Sign in

Joe Moholland Moving Inc

Sharing is caring! Have something to share about Joe Moholland Moving Inc? Use RevDex to write a review
Reviews Joe Moholland Moving Inc

Joe Moholland Moving Inc Reviews (15)

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the responseIf no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]
Complaint: ***
I am rejecting this response because: Joe Moholland was the company responsible for the damage, they are the party that packed the furniture and accepted responsibility for the property.
Regards,
*** *** ** ***

From: Tom L*** Date: Thu, Nov 12, at 11:AMSubject: Complaint ***To: "***@myRevdex.com.org" This email is in response to the above complaint regarding the settlement of a claim related to a move performed for *** *** ** ***. The above move was performed under the athoriity of *** *** ***. Damage Claims are processed by submitting claims through ***. The contact number for claims processing is ###-###-#### or [email protected]***.com If you require any additional information please let me know. Regards, Tom L***Joe Moholland Moving Inc

This is a cut and paste of a review I posted on the Consumer Affairs website In it address my experience with Joe Moholland Moving by way of Mayflower MovingStay away Mayflower Moving Company - they don't stand behind their subcontract moving companiesLet me start by noting that in the Washington, D.Cmetro area there were many complaints of fraud and scams in the local home moving industryTo avoid these scammers my wife and I used an online registry to request a move from Springfield, Virginia to Dorado, Puerto Rico in May by the M*** Moving CompanyM***r sent a local mover, Joe Moholland Moving who told us they were the local reps for MayflowerThe Joe Moholland Moving estimator gave us a quote of $14,for a 14,000-pound move (this quote was higher than other alternatives, but I thought it was worth using Mayflower for the peace of mind)The estimator also advised us to get rid of anything we could live without so as to reduce the cost of the move - he claimed anything over the 14,pounds estimate would be billed before the delivery, and anything under would be refunded afterMy wife and I evaluated every item we owned and decided to donate, give away, sell, or discard a large portion of the belongings we'd accumulated over years in Northern VirginiaWhen the move arrived in Puerto Rico the delivery driver (Crowley Freight) told us the total weight of the move was just over 10,poundsWe contacted Joe Moholland Moving to request our refund but after months and over phone calls or emails we had not received our refundThey eventually just stopped answering our calls or returning our emailsWe became so frustrated with Joe Moholland Moving we decided to contact Mayflower directly to see if they could helpAfter about a year of exchanging emails with Mayflower they informed us there was nothing they could do because, to quote their most recent email: "As an agent for Mayflower Transit, Joe Moholland Moving represents Mayflower in interstate moving, however, with regard to international moving, (to Puerto Rico in your case), our agents can use any licensed forwarder to arrange transportationRegrettably, they chose not to use our services to handle your move, therefore, we cannot help in this situationAfter contacting Joe Moholland Moving on your behalf, John **, replied that he believed the forwarding company was settling this with you." I felt this was a cop-out because 1) when I contacted Mayflower I specifically stated the move was to Puerto Rico and 2) I didn't have a formal contract with the "forwarding company"I don't expect to get a refund, but I hope my experience can help other families that are moving in or out of the Washington, D.Cmetro area to avoid using these scammersOr at least, to go into a move knowing that the D.Carea moving company scams are unavoidablePlease don't make the mistake of trying to reduce the load to save money - the only money that was saved in this move was pocketed by the Joe Moholland Moving company on their freight forwarding costs at the expense of the items we gave up to lighten the load

We do not refinish an square foot year old hardwood floor for scratched boardsWe sent a contractor to the home and approved $for the repairWhen our contractor arrived he was turned away. At that point the customer was told we would need to speak to the homeowner, Mr ***
is just renting this propertyHe has refused to give us any contact information for the homeowner after many requests. Below is the last email conversation between our company and Mr***. Greg, You and I discussed this already, the only way to get an exact match was to take from another area in the house such as a closet or along the wall under the bedYou didn’t want to do thatInstalling new boards was the second best option and I told you it would be a very close match and would probably take a bit of time to be an exact matchWhen we spoke you were agreeable to doing that. I just spoke with Mike Brown and he said he did not tell you it would not match and you sent him away before he brought anything inLet me be clear, we have no intention of replacing or refinishing the entire floorWe sent someone out today to repair the area we damaged and you sent him away, we still have to pay him for the material and for his time to come out there. Based on the above at this point either Tom or myself will need to speak with the homeowner before agreeing to make any other attempts to repair the three boards we damagedWe have every intention of rectifying this issue but I feel you leave us no other options Mike P***VP Sales and OperationsJoe Moholland Moving*** *** *** DriveWoodbridge, VA 22191Direct ###-###-####Main ###-###-####www.joemohollandmoving.com From: *** *** [mailto:***[email protected]] Sent: Monday, December 19, 9:AM To: Tom Liberty Cc: Michael P*** Subject: RE: Floor Damage Tom/Mike, Mike Brown was here with boards to replace the damaged areasHe confirmed with me and Tom that he could not match the color in the middle of the room by replacing just the boards As I have said if you can not match the color then you will either replace the entire floor or refinish the floor so that the repair is unnoticeableI want someone from your firm or your insurance agent contact me today I took off work again today for thisStanding by for your response. Sincerely, *** * ***

