Sign in

Marcus Theatres Corporation

Sharing is caring! Have something to share about Marcus Theatres Corporation? Use RevDex to write a review
Reviews Restaurants, Theatre Marcus Theatres Corporation

Marcus Theatres Corporation Reviews (16)

The Movie Tavern in Roswell, GA needs serious attention. During the past couple of months the service has declined significantly. We have decided to stop going every month until the problems are address. Food is delivered 30 minutes after ordering. Drinks are delivered after food. Insufficient staff are available. Ticket kiosks in the front lobby have been broken for 6 months. What is going on? We were excited about the new ownership...but no longer.

The Marcus Theater in Saint Charles, MO has serious problems! According to a Saint Charles police office who frequently works there the workers are allowing people to just walk into this location and use their Marcus theater app to locate theaters that have seats open and watch their movies for free! On 03/09/19 my husband and I bought tickets to view a movie and when we approached our seats there was an african american family and their kids sitting in our seats! When we held up our tickets they refused to vacate them. We left to get a Manager and because they were african american the Manager didn't want to confront them and cause racial friction so we were given vouchers to come back and view at another time! We went back tonight 03/16/2019 and we got our seats but when we went up to the concession stand we were confronted by another african american female who wanted to get mouthy with us! The bathrooms were so nasty someone had relieved themselves all over the toilet seat so there were several stalls that could not be used! We will never go to this location again! We called the Marcus Headquarters and no one responded to our phone call then we attempted to email them on their Website but when you hit submit it goes NOWHERE!

(the following letter was sent to guest along with passes for free readmission into any of our theatres)
September 8th,

Dear Mr***:
Guest service is very important to Marcus Theatres, so I
apologize that we
let you down. When Ben Marcus founded our company on November 1st 1935,
he set out to put people first and always provide the best quality at the best
possible price I do appreciate you bringing these issues to our
attention so that we can work to make things better for all of our guests.
In regards to the issue of carry-ins, it is important to
note that selling concessions is a vital part of our business. The vast majority of ticket sales go right
back to the owner of the films, so the success of our business hinges directly
on being able to sell concessions to our customers. Although we are certainly sensitive to issues
in your personal diet, that unfortunately cannot be translated into an
exception of our policy. It sets a
precedent that could easily continue to erode the carpolicy based on any
number of possible personal preferences.
Of course, if the management or staff at the theatre did not address
this issue respectfully, I apologize.
Though our policy regarding carry-ins will remain in place, I am sending
you We’re Sorry passes for readmission to the theatre of your choice hoping
that you will continue to patronize our theatres. Please note that your concerns were forwarded
to the *** and our *** for review. They may also be accessed by our entire
Executive Committee. The passes included
can be redeemed for admission to any feature, at any time of day
Once again, I thank you for bringing these issues to our
attention.
Thank you,

My husband and I reserved tickets to a movie at East Park (Lincoln, NE) for Tuesday, 11-27, and were directed to go to our left and to the end upon going through the doors. Our tickets were torn before entry so all we had were seat numbers - no theatre number. We were quite early and the monitor by the door was blank. After others came in with the same seats we were approached by an employee and told we were in the wrong theatre and he immediately left. The movie we were to see was at least 20 minutes in so we went to the desk and said we didn't want to see the movie at that point. He refunded our ticket price (but not the service fee for booking online}. We asked if he could schedule us tickets for the next week and were told they didn't go on sale until the next day. No offer to compensate us for our time, alternate showings or concessions. Just told we could take care of it ourselves the following day (re-book with another service fee and concession expenses. We didn't go out to just purchase your concessions).
If this is your customer service, we will not continue to be customers of the Marcus Theatre group. Other options are available to us.

