Sign in

Joe Basil Chevrolet, Inc.

Sharing is caring! Have something to share about Joe Basil Chevrolet, Inc.? Use RevDex to write a review
Reviews Joe Basil Chevrolet, Inc.

Joe Basil Chevrolet, Inc. Reviews (19)

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ***, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear belowMy husband was in the process of a planned career move and tge bank already verified with me via phone interviewIt wasn t the dealers business to make personal attacks about a job move and the store manager never called until the attorney general was contacted Dealer should have called asap or not let me drive an unnfunded car fir a month then threaten meThey made over ,40k and I am not satisfied with their proceduresRegards, *** ***

8:pm 2/18/The Lancaster Police have just left my house as I was treated like a common thief this eveningThe problem began a LONG time ago with the service department at Joe Basil Chevrolet...and has been a consistent issue, however my vehicle was purchased there, and they DO have MAYBE service guys I think are decent, so I'm riding out my lease and going there for service when I need toYesterday, I was diagnosed with Influenza at *** *** and am on bed rest My husband is also sick with a very hard head cold But, my car needed to be inspected, so HE took it to Basil tonight to have that doneNow...let me start back at the beginning of my MAJOR issues with them Months ago, (over the summer, I believe) I took my car there for an oil change At that time my check engine light was on I asked them to please check that, as I was driving the car over miles the next day I sat there HOURS when the guy in the service department, came out to tell me that they can't get into what is wrong that is causing the 'check engine' light to come on, but he could assure me, that it would NOT break down My car is a Camaro -- so there's absolutely NO reason there should be an issue However, I said fine...I would come backThe next day, I took my trip over miles on the thruway and when I returned home that evening, my husband checked his voicemail, and found a FRANTIC message from the service department at Joe Basil looking for a tool they may have left in my car Well, that tool was about a foot long, metal bar that was just laying on my engine block IF that tool had come loose on the drive over miles and fallen out, it could have VERY likely KILLED SOMEONE Which they admitted I spoke to Mike K*** at Joe Basil and he assured me that he was very sorry, and the person who did it would be dealt with I then called Mike K*** again, I rec'd no call back When I came down to the dealership again to have them figure out the engine light, the manager of the service department, Jay T*** in his office, with glass walls...could CLEARLY see me there, couldn't be bothered to talk to me about my concerns At the end of the appointment, the assistant service manager, Doug B***, came out to walk me out and apologize over and over again about the mistake It was at this time, I had returned their tool and they were fine with thatI was given a free detail coupon, and assured over and over again that Mike K*** would be dealt with for not calling me back, and that the service person would also be dealt with Neither of which I believe happened It was all a good song and danceTONIGHT, my husband took my car in to have an inspection, where they cover your seat and 'act' like they care about your car and its appearance My husband got home, and found a dirty tool left on my PASSENGER seat Why cover the driver seat if you're going to leave dirty items on the passenger seat? I called, and again...spoke to Mike K***, who gave me the 'act' of caring and being concerned with my complaint It was convincing, until I told him that maybe they should be LESS concerned with grow*** the BASIL name and owning every dealership in town, and worry more about the service and how you make people feel He then became snippy and basically said he was done talking to me, because we were 'just going over the same thing over and over again' I told him, fine...my next call would be to MrBasil to discuss this I ALSO told him that