We have now used Joe Moholland Moving company twice, and have been very happy both timesThe most recent time was when we had to move the household goods from my parents former home to the different homes of the siblings which just involved Virginia and MarylandThey were not only very friendly and professional but went out of their way to make sure that they put the items in the rooms that we wanted I have already recommended them to a co worker who was also very pleased

I would not recommend this company. For my particular experience, they refused to move everything they were contracted to have packed and transported on the day of our move, and, even though we bought insurance, they not only had us pay the deductible, but then refused to reimburse the full appraised replacement cost of the broken items. I hired Joe Mohalland, Inc for an in-state move. I chose them because their parent company, Mayflower, had done a good job moving one of my relatives from a 11,000 square foot house overseas a few years back - big move, cost alot - you'd think they'd want to keep us as customers. I was mistaken to believe the same quality of service would occur in-state with their franchise. It started when the movers refused to pack the majority of the items in our basement, which had been included in our original estimate. We had to make 7 trips with our own vehicles over a span of 5 hours in order to move out in time-it was stressful and exhausting. They did not number our boxes, nor did they provide us with the owner's and "rights and responsibilities manual" which they are supposed to provide- I noted this on our moving papers, but it did not matter. They broke 4 expensive items ranging from $300-$2000 approximately. I had purchased $20,000 carrier liability but when I submitted my claim, that didn't matter. It took approx. 3 months to get the manager's attention at which point he claimed that regardless of the insurance purchased, if none of the items were specifically on their high value inventory worksheet (high inventory meaning $100 or more), then reimbursement would be at the $100/pound level vice replacement cost per the insurance I had purchased. When I called the parent company, Mayflower, and explained what the manager told me, THEY advised me to file a complaint with Revdex.com and with the Fairfax Consumer Review Board - their own parent company told me to do this! What sticks out the most is when I was asked to fill out the claim form I was told that the items would be appraised and to just put down my best guess. I was fair and conservative, which was stupid. The manager admitted the appraisal for the items came back at a higher price than what I had put down, but they would only reimburse me for the appraised replacement cost - only for what I had put down as a best-guessed. When I asked, the manager confirmed if the appraisal had come back at a lower price, they would have settled at that lower price - but the same was not true if the appraisal came back with a higher replacement cost. Also, when they sent me the settlement they neglected to include one of the items, and acknowledged in an email that they were at fault for leaving the third item off the appraisal. I was told initially an appraisal would be done asap for the missing item. However, when the manager finally called me back, he acted as if he didn't know anything about the appraisal for the last item, instead he asked me if the appraisal on the third item had been done. I told him point blank his assistant told him the status - so why was he asking me? That's when he said he didn't have to settle at all since the specific items in question were not listed on the high value inventory sheet, per his interpretation. He seemed to forget I had purchased carrier liability (worth $20,000) - customer declaration of value the guaranteed full replacement value of broken items. They took my $250 deductible but did not provide the full replacement value of the broken items. Interesting too that the parent company agreed the full replacement value of the broken items should have been provided to me given the appraisal and the carrier liability, and regardless of the high value inventory, and that they advised I file a complaint on their own franchise! I have 7 siblings and a large extended family that moves around alot --- pity to lose all that business for something that could have been easily resolved.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed as Answered]
 Complaint: [redacted]
I am rejecting this response because: Business will not be allowed to repair the damage as they have indicated by just installing new boards in the middle of the room (floor finish is amber from time thus new boards (pinkish in color) will not/do not match).  It must be color matched and that requires sanding and refinishing the entire floor not just the damaged boards.  Example: If you repaint a damaged door on a car as the business states - you must blend it in with the existing paint of the rest of the car by repainting not only the damaged portion but also by extending it to the adjacent areas.  In this case the floor is the same throughout the main floor.  No professional flooring expert has indicated what the business is trying to do is possible.  I have three different quotes from reputable firms non of which recommend only replacing the damaged boards.  This correspondence is repetitive as has been my conversations with the firm.  Please mark the case as a complaint against the firm and I will process a lawsuit against the firm in Maryland Courts.
Regards,
[redacted]
different color

