Sign in

Kobold Expedition Tools

Sharing is caring! Have something to share about Kobold Expedition Tools? Use RevDex to write a review
Reviews Kobold Expedition Tools

Kobold Expedition Tools Reviews (12)

Revdex.com: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted] , and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.If Kobold Watch Co would keep their word, this would be an acceptable solution Kobold has promised to replace my watch for over weeks or months After Kobold has made and broken many promises to return the watch, another promise does not resolve this complaint Among the many promises were that last one in a text from Chad R on September which stated: "Shawn, you are about week out [sic] from the watch No excuses just a fact, waited for the gaskets etc I am sorry it has taken so long." Kobold's response to your letter was two weeks ago as of today Kobold has not contacted me with any information about the replacement watch since that text of September In fact, I have called Kobold's sales number and they indicated that they could deliver the same model of watch that I purchased in weeks Kobold is telling new customers that they can deliver new watches in weeks, but they have taken more than weeks and counting to replace my watch An acceptable solution is a full refund or having the replacement watch delivered An promise is not an acceptable solution Regards, [redacted] ***

Hi ***,We received the following complaint recently under the ID ***.Our company refund/return policy can be found on our website www.koboldwatch.com and states:Kobold merchandised purchased from Kobold can be returned for a full refund provided the merchandise is
returned to Kobold within days of receipt in the original, factory-new conditionUsed, worn or damaged merchandise is not eligible for a refund and is excluded from this return policyLikewise, custom-made merchandise is excluded from this return policy.We have been in contact with customer and have started working on his replacement watchWe should have his new watch completed in about weeks.Please let me know if more information is needed.All the best,Jessica K***Kobold Watch Company

The customer was advised that all Kobold watches are tested for water resistance before they are shippedAfter speaking with the customer, it became evident that the watch was subjected to direct sunlight,
causing it to heat up, prior to use in cold waterThis sudden temperature change can cause the rubber gaskets inside a water-resistant watch to fail, allowing water to enter the watchAny watch regardless of manufacturer would exhibit this type of symptomUpon arrival at our facility, we tested the watch for water resistance, which the watch passedOnce the customer understood this, he was happy to accept that the watch be repaired

I sent my Black Phantom in November 2017 to the Volant, PA address for repairs, was received. I talked to Amin in February 2018 said was delayed should be sending out watches in April 2018. As of June 2018 the watch has not been returned. Want my watch back fixed or not...Skip

The rep I talked to was Ashmin email address [email protected]

Revdex.com:
I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted], and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 
Regards,
[redacted]
Dear Ms. [redacted],
On Thursday, March 4, 2016, I met with the owner of the Kobold Watch Company to discuss the issues of my Revdex.com complaint. At that meeting, the owner set the new watch to the correct time and date, had written directions of how to operate the watch, and included a three year warranty  statement. A brown canvas watch strap is on back order, and the owner promised to have it shipped, when received. Since the watch is a gift to my godson in the United States Coast Guard, it was important to get everything done correctly.
I now consider that the complaint with Kobold Watch company has been resolved.
Thank you,
[redacted]

To whom it may concern,We have received a complaint from a customer we would like to dispute. Please read below.Customer ordered a custom-made mechanical "Made in USA" watch. Due to various delays in the vertical integration process, his watch was repeatedly delayed. Once his watch...

was ready for assembly, we advised the customer in an email that it would be ready the following week. We did not advise the customer that this was the shipping date, which is perhaps the point where the customer was confused. The date a mechanical watch is assembled is not the date it ships. After assembly, a mechanical watch is extensively tested for accuracy and reliability and along this process it is routinely adjusted in different positions to increase accuracy. Once the watch finished testing, we made several attempts to reach customer by telephone and email to alert him that his watch was shipping. His watch was meanwhile delivered to him (before the Revdex.com complaint) and although we have made repeated attempts at reaching the customer, we have not been successful.If you need any other information, please call our office at [redacted]Many thanks,Jessica K[redacted]Kobold Watch Company[redacted]

Revdex.com:
I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted], and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.If Kobold Watch Co would keep their word, this would be an acceptable solution.  Kobold has promised to replace my watch for over 28 weeks or 6 months.  After Kobold has made and broken many promises to return the watch, another promise does not resolve this complaint.  Among the many promises were that last one in a text from Chad R on September 29 which stated:  "Shawn, you are about week out [sic] from the watch.  No excuses just a fact, waited for the gaskets etc.  I am sorry it has taken so long."   Kobold's response to your letter was two weeks ago as of today.  Kobold has not contacted me with any information about the replacement watch since that text of September 29.  In fact, I have called Kobold's sales number and they indicated that they could deliver the same model of watch that I purchased in 3 weeks.  Kobold is telling new customers that they can deliver new watches in 3 weeks, but they have taken more than 28 weeks and counting to replace my watch.  
An acceptable solution is a full refund or having the replacement watch delivered.  An promise is not an acceptable solution.
Regards,
[redacted]

The watch was delayed for a number of reasons, including a relocation and subsequent loss of two key employees. We have since been able to find replacements and gotten production back on track. There was a...

miscommunication between the customer and the customer service representative resulting in the initial watch being delivered with a different set of functions than desired. This has been corrected and the customer is happy.