when I felt better, I would bring their tool back at MY convenience I then called, left a message for MrBasil, and told him I needed to speak to him regarding my concernsA few MINUTES later, I rec'd a call from Mike K*** -- this time, not so nice He asked if he could send someone to my home to pick up the tool tonight at 8pm when I had already told him I'm on bed rest as I have Influenza, and my husband is sick, so, NO I would return the tool when I felt better He then became nasty and told me that he has been instructed to contact the POLICE for stolen property! UNREAL! I told him to do whatever he needed toWell, 15-minutes later, the Lancaster Police Department -- Officer *** came to my house, banging on the door and windows, shining his light in the window, yelling out that it was the police -- meanwhile someone from Joe Basil was in the street waiting to see what happened SO, to AVOID officer *** from breaking a window as he was POUNDING on them, my husband opened the door a crack and asked what the issue was I then told him to come in This officer treated me like a common criminal Like I had walked out of their service department with the tool under my shirt I explained to him how sick I was, which he didn't seem to care and that I had told Mike K***, that I would return the tool upon MY convenience as I'm SUPPOSED to be RESTING (which can be validated by *** *** -- where I was a patient, yesterday 2/17/16) He was rude, talked over me, wouldn't let me finish a sentence and when I said 'can I please speak", he then listened with hesitation I explained to him that I told the dealership I would br*** the tool THEY LEFT in my car when I felt better He then told me that because I had admitted to hav*** the tool that it was perfectly acceptable to have to allow someone random from the dealership come to my home when I'm ill and ready for bed to retrieve the toolThis was a complete miscarriage of justice in my opinion by the Lancaster Police I asked Officer firestone, "If I left my purse in their lobby, could I then call the police to say they had STOLEN it?" He said that was a civil matter and "LET ME EXPLAIN THE LAW TO YOU" That I've admitted to having their property, and not returning it, so that's a crime He basically would have to arrest me if I didn't give him the toolI have NEVER been treated with such disrespect in my life! I live in a nice neighborhood, and at 8pm when the police are banging on my doors and windows, like it's a crack house or something I am in shock!
Joe Basil Chevrolet is by FAR the WORST service department in the area and even further I've told them over and over, get rid of the popcorn, donuts, cookies, coffee, water, pop, etc etc etc in their waiting room and worry MORE about making the CUSTOMER feel important Boy, they're all over you when they want you to PURCHASE a vehicle, but when it comes to service, they are completely ineptThere are other dealerships in the area that are single location, no frills, just want to make the customer happy service departments I told Mike K***, that the ENTIRE Basil service department needs to be retrained by the other dealership, that KNOWS what they're doing Apparently, that bought me a ticket to have the police at my door at 8pm banging on the windows like it's a drug house and I'm a common criminal
I am currently awaiting a call from MrBasil to discuss this, which I suspect will never happen, even though I've left him voicemails now Yes, he's out of the office until the 25th, but I would suspect, as the PRESIDENT of the dealership, he would be checking his voicemail, and the receptionist, Eileen agreed with me People need to know that JOE BASIL CHEVROLET is completely inadequate and truly and CLEARLY don't care about their customers satisfaction I will NEVER be a customer of theirs again*** ***
Today at 9:PM
Today
*** *** ***
12:17pm
*** *** ***
And I have now been contacted NOT by MrBASIL, but by the ASSISTANT service manager, apparently at Jim Basil's requestThis man left me a voicemail that ended with "take your business elsewhere..."
Does ANYONE care that this dealership is having these kinds of issues and treating people this way?