I have had several issues with Marcus Theaters over the past two years. I've lost several $5.00 credits due to their incompetent billing system. I had spent nearly $1,000 and should have had $50.00 in credits over that time and didn't have more than $20.00. They tried to blame it on the fact that they expired after 90 days and I knew that was not true because I had been in there every week with my husband.
Their Marcus Majestic Theater in Omaha has MICE. I've sat down in a seat before just to have a mouse run across it and then I looked closer to see the crevices of the seat had mouse poop too. These are DINING FACILITIES. Totally disgusting. I will not go back to that location. Their answer for the problem was a Buy One Get One movie ticket that expired. Wow. That's just sad.
Their Owners manage the Facebook Pages they operate and I've had employees attack me on there for complaining. Then the Owners also complain and get nasty with me. They have no respect when it comes to their customers. The original owners of Marcus Theaters would me devastated if they knew just how awful these people behave on social media.
I used to name drop Marcus Theaters a few times a week to friends and family. I own and operate roofing and electronics businesses. I no longer recommend Marcus Theaters after being hung up on today when I called their corporate office. That receptionist needs to learn some manners.

Review: My wife and I are on a restricted diet and attempted to bring our own low calorie low salt popcorn. We paid for the movie on a regular night (no discount) and also purchased a large diet soda. We we're force to throw away our popcorn in order to enter the movie theater and receive further service from the concession stand. This was the manager on duty that evening (9/4/14 @ 7pm). She was very rude and insensitive to having an adult conversation about it.

This is not the customer service I have grown accustom to at your theaters and have enjoyed being a Magic Movie Rewards member.Desired Settlement: Change policy or reprimand manager

Business

Response:

(the following letter was sent to guest along with 2 passes for free readmission into any of our theatres)

September 8th, 2014

Dear Mr. [redacted]:

Guest service is very important to Marcus Theatres, so I

apologize that we let you down. When Ben Marcus founded our company on November 1st 1935,

he set out to put people first and always provide the best quality at the best

possible price. I do appreciate you bringing these issues to our

attention so that we can work to make things better for all of our guests.

In regards to the issue of carry-ins, it is important to

note that selling concessions is a vital part of our business. The vast majority of ticket sales go right

back to the owner of the films, so the success of our business hinges directly

on being able to sell concessions to our customers. Although we are certainly sensitive to issues

in your personal diet, that unfortunately cannot be translated into an

exception of our policy. It sets a

precedent that could easily continue to erode the carry-in policy based on any

number of possible personal preferences.

Of course, if the management or staff at the theatre did not address

this issue respectfully, I apologize.

Though our policy regarding carry-ins will remain in place, I am sending

you 2 We’re Sorry passes for readmission to the theatre of your choice hoping

that you will continue to patronize our theatres. Please note that your concerns were forwarded

to the [redacted] and our [redacted] for review. They may also be accessed by our entire

Executive Committee. The passes included

can be redeemed for admission to any feature, at any time of day.

Once again, I thank you for bringing these issues to our

attention.

Thank you,

Review: I use the Marcus Theater smartphone app. I had over $60 in gift cards loaded on to the app. This was done for several reasons, 1) to prevent loss of the funds due to misplacing the physical cards and 2) so as to not have to always carry the cards around and 3) ease of use. I have used the app on multiple occasions and used gift cards in the app to make purchases. Late December of last year, I tried to purchase tickets for a movie but the app was not working. When the app did work again the next day (after the app was updated due to "problems viewing gift cards", none of my gift card information was in the app. I tried contacting Marcus but they told me that unless I have original receipts or credit card numbers that were used in the purchase, that the gift cards are just gone. This is basically stealing. How can a company put out a product and not back it up? I should not have to forfeit the funds I had available because a company's smart phone app does not work.Desired Settlement: I would like Marcus theaters to honor the gift cards that I loaded into the App. They were Marcus gift cards in a Marcus app.

Business

Response:

We communicated to this guest via email that a new gift card was being valued for $60 and he provided the addresss [redacted] The gift card has been valued and activated and sent to the guest.

Consumer

Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response. If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted], and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. Marcus replaced the $60 in gift cards as well as providing $30 in snack vouchers. The local theatre manager also purchased me tickets for another movie. While the process took longer than I would have liked, in the end, Marcus make good on the problem.

Regards,

Review: On The morning of Sunday, May 10th, 2015, I

attempted to purchase two tickets to a movie for that afternoon through the movietickets.com website. I selected seats F14 & F15, entered my credit card information, but when Tried to complete this transaction the website indicated that this transaction did not go through because it had timed out. I then started a new transaction and selected seats F16 & F17. It was only after we left the website and found out that we had received a confirmation email for both transactions.

I immediately called the movietickets.com customer service regarding this error. I was told that I would have to obtain the credit at that movie theatre.

