Sign in

Lillian August Designs, Inc.

Sharing is caring! Have something to share about Lillian August Designs, Inc.? Use RevDex to write a review
Reviews Lillian August Designs, Inc.

Lillian August Designs, Inc. Reviews (12)

Worst Customer Service Ever
Invoice # 3091012
I have had trouble with their customer service since I purchased this sofa! In addition, I have not had any resolution to my issue of unusual amounts of pilling on my sofa! I will NEVER recommend this company, and judging from the many negative comments that I have read...others feel the same way! This company should be ashamed to say they have ANY customer service!

Lillian August Product & Customer Service is Abysmal
I bought a couch from Lillian August in early February 2020 with a projected initial delivery of early June. When the pandemic hit, it was understandable that that delivery date wasn't going to be met given the disruption in manufacturing, but I never received any proactive update from Lillian August on the status of manufacturing or a potential new delivery estimation. I tried to get back in touch with them as the initial delivery date approached but I wasn't able to get a response from anyone until a month later. Additionally, this wasn't someone finally responding to my many emails, I was only able to get a response after incessant phone calls to the design center and an insistence on speaking with someone who could give me some sort of answer on the status of our couch. At that time it was disclaimed that the pandemic caused disruptions and delays are inevitable, to which I explained that I'm more than understanding of delays resulting from the pandemic, but what is unacceptable is being ignored. After a couple of conversations that day I was able to get an updated response that they were targeting completion on the piece by the beginning of August (2 months after original delivery estimate). I then thanked them for the update and explicitly instructed that they keep me updated even if the update isn't great news (i.e. further delay), and here I am now at the beginning of August and having to go through the same wild goose chase that I did in June. I've called, left messages, written emails, and I can't get through to anyone. I have no idea how this company has reached any degree of success with such abysmal operations and customer service. Not only will I never be shopping at Lillian August again, I will be sure to share my experience with as many folks as possible to hopefully spare them from having to go through something similar.

This store is full of disingenuous and dishonest people and I caution anyone who does business with them I ordered a chair and paid a 50% deposit They promised 6-weeks delivery in writing After weeks still no chair and no returned phone calls or emails I emailed that I wanted to cancel the order and bought another chair I called my credit card to revert the charge on the deposit since I couldnt get anyone to call me back Two weeks later they called and said, "Great news, your chair is here!" This was over months after the date it had been promised They then went to my credit card provider and provided all sorts of misstatements and lies about what happened THey claimed that the delay had been only weeks (complete lie), they claimed that they had attempted to deliver it (complete lie) They had some hidden fine print at the bottom of the invoice, which they never disclosed, saying that they are not responsible for delays and are trying to stick it to me This despite the fact that the delay was months and that I couldnt get anyone to even call me in the whole time period I am still fighting with them and my credit card company almost a year later THe most horrible company I have ever done business with My advice is to simply stay away

Website Complaint Response:
Customer special ordered furniture on 10-26-sofas in custom fabric, stools in custom fabric, a cocktail table and end table, a bench in custom fabric, nesting tables, and swivel chairs in custom fabricAs per terms of agreement on invoice- which
customer signed (all invoices) special/custom ordered furniture is not subject to cancellationCustomer paid a 50% deposit as requiredWe have been trying to deliver the merchandise to the customer since March, and customer has refusedIf the clients desired settlement is as stated we would love to deliver the merchandise
6/3/10:05:AM

Complaint: ***
I am rejecting this response because:
This complaint was made on March 2, and my understanding was that Lillian August had weeks to respond and days untill complaint would be closed as unresolvedI am surprised to hear back after months!! It's not just a delay in response to the complaint but this is how thier overall attitude has been towards this trasaction - no status updates, no follow up, not even a clue on possible time frame despite numerous attempts to reach the storeSomeone just chooses to wake up and respond on thier convenience with no value for customer's timeIt has been an extrememly frustrating monthsThey need to learn to respect thier customers rather than tossing them around and treating them like they are doing them a favor by selling merchandise
Sincerely,
*** ***

Complaint: [redacted]
I am rejecting this response because:
Thank you!  Here is my response:
 
As you stated, there was definitely a mistake on the part of Lillian August.  I purchased a white piece of furniture because of the warranty, which you do not want to honor due to the fact that you made a mistake.  As you indicated, two years later, you didn't catch the mistake when you sold me the item or during any of your audits.  That is not the customer's problem.  I paid $125.00 back on 11/6/13 that would be worth close to $150 today if I had invested the money.  There is no ethical reason to pr-rate the warranty reimbursement.
 