Revdex.com:I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ***, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.The date of the unauthorized credit inquiry was 5-21-16, not 5-27-16, as stated in the letter which was attached to that last response So, the letter which Joe Basil Chevrolet has previously stated that they sent in July was actually incorrect This is ridiculous that I'm still trying to get this resolved and no one can seem to get it right It's obvious that there was an error on their part, yet I'm the one who has to keep going back and forth here just to get this fixed If they had just done what I asked the first time around, before I ever went to the Revdex.com, this would have been taken care of
Summing up one more time...there was a hard credit inquiry done on 4-22-which showed up under my sister's name *** *** on my credit report and then an unauthorized hard credit inquiry on 5-21-which was supposed to be for my sister was done and also showed up on my credit report
I would like for them to write a and submit a new letter which contains the correct information Then, I would like a copy of that letter so that I can follow up on this with ** ***
Regards,*** ***

if the customer brings us a worksheet from another Chevrolet dealer , we will give him $more than their offer, minus any rebates that are on that particular vehicle

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ***, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. I have attached two files and also copied in here e-mails that me and the representative from Joe Basil were having in which she states all the discounts I was 'eligible' for: (I have a whole conversation of e-mails extra as proof)
Hi,Could you confirm which discounts I am eligible forLike I said, your dealer is far about mins for me so I dont want to take a trip for things to change.I get out at 4:from work
Hi ***,Where are you located?As we spoke the ad in the paper you would qualify for, minus the lease in household
$Basil Discount,$Basil Bonus,GM Rebate - $2,000,Memorial Day Bonus Cash $500,Special GM pricing once we pick out a specific Malibu due to Cobalt recall' Would you be able to come out after work today? We are going to be slammed as this is the busiest week of the yearWe are trying to do things by appointments to ensure when you are here you aren't waiting aroundYesterday and Sunday there was about a half hour wait with people who did not make appointments and just came in.We have over Malibu's available here todayLet me know what would work for you.Thanks ***
However, when I actually showed up, I was only offered the GM Rebate + GM Pricing due to having a recalled trade in Cobalt + the extra $for the trade because I brought in a copy of a competitor's offerOn the e-mail it clearly states other discounts they did not honor: $Basil Discount, $Memorial Day Cash, and $Basil BonusThey know I am telling the truth because I was more prepared than they were, that's the reason I decided to leave if they already had lied before even making it to the dealerThere was no point in begging for these discounts if all he offered was an apology for a supposedly 'mistake'I had all the numbers ready for them based on what the competitor had offered meI had asked the Sales Manager if I could get more for the trade in and he replied he couldn't offer moreNow if you see their website, they are offering $more than a competitor for a trade inTherefore, YES he could have offered more for the trade in Even more ironic, the competitor is giving better deals than them offering $more for a trade inI was very disappointing for being told something and then everything changingThe dealer provided me information and it wasted my timeRegards, *** ***

I originally contacted the Revdex.com in July and had received notice that Basil
Chevrolet would be contacting ** *** to have the hard credit inquiries removed from my credit reportHere's the text of my original complaint (complaint * ***): "Complaint: I leased a vehicle from this dealership in April When my sister leased a vehicle from them in May 2016, they mistakenly entered my information into their system, resulting in an unauthorized hard credit inquiry showing up on my credit reportThe actual item on my credit report isn't even in my name; it's my sister's name, but all of my additional information which made it show up on MY reportAfter numerous attempts to get this removed, I've gotten nowhere** *** has stated that they will file to have this unauthorized inquiry removed, but the dealership must provide them with an at fault letter that essentially states that the dealership made an error in performing that inquirySounds simple enough, but it's been a month of back and forth on this and no one will just help me and get this doneDesired Settlement: I would like for Basil Chevrolet to provide the at fault letter so that I can get it to ** *** to have them proceed with removing this from my credit reportIf it's that easy for them to make this kind of mistake, then there MUST be some protocol for how this gets fixed** *** was pretty straightforward with what needs to be done (the letter)Basil Chevrolet seems to be the problem here." The resolution offered by Joe Basil Chevrolet was that they would contact ** *** and have the hard credit inquiries removedI've just pulled my credit reports again, because I felt that I've allowed a sufficient amount of time for this to process, only to find that I still have unauthorized hard credit inquiries showing on my Transunion Credit ReportThey have dropped off of the Equifax credit report, but not TransunionIn fact, the Transunion report shows that they won't even drop off until 2018, which means that unless Joe Basil Chevrolet fixes their mistake, I'm stuck with the consequences of their error for another years! So, basically, I'm back at square one hereCan someone please find a way to follow up on this to make sure that these unauthorized hard credit inquiries are removed from my Transunion Credit Report?I would like for Joe Basil Chevrolet to follow up with ** *** in order to ensure that these unauthorized hard credit inquiries are removed from my credit report, including my Transunion Credit Report

My name is Steven [redacted] and I'm the new vehicle director, my position with Joe Basil Chevrolet has me handle any of these issues, and that has been explained to [redacted].  We set and appointment for yesterday at 3:30, and she didn't show up.  I explained to her that I needed to sit...

down with her and we would do our best to work something out.  She refuses to return calls, and she is still driving a loaner vehicle that was due back to the store several days ago. We need her to return our vehicle to us ASAP, and review her paperwork with us and then we can make a decision on what we'd like to offer her.  As far as for her boyfriend, he isn't part of the lease of the Trax, so we won't deal with him.