This move was NOT performed under Joe Moholland Moving's authority and we did NOT settle this claim and we do NOT have the authority to settle or deny this claim.  This move was performed under [redacted]'s authority.  This company is located in Jacksonville FL.  I believe...

the correct contact is [redacted].com.Regards
Tom L[redacted]
Business Manager
Joe Moholland Moving Inc.

This move was NOT performed under Joe Moholland Moving's authority and we did NOT settle this claim and we do NOT have the authority to settle or deny this claim.  This move was performed under [redacted]'s authority.  This company is located in Jacksonville FL.  I believe...

the correct contact is [redacted].com.RegardsTom L[redacted]Business ManagerJoe Moholland Moving Inc.

June 2, 2015[redacted]The Revdex.com[redacted], I am writing to you in regards to a complaint that was filed with the Revdex.com against Joe Moholland Moving by Antonio S[redacted].  The complaint was received by...

the Revdex.com on 4/25/15 and given an ID of [redacted]. My estimator John G[redacted] gave [redacted] an estimate for services on 11/7/2013 at 3:30 pm.  At that time he gave [redacted] a quote for two months of storage at our warehouse in Woodbridge VA and then a long distance move to Austin Texas.   The quote that was given was based on the items [redacted] indicated were to be included in the shipment, a minimal amount of packing to include a flat screen TV box and boxes for the mattress and box spring, shuttle services at origin, transportation into storage, the first day of storage, 59 additional days of storage, extended valuation to cover the shipment while in storage, valuation to cover the shipment during transportation and transportation from Virginia to Texas.  At no time during the estimating process was Mr [redacted] present.   The shipment was booked and signed for using a [redacted] eAcceptance tool.  This is an internet based tool used for paperless signing of document.  All documents signed using this method are legal and binding.  The [redacted] shipment was picked up on 11/30/2013 and put into storage in transit at our warehouse in Woodbridge VA.  The shipment was estimated to weigh 2,160lbs.  Upon arrival at our facility it was found to weigh 3720lbs. (See attached weight ticket.)  Storage charges fall under Non-Bound Services.  The result of this is that the cost for the transportation into storage, the first day of storage, subsequent days of storage as well as the storage valuation went up.  To compound this instead of only being in storage for 60 days as originally planned the shipment ended up in storage from November of 2013 until March of 2015.   When a shipment goes into SIT (storage in transit) the long distance portion of the moving contract is put on hold.  When the storage duration reaches 180 days the long distance portion of the moving contract terminates and the storage shipment converts to permanent storage with no change to the monthly cost to the customer.   [redacted] reached out to us in March of 2015 to have his storage shipment delivered to him in Texas.  We gave him a quote of $7,513.68 inclusive of all services from the date of pick up through delivery.  (Inclusive of almost 16 months of storage.)  At no time did we hold the shipment hostage as [redacted] indicates.  We only stated that charges would have to be brought current before the shipment could be released from storage.  At the request of [redacted] we also provided a quote of $4,754.95 for him to pick up the items at our warehouse in Virginia for transportation to Texas himself.   [redacted] decided that he would rather pick up the shipment himself.  He picked up the shipment on April 3 2015 and drove it to Texas himself after paying the $4,754.95 due.   If there are any questions or if I can make anything more clear please do not hesitate to contact me.  Best,Thomas L[redacted]Business ManagerJoe Moholland Moving[redacted]Woodbridge VA 22191Cell  ###-###-####

June 2, 2015[redacted]The Revdex.com[redacted], I am writing to you in regards to a complaint that was filed with the Revdex.com against Joe Moholland Moving by Antonio S[redacted].  The complaint was received by the Revdex.com on 4/25/15 and given an ID of [redacted]. My estimator John...