You have offered to pay for the cost of cleaning the furniture, as well as a future cleaning.  That will not suffice because this is money that I would not have had to spend otherwise.  Based on the warranty, you would have sent me cleaning supplies and if those did not work, the warranty covers furniture replacement in extreme cases.
 
You have also offered to replace the fabric casing.  This would only be for the cushion that is currently stained.  If the rest of the furniture was ever stained under the conditions of the warranty and we were not able to remove the stain, we would have no coverage.  Again, because you are not honoring the warranty.
 
My request remains the same.  Not honoring a warranty that you sold is a serious issue not only because the item that I purchased was misrepresented, but also because the warranty is the reason why I ultimately purchased this item.  I live in [redacted] and purchased the item from your store in [redacted] because I grew up in ** and always thought that you were a reputable company.  I could have purchased a piece of furniture from any number of other stores but I chose to purchase from Lillian August.  
 
 
Thank you,
[redacted]

Complaint: [redacted]
I am rejecting this response because:
Implied or explicit warranty issues are not something that should be dismissed if the vendor has sold a warranty as part of the sale of a product.  This item was purchased because of the warranty, knowing that a white daybed would be under warranty should any issues arise.
We have purchase products from this vendor in the past and have never had to use the warranty.  
This was the vendor's mistake.  A return of the payment for the warranty back in 2013, two years ago, does not make up for the fact that we were sold an item with a warranty that is not being honored.  We would like a refund of the item or to have the warranty honored.  This might be one time that we have to get the daybed cleaned but in the future, we will not have any coverage and that is a problem when we purchased the item with the expectation that we would have a warranty.  Then store has to be held accountable for selling items with a warranty that they end up not honoring.
Sincerely,
[redacted]

Review: Order an end table on Feb 20, was told it would take 4-6 weeks for delivery. However, shipping company reported a damaged panel, and so a replacement part was required before delivery could be completed. This was in late March. No one from [redacted] contacted me to provide status, revised shipping dates, nothing. I have had to continually initiate contact with them, and still (it is now May 26) have no idea on the status of the end table, when it will be shipped, what's going on, nothing. The customer service person I have emailed and called indicated that her manager was handling my order, but I have heard nothing from that manager. It is now 3 months after the end table was ordered. I have never filed a complaint against a business but the lack of communication from this company is the worst I have ever experienced. The cost of the table was over $1,500 -- not an insignificant amount that was charged to my credit card in February for something I supposedly purchased but now question whether it will ever be delivered.Desired Settlement: I would like 3 outcomes:

- A firm delivery date of the end table

- Refund of shipping charges and a discount on the purchase price as compensation for the extreme delay and nonexistent communication

- An explanation of how [redacted] will remedy their customer experience

Business

Response:

Customer did order piece on line and it was damaged by the shipper - we were told continually that the shipper had been in contact with the consumer and that this was being handled exclusively by them. We spoke to the shipper and the customer on Thursday May 28th and they scheduled delivery for Monday June 1. We have also reimbursed the customer his full delivery fee. The customer emailed that he is appreciative and looking forward to moving forward. This should be all set.thank you[redacted]

Business

Response:

Customer did order piece on line and it was damaged by the shipper - we were told continually that the shipper had been in contact with the consumer and that this was being handled exclusively by them. We spoke to the shipper and the customer on Thursday May 28th and they scheduled delivery for Monday June 1. We have also reimbursed the customer his full delivery fee. The customer emailed that he is appreciative and looking forward to moving forward. This should be all set.thank you[redacted]