I PURCHASED 2- 2013 F-350 TRUCKS IN DECEMBER 2013 AND ONE 2014 F-350 IN JAN 2014 FROMTHE BASIL FORD DEALERSHIP. I PURCHASED UNDERCOATING/RUSTPROOFING PACKAGE 10 YEAR WARRANTY THAT NEEDED TO BE SPRAYED ON VEHICLES, BUT THE FORD DEALER WAS NOT EQUIPPED TO SPRAY IT AT THEIR SHOP SO THEY TOOK THEM TO BASIL CHEVY SHOP TO BE DONE. TRUCK 1-- AFTER SPRAYING IT I CHECKED IT. MISSED MANY MAIN AREAS. DID NOT REMOVED SPARED TIRED TILL TOLD TO. INSIDE FENDER MISSED. INSIDE TAILGATE NOT SPRAYED, SEAMS MISSED UNDER TRUCK. IT TOOK THEM 3 TRIES AT CHEVY SHOP AND STILL A INCOMPLETE JOB. THEN FORD DEALERSHIP WAS ABLE TO COMPLETE JOB ON 4TH VISISTAT THEIR SHOP. TRUCK 2--- SPRAYED TWICE AT CHEVY SHOP TRYING TO GET THEM TO GET IT RIGHT BUT TO NO AVAIL. THE FORD SHOP HAD TO TOUCH IT UP TO COMPLETE THE JOB CORRECTLY AGAIN. TRUCK 3-- THE CHEVY STORE WAS TOLD TO CALL MY SALESMAN SO HE COULD BE THERE AND THEY TOLD HIM THERE WAS NO NEED FOR THAT. GUESS WHAT, POOR JOB AGAIN. THE FORD SHOP TOOK TRUCK BACK AND TOUCHED UP ALL THE MISSED SPOTS. MOST OF THE TRUCK NEEDED SPRAYED AGAIN THEY TOLD ME.. I LEFT A MESSAGE WITH THE SALES MANAGER AND MR BASIL AT THE DEALERSHIP ON THE DAY THEY HAD THE BEST OF THE BEST SALES PERSON CONTEST AT THE CHEVY STORE. I WAS THERE THAT DAY TO DROP OF THE SECOND TRUCK TO BE SPRAYED THE SECOND AND STAYED . I GOT NO RESPONSE FROM EITHER OF THE MESSAGES THAT I LEFT TO THEM. ALSO I FEEL THAT THERE IS NO QUALITY ASSURANCE CHECK FOR THIS SERVICE THAT THEY PERFORM ON MANY VEHICLES AND UNLESS SOMEONE CHECKS ON THEM, THEY WILL CONTINUE TO DO A VERY POOR QUALITY JOB THAT THE CUSTOMER PAYS A GOOD DOLLAR FOR. SINCE MY LAST TRUCK WAS THER, A GOOD FRIEND OF MINE PURCHASED A TRUCK FROM BASIL CHEVY THIS PAST DECEMBER AND HE PURCHASED THE UNDERCOATING/RUSTPROOFING PACKAGE FROM THEM. DOING A QUICK CHECK OF HIS VEHICLE , THEY DIDNT EVEN TAKE OUT THE SPARE TIRE TO SPRAY THE BOTTOM OF THE BED AND ALSO GOT UNDERCOATING ON THE TAILGATE. ALSO SEVERAL AREAS WERE MISSWED BEING SPRAYED. JUST LIKE MINE WERE. THIS TELLS ME NOTHING HAS CHANGED SINCE MY VEHICLES AND THAT I HOPE THIS COMPLAINT MIGHT CHANGE IT FOR THE FUTURE CUSTOMERS. NOT TO MENTION THAT I HOPE THEY DO SOMETHING FOR THE PAST ONES.

I have a received a phone call from my salesperson , also I have received my perm. registration in the mail. I will be satisfied when I recieve the orginial title in the mail.
thank you , [redacted] 
Revdex.com:I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted], and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.Regards,[redacted]

As of 3/1/2016, the financing issues concerning paperwork and loan establishment have been rectified. As with any purchase where a loan is required, an applicant's credit will show inquiries from banks as part of the process of securing financing. The customer's credit is by no means "ruined"....