Review: I ordered a Langley GMT, 24 hour wrist watch with a count-down bezel and three straps with the engraving "Chief Travis, U.S.C.G. on May 28, 2015 and paid the purchase price of $1990. The manager, Brian S[redacted] said the watch would be ready in July. I went to pick up the watch and Mr S[redacted] said that the watch case was sent out to be coated and it would take another few weeks. I called in August, September, and October, to check on the status of the watch and was told the same thing, the watch case was sent out to be coated. In November, I went to Kobold Watch Company to get the watch and I was told again that the watch case was being coated.

I received an email from Michael K[redacted] on November 5, 2015 stating that the watch case is being coated and that it would be back the following week. The watch will be assembled and tested and Dale P[redacted], the new manager, would contact me.

I received an email from Michael K[redacted] on January 7, 2016 and said the watch would be finished in one week. Today is February 4, 2016 and I still do not have the watch.Desired Settlement: I want Langley GMT watch that I paid for in May of 2015.

Business

Response:

To whom it may concern,We have received a complaint from a customer we would like to dispute. Please read below.Customer ordered a custom-made mechanical "Made in USA" watch. Due to various delays in the vertical integration process, his watch was repeatedly delayed. Once his watch was ready for assembly, we advised the customer in an email that it would be ready the following week. We did not advise the customer that this was the shipping date, which is perhaps the point where the customer was confused. The date a mechanical watch is assembled is not the date it ships. After assembly, a mechanical watch is extensively tested for accuracy and reliability and along this process it is routinely adjusted in different positions to increase accuracy. Once the watch finished testing, we made several attempts to reach customer by telephone and email to alert him that his watch was shipping. His watch was meanwhile delivered to him (before the Revdex.com complaint) and although we have made repeated attempts at reaching the customer, we have not been successful.If you need any other information, please call our office at [redacted]Many thanks,Jessica K[redacted]Kobold Watch Company[redacted]

Consumer

Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted], and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

[redacted]Dear Ms. [redacted],

Review: Delays and errors in purchase.Despite payment 3.5 months ago, still do not have the product I ordered. Repeated deadlines set by Kobold for when I would receive product have been repeatedly missed, for reasons ranging from US customs problems, to 'watch maker no longer works here.' When product was finally sent last week, it had multiple errors in the order - not the product I ordered. I sent the watch back, at my own expense.I have asked for a full refund, which the company has refused. I have asked for discount off purchase price to compensate for delays and errors. Company has refused.Desired Settlement: Full refund. Short of full refund, then 25% discount off purchase price to compensate for delays and errors, with assurance of product receipt within 2 weeks.

Business

Response:

The watch was delayed for a number of reasons, including a relocation and subsequent loss of two key employees. We have since been able to find replacements and gotten production back on track. There was a miscommunication between the customer and the customer service representative resulting in the initial watch being delivered with a different set of functions than desired. This has been corrected and the customer is happy.

Consumer

Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted], and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. Thank you for your assistance in helping resolve this issue with the business.

Review: I ordered the Kobold Langley watch back in March of 2015. It took 5 months for delivery and the watch was received on August 18th, 2015. This watch is supposed to be able to go underwater up to 50 ATM, which is about 1694 feet deep. I wore this watch in a pool, so 6-7 feet deep. The watch is completely damaged. It has rust all around the edges of the face. The numbered date inside the face of the watch is covered in rust. The hands will not move. Even the color (black) on the face is worn off around the band.I called Kobold immediately after wearing this watch on the 27th of August. I was told someone would get back to me. It took them TWO WEEKS to call me back. At which time, I was told the 10 day return period had passed. It was well within the time period when I first called to report the damage. This company is shady and has very questionable business practices. They offered to repair the watch, but clearly it is not the product it claims to be. It is supposed to go up to a depth of 1694 feet, but can't stand 6-7 feet of water.Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund.

Business

Response:

The customer was advised that all Kobold watches are tested for water resistance before they are shipped. After speaking with the customer, it became evident that the watch was subjected to direct sunlight, causing it to heat up, prior to use in cold water. This sudden temperature change can cause the rubber gaskets inside a water-resistant watch to fail, allowing water to enter the watch. Any watch regardless of manufacturer would exhibit this type of symptom. Upon arrival at our facility, we tested the watch for water resistance, which the watch passed. Once the customer understood this, he was happy to accept that the watch be repaired.

Check fields!

Write a review of Kobold Expedition Tools, LLC

Satisfaction rating
 
 
 
 
 
Upload here Increase visibility and credibility of your review by adding a photo

Kobold Expedition Tools Rating

Overall satisfaction rating

Description: TOOL & DIE MAKERS, WATCHES-WHOLESALE & MANUFACTURERS

Address: 1801 Parkway View Drive, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States, 15205

Phone:

Show more...

Web:

koboldwatch.com

This site can’t be reached

Shady, yet now dead: once upon a time this website was reported to be associated with Kobold Expedition Tools, LLC, but after several inspections we’ve come to the conclusion that this domain is no longer active.



Add contact information for Kobold Expedition Tools

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | New | Updated