Consumer

Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted], and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

Consumer

Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted], and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

Review: I purchased an item in 2012 with a warranty. The salesperson sold me the warranty, which I paid for and for which I have a receipt. Two years later, when I needed the warranty and could not find the paperwork detailing the warranty that was sold to me, I contacted [redacted]. They told me that I did not have a warranty after all and all that they can do is reimburse me for the warranty that I paid for. This is the email that I received from the sales manager:

As [redacted] explained unfortunately the sales associate sold you a warranty that was not valid. We cannot fabric protect (spray) a piece of furniture that was shipped direct to you from the vendor. It was not caught in our audit process and is quite unfortunate. The warranty although sold by us is through an outside company and will not honor a piece that was not sprayed. As [redacted] had stated we certainly will refund you the full price of the warranty and even pay for a cleaning on the piece. Unfortunately that is all that we can do. Please send me the cleaning receipt and we can refund that and the $125.00 for the fabric protection.

Manager, Customer Service

[redacted] Design, Inc

[redacted]Desired Settlement: I would like the piece refunded since I purchased it because of the warranty. I would like the piece refunded because Lillian August will not honor the warranty.

Business

Response:

The customer made a purchase at our store on 9-9-13. The sales associate did sell the customer a daybed and a fabric warranty. The customer however does not live in [redacted] and lives in [redacted] and paid $550.00 to have this shipped direct from the vendor in [redacted] to her residence in [redacted]. Unfortunately as stated in the letter to the customer the fabric protection warranty is a warranty provided by an outside company that requires the furniture be sprayed in our warehouse. It is not provided by the Manufacturer of the merchandise- since this was shipped directly from the vendor it should not have been sold to the customer, unfortunately it was not caught in our audit system.The customer called us and we offered to refund the price of the warranty $125.00 which she has agreed for us to do and also offered (since their was a mistake) to pay for a cleaning of her daybed. Which she has at this time declined. This is an unfortunate mistake as we have certainly tried to help our customer with. [redacted]

Consumer

Response:

Review: [redacted]

I am rejecting this response because:

Review: I purchased a bed from Lillian August with a fabric that never should have been sold as bed upholstery. I had two service technicians out one of whom made the problem exponentially worse. I was then informed by the company that I had damaged the product myself by steaming. The fabric was only damaged after the repair person came to my house. Until that point, it was simply matted down. Now the whole texture of the fabric on a headboard has been ruined by their technician and I'm being told it's my fault. Not only this, but I can't get anyone to return a phone call. This level of service is horrifying considering what they charge for their products. Rather than acknowledge their error, they are blaming the customer.

Desired Settlement: I would like the bed reupholstered in a fabric that will wear reasonably, what they should have sold me in the first place. If this were my fault, I would be more than happy to take the blame. It is incredibly disappointing to see a company trying blame the customer for their faulty product.

Business

Response:

Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/07/22) */

Contact Name and Title: [redacted] Mgr Cust s

Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX [redacted]

Contact Email: [redacted].com

Customer special ordered a bed with custom fabric on 2-13-13 special orders are not subject to cancellation. Took delivery on 4-11-13 called the next day there was marks in fabric - tech out on 4-26-13 steamed shading /knapp marks customer inspected and accepted as complete. Cust called again on 5-1-13 more marks (this is a velvet type fabric -prown to shading and markings) -cust steamed herself and called thought she made it worse- tech sent our as a courtesy on 6-21-13 he re-steamed fabric.I spoke to customer on 6-26-13 explained we would look into if fabric had any issues - found from vendor there were none - however since she's unhappy offered recovering the bed for her - she will be in to look at fabric. this should be all set