There were some delays with delivery because the vehicle needed to be driven to reset monitors to pass New York State inspection. E-mail and phone contact has been made with this customer and other family members to explain this process and how it is being rectified.

I have had nothing but bad experiences with this dealership. I purchased my first brand new Chevrolet [redacted] in April of 2012. When I took it in for the first oil change at Basil I brought it home and parked it in the garage. After going out and coming home and leaving it in the driveway, I walked into the garage and had a huge puddle of oil left on the painted floor of the garage. I took the car back to Basil Chevrolet and waited 3 hours for them to tell me that the oil filter was never tightened and that is why it was leaking oil. Now I have a nice oil spot in my garage still and they have never done anything to compensate other than a $25 gas card. I just recently took my traverse in to Basil in March 2016 for a recall on the back hatch and they changed my oil again. When I was left the dealership I went back home to West Seneca and noticed that I had oil all over the outside of my car, on the sun visor, interior mirrors and the lining on the top interior of the car. I immediately took the car back, showed them the damage, they in return tried to clean the mess but destroyed the lining and the sun visor. I was then told they would have to order the parts and bring it back, a few days later I took my car back and they kept it for a few days until they replaced the parts. When I went back to pick up the car I started to drive home and noticed that the dashboard compass was not working, took the car right back they couldn't figure it out so I had to leave it there for multiple days for them to figure out how they screwed it up when they replaced the lining. It is a big inconvenience to constantly keep going back to the dealership with their screw ups. I recently had another oil leak and I went to my regular mechanic who had to replace the oil plug that they said looked damaged from the last time I had my oil changed at Basil and then they put dye in the engine to see if I had any more oil leaks. I did have more leaks, so I called up Basil Chevrolet and made an appointment for May 9, 2016 to replace the timing seal, which was covered under warranty. When I made the appointment I was told I would have my car back by end of day. That did not happen, they would call me day after day that whole week and told me it would be done the next day. By Thursday May 12th, I had to call them and they said it would be ready by Friday May 13th at 11:30. I never received a call from them, so I called them at 2:15 wondering when my car was going to be done. They told me it already was. But where they ever going to tell me?? Stephanie at Basil threatened me when they gave me a loaner car on that Monday that I better not scratch or dent the car in any way possible otherwise I would have to pay. She also said that she was going to give me a full tank of gas and that I better return it that way otherwise I would have to pay them $4.00 a gallon. Well when they gave me the car, the tank was not full and I returned it full and told her after I figured out the mileage that it only gets 9 miles to the gallon unless it was not a full tank, she said sorry and took off. She knew I was right. I have never in my life had so many problems with having a car fixed, felt threatened and uncomfortable. I have called [redacted] on them twice and they won't do anything either. Last time I ever buy a Chevrolet or anything from that crappy dealership with the crappy service department.

When the customer arrived at the dealership he had a printed deal from another dealer.  Our advertisement says that we will give $1000 more for your trade providing the customer has written proof.  The customer was trading in a vehicle that qualified him to receive the GM employee...

purchase price and all the rebates that go with that vehicle, after looking at the worksheet from the other dealer , we offered $1000 more than what was printed as a trade allowance on that sheet.   The customer wanted additional discounts off the selling price which we had already given him the maximum discount with the gm purchase plan.  At that point the customer decided to leave. [redacted] Sales Manager

We were able to process the customer's registration at the DMV yesterday.  [redacted] (his salesperson) contacted the customer yesterday and offered to drive the registration to his house where the customer then stated he will not need the registration for another month as he will not...

be driving the vehicle until then and asked that we put the registration in the mail.  We will be overnighting the registration to the customer today and he will receive the title from the DMV once it is processed. Thank you.

To whom it may concern,
As of December 2, 2014, Mrs. [redacted]' titling/registration issues were rectified and a permanent registration was provided to her. The dealership waived the roughly $29 balance that was due the DMV. A brand new set of front floor mats were ordered and will be...

provided to her at no charge for her inconvenience.