At the movie theatre, we were able to get the refund for the extra seats, but not the $2.50 service fee.

Upon returning from the movie, I again contacted the movietickets.com customer service to request the refund of the service fee. They told me that they would submit the request to Macus Theatres.

On Monday, May 11th, I received an email from Marcus Theatre, denying the request for the return of the service fee,. They sighted the disclaimer on the movietickets.com website that the service fee is not refundable for cancellations. My husband called the Marcus theatre customer serive number and left a message, but has not received a reply. Both my husband and I have sent follow-up emails to Marcus Theatre customer service, but also have not received a reply.

As this was a website problem, that indicated the purchase did not go through, the disclaimer that the service fee is not refundable does not apply.Desired Settlement: We would appreciate the refund of our service fee and the corrective measures taken on the website problem. This is more about an improper business practice that has probably affected many others, than just the $2.50 improperly taken from us.

Business

Response:

Good afternoon. In response to this complaint the management of the local theatre in question contacted the guest. The theatre cannot refund service charge fees, but they did offer the guest some passes for free readmission to the theatre as a compensatory measure. The guest indicated that they were satisfied with this resolution. Please let me know if you need any more detailed or specific information.

Two of my boys received Student Achievement certificates at school, courtesy of Marcus Theaters. I brought my four boys to see TMNT today, with the BOGO free kid's admission coupons. We were told that we were unable to use the passes, because "the movie wasn't old enough...it has to be 2 weeks old or something like that." Then the customer service girl proceeded to tell me that "maybe it's because it is a Tuesday...and Tuesdays are only $5." When my coupon specifically stated "Valid Sunday-Thursday only." I called the customer service line, where he pointed out that the bottom of the coupon says, "Not Valid on No Pass Features," and apparently, as a lay-person, non-Marcus Cinema employee, we are supposed to know what that means. I feel like this is false advertising. I went on a Tuesday, following their rules, and didn't even think to check what a "no-pass feature" was, as I thought it probably pertained to the 3D movies or something (as we were attending the standard movie). Marcus Cinemas just lost a family of 6 as customers over $10. It just goes to show you how much they care about customer service. I will not be attending another movie there..ever again.

Myself and two children went to oak Creek value cinema today to see the starwars movie. We was very disappointed and regret the fact we came out here for this experience. The workers at the concession were rude. When walked into the theater it was arguing and cursing going on between serval viewers. I went back to the concession stand to complain and ask if Security was available, they said no. They also said it's ok...they will quite down after the movie get going. They had no concern nor did anyone come in to check the theater out to verify the commotion had subsided.
I had to changed our seats 3 times and on the 4th time I just decided to sit in the lobby. Viewers were talking loud laughing and being disrespectful. They were getting up to leave the theater and going into other movies then returning. I live in Grafton and usually go to north shore or Saukville and never had to deal with this. I traveled miles to enjoy a movie that my son was excited to see and the experience was horrible.
I am very disappointed. The bathrooms were disgusting as well. I'm very unhappy and will never return to this location. This theater do not compare to the quality I know your company can deliver.

Review: I had went to the movies to see the Insurgent at 7:00 pm but before we had purchase our tickets we had told the girl what we was going to see I had to told her me and my friend are purchasing our tickets separate and she said ok. which the movie me and my friend was going to see was an regular movie without the 3D affect so she told us there was only two seats left and me and my friend said okay but then she told us I will just put you and the 7:15 pm movie and I was like okay then she rung us up and said each ticket was $13 so I was like why is this so high and she said because of the 3D affect and I was like um no I dont want that movie because I have seizures and that triggers my seizures so she did what she want to do and rung us up together which can came out to $23 and gave us the tickets(which I ended up paying for). I wasn't happy because she wasn't listening to what I was saying. so I call the corporate office to let them know I had spoken to the manager and she was like ok whatever but I found out the corporate was rude the lady that answers the phone thru the week yell at me and hung up on. But I had spoken with a guy who said he will call me back and never did and I am not a happy their customer service and nor will I ever do business with them again.Desired Settlement: The girl who handle my purchase needs training again and so does the manager and I would like to speck to the manager of the corporate about my issue and I do not want the Human resource guy who never called me back and the lady the answers the general call for the corporate needs to learn how to speck to someone and she also needs to training on her customer skills. I would like a refund or some type of resolution to their error.

