and weather elements. [redacted]’s leaking problems were due to water running up the roof, and then back down and that is what caused the leak. I informed him that this would fall under the category of “Acts of God” and that neither the manufacturer nor JJ Construction warranties that. I also informed him that we would not be changing anything because of that and that he should call me if there were any other issues. I have not heard anything else from him until this complaint. JJ Construction stands behind what is written in his contract and that states that we do not warranty any type of ice damming and his leaking was in fact occurring as a result of ice damming at that time.[redacted]

Check fields!

Write a review of JJ Construction

Satisfaction rating
 
 
 
 
 
Upload here Increase visibility and credibility of your review by adding a photo

JJ Construction Rating

Overall satisfaction rating

Description: ROOFING CONTRACTORS, SIDING CONTRACTORS, CONSTRUCTION & REMODELING SERVICES, REMODELING SERVICES, WINDOWS - INSTALLATION & SERVICE, WINDOWS, SNOW REMOVAL SERVICE, CONTRACTORS - GENERAL, CONTRACTOR - REMODEL & REPAIR, GUTTERS & DOWNSPOUTS,

Address: 5524 Klump Avenue, North Hollywood, California, United States, 91601

Phone:

+1 (661) 510-8273
+1 (818) 414-6629
Show more...

Website:

soundcraftersdb.com


Add contact information for JJ Construction

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | New | Updated