Repair on our car took 3 times longer than we were told it would take. They are impossible to contact by phone, calls go to voicemail and voicemail is full. We would NOT recommend this company.

The $1000 deposit was part of the contract. We called the customer to find out why his current employer wouldn't verify his job to find out he had quit.  The bank needed to verify his new job to fund the contract, so that took almost 3 weeks to get a hold of all parties for...

verification.  There was no shady tactics or unhonest practices, the bank that approved the loan was just doing there job.  We feel there is no reason to refund $1000.   [redacted] Sales Manager

The dealership has contacted the customer by phone to let her know she has to come into the dealership to sign an odometer disclosure and cancel her extended warranty.  The warranty was financed along with the vehicle
therefore according to the truth in lending laws , we will forward...

the refund to the lien holder on the loan.  The window etch that was purchased is non-refundable and is marked on the buyers order as so. [redacted]Sales Manager
Joe Basil Chevrolet

Revdex.com:I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted], and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.Regards,[redacted]
Okay, lets get this all straight. The gum was childish, but ONLY happened after [redacted] said he would call the police because [redacted] was yelling.. and the gum was thrown at the ground, and there were no threats of harm. But we're getting away from the real problem here. We had our truck towed to you on April 29th. After it was dropped off, we went to your facility because we were in search of a third vehicle. So even though we bought a vehicle which ended up not being a great purchase, we were still willing to go there, and buy another one. Your used sales team would not budge on any pricing, and given the situation, should have. The next day I went to [redacted], and after they heard the situation we willing to help on any front they would. So then, there was email correspondence and numerous phone calls between [redacted] and [redacted]. We did okay the body work, but you also sent an estimate on doing the engine work. So [redacted] called and [redacted] said that Joe Basil would just doing to wiring themselves but could not guarantee the work. At that time, we were also waiting to hear what GM had to say. After GM denied the claim because they couldn't find the source (which Basil never found that either since the engine compartment is as we left it), we talked to [redacted] again and he said the offer still stands, Basil will attempt to do the wiring. We thought about it for a couple days and then [redacted] called to give him the go ahead, and [redacted] said that you guys didn't want any part of it. The conversation progressed and it was decided that [redacted] would look into getting the wiring harness that had been discontinued. Time kept passing, and [redacted] kept saying he was looking. So then [redacted] called the week of August 29th, and [redacted] said you guys found a wiring harness and that once you receive it, you will begin work and that we should have the truck either 9/7 or 9/8. So [redacted] called on the 8th when he hadn't heard anything and [redacted] said you received the part but there was dirt on it so you wouldn't put it in which is the most ridiculous thing I've ever heard. Finally, [redacted] went in there on 9/13 and asked [redacted] if he could see the part. [redacted] refused. [redacted] asked if he could purchase the part, [redacted] refused. Thats when [redacted] got upset. You guys have had the truck since 4/29, no progress, there's supposedly a part in your facility that could work but you don't want to put it in because there dirt on it and when he asked if he could see it, he was refused that. Anyone in this situation would be mad. I understand you are 1 of 3 companies involved in this, however, you are a Chevrolet dealership. A Chevrolet dealer should be able to fix a Chevrolet vehicle. Its not like Joe down the road is qualified to, Basil is. So it is my understanding that [redacted] Basil does not stand behind the products it sells, and could have done much more to repair this truck but never actually tried. It's not like we were asking for the work for free, we are paying customers that wanted our vehicle fixed, and that failed to happen.

We have reviewed our customer service policy on situations like this and have informed the management staff to be as courteous as possible when talking with the customer.  We apologize for any inconvienence and will continue to be as customer service friendly as possible.  For the trouble this has caused we are willing to give the customer a $200 visa gift card .  Please contact [redacted] at [redacted] to arrange pickup.  [redacted]

Check fields!

Write a review of Joe Basil Chevrolet, Inc.

Satisfaction rating
 
 
 
 
 
Upload here Increase visibility and credibility of your review by adding a photo

Joe Basil Chevrolet, Inc. Rating

Overall satisfaction rating

Add contact information for Joe Basil Chevrolet, Inc.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | New | Updated