Review: We ordered furniture worth approx $30k for our living room in October 2013 and were told that it would take 10-12 weeks for in-house delivery. It's almost 18 weeks since the order was placed and there is still no information on when the order will be delivered. [redacted], the designer who helped us with the order, quit her job almost right after we placed the order. The store never bothered informing us or contacting us on how they planned to handle our account. After making several phone calls and leaving multiple messages in January I found out that a new designer, [redacted], will be given our project. We never heard back from her after the first phone call, even when she retuned my phone call after 3 weeks (expected delivery time) she had no idea about expected delivery date nor did she seem interested in helping us pick lighting options or accessories to complete the room. Once again we were left at the mercy of the store. Someone named [redacted] did call a couple of times, first to connect us to [redacted] and then to another designer, which never happened. When furniture did not arrive at scheduled time [redacted] said that the vendor is out of the fabric for 2 of our chairs..it took 12 weeks for the store to tell us that...the time when we were expecting our furniture delivery we were told the fabric was unavailable, I can't call this anything other than complete lack of professionalism and careless attitude towards customer service!! We went to Lillan August because we thought it was an established and reliable store but the service so far has been worse than any retail store I have dealth with. No one has any answers on when we will get our furniture. I have dealt with them with utmost patience and decency but I am not getting anywhere with that.Desired Settlement: After 18 weeks of aggravation and waste of our time we want our furniture NOW and not give Lillian August the callous option of cancelling our order and backing off from their responsibility . we had several options to chose from in the NYC area but we decided to shop at Lillian August

Business

Response:

Website Complaint Response:

Customer special ordered furniture on 10-26-13. 2 sofas in custom fabric, 2 stools in custom fabric, a cocktail table and end table, a bench in custom fabric, nesting tables, and 2 swivel chairs in custom fabric. As per terms of agreement on invoice- which customer signed (all invoices) special/custom ordered furniture is not subject to cancellation. Customer paid a 50% deposit as required. We have been trying to deliver the merchandise to the customer since March, and customer has refused. If the clients desired settlement is as stated we would love to deliver the merchandise.

6/3/2014 10:05:37 AM

Consumer

Response:

Review: [redacted]

I am rejecting this response because:

This complaint was made on March 2, 2014 and my understanding was that Lillian August had 2 weeks to respond and 30 days untill complaint would be closed as unresolved. I am surprised to hear back after 3 months!! It's not just a delay in response to the complaint but this is how thier overall attitude has been towards this trasaction - no status updates, no follow up, not even a clue on possible time frame despite numerous attempts to reach the store. Someone just chooses to wake up and respond on thier convenience with no value for customer's time. It has been an extrememly frustrating 8 months. They need to learn to respect thier customers rather than tossing them around and treating them like they are doing them a favor by selling merchandise.

Sincerely,

This store is full of disingenuous and dishonest people and I caution anyone who does business with them. I ordered a chair and paid a 50% deposit. They promised 6-8 weeks delivery in writing. After 14 weeks still no chair and no returned phone calls or emails. I emailed that I wanted to cancel the order and bought another chair. I called my credit card to revert the charge on the deposit since I couldnt get anyone to call me back. Two weeks later they called and said, "Great news, your chair is here!". This was over 2 months after the date it had been promised. They then went to my credit card provider and provided all sorts of misstatements and lies about what happened. THey claimed that the delay had been only 3 weeks (complete lie), they claimed that they had attempted to deliver it (complete lie). They had some hidden fine print at the bottom of the invoice, which they never disclosed, saying that they are not responsible for delays and are trying to stick it to me. This despite the fact that the delay was months and that I couldnt get anyone to even call me in the whole time period. I am still fighting with them and my credit card company almost a year later. THe most horrible company I have ever done business with. My advice is to simply stay away.

Check fields!

Write a review of Lillian August Designs, Inc.

Satisfaction rating
 
 
 
 
 
Upload here Increase visibility and credibility of your review by adding a photo

Lillian August Designs, Inc. Rating

Overall satisfaction rating

Description: Furniture - Retail, Interior Decorators & Designers, Antiques - Dealers, Furniture Stores (NAICS: 442110)

Address: 32 Knight St, Norwalk, Connecticut, United States, 06851

Phone:

Show more...

Web:

This website was reported to be associated with Lillian August Designs, Inc..



Add contact information for Lillian August Designs, Inc.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | New | Updated