Business

Response:

Letter was sent to guest on 6/25/15 including two passes for free readmission the Marcus Theatre of her choice. The passes can be redeemed at any time and for any feature:

Review: On March 7th, I took my family to see a movie at this theater. In doing so, we made three purchases that day at the theater. The first for $24.50 for the tickets. A second for $11.04 for snacks and drinks and a 3rd for $4.47 for a drink for my son. These were all paid for using a debit card from our bank account.

While reviewing our account the following weekend, I noticed that all 3 transactions were double billed which started the extremely frustrating process of getting it corrected (it still isn't as of now). It was a Saturday when I noticed so I waited until Monday to see if my bank could fix the problem without me needing to go through the hassle of contacting the theater. They were not able to help and said I needed to talk to the theater to get it refunded.

I was not able to get over to the theater that day so I went in during the afternoon of the following day, Tuesday, March 18th. I talked to a manager, gave her all my information and she said that to her knowledge it should have already been refunded. She said she would talk to their payment processor to find out status and call me back. I had my son with me so couldn't stand around waiting for her all afternoon so this was acceptable to me. I unfortunately did not get that manager's name but while I was talking to her another employee asked her about the issue the theater experienced with double charging people on March 7th so I was not the only one affected and still having problems getting the money returned.

By early Wednesday afternoon I still had not heard anything from the manager I talked to on Tuesday so I called the emergency line and a manager named [redacted] helped look into it. He told me that the payment processor did two batches of refunds with the second being on March 13th. He said that the refund should take 3 - 5 days to show up on our account so should have shown up that night but to wait to be sure until Friday at the latest. He told me that if it didn't show up by then to come into the theater and they would manually refund the money. He also was willing to comp us some passes which I will give him credit for. He was the only one that has really helped us get a resolution.

I gave it an extra day, allowing for late night entries to show up from Friday and my account has still not been credited. I went into the theater today as I was told by [redacted] to get it manually refunded. The manager I talked to had no knowledge of the issue or resolution as she was apparently out for awhile. She went back to the office to find out what could be done. After a bit of a wait, she came back with a printout claiming that the refund was made. I was logged into my bank account through my phone and offered to show her proof that the money was NOT refunded. She would not look and just said there was nothing she could do.... and that I would have to call the payment processor directly. This is a load of bull. Why would I, the customer, have to deal with your payment processor EVER? It was not my error that caused the transactions to be double posted. Since when is an email with a short spreadsheet claiming to have refunded me stronger evidence than my own online bank account which does NOT show the money ever being refunded?

As it stands right now, we will NOT be going back to that theater for awhile, if ever. This is completely unacceptable that after 2 weeks your error is not corrected and we are still without our money. Even after we followed everything your employees have said and been patient enough to wait a few days to see if it turned up. This is nothing short of theft and fraud at this point.Desired Settlement: Refund the money we were double-charged which is totaling $40.01. At this point I would also ask to refund the original amount as well because of all the time wasted, gas used on trips back and forth to the theater and frustration this has caused.

Business

Response:

On Tue, Apr 1, 2014 at 3:23 PM, [redacted] wrote:

We apologize for the confusion that you encountered at our theatre on March 7th. We certainly want you to return to the [redacted] and trust that this type of service issue will not occur again.

I am processing a Gift Card for you but want to confirm whether the problem you referenced was ever corrected or not. Please advise.

If I can personally help you in any way call me at ###-###-####. Thank you.

On May 12, 2016 at 10:10 pm I went to the Marcus Point Cinema in the west side of Madison, and I had a horrible experience with an employee named Garret, or something like that, apparently the cooker. As I was ordering my food with the cashier, the cooker came to her with a rude tone of voice, while looking at her and me, and said that he will not do one of the items that I ordered. I talked to one of the managers that was there and told him about the accident and that I will be giving a complaint about this employee and the manager only knocked his head without saying anything. The customer service of this employee was really horrible, and the mangers did not even do anything or say anything about solving this issue.