G[redacted] gave [redacted] an estimate for services on 11/7/2013 at 3:30 pm.  At that time he gave [redacted] a quote for two months of storage at our warehouse in Woodbridge VA and then a long distance move to Austin Texas.   The quote that was given was based on the items [redacted] indicated were to be included in the shipment, a minimal amount of packing to include a flat screen TV box and boxes for the mattress and box spring, shuttle services at origin, transportation into storage, the first day of storage, 59 additional days of storage, extended valuation to cover the shipment while in storage, valuation to cover the shipment during transportation and transportation from Virginia to Texas.  At no time during the estimating process was Mr [redacted] present.   The shipment was booked and signed for using a [redacted] eAcceptance tool.  This is an internet based tool used for paperless signing of document.  All documents signed using this method are legal and binding.  The [redacted] shipment was picked up on 11/30/2013 and put into storage in transit at our warehouse in Woodbridge VA.  The shipment was estimated to weigh 2,160lbs.  Upon arrival at our facility it was found to weigh 3720lbs. (See attached weight ticket.)  Storage charges fall under Non-Bound Services.  The result of this is that the cost for the transportation into storage, the first day of storage, subsequent days of storage as well as the storage valuation went up.  To compound this instead of only being in storage for 60 days as originally planned the shipment ended up in storage from November of 2013 until March of 2015.   When a shipment goes into SIT (storage in transit) the long distance portion of the moving contract is put on hold.  When the storage duration reaches 180 days the long distance portion of the moving contract terminates and the storage shipment converts to permanent storage with no change to the monthly cost to the customer.   [redacted] reached out to us in March of 2015 to have his storage shipment delivered to him in Texas.  We gave him a quote of $7,513.68 inclusive of all services from the date of pick up through delivery.  (Inclusive of almost 16 months of storage.)  At no time did we hold the shipment hostage as [redacted] indicates.  We only stated that charges would have to be brought current before the shipment could be released from storage.  At the request of [redacted] we also provided a quote of $4,754.95 for him to pick up the items at our warehouse in Virginia for transportation to Texas himself.   [redacted] decided that he would rather pick up the shipment himself.  He picked up the shipment on April 3 2015 and drove it to Texas himself after paying the $4,754.95 due.   If there are any questions or if I can make anything more clear please do not hesitate to contact me.  Best,Thomas L[redacted]Business ManagerJoe Moholland Moving[redacted]Woodbridge VA 22191Cell  ###-###-####

Our responsibility is to repair anything we damage and that is what we are trying to do. Using the customers analysis he is right you would not take a blue door off a white car and call it fixed, you would paint that door not repaint the entire car. Also as stated in the last response this customer does not own the home he is renting it and the homeowner needs to be involved in any type of property repairs. We have requested the contact information of the homeowner several times but the customer refuses to provide it. Again to reiterate we have every intention of repairing the area we damaged, we sent someone out to make those repairs and he was turned away.

I would not recommend this company. For my particular experience, they refused to move everything they were contracted to have packed and transported on the day of our move, and, even though we bought insurance, they not only had us pay the deductible, but then refused to reimburse the full appraised replacement cost of the broken items. I hired Joe Mohalland, Inc for an in-state move. I chose them because their parent company, Mayflower, had done a good job moving one of my relatives from a 11,000 square foot house overseas a few years back - big move, cost alot - you'd think they'd want to keep us as customers. I was mistaken to believe the same quality of service would occur in-state with their franchise. It started when the movers refused to pack the majority of the items in our basement, which had been included in our original estimate. We had to make 7 trips with our own vehicles over a span of 5 hours in order to move out in time-it was stressful and exhausting. They did not number our boxes, nor did they provide us with the owner's and "rights and responsibilities manual" which they are supposed to provide- I noted this on our moving papers, but it did not matter. They broke 4 expensive items ranging from $300-$2000 approximately. I had purchased $20,000 carrier liability but when I submitted my claim, that didn't matter. It took approx. 3 months to get the manager's attention at which point he claimed that regardless of the insurance purchased, if none of the items were specifically on their high value inventory worksheet (high inventory meaning $100 or more), then reimbursement would be at the $100/pound level vice replacement cost per the insurance I had purchased. When I called the parent company, Mayflower, and explained what the manager told me, THEY advised me to file a complaint with Revdex.com and with the Fairfax Consumer Review Board - their own parent company told me to do this! What sticks out the most is when I was asked to fill out the claim form I was told that the items would be appraised and to just put down my best guess. I was fair and conservative, which was stupid. The manager admitted the appraisal for the items came back at a higher price than what I had put down, but they would only reimburse me for the appraised replacement cost - only for what I had put down as a best-guessed. When I asked, the manager confirmed if the appraisal had come back at a lower price, they would have settled at that lower price - but the same was not true if the appraisal came back with a higher replacement cost. Also, when they sent me the settlement they neglected to include one of the items, and acknowledged in an email that they were at fault for leaving the third item off the appraisal. I was told initially an appraisal would be done asap for the missing item. However, when the manager finally called me back, he acted as if he didn't know anything about the appraisal for the last item, instead he asked me if the appraisal on the third item had been done. I told him point blank his assistant told him the status - so why was he asking me? That's when he said he didn't have to settle at all since the specific items in question were not listed on the high value inventory sheet, per his interpretation. He seemed to forget I had purchased carrier liability (worth $20,000) - customer declaration of value the guaranteed full replacement value of broken items. They took my $250 deductible but did not provide the full replacement value of the broken items. Interesting too that the parent company agreed the full replacement value of the broken items should have been provided to me given the appraisal and the carrier liability, and regardless of the high value inventory, and that they advised I file a complaint on their own franchise! I have 7 siblings and a large extended family that moves around alot --- pity to lose all that business for something that could have been easily resolved.

