Sign in

K & K Construction

Sharing is caring! Have something to share about K & K Construction? Use RevDex to write a review
Reviews General Contractor K & K Construction

K & K Construction Reviews (5)

Initial Business Response / [redacted] (1000, 6, 2015/09/02) */ The customer was present during the entire project We poured psi with fiber, wire mesh and caissons This was a rental house for the customer and we don't know if the 'directions' given to stay off the driveway and garage for days were followed A contract is drawn up to protect both parties The customer agreed to the terms of the contract where it states that we will replace those areas that are wider than 1/4" Only one lower corner has such a crack (approxsq.ft.)requires replacement We offered to place epoxy in the smaller cracks free of charge, but he declined K&K has always been responsive with the plan of action It us unfortunate that the concrete cracked in a few places, but that is expected with the freeze/thaw that Colorado's soil goes through He admits that the entire front and back patio are just fine, but wants the majority of his money back We will stand behind our contract and replace the area already discussed with the customer Should any of the hairline cracks become wider, we will replace those as well (pictures of cracks sent to Revdex.com) Initial Consumer Rebuttal / [redacted] (3000, 8, 2015/09/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) No, the house was not a rental And no, no vehicle was driven on the driveway for seven daysAlso the section they agreed to replace is 8ft by 4ft, 32sf not 6sf I was present during the pour and as I said I was told the walkway "had" to be level with the door threshold I am asking for most of my money back because most should be replaced There are major cracks in both the garage and driveway And the side walkway has to be totally redoneI don't want the money, I want it replaced, but I am open to a settlement of less than what I have asked for but so far all I have been told is only one section will be replaced The cracks appearing and a corner falling off at four months are an indication something is wrong What will happen in a year? One winter should not destroy new concrete Final Business Response / [redacted] (4000, 29, 2015/10/16) */ In regards to the walkway, there is a footer built around that garage that goes a MINIMUM of feet deep That is how houses are constructed There is no way that the walkway drainage go cause that much run off and crack the garage floor The walkway was sloped so that it ran to the front yard and down the driveway Again, K&K Construction has honored their warranty Final Consumer Response / [redacted] (4200, 31, 2015/10/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) They have done nothing

Initial Business Response / [redacted] (1000, 6, 2015/09/02) */ The customer was present during the entire projectWe poured psi with fiber, wire mesh and caissonsThis was a rental house for the customer and we don't know if the 'directions' given to stay off the driveway and garage for days were followed A contract is drawn up to protect both partiesThe customer agreed to the terms of the contract where it states that we will replace those areas that are wider than 1/4"Only one lower corner has such a crack (approxsq.ft.)requires replacementWe offered to place epoxy in the smaller cracks free of charge, but he declined K&K has always been responsive with the plan of actionIt us unfortunate that the concrete cracked in a few places, but that is expected with the freeze/thaw that Colorado's soil goes through He admits that the entire front and back patio are just fine, but wants the majority of his money back We will stand behind our contract and replace the area already discussed with the customerShould any of the hairline cracks become wider, we will replace those as well(pictures of cracks sent to Revdex.com) Initial Consumer Rebuttal / [redacted] (3000, 8, 2015/09/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) No, the house was not a rentalAnd no, no vehicle was driven on the driveway for seven daysAlso the section they agreed to replace is 8ft by 4ft, 32sf not 6sfI was present during the pour and as I said I was told the walkway "had" to be level with the door thresholdI am asking for most of my money back because most should be replacedThere are major cracks in both the garage and drivewayAnd the side walkway has to be totally redoneI don't want the money, I want it replaced, but I am open to a settlement of less than what I have asked for but so far all I have been told is only one section will be replacedThe cracks appearing and a corner falling off at four months are an indication something is wrongWhat will happen in a year? One winter should not destroy new concrete Final Business Response / [redacted] (4000, 29, 2015/10/16) */ In regards to the walkway, there is a footer built around that garage that goes a MINIMUM of feet deepThat is how houses are constructedThere is no way that the walkway drainage go cause that much run off and crack the garage floorThe walkway was sloped so that it ran to the front yard and down the driveway Again, K&K Construction has honored their warranty Final Consumer Response / [redacted] (4200, 31, 2015/10/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) They have done nothing

We met with both home owners this time to make sure everyone is on the same page. We poured the stamped concrete back patio to have drainage from left to right of the yard (as this is how the builder set up their neighborhood drainage.) In doing so, it sloped the hot tub pad more than the customer desiredWe have agreed to level out the hot tub pad. The small pool of water is from the stamped concrete process. We are taking (what is otherwise a flat surface) and pressing a design into the concrete. In doing so, this some times creates small pools of water. We originally agreed to cut a control joint in to help with the drainage, but have now agreed to cut in a drain, per the customer's request. The sealant was placed on a little unevenly, so it will be resealed again

we were contacted by ***'s brother the previous week about the jobWe went the first day over to his house to inspect the work
34, 34) background-">*** and I agreed on a time and a price for the workWe returned the next afternoon after we freed our schedule up and proceeded to wrap the windowWe install the metal capping best for the way the window was installed*** did not like one piece so we tore it off and replaced the piece at which time he said it was fineWe then finished the metal work ,and caulking with the recommended caulkWe cleaned up at which point in time I showed him the final product to which he said was fineWe did however use his saw (which we have are own) but he had no issue with letting us borrow his at the timeWe do capping on most of our projects,which we never have issues with in the past or currently Had there been a different way to cap the window we would of had to problem accommodating that requestAs for the price at it was a number that was given to him and acceptedShould the window need to be recapped we would like to know what detail needs to be added or addressed for repair

