Sign in

Larken Associates

Sharing is caring! Have something to share about Larken Associates? Use RevDex to write a review
Reviews Larken Associates

Larken Associates Reviews (3)

This email is in response to a letter received by Larken Associates via mail in mid-September 2015, regarding case ID [redacted]. The complaint filed is in reference to a 90 dollar security deposit that was owed to a past tenant of Larken Associates, [redacted] This...

tenant had moved out of their storage unit earlier in the year and was owed this security deposit. Larken Associates made attempts to send payment in the form of a check payable to the complainant via United States Postal Service mail. These checks were sent to a mailing address provided by the complainant with no “return to sender” attempted upon their delivery. Our organization has documentation that these checks were indeed sent to the given address provided in a timely manner. I spoke with the complainant in August 2015 regarding the issue and updated the previously given mailing address. A check was sent to the updated address on 08/26/15 and was signed for by the complainant.  Larken Associates has signed documentation, which can be emailed upon request, of this transaction with the complainant’s signature on the received security deposit.  We would like clarification of any further issue or follow up with this complaint.

Review: I had rented a storage unit from this company, and when I rented my unit a security deposit of $90 is required. As of March 1, 2015 I ended my rental agreement with the company. Upon my move out date of my storage unit I had provided them my new address to send my refund check to for my security deposit which I was told could take up to 6 weeks. I have contacted the company numerous times regarding my refund check as it is now August 31, 2015 and I have still not received my check. I am continually told it was sent to my previous address in error. I have now provided them my new address numerous times, and still have not received my check but am continually told they will talk to management with no resolution to this.Desired Settlement: I want my refund of $90 for my security deposit in a timelyanner as I feel it is ridiculous it has been 6 months and I have not been refunded my money.

Business

Response:

This email is in response to a letter received by Larken Associates via mail in mid-September 2015, regarding case ID [redacted]. The complaint filed is in reference to a 90 dollar security deposit that was owed to a past tenant of Larken Associates, [redacted] This tenant had moved out of their storage unit earlier in the year and was owed this security deposit. Larken Associates made attempts to send payment in the form of a check payable to the complainant via United States Postal Service mail. These checks were sent to a mailing address provided by the complainant with no “return to sender” attempted upon their delivery. Our organization has documentation that these checks were indeed sent to the given address provided in a timely manner. I spoke with the complainant in August 2015 regarding the issue and updated the previously given mailing address. A check was sent to the updated address on 08/26/15 and was signed for by the complainant. Larken Associates has signed documentation, which can be emailed upon request, of this transaction with the complainant’s signature on the received security deposit. We would like clarification of any further issue or follow up with this complaint.

Consumer

Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response. If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted], and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

Review: My friend [redacted] and I lived in [redacted] which is owned by Larken Associates, between May 2013 and May 2015. After we moved out, we are charged $973 for re-carpet of the whole unit, $175 for blinds replacement in each every room, and $50 for not returning keys. We expressed our disagreement immediately but the staffs of Waters Edge refused to adjust the bill. When I asked for the contact information of their management to file complaints, they even stopped replying my emails.

Following are the reasons that support our arguments.

1. Re-carpet:

We don't think re-carpet is necessary. Waters Edge's reason for re-carpet is the carpet is dirty. However, from the pictures they took during inspection, we can't see any significant stains. There were some scraps of paper or other things on the floor, but they can be easily vacuumed. When we asked for the proof of why the carpet cannot be professionally cleaned at a much lower cost, we were only told that "it was gross". Again, from the picture, we can hardly agree with their reasoning.

Even if the re-carpet is necessary, we don't think we should pay as much as $973. The receipt Waters Edge provided for the re-carpet shows the total amount is $903. We have no idea where does the number $973 come from. And according to the city law, we are not responsible for ordinary wear and tear. In other words, even if the re-carpet is necessary, we are only responsible for the residual value of the carpet after two years of normal use and the bill should be discounted at least by 40% given a standard life of 5 years for ordinary carpet (Waters Edge failed to provide proof of installation of the replaced carpet, which means it may be installed long before we moved in).

2. Blinds:

Waters Edge failed to provide valid reasons for replacing all the blinds. As showed in their pictures, the blinds were not damaged at all.

3. Keys:

We left keys on kitchen table, which showed again in the pictures.Desired Settlement: We want those items dropped from the bill.

Business

Response:

Upon receiving the above referenced complaint, I pulled all paperwork pertaining to [redacted] statement of the problem. The former tenant seems to be disputing the move out charges regarding the carpet and keys. The carpet did indeed need to be replaced because the carpet was destroyed well beyond normal wear and tear. The cream colored carpet more closely resembled a blackish color. On any move out inspection resulting in charges, we take several pictures to document the complaints. There were no keys in any picture and, as a result, the lock to the unit needed to be entirely replaced to ensure the safety of potential future tenants. Beyond the carpet and keys specifically mentioned by the former resident, the unit itself was left in deplorable conditions. There was a thick coating of grease on every kitchen service within a 3-4' radius of the stove, including two blinds in the kitchen that needed to ultimately be replaced. The bathrooms had clearly not been cleaned in some time, leaving the tub covered in a black film, the grout turning greenish-black with mildew and the toilet, as well as the surrounding floor, covered in urine. Upon every lease signing, the tenant is required to initial a 'move out charges' form that clearly lets them know both what we look for upon move out as well as what the charges, if necessary, will be. All the charges for the complainant's move out are well within the range of the acknowledgment form she signed. As a result of how the unit was left by the complainant and her roommate, we needed to deploy significantly more resources than normal in turning this unit into an acceptable living space for the next tenant. We will not be adjusting the move out charges.

Consumer

Response:

Review: [redacted]

I am rejecting this response because:As I argued in the complaint, even though the carpet need to be replaced, we are only responsible for the residual value of the carpet. For example, if the standard life of this carpet is 5 years, given we occupied the unit for 2 years, we are only responsible for the remaining 3 years of the carpet life, which should not be more than 60% of the total value of installation. This is based on the assumption that the replaced carpet was installed right before we move in 2 years ago. If it was installed earlier, we should pay even less for the re-carpet. Therefore, we are also asking for the proof of installation of the replaced carpet.And you haven't explained why it was $909 on the receipt of re-carpet (see attached [redacted]) but we are charged for $973 (see attached [redacted]) and why we are charged for the blinds in living room and bedroom.The keys are clearly showed in [redacted] as attached, right in the middle of the stove, which we believed was moved from the kitchen table by the inspector.

Regards,

Check fields!

Write a review of Larken Associates

Satisfaction rating
 
 
 
 
 
Upload here Increase visibility and credibility of your review by adding a photo

Larken Associates Rating

Overall satisfaction rating

Description: Storage Units - Household & Commercial

Address: PO Box 6989, Hillsborough, New Jersey, United States, 08844

Phone:

Show more...

Add contact information for Larken Associates

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | New | Updated