We have now used Joe Moholland Moving company twice, and have been very happy both times. The most recent time was when we had to move the household goods from my parents former home to the different homes of the siblings which just involved Virginia and Maryland. They were not only very friendly and professional but went out of their way to make sure that they put the items in the rooms that we wanted. I have already recommended them to a co worker who was also very pleased.

This is a cut and paste of a review I posted on the Consumer Affairs website. In it address my experience with Joe Moholland Moving by way of Mayflower Moving.
Stay away Mayflower Moving Company - they don't stand behind their subcontract moving companies. Let me start by noting that in the Washington, D.C. metro area there were many complaints of fraud and scams in the local home moving industry. To avoid these scammers my wife and I used an online registry to request a move from Springfield, Virginia to Dorado, Puerto Rico in May 2011 by the M[redacted] Moving Company. M[redacted]r sent a local mover, Joe Moholland Moving who told us they were the local reps for Mayflower. The Joe Moholland Moving estimator gave us a quote of $14,000 for a 14,000-pound move (this quote was higher than other alternatives, but I thought it was worth using Mayflower for the peace of mind).
The estimator also advised us to get rid of anything we could live without so as to reduce the cost of the move - he claimed anything over the 14,000 pounds estimate would be billed before the delivery, and anything under would be refunded after. My wife and I evaluated every item we owned and decided to donate, give away, sell, or discard a large portion of the belongings we'd accumulated over 30 years in Northern Virginia. When the move arrived in Puerto Rico the delivery driver (Crowley Freight) told us the total weight of the move was just over 10,000 pounds. We contacted Joe Moholland Moving to request our refund but after 18 months and over 40 phone calls or emails we had not received our refund. They eventually just stopped answering our calls or returning our emails. We became so frustrated with Joe Moholland Moving we decided to contact Mayflower directly to see if they could help.
After about a year of exchanging emails with Mayflower they informed us there was nothing they could do because, to quote their most recent email: "As an agent for Mayflower Transit, Joe Moholland Moving represents Mayflower in interstate moving, however, with regard to international moving, (to Puerto Rico in your case), our agents can use any licensed forwarder to arrange transportation. Regrettably, they chose not to use our services to handle your move, therefore, we cannot help in this situation. After contacting Joe Moholland Moving on your behalf, John **, replied that he believed the forwarding company was settling this with you." I felt this was a cop-out because 1) when I contacted Mayflower I specifically stated the move was to Puerto Rico and 2) I didn't have a formal contract with the "forwarding company".
I don't expect to get a refund, but I hope my experience can help other families that are moving in or out of the Washington, D.C. metro area to avoid using these scammers. Or at least, to go into a move knowing that the D.C. area moving company scams are unavoidable. Please don't make the mistake of trying to reduce the load to save money - the only money that was saved in this move was pocketed by the Joe Moholland Moving company on their freight forwarding costs at the expense of the items we gave up to lighten the load.

Check fields!

Write a review of Joe Moholland Moving Inc

Satisfaction rating
 
 
 
 
 
Upload here Increase visibility and credibility of your review by
adding a photo
Submit your review

Joe Moholland Moving Inc Rating

Overall satisfaction rating

Description: Movers

Address: 15481 Farm Creek Dr, Woodbridge, Virginia, United States, 22191-3567

Phone:

Show more...

Web:

This website was reported to be associated with Joe Moholland Moving Inc.



Add contact information for Joe Moholland Moving Inc

Add new contacts
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | New | Updated