Review: K&K construction was hired to cap a bow window. His crew showed up with bare bone tools unprepared to do the job, using a mini lithium ion drill driver to bore holes into brick to attach the wood build out (a table saw was provided by me so they can cut the wood pieces.) His crew was asked to redo the capping on the left hand side of the bow as it was obviously crooked. The capping distance from the up most horizontal brick mortar line had a 1" difference from the bottom. The installers argued amongst themselves that there was nothing wrong with the way this was capped. The piece of aluminum was finally torn down and the change was made after several minutes of debate whether or not this was acceptable. This confrontation regarding the acceptability of the work being done led the workers to change their demeanor from eager to do the work to simply let’s just get out of here. With two children to take care of, I left the crew alone to complete the work and was notified when the task was completed. When I came outside to inspect the work the crew had completely cleared out, ready to abandon the area. I was immediately drawn to the poor capping around the top of the window and asked Nick if this is how it is supposed to look. The top of the capping on the bow appeared to flare out from the sides to the middle of the window (imagine the crown on the statue of liberty but instead of flaring up in the middle it flares down, narrow at the sides and wide in the middle.) The capping was not bent at a 90, but instead angled in order to simply complete the job. The owner Nick quickly replied that this is the way it is supposed to be because of the shape of the bow window. Although I was hesitant Nick was paid $225 for the "this is how it’s supposed to be" work completed. Not happy with the work done I drove around the neighborhood comparing the capping on bow windows I was able to find. It was evident after this that this was not the way it was supposed to be done. Other issues with the capping included a seam not being made in the middle of the center window but instead at a 1/4 of the distance, the caulking was very poor and had split between the window and the capping within a weeks’ time, and finally the bottom of the bow was not capped. This allows water to travel under the bow down to the limestone sill and into the void between the brick and the insulation behind it. To confirm what I had already know that the work was extremely poor, 6 other window firms were called and each confirmed that this was not how it was supposed to be done and that there was no way they would pass this type of work at any of their customers’ homes. From this is wrong, to they did not do this, and to why they did this; the confirmations continued to raise my level of frustration. Nick was contacted regarding his poor workmanship by a professional in the window market and to this day he has yet to properly cap the window or offer any reimbursement for the work his team had no business doing. This was work that someone who had no idea what they were doing was expected to do, not someone who promoted themselves as a capping, siding and general construction expert. K&K construction did work worthy of $20.00 not $225.00. Now my wife and I have to hire qualified installers to tear down the aluminum, rebuild the build out and recap the bow. The only person smiling after this business transaction was Nick as he drove off with my $225.00. I do not recommend K&K as it is evident they do not possess the skill set to complete basic construction tasks, they do not bring the appropriate tools to complete the task, nor do they stand behind their work. [redacted]Desired Settlement: Complete the work the way it is supposed to be done or refund me my money.

Business

Response:

we were contacted by [redacted]'s brother the previous week about the job. We went the first day over to his house to inspect the work.

Check fields!

Write a review of K & K Construction

Satisfaction rating
 
 
 
 
 
Upload here Increase visibility and credibility of your review by
adding a photo
Submit your review

K & K Construction Rating

Overall satisfaction rating

Description: Construction & Remodeling Services, Windows - Installation & Service, Cabinets, Tool & Utility Sheds, Handyman Services, Hardwood Floor Contractors, Doors - Installation, Contractors - Framing, Bathroom Remodeling, Basement - Finishing, Home Improvements - Additions, Basement - Remodeling, Floors - Hardwood, Kitchen Remodeling, Deck Builder, Windows & Doors - Installation & Service, Soffit & Fascia, Gutter Leaf Guards, Contractors - Gutters, Fences - Wood, Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling, Carpenters, Contractors - General, Demolition Contractors, Garage Builders, Gutters & Downspouts, Home Builders, Home Improvements, Siding Contractors, Tile - Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers, Residential Remodelers (NAICS: 236118)

Address: 845 N Sacramento Blvd, Chicago, Illinois, United States, 60622-4362

Phone:

Show more...

Web:

www.yelp.com

This site can’t be reached

Shady, yet now dead: once upon a time this website was reported to be associated with K & K Construction, but after several inspections we’ve come to the conclusion that this domain is no longer active.



Add contact information for K & K Construction

Add new contacts
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | New | Updated