My family went to the Southgate Marcus theatre in Milwaukee Wi to see Captain America Civil War and had a horrible experience. First of all the movie was scheduled at 1pm and we were not allowed into the theatre until 5 min before 1 because they kept telling us the theatre was not ready, we have been there earlier than this in the past and were never made to wait in lobby before. When they finally let us in there was no sound to the previews, I complained to the manager whose response was that I wasn't missing anything because they were only previews! My son and a few more patrons complained to this same manager when we were still without sound 5 previews in and he said they were working on it. When the sound finally came on they had it so loud (probably because of complaints) that it startled my 75 year old mother and many of the other customers! The sound remained unpleasantly loud so I once agained complained to the manager, his response , " you wanted sound now you've got it!" The volume stayed loud through the entire movie so I left with a pounding headache. I have been to this theatre many times and have never had an experience like this! The disregard for their paying customers concerns was very disrespectful and rude. When I placed a call to complain, the man in charge said we don't give free passes for no sound on previews, I never asked for free passes I just wanted to share my bad experience and felt disrespected again!

Well customer service was awful, Oakdale Cinema, MN asked for 450pm ticket to equalizer, was given 2 tickets to maze runner instead, after informing the agent that they gave me wrong tickets, they insisted that I pay extra $6 for the tickets I wanted, cash only, paid with credit card and did not have any cash on me asked to speak with manager, this is where It became unacceptable, [redacted] insisted that I made the mistake this is where an apology on there part was the only acceptable way of making me the customer ok with it, but after telling me that I wanted to change the movies and was disrespectful to me will be going else were or use the kiosk or online only speaking to your employee and manager was disappointing anyway, paid the extra money and watched the movie it was a great movie just bad service after I paid more for the movie I wanted to watch the manager [redacted] picked my seats that I didn't want had to go back and ask them to properly adjust my seat, if he would have asked it would have saved another disappointment as all seats are reserved..

My husband and I are fairly new to the area but we have patronized the Marcus Theatre in Elgin, IL several times, both with and without our children. On a particular night my husband and I decided to see a movie without the kids. When we got to the front of the line, the young man behind the counter asked to check my husband's bag (I was not carrying one.) His bag contained his wallet, glasses and some paperwork. Our bags had never been checked at this theatre before and I noticed that two women in the line next to us were not asked to open their bags for a search. We finished our purchase and proceeded toward the employee who was to tear the ticket stubs and direct us to the appropriate theatre. I instead, stood near the counter to investigate this bag searching practice and find out how many more patrons would be subjected to it. I stood in my place for 5 minutes and in that time 8 people with medium to large sized bags went through the ticketing line without so much as a glance inside their bags. I then asked for the manager. To my shock she came from the ticket counter where she had just allowed 3 women go through HER LINE without checking their bags. When I asked her the policy on searching bags she proceeded to tell my husband and I that the bags were being checked for weapons and recording devices. When I asked who should be getting checked she said "all employees at the ticket counter should be checking all patrons with bags big enough to hold weapons or recording devices." When I confronted her about letting 3 people go through her line without checking their bags, she said, "I must not have saw them." One of the women place her bag on top of the counter to retrieve her credit card. The really unnerving part about the situation? My husband and I are African American and every single person who went through the line without being searched were white. I think it is very sad when a manager can not give a valid reason as to why we were the only ones chosen for this bag search. Her reasoning that she didn't see the bags that came through her line was clearly not true. The fact is, the employees chose to search my husband's bag merely because he didn't fit the profile of what a non-suspect should look like. The policies at this theatre should be scrutinized and the manager's should set good examples but following protocols that are in place. It really bothers me that I don't feel like this is a place that I can ever bring my children again without feeling like they are being unfairly labeled because of the color of their skin. Thank God they were not with us during this visit.

Check fields!

Write a review of Marcus Theatres Corporation

Satisfaction rating
 
 
 
 
 
Upload here Increase visibility and credibility of your review by adding a photo

Marcus Theatres Corporation Rating

Overall satisfaction rating

Description: Theaters, Restaurants, Motion Picture Theaters (except Drive-Ins) (NAICS: 512131)

Address: 405 Western Rd Unit 17, Reno, Kentucky, United States, 89506-8695

Phone:

Show more...

Web:

This website was reported to be associated with Marcus Theatres Corporation.



Add contact information for Marcus Theatres Corporation

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | New | Updated